Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Genzianella Bormio 3 stars

Via Funivia / Zandilla 6, 23032 Bormio, Italy

#4 of 111 hotels in Bormio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 183 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the best stay of our short trip. They gave us an upgraded room on arrival as the season was just starting and I think the hotel was still half empty but it was appreciated nonetheless. The hall is very well furnished and has a characteristic flavor. The breakfast in the morning was rich and very tasty and the staff helpful in booking a spa day at a discount.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was rather compact.

    The whole hotel has a very cosy feel to it, particularly the rooms. The bathroom was modern and our room had a balcony too. We had dinner and breakfast at the property and couldn't fault the quality and variety of options available. The town is a short walk away which was nice to explore and the hotel is ideally located for visiting the Stelvio Pass.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were driving our electric car from Norway. Hotel has a destination charger that we could get a reserved parking in front of upon arrival. Very convenient - ment we could continue with full battery next morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on how good it is. Price looked reasonable for the menu on offer.

    Excellent location close to the centre of Bormio. Very clean and chic. Great views from our balcony. Summer visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being greeted at the reception with a glass of fresh apple juice and a bright smile is only the beginning of the surprises. I stayed there one night, to take part to the Granfondo Stelvio Santini. The courtesy of the staff is beyond imagination. You really feel the passion for their work. The hotel in itself is cosy & modern and the restaurant offers regional elaborate dishes. I could follow my gluten-free diet (if you ask in advance, they can make gluten-free "pizzoccheri"!!) which is a big plus! The breakfast is hearty : pancakes, eggs & bacon, many different kinds of bread, a selection of cold meats & cheeses and even a honeycomb that you can slice off! I was spontaneously asked if I wanted the "gluten-free basket" consisting of corn-flakes, small cakes, crackers and so forth. The waitress also suggested me to cook gluten-free pancakes :O ! If this isn't an outstanding service, I don't know what is. About the facilities, I was very surprised and impressed to have at my disposal, free of charge, a workbench with all the necessary tools to repair and look after my bike. Additionally, you can store your bike in a bike-room closed with a reinforced door. To sum it up, I was very happy with this lucky find and I'll definitely go back for a longer stay :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing food in the restaurant, very friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed. Located very close to the ski lif. Hotel has own parking which is spacious enough.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave! This has been one of our favorite places on our trip!

    Quality accommodations with very attentive & friendly staff. The best breakfast buffet in all of Italy! Fabulous evening dining on site for additional fee is a must. Inviting lobby with bar area. Beautiful decor. Quiet location. Quality bed linens were very much appreciated. Staff was helpful in planning local activities & helping with transportation. We can't wait to return!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A beautiful, comfortable, family run hotel. Great facilities for bicycle riders. Wonderful breakfast spread. We took the dinner package and the evening meals were beautiful and varied and good value. Martha's Apple and honey cake at breakfast was a treat.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor communication over the bike storage room meant my husband had difficulty with an early bike ride

    Lovely welcoming staff on reception and in the restaurant . Really obliging and went the extra mile to accommodate us

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a deluxe room which we felt was a little small for the price we paid. No gowns or slippers or the usual amenities offered in a bathroom. The curtains are very light and have no block out resulting in the sun shining into your face as it rises. The family running the hotel are very hard working and helpful in every way but don't smile a lot.

    This hotel is geared up very well for cyclists offering them the Stelvio Experience at Euro 5 per day which includes washing cycling kit daily, transport of kit bag up to the passes and snacks in the latter part of the afternoon. The breakfasts are very good and the Restaurant offers superb fine dining dinners. The lounge and bar area are very cosy. Position of the hotel is very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi intermittent and slow. Although owners were very polite they seemed very unhappy and a nice smile now and then would have been good to see. Got the feeling that they were constantly annoyed.

    Lounge and dining area were very comfortable. Breakfasts and dinners very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything! Beautiful rooms, great breakfast, great staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds should be double rather than two single beds pushed together

    Staff very friendly and homely feel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    would like to have stayed longer

    outstanding rooms and breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food, service and people were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot

    Excellent local food and wine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large downstairs bar/lounge area, lovely pool and car park to the rear

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent close to shops restaurants, hotel breakfast was a must, views were stunning .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! !!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A good family run hotel with friendly and helpful staff and excellent food. Lovely outlook.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location /food / excellent bike storage facilities/ information - v helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just excellent hotel, lovely staff and great quality food!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was one of the best I've had and the rooms very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place where the hotel lays in is fantastic. Near the center of Bormio and near to the ski lift. welcoming staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second visit. Love the hotel and staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent buffet, but sometimes some items not were restored.

    Bike room, amenities washing cycling clothes

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff, bike facilities, food, service.....all perfect

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The que for the coffee machine at breakfast each morning.

    Staff are amazing, bicycle facilities are fantastic and the food was excellent

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Asked for a double bed and it was two singles pushed together.

    Great location and fantastic breakfast buffet with everything you could possibly want. Staff were super friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The personnel was very pleasant and helpful! Everything (room / lounge / restaurant / breakfast area) was cosy, creating a pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. The reception sells ski passes which is very convenient, helps avoiding queues at the gondola counters. Plenty of complimentary stuff: excellent deserts with dinner, ham / cheese with the bottle of wines served at the bar, etc Convenient location: walking distance (5 mins) to cable car / town center

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a little bit too small for the overall hotel quality

    Kind of boutique hotel just round the skilift area. High quality facilities, superb restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Avoid Gavia Pass when travelling to Bormio, as this is not for the faint-hearted!! Possibly some bigger signs for hotel would be helpful in town as we spent 20 minutes finding it, since satnav gave up the ghost!!

    Beautiful room and bathroom. Set dinner was delicious and breakfast was excellent. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved this place. Everything is spotless, the staff is super helpful and friendly, the decor of the room was great and the food delicious. We went cycling and couldn't get a better place for a cycling holiday. They do free laundry for bike cloths too.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing major. We missed out on a room with a view. Our balcony was on the side of the hotel.

    Rooms are neat, clean and comfortable. Lovely garden to relax outdoors. Beautiful large lounge to relax indoors. Friendly helpful staff. Lovely breakfasts. In-house quality restaurant for dinners. Close to town and the scenic drives, Easy access to the spas. The staff made every effort to make all their clients feel relaxed and welcome.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very warm and if you opened the windows there was a lot of construction noise so not a good sleep. No ac of course very hot and stuffy if u closed the windows.

    Owners are trying very hard to do everything they can. Good room good food.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff couldn't do enough to help. The fully equipped bike room was terrific. We ate in the restaurant both nights as the food was fresh and beautiful, and the service just sensational. Our cycling clothes were washed and dried ready for the next morning. There was terrific guidance on bike routes.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Outstanding hotel! The family looked after us like we were extremely valued guests

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, great service.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was so incredible and so nice they made you feel like family.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    Good location for cycling

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slow wi-fi.

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything. I really don't know how I could have enjoyed more

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Super friendly & helpful staff, superb dinners, comfortable room and nice beds. Superb bycicle facilities!

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The feel of the hotel, cosy, beautiful, quaint, but with all the modern facilities - super! Excellent spot to access the Stelvio Pass

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything Was perfect! We had a great stay!

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: