Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Croatia 5 stars

Frankopanska 10, 20210 Cavtat, Croatia

#1 of 6 hotels in Cavtat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 876 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Hotel Croatia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the climbing. The hotel is on a hill, and getting down to the beach / bay can be a chore especially if you're old or have problems with stairs. Also there weren't enough beds / parasols which was sometimes a pain. For a 5 star hotel you shouldn't have to fight for either.

    The location is excellent. 2 minute walk to the bay with an abundance of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great Holiday Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved this hotel for the food, facilities, and proximity to Cavtat centre (short walk) 5 min or if you were feeling lazy the hotel runs a shuttle 24hrs a day. Both pools were lovely. The property was spotless and the staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Georgeous views, and rocky beach provided much needed solitude. The water was crystal clear and good for snorkeling, with parrot fish and sea stars. Close to the town, with excellent restaurants. Breakfast was outstanding and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We arrived early and our room was ready. Parking on site with easy access to the hotel from the airport. A great place to stay and I look forward to coming back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Good views and facilities but a bit detached from the town up a steep hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was pretty dull and staff not particularly friendly at breakfast, there was a lot of waiting for lifts and long corridors so takes a long time to get around the property. Location at the top of the hill means you can feel a bit cut off from the rest of Cavtat.

    Room was well equipped and the pools are excellent. Staff at reception friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    FANTASTIC LOCATION, FANTASTIC FRIENDLY STAFF, FANTASTIC BREAKFAST, FANTASTIC HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    drinks at the bars in the hotel very expensive, especially at the pool bar.

    Cleanliness of the hotel, fantastic pool, indoor and outdoor. comfy seating all around the hotel, towels at the poolside, great choice at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing and felt like a little bit of luxury. We felt very safe as 2women travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went for 4days and there was nothing we didnt enjoy

    We loved the golf buggy service to and from the bay especially in the evening after a few drinks. The local restaurants were welcomming and the fireworks out in the bay really added to the holiday

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Walking distance to the town of Cavtat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only complaint was that we were confirmed for a queen bed and instead had two single beds. But we managed just fine.

    Walking distance to the town of Cavtat. Absolutely beautiful location. Very clean hotel and very helpful staff. We would go out of our way to stay there again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was really nothing we could find fault in

    The staff were fabulous, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. View was spectacular and the location spot on!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Hotel restaurants and info staff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in this hotel for a week, everything was perfect and staff was nice. But, the very last experience of transfer service to airport provided by the hotel was very unpleasant and we felt that we have been blackmailed and cheated. We had agreed one price which is 150krn with hotel staff in the lobby but the driver charged us 250 krn when we arrived in the airport. When we were negotiating the price with the driver, he commented that he can even drive us back to the hotel. It is sorta of a rip-off experience. A 5-Star hotel shall keep it service at the same level in all aspects. We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel until the very last moment. We hope the hotel management board shall consider this in the future.

    Hotel restaurants and info staff was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    2.9
    Enjoyed the whole experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath side too high and difficult and dangerous to enter and exit from having a shower

    Food excellent Great variety of fruit for breakfast Space in corridors etc very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Generally we were very satisfied with the comfort and facilities offered. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Changing rooms for swimming pools. Doors too stiff to open and shut. On one occasion there were no pool towels available and no apologies for this. Danger of slipping in shower.

    Breakfast was first rate with fantastic choice. Catering for all tastes. Staff helpful. Prompt arrival of buggies to take us up the hill to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    I’d go back tomorrow. A beautiful part of the world and a top class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t honestly think of anything

    Loved this hotel. Everyone says hello and can’t help enough. Plenty of room for everyone at the pools and beach, even the rainy days were catered for. The spa staff are really good, best massage ever ! Food is plentiful and tasty. I have recommended the hotel to everyone. Cavtat is beautiful and close enough to Dubrovnik to nip over by boat on a whim or day trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Very clean hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor. Tables not set. When we asked for tea we were given a cup with no saucer. Hot water poured into the cup and no tea bag. Omelette under cooked. Wedding on in the evening and the noise filtered into the piano bar and was deafening.

    Very clean hotel and great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and easily accessible by cars compared to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the lounges were a little stuffy due to a lack of air circulation.

    Excellent location and easily accessible by cars compared to other parts of Cavtat. Restaurants and other travel services readily available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Only there one night. Wished we could have stayed longer and used more of the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar staff at the pool bar were miserable and didn't appear happy in their work. The contrast between the Reception staff and pool bar staff was as if it was a different hotel.

    The welcome we received from Antonio on Reception was outstanding. We've never had so much fun checking in! He was hilarious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Room and bathroom a good size.
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too big...lifts were slow...very poor signage guests were getting lost around hotel...communal areas needed modernising. Breakfast was like a cattle market... free for all..

    Room and bathroom a good size..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    A week of chilled relaxation in wonderful surroundings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is on a hill so may be difficult if you have mobility issues - however there is transport available free of charge there and back to the bottom of the hill

    Fabulous location that was just a short walk into town where there was lots of nice bars and restaurant. The private beach and facilities were stunning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.4
    It's a 2/3 star hotel, great location, but far too expensive. No idea why such a high rating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Employees are not really educated and not motivated to work. Especially when they realized that my girl friend who is Croatian some of them were even unfriendly. They beach bar was still closed, although it was absolutely the right weather for laying the day on the beach, The pool bar closed at 6:00 PM. Absolutely low standard was the breakfast. Croatia is a country with a coffee tradition, but you do not recognize this in this hotel... They had only one type of cereals and this was the cheapest one you get at discount shops. Also the rest of breakfast was like in a hospital 30 years ago... All in all, the location is great, but for that money it's far too expensive.

    The rooms have been renovated and are ok, but just ok. As the hotel is rated as a 4 star, we would have expected also a much better furniture. A plus are the beds. A big plus is the location and also how the whole hotel has been built into the rocks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved the restaurant down by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed that the hotel had a special running for pensioners, there were really a lot of elders and no young families with kids. Not the hotel's fault by any means, but we felt a bit out of place.

    The beach was really nice and the room views were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Location of the hotel, hotel interior, cleanliness of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is not a five star hotel quality. The hotel beach not in function (could not see when booking). Accessories in the room (pen, shoe spoon...) were not available.

    Location of the hotel, hotel interior, cleanliness of the room, comfort bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Location and proximity to Cavtat (beautiful place)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive drinks / food in the hotel Lifts were always very busy and small

    Location and proximity to Cavtat (beautiful place) Really friendly staff Cleanliness Views out to sea Spa and pool facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bottle of water should be provided in every room everyday was very surprised there was no water in the room provided. Hairdryer in room not powerful at all.

    Amazing hotel beautiful and very clean. Staff very polite! Room very clean and comfy. Excellent views and the cart taking guests to the town is brilliant!! Food was fantastic, lots of choice and waiting staff were amazing! Will return thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Really nicely positioned in quiet resort. Excellent base for visiting Dubrovnik or Montenegro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food average and expensive

    Delightful situation among pine trees. Privacy and quietness of balconies overlooking sea. Hotel buggy to private beach. Within easy reach of Dubrovnik by small boat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    A great four day break. It won't be the last time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Prices are a little higher than bars and restaurants down in the town. I wouldn't have liked to visit in high season too as it is a huge hotel and seemed busy enough now (Late May/June)

    A fantastic hotel in a wonderful location. It must be said that this hotel is high Cavtat seafront and as such would be a challenge for those with mobility issues. However, the staff do run a golf-buggy up and down from the beach front. A really picturesque location. There are incredible facilities and the food is good for breakfast, plenty of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    I will try to return again and certainly recommend it to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wedding party on one of our nights and we slept badly because of the inconsiderate individuals retiring to the rooms at various times

    Food was excellent. View was stunning. Parts of the landscaping was very unsafe in places but having said that the overall experience was very positive. The promenade walk particularly good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location and facilities, very near the Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We ate once in the evening at the hotel steak house. We ordered two fish dishes and ice cream. One fish dish was very disappointing and ice cream was very icy. They did not charge for the latter. We ate all other evening meals in Cavtat which has excellent range of restaurants.

    We were on a B&B rate. Breakfast was an extensive buffet with all you could wish for. Quality of food was very good. Hotel bed was very comfortable. We had a room with sea view which was very clean. Staff were exceptionally helpful and knowledgeable. Trip down and back from Cavtat was by buggy provided by hotel on demand, an excellent service. Two very good seawater swimming pools at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice play to stay to be close to Dubrovnik without the crowds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception is on a level in the middle of the hotel. Guests could not figure out they needed to go down for rooms on floors 1 thru 4. So there were always queues for the lifts since so many people were on going the wrong direction.

    The hotel complex is situated on a little peninsula with views to the Adriatic from one side and the harbor for Cavtat on the other side. The pools and beach swimming area are built into the natural surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is perfect, the staff are excellent, the facilities are exactly what you expect, really good pool and spa, and a good choice of restaurants on site, this was our second time here and we will definitely be returning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Cavtat is great for a very quiet chilled short break. Not much to do there, so 3-4 nights max stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Climbing back up the steps from the sea front at night. The bar are was a little impersonal.

    Nice friendly staff. Buggy down to the sea front was a real bonus. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    23 hours in Cavtat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only there for one night so insufficient time to fully experience all the hotel had to offer.

    Beautiful location with views across to Cavtat. Short walk into the town (strenuous on the way back). Walk around the hotel grounds and surrounding coastline is stunning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    We will come back again ... definitely !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could offer some more vegan/vegetarian options.

    Lovely nature, beautiful view, large and clean room, great comfort, proper facilities, excellent service in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Hotel Croatia has the view, that’s 100 %!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although Hotel Croatia has reputation of “breakfast heaven” things have changed in last two years since our last stay. The quallity of food has fallen down a little bit. Main weaknesses of Hotel Croatia (this goes also for dinner not only breakfast) is pretty dull food. We missed some local produces, more tasty dishes etc. Concerning rooms I would suggest they replace ancient hair dryers with modern ones.

    Hotel Croatia has the view, that’s 100 %! Location is superb which is why this hotel was one of the best in the times of Yugoslavia. From that era one will discover some interesting “remains” in Hotel Croatia. For example: staff is generally very kind, however we were not pleased with those who started to clean swimming pool areas 15 mins before closing. Service is generally OK, but there are some (younger) employees who have lack of attitude towards guests. Remains of old socialistic “who-gives-a-sh**” mentality in tourism?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable room, reception was really helpful when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were pretty grumpy - not a single one cracked a smile. We were moved back inside when we wanted to sit on the terrace as they were still setting up - they said it would be ready at 9am, which wasn't that great as breakfast is served 6-10). Sea view balcony on floors 1-4 has a big concrete barrier blocking the view unless you're standing up and can look over it - I'd recommend a floor on the upper floors if you want the view.

    Comfortable room, reception was really helpful when we arrived late at night with a last minute booking due to flight delay meaning we couldn't get to korcula as planned, wide range of choices at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.0
    Definitely not a 5* hotel, at some points closer to 3* and 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast wasn’t of high quality, with limited choice of poor quality food. Bathroom floor a bit used and not cleaned well with big spots on the floor. There were two tiny towel hooks almost pulled out from the door and towels keep falling on the floor. Hairdryer placed in a draw, has very low airflow. We ordered espresso coffee (a little longer) from the bar beside the pool but got a 200 ml cup of coffee, that looked like a tea but cost more than 2 Euros. The second day, our room was not cleaned at all. A cleaning lady showed up at our door at 8:20 very early, knocked only once and instantly opened the door not waiting for the answer to enter. We asked if she could come back in 15 minutes when we leave the room but she never showed up. While we were out, somebody came in, emptied only a garbage basket from the bathroom but not from the room, left dirty glasses, didn’t leave toilet paper (didn't have any extra), brought only two small towels, did not refill toiletries, etc. We went to the reception and asked for some basic necessity because it was already night. The reception lady was nice and apologize, instantly sent a cleaning lady who brought this time more towels than we needed and extra toiletries (some of them were broken).

    The hotel has a very nice location with great views but that is all. The hotel lacked atmosphere, a little bit lifeless, some paintings or flowers (at least a plastic ones) would be welcomed. Some of the hotel staff were nice and friendly (staff driving golf buggies) but some cold almost rude (serving on the breakfast terrace).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Hotel is amazing, starting from extremly kind front desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning ladie did not do much of a work, did not leave me small towels when replaced, did not refill toiletteries, did not remove dirty cups, did not clean desks, did not leave me Toilette paper, forgot detergents in my bathroom, and it seemed like she was in a hurry, so she just made bed ( just mine,but not the babies) and took trash outside, wich is unreasonable for a 5* hotel

    Hotel is amazing, starting from extremly kind front desk workers, lugagge boys, drivers till the swimming pool with sea water. No need to mention breakfast was amazing too, and the best part is having breakfast on the terrace. Hotel has a great location, really good for babies since it is surrounded with greenery, and next to the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of steps.

    Fabulous scenic views everywhere in this hotel. The sea view from balcony is worth the extra. So peaceful and quiet on balcony gets the sun most of day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice, quiet, romantic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In hotel i miss more signs..i got lost sometimes, steps everywere...but if you dont mind walking dawn and up then is ok

    Very nice in friendly stuff, nice hotel with good views, hotel is very big so you dont feel the croud, good breakfast, near to the romantic city Cavtat, i recommend restaurant Dalmatino there. I love the greens around the hotel..and smel of the vegetation (april) was amazing I woud visit hotel again..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    A great hotel. Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We dined in the buffet restaurant once - the choice for meat and fish eaters was amazing but the vegetarian options were very limited. Even the one pasta dish had ham in.

    The hotel is immaculately and the staff very friendly. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was very good with lots of choice. We loved the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel with views to match!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much to say here really, massage prices seemed a little high

    Great quality, swimming pools, breakfast, beds, and views from many areas in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered in room dining one night and even after housekeeping the tray was still in my room the next day. It was picked up immediately after i called them.

    Great breakfast with lots of choices. Amazing viewd of the ocean. Outdoor seating restaurants overlooking the ocean. Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Early, almost every morning, the cleaner opened the room door when we were still sleeping and closed it saying she will come later. The gym was not that well equipped with bad ventilation. Didn't get a room with sea view although asked.

    The breakfast was good and the room was cozy. The hotel itself is quite huge with pools and had also private exit to the beach rocks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    Frustration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is not comfortable comparing their one of the most expensive price near dubrovnik. Minibar was empty in thar star hotel????? Hair dryer is very weak , even cannot dry itself??? Room was very small. Reception didnot accept 1 hour late check out even the hotel was empty. Pool base was dirty even in the morning.

    Breakfast dont expect expresso or other coffee types.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    My friend and I stayed the week prior to and including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend and I stayed the week prior to and including Easter (beginning of season) and our holiday exceeded expectations and beyond! We would like to give a special mention to the following staff members of Hotel Croatia who made this excellent stay even more enjoyable, leaving us with memories to cherish in our hearts, so thank you to Amrush, Boris, Tamara and Kristian for making our arrival and departure as smooth and easy as possible with that extra touch of humour, thanks to the amazing and lovely spa team Gralina, Nikolina, Irina and Matea, and special thanks to the Steakhouse restaurant (especially Vaskov) for transforming our dinner into the most fun and tasty night! We hope to see you again and wish you a great season! Greetings from the Netherlands! Mathilde & Sophie

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel and stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our stay was perfect.

    We loved the hotel, beautiful setting and location. Sitting on the balcony you felt like you were sitting on a cruise ship over the ocean Staff were outstanding, Tamara and Elvis at reception were extremely helpful and Norica at the Alverde Restaurant was delightful and made our stay special. We will be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautifully run and maintained hotel on a hill overlooking the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Out door pool in a mess but not expected to be in use until end of April. Not a problem as indoor pool was very clean and inviting!

    Facilities in room very good good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, amazing view and excellent value. Will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No major complaints, just things that can be improved: Breakfast could be better. The things offered could have more variety and be of higher quality also the serving of it could be slightly better. Only big complaint is the salmon served (yuck). The bar should have more variety of beer especially craft which Croatia has many new producers of. The prices in the bar are too high compared to the bars just few hundred meters down. 50 kuna for a cheap Croatian beer is too much. In general.... Even though the Hotel Croatia is clean and well maintained I think in needs or will need some redecorating as to be a "luxury" hotel which they state it is. It's the small things like carpets, railings and interior decoration on some spaces (floor rugs). For a luxury hotel, staff should be on the same level across the hotel (in the way they interact with guests). Both of these things remind that the Hotel is the remnant of another era.

    Really good value for money! Beautiful location and view, hard to think of a Hotel that has it better. Additionally the architecture is so well fitted to the location that it feels like it's a part of it. The pool and sauna are a good fit and up to standard. The size of the rooms is fair including the bathroom. Since it was April we didn't go for a swim, but access to it is right from the hotel. Overall it feels clean and tidy for such a big hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Staffs are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs are friendly and helpful. Room is comfortable and clean. Sea view is amazing. We had a private enjoyable holiday here. And definitely will come back during summer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Overall, it was a very good hotel. Perfect place to stay if you want something relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at breakfast totally ignored us and did not respond to us at all. There are many tables that was not cleared. Felt that we were deliberately ignored by the service staff.

    The hotel restaurant steakhouse was perfect. Service was fantastic and the service staff was exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    lovely very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of drinks,no entertainment at night

    The views were amazing, the sunset every night,the lovely walks around the hotel.It was great to get a buggy up and down to the town.Freindly staff,comfortable bed, very relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps the outside of the hotel is a little dated but that does not take away from the holiday and how much we enjoyed our stay

    Really like the position of the hotel and the staff were really friendly and helpful. We were half board and enjoy all the food. We would go back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing but impersonal. Wouldn't want to be here on my own.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel feels too big. There are spaces that are unused and feel empty - especially on the way to the pools. I never felt compelled to eat in the Hotel in the evenings and went into the village for food all 3 nights. Hated the stairs back up to the Hotel from the village - all 136 of them with tired legs at the end of the day. Maybe a courteousy bus going up and down every 30 minutes or so??

    Comfortable and spacious hotel. Liked that my car was parked for me on arrival and cases taken to my room. The breakfast was fantastic. So much to choose from. The pool was clean and there was a bar/restaurant beside the pool. Spa fab

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable and value-for-money extension at the conclusion of a 14 day bus tour of the Balkans.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location on cliff over the Adriatic Sea; easy walk down to Cavtat's restaurant area. Spacious comfortable room; good TV and Wifi. Excellent breakfast. Nice 50 minute ferry ride to Dubrovnik

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    great place to stay as quieter alternative to hectic Dubrovnik
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not available if you have early flight. Existing 24/7 room service could be extended to include continental breakfast which would get around this. The hotel does provide a take away package but this is not a convenient substitute.

    Beautiful location on the ocean, a few minutes walk from Cavtat. 6minutes taxi ride from Dubrovnik airport (120 kuna each way) which hotel organised. There is a local bus every 15mins into Dubrovnik. Hotel has great facilities and staff were helpful and professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.2
    A great disapointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything from the moment we arrived and were not welcomed or helped with our luggage. The atmosphere at check in was more reminiscent of a Soviet gulag than a holiday hotel. Smiling is apparently banned as none of the staff attempted to do so. My major gripe was that there was no mineral water in the room. This was the only hotel that we stayed in during our 10 day trip that did not offer this basic amenity. When I went down to reception to ask whether this might have been an oversight the reaction of the receptionist was not to answer me but to check his computer to see what room I was in and tell me that we had been upgraded. He did not answer my question about water and was rude. As far as I was concerned I had booked what I received and I was neither told about an upgrade when we arrived nor could I discern anything different about the room from what I had booked. HIs attitude turned what had been a polite enquiry about water bottles into something that made me furious and spoilt my stay. The breakfast simply re-inforced my negative opinion. An enormous room with what looks on first view like a good spread but is in fact a below average mass catering event with luke warm food that had clearly been cooked several hours prior to being served. The rest of the items were of a poor standard and felt more like a motorway service station than a prime hotel. This is not a five star property and the description on the Booking.com site which talks about receiving celebrity treatment and world class service felt so wrong as to make me doubt anything that I read again.

    Nothing except the view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    I wouldn't go back to this hotel again. It is not a 5 star hotel. I paid good money and was let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The allocated room was not plush as I expected it to be! The so called veranda had no outside light! My wifes side light had no bulb! The wire on my side light was exposed as though someone had pulled it? The inside bathroom towel rack was broken and the lock catch to the front door was severaly damaged. Safety?? I took photos which I have enclosed.

    The area where the hotel is located is lovely and the hotel itself is okay however, it is not a 5 star hotel like it makes out to be! I booked this hotel months ago after reading about it however, we were disappointed when we arrived. We also had to wait nearly two hours before we were allowed in our room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    lovely magical place to stay, amazing facilities, would go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    view from the balcony

    lovely magical place to stay, amazing facilities, would go back anytime. Loved the breakfast (especially the eggs that they can make however you prefer) - view from the breakfast restaurant is amazing! the area itself around the hotel was very safe and lovely, short walk to the port to get the boat to Dubrovnik

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Loved cavtat and would return there but to a different hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep hill with lots of steps and lack of clear directions. Hotel was good but more like a business hotel than a holiday hotel with huge vacant spaces between different areas of hotel and staff did not seem very happy in their jobs would wonder if there is a morale issue.

    The surrounding town was lovely

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel facilities and staff were good, but our room was a huge disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was entirely not what I expected. I expected a room with a view as shown in the pictures. Our room was at back of hotel and looked onto a small scrubby hill. i.e. no view at all. If I'd realised this was the room we'd get, I would have booked another hotel. We had just stayed in hotels in Gdansk and Prague which had fantastic rooms. This was a big disappointment.

    Staff friendly and all spoke english. Although a very large hotel, it never appeared to be too busy i.e. was well organised. Facilities were pretty good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Vacation in Cavtat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Minor suggestions for improvements: - Fitness room would have space for a few more devices (bench press?) - It would be nice to have a games room in the hotel (e.g. with a pool / billiard table) - Most of the staff members were very nice, but there were also some who were a bit rude...

    - Fantastic breakfast buffet - Directly by the sea with nice opportunities to swim - Facilities including fitness room, indoor and outdoor pool, sauna, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    I have passed a beautiful week with my family!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have passed a beautiful week with my family! Staff was very kindly! They were ready to help in any case. I would recommend it for everyone to spend time in this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    Good hotel but elevated and therefore not for people who avoid steps. Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the same every day, no variation. Staff could be more attentive, you get tea coffee served once and then they ignore you, a lot of people got up from their tables and had to ask for refills, not good service. Also poolside lots of people reserve beds and don't use them despite signage.

    Spacious,clean and good facilities. Hotel also provided a buggy transfer down to beach level.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good stay and a brilliant hotel with a little staff training it could be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the climb up to hotel on return from town (137 steps) however courier buggy/car is available most times if called. Our room with Panaromic sea view we paid a lot extra for turned out to be part view due to a lot of trees and bushes. We advise to read fine print on room charge as rate changes daily and end result can turn out to be expensive. Some of the staff at breakfast could be a little more welcoming, especially the officials at the door who just stand there, they should offer to find a table for guests. We were not sure of their purpose.

    The views from many locations within the hotel were amazing. The beach area ( more rocks area ) was very quiet and elevated overlooking the sea. Brilliant place to sit , read or sunbathe. Adults only, not suitable for children. However pool areas were great for both adults and children. Also great Spa area. Hotel was very spacious and super courier service to town and back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    Very good location, Cavtat is a lovely location with lots of overpriced restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could be more friendly, they are very 'efficient' in their manner. Not enough lifts in the building, it was quite annoying. The hotel is very nice and big but it lacks warmth and atmosphere.

    Very nice pools, indoor pool was too cold to swim in

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a big hotel that didn't feel like there were loads of people about which was great. The hotel is very well maintained. Nice walk into town and great seating on the rocks if you wanted to sun bathe in a quieter area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Can't wait to go back to Croatia again one day soon so that sums it up, had a lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow hairdryer, no first aider or dentist on sight, a baby fell and banged her head when we were there and they were told to go to the airport! For such a large hotel think there should be someone there on site, I saw a lot of broken arms!

    Fabulous breakfast, great sea views, buggy to take you down to the beach:town frequent and free, friendly staff, spacious, great power shower, free safe, mini bar not too pricey, comfy bed,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some way of ensuring access to sunbeds in the sun without reserving early. A deterrent for the wasps at breakfast

    Stunning views. Quiet bedroom. Sound of the sea

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.3
    near airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    this resort may have been five star at one time, but it is now a four star. i have spent over a year in the country, and know the food well. the hotel food was very commercial, and (except fish at nice restaurant) not fresh and local. the rooms were not kept up well. our first room smelled strongly of mildew. our bathroom was not pristine, e.g. the grout on shower needed to be refreshed.

    near airport. nice to have beach and pool. close to town, but still separate resort feel. some of the rooms have lovely views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in beautiful scenic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Spacious rooms with balconies and sea views. Good selection of food for breakfast. Friendly staff. Quiet. Don't let the steps put you off as there is a frequent and efficient buggy service. Cavtat beautiful place. Would recommend day trip by car to Bosnia and Montenegro. We used Mario who works at the booth on the way down from the hotel. Very informed tour guide. Coincidentally Mario is the name of one of the hotel managers who was very helpful in sorting out a problem I had.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Staff/location/cleanliness - excellent. Hotel/buffet - OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hotel for young people. Very dated and is needing a total upgrade. Average 4*, definitely not 5*. Clean and comfortable but just not what we had hoped for. Staff were amazing just hotel so stuck in the 70s. Local town very close and great bars and restaurants. Would recommend not going full/half board

    Staff amazing, nothing is too much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Really disappointed definitely not a 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool experience terrible not enough sunbeds and too crammed together not enough outside areas for volume of guests.

    Location was perfect and staff friendly. 5* facilities but not 5* experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    didn't like the bed it was the worst i had. the poll was so cold my kids didn't go in. in many cases the staff was very unfriendly especially in restaurant.

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfy in Croatia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm not a massive fan of big hotels, although Hotel Cavat does do it very well - be warned this hotel is very child / family focused, so if you're a couple looking for a quiet little hide away retreat this hotel isn't for you. The pool area is very popular and we got a little fed up everyday of not being able to get a lounger by the pool, or the rear pool terrace. It's just very crowded with sadly the dreaded reserving of beds really early on so we had no chance. The outside pool area is quite small for the size of hotel and can't accommodate when it's at full capacity, which is a real shame as the facilities are really good! The rear cliff top terraces to the rear of the hotel were our only option and thankfully they were quiet with stunning views out to sea. Overall the food in the hotel is ok, catering to the package tour masses, it was pretty good buffet basics. However the Spinaker restaurant, part of the hotel did do beautiful food for the wedding we were attending so you can get good food close by. The coffee however .......MAN something needs to be done about the coffee not good! The hotel is pretty enormous on lots of different levels so it takes a while to orientate yourself, be prepared to walk lots and also wait around for the lifts too! It's a really nice spacious hotel perfect for large family or group holidays.

    Good location, not too far from the airport and just down the coast from Dubrovnik, making a day trip there pretty easy. Be warned it's a rocky sea journey so make sure you get your sea legs ready! The hotel is sprawling, the rooms are v.clean, quiet and well equipped with everything you need. We had two different rooms during our stay purely as we'd extended our stay and as the hotel was full to capacity we had to go for a slightly more expensive sea view room. We weren't disappointed, the views across the ocean were mesmerizing! A tad noiser than our initial garden room but I think we were just unfortunate with loud older people next door. The views across the bay and over to the mountains at breakfast time were just breathtaking - you could never tire of that view! Towards the rear of the hotel there were a series of rocky out crops cut into the cliff face where you could have direct access into the sea, if you got there early enough you could have quite a private sunbathing spot, however there were only deck chairs here no loungers so buying an inflatable would be a wise investment!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    a stunning place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights

    not sure anything stuck out

    fabulous location, much closer to the town of Cavtat than I imagined. Plenty of places to get away from it all. Sea is fantastic and warm. We preferred the sea side of the hotel as quieter. Although disappointed at first not to have seaview in the end we preferred it as peaceful and caught glimpses of local wildlife. Lots of steps, but there is buggy down to town if you need it...we didn't. good aircon in room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.7
    Room was nice lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great, some staff were lovely other a bit grumpy. Pool was too small for the number of people had to reserve a bed very early if you wanted one

    Room was nice lovely view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant stay in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were miserable and every morning when our party of 7 arrived it was a regular chore to organise the tables so we could sit together. The outdoor pool is too small for the size of the hotel and it was very difficult to get even 2-3 beds together.

    Good location next to Cavtat which is a picturesque and scenic bay. Lovely restaurants in the area and convenient when visiting Dubrovnik. Good size rooms and very clean. Huge hotel with lots of coming and going. Breakfast selection good and parking is reasonably close

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: