Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aux Anciennes Tanneries 3 stars

Jos Simon, 42A, 9550 Wiltz, Luxembourg

#2 of 3 hotels in Wiltz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 185 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not particularly friendly I was made to feel like an irritation rather than guest spending money. I admittedly arrived early but still. I expected to be staying in an old building with character but my room was in a modernish block next door. The room was dark and dated.

    The restaurant looked very nice but when I requested a table early evening I was told they were fully booked aven though the restaurant was virtually empty. Only thing available was a doner kebab at a greasy takeaway in the village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "JR Suite" was not at all what the pictures on the site show. Was suppose to have a Jacuzzi but instead had an extremely small tub with jets which turned them selves on randomly. The other room did actually have a full size Jacuzzi but the jets didn't work. The beds were hard and the heating did not work in one of the rooms. Breakfast was 13 euros for bread and juice not at all worth it at all. When I was asked if I was having breakfast they didn't let us know how much it would cost. Would not recommend unless there is absolutely no where else to stay.

    There were rooms available. Location if visiting Bastogne

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a bigger room (junior suite) with additional spa (bubble)bath, but we didn't get it and we were disappointed. So you never know what you will get.

    Pool and sauna were nice, without cost. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good, but rather unsurprising.

    The hotel actually has two buildings, one where reception and restaurant are and another one with the pool and spa area. We requested a room in the spa building so that we can easily access the swimming pool. Room was spacious and extra bed provided for our son was very comfortable, just as regular beds. The bathroom featured a bubble bath, but we did not really use it, because we spent a lot of the time at the pool. All staff were really friendly. Just one hundred meters away from the hotel there is a nice promenade for dog walking, a playground and bike park.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking nearby is a bit complicated especially since the little bridge over the river is momentarily closed. TV viewing is limited since one has only access to a few analog channels.

    The facility is set-up as a wellness center and has quite large rooms, accommodated for guests with an handicap. WiFi at the room was OK. The center of the town is at walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we had booked a room in the main hotel but were given a rather characterless room in the adjoining Wellness Hotel. Room was warm even though outside temperatures were not excessive. No air con and hotel could not provide a fan so really don't know how people manage in the high summer temperatures. No drinking water provided in room so had to ask for this. Could not accommodate us for evening meal on arrival because they did not have enough staff available but alternative restaurants were suggested, which we appreciated. However, we generally found the staff a bit on the brusk side and not overly friendly.

    We chose to stay in Wiltz to see the Tour de France so the hotel was very conveniently placed for this. Good pool. Room clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom not smelling of smoke and the lady on reception taking a little more notice and understanding when telling her in the morning.

    Liked having boiled eggs at breakfast, food very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They never swept the rooms for the entire week stay we were there. Breakfast fairly mundane. Noisy! They like their motorcylists to the detriment of other guests. Asked us to move our car to a parking lot across the river to accommodate another guest - we paid just like everyone else - what the heck? (didn't, by the way). Asked for white wine with dinner - they said they didn't have any - gave me some rose - which was a cordial and not rose wine at all, and then next table got white wine. Again - what the heck?

    rooms were spacious

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a good up hill walk to the town center.

    Good room. Good breakfast. only stayed 1 night here so didn't have chance to use all the facility's.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tip to find it, as some say that it is hard to find, look it up on Google maps, and use that to program up your sat nav. Car park is not secure.

    This was our first stop over on this years’ biking trip, and the hotel was very good. The rooms were large for all our gear, bed very comfortable, and everything was clean. We managed to take advantage of the sauna, which was very welcome after a long days ride. We had a meal in the evening, and while it may be higher than your average price, I consider that it was well worth it. Being as the weather was good, we had a table outside by the river, which made the experience even more pleasurable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When other guests leave in the morning they would easily be heard from the room. The noises in the passage way were all heard from within our room. The hotel's main door buzzer was also heard from our room.

    The room was large and comfortable. It was also comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was on the way from Normandy to Bastogne. Long day, long drive nice hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive

    The room was very comfortable and I was downstairs in a room with facilities for the disabled.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    An Elevator would have been nice

    Very nice, spacious room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking, appropriate Wifi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very unfriendly lady at the reception who tried to rip us off by letting us know that there was only a room available for 50 euros above the normal tariff.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were abrupt and not very welcoming. No lift, lots of steps including those for the access bridge. The room was cold heating was off and the windows were open, it was +2.0 C outside not a good start. No signs or people to locate changing facilities, hamman, steam room, sauna etc. Hamman cold as again window left open?? Swimming pool depth not indicated.

    The meal in the restaurant was very good but a little on the expensive side.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had difficultly finding the hotel using the directions that we generated with Google Maps. House number 42A is not located next to 42 as we had anticipated. The free Wi-Fi was not accessible in our room. We could only access the Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.

    Historical old main building. The friendly staff. The little bridge across the stream in front of the hotel. The swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The spa is great, full of a variety of facilities.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was above the pool so was always quite humid. The room was very basic with few amenities.

    The shower was nice and powerful

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor lighting in the bathroom.

    Quaint and solidly built. Germanic flavor. Beautiful town.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They appear understaffed. Poor breakfast for that price

    Quiet location

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well, the breakfast is overpriced for the things you get.

    I enjoyed the wellness facilities and the dinner. It was tasty. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was in a quiet location which was enjoyable. It had the added benefit of a swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Couple

    The showerhead was broken. The provided key worked on only one of the exterior doors in a very complicated setting.

    Pretty Location, Nicely appointed.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Please note ceiling in corner of Room 6 had a leak from upstairs. Water was dripping through.

    Location, history, charm.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The front desk staff was not friendly.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: