Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Continental 3 stars

Rue Dar Baroud N° 36, Old Medina, 90000 Tangier, Morocco

#15 of 34 hotels in Tangier

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1750 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was okay concerning the location is good, but the room was reaaaaly old and they haven’t been improving the stuff in the room (only the outside appearance was maintained maybe), which made the hotel felt a little creepy...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much indeed...

    The view and surroundings are spectacular. Breakfast is good. All rooms are no igual but some are incredible for the price. The location on the edge of the medina is the best in Tanger.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The porter was very rude and asked for a tip just like this, and he wasn't helpful at all.

    The hotel decorations. It's very Oriental and puts you in the mood.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location. Authentic traditional beautiful hotel. Amazing panoramic sea views from the terrace and café and also from our room. Comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful staff. A peaceful haven away from the souks and medina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was 'promised' a room with a view and carved wooden furniture, but for the first night got one with no view at all and modern IKEA-style furniture. The second night I got a room with a great view! And although breakfast is served until 10:30, already at 9/9:30, the kitchen does not seem to replenish.

    Great location, close to all sights of Tagniers. Wonderful building, full of history and nice art and artifacts. Beautiful terrace with excellent view. Convenient parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was institutional. The building is generally run down and the fact that it is still as it was 50 years ago is not ‘charming’.

    There are still some impressive decorative details around the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not that I dislike it, it's just not what I had in mind.

    The location was great, breakfast was adequate. If budget is a restriction and you are looking for a clean comfortable rooms, then Hotel Continental is just the thing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible lighting, awful decor, ‘window’ looked out onto the HALLWAY. Water turns off at later hours. Terrible shower.

    Room was clean and quiet. Staff was friendly for the most part.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slapdash service. We were given no bath towels for our entire three day stay. For two of those days we had hand towels, but the last day we had to use the bath mat. Very noisy hotel also. We could hear everything from our room and what sounded like herds of elephants going up and down the stairs. Had to keep the window mostly shut because of the pungent smell of smoke coming in. I didn’t expect perfection. It’s Morocco! But they do need to smarten up a little.

    Spacious room. Glorious view from terrace. Fantastic building harking back to past glory and splendour. Close to Port and the Médina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions on walking from ferry would have been good. We ran into a “hustler” who took us the long way to the hotel and through many unnecessary alleys. We found out later there was a shorter more direct route to take. This could have been avoided with better directions.

    Location to medina and ferry was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a small. Some rooms had a terrace on the ground floor, other rooms didn't.

    The terrace was amazing ... on a sunny day you could see the port, the ferries, and Spain on the other side. Breakfast was good too. Best hotel in Tangier for sure. Everything was well organized and clean. The view from the window was incredible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of welcome, disinterested attitude of most staff, lack of a lift, very tatty and run-down hallways. If restored, these would be extremely impressive and a really give a sense of grandeur and class to the hotel.

    This is a grand and impressive hotel set up high on the cliff overlooking the port of Tangier. It is very well located for incoming tourists arriving on the ferry, and also very handy to the medina and main sights of interest eg. American Legation, Kasbah etc. Access is however difficult with luggage, as there are several flights of steps to negotiate. Being so old, there are several elements of historic appeal - the view, its past history, the lobby and common areas which have significant old tiling and ornate wood-work, and some decoration. Mint tea out on the terrace a days end, is also a treat, if expensive. It was in fact, the best mint tea we had in Morocco over 9 days! The hotel's glory days however, are long gone, and this hotel needs a major investment of funds, which would, possibly make it a busy hotel once again. At the moment, although the exterior is impressive, the interior appears very old and run-down and really dilapidated in some areas. We were initially allocated a room on the 2nd floor which was plain and very out-dated, and contained 4 single beds and little else! Despite having somewhat of a view, it was very musty-smelling and unappealing, and so we inquired as to whether there wasn't a double room available as we had booked. We were then offered a double room on the 3rd floor which we accepted, mostly on the basis of the very clean and new bathroom, NOT the 6 flights of stairs we now had to negotiate with cases due to there not being any lift! This 2nd bedroom itself did not have any view as it faced inwards, but was clean, very large, and fully furnished with large, dark and ornate furniture, including a large carved wooden bedhead. Our door did lock properly, and the hot-water limits as mentioned in other reviews, did not effect us. The pressure was very good, and wifi was fine too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise on thrid floor rooms from flags in wind on the roof, also no hot water from noon to 6 pm daily.

    Loved loved loved the location for being close to the ferry, and also close to souk with great views of harbour and town Views were great during day and night Sevice was good, credit cards accepted. No elevator so be orepared for stairs. Less than 10 minutes walk to ferries who run on 3 rd world moroccan time to tarifa spain. So reasonably priced, well wirth it for the location Though driving ther is a challenge, taxi is better, parking is marginal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older style basic amenities but good value for money.

    Wonderful mosaics and artifacts. Great location next to the medina with great outlook and views of the sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Uncomfortable room of questionable cleanliness with a symbolic door. We hardly found 3 outlets in a whole apartment (one for TV, one in bath and one behind the bed), loose safe. Hotel staff is dealing with local tourist hunters and cheaters. Breakfast leaves much to be desired. Тhe quality of some products is so bad that it is not suitable for use. Оn the other hand, many places of declared dishes are empty.

    The place is just by the port nearby the all local points of interest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure wasn’t very good and hot water not available all the time, so showering was a mixed experience.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and I loved the atmosphere of the hotel and its quirky decor. It’s not five star luxury, but that’s not what I was after. Great location too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This once-elegant hotel is getting a slow makeover. The location and views are terrific for exploring the Médina. Also ideally located for the ferry to/from Tarifa. It’s comfortable enough and very cheap. So a good compromise for one night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were really hard, but that is normal for a lot of international hotels. My only negative comment concerns a group of young tourists who chose to sit outside on the patio overlooking the water, laughing, talking and making a LOT of noise between 2:00 am and 4:30 am. I literally stuck my head out the window and asked them to be quiet. I would have thought with their proximity to the front desk that the management would have asked them to be quiet first.

    The staff at the front desk were extra helpful and we really appreciated their help with our bags when we arrived and a taxi when we were leaving. The breakfast room is a delight and the food and servers ( those who kept the coffee hot and the platters full) did a great job. The location is great for accessing the medina and walking along the seafront near the marina. It's an iconic hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in mentioned at 14:00 but was not ready at 14:45 when we arrived. The shower had only cold water in the one morning we needed it. The room we booked through booking.com was mentioning a double bed but they were two single beds together.

    Location convenient with a nice view and nice restaurant with few but good choices and prices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite old and floor is broken in some parts.

    It's a standard hotel in Madina which is very nice, especially after spending so many nights in the raids which usually have no window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water 24/7

    It's a hotel which has clearly seen better days... but has a distinctive charm. Good value for money to stay in such an iconic hotel... faded glory!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud throughout the night, banging at all hrs. Unfriendly staff at breakfast, No sense of customer service, Azegash (not sure of spelling) in particular needs training on how to deal with customers. Everything at the hotel cost three times as much as almost any place just outside. And at times they'll act like they're doing you a favor and then charge you when they're done. They were actually charging 20 extra dirhams at the continental breakfast for the espresso which is right there with the other Coffee and Tea and don't try to leave with your unfinished drink or it will also cost you.

    Great location and helpful (and friendly) front desk staff. Onsite free parking is great, but it's a challenge to get there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly maintained. Past its prime. Tired old building. Holes in sheets and towels. Limited hours for hot water. Entry to the lobby is through a metal detector that hasn't worked in years.

    Close to Port if you are taking the ferry. That's about the only thing I liked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fine although safe was locked and we had to wait until morning for it to be opened. Great photos in the halls of its storied past.

    Breakfast was less than enticing, not enough seats inside as it had been raining, ran out of food often, long wait to replenish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no hot water except 6am-noon and again 6pm to midnight; and then only a trickle. Font even think of taking a shower with that trickle; ask for rpom woth bathyub do uou can wait for it to fill. Food in breadfast buffet always cold (no heating unit under the chaffing dishes (always badly fried eggd, overcooked tomatoe slices and somr potatoe pieces. Even the coffee eas always cold.

    great soundproof windows. great view. can get taxi to entry of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Faded elegance, but well maintained and clean facility. Felt like I was a movie star from the 60's. It is on the Medina, close to the port, overlooking the sea. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps asking guests if they came by ferry, and then on check out, making sure the ferry is actually working and leaving on the correct times, and not cancelled due to bad weather, or high winds above 60 km/hr,we were lucky to catch the "FRS" ferry at an extra cost,,, only after our guide(who we hired to show us around) phoned and found out that the other ferry service that we had paid for, cancelled all trips back to Tarifa due to high wind, Although we did get a rebate from the other ferry service on arrival back in Tarifa

    The ambiance. it is an old hotel with beautiful Moroccan style and very pleasant staff, if we come back to Morocco we will definitely stay there again.The shower is hot and thats what you need after walking around all day..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are below the hotel quotation, I found in the shower a used shower gel from the previous visitor. There is a smell of old and mould in the whole building, carpets look dirty, repairs need to be made. The hotel has potential but a lot of money need to be invested to show its real value

    Location, near medina, near the ferry terminal. The building is a historical one, of rare beauty The staff, very friendly and helpful The breakfast was good, the breakfast hall magnificent

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and ugly with an ugly/interesting view into the medina from a small window. We bought a room with a terrace but did not get it.

    The atmosphere in the neighbourhood was different from anything I have experienced in a nice way! The noise and the prayers! The big terrace overlooking the harbour was lovely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staff members insisted helping to carry your bags and then demanded money. My room was quite basic and as the hotel was almost empty felt they could have easily upgraded me to a room that wasn't on top floor and facing the inner courtyard.

    Amazing interiors in the common areas and great location right next to old town and the ferry port. Most staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel did a good job balancing between old world culture and charm and modern convenience. The hotel is a very old hotel but I never had a problem with hot water, the air conditioner, or any of the modern conveniences that people want when on vacation. The hotel is beautiful and the staff friendly especially the maid staff who do a fantastic job.

    The property was as close the the ferry terminal as you could get easy walk. I felt like I was in Morocco and a part of the city. Best location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had mixed feelings about this place. It is no doubt a lovely, historic building but the place was very desolate and the atmosphere seemed cold and lonely (granted, we did visit in March when apparently there aren't many tourists). The staff was helpful with questions and booking a cab but not necessarily warm or welcoming. Rooms are old and minimal. Bathroom sink leaked onto the floor. Building probably hasn't had any updates in decades. I'd more so recommend going there to get mint tea and check out the views than actually booking a room and staying the night there.

    Absolutely gorgeous 150 year old building- this place is what you want everything in Morocco to look like. Each main room (lobby, breakfast room, etc.) is head to toe ornate tiles or carved, hand-painted wood walls. The hallways have beautiful colored glass and gorgeous doors, the deck looking out over the harbor is peaceful and beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is long due a renovation. We had a family room - it was big but soooo dated and uncomfortable. We had water running in the bathroom walls, coming from the ceiling. Red/yellow water in the shower. Broken lamps, no bulbs. Wifi came and went. Bad breakfast.

    Location Historic building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. There really wasn’t much selection aside from bread and pastries.

    The location is perfect, really near to the market and port. Hotel staff are super helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'll put everything as a positive and do take everything as a whole. Built in 1888 the hotel has an old fashioned charm even though it's a bit run down. It's a step back in time. I changed a room because it was smokey from the open fire in the building next door to one where the door didn't lock, 3 floors up with no lift. The room was clean, modest and basic and the shower pressure was a struggle. But, the hotel is amazing and other reviews go into good detail. It is a step back in time. The medina and kasbah are just outside and you're straight into old Morocco with hustle and hassle although it's bit influenced by western commercialism. A walk down the seafront is modern Morocco. The hotel is across the road from Tanger Ville port and very visible on arrival. It's really cheap with a decent breakfast. Gated, guarded free parking. There are limited sea view rooms.The afternoon receptionist did everything with humour and checking out is hand written. If you go with a sense of fun and take it as it comes it's a true experience. A bit like Morocco as a whole really. They may have even fixed the lock on Room 301.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was rally difficult to find the road to reach the hotel as we were by car even when we could see the hotel from far away. No one spoke english so couldn't get directions as well. Breakfast was ok, not too elaborate. Room had dampness, so smell of dampness. No wi-fi in rooms, have to come in the common area.

    nicely located in the Madina itself, we walked conveniently in the Madina so were pleased. The toilet was very clean and so were the towels. Good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived to hotel at night, first night our room was terrible. Please avoid from Number 211, because it was like prison room, very old furnished, uncomfortable and darkness and scary. Breakfast was not good, coffee is not free in the breakfast, it's two Euro. Second day we changed our room.

    It's a real historical building and also is a museum. Location is very good, it's in the old city. Staffs are helpfully.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two of us had a room with a great view over looking the port. However the other three room over looked a chimney and a light well although the booking .com info suggested that all rooms would have views.

    Great location overlooking the port and on the edge of the medina. Wonderful Moroccan décor, especially in the breakfast room. if it had been warmer sitting out on the terrace would have been a plus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water kettle for coffee or tea making in rooms

    The location right next to the medina and good view. Nice breakfast on terrace. We appreciated being moved to a room with a balcony which was much more spacious. There are only a few rooms with balconies even though the site includes one as an amenity.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access into and out of the hotel was unnecessarily challenging - exterior doors were locked, and the front desk person didn't have a key. He actually had to climb out of a window to get a key to let us out in the morning. Very odd.

    Convenient place to stay for access to the ferry. Interesting building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a shame the hotel does not have a lift.

    The breakfast is great value for money. The dining room is excellent and for us some of the best meals eaten on journeys to Morocco. This our second visit to the hotel and the meals were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -for 1.no drinking water for guests 2.no elevator 3.no clear sign or information for guest parking area 4.not enough electrical outlets in the room

    +for 1.location 2.staffs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was polite, but indifferent to us. Parking is not easy to find and is not comfortable to drive in. Breakfast is buffet, but rather poor. Less fruits, only vienos séries and eggs.

    We stayed for one night , so we did’t find any negatives on this hotel. The room was clean and spacious, with a small heater that was very useful because of cold weather. There were enough towels, and the water was hot and pressure ok. Very good view from our room. Wifi works great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could be a tad nicer and the limited hours for hot water are a bit inconvenient, but not too bad since they are in the evening and morning.

    The wonderful decor, historic nature, excellent staff, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel still retains some of the grandness of a 100-year old Grand Hotel - the breakfast room and surrounding areas, transport you back in time with a richness and opulence of decoration that is reminiscent of the Alhambra in Andalucia. Our bedroom - complete with balcony overlooking the port - had been 'modernised' but by appearances, this must have been some years earlier and to my mind is now in need of further attention to bring the standard of the room up to a level the hotel deserves. The staff were always helpful and polite, but unfortunately, on the two nights, we stayed in the hotel the dining room was sadly firmly closed. Although I am not able to rate the hotel as 10 out of 10, none the less I would return in the future as the small disappointments were well outweighed by the positives.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is lovely, a nod to the grace and elegance of an earlier age. It is a nice oasis from the hustle of the Medina just behind it. It’s location near the port made it convenient for riding the ferry.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old and if your looking for a five star place, this might not be your cup of tea. At some times of the day there isn't hot water but it is hot in the morning and evening for many hours. My phone hooked up to the internet without any problems but did have some problems with my ChromeBook here and there.

    The location of the hotel is great. If your coming by ferry from Tarifa, Spain, the hotel is only a five minute walk from the ferry dock, it's just a couple of minutes to one of the entrances of the Tangier medina, and a cheap taxi ride to the bus station. The hotel was built in 1888 and although it does show some wear and tear, it has a lot of history and character to it with much of the building looking like a museum. The staff is great, the room was clean and had a view of the waterfron, and a great breakfast comes with your room of eggs, potatoes, olives, cheese, tomatoes, breads, sweats and different kinds of drinks. We enjoyed the stay and it is not expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift but helps to build up an appetite for the great food in restaurant and cafeteria

    Fantastic decor and excellent staff secure parking area a bonus as traveling by motorcycle.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled a little stale through a bit of damp

    The hotel is a stones throw from the ferry, and easy to get to as you don't have to find your way through the streets of the Medina in order to check in. Staff were all really helpful and the hotel is one of the most beautifully decorated places I have had the pleasure to visit. Room was comfy and the breakfast was fantastic (a couple of their filter coffees will keep you going!). Brilliant location to top it all off and dirt cheap for what you get!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it all looked a bit jaded. As a budget traveller, this was my one treat night, but I think most of the €7 hostels I stayed in were more sophisticated. But, it was good to have my own room and a really comfy bed!

    Close to ferry station. I got mixed up with the ferry station for Algeciras (I was at the wrong one) but the staff at continental were able to advise me about what to do - simple solution to go over on FDS ferry and get a free shuttle to Algeciras. Also really impressed with the WiFi connectivity in my room AND I was brought breakfast to my room at 7am as I had to leave before breakfast time. So kind. Plus, the doorman showed me a short cut to the station at 7.15 am.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room should have had the lovely antique furniture that was in the hall way. The blond wood desk and wardrobe were incongruous and took up too much room.

    Extraordinary location, view and Fabulous Moroccan interior tile work. The balcony was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!

    The staff was excellent! The cafeteria/restaurant is beautifully decorated with the most exquisite Moroccan tiles...truly breathtaking!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not internet in the room,bad internet in the hall, very cold , small room , plastic floor, very very noisy in the night , so many machines working ... difficult to follow sleep , definetly overprice!

    The bazar

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked just the same day as we arrived, very late. was a bit difficult to find, but it has a great closed parking and the hotel itself is amazing from outside and the location is just wunderful. The breakfast place is amazing, gave us a really nice overall imprint and a nice stay. The room is basic, hot water just in the morning, wifi only in the common areas. But it worth to stay !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay 20dirhams for Nespresso coffee at breakfast and 20dirhams for bottled water when both are less than 1dirham in any cafe in Tangier.

    Brilliant location on the edge of the medina and just 5mins walk from the port. Our room was very comfortable and had a small balcony overlooking the port and the hotel's great terrace. The hotel is full of Moroccan charm and character and has a small internal courtyard with plants and a fountain as well as several hidden places to sit on comfy sofas. The ornate breakfast room has an external terrace with lovely views. Breakfast was good with mix of hot food, breads, fruit etc. Staff were very friendly and professional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    yes the hotel is a little dated but the fantastic staff more than make up for that . The hotel is situated just right to take in the old and new of Tangiers would recommend you visit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming hotel with loads of character and the staff were lovely. The outlook over the port is glorious and the location is perfect for the medina, kasbah and getting the ferry back to Spain. We'll definitely be back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's definitely past it's former glory. The floor was a bit spongy in our room. But otherwise comfortable.

    Location was fantastic, you walk right into the Medina. Staff were lovely, breakfast was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not the first time we've stayed at the Continental and it won't be the last. Steeped in history and very atmospheric. The breakfast has improved over the years. Location is hard to beat - you can see the hotel when you step off the boat and walk there in a few minutes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, if that's a problem for you

    Great hotel with a unique atmosphere, 60s glamour in Moroccan style with a wonderful terrace, walking distance (a bit uphill) from the Tangier Ville porte, Old Medina (unforgettable!) and Kasbah. Make sure to have lunch in Le Saveur de Poisson restaurant 15 minute walk from the hotel through Old Medina!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not great and wifi not in the room.

    This hotel is old decorations but feel like museum .just face to beach and and to Tarifa port. Just few min to old Madina

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was awful in hotel, you had to go to hallway to get online. Breakfast was ok. Nothing special, price was only 60 euros per night so i guess you get what you pay for. My bedside lamp was broken so no reading at night. Tv was working after I complained twice.

    Beautiful old property right at edge of median. Great view from front of property of port and city views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, just across road from ferry building. Interior is really neat, with Moroccan decorations. Loved the view from the terrace. If walking from ferry be aware you’ll need to carry your luggage up about 3 flights of stairs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic historic hotel with a great location. Comfy room and good breakfast in a historical cafe. Great value and only a short walk to the harbour and boat to Tarifa.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security was looking at us with suspicious look as if we are intruders. But receptionist are nice and helpful. Old hotel and need alot of rennovation

    It offers amazing view to the port. Having breakfast from the terrace is really enjoyable with sunrise and ships alongside the harbour

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love this place so much. The location is really good, it is built on a historical sightseeing and situated very near the seashore, as well as Medina; The scenes looking though the windows are amazing when you sit in your room, especially in the night; The staff are really helpful and friendly; And also the breakfast is one of the best which I have tried in the hotels during my Morocco trip; In addition, the price is affordable and reasonable, worth for money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings a bit tatty, restaurant food not great and made to feel awkward to pay by credit card ( no problem using a card for accommodation) breakfast is impressive but the “hot “ food is cold. Dinner food was so so.

    Really good location for the ferry port and the Kasbah. Old world feel to the place, really helpful reception person when we arrived. Given a choice of rooms, we chose the harbour view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, just 5 minutes walk to the port and next to Medina. The hotel style is cool and tje decorations are very pretty. It is very classic. Also there is a big antique shop inside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Road access to hotel is via tight alleyways - not a bring problem as local taxis got there ok.

    It was a good hotel location for visiting the "old medina" historic part of the town. Nice views all around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Great location, at the edge of the medina - Nice historic place, it looks like a museum - Very friendly staff - Amazing terrace with a lovely sea view - Our room was very nice, also with views to the sea

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Faded grandeur. The hotel seems to be left in the last century. I had to wait a bit before the room was ready. The breakfast was just ok.

    Large room with a nice view of the port. Easy to reach and good location at the entrance of the Medina and close to the port. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very noisy. You can hear the pipes as other are taking a shower or flushing the toilet. Also very noisy outside - couldn't sleep well in the night. Breakfast is okay but unfortunately after 9:30 am nothing was added, no juice, no eggs.. so better come early.

    The hotel is very nice from an architectual view, but you see not much is invested to keep the hotel nice; best times were in the past i guess

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel charged me twice - both a 'card verification fee' which ended up being the total amount and they then charged me when I checked in without mentioning that the card verification fee had already been taken. 1 week later, I am still waiting for my refund. You expect hassle with money in the streets in Morocco, not in your hotel.

    Location and view from room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water unavailable between 12-6PM. We were located on the third floor and the wifi was scarce at times. During a rainy and windy night we could not sleep as there was a noise of metal bars moving next to our room.. weird. The pipes emit a sting and unpleasant smell.

    Quite a decadent hotel but in a nice way. Rooms are clean and the staff is helpful. Good location next to medina.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of steps, but OK if you are fit and don't have too many bags (or you can get a taxi around to the front of the hotel).

    Walkable from the ferry up some steps to the hotel. Fantastic views of harbour and old world atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Continental traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: