Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of B+B York 4 stars

15 St Peter's Grove, York, YO30 6AQ , United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 1746 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.1
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't in the main hotel got verywet going across to the main part. Theelectrics broke down each morning so could not washmy hair or have a shower. Value for moneywasnt good. Single room was like a cupboard ,very sparce.

    The parking was good The food was quite nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Really good hotel 10 minutes walk from central York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting not brilliant & mirror lights faulty so tricky doing makeup etc. Reported to electrician but remained faulty. Manager apologised.

    Good quiet location. Comfortable room & nice clean bathroom with excellent shower. Breakfast excellent & lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    The evening meal took a while to come but the young lady who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The evening meal took a while to come but the young lady who was on duty that night was excellent having retired from having a large hotel I would have employed her without hesitation

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Well maintained and with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well maintained and with friendly staff. Room was excellent and very comfortable, and well equipped. Very good breakfast choices. Property itself is well situated, only about 15 mins amble to the minster. Car parking available at the B&B. Excellent all round.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.0
    Going to York - Stay here
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decoration in some areas needs updating (just minor)

    Brilliant Location for York City Centre. Free secure parking. Clean. Good Breakfast selection and well cooked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect. We could walk into the heart of old York in about five to ten minutes. It was a beautiful facility and the room was large and comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Fab stay going to come again very soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Stayed with my mum and really enjoyed our stay, staff lovely and couldn't do enough to help us...this is only place we stay in York as have tried others and nothing compares, going to book again for beg of nxt year again.....thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelt musty and cold. There was a lingering smell of the chemicals in cleaning products and it was difficult to open a window.Exposed plug on one wall

    The location was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, great location, parking, free hot drinks and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels heavily stained a bit picky i know, but its not good having towels that looked like they’d been used to soak up a leak at some point. So buy new towels for next time as I would stay here again :)!

    Comfortable, great location, parking, free hot drinks and bottled water, breakfasts were great, staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice and quite location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer poor quality take your own . The mattress not very good .

    Nice and quite location .Within easy reach of city centre. Free car parking a bonus Good breakfast .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing and left feeling ripped off
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small EXPENSIVE room, NO BREAKFAST INCLUDED !!!!! with an uncomfortable small bed, pets are charged at £15 PER NIGHT!! what do you get for that ...nothing ...rank profiteering !! I enquired about the availability of electric charging points for our car ...to be told there was 2 available ...this was a feature that swayed us to book ..upon arrival we found that they were old type units & neither of them was compatible with standard type 2 connection plug

    Good location, very clean, friendly helpful staff, free car park ... nice decor ... free mineral water & coffee from a machine available all day

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.4
    Very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception service. And the place is NOT near the station. Our room was equipped for disabled customers. It's wonderful that you have such a room, but it should be pointed out clearly in the room description.

    Very clean. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.3
    Ok for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music from bar until well after 11pm They hand out earplugs when you check in!!!’ Tiny single room.

    V quick, well cooked breakfast. Bed ok comfy. A note above the toilet said it was an Incinerator- don’t know what that meant but it was super noisy when flushed!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    The lad on reception was really welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was spot on for the money.

    The lad on reception was really welcoming. Beds were really comfy room was clean great value for money, breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Will be looking at this place again for any stays in York and will look at their other locations too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No black pudding on the breakfast. Sorry but it's not a proper breakfast without it for me ha. The room was a little smaller than expected and the bed was too small for me. Haven't slept in a standard double for a long time.

    The cleanliness and location was spot on for what we needed. All the staff we come across were super friendly and gave good advice/directions when we asked for their local knowledge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staff, good location and nice barareas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room. Even though it was a great size for us as a family and very well equipped it was very tired. It smelt damp and we were awoken at 5.30am from noise next door and above. Mainly from the other guests having a shower and the water dripping though the ceiling into the dresser.

    The main restaurant and bar area was lovely and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Location great, problem was the bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not level so our feet were higher up than our heads, we had to sleep at the bottom of the bed. I went to reception to explain, gentleman was very sorry but nothing could be done as hotel was full !!!! and shower looked as though it hadn’t been cleaned as hairs were on the bottom on the tray.

    The breakfast staff were excellent, friendly and welcoming. Location was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, clean hotel and only a short walk into York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed and clean bathroom. Quiet street and parking at hotel. Good choice for breakfast. Drinks available all day. Good and welcoming staff. Lovely 15 min walk into York

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    2 day stay in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a superior room, and although it was nice and comfortable I wouldn't say it was superior but a standard room!

    A lovely, friendly stay, and very clean! With complementary hot drinks and cold bottled water throughout stay was great! Hot freshly cooked breakfast, was also very good..A little waiting time as it is made to order but didn't mind at all, as it was very good!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Bed extremely comfortable but creaky and very quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was poor and general condition of room was poor, in need of a bit of love and attention will make a lot of difference

    Bed extremely comfortable but creaky and very quiet area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Great location. Everything you need and more in a B&B. Free coffee /tea and water. Even a sweet on your pillow. Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Very peaceful and very comfortable all round
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one, I thought the price for a pet for one night was a bit high considering she cost the hotel nothing not even the offer of a doggie bed or blanket

    Very clean and bright hotel, lovely staff very friendly.Breakfast was perfect, hot and freshly cooked. As much coffee and cold bottled water on the house was a great plus. Perfect place to stay with your doggie we were all made to feel very welcome Would recommend to friends and family and would definitely stay again Another brilliant plus was leaving the car and the 10 minute walk into York city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable but breakfast should be sorted out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen about it being dog friendly why not put up the price to include breakfast ? Why is breakfast dearer if you don’t order it the night before first time I have heard of this

    Nice & central comfortable stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place in quiet street only 10 minutes from minister.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place in quiet street only 10 minutes from minister. Rooms were nice clean and comfortable with complementary tea, coffee and bottle water throughout your stay. Staff were friendly and helpful would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoy York and very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very nice.

    The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The room and the shower was a little on the small side no room to move in the shower. Very clean though.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Great Location and Nice Large Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested room service, which is available until 8pm, but when trying to order something at 7.55pm we were told that it was a bit too late for the staff to take anymore orders.

    The hotel was clean and the facilities were good. There were free bottles of drinking water and tea and coffee available for all hotel guests as well as parking facilities at the hotel too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to correct booking information to explain we had paid for breakfast by email and then when we arrived

    Easy access to drinks in main building and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Location was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress was very comfortable. The bathroom could use an overhaul.

    Location was superb. The breakfast was among the best I have had at a B&B. The atmosphere was great. Parking facilities were good with possibility to lengthen the parking time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff but no chance of sleep if your in room 4!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise created outside the room which meant we got hardly any sleep. Some sort of generator or air con unit constantly grinding, buzzing all night. 15mins peace the 45mins noise. Extremely frustrating. Horrendous. All promised so much and delievered so badly I’m what was most important, a decent nights sleep. Can’t knock the staff who were fantastic.

    The very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom didn’t have good ventilation, so slight smell of mold. Whilst lunch and dinner were available, the choice was limited.

    Excellent choice of breakfast foods. Friendly staff. Clean rooms and dining area/lounge. 10-15 minute walk into central York. Quiet and safe neighbourhood. Served lunch and dinner on request. Nice common area. Good to have access to tea, coffee and mineral water in the common area. Our room wasn’t in the main building, and so we only had one other room joined to ours, so very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice, comfortable and easy checkin/out. Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe dinner menu to be prepared fresh but understand so few people may use it that food needs to be pre-prepared

    Staff great, friendly and informative

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    10 mins walk from the Minster, in a nice quiet street. Already booked a weekend for next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower in our bathroom was a bit tight on space, but it was hot and powerful.

    So nice to get a proper cooked breakfast instead of a buffet. The free coffee and bottle of water was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We liked the fact that there was a car park and that the Minster etc was about a 10 minute walk away. The room was lovely and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Great place to stay for a short trip to York .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole experience was great from start to finish . There was nothing that disappointed us . Everything was as expected .

    Beautiful room , excellent breakfast very accommodating for gluten free . Only a short walk into York centre . Very quiet . Easy to find with plenty of parking .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely room, very clean and modern, great breakfast with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing that wasn’t so good was the shower, which wasn’t very powerful

    Lovely room, very clean and modern, great breakfast with lots of choice and plenty of it. Very close to York city centre, no more than a 10 minute walk. Very friendly staff and great to have on site parking. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Definitely recommend staying in the Bootham Suite. The hotel is lovely and quaint with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst some light bulbs were missing and one of the pillows was a little soiled, this did not have any negative impact on our stay but I would recommend an inspection of the Bootham suite sooner rather than later to avoid any customers complaining because the room itself and the facilities were brilliant.

    Had brilliant stay the staff were lovely and very accommodating! The room was beautiful and very spacious exactly what we wanted we would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    Location to York, 15 min walk into centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spiral staircase was a bit of a worry especially getting suitcases up and down them. The room was in the loft with a very small window which we had to leave open day and night to try and keep the room temperature down. Generally everything was good and the staff very helpful.

    Location to York, 15 min walk into centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    It was ok for the one night we stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little tired so we were disappointed that it was not up to the standard we're used to in a 4 star establishment.

    The staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    Short term stay outside York
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi did not work in the room that I was allocated - no deafening in the bedroom next to mine, I found the room and accomodation to be basic and not warranting the tripadvisor rating - but that could have been my experience in my room. I arrived to 2 2.5 inch moths in the room as the window had been fully opened,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended if visiting York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed could have been a little bigger (small double)

    Location within easy reach of main centre of York Helpful and Friendly Staff Parking Free for Guests Good value breakfast Access to Free Coffee and Chilled Bottled Water in dining room (plus coffee/tea making in Room) Nice Bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    4.6
    Don't go if you're more than average height!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's critical that guests are informed about room size before booking. My wife and I booked a double room but the bed was too small and the room tiny. When we asked to be moved we had to pay extra. My sister-in-law had a room that can only be compared to a coffin.

    The manager was helpful when we needed to move rooms (though we had to pay for the privilege!) . The location is good, quiet and within a medium walk of the old city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    B+B york is the place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I carnt think of anything to not like if i had to i would ask that the yale locks be changed on doors to rooms so they close quieter.

    Love the staff loved the service loved the breakfasts and complimentary drinks hot or cold the room was very clean and comfortable also only 10 mins walk to york minster will book again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    reasonable over night stay with easy access to York centre.. and don’t forget the great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been larger and shower wasn’t powerful.

    Friendly and efficient greeting and check in, 10 mins stroll to town, very nice breakfast and free parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.4
    The breakfast was lovely and the staff serving were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very short and uncomfortable. The room smelled damp and the shower wasn't good. Not a luxury b&b

    The breakfast was lovely and the staff serving were very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Rest up. Revive, then stir up your history genes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit squeezy but bathroom very spacious. Mattress springy but linen great.

    Gorgeous helpful friendly staff and delicious cooked brekkie. Location quiet and a few minutes walk to York Centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Lovely staff providing excellent service in a clean and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not keen on the hot chocolate from the machine in the dining room so kept to the coffee.

    My wife and I were given the Bootham Suite. It was large and spacious with a good-sized bathroom and separate toilet. Very good shower, bath available. Large TV with comfortable sofa and chairs to watch it from. The bed was a king size, lovely to sleep in and plenty of good pillows. Good sized fridge with complimentary water and fresh milk. Another nice extra was the coffee machine with pods provided, as well as the kettle and assorted hot drink sachets. The room, and all public spaces were very clean. Breakfast was very good, a nice selection of quality food. All the staff were helpful, polite and friendly. It was a 10 minute walk into the centre which we found pleasant but for those that don't like walking there were plenty of buses.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    We liked everything about this hotel . The staff were a credit to the hotel. Friendly,efficient and helpful. Good sized room, plenty of electric sockets ,comfortable bed, fan provided which was appreciated. Great breakfast freshly cooked, great choice. Free fast Wi-Fi. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location for York visit with good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really was very pleased, about 15 minute walk from city walls but nice neighborhood and quiet.

    Good choice of hot, cooked breakfast. Coffee so so but available at all hours. Especially appreciated availability of cold, free bottled water.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Would certainly recommend. Just right for our one night stay in beautiful York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in our room wasn’t great, but was adequate - this was only a minor negative. Everything else was super.

    Great location with parking, in lovely leafy part of York, just a ten minute walk to centre. Big twin room. Nice touches, like free cappuccino/latte coffees available in the dining room at all times, plus complimentary chilled bottled water in the fridge for guests to help themselves. Dining room and bar area were nice and bright.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    Stayed here for the 3rd time, great location with small free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the most attentive check in (on mobile phone and in no rush), Executive double room had sloping ceiling, Wife (not the tallest) kept banging her head! Wardrobe was only a cupboard, headboard had seen better days. In general for price we paid didn’t feel the best value. Property had changed ownership from St Peters Grove to York B&B, and feel change not for the better!

    Stayed here for the 3rd time, great location with small free car park. Breakfast was nice, but felt rushed (and we weren’t down that late)!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just 10 min walk from city centre And 10min from railway station Staff lovely. Breakfast excellent rooms clean and soap shampoo shower gel all there. Coffee or tea until 10pm and bottled water in cooler available at all times

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Friendly, clean, smart and tasty what was not to like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited car parking on site...but I managed to get a space but I think it could be an issue.

    Staff friendly and welcoming. (Single) Room was adequate size, clean and fresh with tea and coffee and tv. Bar area serving food was a bonus and the burger was lovely. Great breakfast. A great find and would happily return. I had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall a brilliant place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, as was the shower. The shower pressure was very poor and not super hot, probably to be energy efficient but too weak to rinse off efficiently. If staying on the top floor there is no lift. Room had only small windows and as was facing the sun, very hot and stuffy.

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Excellent facilities including bar/ restaurant and lounge area. Breakfasts very good with good selection of continental and cooked food available. Nice touch having tea/ coffee and bottled water available through out the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely cosy stay, close to town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at breakfast didn't quite seem to flow. Two tables who were seated and ordered after us got their food before we did which was a little frustrating. We stayed in room 3 next to the carpark and could hear cars coming and going and doors opening and closing and we could hear the room next to us talking and the TV at the night time , so it would seem the walls are a little thin.

    The room was spacious and the bed comfortable, the location was great, nice and quiet street but only a 10 minute walk into York. The hotel was really cosy, breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wooden end of the bed was uncomfortable for my long legs but I used a pillow to pad it out. A minor thing to me though.

    Good breakfast options. Free complimentary water. Ten minutes walk from centre in a quiet location. Good parking. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    3.8
    Dreadful - poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place / building outside and inside was old worn tired and shabby- obvious by stairs landings and torn blinds. Damp patch on ceiling in bedroom and the room felt musty old and unclean. The shower was only a trickle- pathetic. The bed was very uncomfortableand the pillows were rubbish. Breakfast food over all was poor quality and tasteless. Overall bad value and will not be recommending.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Immaculate, friendly more than you expect and perfect place to get into York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative on this place at all

    Immaculate cosy, ideal area for walking to centre of York and staff excellent. Brilliant place a great find on St Peters Grove.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel & staff, excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in room 6 was small with the toilet roll holder on the wall above the toilet cistern which was awkward. Having to pay £7 to leave the car on day of departure to look around York seemed a bit too much as we have never had to pay at other b&b.

    Friendly staff, hotel & room clean. Breakfast was lovely. Complementary water, tea & coffee was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent - would definitely stay here again and recommend to others!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny.

    Cooked breakfast was great, staff very friendly, the building itself charming and located just 10 minutes’ walk from the thick of things.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed wasn't as comfortable as some others.

    We were grateful to the staff who re-arranged some rooms to allow us to check in 2 hours early as my wife was suffering from a migraine and needed to lie down. We were in the cottage which was a good size. Good parking and breakfast was very good. Located a 10 minute walk from the city and restaurants were a little closer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Great weekend, good accommodation, close to the centre of York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected room to be a bit bigger as in the photos on the website. However they were lovely and clean. Could have done with air-conditioning as it was a very hot weekend and the room fan was not quite enough to cool the room down.

    The room was cosy and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was very good and the complimentary teas, coffees and water was a really good touch. Only 10 minutes walk to the centre of York.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good value for price paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the bathroom a little tight but no big deal on a short stay.

    We stayed here for the first time (2 nights) and although the room wasn't ready for us, it wasn't a big deal, sorted in a few minutes whilst we took refreshments. We've stayed in a number of properties around York, I think this one has just about got it right. Location to the city centre good, an easy walk, free parking so no worries about leaving your car there for the duration. The room was on the small side compared to others but on the plus side it was excellent value for the price paid and included a cooked breakfast. The property offers food in the evening, infact from early afternoon until 8pm I believe, handy if you need feeding when you return from a busy day. We only took the breakfast which was excellent, so I would have no worries in trying a later meal maybe on our next visit. All staff very efficient and attentive, they were very busy on our last morning there but still came up with excellent service. Would we return, very much yes it's marked down as our first go to place for our next visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    I stayed at the venue last year, which prompted me to return this year. I will do so again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I require a really firm mattress due to medical problems, which unfortunately on this occasion was not present.

    I liked almost everything. It was friendly, the staff were very pleasant & obliging. It was very clean & the city was easily accessible, 10 minutes walk. No need to use my car. .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Would recommend B&B York and will be going back there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small bedroom shower good be more powerful but nothing much else to criticise. Room much bigger than the "small bedroom" room we stayed in at Marmadukes across the road and much cheaper.

    Good location, nice room, good breakfast, free parking. Steady 10-15 min walk to The Minster and City centre. No roads to cross.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    What a warm welcome to this lovely, funky B & B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a warm welcome to this lovely, funky B & B. Great decor, reasonably priced bar, brilliant staff, super price and a lovely room even though it was last minute and probably one of the smaller rooms. Will be using again, thankyou

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple of issues with cleanliness which I raised with staff. They were polite and took responsibility. Disappointed in the dated decor. Can't complain too much - very cheap rate.

    Location is excellent. Parking is handy. Free water and hot drinks is an excellent idea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.4
    B + B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top level rooms need more ventilation or air conditioning. One small window on the sunny side meant a very hot couple of nights.... Bathroom taps dripped and shower water pressure was worse than our canal boat. Staff appeared to not want to be there, rolling her eyes at any question.!?

    Proximity to York and Parking and breakfast were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    small hotel , not as personal as a B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    like a small hotel,not a B&B,where we were situated was noisy on the ground floor,had to have the windows open due to the weather , room backed onto carpark NOISY ,dripping from toilet all our stay

    nice breakfast , nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Room described as Executive King - not sure that I'd entirely agree.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift so had to manhandle cases up and down to top floor. Room very hot at night. A/C unit provided not adequate and could not be kept on overnight as it was very noisy. Shower pretty feeble.

    Breakfast was very good. Out of town centre location meant the the overall stay was quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    We loved that there was parking for the car because driving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved that there was parking for the car because driving in York is impossible. We loved the location and that it was near the sightseeing tour bus office/1st stop. And we absolutely loved that dinner was an option (as well as sack lunches even though we didn’t need them).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    A very nice hotel in an excellent walkable location to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We visited during some extraordinarily hot weather which made the room very hot indeed. AC would have been perfect, but the staff did find us an extra fan which made a big difference.

    The room was very well presented, clean and quiet. The staff were very accommodating and the breakfast was modest but tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Very helpful staff and good location make B and B York a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful staff and good location make B and B York a winner for us. Good breakfast. Nice to have a lounge area so we are not stuck in our room. Room was comfortable and well appointed. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and the decor. Also the car parking is great

    The breakfast was lovely and the complimentary water and coffee in the breakfast area is a great touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    A great little haven close to the great sites of York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No suggestions

    Really enjoyed our time here. The staff are so welcoming and friendly. Breakfast (full English) was superb. Great to be able to park the car and easily walk into the Minster area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    very friendly staff, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Eggs, they are not free range therefore very pale yellow with hardly any yoke. curtains let to much light in need blackout linning.

    easy walk into York city

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse B+B York traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: