Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Botel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

NDSM-Pier 3, Amsterdam Noord, 1033 RG Amsterdam, Netherlands

#305 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 5378 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    4.2
    The Boat to nowhere
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were tatty, bathroom incredibly small and sewage smelly.

    Friendly Staff, breakfast was ok ish. Luckily we got the requested sea view. Free ferry worked out well to central station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    5.0
    The room smelled like mold growth and dampness very strongly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled like mold growth and dampness very strongly The bathroom is very minimal, and the shower very bad No toiletries, except soap Needs to be renovated updated Would not stay again

    Easy acces to Central station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for the money and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit under what I would expect for 12 euros. Other than boiled eggs and some bacon, it was really more of a continental than full. I would not have purchased it if I'd known that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.1
    Simple effective hotel, just as stated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some breakfast items not worth eating but overall good. Creaking pipes in the night and very stuffy rooms if you don't air it during the day while you're out. Their restaurant partner Pollux is awful, do not go there, we arrived 19:50 and left 21:10 without ever receiving the food we ordered.

    Really close to the free ferry across to Amsterdam Centraal (only about 10-15 minute journey). Simple dated rooms but clean with own bathroom and comfy beds. Very simple breakfast (breads, one type of cheese etc) but can eat decently.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    5.4
    if u want to be near city, and pay less money, this is a good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    botel said they provide shuttle bus after 2 am to pick up from far from a distanced ferry boat, the driver was not there to pick us up, we used uber and paid considerable amount of euros, when we reached the hotel, the driver of the shuttle bus was there and told us he didnt go to pickup as he was busy as one of the guests had an ambulance pick him from botel, which was interesting, as i dont know what this has to do with not doing his work! breakfast is poor, Staff talk on phone or do cigarettes or talk with each other, and leave the reception with no one to serve. Some of the Staff are really helpful (the girl, cant remember her name) Room had a very bad smell, we were too tired to request a change They hosted our bags, which was very nice of them.

    close to boat ferry

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    9.6
    Worth the effort to get to!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    €12.50 charge for breakfast after the first day

    The location was great. 15 minutes from Amsterdam Central on the free ferry and you're there. It's a unique venue that seems very popular.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.8
    It's just cool 😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower in our room was a bitstinky ... but it was more to do with plumbing / vapours on an active boat than anything else.

    It's just cool 😄

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    9.2
    Great value and convenient location enabled a very enjoyable visit to Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room smelled a little bit musty when we arrived. Open window and a bit of fresh air soon fixed it.

    Location and value were excellent, very easy ferry trip from Central Station. Basic room was an excellent price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and interesting concept
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely small bathroom, when you take a shower the floor and toilet gets wet because there is only a shower curtain

    Great location and interesting concept

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.3
    The room was very clea, the bedding was clean and fresh and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very basic and a bit dated. The bathroom was a tight squeeze.

    The room was very clea, the bedding was clean and fresh and the beds were comfortable. The regular free ferry to and from Amsterdam central was brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    7.9
    It was nice and quiet and allowed for a sleep-in in...
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The weird smell of the carpets, slow check-in without a smile. The crammed breakfast buffet set-up.

    It was nice and quiet and allowed for a sleep-in in otherwise loud and busy Amsterdam. Perfectly located for our purpose and such a different insight by using the ferry to the northshore. Good fun.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money - would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extractor in bathroom not working.

    Cabin comfortable & clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Location excellant, very near ferry to central Amsterdam. Near bars & restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.2
    The idea of a boat hotel and that in Amsterdam price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Still a little far from town although the free ferry and shuttle (after 1.30am from the other ferry dock) does help. But the Noord side is picking up so that’s a good alternative for outings near Botel.

    The idea of a boat hotel and that in Amsterdam price includes the all important En-suite shower toilet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    10
    Floating Amsterdam Accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were average with regard to comfort...I was fine...others might be fussier

    Being on the water Ferry ride Ease of access Informality Staff very helpful Great price and location....great shower....beds average...I'd definitely stay again- loved it!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    5.0
    Ruined by noise of refurbishments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise next to ours had it's floor removed with a buzz saw at 7am in the morning 3 hours after we'd made it back to our rooms to sleep on first night not one of the 10 people could sleep and it had the consequence of ruining our second day in Amsterdam. A couple on floor beside us had 50% refunded on their stay so I will be expecting similar compensation for each of the five rooms that I have booked either in form of a refund or a free stay at the Botel in the future. After having stayed here many times in the past (20 to 30) I feel severely let down having recommended this to my 9 friends.

    Nothing on this trip!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money - far from crowds, beautiful view, close to Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Smelly toilet (as though it's musty), huge crowds during breakfast time, the breakfast is not that varied. Nowhere to eat late at night (if you're suddenly hungry). But all this is not critical - seems that there are few places for this price in Amsterdam that are this nice.

    Awesome location - few tourists, the ferry takes you to the Central Station in about 15 minutes; it comes every 15-30 minutes, there's a timetable - very convenient; there's a coffee shop with awesome quality stuff nearby (and it's cheap). The view is great - you can go to the deck anytime and watch beautiful sunsets. Great value for money. My room had a great view (see photo attached - you can see how close the Central Station is). The room is being cleaned every day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    9.6
    A fantastic stay in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast could be improved. There isnt an awful lot of choice. More cereals, savouries and cooked breakfast options are needed.

    Everything but the breakfast. The staff were fantastic! The location is perfect! The facilities are great and the price is brilliant for what you are given.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    8.3
    We had a blast from beginning to end!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was warm wouldn’t like to have been there in the hot weather

    Very basic but really served its purpose- it is a boat after all! Staff were excellent though!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    8.3
    Very good position, near to Central Station with a free of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our request was confirmed online but was not observed

    Very good position, near to Central Station with a free of charge ferry, cool location, you can leave your lagguages

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was awful! We arranged a shuttle at 4:15 because we had to take a train at 5am. At 4:15 the guy from the shuttle was waiting the car because the guy from reception took the car to get some food (4am and he was "working") he arrived at 4:40 he did not say sorry or anything... the driver felt really bad and we had to run!!

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    10
    Fantastic, strongly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t think it’s appropriate to have a porno program on tv. I was with my teenage daughters and they had a separate room.

    The staff was very friendly. They let us leave the luggage longer after we checked out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    4.2
    The two girls working in the reception in the morning were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    • The employees in the restaurant for breakfast were very grumpy, zero patience with the guests. • I found an error in the reservation which they said it was caused by #booking.com, however I had to pay more for my stay. • Even there is a boat to cross to the city every 30 minutes it is a bit inconvenient, you cannot find many things on this side of the canal. • Price is too high for the quality of the Hotel, I was expecting more for the price. Looks like more a hostel than a luxury hotel, as they call. • No service room; • Restaurant close to the hotel, which belongs to the hotel, is expensive and not that good. • I wouldn’t recommend

    The two girls working in the reception in the morning were very helpful and friendly... all the time, their names if I am not wrong was Zara and Francine, Spanish girls.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.2
    Great value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There isn't much to dislike. If I had to be picky, the bathroom was small, very similar to one in a cabin in a ferry.

    This is great value for money. The location is ideal right next to the free ferry which comes every 6 minutes. This is free and takes you to right to Centraal station. The room was clean and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    3.3
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Smell in the room was Very bad. breakfast included,but you cant get enything, 3 mornings we try to get breakfast but all the time all the plates was empty. I don't understand why they have 3 stars it were poor looking

    Nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.1
    Great view, ferry was convenient and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed and shower room were very small. Bar service was generally difficult and i wasnt too comfortable with the "leave at your own risk" bag storage.

    Great view, ferry was convenient and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.1
    Amazing for 1 day visits, uncomfortable for longer stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room and the toilet was very narrow. We stayed in "Park Inn by Radisson Amsterdam City West" at the same vacation. It was 20 Euros cheaper and much more comfortable than Botel.

    Feeding ducks from the window was great. The room had a fabulous submarine view. Breakfast was ok. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    7.5
    Clean room, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel location is a bit far away from everything you want to see. In order to get there you need to go to Amsterdam Centraal and get on a 10-min journey ferry, which runs every 15min.

    Clean room, helpful staff. I loved that they were able to keep our luggage after checking out for the rest of the day until our flight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    6.3
    i loved the fact that they changed my staying dates with no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i loved the fact that they changed my staying dates with no problem and they told nothing about extra charge . I discovered only when I arrived in hotel that I had to pay extra charge OTHERWISE they wouldnt check me in. if they would tell me via email that i had to pay extra it would disapoint me so much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast served every morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tv wasn’t great for evenings as the UK channels had no volume at all, and no option for subtitles

    Breakfast served every morning Useful vending machine for drinks and snacks after bar closes, including poncho and toothbrush + paste if you forget! Arrived late due to delays with plane, didn’t check in until near enough midnight but reception still open and very helpful. Able to leave baggage free of charge after checkout

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    8.3
    The boat hotel is good value for the money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The boat hotel is good value for the money .It is a boat ride from Amsterdam Central and the boat is free ,they run every 15 mins throughout the day. The Hotel was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    7.5
    nice basic room with breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was really small but it had everything. toilet and shower.

    location was nice. 1 min walk from the ferry that brings you right to central station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    6.3
    fun, quirky
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room smelt odd. There was a strange sour milk/feet smell which was clearly covered up with febreeze or something. Missed fruit at breakfast

    novelty aspect of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, comfortable and good for its money value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist had a little weird look at us and was not so pleasant. And I requested a room with a good view from window long back when I booked and paid in advance. Unfortunately she didn't address to it. I got the room on first floor and not the back side of boat. And there was a smell we experienced from washroom whenever we arrived from outside.

    Good location, comfortable and good for its money value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    9.2
    Will go back to Botel again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The reception staffs who I contacted to were friendly and helpful,especially the girl from Spain ( I forgot her name )and a cleaner from Spain as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    4.6
    Nice view only for rooms not located in 1st floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No secured parking, breakfast is NOT good at all vs its price, servants are impolite and not trained

    Nice view only for rooms not located in 1st floor. Heating and hot water are available all the time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    3.8
    Third time I stayed here, man ruined it for us so wouldn’t come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The man who greeted us in the 15th and out us in two single beds for my partners birthday and said with out and email he couldn’t change our room. Breakfast is poor didn’t go on the second day

    The lady on the desk the morning of the 16th

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    8.8
    Overall stay was good staff were friendly. Room was clean location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food could of been better. Breakfast was ok. But could serve an evening meal as theres not much around the botel.

    The boat was amazing. Amazing view and in a relaxing quiet area. Only a ferrys ride from the centre of amstersam which is free to catch which was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    8.8
    It was an interesting experience overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bunk bed is something difficult to climb. The room was difficult to ventilate although we opened the small window. The bathroom was extremely small.

    Good value for money, considering the sky-high prices at the city centre. Besides, staying on a boat hotel was particularly interesting. We had no problem of reaching the hotel, and transportation is for free, and you have a nice boat trip. If you are not tight on time, everything is pleasant. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.6
    Very close to the ferry that goes directly to the centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, the rooms got a bit humid/hot at night but even then you can get a fan from the reception

    Very close to the ferry that goes directly to the centre every 30 minutes (free of charge). Along with the location, the novelty of staying in a boat definitely has its charm. The staff were lovely and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fridge. Our room is underneath the bar and it's noisy until midnight so better choose the room on upper floors (and also for nicer view!)

    Nice harbour view from window. Good price for its convenient location. Took bit time to look for the free ferry service connected from Central station found out it docking at the left hand side called NSDM. Clean room and comfy bed. TV with lots of channels (even porn!). Lift available. Breakfast is good but the bacon is like rock.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It used to be next to Central Station but has now been moved to the West Dock. There is a free ferry every half hour but we where charged €35 for a taxi! Its now in a very poor location. Room was very basic. Shower and toilet very small. No kettle or tea making facilities. €2.50 for a can of coke, rip off! Breakfast totally crap. For €85 per night its a disgrace Never again!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    7.5
    Great location, good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The size of the bathroom. Too small, however understandable due to the hotel being built into a ship. Also maybe would be helpful to have power outlets close to the beds near the head board/shelves

    Location was awesome, staff was kind and helpful. Beds were comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    10
    Staying at the Botel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great views of the water from the bedroom, really relaxing to hear the water and boats in the distance as well. Very comfortable bed. Good to be able to open window during warm weather, and get a cool breeze. Staff were very efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    9.6
    All good except the payment issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con and “booking.com” made a mistake and cost me a penalty charge due to the Botel taking my money early

    Great people, great hotel, great location. The rooms need air in for summer but other than that,a fantastic stay with fantastic staff! Thank you Botel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    8.3
    Really quirky and cheapest night we could find in Amsterdam...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was basic but the price reflected that. Woman on reception was a bit abrupt despite my unfailing English politeness.

    Really quirky and cheapest night we could find in Amsterdam by a long way. Breakfast was included which was another money saver.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed as really looked forward to my family stay at the Botel out of all the hotels we booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were on lower deck and twin room facing concrete wall. Rooms very hot and window has to be left open as no fans. Twin Room is very very tiny. Very noisy as deliveries arrived early hours of the morning and very noisy all night with guests shouting and walking on metal walk towards boat.

    Was asked if I’d like top deck during booking which I requested also if rooms could be close together. Yes rooms were placed close together and yes communication about getting to property was clear. Allowed early check in by an hour as one of rooms available. Triple although on lower deck again at least faced water.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay for 4 at the Botel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a bit of an issue with a staff member on the 2nd day. Our party was accused of smoking when indeed they had not. Everything else was amazing. Food was great and welcome desk staff were very helpful.

    The views were spectacular. The boat is an amazing stay for value for money. Rooms are a little outdated. Perhaps a mini fridge to cool drinks and a kettle would of made they stay better.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    8.8
    Two very happy customers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No fan or ventilation system in the room.

    Helpful and always cheerful staff, especially the two lovely ladies Gara and Genesis. Wonderful service and a fantastic location with the best cheese burgers right next door at the Polux. Thanks botel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    9.2
    Really central but apart - so it was peaceful but quick free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Really central but apart - so it was peaceful but quick free ferry ride to central station. Great staff - very helpful - every one of them had a smile and seemed happy to work there. Good value for money - also a slightly funky place to stay. The food on the Pollux restaurant boat opposite was good and very well priced - lovely staff who really put themselves out to accommodate us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    10
    Well connected, clean, and an interesting place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was somewhat boring, not much choice.

    We liked that it was different - staying on a boat in a city of canals like Amsterdam is something to tell your friends about. Besides, it was very well connected to the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    4.2
    Bad choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is too small, bathroom is very tiny. There is no air-conditioning, so it’s boiling in the summer. Even though I left the window open all the time, it’s still hot and no fresh air in the room. Bad quality for the amount of money I paid. Never come back again!

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant! Will definitely return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A kettle in the room would have been handy.

    Had a lovely stay, quite an unique hotel, really enjoyed the ferry crossing over. Staff very helpful, amazing views over the harbour, fantastic food at the sister boat opposite, very comfortable bed. And finishing off the evening sitting on the deck was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    6.3
    free ferry from the Central station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was asking three of the receptionists for a late check out on next day. All of them said no problem, In the morning already half an hour before the normal check out, the cleaning lady ran over me without knocking, me laying naked in my bed. Well, that was not very nice.

    free ferry from the Central station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    8.8
    simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no market or convenience store. you should buy some water before you go

    simple. no more no less. + good place to stay. the night on the deck was really great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    8.8
    Quirky cheap stay in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom smelt like sewage. Bathroom very small, if your bigger than average then it will be a struggle to shower. Paper thin walls, could hear every step and movement.

    Affordable. River view. Friendly reception team. On a river. Close to centraal station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    8.8
    The location is nicely located the other side of the river,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only real grumble I had with my twin room was the fact that there was no air-conditioning in there, so after these long, hot summer days, the room was like a sauna. Other than that my friend and I had a wonderful stay and would definitely go again.

    The location is nicely located the other side of the river, so you don't have thousands of people outside shouting and screaming at stupid o'clock. And with the free ferry service that runs from just round the corner, it makes for the perfect place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.5
    Who wouldn't want to sleep on a boat?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air con would have been nice as it was a bit warm and opening the window was pretty noisy

    The staff were great and really helpful, the location is great and right by the ferry. It's somewhere different and they will even look after your luggage if you arrive early, leave late

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.1
    This is a great location, right next to the ferry doc with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were hard as rocks and the bathrooms are micro sized. No air con so with just the one window it’s hard to get a breeze and the room got quite warm, even when it was nice outside.

    This is a great location, right next to the ferry doc with regular free service to Central Station which is a perfect jumping off place to get anywhere in the city. Nice views and a few local restaurants are just steps away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.0
    30 minute interval btw ferry to Centraal Amersterdam to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning in a small room so if the window was open it was noisy. The room smells like a marine toilet - sour seawater. Worst noise from neighbour's sqeaking gangway. Cyclists (in large volume) believing that they had priority over pedestrians.

    30 minute interval btw ferry to Centraal Amersterdam to access trams, rail and buses. Interesting ambience on the north side of the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a perfect peaceful location with a splendid view of the canal. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect. Nice quiet area. Nice view over the canal. Nice clean rooms and hotel in general. Great with free ferry to central station in 12 minutes. Good restaurant on the ship Pollux just opposite the hotel. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got in late(midnight) and was the worst check-in experience we ever had. We informed them that we would be late. When we arrived, the staff was having a shouting match with another customer over a room selection. Then when we tried to pay for our room, the staff did not know how to operate the credit card machine. We had to walk half mile out to get cash and pay before the staff would give us the room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Very good location, about 10min by free boat from Amsterdam...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • BB Offer Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good location, about 10min by free boat from Amsterdam Central, ensuit rooms, good breakfast included, amazing and very friendly staff, place is very clean! Would be staying there again when in Amsterdam!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Unique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We like the fact that it is unique. The rooms were quite big and I love that they let us leave our luggage even after checking out. The breakfast was very good too. The internet connection was also perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing, a ferry away from the centre, great nights sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was very powerful, small and couldn’t move. The steam from the shower also set our fire alarm off which led to a member of staff entering our room after knocking once! The shower also likes to get extremely hot and my partner got burnt.

    Relaxing, a ferry away from the centre, great nights sleep!! Nice bar area, didn’t eat the breakfast.. perfect if your there to just sleep and out all day and evening! Would definitely go back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and quirky property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location- was a little worried about the fact it’s across the river initially but I was really impressed. The NDSM ferry is free and runs most of the night. This was really regular and the port right there. At night (runs 24hrs) there was an alternative ferry where the hotel can either collect you using a free shuttle or it was a €10 taxi. The breakfast was good too and the room spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect Hotel-Boat experience for a cheap price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to stay in a boat in Amsterdam ...Botel is the place to be.Its located at the ferry which brings you just to the heart of Amsterdam.Gara from the reception was very professional and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.1
    Quirky but cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Botel is a little dated but tidy. The rooms are very basic and quite compact. The bathroom in our room was especially compact so if you are a little larger than average you might not want to stay here. On the plus side, having the sink overhanging the toilet bowl did mean that you had a handy arm rest if feeling tired. There are no evening meals on-board (unless you include toasties) but the bar was fine, there is another boat on the same pier, I believe owned by the same people, which does offer evening meals and drinks. Breakfast was ok but was fairly limited with; one type of cereal, sausages, bacon, boiled eggs and bowls of yoghurt. There was also only one coffee / hot water machine which can get very busy.

    The Botel is a quirky place to stay near the heart of Amsterdam. There is a free network of ferries operating on the IJ waterway from Amsterdam Central Station, take the N.D.S.M. one to get to your accommodation. Given it's close proximity to the city centre the prices for the Botel are very competitive but this does come 'at a price'. All of the staff were very friendly and prices in the bar were reasonable. The view from the 5th floor (roof) are very nice as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.2
    Quirky, Affordable and lots of fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is pretty basic and the bathroom is tiny...just like a Brittany Ferries crossing.... BUT - don't let this put you off its a great little place.

    Very quirky place and the boat ride across is wonderful....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.0
    Worst hotel I've ever been to I do not recommend this place for families .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I ordered a room with two single beds for myself and my daughter and even on my bookings I booked one adult and a child but it turned out to be a double room, so we went to the reception in order to change the error however he said the rooms were all fully booked. So we tried to put up with the room for a night. So the next day I asked the receptionist if there were any twin rooms and he said there was and even gave us the room number. Then when I told him I was the same person from yesterday who wanted to change the mistaken room he decided to lie to us about the rooms being fully booked again and I quote him saying " that is your problem". I paid money to stay here and I know that I definitely ordered a twin room it even said it on the paper which I gave to him but he kept lying to us and blaming us for nothing!!!

    The place overall was great but the only thing was that receptionist. I felt like he just wanted to make us feel bad. There was no point to what he was doing. The view however was really nice .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.8
    I would totally recommend Botel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's cheap parking right next to Botel however apparently it happens a lot that people break car windows to steal anything that might be left in the car.

    Going into the city with the ferry is super easy and quick. With a shuttle it's possible to get back anytime during the night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Great location with excellent transport links to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast ok but could do with some fruit

    Staff very helpful even went & purchased more fans for guests due to hot weather. Prices on bar reasonable compared to centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.1
    Cool location, small bathroom, very firm bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds were small and extra firm. Although they did add another mattress to help this at our request. The bathroom and shower was tiny. The window does not open for fresh air (Okay, I should have anticipated this, it is a boat.) Limited breakfast options.

    The dining room was large.The location and quirkiness of staying on a boat was cool.The decor was boat themed in the room. Very close to main train station and the ferry there is free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.5
    It is special experience that we stay in a ship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little far away from city center and every time we need to go outside by boat although it is free of charge.

    It is special experience that we stay in a ship. The staff is very friendly and we can borrow bikes from the hotel £17 for the whole day. The room is little small.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.5
    Good location for price, the ferry was super easy and free!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location for price, the ferry was super easy and free! Brought you right to the train station and you're in walking distance to Amsterdam central! Overall everything was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being 24 years worldwide sailing seaman, I assess negatively extremely small bathroom. Also there is no ventilation there. Ventilation (air flow) in the cabin is insufficient, instead of working desk there could be small table and 2 pcs of more comfortable chairs for both guests (there i onlz one wooden chair). In general, Served breakfast is of verz limited assortment and quite poor qualitz, including "plastic coffee". Summarizing - I would expect a bit more for EUR 125,00 per night, even in Amsterdam....

    Sleeping on board ex-passenger river ship can be attractive adventure for the kids but no longer than one night. Very nice and competent reception staff, especially two ladies serving us on 20th of June at noon (when we arrived) and in the evening (Polish one)

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Botel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: