Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Abbey Sands Hotel 3 stars

Belgrave Road, Torquay, TQ2 5HG, United Kingdom

#14 of 47 hotels in Torquay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1895 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.9
    Abbey Sands Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad attitude of one young male waiter to his colleague at breakfast he was asked to help in clearing the tables and his reply to her was "well if your not doing anything you do it"🙄 respect your co workers young man.

    The Polish lady at breakfast she was very professional after her male colleague was rude to her at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    The room was big, airy and very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plug sockets not working and couldn't switch off the dressing table light, so on all night. All reported though.

    The room was big, airy and very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.1
    The hotel provided us with adequate accommodation for our one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor has seen better days Not very comfy/relaxing bedroom furniture Very soft beds

    Cleanliness of bathroom Good breakfast Reasonably priced

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    I would definitely stay again lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choice of egg for breakfast

    Absolutely loved the hotel, my only gripe is the jacuzzi wasn’t working and there was no choice on egg for breakfast, it was only scrambled

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    The fried breakfast was ok, downside was by putting lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fried breakfast was ok, downside was by putting lovely grilled tomato and bacon in the silver pans cover over the bacon comes out like it’s been boiled and flavourless and the tomatoes stewed. Also better brand of baked beans needed as a little firm and cheap.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    The room was fantastic, clean and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fantastic, clean and comfy. The staff were great, so friendly from the second we checked in to the second we checked out the following morning. There was a gentleman on reception checking us in who I believe was in training? He did a great job and was extremely welcoming, getting us booked in for dinner at a time that suited us, pointing us in the right direction to our room. We requested an iron and he bought this up to our room for us very kindly. The staff in the restaurant were fantastic, our 3 course meal was amazing, and they very kindly and helpfully catered for myself who is gluten free. The breakfast buffet offered so much choice and was all fantastic. Great value for money and would absolutely go back. Situated in a lovely location, only a short walk from the seafront and harbour!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did find the room a little warm so needed a fan which was supplied

    The location was excellent.The staff couldnt do enough for us always helpful and polite.The food was amazing and the breakfast had a lovely selection to choose from

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant and convenient and excellent value.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room felt a little dated, although perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable.

    The hotel was friendly and pleasant. Very well located near the seafront and adjacent to the conference centre we were attending. Nice big bath and plenty of hot water. The breakfast was excellent. Lovely garden. The value for money was incredible.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    4.6
    Needs attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t aware £10 charge for parking so probably wouldn’t have stayed. Greeted by a very rude staff member so asked condescendingly did my well travelled friend know what currency was when we asked why we had to sign and put the pin in for payment. In our room the floor was very bouncy therefore loud. At breakfast we were asked if we would like tea or coffee. I asked for a latte and was informed it would be £3.80.... more than Nero’s, Starbucks or Costa!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Rooms spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor pool good but small. Sauna and gym out of commission. Drinks expensive so decided to go out when you compare with the standard of hotel rating. Food was average for evening meal.

    Rooms spacious and clean. Staff attentive and helpful. Made to feel welcome.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Could be better if they cleared things up eg old signage and gym equipment dumped outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was adjacent to the main road and the noise of the traffic was very loud. As we were staying on Saturday night there was a late night traffic which kept us awake

    The breakfast and the lounge were excellent The porter exceptionally helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    LOCATION- value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Very good value for money.

    Location! Clean good sized room. Breakfast is good (although croissants were not fresh! But otherwise good) indoor heated pool. Very nice and professional staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Since the hotel has changed names & no longer having anything to do with JBR it is such a better place. Staff could not do enough for you, breakfast was good & drinks even better. Rooms were very good & even accommodated our party with adjacent and larger rooms for no extra cost. Will definitely be staying again. Even better the sun shone all week.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.4
    Ok for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs updating. Carpet stained, walls marked. Tatty furniture and bath panel unable to use bath as pop up waste not attached. Very noisy position on busy road.

    Good location near sea front and town centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Room was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Can't complain. Worth every penny

    Room was fantastic. Staff were happy and welcoming. Loved relaxing on the terrace. Can't wait for our next visit. Breakfast has a fab selection. Hotel is very clean and welcoming. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Plenty to eat at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was a charge to park your car even though you were already paying to stay at hotel. Exception should be made for residents

    Plenty to eat at breakfast. Full help yourself buffet. Room was very clean and spacious. Daily cleaning service. Bed was very comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a problem with our first room, which was sorted within an hour the problem being this was late evening 23.30 we were given another room. The following day we saw the duty manager who was very helpful and everything was resolved to our satisfaction .

    This was our 51 wedding anniversary a special holiday, choose this hotel for its location. The staff at this Hotel were excellent nothing too much trouble for them.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disorganised. No hot food available when we arrived so had to wait to be able to have cooked breakfast.

    Nice hotel, friendly staff. Very clean. Good tea and coffee making facilities with delicious biscuits.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.9
    Quiet and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was excellent only a short walk from the town and Pavillion. Had car parking but ring to book a space before you go. Had a indoor swimming pool. Rooms very clean but basic and food was nice. We located a cash point left just across the road from hotel, but many don't work!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff very helpful, location perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't as good as we were hoping presumably because the chef John Burton Race left a few days before our arrival.

    Staff very helpful, location perfect.. 2 mins out of town so lovely and quiet yet near to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location, breakfast was ok, upgraded on arrival which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a drink in the bar, 12quid for a beer and a wine , £2.50 for a bottle of soda, we didn't have another! Can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't eat in there due to drinks prices, noticed it was empty all the time, maybe they should review bar prices. Also received a call before arrival suggesting I should reserve parking for £10 a night as local parking around £15! Car park at hotel across rd only £7. We would however stay again, just drink and park elsewhere

    Great location, breakfast was ok, upgraded on arrival which was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    The hotel itself was really nice, Staff were very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with updating. The soap dish had been glued back together " not very well " the sealant needs replacing as it was mouldy.

    The hotel itself was really nice, Staff were very helpful and breakfast was great. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, great room, excellent location, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a bit disappointed that we needed to park bit farther from hotel as all parking was booked (at time of booking a room, it did not gave me option to choose if i want to book parking space or not so was thinking it will be available). There was no pictures of indoor swimming pool on website, and it was bit disappointed - small, dirty towels around, one side not very clean. We needed to pay deposit of £50 pounds and was explained that its taken as if we use anything from the fridge in the room, but there was no fridge in the room.

    Room was spotless - very big and had a bath which was great.Bed really comfortable. Breakfast was perfect - fresh, tasty food, exellent service. Outside swimming pool and garden looked great. (in summer time would be perfect outdoor relax).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.8
    I really wanted to like this hotel however the overall service just wasn’t up to scratch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was awkward. Questionable electricals throughout the building. When arriving back late at night security didn’t even ask for proof we were staying there. Downgraded room for part of the party however if they hadn’t agreed it would have meant our party of 3 had no room as hotel had no availability left. Breakfast and crockery ran out. Room wasn’t cleaned until after midday. No key for one of the rooms so we were given a master key. Good luck to anyone if I had been some sort of weirdo. Not enough seats for guests at breakfast. I could go on.

    Location is convenient. The room we had was ok but our friends originally had a room with no working lighting and another that was dated with a silly layout which was a downgrade on what was booked. Hotel was relatively clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Great 4 day break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really enjoyed this lovely hotel

    The room was huge lovely clean comfortable beds views amazing each window was a view of the sea would defiantly return food was good something for everyone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    it was amazing all the staff and reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel and the staff were brlliant nothing was too much trouble and all have a smile i would say they seemedveryhard workers and i have been to many hotels in the past but never has been one like this for the food was beautiful my son lives in torquay so i will be goingback very often mrs s loxley/naughton

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable and would definitely go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the front of the hotel was not great but nothing can be done about that

    Very clean and tidy Very helpful and friendly staff Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    5.4
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a bit of a surprise with having to pay for parking. We had the choice of £10 at the front of which there was only 12 places. The alternative was £7 per day at the rear. The room though comfortable appeared tired and dated. The lounge seemed like an old people's home.

    The staff were genuinely polite and helpful. It was nice having an indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, just a shame the gym and solarium were out of order.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Abbey Sands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I would complain about is the beds. Desparate for new matress very uncomfortable could feel all the springs

    Everything was lovely staff friendly and helpful always smiling.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    Hotel appears to have seen better times and gives impression of being run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel rather 'faded glory' which badly needs maintenance, particularly externally. Tatty from outside and reception needed serious upgrade. Building materials and herris fencing very visible and untidy at front of forecourt.

    a very well equipped and spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.6
    small noisy room, staff unfamiliar with location and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    small noisy room, staff unfamiliar with location and couldn't help with directions or information. breakfast was a nightmare every morning. no atmosphere of a hotel. everything in our room was old and dated. bsathroom needs total overhaul

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is a short walk to the beach and restaurants on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant only serves a fixed menu and is quite expensive. Best to go out for a meal. Staff couldn’t really help with suggestions for eating out - the hotel had just changed names so may be new staff.

    The hotel is a short walk to the beach and restaurants on the foreshore. The room and ensuite was a good size making the room very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Hotel staff good,location of hotel good,clean room,breakfast poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast,although plenty of choices,if you like a hot breakfast,the quality was poor,and cold.

    Our room was clean tidy,bed comfortable,bathroom clean and tidy with a bath/shower combination,the hotel is well situated for all our needs,seafront,theatre, and places to eat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and the building was more run down that we expected scuffs along the paint work and carpet, the tv in our room of 208 was in a strange place in my opinion I personally thought it would have been better if it was placed on the wall directly opposite the bed as it was a little to faraway in the back corner. The breakfast was nice the way it was put the pain au raisin was stale and the toaster took me three attempts to toast the bread the toaster definatley needs an upgrade. The pool and Jacuzzi area lovely but run down one of the dials on the Jacuzzi didn't work. The bath plug in room 208 was also abit dodgy.

    The beds were really comfy the bathroom was nice and gleamingly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Staff helped in a big way to maze are stay so pleasant even the cleaning staff were so friendly 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can b a problem but we were lucky

    The staff were so friendly and helpful they also seemed very happy 😃 which you don’t always see everything was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Good services for 3 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel near main road so night times you may be able to hear some traffic noise go pass with the window closed. Been old Victorian hotel the bed room doors was squeaking they need oiling, also bed room furniture basic could have done with some modern units. Guest car parking charged ten pounds per night should have been free for guest.

    Hotel location approx 5 minutes walk to the sea front Plus staff were friendly and helpful the room was cleaned daily. Breakfast and dinner menu was basic but was adequate for 3 stars hotel although you can ask staff if possible to pre order other items not on the menu. E.g. we are ordered lobster for my birthday at extra cost.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Torquay Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on floor 3 but the building had no lift ( we were however offered assistance with cases). Bedroom furniture very old fashioned . Window in room did not fit very well and could not be fully closed.

    All staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and bathroom had very modern suite and fittings. View from balcony was excellent and hotel well situated next to Abbey Park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Great Weekend Destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a little more information with regards to the facilities available and how and where to access them.

    The staff were very friendly, presentable and approachable. The room was comfortable, grounds were beautiful and it is in a great location both for the beach and the harbourside. The breakfast was buffet style with a good choice of cereals, pastries, cooked breakfast, fruit, yoghurt and toast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Best all round hotel to stay (FAB STAFF)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ciggy buts many out side by entrance and back of hotel not a great welcome to a great hotel needs updating in some parts im sure it will be at some point as new owners great hotel

    The views were amazing from our room breakfast great and one veggy in our party staff all very friendly helpful welcome customers and positive good facilities to chill unwind would stay again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.9
    A disappointed start, got better after first day, hotel brought more staff in service improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication with us, if we had been contacted regarding the changes happening at the hotel And as this started 1st September, they had plenty of time to notify ourselves that we might have Cancelled before our reservation date 11th September.

    At the time of our booking the hotel was in and in Administration, Chef John Bright terminated His contract with the hotel, therefore, there were several disappointments for us, Firstly reason for revisiting, Chief John Bright, secondly the staff previously were very Good. This time Different Chief his food was okay but menue did not change, so 3 nights Stay, same food to choose from, not good. As the hotel was in Administration the hotel was very short staffed this especially in the Restaurant was slow, the first night we had to wait an hour before we got our dessert , not The staffs fault The hotels fault for cutting back on wages. Our room was clean, and exactly what we asked for.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Two night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrival parking quite stressful although a space had been booked in advance. As we didn’t arrive until 6pm only one space left in corner which was too small for our car to fit in. We managed to squeeze in near reception and were able to move the following day. Staff helped out and ended well.

    Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    We enjoyed our stay and my wife wanted top stay another week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was hot even with windows were open but had to close a night to reduce the road noise.The room conld have been clean a little better and there was item left by previous guests

    The staff were very friendly and helpful as both of us have difficultly in walking.The breakfast was excellent allthought the fruit juices could have labeled a bit earlier. Thank the staff for returning the item I left behind thanks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location with comfy beds and lovely swimming pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor quality. We would also of preferred a freshly cooked rather than buffet breakfast. Was surprised this hotel charges for parking even when you are a guest. Parking is also very limited. Bit disappointed that John Burton Race doesn’t cook here any more, especially as this is the name of the hotel. You would of expected John to still cook here.

    Comfy beds. Swimming pools were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    The bed was comfortable but for £150 a night it was overpriced for what we had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was described as an executive room. Furniture was cheap and chipped. The bathroom in dire need of updating. The shower screen was glued to the side of the bathroom. The shower was attached to the taps and the water was rarely hot. Decoration circa 1970. The hotel is tired all over except the restaurant and bar area. Hopefully they will do the rest of it up to the same standard. Rubbish sausages for breakfast

    The bed was large and the view very good. Nice clean new sheets and towels. Location for the beach and conference centre was ideal. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Location is fantastic, but it is in need of an update and the breakfast is very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quality of the breakfast was extremely poor, the kettle didn't work and had to be replaced and there was no form of ventilation in the bathroom at all.

    We had an extremely large family room (for myself and my mother to share)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Good in parts.
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misinformed about parking. Parking was very poor. Not able to order food after 9.00 pm. A sandwich or light bite menu would have been fine.

    Provisions in the room. Location of room to dining and bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    It was a wonderful stay and we would go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we could complain about.

    The hotel was elegant and the staff made us feel special. They were always friendly and helpful. The breakfasts allowed us a good selection of choices. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    2.9
    Horrible & Old
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is really old. No lift, old- fashioned decoration, disgusting view to an ugly roof from the room. The bathroom was full of hair from the other guests. Forgot to say: The carpets are from the other century!!!

    The food is very good. The breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Reception staff were really helpful and the room was nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were really helpful and the room was nice, bed was comfortable but the room was quite hot and had to keep the window open all night, so didn’t sleep too well as could hear traffic from the main road outside. I guess you can’t do much about the humidity on the night but that is my only grumble

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice Hotel, just a little disappointed overall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t clear when booking that Parking had to be pre booked so I wasn’t able to park at the hotel. I always choose hotels with onsite parking so this was a little disappointing. The receptionist whilst polite and friendly sent me to the wrong part of the hotel for my room. I thought the set menu, whilst good value was too limited with only 1 Vegetarian option. Breakfast not starting till 7.30 was again disappointing. As a business user I generally need to be up and out for my first meeting of the day so an earlier breakfast, even 7am would have been better.

    Room was clean and tidy. Bathroom was good too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable and clean, but should be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was an issue, even though i had paid the extra £10 to park (not really happy to have to pay extra to park my car as a resident at an hotel that advertises that it has parking) i had to wait for a space to become vacant. There are no lifts at this hotel. The breakfast was a little disappointing for a hotel named after such an eminent chef.

    Room and bed were very comfortable and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The location is ideal for the beach and the beach. The residents lounge was very nice to unwind at the end of an evening and the barman (Spanish I believe) was polite and very knowledgeable about the wines.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Comfy but tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely a bit tired around the edges and could do with updating, would benefit from air conditioning, breakfast is buffet style, this in itself is fine but it would have been nice if they informed you fried/poached eggs were available, I was not made aware of this and thought only scrambled eggs were available, which,unfortunately, I am not a fan of.

    A good hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff, great outdoor pool and indoor pool also has a jacuzzi, overall the place was very clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Wanted so much to like the hotel as recognised John Burton Race name, but disappointed by decor
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toast done properly - how hard could this be?

    Room adequate, buffet breakfast disappointing, over expensive bar (£10 for bottle of Pepsi and medium Pinot ) extra charge to park on site, make your own toast for breakfast and over heated scrambled eggs 😝

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    John Burton-Race needs to look at this hotel and make some serious changes,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a quiet room and it could not have been noisier, traffic outside until late, staff talking under the window, creaking floors and banging doors. Some of the reception staff seriously need training in customer service, one in particular was rude, abrupt, and downright ignorant. Having to pay for parking and not been guaranteed a space is appalling.

    Location, breakfast was adequate, our bathroom was newly refitted although we did have to ask for toiletries non left by housekeeping.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    3.3
    Poor quality hotel wouldn't recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room , cobwebs everywhere the curtains didn't fit window so soon as the sun come up it shined through. The shower had no water pressure. The breakfast was disgusting undercooked bacon , poor quality ingredients only just edible. Complained and only offered a upgrade on next stay. Wouldn't recommend to anyone

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Food! We didn't eat here at night but I would avoid breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we stayed in January the breakfast was superb, last weekend it was really poor. There was plenty of it but the ingredients were just nasty. Awful sausages, the small bread (croissants etc.) were just dough and the cheese inedible. However, the poached eggs were great. When we wanted a snack mid-afternoon we could find anyone to help, maybe they don't do bar food so we ended up in the Premier Inn on the corner, not what I would have chosen but all that was available.

    The location is great, the terrace is nice and the staff are great. The hotel is warm and the rooms well serviced.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a bit of a funny smell to it. It smelt like body odour or curry. They need a new bed in 206 the springs are trying to come through. The main chef john burton race has left and the food was ok but not great.

    The staff was excellent! Especially Helene on reception lovely lady and very helpful i would like to say a big thank you to her for all her help. Also graham was very helpful too my car keys broke and he was trying to find help for us at 11.30pm so thank you graham.All staff were Very hard working and couldn't do enough for you. The rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels everyday. The breakfast was good in the morning lots to choose from fruit yoghurt cereal full English toast home made cakes and jams the marmalade was superb.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    👌🏼 perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful, the room was very spacious and clean, food was delicious and it was so close to the beach and other food places 👍 can’t fault it!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    nice outdoor pool and gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    restaurant prices extremely high for a seaside hotel...chef J B Race left the hotel the day we arrived, so prices might improve...£7 a day to park at rear of hotel (not in proper parking bays at the front) overpriced..

    nice outdoor pool and gardens

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Ideal location to explore Torquay & the surrounding areas. The staff are a delight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff at the hotel were all friendly & helpful nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was very good both the traditional English & Continental selections, served in a v pleasant environment by lovely polite & helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location clean and comfortable friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area wasn't welcoming and also paying for parking which you didn't have to do when it was the Grosvenor also as its summer there was no afternoon tea and meals were pricey

    Great location clean and comfortable friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Totally up for Torquay! JBR you excelled YOURSELVES!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    The location of the hotel was fantastic. We took our dog and treats and a toy were left in the room. Cleanliness of the place was good. Also the amazing buffet breakfast was a must! It was so good we decided to stay an extra night. We'll be back next year!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Overall, a fair experience, but there is room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift on the premises. There was a dirty window blind in the room. Dated bathroom suite and no natural light. Poorly repaired soap dish (room 207). Having to get the receptionist to serve in the bar was inconvenient. Could do with a room for luggage stowing.

    24 hour bar, comfortable lounge seating area. Toilets clean and tidy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in a very pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have had entertainment or perhaps an arrangement with another hotel although the bar, lounge and patio were very comfortable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location and room was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    2.9
    Rubbish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything.

    Nothing the web site you advertise on should be rewritten as you definitely do NOT get what is advertised and you are taking money under false pretences.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Plesant and comfortable, but will try a different hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had previously arranged for a premium car parking space at the front of the hotel. When we arrived tired from a long journey, there were no spaces and was told it had been overlooked or no spaces left? The receptionist said we can use the overflow carpark? Not knowing in that moment where that was exactly I assumed she meant the premier inn carpark a lot further away. I felt stressed and anxious - eventually my husband used another quests space to find out what the problem was. The receptionist then told my husband he could park at the back of the hotel, which was just to the side of the hotel a bit of a squeeze if you had a larger car. But seemed safe and secure there. I was charged £7 instead of the premium £10 rate. I think had she of said straight away the carpark just behind the hotel I wouldn't of panicked as much as hearing an overflow one.

    Comfy large bed and room, quite a traditional style. The furniture did however look a little tired but in keeping with the room. Good choice at breakfast and when not really busy quite attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff were friendly and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was in appropriate...i had to park a fair way from the hotel and walk back and the weather was poor which obviously made it worse

    The staff were friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel however should I decide to stay again I would want a more modern room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was only a double bed and was uncomfortable. Although the room was a good size it was a bit dated and smelt bad when we entered the room. Bathroom was lovely and clean however the sink kept blocking up. I was under the impression that parking was part of the price, however on checking in we were told it was £10 per day. As check in is only after 3 and we would be leaving the next day at 11am that would have been 2 days, hence £20 in parking. We opted to park elsewhere. One of the main reason I wanted parking on the property was because my partner had recently had surgery. Also on check out there was a lot of cleaning materials (towels / linen / bedding) lying around the stairways. Surely this is not something guests want to see. I felt the breakfast was ok although some of it was cold and overcooked. Also the selection was limited.

    Price was good for the location and facilities. Bar and selection of drinks was excellent. Staff were friendly and informative.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely luxury weekend away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not enough parking outside the hotel & what there is is very tight.

    We had a lovely large room, the hotel is in a great location & has lovely indoor & outdoor facilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.2
    Only thing liked was that they let us leave at no cost as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived and greeted by a lovely member of staff, but at arriving at our room it all went down hill! We booked an executive room as pictures looked lovely, but nope wasn’t at all what expected! Room outdated, bathroom was on a time warp back to the 70s bath itself was awful and cracked tiles! And room was very compact, for the money we paid it was not worth it! Rang reception and well she sounded bored and didn’t wanna help, couldn’t even offer us discount, we got our bags as hadn’t even wanted to unpack and left! On plus side wasn’t charged and found a lovely boutique guest house round the corner for same price and had a lovely stay in Torquay

    Only thing liked was that they let us leave at no cost as we were not happy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    4.6
    Location was only good thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not as requested or what is showing on internet very old uncomfortable furniture all the room was beige not at all like the rooms in pictures had 3 rooms 1st room horrible 2nd room had kitchen extractor next to it very noisy came on at 6.00 in the morning

    Location was only good thing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows didn't open very much hence a very hot, uncomfortable night's sleep even with fan that was provided. Door to the room wasn't very easy to access-think it may need replacing. Door on the inside of bathroom was damaged. Carpets full of stains.

    Staff were very friendly and polite. We requested an iron and ironing board, which was brought to our room immediately.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Family stay with Dog
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little bit small and in need of an update, the room temperature very stuffy even with windows open. We only had one fan which we put near the kids.

    I wasn't expecting a great room since we were a family with a dog but I was really surprised, it was large & comfortable with a sofa. There was a good array of tea/coffee & biscuits in the room . The staff were lovely, extremely helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Enjoable trip and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The plates used for breakfast were not warm, and the dinner menu did not have enough choice. The room we were in needed refreshing. Car parking is an issue and could not understand why parking to the rear and to the side of building could not be used by guests.

    The professionalism,friendliness and helpfulness of the. staff was excellent. Good choice at breakfast . The quality of the dinner was of a high standard

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the hotel very clean great breakfast great staff a bigger bed would have been better overal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was on the small side we are used to a king size the mattress was a bit too soft I sat on it and could feel the wood underneath

    The breakfast was excellent didnt try the evening meal we did hear the top chef quit Thursday

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: