Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel d'Argouges 3 stars

21 Rue Saint Patrice, 14400 Bayeux, France

#2 of 18 hotels in Bayeux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 422 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited the market across the street on Saturday. A fruit vendor was extreely rude and yelled at my guest, "stupid Americans!!!" While she had made a mistake, the harshness of the treatment left us with bad experience to our otherwise wonderful day. It was wonderful to see Normandy and experience deep gratitude for all those that fought for and support a free world.

    Staff was wonderful. The gardens in back were lovely. Breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facility No bottled water in room No restaurant It is a little expensive for what it offers

    Location and the building reception area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really couldn’t find anything I didn’t like.

    We didn’t care for the first room and, despite the busy Easter weekend, the staff was able to accommodate us in a room that met my expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit difficult to take shower due to the shape of ceiling although we liked the bathtub.

    We stayed in family room, our kids loved the room. Beautiful building and garden. Surprised to know one of the reception staff could speak Japanese:) he was very friendly and informative. They have secure parking on site! It was nice walking around the town, about 5mins walk to Cathedrale Notre Dame from the hotel and there were many restaurants/shops nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bath, heater was behind curtains so didn't heat the room very well.

    Very comfortable bed, free parking, excellent location, staff brought extra blankets when requested.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was delicous, although the eggs were too creamy. I enjoyed to large variety of healthy breakfast food items. The room was perfect- clean, comfortable, and quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We had an accident on the road, we informed the hotel about car replacement and being late, they were supportive, waiting for us till after midnight, being caring and calling us on the way, helped us with luggage and navigating us through the town. It was just what was needed after our drama on the road! Wonderful staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was pleasantly warm but and had a well equipped and spacious bathroom with a tiled floor in what is a period property. We were glad we had taken our own slippers as we visited Bayeux during a particularly cold period!

    Firstly the reception staff were amongst the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. Friendly, attentive and made excellent restaurant recommendations and reservations for us as well as giving us general advice. We enjoyed breakfast. The hotel had secure parking and is very convenient for the town centre. Although We speak some French the quality of English spoken was first class.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to control heat in the room - cold! Finally figured out the programming on the heater.

    Breakfast was a treat - excellent and varied. The history, style and architecture of the house and the town was fascinating.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like that we had to leave after 3 days. We could have stayed much longer!

    We liked everything about this quaint and cozy hotel. The staff was attentive, friendly, spoke English and was helpful in local recommendations. We highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING! It was awesome

    Upon checking in, we were greeted and made welcomed. The staff was warm and helpful....the property is lovely....convenient and very clean. Loved all the history to the building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn’t stay longer

    The breakfast in the morning was such a great treat. Had a spread including the traditional Camembert cheese and lots of other hot and cold options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There aren't too many choices for children's breakfast (chocolate cereals, nutella, brioches etc). Also for adults, if you are vegan, you should bring some food with you.

    Nice rooms, but so cold. Hotel's employees are nice and tend to be pro.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel in the heart of Bayeux. The location was perfect for us. We were in Bayeux visiting D Day Memorials and places of interest. The parking and location of this hotel was ideal and the staff were all pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I traveled with my husband and adult son and had reserved a room for 3. Upon arrival we were given an upgrade to a suite with two bedrooms and a huge, modern bathroom. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and always available. The breakfast was outstanding. We looked forward to the delicious spread of pastries, fruit, eggs, meat and cheese each morning. Ask the host to tell the history of this 18th Century manor house. The location is perfect for walking to local restaurants and shops. We enjoyed our stay so much we extended it another day. Highly recommend the D’Argouges!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steps are required to access the lobby of the hotel. Thank you for the complimentary upgrade. We had booked a triple room, since we were traveling with our son. The hotel was kind enough to upgrade us to two adjoining rooms. Big Thanks! Merci!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of a thing.

    Really loved our 2-night stay here. Great location with on-site private and secure parking at no additional charge. Best bathroom on this trip to France. HUGE, pretty room with high-end sheets and mattresses. Lots of light in the room. Breakfast was delicious. Property was utterly charming, especially the breakfast room. Loads of good restaurants 5-10 minutes walking. Finally, thank you to the staff for upgrading us upon arrival.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was incredible - very handy for wandering into Bayeux for food and close to the roads for daytrips. The staff were also lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful clean room, great hospitality, wonderful breakfast. Walking distance from local sites and good restaurants. Convenient parking. No fee for parking. Beautiful building with lovely garden in back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been perfect if coffee and tea facilities in the room and while available at cost in the main bulilding this seems a bit out of kilter with most hotels and b and b’s these days. After being out most of the day touring people do not always want to come out of their room for beverages.

    The location was excellent, central and importantly for us on site parking. The room was very comfortable and clean, the bed a tad hard for our tastes but that is a personal observation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was the quintessential French breackfast. Everything was very fresh and tasted délicieux! Very elegant dining area and grounds. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As there wasn't a lift, it would have been appreciated if help had been offered with carrying our suitcases up to our rooms. But everything else about the hotel was good.

    Very comfortable hotel and ideally situated for the museums and cathedral. Normandy beaches within easy distance too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Screens on the window so they could be open at night. Afraid there maybe bats that would fly in

    Great area. Could walk to many restaurants and the excursion pick up location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is 300yrs old and do not have central A/C. Thankfully the outside temperature was nice

    The property is well kept, the garden its beautiful and the location is convenient. Free parking it's what sold us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole place is lovely and location is very good for tourists. The room was small, which is to be expected, but the modern spacious bathroom was a very pleasant surprise! And the parking/courtyard area was beautiful with old stone walls and roses still in bloom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and spoke excellent English. Hotel is very historic and well maintained. Location is great for wandering Bayeux or taking the Normandy tours which take off a few blocks away each morning. Lots of good restaurants around as well and the staff is more than willing to give you recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well if you want to be picky... The bathroom needs a stronger fan; the light needs to be set on longer. It was going off in the middle of showering. And there wasn't any hair conditioner. But nothing to ruin the great time we had.

    The actual property was beautiful. The room was cozy, clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great. Cathedral and tapestry were in walking distance and nearby restaurants were awesome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no little night light for my mother to leave on over night so that she could see if she needed the bathroom at night

    The hotel staff had clearly read all of our booking requirements . We were travelling with my elderly mother and had allocated us rooms close to each other with good facilities for a lady who struggles a little to walk . It is necessary to use some steps if breakfast is required in the hotel dining room and she managed these if a little slowly but she could have had this in her room . Staff very helpful .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a huge thing but it would have been nice to have a kettle in the room to make tea.

    Excellent location, lovely staff. Room was good, bathrooms recently renovated - very clean. If visiting Bayeaux can't imagine there is a better place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a weird complaint, but the bathroom lights go on automatically, and take at least 10 minutes to go off when you leave it. In a hotel room, that means you need to shut the door or have light in your eyes.

    This is a lovely small hotel. They may have an elevator, but I did not see one, so I think you have to climb stairs to the rooms. The facilities are beautiful--the gardens, the rooms. The (not included) breakfast is really nice as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the morning the other doors in the property opening and closing were a bit noisy but nothing major.

    Bathroom was clean and modern. Bed was comfortable. Room was clean. Staff was very attentive. Overall very happy with stay and would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC. It was very very hot in the family room (August) which was up in the attic. Lots of stairs so not suitable for certain people (elderly or very little children). The family room was in the attic so very low sloping ceilings - anyone 6 feet (door frames just 6 feet high) and over will have difficulty. Husband is 5'11' but hit his head many times on the sloping bits as well as cannot stand up in the tub (shower in the tub, no enclosure, no shower curtains) because tub is under a sloping ceiling! There is no kettle, no fridge, no cups available in the room. Bottled water are £2 each (small bottle).

    Family room was very large with two proper beds for two kids (not sofa bed) plus double for adults. Kids eat free for breakfast. Lots of parking space and pretty little garden in the back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only tiny drawback was that there was no air conditioning. I guess that usually its pretty cool and we happened to be there during a hot streak, but it did cool down significantly at night with the windows open.

    The garden was a beautiful, peaceful spot, to relax and have a glass of wine. The breakfast buffet was amazing and the choice of seating (either outside on the patio or inside in an old style fancy dining room) was excellent. The hotels location was just right too - in the town and a short walk to the old section of town where the cathedral and other sights are.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. They made you feel at home. The hotel brings you back in time. When visiting D-Days beaches, this is a great hotel to stay. Not only because of its location, but also because of the atmosphere. Beautiful view from the breakfast rooms. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many breakfast items ran out by 09:30. Bathroom light on a timer / sensor.

    Super friendly and helpful staff. Old world charm. Nice garden to sit in. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice for tea/ coffee making facilities to be made available in the room and the lighting was so bright that we removed 3 light bulbs for the duration of our stay.

    This is a small hotel within a short walk of Bayeux and all it has to offer. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there is a very nice garden in which to take coffee, an aperitif or just sit and read a book. We had Room 8 which was a standard room but which looked directly down the avenue towards the square and we would ask for it again. Although breakfast is extra at the hotel it is probably no more expensive than eating in town with a good selection of hot dishes, pastries, yogurts, cereal etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room kinda small, no place to hang anything

    Great location, close to everything. Super helpful staff, friendly, a joy to talk to. Recc excellent restaurants, WWII tour & travel ideas. Bed very comfortable. Nice bathroom, quiet too Beautiful grounds, great gardens & lovely dining area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial impression of the rooms, but don't let that deter you from an excellent experience!

    Wonderful staff. Interesting property, old chateu. Lots of stairs but worth it! Incredible garden and very warm staff. An amazing 3 star hotel. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Stairs at reception may be a problem to some and we carried our bags up and then had to carry them down to go to another part of the hotel.

    Room was wonderful - room 19. It was in another block. If I would have know this I wouldn't have carried our luggage up the stairs to reception The bed was super comfy and the bathroom was clean and modern. Breakfast was great - usual French. Staff were very helpful and speaks good Anglais. Louise was particularly helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ground floor (standard) room windows had to be either closed or fully open. There was no way to lock them ajar. There did not even seem to be a trickle vent.

    Great breakfast. City centre but quiet location. Good welcome. Breakfast in the well kept garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just note that rooms don't have central air, which may be a factor at certain times.

    The staff were as helpful as any I have ever encountered. They were great assets in planning activities around the area. The garden on the property is gorgeous. The location is convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are seniors and our room, while very nice, was on the top floor, two long flights of stairs.

    We had stayed at this hotel some years ago and it has remained very nice. Its sort of a little chateau tucked behind the shops in Bayeaux. It has much of the classic small, French hotel atmosphere we like. And anice garden. The breakfast now includes some hot offerings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing. This hotel is perfection, plain and simple.

    What a perfectly lovely hotel! We stayed in a light and airy room overlooking the pretty, peaceful garden in the back. The woman working on Sunday afternoon and evening was courteous and helpful, recommending an excellent restaurant and calling to make us reservations. The property and area around it are clean and well maintained. Despite the wonderful "old France" feeling of the entire building and grounds, the bathroom seemed brand new. The room and bathroom were spotless. We were so pleased with our stay. We look forward to returning again and again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little firmer than I typically like.

    The exceptional helpfulness and service provided by the staff was more than we could have hoped for. They checked our bags for us as we arrived early in the day and made suggestions for a quick lunch before our tour began. Additionally they made dinner reservations and made arrangements for a taxi to pick us up the next morning in order for us to catch a very early train. The entire staff was exceedingly kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms pretty small.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Property is gorgeous and fairy tail feeling. Rooms are pretty small but bathroom was pretty spacious still. Since we didn't do much more in our room but sleep and change clothes we didn't mind the size and the location was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning but that is typical of the area. Turns out we really didn't need it.

    Beautiful garden. The town of Bayeux was very enjoyable with lots to see. The staff and town was very friendly and helpful. And, of course, the tour of the Normandy beaches was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with no minibar but with large nice bathroom and comfortable bed! Breakfast options were a bit limited but fine for a 3 star hotel.

    Lovely building with beautiful garden. Very friendly staff and great location. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be warned that there is no elevator in the building so not good for disabled or elderly.

    Convenient location within walking distance of city center, restaurants, stores. The building is beautiful and our room was on the top floor, large and spacious. The beds were comfortable, the wifi worked well. Buffet breakfast is offered in the dining room for 13.50 euros. The staff is friendly and helpful and will make recommendations and reservations for dinner. We slept with windows open and were woken up each morning by birds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A most welcoming, professional staff. Beautiful accommodations. Tastefully appointed dining area. And for breakfast. No complaints, I am grateful for our stay!

    A most welcoming, professional staff. Beautiful accommodations. Tastefully appointed dining area. And for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator in the annex, fortunately not a problem for us, but access may be a problem for some.

    Charming and quiet hotel. Modernised rooms retain many original features. Very elegant breakfast room and bar with lovely small garden. Amazing market on Saturday morning is right outside the front door.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived we felt welcome. The staff spoke excellent English and provided maps and specific directions to our requested destinations. The weekly markets were winding up across the street so we bought some fruit and excellent oysters. Overall, everything was done to make our stay as enjoyable as possible .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was ok but felt it was overpriced-the downside was if you are staying in their next building which is lovely you have to go to breakfast with a coat on as you have to go outside to get to the main building-I would also add the hotel is not practical at all for wheelchair users as both properties on site are 18th century buildings

    Excellent location-charming residence-lovely and helpful staff-lots of parking-intimate atmosphere-charming

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee at breakfast was not up to usual French standards

    The room was large and clean overlooking the garden. Comfortable bed - decent selection at the breakfast buffet and a bar service throughout the day (until 23:00) in the lounge and garden. It was possible to order cold meals (meats and cheeses) if you wanted a light lunch or snack.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they had down pillows

    Old school full service. Fred is awesome, let him make your dinner reservation. Super cozy. Clean. Nice rooms with great beds and great water pressure. Great late nite cheese platters and drinks

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is a stately chateau ideally located at the edge of the central area of Bayeau. The furnishings and other trappings are both comfortable and attractive. The staff members are competent, helpful, and speak English well. The room was pleasant and bright. Staying here was a truly enjoyable French experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we first arrived, the key to our room didn't work, and so they upgraded us to an incredible suite. The staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful, and assisted us in making reservations and gave us great recommendations for how and when to get to the places in the area we wanted to visit. Easily the best stay I've ever had at any hotel/bed and breakfast anywhere, and I would recommend this place to anyone planning to stay in Bayeux. You'd have to pay more than double what we did to get better quality at any other Bayeux accommodation (even barring our free upgrade!).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location, charming building, lovely staff. Rooms were well appointed with comfortable beds, walk in showers, heated towel rack. Breakfast included large cups of good coffee, assorted breads, cheese, yogurt, boil your own eggs. Yummy. Will return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything that we didn't like. We just really enjoyed our stay here.

    Set back from the main street, this was a beautiful little oasis of a hotel in a beautiful little city (Bayeux) near many of the historical sites in the Normandy area. We loved it and would stay here again if we ever return to the area. It was very comfortable, and was a nice relaxing 'homey' place to return to each day after our travels and explorations. Frederick was the evening/night manager who was very customer friendly and we enjoyed visiting with him each evening. There were small extra friendly touches like when we were lent an outlet converter when we mentioned we had forgotten ours. Parking was at the facility. It was easy to access, was secluded, and had no extra charge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom shower does not have a curtain or door, made the bathroom look bigger but not a fan. The breakfast was a bit pricey for what you get which is an american style continental breakfast (yogurt, cheese, sliced meats, sliced bread, croissants, one kind of cereal, hard boiled eggs and fruit).

    Great Hotel overall, liked the room, small but nice. I think when on vacation size of room is not important since you are out most of the day. Staff was great, extremely friendly. Great location near just about everything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At first, we were put in the first room and the main entrance door slams when people come through. We asked to be relocated and were graciously accommodated to the 2nd floor in the back which was very quiet. That made a huge difference in our stay.

    The facilities were nice and in a good location in the historic district. We were not in the main building but in an outlying building on the property. The main building lobby and breakfast room are beautifully appointed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms could be updated and made a bit more modern.

    The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful, and assisted us in finding excellent restaurants around town. Our room had a beautiful, clean, and modern bathroom, and the afternoon drinks were delicious!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lacked a few basic amenities - note, no tea/coffee maker in the room and no restaurant in the hotel. Although, the hotel staff kindly provided us some hot water for tea and there are enough nice restaurants within walking distance.

    The property was excellent and the staff was very nice to us. We even got a room upgrade due to the low season.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast the platters were not filled when empty. We had to ask for croissants and got tiny warmed up ones while another table got full sized croissants without asking.

    Nice ambience and the receptionist was welcoming and helpful. Beds were comfortable. Nice bar for a relaxing drink.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a very old building - from the French revolution I believe. So it's preserved elements of the past as well as it's been very nicely modernized with tasteful fixtures and touches. The housekeeping person wears a black dress and a white apron and my sweetie came back to our room with morning coffee in REAL DISHES ON A SERVING TRAY! No to-go cups in sight. I could go on. I loved this place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They were very rude to my guide for the Normandy beaches. They forced her to stand waiting for me in the reception area and would not allow her to sit at my breakfast table, though I assured them she would not eat any of my food! She is an excellent guide who reveres World War II history and Allied sacrifices.

    The hotel is in a handsome building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs, we were at the top floor and without an elevator it was work. But this just adds to the hotel charm, we had a wonderful time.

    Location, staff and our family room were excellent !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few charming steps to get to the front door and we all had several suitcases

    Charming, beautiful, friendly,comfortable.great location and terrific staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was good

    The upgrade to the family room was extremely well received and was beautifully presented. The friendliness of the staff was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included (cost way too much for someone who just wants a coffee and croissant).

    Good location, easy car parking, happy and helpful staff, very nice quiet clean room, beautiful well maintained old building with pretty courtyard, comfortable bed, good free wifi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that was inconvenient was having to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs. Although the breakfast was very good, the price seemed high. We chose to eat at the bakery, next door, most days.

    What a beautiful place to stay. It's on the main road and convenient to everything, but set back from the noise and congestion. In the back is a wonderful garden with seating, adjacent to the dining room which is elegant and formal . There are 2 buildings. The main building has an elevator. The other does not. If you have heavy luggage and don't want to lug it up lots of stairs stay in the main building - but don't discount the garden building which is beautiful and private. The staff were fantastic and the breakfast was good. Parking is free and on site by driving through the narrow entrance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent place to come home to! A beautiful garden for drinks before dinner, lovely rooms, great bed! Walking distance to the Tapestry and great restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators, narrow staircases made hauling luggage up stairs very challenging. No bell staff. May want to avoid if you have issues carrying your suitcases up flights of stairs.

    Very friendly and competent front desk, restaurant staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like.

    The welcome was good. Very friendly. We were met by a most charming young lady who was so friendly it was as if we were family. The staff throughout the day made our stay something to remember with joy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few extra toiletries, eg shampoo/conditioner/hand cream would have added a little more luxury to the bathroom.

    Fabulous central location - everything within walking distance. Extremely courteous, friendly staff. Beautiful, period architecture.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Caution: No elevator, but friendly staff will cary your bags. WiFi very sketchy, only worked in part of our room an had to sign in every time we went to use it.

    What a loverly surprise. Had booked this hotel for my husband's birthday. Figured it was better than our usual, but had no idea how nice. The entrance alone to the hotel is beautiful and surprising. Big Plus- Free parking on the premises. Great location to walk to restaurants and shops. Shopping in Bayeux was the best on our Normandy trip, but had the least amount of time there unfortunately. The room was adequate, lovely view from our room, amazing half timber ceiling. Bathroom was roomy and modern. Huge shower. Shower faucets a bit challenging but once we got the right temperate it was great! Back yard of the hotel is gorgeous. Lovely tables and chars to sit outside weather permitting. Flowers and plants galore. Highly recommend this hotel. Did not have their breakfast but it looked basic but good. Real surprise was walking out side on saturday morning and a huge Farmer's Market was in full swing at 9 am across the street. Food, Wine, Cider, Clothes, and more! Did not go to the tapestry museum- just ran out of time. Town of Bayeux is picturesque and worth walking around. Hotel staff helped us find a great restaurant for our birthday dinner at the last minute. VERY ACCOMMODATING AND HELPFUL!

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: