Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Wolverhampton - Racecourse 3 stars

Dunstall Park, Gorsebrook Road, Wolverhampton, WV6 0PE, United Kingdom

#8 of 24 hotels in Wolverhampton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 443 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    A delightful ultra-clean hotel with delightful views of the racecourse and the paddock.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No qualms at all!

    Staff were quick to rectify problems as we were given another room after finding the tv not functioning in our original booked room. Manager Blount was ever smiling and full of confidence of carrying out his job with an army of staff from chambermaid to restaurant waitress ready to do their tasks with professionalism and importantly, a ready ever smile!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Excellent for a day at the races
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all

    The room was very clean lovely soft towels very quiet at night comfy bed Very nice staff. Good food and nice bar area would highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff here are very friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of one glass of wine £7.90 for a small glass is very steep I thought.

    Staff here are very friendly and efficient. We stayed three weeks ago and the very friendly Jamaican girl on reception I think her name was Jancee but could be wrong so sorry if I am, remembered us and gave us a lovely welcome. Room was very clean and food excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was too hot,but to be fair we didnt tell reception until we were leaving,they did apologise. We only got one mug of tea each,at breakfast,instead of a pot of tea.bit odd.maybe we should have asked for more tea.

    Good location.Plenty of parking.Room comfortable,and clean.All staff friendly,and welcoming. Plenty of food laid out at Breakfast.They also do evening meals,which is handy to know. We would stop again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact they took £100 to cover room and food/drink and have yet to refund it as they took a separate payment on departure

    Great location, nice layout, very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Good but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was nice, I felt it was very basic for the £100 I paid for the one night, as well as that the breakfast which was included was quite cold and the mushrooms weren’t seasoned at all

    The bed was comfortable, it was very nice and convenient to have air conditioning in the room. Also good to have a shower and bath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.5
    terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    upon arrival i had booked a twin room only to be given a double for myself and male friend so i went downstairs to the desk only to be spoken too by the biggest jumped up little prick manager i have ever came across in all my time travelling,which he proceeded to tell me if you booked a double/twin it doesn't mean you get the twin if requested JOKE,then said all i can do is put a single in your room with no apology.

    the setting in the grounds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed very much including the racing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only room telephone not working, a particular nuisance when you need to order room service. I had to go to reception to order the food.

    Second time we have stayed at a Holiday Inn and found the overall quality good. The only thing wrong in the stay was that the room telephone did not work. Great location for a Day at The Races. Will definitely use Holiday Inn in the future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Proximity to racecourse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £9.50 for a medium sized glass of wine, staff making up prices as they pleased, extreme lack of professionalism, definitely won’t be returning

    Proximity to racecourse

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    First time for everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time I have lost out on a good night's sleep in over 2 years - can't account for disrespectful people staying in a hotel and not being interested in other guests - shame really

    Everything is always spot on

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    A fine little oasis within the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Nice clean and spacious bedroom and shower room. Good breakfast. Very comfortable bed. Very attractive well kept site Building looks to have been recently refurbished. A quiet stay although may not have been on race days. Well located for business and touring

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Not the best, but very convenient to where we were going.
    • Family with young children
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    An uncomfortable bed that was possibly made by a one armed sloth. The room was very smelly. The toilet didn't flush properly. The water was literally steaming hot and fired out of a pressure hose of a hair trigger tap. The toilet rolls were deviously placed inside holders, more akin to catapults, above the toilet which upon touching duly fire the roll into the toilet. Pillows made of invisible foam. The door wouldn't shut without a real battle, a loud squeak and a BANG!!!

    Breakfast okay but only because under 12's are free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Again a comfortable pleasant stay at a holiday inn, apart from the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Black mould in corners around bath tiles and further mould on grouting on the walls. Had to keep door closed at all times because off oversensative fire alarm,quite uncomfortable and everything in bathroom soaking wet after shower.

    Bed,pillows air conditioning,breakfast and staff, hotel in general.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    good stay , nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, there was a function going on, across from the hotel . This did not finish until 02.00 There were quite a few people from the function staying at the hotel. There was a lot of noise due to revellers leaving the Function... & then banging of doors when getting into their rooms . Then some Idiot set the fire alarm off at 02.15. This must of disturbed everyone's sleep in the hotel !!! As above there were a lot of us attending the air show who needed to be up by 6 . Therefore, by having broken sleep by some idiots who probably had too much alcohol didn't give us a very good start the next day. My Partner spoke to the staff when we checked out, saying about the noise etc from this Function. As this may be booked again the following yr, the management needed to know possibly making sure it may not happen again .

    staff were very polite & helpful. Breakfast was great & as there were a lot of us leaving early to go to the RAF Air Show, they accommodated us & breakfast was all ready & set out by 7.15 .( normally, it would be 7.30 . ) Great choices for all tastes. Room was clean & very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Very pleasant , friendly , comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some holes in the window net , it looked old and tired , needed replacing . No vegetarian sausages at breakfast which was disappointing.

    Clean , comfortable room , nicely decorated. Very helpful friendly staff .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall mainly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be more comfortable. Vegetarian Breakfast not offered or much selection for hot food generally. These were just nice extras, but the main problem was loo not flushed when we first got in, 'free' WiFi wanted personal details - presumably for marketing? a constantly crying child, bedroom doors banging, both which woke us up early. If these could be sorted out, it would be a lovely place and would definitely be on our regular list as we have friends who live nearby.

    Nice decor in room, comfortable & nicely decorated bar and restaurant, staff helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was spot on; There was a mixed race lady receptionist (Janice I believe her name is) who was outstanding in her service approach with us. I’d like to thank her again for her help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    My stay was for 1 night and very pleasurable experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to have had access to freeview allowing Sky channels.

    The room was lovely and with a good temperature. Bed very comfy and the provisions good. Staff were excellent and extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Smart, clean hotel with very good friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel food was very ordinary with an emphasis on frying.

    The rooms were in good order and high floors have a good elevated view of the area. The bar on the 12 floor was good for unwinding and seemed very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Location, cleanliness and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not function properly with the bath tap running simultaneously (minor issue considering only 1# night stay). I’m almost certain the staff would’ve sorted if complained.

    Location, cleanliness and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, no complaints
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food not as good as I'd hoped - less variety at breakfast than I'd expected, although what was there was fine. Evening meal menu not as extensive as at some other places, but I realise they are only really serving hotel guests as it's not in a place where people would come to eat from outside.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, and immediately accommodated my request for a room change to get a double rather than single bed. Room was in good condition, with pleasant view over the racecourse. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Over priced and underwhelmed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked room plus breakfast, had to pay for breakfast at property. Room very small and cheaply fitted, heavily stained carpets. Sofa bed uncomfortable. Scrambled eggs were uncooked and more like soup. Bread shockingly bad, more like a bath sponge. Wake up call asked for - Joking said "make sure it actually happens please" No wake up call received.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Yes bed very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tele didn't work, staff did all they could and offered room move but couldn't be bothered...... maybe they should check these things whilst cleaning room prior to allocating

    Yes bed very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Location is ideal for the race course but nothing much...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a disabled room with an interconnecting door and could hear every word the next room were saying, might as well have been in the room. A lot of banging doors and walking about early morning but not much the hotel can do about that really. Take some earplugs if you’re wanting a lie in.

    Location is ideal for the race course but nothing much around it. Beds very comfortable. Rooms spacious. Great bar on site and staff were super friendly and helpful, especially Jackie.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Marvelous, just marvelous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Everything, the night was brilliant, food fantastic, hospitality of all staff was great, the whole experience was marvelousx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Everything, hotel, meal, staff, the whole experience was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything

    Everything, hotel, meal, staff, the whole experience was great, it was my husbands birthday and it was made extra special for him by everything we had and did,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.8
    Try the nearest Premiere Inn first.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Previous guest's used towels and bed linen were left on the floor. Window was open wide with outside temperature below freezing. Overpriced breakfast.

    Quiet location. Polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our racing weekend. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Televisions in communal areas always on news channels. Sports channels would be better to relax in front of whilst having a drink or meal.

    Nice clean room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    The staff are excellent, very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 14 nights

    However the location is not that great. Its ok if you are there for a Race Meet. It is not close to other facilities or public transport.

    The staff are excellent, very helpful. Room was comfortable and WiFi was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Yes would stay again...Maybe breakfast would be better next time :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - bacon etc.... had been sat there a while so dried out and cold. Coffee was not great.

    Great rooms. Clean and peaceful. Bar food good. Happy, cheerful reception which helped as had a bit of an issue on checking in with my booking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    The room was very clean and the room service lady was nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little under cooked but lots of varieties to choose from

    The room was very clean and the room service lady was nice who set up our sofa bed for the children and the gentleman’s who came to fix our tv when it shut off, reception staff were very welcoming too, the lady who controlled the breakfast area was lovely anything we need or didn’t know she was happy to help, made our stay nice with children thanks so much

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Good food, comfortable room, good racing,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. One little bit of a picky note........the outside of the bedroom windows could do with a good clean. We could barely see out of them !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    First disappointment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I had workmen in my room disappointed that the work could not have been done after my reservation. This is the first time I have stayed when I have been unhappy.

    Accessible to the the centre

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff were amazing couldnt fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed. Was too hard for me personally. But everyone is different

    The staff were amazing couldnt fault it. They helped with every little thing I asked

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms overall condition wasn’t great, plaster work all chipped and broken. Noisy.

    Spacious room in a central location. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    We'll be back for sure.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived late to a very welcoming reception. Good food & service in restaurant although near closing time - friendly service from nice staff. Rooms & bathrooms perfectly clean & beds very comfortable. Will definitely use again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    3.8
    Overpriced with poor facilities & service - don't stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    Washbasin didn't drain, shower temperature fluctuated, room small & noisy (I think from football ground), chosen beer 'off', poor breakfast, poor service, 'gym' a joke - about 4 pieces of antiquated equipment in a small hot room down a dark corridor (no mats, no free weights, no Swiss ball/bosu/etc), overpriced.

    Bed OK, bar food OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    Ok for an overnight business stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food wasn't great, and the toilet flush was poor design. Water when taking a shower still managed to soak the floor even with the curtain correctly positioned. TV was poor sound quality

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Good !!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine good choice just found the staff bit disorganised we had to keep asking for things for the table when you went to the bar on an evening you had to wait for staff , The party of people we went with we have stayed here before but with the new refurbishing we where not all sat together now in the bar area so that was a bit of a letdown there was 34 people in our party

    The room was alright but the pillows wasn't !!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Had a great day staff was very helpful would come back definitely to stay in premises
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Extractor fan in bathroom. Wi-Fi Instructions would have been better printed on a card in the room. Walls Were a bit fthin could hear doors opening and closing.

    Room was very cosy, heating easy to use. Staff came round to change towells, and fix up bed. We were very Impressed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel has recently been renovated and is looking amazing !!! I'm a senior manager for a telecoms company, i stay in hotels 4 out of 7 days per week. I was pleasantly supprised at the friendliness of the staff and value for money on this accommodation. I know it's not in the town centre but a taxi only costs £3.50 so don't be cheap!!!!! Book now? P.S breakfast in bed amazing !!!!!!?!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    It was satisfactory for my trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv in the room didn't work. Suggest you check it each time the room is made up for each new guest. A proper coffee cup would be better with the evening meal, rather than cheap carboard, considering the room price paid.

    The conversations with the older staff lady at the bar and restaurant. An excellent worker, and very entertaining. The race activity was interesting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Great fun at the races Expensive room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price. Whilst the hotel is convenient for the races it is very expensive. The rooms are clean but nothing that we haven’t had before elsewhere for half the price. We had a view of the parade ring. .... or we would have if we could have seen out of the disgustingly dirty windows. They have the monopoly unfortunately being affiliated with the race course. If the prices were cheaper we would consider going more often.

    The fact it’s next to the race course! Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Had a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really comfortable and the décor of the room, was really fresh. The lobby area is also really welcoming.:) I had a lovely stay here and the staff were really friendly as I arrived.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Spacious room, good food in restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom 116 in need of a plumber.Bath plug broken,sink plug not functioning on lever had to be removed to get rid of waste water in sink, leaving an unpleasant smell in the bathroom. Toilet would not flush successfully,had to push flush handle at least 4 or 5 times before it flushed.

    Room was spacious and light.Excellent evening meal. Lovely lady MBE,waitressing.we

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More of a selection of fruit for breakfast like grapefruits and orange juice without bits.

    Bed comfortable, good view from the room, excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Great beds as expected at Holiday Inn
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive yet bland food Room was clean but bathroom stained

    Great beds as expected at Holiday Inn Good humored staff An error when I called ahead was quickly rectified by a call back, this saved me a great deal of agravation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Outstanding friendly staff who went out of their way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Familys that didn't supervise their, childrenin the dinning area.

    Outstanding friendly staff who went out of their way to accommodate your needs in all aspects of stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Caring & attentive staff and comforting & stylish rooms. Truely a hidden delight in Wolverhampton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can point out to be honest! I always have a wonderful visit, I've used this hotel specifically this branch about 6 times now

    The style of the room, the staff were very welcoming, the comfort of the room and the lighting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Excellent start to finish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More coffee please at breakfast

    This is the second time I have stayed but it will not be my last. I have stayed in a number of different hotels in the City, but never have I found any to match the Holiday Inn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    I'll happily stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Janice, the duty manager, was fantastic. Staff accommodated my request for early check in as best they could and were always so courteous even over the phone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fire door was banging back into place after being used and very noisy during late evening and early morning. Metal closure could have been looked at so it wasnt banging every time used.

    Handy room for lift, and staff reserved us a disabled parking space Plenty of choice for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location spoilers clean and excellent value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in the restaurant could have had a bit more choice but what we had was delicious

    Excellent location spoilers clean and excellent value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Excellent staff, extra comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were outstanding, so friendly and nothing too much trouble. We particularly compliment Jackie (MBE). Thank you to everyone making our stay a pleasure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    excellent staff ++
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    Staff are superb, so welcoming and reception manager and staff are engaging and clearly love their job. Professional and very personable. jackie (MBE) made our meal so enjoyable with great humour, and genuine attention to all our needs. I have seldom seen staff who so seamlessly bring their personalities into the job with such ease to make staying here so enjoyable. A total 10/10 all round. The rooms and environment are clean, bright and light. Best stay in Wolverhampton, without a doubt.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay at this fabulous hotel and will certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely clean, comfortable and air conditioned rooms. Room was well thought out and even had an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe. Great breakfast. The staff couldn't have done more for us. So friendly and helpful. As we were in a hurry to go out but weren't ready, a member of staff suggested we order our evening meal and go and change while it was cooking. They also ordered a taxi for us while we got ready. Later, having returned from the Theatre we asked for some milk to take to our room to have tea and the member of staff gave us a part used bottle from the fridge behind the bar. Such excellent service ! We were very impressed by this particular member of staff. Her name was Jackie Bennett MBE. What a lovely lady. We were looked after so well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Horse racing, great meal, and 20 second walk from the racing to a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really

    Loved the stay, had a great meal in horizons, watched the racing at the same time at dunstall, then a 20 second walk into hotel, very nice good prices and a great room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    More than decent hotel in Wolverhampton
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    difficult to adjust room temperature to a higher value, slightly overpriced for when race courses take place.

    More than decent hotel in the outskirts of Wolverhampton, ideal for people attending horse races. Nice and friendly staff, many thanks! Horse races just nearby, a must see!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    a really well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night

    sloppy fried eggs need to do better but the rest of the food war excellent

    the staff are second to none theres nothing to much for them they r a credit to this place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    When we checked in, the customer service I received from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we checked in, the customer service I received from a Jamaican girl ? was brilliant/excellent. Super friendly and efficient. She did you guys proud ....

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay for the races.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one night and couldn't really find fault with much really. If I have to moan about something it`s that we were next to a generator of some sort but we could only hear it because we had the window open.

    Excellent choice for breakfast. The greeting on the television.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Great location for horse racing lovely room and friendly staff will definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area was very small and drinks quite expensive

    Staff really friendly and helpful room really nice with very comfy bed and lovely bathroom, dinner in restaurant really was very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room allocated on arrival
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower ok but could be more powerful.

    All staff very professional and very welcoming.staff very abliging they will open doors for you,take you to the lift even help my wife's mum with her cardigan, food excellent. Room clean bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel just cold in the downstairs area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and reception area was really cold due to the door to the racecourse not shutting properly and the automatic doors in reception opening all the time. It would be improved by building a porch in front of the auto doors and fixing the faulty door. It wouldn't be so bad if there was another bar area where you could sit and relax after dinner without being so cold.

    The hotel was first class would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.3
    On arrival i asked what time check out would be? And that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival i asked what time check out would be? And that lady said 11.30, i asked if there was any change of a late check out and she advised i could check out for 12.30 free of charge. In the morning house keeping knocked on the door at 9.30 and tried to come in and then came back again at 11.30. This i was not happy about as the whole reason of late check out was because we wanted a lie in. I stay at this hotel frequently with my partner but after Sunday morning's experience i am now not to eager to re book again. Please advise what can be done about this?

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I would recommend would be to cook less eggs at a time (fried and scrambled) and cook more often, because the scrambled eggs were very hard cooked.

    hotel staff were very polite, attentive, and interested

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay for a night at the races.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were a bit stretched in the restaurant after the races. Poor Jackie was rushed off her feet but managed everything with some good banter.

    Perfect location for a night at the races. Staff are always very friendly. The hotel has been refurbished since we were last there & is a lot better for it. Makes it better value for money now - especially on the higher tariff nights.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.5
    It is situated adjacent to the racecourse which was our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room was not very hot and it was not as easy as some to operate.

    It is situated adjacent to the racecourse which was our reason for going. So perfect for us. The room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and good value. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    Really nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would of been nice to of had a safety deposit box and a very petty thing I know but some coffee mate for the coffee and hot chocolate would of been nice 😊

    Very comfortable beds, pleasant staff and a great location for the horse racing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    So good we decided to extend stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of choices for breakfast, full english was lovely and hot. Hotel and Horizons staff could not have been better, really friendly and helpful. Great place to stay for racing and to relax.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    First class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok no complaints very friendly staff.

    Bed very comfy - could you please let us know the make and details of the matress as we are thinking of trying to get one ourselves!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Janice at the reception ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price may be a bit high bt for a 4* it's not bad

    Loved the place room was comfy clean with great view staff were super nice n lovely especially Janice at the reception very bubbly I think we became friends in a split second very welcoming she even got me a charger for my phone coz my battery was low she definitely went that extra mile and I would come back and recommend this place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    An enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A leisure centre would be nice

    The hotel bedroom was clean and modern and very good value for the rate that we paid. The staff were all friendly and courteous. We ordered room service for our breakfast and this was delivered promptly at 8.00 am in the morning by cheerful staff and was delicious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    6.3
    Very friendly and helpful reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness room was dreadful, poor equipment and it was not open in the morning. Breakfast service was not very organised.

    Very friendly and helpful reception staff. Lovely porridge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Quiet room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Parade Ring View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The younger 2 waitresses were not v professional and were talking about the older waitress which I overheard

    Quiet room Comfortable bed Lovely older waitress

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: