Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Sheffield Parkway 4 stars

Britannia Way, Catcliffe, Rotherham, S60 5BD, United Kingdom

#1 of 11 hotels in Rotherham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1132 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    easy booking good price nice staff comfy bed nice room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wish there was a swimming pool

    easy booking good price nice staff comfy bed nice room fridge in room exellent shower windows could be opened didnt eat at the hotel so cant comment

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely clean hotel, with friendly staff, buffet breakfast was nice, value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was above the ball room, please make sure there are no weddings on the night you stay, as the whole room vibrated. My husband went down to the reception as was told that there was a wedding on and it would finish at 12, which it did, but if you have an early start then this room isn't for you.

    We stayed in room 104 it is a very spacious room that our daughter could have a sofa bed and we had a king size bed. The bathroom has a shower and a separate bath. It was very clean and easy to get to off the motorway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took too long. After 4 hours driving to spend extra 20 min on reception was very inconvenient. Images on site show bath tub but only shower available. Towels were with black marks; next day room service didn't supply/refill any soap or shower gel. We had to go down and ask for, also we've been questioned why?! Certainly 1 little bottle of shampoo not enough for 2 day for 2 adults! Towel dryer didn't work, table lamp didn't work either. Light from fridge was beaming face direction while laying in bed as it's not hidden away we had to turn it around as switching it could possibly cause flood... Reception staff is very poorly organized and not welcoming at all; wanted to bill me twice as receptionist who checked us in didn't leave any notes ... Disappointed as from images it loos and feels like you will have cozy stay over but it was opposite!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Had very pleasant stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast with highly over cooked eggs and little gluten free choice in dinner menu. I also had to report my bed wasn’t made in first morning. This was promptly rectified.

    Reception, bar and restaurant staff always courteous and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Quality stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easily accessible from the motorway but in the middle of nowhere really. However, great service and very comfortable with a nice restaurant and bar area. Very restful and relaxing stopover.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel with exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We felt so relaxed at this hotel, it felt so peaceful even though it’s so close to the M1 and only a 10 minute driver to the Ice Rink. It also helped that the staff were amazing. They couldn’t do enough to help but it didn’t feel false. Breakfast is a buffet and there really is something for everyone. It was good quality food as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Hotel nice food very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at breakfast with awful, the bacon solid the eggs crisped and tasteless and the sausages were disgusting. The black pudding was unedable rock solid

    Fridge in room, air conditioning and very comfortable beds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good place with friendly staff.
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little uncomfortable but fine for one night. No mini bar in my room not massive issues.

    Friendly staff and good quality breakfast items. Ample parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good comfortable stay with pleasant staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much of construction work going on in the surrounding area.

    Very comfortable stay and excellent value for money! Pleasant staff and look forward to hosting the pre-wedding dinner at the hotel. Carys seems very efficient and lovely!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable hotel with a good breakfast to start our day !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close by to family function we were attending , close to motorway!

    Very clean and comfortable room ! Restaurant clean and breakfast was good . Staff very helpful, all in all a great experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Functional for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stale musty smell in room. Cheap furniture & finishings e.g. wardrobe coming away from wall. Thin walls. Disturbed by other guests during the night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Memories forever to keep x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coming back down to reality ha haxxx

    Fantastic, amazing, wonderful. The receptionist was so friendly I felt we personally knew her .we were in room 214 and stayed whilst the fast and furious live team was staying so that was a bib bonus for us .keep up the good workxxxxx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NA

    The staff at the front desk were very nice. The room was clean and the shower was fantastic with enough room for two !! Breakfast was busy but the food was very tasty with yummy sausages. Loads of car parking and very close to the magna science center that we were visiting for Horrorcon 2018.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Great value for Money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was nice, but in my opinion expensive. WiFi was iffy depending where your room was. Overall great value for money and I will defiantly be staying there again in the future.

    Staff were so helpful,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Such good value that minor issues mentioned wouldn’t stop me going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some Staff were a bit slow doing basics, all very friendly but waiting for coffee as long as I did and getting the wrong bill was basic stuff that should be right

    Great location for accessibility to M1

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    noisy - was tired next day :(
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient, slightly 80s but staff were friendly. Super poor insulation between rooms and outside noise however and was kept awake until 2am from conference guests leaving then some guy in next room on conference call from 5am - I could have taken MOM's the walls were so thin!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for breakfast is expensive. Also some maintenance going to very early in the morning which lead to us being woken up.

    Great location. Clean rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable hotel which met my expectations. Friendly attentive staff
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant doesn’t have a lot on the menu and food wasn’t great at all!

    Very well located within 7 minutes drive to the English Institute of Sport, Sheffield

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, and the room had a fridge which was useful...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a ripped headboard. It was just a bit scruffy.

    Very comfortable, and the room had a fridge which was useful for bottles of water. It was very clean and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Nice hotel, good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next door waking me up with their ‘nighttime activity!’🤣🤣

    Didn’t have coffee as don’t drink it. Room very nice comfortable , food in bar was very good, staff friendly and helpful. Nice modern bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Charged twice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forgot they had checked me in, so charged me twice for a room I was already in. As a result my brother had to bail me out with money on my cousins wedding day!

    It was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Privilege room good do with smattering up to.standout from.the normal rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hottest day of the year and the air conditioning was still on winter setting. Windows and curtains were wide open on check-in so the room felt like walking into a furnace!.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, value for money but food let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the service was very good in the restaurant, unfortunately the standard of food was in some instances poor. The starters were cold and a red Thai curry was tasteless. They were all returned and we started again! Although eventually our food was reasonable the quality of what was being served was certainly not being checked before it left the kitchen. Adam and Sarah, who were both serving...saved the day. They were excellent in terms of customer service and could not do enough to retrieve the situation...well done! My friend and I are not usually”complainers” but this was poor. The breakfast was better but still not particularly hot. This certainly needs investigating from a customers point of view and also for the sake of the “front of house staff” who have to deal with the complaints!

    The very few staff that were on duty were professional, welcoming and helpful. The room was comfortable and well equipped. There has obviously been some very good customer service training which was put to good use when we had a few problems in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Convenient off the motorway, clean, comfortable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like extra coffee in room but that's not a complaint! (Morrisons around corner if you can be bothered!!)

    Convenient off the motorway, clean, comfortable and the staff nice and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Very good generally
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot when I arrived( although it had been a warm day) Air con in room but it did take a while to cool down . Breakfast choice was limited - no buffet breakfast out .

    Nice size room, bath and shower , sofa and large bed, different choice of pillows, provided with toiletries and a selection of drinks in mini fridge

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    Cheap but no comparison to a Hilton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decided to give the property a second chance after the first stay wasn't the best. The bathroom smelt like the drains were blocked, and this lingered under the bathroom door into the bedroom. Informed staff but they didn't do anything other than say it was a known issue.

    Free Parking Close to Parkway

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for stopover, beds very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive so we didn't eat at the hotel in the morning.

    Lovely comfy beds, good size room. Staff very friendly. Ample parking. Easy to find and good access to Sheffield city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    The money we spent did not equal the service we expected
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer care.

    The room service was extremely poor. Our bed was not made up properly. When I requested the on duty manager to look at our room they did so but nothing was rectified. Am disappointed in thier customers care, they don’t have very goo attention to detail. Staff need more customer care training.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    A really lovely hotel. Staff are lovely and so are the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great, very friendly and appropriately personal. It was nice that the took note of us as individuals. The little bathroom items were such a nice touch. My hubby is a hotel snob and he really liked the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    great bed crap nights sleep
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisey neighbours.why they would put a room full of men next to couples is beyond me.glasses smashing swearing spitting out of windows just awful.

    I love the rooms the bed was really comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    I had a lovely time and will tell all my friends about ur best service and comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels a bit rough some of them and the kettle took longer to boil maybe new ones needed?

    The breakfast was done well and hot if hot and cold if drink the team was awesome I would come again every time I come that aay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    A very nice hotel with good facilities, but I personally expected near-perfection for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I was only awake in the room for probably less than an hour, the facilities seemed a little lacklustre compared to what I expected; 3 available plug sockets, no hair dryer (again, I didn't really have time to look), no air conditioning [controls] (which really surprised me. It was really too warm for me in the room), and the hinges on the mirror whilst functional, the housing for the hinge was not in good condition. I also didn't notice a kettle (although weirdly I did notice a mini-fridge as I was leaving) so obviously no hot drink supplies to go with it.

    The staff were very friendly and the speed of services was excellent. The breakfast served was very satisfactory (although not sure what the fruit coulis was supposed to be? The smaller-than-shot-glass things I assume to be said coulis looked very unappetising in all honesty). The bed was very comfortable and it was honestly the first time I've slept in a hotel and preferred the provided pillow to my own pillow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    Inaccurate facilities listed. Terrible stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for the air conditioning. It didn’t work and the room was stifling. Apparently the air conditioning doesn’t kick in until the winter season is over. THAT is not made clear in the blurb. The so called air con just move the air around so if the room is warm, warm air circulating is all you get. Plus the bathroom extractor wasn’t working. Adam agreed the room was excessively warm and as they had no fans available, he went to buy one at 11pm. Sadly by 1am it had virtually stopped working and was very noisy. I rang Reception and at 1.30am we were moved to a cooler room several doors along, and told to leave our belongings in the other room. We took our handbags etc and left everything else. We were exhausted. Next morning, I went back to the previous room to get showered and dressed. I remembered the extractor wasn’t working so decided to forget it and just get dressed and get out of that place. I was applying my makeup, sitting in my PJs when the door opened and a man walked in. Clearly we were both surprised and I asked who he was - Maintenance Manager he said. He didn’t realise the room was occupied. Well! How were we expected to get our clothes etc? But even more so, my cousin and I did not expect the room to be accessible whilst our belongings were in there. Plus, I could’ve been in a state of undress as he didn’t even knock just in case. Poor communication between staff. He offered to return later but I said it was done now and explained all to him and he explained about the ‘seasonal’ air con etc. He suggested I could use the shower in the other room and I replied that it had been embarrassing enough bumping into fully dressed people in the corridor already and I had no wish to take my things along like I was in an old fashioned Butlins etc. I have fibromyalgia and had specifically booked that hotel for the Friday en route from the London area to Manchester Arena in order to rest, ready for the day ahead and the long drive home on Sunday.

    Staff were friendly. Adam was exceptionally helpful. Room looked lovely. Fab bathroom although shower not used in the end.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are brilliant but just a few things like there being no crisps or nuts on sale behind the bar, could improve the place :) the room was too warm

    Nice clean well presented

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Good room. Poor restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same issue as before with the restaurant. Service poor and extremely slow. No sauces available. when spending almost £20 on a lamb dish you expect mint sauce to be available. Quality of food not what you'd expect. Poor menu and many of the dishes unavailable.

    Decent room and clean functional shower and bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Nice but nasty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arriving the woman on reception was EXTREMELLY rude, will 100% not be attended this hotel again due to the terrible customer service. I don’t believe ‘oi yeah i’m talking to you’ is the correct way to greet guests.

    Comfy beds, nice rooms, good shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t include my infant twins in the booking and instead took our own travel cots - there was more than enough room for them - I think they should accommodate this within their booking system as young families don’t want 2 rooms.

    This was a brilliant find for a young family! Beautiful, clean and spacious rooms and bathrooms. One of the best hotels we’ve stayed in for comfort for a family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    3.8
    Overall a very disappointing stay in not a very nice place
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked 1 night for couple, thought we had paid for 2 breakfasts but when we went down to eat we had only paid for 1. Staff not helpful, we finished up eating breakfast at Morisons. Had to call for help to turn off TV as the remote didn't work and there were no external switches on the set and it was plugged in behind furniture. The bathroom fan didn't work.

    Clean and the bed was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    lovely hotel spoilt by noisy inconsiderate guests.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for quiet room and ended up with room next to group of loud teenagers banging door and shouting all night. First time I've had this problem however.

    great facilities and overall excellent hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little to hard for our liking but that’s personal preference. Rooms are in need of high dusting. As a housekeeping supervisor myself I have high standards.

    The room was better than expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    We use this hotel on a regular basis and will continue to do so providing the rates don't increase
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting at night made reading difficult. More direct lighting over the bed was needed. Also, the rates charged are a little higher than other nearby hotels.

    Room had a pleasant view.Parking was convenient and easy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only problem was that there was a dog in the next room which had been left on it's own and it barked for two and a half hours non stop .

    Lovely comfy bed very spacious room would stay here again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Very quiet, free car parking, very comfortable beds,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sausages.....gritty and fatty !

    Very quiet, free car parking, very comfortable beds, spacious rooms, very friendly reception staff, cleared the snow in the car park and paths, 12 noon checkout, very pleasant house-keeping ladies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    The hotel was fine for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was further from the motorway than expected. Room decor and lighting was dull. Dinner was disappointing.

    On arrival, reception staff were helpful. Room and bathroom very clean. Breakfast was very good with a very helpful member of staff on duty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Great value and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room for 4 initially only supplied with 2x towels, 2x cups etc. Quickly rectified by staff but room should have been set up for 4.

    Comfortable hotel, easy to find and easy access to Sheffield, friendly staff and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Bed was very comfy, shower was nice and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors were very squeaky and irritating. Location isn’t great if you’re not going for business purposes. Could do with more teabags/coffee etc. Only enough for about two cups and there were two of us.

    Bed was very comfy, shower was nice and big.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely room, lovely staff, would happily stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was damage to headboard that had been hidden behind a pillow. Problem reported to staff.

    Lovely clean room. Check in and check out team provided excellent customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Good, attentive and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv remote didn’t work properly as couldn’t access TV guide etc. Also the room service paninis we had were small for the price and came with no side salad or totilla chips.

    Staff were attentive and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    Stay was ok just out of way and expensive for food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive 11 pound for breakfast each and i had a tuna sandwich cost me 6.50 2 slices of normal brown bread a lettice leaf and a tomoto chopped up ...bar was expensive ....

    Room was nice ...nice big bed staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed on a Sunday night and the service was fairly awful in the dining room - very slow and we could hear the dance music being played loudly coming from the kitchen.

    The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The location is excellent. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Overnight stay following a concert and couldn’t have hoped for better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that I did not like.

    When we arrived the room was quite cold but staff sorted it straight away. The room was spotless clean. There weren’t many residents eating in the restaurant at breakfast so food was made to order. Cooked breakfast was amazing and fruit croissants,pastries and cereals were all available to serve yourself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable and comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some more milk and sugar in bedroom otherwise nothing

    Overall everything was excellent as I have stayed there before but It became a mecure hotel and it became to expensive I will stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect with our stay

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very spacious. Having the hotel were it was situated meant we didnt have loads of street noise and we we're close enough to go into town but we had the advantage of not being slap bang in the middle of town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Will say again for future stays for indoor athletics championships and recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location quite remote and might not suit others who want to be in the centre of things

    I really liked the room - it was very comfortable Staff very helpful and friendly despite hotel being very busy Food good quality Great location for getting to Sheffield Arena with little traffic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Won't b stay again £100 a night where they had share a bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed didn't pull out to use was broken.. They put two cots in the room for 5 year old a d 8 year old. . My husband question it a reception they said sorry there no other rooms .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Staff nice room not so!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and had lumps in the middle as if it was broken. Toilet smelt like a drain and it was very noisy (other guests)

    Staff were good with any queries

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Definitely come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person vaping in their room and setting off the fire alarm at 5am. I think there should be some vape warning signs in the hotel.

    The staff were great, friendly and professional

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit noisy as surrounded by motorway but it was the location really not the hotel Breakfast offer ok but hot food a bit dried up Some water in the room would have been nice Had room service - arrived very quick but expensive for what it was .

    For the price the room was satisfactory Free parking

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant and convenient for Europa View. Eat elsewhere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food menu is limited and of average quality. You're better off going to the Wintergreen pub to eat in the evening, which is a short drive away. Breakfast at the Mercure is extortionately expensive.

    The rooms are spacious and pleasant. The location is excellent for the Europa Business Park, though it is remote from Sheffield centre. Car parking is easy and access from the motorway network is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Slept well....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about, I didn't use facility only for sleeping, 7 1/2 on the road, "shattered"

    Bed was comfortable, I arrived late and left early, all I saw was darkness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    you need a car to leave hotel as on a Business Park that is remote
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the housekeeping was poor - returned to room to find bed cover pulled up but pillows where we left them and cushions on floor. Bathroom had not been cleaned and dirty glasses and cups not changed. were offered a room change but who wants to do that late evening?

    helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Modern hotel with friendly staff but expect to be disappointed !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was a disappointing visit on the whole. The beds in this hotel are by far the worst I have ever slept on. Had to sleep in a different room on my first night due to the mattress being in such a sorry state. It was like sleeping on a lilo with a slow puncture. Happy to report that the next day the mattress was changed to a new one as I had such a bad back from lying on it, however, by this time the damage was done ! Have to say the food in this hotel is absolutely shocking. Over priced microwaved rubbish and the breakfast was also a big disappointment - waiting over 30 mins for scrambled egg one day and oer 40 mins the day after which resulted in me walking out of the restaurant. My advice is if you do want to stay here - take your own personal Chiropractor and eat out !!!

    The hotel looks the part and is very modern and clean. Staff were great, very helpful and friendly and did what they could to put problems right.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel let down by expensive bar and very poor food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was awful. My burger was cooked until dry all the way through. Indigestible. Breakfast was poor. Steamed bacon and sausages rather than fried. Eggs were overcooked. £6.20 for a bottle of cider was excessive. Can only assume this is because the hotel is out of the way and guests have no real alternative.

    Staff were nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.0
    employ some decent staff who have been trained!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This Hotel is run by staff who simply do not know what they are doing. Mixing up Resurant bills (which I needed to sort out myself!), room calls at 10:30pm from staff, run out of most breakfast items including bread! Even managed to have no hot water one morning!

    General facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.8
    Tired hotel in need of a facelift.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intermittent WiFi so unable to work as kept dropping out; was given complimentary breakfast (due to WiFi) breakfast options and quality were very poor; tried to overcharge for the room.

    Location is handy for the M1; free parking; nice Lavazza coffee, although a little pricey.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Expectations met for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were a bit hard, only enough tea bags for 1 cup each. un stocked mini bar.

    Staff welcoming, beds comfy, large shower, Good price, close to Sheffield arena.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lovely and I can't fault the location or the facilities. Unfortunately, our sleep was disturbed by the fire alarms sounding at 4.55am and we stood outside in the car park until we were cleared to go back in at 5.20am. By way of compensation upon checkout, the receptionist suggested that we have a free breakfast but it was just as the kitchen was due to close and the chef refused to make any more, which was disappointing after the receptionist's kind offer. Additionally, the staff member based in the food area (in front of the kitchen) took an age to look up from her clipboard even though she knew we were there, and was most unhelpful and blunt when she eventually decided to regard us.

    The location is perfect for visiting Sheffield Arena and the free parking was an added bonus. The room was spacious, had a big shower, free WiFi and a comfy bed. The ladies on reception were extremely friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff are very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been given a room that the extractor fan in the bath room did not work and when I brought it to the attention of staff only to find it had already been reported and was a awaiting repair This room should have not been allocated until repairs had been done

    The staff are very helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Had to ask to change rooms because there was a bag smell...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask to change rooms because there was a bag smell lingering (maybe drains?). This was handled swiftly and without fuss by reception and I was given a different room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    From the moment we arrived at the hotel they made us feel so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment we arrived at the hotel they made us feel so welcome and went above and beyond to make my partner & myself but most importantly our baby daughter comfortable and happy. Our room was amazing- clean and spacious perfect for a young family of 3. Everyone from the front desk, bar and restaurant staff all made it a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.8
    MRS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sat 30th, Dec. a very quiet night at the hotel and staff probably a bit bored. Chatting in reception and did not acknowledge us on arrival a bit irritating and again at breakfast the lady serving us very helpful but then another member of staff started chatting to her over the background music, irritating again.

    Room was comfortable Bed was comfortable but not the pillows Quiet location parking good free Breakfast nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Friendly, clean good base for events/shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could do with replacing it was a little soft you sunk in rather than lay on it

    Good sized, clean room. Excellent facilities in the room and a quick drive from the DSA Arena and Meadowhall

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    very good overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Menu for the evening meal was disappointing, although the food we had was very good. Breakfast was OK. Liked the plated service a lot better than the usual buffet they usually serve which is usually luke warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    First rate as always
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever

    Stayed at this hotel multiple times on business and it never fails to meet the very best standards. Staff are excellent, large spotlessly clean rooms, good breakfast and situated within easy reach of the M1 J33. First rate and a much nicer and convenient experience than the city centre sister hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Their was some confusion regarding the room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their was some confusion regarding the room. They charged me twice for the same room. Luckily i checked my statement and found out about that but it was sorted in the end.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: