Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Brookfield Hotel 3 stars

Havant Road, Emsworth, PO10 7LF, United Kingdom

#8 of 9 hotels in Emsworth

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 288 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness . Found lots of dead flies on windowsill up stairs to room.Hotel is generally tired looking and needs updating. Particularly the room we stayed in.One night stay, room very hot on arrival, and although we did not ask for a fan it would have only circulated hot air around.Room at the back with old metal windows. With a refurb I am sure Air con would solve that.found thick dust on top of both wardrobes. The room had too much furniture in. Shower head needed descalling or better still replacing. So only a bath was taken. The hotel had fitted an extension lead to the wall in order to plug kettle into and anything that occupants would care to plug into it aswell., As I understand this is not the done thing in a hotel although it did have a circuit breaker built in. Did not eat in and found the bar manager/ Managers attitude a bit to be desired later in the day when he was more interested in the England game at the World Cup. Asked us if we were dining in and when we said no he seemed relieved that he wouldn’t be bothered leaving him free to watch the Football. Hasten to add we will not stop there again as it has a feel of your great aunts big house.

    Downstairs and garden. First impression on arrival at reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our twin bedroom was cramped especially as I had a push-trolley (not a wheelchair). I spend more than usual lying in bed but the lights were not good enough to read by, in that position.

    Liked parking facilities and garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful unexpected find
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My personal campaign at the moment is room lighting. All hotels are the same in providing eco lighting, but for us older generation it is difficult to see, especially reading or ladies trying to do makeup. So please note a person of 60 requires 3 times the light of a 20 year old. Other than this there is nothing to complain about in this lovely hotel

    the room was pleasant and comfortable. Dining area acceptable. Lounge lovely and relaxing. Great gardens to sit in or explore. Nearby is an absolutely lovely walk into Emsworth village via seafront down one of the roads opposite. Don't miss it out. Or a short drive will take you there. Approach to this hotel inspired confidence for my short stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location just outside Emsworth village and near the sea...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed is not comfortable - mainly the pillows are awful, hard foam blocks, did not sleep at all well. Also had this in another room previously at the Brookfield so not a one off. Only one plug socket in the whole room and it isn't near the bed so forget about charging your phone overnight. Laptop, phone, hairdryer.... no plugs. Absurd. No fridge in the room.

    Good location just outside Emsworth village and near the sea front Room is clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    A really good hotel in an excellent location. Certainly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows - but that’s my preference.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, with excellent communication leading up to our stay. Slightly more comfortable pillows would be good, but that is my preference. Would certainly recommend The Brookfield Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    Rooms could do with some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was pretty dated with the carpet in particular need of attention... old, tired, did not look clean and was crumpled, so a possible trip hazard as you walk into the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on reception was very welcoming despite our very late arrival. Whilst the hotel was a little tired, it was very clean and had everything we needed. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    A Lot Going For It!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel presents itself as a wedding venue and at first glance we could see how it could be...but on a closer look, the furniture in the bar and lounge areas is rather worn and the decor in bedroom we had was dated The ambience in the dining room could be vastly improved by a more up to date approach to lighting the area

    We chose The Brookfield for its location...within easy reach of Portsmouth, Chichester and the coast. We also liked the fact that it was not part of a large chain... Had we visited later in the year we would have definitely used the garden facilities. The staff were all pleasant and efficient and the waitress and bar man who served us in the restaurant had a good sense of humour!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent short stay in a prime spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated in some areas, hallways landings etc, maybe a games room or somewhere for kids to play in the colder months?

    Fantastic, attentive, friendly staff! Amazing food, fresh and at reasonable cost too! Worth coming to the hotel if just for the food! Super comfy beds and big sinks low enough for a 5 yr old to reach when brushing teeth 😬!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    OK but it is good to get a good nights sleep when you pay so much for a room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel very noisy from room above and from corridors as walls were thin and ceilings not insulated for noise. Breakfast extra

    Hotel clean and staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel brilliant staff , looking forward to my next stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    How very helpful all the staff are , nothing is to much trouble for them , I cannot rate them highly enough , will stay there again .The room was race and very clean , and the full English breakfast was great , and once again brilliant staff .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Croissants need to be warm!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There needs to be a rail by the shower,very easy to slip and nothing to hold.

    Croissants need to be warm! Otherwise breakfast good and yoghurt very good. Room service excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Overnight stay and breakfast not included. Comfortable hotel if a little characterless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine - hotel works well if a little bland!

    Comfortable bed and nice quiet room at back of hotel away from the busy road. Good lighting. Bathroom was quite big with bath and overhead shower. Some toiletries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Very good indeed and would def stay there again and would recomend to friends and relatives and as s
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room could have been a bit brighter and signage to reception from room could have been better,we got lost twice!!

    Excellent staff so very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    All i can say is brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy check in , very good room , bar and snacks if wanted , breakfast was excellent ,plenty of room to park , very friendly staff , altogether very very good will certainly stay here again .

    The room was very clean and the bathroom was excellent with every thing provided ,parking was easy , very pleasing hotel .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.0
    I am afraid it was disappointing for the money paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First room was dark and not particularly attractive Given another room which was acceptable but bath taps did not work properly Timed out after first day and could not get in room (had booked directly for extra night) £202 for 2 nights did not include breakfast! Phoned and left message for early morning call - did not happen No help offered to get case down stairs when I left It was Christmas but at times it did not feel it had arrived there

    Receptionist when I arrived Housekeeper helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    I was upgraded to a fabulous room when I commented that I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just that the room was next door to the party room. Absolutely no complaints at all xxx

    I was upgraded to a fabulous room when I commented that I wouldn't be able to sleep due to the Christmas party xxx both rooms were really nice and the staff were amazing xxxx

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no complmentary breakfast included in the price.

    The bar was open 24 hours but nice if you wanted a soft drink as well as alcohol. The staff were really friendly. The rooms looked lovely, comfy and spacious. Would come back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took £30 out my bank when they said it wouldn’t come out.. still haven’t been refunded & mucked up payment for the room. The reception staff are useless they don’t explain anything. Food menu wasn’t good didn’t have a decent variety of food.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Super comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To expensive to stay again :(

    Super comfy bed... Loved the bathroom very spacious room!! Internet wifi was superb the best I have experienced in a hotel. Staff were friendly and I had the sirloin steak which went down a treat. Cannot fault any thing about the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Wouldnt stay in room 1 unless you get cold at night! Otherwise great clean hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really hot. Had the window fully open and made no difference, the room must have had a boiler next to it behind the cupboard! Colleague said his room was fine. I would not recommend staying in Room 1! Shower not very powerful.

    Room was clean and tidy. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Spacious twin room with two comfy chairs and desk/table. Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great spacious room with desk/table and two comfy chairs. Comfy twin beds. Great value for money compared to other hotels we've stayed in for more money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    the bed was really comfortable, choice of shower or bath in the onsuite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was not included with booking.com

    the staff were very friendly, the food was good, i recommend the brookfield burger, it is delicious. I would book direct through the hotel next time because breakfast would have been included

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay in a charming, unspoilt, English town in an AONB.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing in our attic room was a bit below par, no doubt they'll fix it.

    The staff were almost all extremely friendly, warm, and enthusiastic in an entirely unstrained way. The food is excellent and well cooked, and every effort was made to accommodate complex dietary needs. The hotel is also well appointed, fresh and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Least said ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was not easy to see from the road - we overshot it twice. The signs are obscured by trees and lamp posts. We got the garret - top floor and no lift. We got a smile at reception, but it felt pasted on - we did not feel welcome. The wifi code was not on anything that we were given, so I had to traipse down the stairs to reception for it. Unbelievably, despite the room being on the expensive side, there was a charge for the coffee tray. We were happy to leave for breakfast in Portsmouth.

    We won't be going back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Could have been excellent but let down by poor service and detail
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff weren't always very friendly or helpful. When we arrived we were told the wifi wasn't working but no apology for that. When the wifi did start working it was always extremely slow. Using mobile phone data was significantly faster, despite a weak signal. We were woken up with an alarm call at 6.30am but we hadn't requested an alarm call. Minutes later the phone went again. I ended up getting up soon after, had a shower - but the shower was cold. On the second night, the TV turned itself on very loud at 4am. The remote control was nowhere near the beds, so it wasn't pressed accidentally.

    Very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    An enjoyable mini break in accommodation conveniently situated with very good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast prices a little high when compared to Premier Inns. Advised that direct booking would have had breakfast included!

    Relaxed atmosphere. Friendly staff and service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for what is offered. Small rooms, no lift, dogs there even though it says no pets, extortionate prices for meals and drinks. Kettle supplied but had to move it to bedside for power, had to climb on chair to close window that had been left open so room was cold and noisy from traffic outside. Main photo of hotel on booking is nothing like this hotel.

    Nice garden

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable and would certainly stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cannot think of anything.

    Spacious bathroom,lots of shelf space. Shower very easy to use. Two armchairs in the bedroom plus a coffee table. Quilted toilet paper - bliss !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    We will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A young lady on reception wasn't particularly helpful, unlike the other staff who were lovely.

    We stayed in a very comfortable executive room which was well appointed and of a good size. There was ample parking to the front of the property and a pleasant lawned outdoor space to the rear.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.2
    Just ok and not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a bit diffident. They said the right things but without conviction. Not welcoming especially in breakfast room. Room was airless and noise of traffic with window open. No ventilation in bathroom. Cold water tap ran quite hot for a long while before getting cold.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing and expensive for what it delivers
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two of reception staff were excellent . Two others ought to learn that they are the first point of contact ( fairly basic) . Even a smile might help!

    The night porter on duty at departure went the extra mile to get us a taxi after our booked taxi failed to arrive Well done

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    The place to stay in emsworth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we saw was very good but it was just an over night stay so couldn't comment on all aspects of hotal

    Beautiful garden and very stilish bar area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Great rooms, comfy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was expensive. We didn't have breakfast because of the cost. Even just two cups of coffee cost us £7.

    The rooms were large, the bathroom was very spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff and comfortable, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost was a bit pricey considering it was room only. We were on the ground floor and only had big windows to open at night which we didn't do as access was easy from the road. Also only had one pillow, no extra in room.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom and bathroom were clean. Shower gel, soap and shampoo were also included which isn't always the case nowadays.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed side lights not individual, had to have both on or both off. Only one socket for recharging phone/iPad that I could find.

    Convenient for visiting family nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Friendly atmosphere, great breakfast & good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was lovely & in a great location - middle of Portsmouth & Chichester really. The staff were all friendly, helpful & well turned out. A 'cooked to order breakfast' is always much better than the buffet, help yourself ones & the breakfast here was certainly excellent. We did not get to eat dinner, unfortunately, as we came to visit friends that live nearby so they had organised other things for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cups for water in the room. I phoned ahead to say my partner would be checking in before me, but this message was not passed on,and my partner felt check in was 'terse'. Breakfast seemed expensive at £ 1350 for full breakfast. We did not try it. Better to go into Emsworth to one of the nany cafes.

    Room was clean and comfortable.Easy parking on site. Easy access to Emsworth,a lovely little town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice place, beds needs improvement
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable. We had to sleep on top of the duvet to try to improve comfort. Upgrade on mattresses needed

    Location, parking, overall appearance great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    6.3
    Rubbish
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the middle of the night there were four acastions were there were doors slammed and woke us up the last time was at 5.45 were our hole room shaked and that was the final straw we got up had a coffe and got dress and went down staires to check out we spoke with the manager and she did nothing She just oppolizied we left and went home to bed not a very good start to our wedding anaversery I would not recommend it to any one and would not stay there again

    It was local to the venue we was going to

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.3
    Three nights in the pleasant village of Emsworth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was charged for a breakfast, £13.50, that I did not have. Unfortunately I did not notice it until I got home. Room was tired looking, could do with a coat of paint, holes in wall where something had been removed. No clock, extractor fan in bathroom did not work. Did not offer a meal deal so went out for breakfast.

    Restaurant was excellent, menu small. All public areas were immaculate. Plenty of parking until there were functions in the hotel, then a problem. Good shower but over the bath, awkward for the aged. Staff very helpful and cheerful. Would consider staying again but not in a standard twin room, No 28.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    Emsworth, a good location, a good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing major to dislike about our stay at the Brookfield

    The hotel was located within walking distance of Emsworth, The staff were smrt, friendly, and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and everything worked as it should. The restaurant served well cooked, enjoyable and well presented food and the breakfast was excellent, I would happily stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel with the right location for our requirements
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com had not sent the booking through to the hotel so they were not expecting us but luckily managed to accommodate us. We booked in the afternoon for a 22:00 - 23:00 arrival. arrived just after 22:00 and email from booking.com arrived at least 30 minutes after we did.

    Good hotel with the right location for our requirements

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest l could not find anything wrong with hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Only stayed one night, was all we needed. The bed was big and comfortable, was nice and clean. Shame didn't have breakfast but prices were good and meals looked value for money,again should have tried them. Will go back again as friends live very near by.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    8.8
    Just the ticket!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hospitality tray in the spacious bedroom. Warm, comfortable, relaxing hotel, ideal for a short break with the family within walking distance of Emsworth and the coastline.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.1
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cost of the breakfast was too high if only small portion needed. There should be variable price depending on what is eaten.

    The room was comfortable with a decent shower.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Lovely would go for bigger room if we came again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did find the bed rather small as we have a super king at home so apart from that it was comfy not enough room

    We only came for 2 nights for our anniversary we had a meal from the lounge menu which was excellent we didnt have breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    An average hotel that is charging far too much without breakfast being offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I had to pay full price is not value for money, fairly basic room, sink didn't drain away and TV had no signal

    We obtained this room for a very low price so made it value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Staff very friendly and great location for Chichester and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water wasn't as hot as I'd like and shower wasn't very powerful. Shower head was also quite blocked with limescale. Was nice to have a bath though in en suite so made use of this rather than the shower

    Staff very friendly and great location for Chichester and Portsmouth

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.5
    Great little hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was luke warm on the Sunday morning (much better on the Monday assume due to lower occupancy!)

    Friendly staff, the room was clean and the bed was comfy. Had dinner at one of their event nights and couldn't fault the food or the service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    5.4
    Poor Communication
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being advised there was a party with loud music going on until well after midnight. This prevented us from having the restful evening and night that we had hoped for. It was also impossible for us to go to the bar for a quiet drink. Although we had booked online the hotel had a contact phone number for us.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    The bathroom was very spacious with really good sized bath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for a Christmas party, but the room we had our meal in wasn't decorated. The bar was expensive.

    The bathroom was very spacious with really good sized bath & basin. The mugs were a decent size & there was a good supply of tea, coffee, milks etc. there was a hair drier both in the bathroom & the bedroom. The food for our Christmas Dinner was nice & was hot. It was served very speedily & professionally by jolly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    Very good choice for my one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really couldn't put anything here.

    I like the whole ambience of the situation. The staff were most helpful and the bedroom was clean, a well lit bathroom and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    7.5
    convenient for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not enough attention to recording what breakfast we had when paying the bill so we could have been overcharged if we had not checked it carefully.

    very convenient where it is situated off the main route

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    5.4
    Very average rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tatty! They're tried to modernise them but on the cheap, reception staff need to learn to simile and acknowledge their guests.

    Location was good and very convenient for us

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    6.7
    Needs a modern refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was very very dated and smelt of TCP! Breakfast a little disorganised! Electrics weren't working so the fire alarm kept going off. Finally received our breakfast - was actually an ok breakfast. Ok - location but needs to update their facilities and rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    Great overnight stay
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something they couldn't have fixed for me was the height of the hanging toilet. I'm not short but my feet didn't touch the ground when seated. Didn't help it has a slight angle forward.

    Only stayed the night. I had no time for breakfast. Room 24 was quite and peaceful as it was at the end of a ground floor corridor. Carpark was full I must have got the last space when I arrived.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.3
    Emsworth return
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    washbasin was showing hairline cracks which was mentioned to staff who said that they were aware and it was due to be attended to.

    The room was very clean and reasonably equipped. Bed was comfortable and linen very clean. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.3
    Ideal if you get a good deal .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to stayed 3 nights but price of room doubled third night . It would have been at least £300 for a Saturday night and was not worth that .

    Proper Hotel , Good size room etc, Good restaurant and bar area . ideal for visiting Portsmouth and Chichester .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    I'd stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking for disabled guests was a little haphazard as the only places designated were of the same size as the other spaces and I found that staff parked so close to my car that I had to try and get in from the other door. Not easy when you can hardly walk.

    A nice quiet hotel if a little dated in décor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Great overnight stay in lovely hotel in Emsworth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in bar was very slow.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and food and service was extremely good. Good variety for breakfast the next morning. On site parking a big bonus

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    6.7
    Handy short stay but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff were fine and helpful. Restaurant staff, however, were trying very hard to give the impression of a top-class venue; it didn't quite work. The description of my starter suggested that the accompanying toast would be fresh but was rock hard and had clearly just been taken out of a chiller, the guy who was rushing round taking orders from tables was heard to ask a colleague (who was idly staring into space) to see if everything was alright on table 15 (mine); and when I requested additional biscuits for the cheese (as the 5 small biscuits supplied were insufficient), this was answered with incredulity.

    The room was changed on check-in for an unexplained reason from 27 (at the side of the hotel) to 32 which was at the front and therefore not very quiet. It was, however, clean and comfortable but in need of refurbishment. Breakfast was OK but nothing special.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    6.7
    General atmosphere of quiet and calm, helpful on a business...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General atmosphere of quiet and calm, helpful on a business trip. Enjoyed the evening sun in the garden, sipping a cold beer and writing up work notes. Proximity to the harbour and the old village.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.3
    Good overall but spoiled by uncontrolled guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wedding party staying at hotel and they were very disruptive in the early hours at around 2-3 am shouting and banging doors. I heard other residents complaining about this. I would suggest keeping such parties to one wing of the hotel and / or reminding them that they must respect other residents. It would put me off booking s further stay.

    Staff were very attentive and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Fine location, well-run, good food, superb service
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bulb missing from one of two lights over the desk. TV service stopped after earlier thunderstorm. These did not matter too much.

    Good food, superb service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Very satisfied and will repeat visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friend taken ill and staff were very attentive and summoned the ambulance quickly. Staff asked to be kept informed of result, Friend sent home after checks. Have used hotel many times and have always been very satisfied.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    6.3
    Good location, rooms very clean, poor restaurant service, wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor service at breakfast, table setting hadn't been refreshed, cost of the food verses the quality was poor, showerhead broke and no spare rooms to take a shower in, room was stifflingly hot - and no, not because it was hot outside.

    Rachel on reception, also young lad serving tea/coffee was very polite and made sure the first latte he'd ever made was good enough for me to drink. Good location, very clean room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    5.0
    Bed was comfortable large car park
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not worth the money 13.50 each for the full breakfast didn't even include toast seemed a bit of a problem when we asked for it still didn't get anyway

    Bed was comfortable large car park

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.7
    the full English breakfast was not nice at all both of us...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the full English breakfast was not nice at all both of us could not eat them and at £13.50 each a total waste of money heat lamp cooked very bland over salty bacon nasty sausages.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast/dinner prices were expensive but menu looked nice. As we didn't want either it did not affect our stay

    The staff were very friendly bothered to make conversation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Pleasant over night stay and would return but not in that room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just our luck to get the room next to the stairs. Door being banged every time someone came up or went down. room 45.

    Friendly welcoming staff and also at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.5
    A lovely hotel in a great location... but didn't get as much sleep as we would have liked!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wedding reception on one evening which used the garden area. We would more than happy to listen to the music/singing/shouting until midnight, but not until 4am! I would have expected the hotel staff to have brought the party back indoors at midnight.

    Great location & beautiful garden. Room clean, though much smaller than it looked on the website!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    5.4
    Expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think £99 for a tired looking room, breakfast not included and located on the outskirts of Emsworth (!) is poor value. Bathroom was reasonable, but the rest of the room looked like it was from the 1970's. Room was very hot and stuffy, no air conditioning. Overall, a typical UK hotel: overpriced and of average quality.

    Had a quiet night, no noise. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.6
    Fabulous little find, lovely staff and ambiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only gripe was that it was a bit further away from West Wittering than we thought. About half an hours drive.

    Fabulous little find, lovely staff and ambiance. The food was especially good and I would go back just to eat even if I didn't stay again. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. They have a fabulous secret garden with a pond, we ate outside which was lovely. I would recommend this as a really good value place to stay 👍🏻

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    A good nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window on ground floor room didn't have tilt facility that the first floor room did - when hot you need to sleep with a window open and feel secure

    Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: