1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Highlands B&B and inn reviews
  4. Thurso B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Valleyview House

Reviews of Valleyview House

Valleyview House Murkle Thurso Caithness, Thurso, KW14 8YT, United Kingdom

#1 of 11 B&Bs and Inns in Thurso

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 247 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2021

    10
    Fabulous stay at Valleyview House
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Very warm welcome from our host, Antoinette. The private annex apartment which exceeded our expectations. Lovely decor and huge comfortable bed for a restful night's sleep just what was needed after a long day of travelling. The extra additions provided by the host were much appreciated. The views across to the Orkney Islands from the full size bedroom window were spectacular, especially as the sun was shining. The opportunity from Antoinette to meet her beautiful Highland cows the next morning was an experience not to be forgotten, thank you.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2021

    10
    Very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very cute and quiet one of best place I’ve been. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't stay here longer

    Best b&b we stayed in during the nc500 trip

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2021

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Lovely comfortable room and bathroom. Great host. Highland cows in garden!

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2021

    10
    Perfect hosts lovely setting the cattle were a welcome bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Made to feel very welcome from the hosts. Nothing too much trouble. Fresh cooked breakfast. I even got to feed the highland cattle.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2021

    10
    Very comfortable stay. Loved the Highland cattle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room, breakfast and host.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet downstairs, bit inconvenient at night.

    Location, views, welcome, Highland cattle, breakfast, room. Wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Such a lovely place to stay with a very friendly host. The breakfast was superb. Being able to meet the cows was an added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2021

    10
    A wonderful experience, we would certainly recommend Valley View House.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was spacious with a separate bedroom and lounge area in a separate annexe. Breakfast was plentiful and varied.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Antoinette was extremely hospitable. Spotlessly clean room, comfortable beds, lovely garden and breakfast...and a highlight was meeting and feeding the Highland coos!

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2021

    9.0
    Ideal B&B; comfortable room; a good night's sleep; breakfast that sets you up for the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints!

    A very nice welcome with helpful pointers in finding a restaurant. Scrupulously clean and comfortable room. Our hostess turned out a really good breakfast and was also a dab hand at jump-starting our car. Many thanks!

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner was very welcoming and the room was very clean. Breakfast was nice and filling and after we were taken on a tour of the ladies Highland cows very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Peacefulness, surroundings, and friendly hostess.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2021

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Super comfy bed & great bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2021

    10
    Lovely stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully decorated room, very clean, amazing facilities, great location. Friendly and helpful hosts. We had continental breakfast options as well as a cooked breakfast! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely,

    Everything else. Antoinette was delightful and very kindly kept a bag we had left behind so we could pick it up.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2021

    10
    Amazing find - one of my favourites on the NC500 route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    This place was probably one of our favourite stops on the NC500 trip! We wanted to stay in authentic and traditional Scottish homes with local people, and we couldn't have struck more lucky than with the couple who run Valleyview House! On arrival, we were shown to our room which was lovely - a really good size with an en suite bathroom. The room was decorated with lovely artwork and tartan blankets. There was a lovely dining room which felt very homely and also a beautiful garden which we had access to. The icing on the cake was the 3 young highland cows who are owned by the hosts - a farming family, they have acres of land and they have 3 fully grown cows that are grazed nearby, as well as 3 younger ones that are super friendly and love to be fussed and brushed by guests! My friend absolutely loves highland cows so when she learned she could actually meet some she was ecstatic! Our hosts were the loveliest, friendliest people you'd ever hope to stay with. Thank you for having us!

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2021

    10
    WOW!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only booked one night!

    This place was the absolute highlight of our trip! The property is a credit to the owners; beautifully decorated to a very high standard and spotlessly clean. Parking is available on site. We only met Stephen (as Antoinette was away) and could have happily chatted to him all day long, what a genuinely nice guy. Breakfast was freshly made and absolutely delicious (this was charged extra to the room rate). After breakfast, we got to meet, feed & brush the pet Coos, Toffee, Apple and baby calf Jock, which made my day! We would definitely stay here again in future.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2021

    10
    Wonderful Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lovely warm welcome, the fantastic spacious room (an annex to the main house), and a fabulous breakfast! Great recommendations from our host on places to go, including the full day trip on the Orkney’s.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2021

    10
    Must stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!!

    Everything, beautiful room. A hostess with the mostess!! So friendly warm and welcoming. Fabulous breakfast, good location. The dogs and Highland cows were an added bonus! Must stay... amazing 👏

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant host who made us very welcome.Good views

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2021

    10
    A great stop on our NC500
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Our stay was perfect and had everything we needed.

    There was a friendly greeting on arrival and our room was bright and welcoming. The room had everything thing we needed including small touches (make up remover pads). The bed was very comfortable, we had such a good sleep, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay again. We also got to see the highland cow Apple and her baby who live in the field next door. The accommodation is a stones throw away from Thurso. Overall a 10/10 stay.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2021

    10
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we did not like

    Very friendly reception, we were given wonderful overview of the area. Superb views, stunning scenery. Kids were allowed to pet the Highland bull, Apple. Thoroughly enjoyed.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2021

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn’t like

    The bed was amazing! And I loved the high land cows

    Stayed in July 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: