Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hospes Palacio de San Esteban 5 stars

Arroyo de Santo Domingo,3, 37001 Salamanca, Spain

#3 of 49 hotels in Salamanca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2099 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    A well placed hotel for visiting the excellent sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The attitude of the restaurant manager and serving staff at breakfast and room service.

    The hotel is well situated to walk to the old town. The reception staff were excellent and well informed making guests feel welcome to the hotel. The restaurant was cavernous and although I had booked a table with the option of eating outside, I was told that I could only have a table inside. I was the only person in the restaurant at 9.30 and was told that usually the Spanish eat much later. The restaurant manager was unhelpful when I said I wanted to eat outside and he told me that tables had been booked. This was not true as a number of tables were still set for eating at 11.30! If you are a lone traveller, I suggest you find somewhere outside of the hotel to eat as the attitude of the restaurant manager did not make me feel welcome and in fact uncomfortable. The serving staff at breakfast could benefit from a customer service course as they looked as if they didn't want to be serving the guests. Having said that the breakfast was excellent and great variety. All in all I would stay there again but not eating at the restaurant. There were no restaurant facilities the following evening as there was a wedding taking up the entire restaurant. The hotel could have warned guests in advance so that alternative arrangements could have been made to eat outside of the hotel. However. the city's sights made up for the short comings of the hotel eating facilities. There is an excellent restaurant nearby that has a fixed price menu and also was quite undisturbed by my eating alone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Your sightseeing in the hotel, baroque architecture with services of the 21st century.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little more attention from the restaurant staff to help trainees or juniors assistants.

    Excellent location in downtown, serenity of monastery with good structure of hotel, breakfast complete, perhaps a little more attention from the restaurant staff, rooms and bathrooms well equipped and comfortable, valet parking, reception ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had relatively expensive superior room but it did not meet our expectation. Room was spacious but crowded by useless old furniture. On first view luxurious hotel, high price but average service. Our room was not prepared when we came, we had to wait almost one hour. If we did not remind nobody would probably tell us that the room is ready. Very expensive parking.

    Very good location close to city center, nice old monastery, nice view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Strongly under my expectations, I hope booking.com can verify the level of the rooms sold via web
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was full of dogs, with furniture scratched, wall-paper dirty, dusty rooms. The price paid was too high, considering that it does not correspond to a 5 stars hotel, in reality.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s difficult to complain about the staff in the restaurant because they were very genuine, friendly and as helpful as possible . However , they were completely untrained and had no idea what to do . There were only two other couples eating at the same time ... they also were laughing at the service . It reminded me of Faulty Towers . The food itself was not great either . I will return again next year but will definitely eat outside the hotel . Recommend hotel but not the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    An atmospheric delight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stunning location and beautiful old building. But the ancient exterior hides a modern, lure hotel that oozes class. Comfortable bed, gorgeous suite and a short walk to all the best sites in Salamanca. Highly recommend. They even put out a dog bed for our Labrador (it was far too small but the gesture was wonderful)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable.

    Spacious room. Luxurious toiletries. Lovely outdoor bar area. Excellent range of food for breakfast. Well located and within comfortable walking distance to all attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    THE BREAKFAST WAS SUPERB .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    THE RECEPTIONIST WAS QUITE UNHELPFUL WHEN WE ARRIVED WHICH IS NEVER GREAT

    THE BREAKFAST WAS SUPERB ...THE LOCATION - WONDERFULLY QUIET BUT LITERALLY 10 MINUTES WALK FROM ALL THE BEST RESTAURANTS AND MAIN TOURIST SITES....THE HIDDEN GEM WAS THE WONDERFUL POOL WHICH NO OTHER GUESTS SEEMED TO BE AWARE OF... MYSTERIOUSLY LOCATED VIA THE PARKING AREA MY DAUGHTER AND I HAD IT COMPLETELY TO OURSELVES FOR MOST OF OUR 5 DAY STAY...HEAVEN! WITH AN UNPARALELLED VIEW OF THE CATHEDRAL...UNBEATABLE!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and every time has been fantastic. The staff are great, ecxeptionally clean and the location second to none.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff weren't as helpful as other hotels I stayed in during my trip e.g. with recommending bars, restaurants, best places to visit, local tips and as a result seemed a bit too formal & functional.

    Very good breakfast. Good location. Rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    A really superb hotel in a fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything. We had a room overlooking the cloister. Probably one of the best views in the city. Room service was excellent and very good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Simply Stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By accident of geography Salamanca is a fairly hilly place anyway but to get from the public road to the reception area seemed a particularly steep gradient. Taxis in Salamance a cheap so even if you are just around the corner I would recomend getting one back to the hotel.

    The location (just underneath the Cathedral) was simply stunning, the buildings were a tastefully restored centuries old monestary/convent, even if it meant an eccentric route to our room (via two lfts). True five star sevice but I don't want to be too glowing as it may prevent us getting such a good deal next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Anytime again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bathroom lights are to bright consider that you feel like in a football stadium and there are no curtains in the bathroom therefore at nights you give to the neighbors a life show of your bathroom habits.

    The staff is outstanding and helpful, have great advice where to go for dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very professional, thoughtful and accommodating--the best aspect of an already excellent hotel. The restaurant, though expensive, is first rate, with a gorgeous patio. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully done--a sterling example of how old buildings can be remodelled to modern standards without losing character. And the guests' comfort is clearly very important to the hotel--you can tell with the little things like cold water and candy in the lobby, as well as the care the staff take with giving advice on where to go.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with safe parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sitting in the lounge, in the evening, you had to wait ages before anyone would take a drinks order. There was a bell system on each table but each attempt was ignored.

    We had a corner room which was nice and bright, with a huge comfortable bed. The breakfasts were good,with lots of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice location and view over SAN Esteban convent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trouble with the room entry cards. Also did not accept WeSwap card. Had to pay by American Express which cost us money.

    Location. Superb breakfast. Although a 5 star hotel it was not stuffy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location with extremely pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Easy to get to as you arrive in Salamanca - not always easy in Spanish cities. The room was very comfortable with a lovely calm view to the internal garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location in the old part of Salamanca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opaque glass bathroom door. Little privacy, and let a lot of light in, in the morning.

    Great hotel. We didn't have breakfast as we thought it expensive. But found breakfast close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Salamanca rewards its visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive car parking onsite is a muddle, but at best there are apparently about 30 spaces for ±50 rooms. Remote car parking is either difficult of inconveniently distant, but staff will park the car if you are happy to permit this.

    Good location in wonderful city. Nice building with interesting features.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Historically significant upscale and centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costs associated with parking , breakfast and restaurant.

    The hotel has a good location at the entrance of the historic district which was easily accessible on foot. We happed to have a great review of the back of the Salamanca cathedral. It is also part of the whole complex of buildings around the church of St Steven (San Esteban). The staff was very welcoming . Our room, however, was located in a building connected to the main building by a somewhat convoluted maze of corridors and elevators. Beware that neither breakfast nor parking are included in the rate . I found the cost of the breakfast buffet to be unreasonably high— 19 Euros per person. We did a lot better by just walking up a few streets and finding a nearby café with a breakfast deal (desayuno) for a lot less money. I also didn’t appreciate having to pay 15 euros per day for on premises parking. Overall, this is a rather upscale establishment and our room was clean and staff was attentive; so I guess we just avoided some of the other costs like their restaurant which I found also to be expensive. Otherwise, their price was not bad considering the amenities and the historical nature of the facility. I might look at other properties though should I ever return to the beautiful city of Salamanca.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Hospes palacio is a palace!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely hotel in a superb position, very close to Salamanca's centre. The staff were so friendly and helpful! The breakfast and lunch we had with them were superb! Parking our car there was excellent, one of the gentleman moved our car for us which was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were including a pool but when we got there we were told it was on construction.

    Breakfast is nice. Staff was nice, their recommendations on things to do were really good. Location was also really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    The place is very nice, walking distance from all historical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is very nice, walking distance from all historical areas in Salamanca. We had a minor problem, being at the second level overlooking the parking lot there was noise during the whole night since the hotel was hosting a wedding. I suppose better located rooms have somewhat more privacy. Also is to notice that the pool is in an outside location and since full summer is not yet here it was not open yet. I had great expectations of using it... kind of a disappointment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and views. Close to everything and especially the Roman bridge and Cathedrals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower needs some fixing. Water was leaking but overall excellent room.

    Great location and stuff. The room was beautifully decorated with excellent views. Very quiet as well and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location within easy walking distance of all the sights. Very comfortable room, good bathroom, all facilities. We did not use the restaurant but the menu looked interesting if a bit pricey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    The best hotel I’ve stayed in for many years. Highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very friendly staff, wonderful hotel, very close to centre of old Salamanca, on site parking. Fantastic breakfast buffet and excellent dinner menue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We received a very warm welcome on arrival. The Hotel itself is beautiful and the facilities are excellent. What makes this hotel different is the staff. They are always there to help you with anything you need. They are friendly and professional, and give the impression that they are happy in their jobs. It was a pleasure to stay in the beautiful place. I especially loved having a kettle in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Salamanca is a lovely city and well worth exploring. This hotel offered good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel felt very transient, and quite impersonal

    The room was sunny in the mornings and overlooked the convent courtyard next door which was pretty. When we had cause to raise concerns, the hotel were very responsive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, excellent restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little hot at night.

    Room was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed. Staff were very friendly. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. Top notch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location in the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the country that sells oranges to the rest of Europe: why not a freshly squeezed orange juice instead of that terrible thing made from concentrate?

    Great location in the old city. Quiet rooms with a beautiful view at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough made of garden Where the pool is some furniture to relax on in the sunshine and have a drink would have been nice even though too cold for pool it was warm enough to sit outside

    Breakfast Junior suite Drinks and fruit in room Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful, memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the breakfast buffet was plentiful and delicious, we both had bad experiences with our dinners, and only ate our evening meal once at the hotel during our three-night stay. Not a problem, though, as there are plenty of good, nearby restaurants. We recommend tapas and local wine on the Plaza Mayor.

    Our room was spacious, beautiful, clean and comfortable, with three windows overlooking a cloister garden and the church next door. From our 4th-floor windows, we had fun watching numerous storks raise their families and maintain their large nests just across the cloister among the numerous towers, steeples and spires of the nearby church.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended to anyone wishing to visit Salamanca. 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Superb hotel, highly motivated very professional bi-lingual staff. Excellent breakfast selection, one of the finest buffets we have ever experienced. My compliments to the Manager.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in lovely restored building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't recommend having dinner as very expensive for not a lot!

    Excellent hotel in lovely restored building. A short walk into the centre of city but it is uphill. Room and beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious hotel, very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu wasn’t to our taste ( deboned pigs trotters stuffed with prawn) but that probably says more about us than it does the hotel. Alternative restuarants are plentiful and a very pleasant stroll away.

    Excellent location, spotlessly clean and spacious room and bathroom. Lovely toiletries in the bathroom :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    A gorgeous historic place to stay for a couple of nights. Salamanca well worth the visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren’t soundproof. Small bathroom with not enough shelving. Restaurant expensive.

    The outlook from our room to the monastery gardens was beautiful. The old stone and beam passageways were so atmospheric. It was as though we were living in medieval times only with more creature comforts. The foyer was divine! Bespoke furniture, beautiful lighting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Amazing great experience, was very special. We are already making plans to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was very disappointed that i only booked one night

    Best hotel experience. Amazing location, very elegant, very friendly staff, special feel to the place, extremely well decorated. Was my wife's birthday, they made sure it was a memorable one. Rooms are very clean, hotel is extremely special with amazing design. Angel and Leo were amazing. Special thanks to management for our great time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.5
    Location of hotel was great
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Temperature in the room was far too hot and we were unable to reduce it A charge of €30 for our dog seemed high Spa closed Not able to get a table in the restaurant for dinner

    Location of hotel was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - we loved everything about this hotel.

    Great location just a 5 minute walk to the cathedral in a quiet part of the city. Room overlooked cloisters of San Esteban monastery - storks nesting on the towers so a perfect view of them as well as views towards the city. Room was very comfortable and spacious. We slept very well. Nice to have a kettle and tea/coffee facilities in the room too. A wide range of toiletries was in the room - all high quality. Breakfast was good. Wide selection of continental items and a menu for eggs to be cooked to order with additional items such as smoked salmon, bacon etc. Restaurant was excellent for an evening meal with some inventive menu items. The meal ranks as one of our most memorable of all time. The staff were all friendly and helpful from check in through meals to check out. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you to all the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful- as always!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very comfortable & it’s so nice being able to take a pet to a really lovely hotel. Spain is not easy with a pet. It was our 4th visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in unexpected comfort and luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were unfortunate to have aroom with an increasingly bothering tobacco smell (totally against hotel rules apparently someone smoked). WI appreciated that when we reported this the hotel staff apologetic.

    Breakfast room is amazing for its architecture and also the quality of food is great. The staff has been impressively helpful at checkin and for providing lunch options. The room , the building and the whole building surrounding does justice to the medieval heritage of Salamanca.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    We travel a lot and this was one of the best breakfasts ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was closed for maintenance. We should have been warned when booking, not on arrival with packed swimmers.

    We travel a lot and this was one of the best breakfasts ever. We never look for a Full English outside the UK. Beautiful character building, with plenty of space. We did not eat dinner here, just breakfast. Easy access and secure parking was handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Location, Quality and friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is an extremely good hotel. We quickly parked within th hotel grounds and were then warmly welcomed by the reception staff. Having unpacked we were given a map and told where to go and what to see during our 24 hour visit. Nothing was too much trouble - Taxis boooked , sights recommended. Buenos noches as we passed through the hotel gone midnight and then down to a fantastic breakfast in the morning. The rooms were 1st class. This really is a 5* hotel in all areas

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Excellent in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful conversion of an old convent in a perfect quiet location in the centre of Salamanca. We were warmly greeted by the hotel staff and were allowed to park our fully loaded car right outside the main entrance for additional security.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect just in the old town with easy access and parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather wasn’t good enough to enjoy the garden!

    Lovely rennovated place, very friendly staff, close to the old town. Kindly upgraded us to a room with a view of the garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Don't look anywhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My head ache in the morning. The hotel I cannot fault

    Very welcoming. The facilities were fantastic especially the small details for example razors coffee and tea shoe polish. The breakfast was delicious lots of vatriety and very healthy. They have smoothies and the option for the kitchen to cook you something extra. Location couldn't be better. It's nice to have the option to return throughout a busy day site seeing. If I was in salamanca again I would definitely return. Thank you for a wonderful stay in your hotel in beautiful salamanca.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous hotel but let down by management of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I asked for a reservation in the restaurant was told they were full - now that’s not right - a £260 a night room and you can’t eat at the hotel! I booked 4 weeks previous so they must have had notice - why not call me and ask if I wanted a table?? Bar service was slow and constantly chasing the staff Bar closed bang on midnight - this is supposed to be 5* The room had s high powered smell of varnish which was extremely unpleasant The mini bar badly stocked All in spolit the stay

    A fabulous building and lovely how it fits in with the old town - very nice The fruit plate on arrival was very high standard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great setting very tastefully rennovated. Large room with a view over the garden - storks on the monestary roof. Fantastic breakfast room and range of breakfast choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location at a fantastic price. Eat somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service food dreadful. Breakfast very good, but very, very expensive. Restaurant hugely over-priced.

    Location excellent. Price excellent. La Hoya 21 restaurant just up the road is superb value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value, friendly staff, beautiful breakfasts and food. The building is unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was hopeless without equipment eg treadmills. Rooms slightly dated and bar closing at 11.30 pm was very disappointing. We tried to ask for wine in the minibar but this was not provided. The hotel tried to accommodate by providing a complimentary bottle but this was at the end of the 5 day stay and too late.

    Size of room. Tea coffee facilities were good. Day staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in converted convent, we had rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in converted convent, we had rooms overlooking courtyard Hotel smelt amazing and was so accessible to walk into the middle of Salamanca Easy on site parking Loved it

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in perfect place where close to every attractions. and most impressed is the hotel building is an attraction itself likes other Hospes Palacio around Spain I have lived.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Sophisticated good location hotel with "5 star" staff to match
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being winter limited areas that we could take the dog inside the Hotel probably much better in summer as they have an external terrace/courtyard

    Very attentive, helpful and friendly staff, great location, stunning architecture and views of the Cathedral from our room was a bonus, dog bed and a few treats made our "Frenchie" feel special too. Good quality breakfast with lots of choices

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    If an hotel accepts pets, they need a floor or wing for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If an hotel accepts pets, they need a floor or wing for those cases. There was a dog on the room in front of mine, that was barking all night. I book a room to rest, is not acceptable for a 5 stars hotel to have this kind of situations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel with perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located at the edge of old city, easy to access by car and continue to explore Salamanca on foot. Not a cheap property but I think it's a reasonable price and good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    The hotel is beautiful, our room was tidy, really clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful, our room was tidy, really clean and had compliments from the hotel, and the view from the room was amazing. The hotel had one of the best breakfasts we ever had! All delicious and fresh!! I was honestly impressed by the hotel and staff! Look forward to go back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful building but the interiors feel a bit uninspired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t really up to 5 star standards. All the furniture was new and built-in and lacked character.

    The property is impressive. The location is almost perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful but short with details. Specially for a 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find it so good for a 5 star hotel. We had a problem with the smell in the bathroom and they did nothing when we told them in the morning. The restaurant was ok but not dreamy.

    Thebuilding and location were exceptional

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location , in old city with parking. Rooms were very comfortable and clean, The hotel is part of the old convent and our room had views of the gardens,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing we didnt like. Everything was great.

    The rooms where we stayed, looking to the Dominico's garderns were amazing. The quality of the breakfast and the service given to us was also excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    An ideal place in one the best most beautiful cities of Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    An oasis of style, comfort and tranquility in one of the most exquisite cities of Spain. Big and stylish rooms, very comfortable bed, delicious breakfast, very friendly staff and an ideal location. Some rooms overlook the abbey garden - an additional ”+”! In fact, it is one of the best hotels I’ve stayed all over Spain!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike it's an excellent hotel.

    It is a beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Helpful staff, good parking facilities, quiet room on the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Luxury stay; ideal mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all. In fact we returned when driving back through Spain

    Stylishly renovation with quirky corners...got lost first day. Top quality beds/linen. Nice touches like welcome treat. Nothing too much trouble from staff. Outdoor parking on forecourt. Fabulous location on edge of old town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    We loved Salamanca and the hotel gave us easy access to all its fabulous sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred a room in the older part of the hotel and one where I would hear no traffic from the road.

    The staff was outstanding. The breakfast was plentiful with marvelous cafe can latte and various assortments of pastries, egg dishes and tapas portions of smoked salmon and ham treats.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    Less than what expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t mention clearly if the breakfast included the staying or not. But they Really cheargrd us on nothing.. some of chees, bread and ham. No varity and it costs around 21 euro. BUT really not good at all.. Second thing parking costs 15 euros.. staff not kindly enough to deal with visitors , I think they dont have enough experience to deal with visitors.. thirdly, restaurant was closed during our stay becauae they said they have special event and not allowed for customer to be there.. I think that am not going again to that hotel becauae I costs than what deserves..

    Only thing that I like it was the cleanliness of room. I like Location even if it is far away from plaza mayor.. they said it will take five minutes but it takes almost ten minutes..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    a stunning hotel in a fabulous relaxing historic city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location was brilliant,style of the building and surrounding buildings was beautiful,inside was calm and relaxing,would go back to the same hotel every time

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay, great bathroom, superb breakfast and lovely old building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As a Brit abroad, I do like to keep ahead of the news and having a decent english speaking tv news channel would have been good. The two on the tv were rubbish and more aimed at business. Overnight parking cost was a touch high and 21euros for breakfast is expensive but it was excellent.

    Superb hotel with a lovely room and excellent bathroom. We had a superior room which was a little small but still excellent and a nice view over the cloisters. The breakfast, although quite pricey in comparison to what food costs in the town, was simply superb. I have travelled all over the world and this was one of the best breakfasts I have ever been offered - the fresh orange juice was amazing. Beautiful old building too, great stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Very comfortable, easy going without any hastle. Good service at breakfast and also good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the late evening when you return after a great evening out on the town you sometimes have to wait for someone to attend to the bar, even after pushing the service buzzer it can take a good few minutes for someone to appear. Having said that they have improved since last year.

    Third stay in this hotel. Our room this time was bigger than previous two stays and was very comfortable. Hotel is very handy for the old town with the Plaza Mayor about a 15 minute walk and the Cathedrals almost on your doorstep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Perfect in every way!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    Accommodation excellent. Front desk offered tremendous assistance for an unexpected dental emergence. Excellent location to explore Salamanca.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.5
    It was a wonderful stay, which definitely influenced positively the impressions of Salamanca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really anything I can think about.

    The hotel is located in a medieval Dominican monastery, part of which still functions as a monastery. This creates a very nice atmosphere. The location is great. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from most sightseeings. The staff are super nice and super helpful. The description on the page about parking is a bit confusing giving impression that you have to park the car somewhere on a street. The hotel has its own outdoor parking (15 euros per 24h), which is actually cheaper than a public parking nearby (18.30 Euros). The breakfast was wonderful as well, in addition to a nice buffet you could also order some things from the menu. I would definitely recommend this place to my friends.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the reception the next morning was the opposite, not nice the treatment and they weren't too kind either. Apart from that, our stay was fantastic !

    The kindness of the hotel of treating our pet as welcome as us. The man that attended us the night we arrived was very helpful and really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    An historic location in a wonderful, vibrant city
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected that the hotel had a pool, only to be told that it was under construction. I would have stayed elsewhere if I had known that a pool was not available.

    Location & furnishings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Very lovely historic hotel, beautifully decorated & efficiently run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While there was a coffeemaker in the room, perhaps a reasonably-priced lighter breakfast (simple coffee & pan tostado) would be nice.

    Beautiful restoration/conversion of a historic building. Room was a bit small, but very nicely decorated. Location was excellent; convenient to Plaza Mayor yet far from the noise. We did not have to use the car as we could easily walk anywhere. On-site parking was a great plus. Preferred breakfast on the main square as hotel buffet was too much/pricey for someone wanting a light continental breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was hot and sunny (8th Oct) but the pool and outside seating area was closed (as from 1st Oct). Disappointing.

    We really liked this hotel. Brilliant location for exploring Salamanca. Excellent rooms and restaurant and we loved Salamanca.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in the best part of old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms - even the superior ones, are really small and tight. The hotel is very "dog-friendly", so... although the room was spotlessly clean, one could "feel" the doggie atmosphere in the room.

    Excellent location in the old town, with private parking (albeit outdoor). Rooms are cozy, well equipped and very clean. The ones facing the Claustro offer wonderful views. Bed is really very comfortable and rooms are quiet. Restaurant is beautiful and decent food. Very Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hospes Palacio de San Esteban traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: