Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Don Juan I

Don Juan I, 9, 28807 Alcalá de Henares, Spain

#14 of 27 hotels in Alcalá de Henares

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 321 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostal rooms are facing the lobby and there are occasional noises from other guests.

    Very good location near the centre and the train station. The hostal is located on a quiet street and the room had very good curtains to block the light which enabled sleeping well. Great price quality ratio.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointing thing was the amount of noise made my the other guests early in the morning around 3am. This is no fault of the hotel of course.

    The cleanliness of the room was second to none. The staff are fantastic and they ensured my stay was comfortable. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Great location too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is made up of two parts the Hostal and the Hotel. The cheaper rooms are in the Hostal but breakfast is taken in the Hotel next door. There is a fee paying an underground car park under the building which is essential as parking is difficult in the town. The room was small but was clean and comfortable and had usable wifi. The main town with historic university district and good tapas is a short walk away. The station is a short walk away and has frequent cheap trains to Madrid. Return tickets can be purchased from a machine with several languages inside the station building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    According to my booking confirmation, breakfast was included in the price. When I arrived at the hotel, I was informed that breakfast is never included in the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to communicate, because some of the staff didn't speak english and my spanish is poor. Simple breakfast, but worth of 2,5 €. Good coffee though.

    Quiet and peaceful at night. Near the city center, bus stops, railway station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not very big, sometimes noise was heard from corridor.

    Price was good for a weekend night, receptionist was very kind. Bathroom was very clean. Close to public transport bus. Very good for the price on weekend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was going to say something trite like. "perfect" but to be honest the guys deserve better than that. Always very pleasant, always very attentive. 3/4 minutes walk from the railway station which has frequent, fast connections to the very centre of Madrid (Atocha, Sol, Chamartín etc)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi. Unfortunately, as it's sadly usual in Spain, owners of lodging enterprises don't give this aspect the importance it does have nowadays. Terrible service, terrible wi-fi.

    Comfortable and conveniently located. Five minutes walking from train station and five minutes walking to the University. Clean and very quiet. Air conditioner worked fine. Very kind clerks, always willing to help. Excellent choice for the price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The people who run this hotel love their business. I stayed for almost a week and absolutely enjoyed it. Breakfast is excellent. Typical Spanish toast with mashed tomatoes and olive oil. Delicious! A big thank you :-)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear EVERYTHING from other rooms and what's happening out of your room. The wifi was unstable

    Price The staff was very kind, although I was not treated nicely on the checkout, I asked a simple question and the answer was very very rude. I think the guy was just angry, but this was definitely not the way to treat your clients.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was really small and the worth is that you could hear your neighbor rooms as if you were all sharing the same room.

    the staff and the location close to the bus, old city and train station

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We liked the very helpful staff, the cleanliness, the breakfast with homemade tomato spread (with olive oil and salt, it is very tasty!). Everyone at the hostel made sure we were having a smooth and comfortable stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was embarrassed that I had not made more of an effort to learn more Spanish .

    Excellent swimming pool. Everything I needed in a hotel was provided for in this hostel at a fraction of the price . I booked for 2 nights and was so pleased that stayed for a week . I loved the ancient and friendly World Heritage city of alcala de Heranes. For me it was a magical surprise far preferable to the noise of Madrid yet just 20 minutes away by train. I will encourage my friends to stay here when they visit Spain.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really appreciated the value for the money here. At ~40€ per night, we were within walking distance of some more expensive hotels. As far as staff, the younger gentleman was friendly and spoke English well. The older gentleman was a little rougher around the edges, but when abroad, you don't necessarily expect Southern hospitality. We didn't use the pool, but heard it was nice. Basically, we were looking for a clean room with A/C, in a safe area, with a private bath and hot water. We got all that at a very reasonable price. We will stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is very central (you can walk everywhere in Alcalá) very clean (cleaned every day and fresh towels and toiletries supplied) and very comfortable. I particularly liked the fact that they have an iron which comes in handy and it is very frustrating that some places don't have one. The staff is friendly and some speak very good English. The wifi works perfectly well. I stayed there for two nights with my sister and I couldn't recommend this place more. If you're looking for a budget accommodation in Alcalá which is clean, spacious and central then forget everything else. Hostal D Juan I is the place to say and I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The younger members of staff were accomadating and flexible, some of the senior members were less accomadating. Time of pool usage unclear (the room said one time, the sign by the pool said another time). The neighbourhood is quiet but the walls between rooms thin. The walls need a lick of paint ;)

    Generally the staff were very friendly, family like and accomadating. The room is small but very functional. Wfi speed was very good. Traditional family run business

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved our stay but I do wish we had a small fridge for drinks.That is a main concern in the very hot summer.I also would have liked to be able to take my own drink to the pool. We still enjoyed it, though!

    The accommodation is in a great place for buses, restaurants, and supermarkets.We enjoyed a lovely stay and would easily rebook the same room overlooking the street.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed. Hard to find. Downscale.

    Location. Parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds clean great location. Friendly &Helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soundproofing is very bad, lots of noise from other rooms

    Big bed and very comfy, the shower pressure and the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I certainly recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very friendly and helpful, convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mosquitos, bee, bad smell of the room, unfamiliar staffs.

    The cleaning staff was kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The common toilet was a bit smelly.

    The staff was so nice!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    okay place nothing special

    between train station and old town

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very convenient to the historic centre.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was without breakfast for 25€ in other hostels el desayuno is included

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spanish hostel employee shouted at my girlfriend who is studying in Alcala and evidently living elsewhere, for coming up to my room with me whilst I grab something to head out. That wasn't what we had a problem with, it was the tone, aggressiveness and poor attitude towards me and my other half. He spoke absolutely no English, my girlfriend spoke Spanish but obviously upset she walked out and I was left facing the rest of the onslaught trying to calm him down. No one else spoke any decent English so not at all recommended for travelling tourists. Bed cover covered in hairs from animals etc.

    Room and bathroom was cleaned everyday by a friendly and efficient cleaning team. Removed my blanket after 2 days of leaving it on floor for them.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You could hear a little bit of noise from the street but not too much.

    The room wasn't big but had all the necessarities. Comfy bed, clean sheets and towels and a bath tub!

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place has two parts: a hotel and a hostel. The pictures on booking show hotel, yet the stay is in the hostel. The room smelled of tabacco;(( nothing horribly wrong though.

    All worked

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful member of staff on the front desk with good English. Good breakfast in hotel next door, which is part of the same complex. The on site car park in an underground garage is worth paying extra for as street parking is virtually non-existant. Interesting city in its own right but also a good base for exploring Madrid on the frequent and cheap rail service.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Second time here, I had a front room and quite a bit of street noise as revellers went home into early hours, but it was Friday night.

    Friendly accommodating staff, polite and out of your way but very helpful when you need them. The location - great for Cervantes followers and five minutes to station for 40-minute train to Madrid centro. I like the eccentric decor and lovely balcony to work on at front if you want

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The balcony was almost non-existent and the pool closed early, which was a bit inconvenient.

    The location was very good and the young man on reception was wonderful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi very occasionally laggy but I was working and demanding. The area is 'authentic', and I like that. It's not luxurious and I like that too - comfortable, practical and not expensive.

    Efficient, helpful staff, good welcome after long drive. Underground garage very welcome, aircon excellent, location 2 streets from historic Cervantes etc centre. Train station close for excellent Cercania train to Madrid. Perfect spot for Madrid without having to drive into Madrid.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thin walls, it didn't bother me but I felt bad for the people in the room next to us!

    Small room but a good-sized and comfortable bed, which is all my partner and I were looking for.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I like the location, it is a walking distance to the bus stop, to shopping, to dine, etc. I liked also the breakfast, very attentive, and they give you a lot of choices for the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good price, nice Hotel, nice people, tasty 2,5€ plus breakfast, beautiful village of Alcalá de Henares ;)

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Centrally located comfortable accommodation Extremely friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too noisy for me to rest.

    Location and good wifi. Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No window/ light view but overall excellent room

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Uncomfortable cot beds

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet location, close to Alcalá rail station and the town centre. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Clean comfortable lovely helpful staff and bonus of a swimming pool About 10 mins walk to centre.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We chose the hotel for the pool, but when we arrived they told us the pool closes 15 Sep. This was not mentioned on the site.

    Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spotlessly clean, friendly staff and excellent value for money, could not fault it.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Couple

    Friendly, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Couple

    Really friendly, helpful staff. Great location for exploring the pretty town, full of good tapas bars.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    individual rooms :)

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect. The best quality/price ever

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: