Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Salthill Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Promenade, Salthill, Galway, Ireland

#5 of 42 hotels in Galway

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2155 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.3
    2 night stay July
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dark and dreary very little light through small window. Service in bar for food was very slow. Not enough staff when bar is busy.

    The swimming pool is fabulous. Towels provided. Hairdryers free of charge in changing rooms. Plenty lockers available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    5.8
    Very good 25m swimming pool, very clean water and good lane...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hydrotherapy pool was packed with parents and their children when we visited so not a great experience. We stayed in an 'Executive room with sea view' ( €200 B&B ) basic room with no safe or fridge. Breakfast was a bit chaotic due to some members of a tour group who were rude and arrogant to staff and messed up the serving.

    Very good 25m swimming pool, very clean water and good lane training set up.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable, great view. A little pricey for what we got
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have expected a few nice touches besides a bottle of water in the room No fridge is very inconvenient when travelling. I have medication that needs to be kept im the fridge and we couldn’t even cool our water bottles or have fresh milk for coffee And no top sheet... We had trouble with the air conditioner which was noisy and couldn’t be fixed until the next day. We were given a bottle of wine which we didn’t finish but again no where to keep it cold for the next day

    Overlooked Galway Bay. We had a corner suite which had a lovely view and was large Bar nice to have a drink overlooking Bay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing stay in a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaners were a bit noisy in the mornings.

    The beds were so comfortable. The room was very clean. Great location, helpful staff. Lovely outdoor area for drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and very relaxing. Gorgeous view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room unfortunately did not have a safe. It also didn't have a fridge which would have been good in the hot weather.

    We had the executive room with a seaview and the view was absolutely amazing. The room was large and airy and very comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean with a shower and a bath.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed stay but was disappointed no air conditioning for price we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Buses parked outside from 6.45am Every morning with engine running for 20- 30 mins impossible to sleep. Disappointed that there was no air conditioning in room for price we paid

    Near the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    10
    Wonderful family stay at Salthill Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely hotel and very friendly staff. Walk out of hotel, cross the road and your on the promenade in Salthill. It’s exactly 2 miles walk to quay street which my wife and I did each morning/evening. It was a great way to start the day. We paid extra to avail of larger room facing the sea (worth it). Room was very big and very comfortable bed. Finally, the property has excellent swimming and leisure facilities. We look forward to returning again in future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay in a fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we live by the sea (and rarely notice it) it would've been nice to look out on Galway Bay during our stay. There's a €30 supplement for a room with a sea view, which, for us, wasn't quite worth it.

    We got a last minute deal for this hotel so, for us, it was excellent value. It's a very nice and relaxing hotel with helpful receptionists and the free parking is good too. The room was nice and modern, very clean, as was the shower room en-suite. The location is fabulous - one of the best in Galway, just on the promenade and you can easily walk to the stores, cafes and restaurants in Salthill; it's also a nice walk to Galway city centre or to the lighthouse. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.2
    The leisure facilities were excellent probably best have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The leisure facilities were excellent probably best have ever seen in a hotel especially the gym!! Also location perfect literally 2 mins walk to beach. Breakfast and staff very good too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful location and beautiful lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff in all areas need more attention, very slow check in and loads of confusion. All bar staff seem to be seasonal and don’t really know what they’re doing, service in main bar very slow.

    Beautiful location and beautiful lobby. I got one of the rooms that has air con so that was a huge relief as my friends were in a room with none and it was a horrendous experience for them during our 30 degree heat wave

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    5.8
    The bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty and dated. The carpet is on need of replacing and the chairs in the bedroom were filthy. It was a really warm day and the window only opens about 2 inches no fan or air con

    The bed was comfortable. Location was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.9
    I enjoyed it, but there is many upgrades the place needs, but for your money, id go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could not walk across the room without it sounding like a herd of elephants in the room with you, the bed creeked as bad if not worse which had patrons next door knocking on my door.

    Great friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    4.2
    Staff not helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff not helpful. Awful room with no view. Asked for residents bar at 0230 am and told not allowed in. Which was disgraceful after paying money to stay there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    6.3
    Sufficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Seemed to be many junior staff and I can’t see where the four stars were earned.

    The rooms and facilities were nice enough, not four star nice but adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    8.8
    wish we had more time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the 3 beds in my room. I would of preferred more space. I know we arrived around 7pm but we did book the room months ago and wanted a double or king bed only. but it was very clean and we would go back

    unfortunately we arrived late so we did not get to experience the pool. the hotel itself was beautiful and the breakfast was really good. I would go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.5
    Just the job for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view. Our room looked out onto another part of the hotel.

    Staff very helpful. Our wheelchair accessible bathroom was well equipped with a good layout.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.5
    Spacious room
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shower door Shower curtain didn’t make sense in the fitting that was there. Water flows out. Road noise at front where coach pick up/drop off quite loud Housekeeping not updated on who has checked out.

    Spacious room Bar food good Great staff in the bar Lovely location for fresh air and prom walk Parking excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Big spacious room with a big comfy bed, room was so quiet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Big spacious room with a big comfy bed, room was so quiet, there was a wedding on in the hotel but never heard a bit of it. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it. Lovely staff all round. I definitely recommend and look forward to staying again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff ignoring waiting customers

    Across the road from salthill promenade ate in bar nice food bar service poor busy during stay but staff ignored customers waiting no air con was 29 degrees unable open windows sweltering did get fan

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    I recommend to all!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not very happy with Breakfast. Staff are very helpful and food tasty but there was no fresh vegtables or Sliced of cheese ( a small selection of ham and fresh fruts)

    The view from the hotel was fantastic and great location. The room was very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old room.

    Beautiful swimming pool and fitness centre, great location right beside the beach, but needs a serious TLC, maybe we just got a budget room for the price we payed, a bit dissapointed with the room we got!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    10
    Great room, great location, great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know its a question of safety but we would have liked to be able to open the balcony as it was such a beautiful view. Perhaps they could raise the wall on the balcony. I think 7pm is a little early to finish having kids in the pool. It was empty when we left so wouldn't have bothered anyone. But staff in the pool were very accommodating.

    The bed was super comfy. Staff were helpful but seemed to be wandering at times. Excellent servers in the bar. Food was good quality and good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.1
    Hotel lovely but very disappointed with leak in room. It kept us awake and we were very tired.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a leak in the room that kept dripping all night and we found it very hard to sleep

    Breakfast was lovely and staff very nice. Room nice and big

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    5.8
    very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were sub standard, registered early and promised a call when the room was ready, never happened. waited 25 minutes in the bar before any staff member approached, ordered and waited another 25 minutes for food and drinks and even then only got the drinks when we flagged down a staff member. asked for a jug of water and got a snappy "yes, just a minute" instead of yes or no. the water never came .took another 15 minutes to get the bill following several requests, about an hour and a half for average food and no service. wasn't that busy when we got in but got busy, even so they could not cope at all.

    the room was nice but basic and complicated TV service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Perfect to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy restaurant at breakfast, narrow corridors.

    Really comfortable bed, the hotel has a perfect location, next to the beach - where you can have nice walks, great bar with terrace, I would come again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.5
    enjoyable could have done with more staff on duty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very busy on this particular weekend. They could have done with more staff on to cope with the large numbers of clients. We has a very long wait for tea and toast at breakfast on the sunday

    Fantastic location on the seafront. Staff very friendly. Great shower in en-suite bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay in lovely. Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View from bedroom uninspiring a courtyard wall! We had pre paid but failure to ask did we want to put hotel spending on accountwas not asked at check in and caused problems later

    Leisure centre was excellent; good facilities to sit outside and have glass of wine and enjoy excellent weather. Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.9
    Close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk

    The rooms were excellent and they have amazing pool and gym facilities. I would say it's more of a three star than four. The actual accommodation is visually stunning however i found the staff quite lax and it didn't give that extra wow that a four star should

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Brilliant as always...until we meet again. Adios.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I didn't like was leaving!

    Everything about the hotel, its location, it's nearness to Galway city, it's nearness to Connemara.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing - isolated and not suitable for the long walks we enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was isolated - way out at the end of a promenade. It was difficult to walk to anything interesting - the promenade was a series of tacky restaurants, cafes and various shops. There were two huge weddings during the two nights of our stay, and the facilities were overwhelmed with wedding parties. I would not stay in this location again.

    It was clean and comfortable and had a partial view of the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't fault this hotel our stay went smoothly, we stayed in a double room which was a little on the small side other than that no faults

    Location perfect, staff were friendly, rooms spotless, good price, everything you need is in the hotel ,The entertainment in the bar was good and cocktails are amazing. Lots of channels on the tv

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    6.3
    Bar staff and food excellent! Front of house staff need appropriate training to deal with customer i
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As far as I was aware it was pay AT property however money was taken from my account prior to arrival just as well there was money in account!! Also when I complained to front office staff that shower was cold the receptionist asked did I run it for a while!! NOT very helpful

    Bar staff excellent food excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    Our spontaneous visit surpassed all expectations in this quality seafront hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dressing gowns n slippers would be the cherry on top!

    Huge room with 3 beds when I only booked a double was a bonus, excellent mattresses, soft top but firm, lovely soft cotton sheets, big bathroom, great shower, lots of extra towels n handy toiletries. Pool was really fabulous, big windows with trees and big, made us feel like we were swimming in an exotic location! Sauna, steam, Jacuzzi. Great value big brekkie, freshly poached eggs & waiver thin pancakes were delish! Staff were lovely, fabulous flowers in the lobby too. I'd come back in a heartbeat & highly recommend the rock solid surprisingly luxurious Salthill Hotel to all!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast room was messy and a bit chaotic. The paint work in halls and in room was grubby. The TV was old and had wires hanging out of it. No bottled water in room or minibar and tea/coffee station was dated and had no biscuits.

    Great pool and location is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    7.5
    We loved Galway and would definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were very hot and stuffy, no air conditioning or fans. We opened the window but this made it very noisy and difficult to sleep.

    The location was nice on the promenade. The pool and facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.2
    Staff were friendly, the food was great, really enjoyed the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I was disappointed about was the view out our window, we were staying at the salthill hotel for our 9 year wedding anniversary and was hoping for a sea view but instead looked into someone else's room.

    Staff were friendly, the food was great, really enjoyed the leasure facilities, breakfast was lovely, overall we really enjoyed our stay! salthill is a beautiful area and the weather was great the weekend we stayed which was a bonus too, we would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.3
    Staff and food and location
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Must have had the pokiest bedroom I’ve ever been in in a so-called 4 star hotelOne small window poor soundproofing Needs updating

    Staff and food and location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    Comfortable accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar is an attractive and lovely place to meet for dinner and a drink. The indoor pool is an amazing feature! The hotel rooms are typical, but very clean and comfortable. There are some nice restaurants just down the road and the bay and promenade is just in front of the hotel The breakfast is quite nice with a big selection of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    4.2
    Wont stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very small, sink cracked in bathroom, view of a roof, toilet very hard to flush, 240e for one night, breakfast not included. Bar staff rude.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Manhandled by bouncer upon return to hotel from concert, apologised to but not a good experience. Burger for lunch in the bar on Sunday was below expectations.

    Breakfast was very good. Very friendly waitress at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    6.7
    Location was convenient for purpose of trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It seems the hotel was not prepared for the volume of customers as it was weekend of Ed Sheeran concert. The bar and restaurant staff didn't know what was going on.

    Location was convenient for purpose of trip

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wallpaper was peeling off in the room and there was only 1 charging socket to use. Other 2 sockets were round pin plugs.

    Location and food were fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    Awesome Hotel on the Sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    30-40 minute walk to city center. We had a car and parked at Galway Cathedral during the day for a small fee.

    Hotel was awesome. Location on the sea was beautiful for an early morning run. Ask for sea view! Continental breakfast was great. We made use of the free fitness center attached to the hotel. It was an actual fitness center with a big pool and jacuzzi (not your typical hotel "exercise room."). Free parking on site (including free underground garage parking).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel will defo be bavk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was good can't complain

    Great location for ed Sheeran gig, very big spacious rooms and lovely food in the restaurant, also leasuire facilities were tip notch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    8.8
    I Always enjoy staying at the Salthill Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost. Over the last number of years the cost of staying in the hotel has risen sharply. Considerably above the consumer price index. It is pricing me out of being able to afford staying in the hotel.

    I Always enjoy staying at the Salthill Hotel. The staff are very friendly and most helpful. The room is very comfortable and vey spacious, which I enjoy. Overall a positive experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    5.0
    Music in bar was good, leisure centre very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast not good, brown bread definitely not home made, fry up not good quality at all. Would not return. Not good value at all

    Music in bar was good, leisure centre very good. Room very small and no bath

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could do with a face-lift in the bar. Was a little dark and dreary. Very busy weekend so understandable if a bit messy.

    The staff were really friendly and welcoming. Even though run off their feet kept smiling

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    5.0
    It’s ok hotel.i would rate it 3 star. Nothing fancy for sure.bit overprized to be honest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible view from hotel.nothing near to advertised.distance to Galway around 30 min walk.wedding was on so we couldn’t sleep at all.smoking area in restaurant nothing near to photos.facing parking lot.

    Hall was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel for a weekend getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No built-in USB ports for chargers but that's a mild nuisance.

    Perfect setting, high level of cleanliness, wonderful staff & service. Our room was extremely spacious and very comfortable. Magnificent water pressure throughout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.8
    1 overnight, but enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like all the fake flowers in reception and bar. Would have been more effective with less as appreciate cannot have fresh flowers. Thought the breakfast room could do with a makeover! though food hot and tasty.

    Room very comfortable - faboulous view. Staff very helpful, friendly and attentive. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    4.2
    The staff at the front desk is kind and professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is old and would need a renovation. It is far from the city center and not worth the money spend.

    The staff at the front desk is kind and professional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel , lots and lots of space , lovely bar and leisure centre , great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room needs a senior person to take charge and steer things along - was disappointed with service. seemed understaffed.

    staff were all welcoming and friendly , bed was super comfy , large corner room on 4th floor with excellent views across the bay , lovely large and bright bathroom with large shower and bath tub , all great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    10
    Stayed at hotel for brothers wedding. Function room, service, food & staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cannot think of anything that I did not like.

    Comfortable room, leisure centre facilities very good. Staff friendly & helpful. Location & sea view excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    Overall brillant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff that checked us in when we arrived, was cold and not very pleasant. It felt very uninviting. Otherwise nothing.

    The hotel was beautiful from the room to the bar. Food was amazing and the views from our room heavenly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely short break, great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar area was very dark during the day and there was a wedding on and couldn’t get to sleep one of the nights(not the hotels fault as they mentioned it at check in)

    Comfortable rooms, lovely pool area, nice staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel in a lovely location. Staff are friendly and accommodating at all times. Pool are is clean and a good size. Bar is busy but well managed. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely good value hotel on the seafront at Salthill with great views out to sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor thing I noticed was the shower could have been cleaner. There were some bits of mould at the bottom.

    Lovely bar with great ambience, plus excellent breakfast. Nice sized room as well. Plus it was great for a stroll on the sea front.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable 4 night stay in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of robes & slippers to use when visiting the pool etc. Lack of fridge in the room to keep complimentary water cool.

    Very comfortable bed & pillows in a spacious room. Sea view. Exceptional Clam Chowder.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    6.0
    Great stay comfy bed powerful shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff member (Ciara) on the desk was not at all courteous left us wait to check in for 30mins after watching her check 8 people in we approached the desk again to check in another staff member checked us in rude rude rude I'm a receptionist in a hotel and would not treat my guests like that!

    The bed and shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.1
    was comfortable and clean, nice shower and sports facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    loud music on first night and quite noisy - could hear full conversations going on in next rooms

    was comfortable and clean, nice shower and sports facility

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay in Salthill Hotel again
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom cold. Wondered why there was a storage heater in the room? thought these were for flats and not part of a four star hotel. Bathroom was cold. Breakfast was poor. Evening bar meal was very poor. It took a long time to get the attention of the waiting staff and even longer to pay the bill after the meal. One of the lifts did not work properly. Glass front doors did not close properly.

    The only redeeming feature was the swimming pool and hydro pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.9
    Not sure if we would return!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and Toast for 2 for breakfast (only 1 slice of toast each) at €7.95 was a bit miserable and expensive but we were reimbursed as we had reported faults in our bedroom earlier. Receptionist was most helpful and understanding.

    We stayed 2 nights on bed only basis. First night - room terrific but few faults - no hot water in hand basin, radiator not working and light switches fault. Walk in shower was terrific and water was piping hot. Reported faults to Reception on 2nd day. we were upgraded to a Room with sea view for 2nd night. but we had 2 single beds and didnt like that as too close together. And were 2 floors above bar where loud music played for some hours that night so we couldn't sleep for several hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.2
    Everything was nice, have seen faster bar staff though or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All in all a great place. No complaints about the room or facilities

    Everything was nice, have seen faster bar staff though or maybe just more enthusiasm about serving customers is the only thing required.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great facilities. Very clean and comfortable room well worth the cost and would definetly stay again. Wonderful stay overall

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    7.5
    The leisure facility let the hotel down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The leisure facility let the hotel down. Looking at the pictures on the website it looked a lot more private than it actually was. The pool was roped off for swimmers/lengths only which was unfortunate as the picture on the site it was just a free pool. Swimming lessons for the children made it noisy and less relaxing in the jacuzzi and the pool was used up for that so it wasn’t accessible during this time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For 116 very expensive we expected to have a nicer room and no plug sockets at mirror very disappointed and beds very bad our backs are still sore

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    5.4
    Food was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very very disappointed with our room. It was out babymoon so ideally I wanted a nice relaxing stay. However the room was tiny and very clostraohpbic, could hear every little sound (even the person sneezing next door) .and as we were at the very back of the hotel there was very loud sounds coming from the other side of the room which I would imagine was a staff area or something. Even worse was we were there for 4 nights in a tiny noisy roon

    Food was lovely.. didn't choose breakfast option but had dinner 2 nights in the bar and it 2as delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, very happy with the hotel, staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to note Just one slight thing in room 124 the air con unit was noisy and could possibly do with a service.

    The style of the hotel was very nice. The staff very friendly and helpful. The quality of the bar food was excellent and the staff very pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    8.8
    A good quality hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the restaurant staff were young and did not seem to have the the training expected in a four star hotel.

    Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. From the 4th floor the view of Galway Bay was extensive and beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    8.8
    Fab Hotel in a perfect location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Second time to stay at this hotel.Stayed in a double room at rear of the hotel this time.Rooms were extremely warm even with all radiators turned down to the lowest and the one small window in the room left open.Jam provided at breakfast was very watery.

    Great location.Only 5 minute drive into city.Delicious Food available in bar. Fabulous hotel with fantastic leisure centre,thermal suite and swimming pool. Lovely views out across Salthill with lovely walks along the prom just a step outside the doors of the hotel.Definitely the best of both worlds with the scenic relaxed location of the hotel beside the sea and the city buzz only a few mins away.Already looking forward to returning to Galway for another break in May!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    6.7
    Was not happy being woken early by a exercise class/loud music after a wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a lot noise early in the morning,sounded like a fitness class. The food for Coeliacs at the wedding we attended was only ok. The starter and dessert were definitely lacking. A big bowl of fruit is not dessert, more like something for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    10
    The staff were very friendly, the room was nice, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit small as we also had a travel cot in our room

    The staff were very friendly, the room was nice, the swimmimg pool was lovely. Only an additional €5 to get breakfast brought to your room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, nice food, relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy room.. there were exercise classes with loud music in the building opposite our room which woke us very early in the morning. The fire alarm also went off at 3.20am the second night.

    Friendly staff, nice food, relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely hotel in a great area. The promenade close to the beach is great. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. Good breakfast for a reasonable cost.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.2
    No complaints very pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Twin room so beds to be a little further apart for comfort as they were very close together ☝️

    View excellent sea view room at end corridor great smiles from staff..tw

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Salthill Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: