Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of West Side Inn Amsterdam This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Voorburgstraat 250, Slotervaart, 1059 VD Amsterdam, Netherlands

#398 of 448 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 7578 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    6.2

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.1
    Fair option for a quick sleep for group of 3 at Ams centraal area
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is in renovation area of hotel. Quite old and too basic amenities of a hotel room.

    Nice staff 7min walking to tram station to Ams Centraal station

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    Very nice hotel with a good price with a bit of a distance to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When booking, please consider that there's a highway next to the hotel. So when you open the window, you will hear some street noise - but no big issue at all. The location is a bit difficult. It takes about 5-10min walking until you reach the tram and it takes another 20-30min to reach the central station in Amsterdam. So the Hotel is a bit outside.

    To be honest - based on the ratings I was a bit afraid of that hotel - but to mention that first - there was no reason to have any headache! From outside, the Hotel looks like a construction site - but from inside it's clean and during our stay (Thursday to Sunday) we haven't had any issues with noise although we always slept a bit longer (until 9/10am). The stuff at the reception was extremely friendly and helpful and the double rooms are all renovated now - so they are nice, clean and new - we both slept very well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    7.5
    nice staff good clean rooms good facility's not too far outside the city center 30 mins on tram no 2
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had building commencing and around 7 am drilling next to our head started which wasn't ideal

    the 10 euro breakfast was exceptionally worth money the bar was lovely and had a good pool table

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel lobby was really nice and modern and they were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel lobby was really nice and modern and they were able to look after our luggage for us whilst we waited for check-in. We found the location was really far out of the city and took a while to get to on the tram, I would say if you don't want to travel too far or only visiting for a short amount of time to look for somewhere more central. The hotel itself though was really clean and tidy. Very good price for the hotel... just wish it was a bit closer! :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was good, stuff nice and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With 45, - € for an overnight stay in Amsterdam you should normally not complain. Still, the location of the room on the 5th floor with view to the motorway was borderline, sleeping on the highway would have almost been the same...

    Breakfast was good, stuff nice and friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.2
    Very Good Experience. Definitely recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check-in time should be 9 AM and not 3 pm. It is very inconvenient for people who just arrive at Amsterdam to have to wait till 3 pm to check in.

    The ambiance and cleanliness of the property were very good. Great value for money. Good location with convenient walking distance metro 2 to all important tourist attractions.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very helpful althuogh we went during a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very helpful althuogh we went during a refurbishment the ambient was still very good and clean very satisfied will surely consider it again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel under renovation. Would like to return when the new facilities are complete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a generous size. The shower was fantastic. We were grateful for the elevator. it was located close to tram stop. Staff were helpful. There is a supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely cozy room for a weekend break to incredible Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aircons in the room would be great for the warmer evenings. Shower leaked onto the bathroom floor in our room which made the floor slippery.

    Comfortable, vibey atmosphere at the hotel and it was close enough to the Westerlandgracht tram stop to make it nice and convenient to get into the city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    2.5
    Nightmare.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi. Heaters don't work Construction at 7am. Don't ever stay there.

    No WiFi. Heaters don't work Construction at 7am. Don't ever stay there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.6
    The location is great with 2 supermarkets ( 1 a LIDL) right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was going through renovation and plaster was bare with work going on. there was smell of paint etc. outside the room as well in the corridors. Plaster fell off the wall just missing my foot.

    The location is great with 2 supermarkets ( 1 a LIDL) right near the hotel. Very classy Lobby and reception area. Staff is super friendly. They have a bar/restaurant on the ground floor with good coffe and snacks vending machines. Food delivery information was provided with an excellent choice of restaurants

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    6.7
    Price is good ,breakfast could be a little better ,staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For what i paid it was to be expected,the hotel is fine for 3 days,any longer id be going out my mind,hotel is being done up so you can see the potential. I was given fresh towels every day but the shower floods the bathroom. I was also biten to pieces during my stay so don't leave your windows open.

    Price is good ,breakfast could be a little better ,staff friendly enough. And although out of central Amsterdam it is 16 stops by tram so took about 30mins which isnt so bad.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    4.2
    Glad to get home - avoid at all costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was just not very nice, more of a hostel. The hotel was a building site with lots of work going on, starting very early in the morning. The shower did not drain, hence our bathroom was flooded. Complained to reception on the Friday morning. Arrived back late Friday night and they had done nothing about it. The night staff were more helpful, but unfortunately there were no other rooms available at the time. I had to ask for 20 odd towels to mop up the 3 inch water covering the bathroom, which I unfortunately had to clean up myself. They did give us a free breakfast the following morning, but was too little too late. They eventually got someone round to fix the drainage issue on the Saturday morning, but not sure why no action had been taken on the Friday. No explanation provided.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construction outside the hotel. They start in the morning. It wasn’t any issue for us, since we wanted to wake up early to enjoy the day.

    - Breakfast was good - Very friendly and helpful staff - Room was clean and beds comfortable - Supermarket was very close - Public transport near by. Around 5min walk to the number 2 tram.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just the price of the breakfast, if you like a big breakfast then fine but if like my partner you don't, then it works out quite expensive.

    The hotel was in a good location (tram & metro 5 minute walk away), two supermarkets nearby which was very handy and the rooms were very clean. The breakfast was good but a little expensive. If I am back in Amsterdam I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    3.3
    For a starters you walk in the gate the building looks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a starters you walk in the gate the building looks horrible weeds growing everywhere outside, building site in the car park, icing on the cake was the fact that once we got into the room, we found our window had been boarded up with plaster board, 2 outta the 3 nights the cook was off ill n there answer was order in, the sockets in the room didnt work apart from One which was used for the hotel Phone, would not recommend staying unless its only option

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.5
    I could see that they are building a new hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in the old part of the hotel Maybe is good to have a bigger area where to play

    I could see that they are building a new hotel. Moderm Nice breakfast and very close to airport Nice staff They helped me with everything that I was asking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.9
    Last best option
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit expensive as the facilities that they said, they couldn't provide. We complained about the heizung, but no one turned out to fix it, and we had a chilly night to sleep out.

    The location of the hotel is good, and well within reach, and the overall experience was decent, but only thing I felt was that, it was a bit overpriced.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    2.5
    Rude staff and awful rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was really rude. My colleague got woken up at 10 to 7 in the morning by one of the receptionists. Reason for the early wake up call was that he had to move this van. We were not informed the night before that we couldn't park at this specific place. There were no signs saying that we couldn't park there. My colleague arrived for a late check in as well, so this ended up with him only getting 4.5 hours of sleep. The toilet was duck taped (!!) together, the shower head was stuck and you couldn't move it into the right direction. The hot and cold water constantly turned on and off. There was a loud humming sound whenever you used the sink. I'm aware that it stated on booking.com that the hotel was under construction, but this specific room shouldn't have been rented out! There was also loud noise from the building site from 7AM in the morning. Again, shouldn't have rented out this side of the building. When we tried to get compensation for the room cost, the receptionist argument was that we should've checked out the room to then say that we wanted a better one. But WHO checks out the room at 1AM before getting into bed to make sure its ok? He was very rude to us when we tried to explain our side of the situation, and refused to give us any compensation. Please don't stay at this hotel!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    7.5
    Das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis ist i.o.. Wood stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WiFi worked not really good in the room young hotelguests sitting in the area before the hotel and smoking canabis

    the situation of the hotel, nearby Amsterdamer citytrain and the supermarkets Lidl and Albert Hein especially the little coolbox in the room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We woke up at 7 AM with ongoing pounding and drilling noises that went on throughout the entire day, and suddenly there was no water, neither in the faucet or in the shower - there was no water for at least 3 hours.

    The room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant and valuable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No water boiler, or possibility to borrow one in the reception.

    Great beds and finally a hotel with a great pillow size that isn't too small or too large.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.9
    Got put in a room where all I heard from 7am until checkout...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Got put in a room where all I heard from 7am until checkout was banging, drilling, loud music, etc... coming from literally the next room over. I was aware the hotel was doing renovations to the outside, but didn’t expect to have so much noise that none of us were able to sleep. Despite the rude awakening, the room itself was spacious compared to most I was finding in the same price range. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom showed signs of mold, so that was a downside. Overall, the stay was okay, but I felt like the room we were put in shouldn’t have been used.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    6.7
    cleanliness of the rooms, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    there was a noisy coming from the people who were sitting at the terrace even if it was 3-4 am so you cannot sleep properly also the location, far away from the central city , maybe like a 35 minutes with tram and during the night (from 00:00-06:00) there was only one night bus per hour going to the nearest station

    cleanliness of the rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    2.5
    Nothing Great. Rude Hosuekeeping staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping Staff barging into the room and asking you to get out before the check out time. Staff leaving the master key in your room. Poor safety.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.5
    After reading reviews of this hotel i was actually quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After reading reviews of this hotel i was actually quite scared to visit to be honest. But literally nothing to fault at all staff were lovely and helpful room was clean and made up each day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    3.8
    Unfortunately wouldn't stay again due to location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location as I didn't feel safe and felt I had to be at the hotel before dark as I the surroundings from the tram to hotel felt unsafe. Our first room the door had been broken into and staff were at first reluctant to move us but eventually did. bathrooms weren't the cleanest. Didn't like the set up off the bar just felt you were sitting in a reception. Location was too far from the main attractions.

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    3.8
    I was offered a room with NO WINDOWS and dirty.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was offered a room with NO WINDOWS and dirty. Havig complained, I was moved to the room just with no windows!! There were no other rooms available. The rooms are old and dirty. Terrible experience. In the morning I asked about the taxi - they arranged a driver that charged me double the regular price. No more.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    8.8
    Decent and enjoyable quick stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If you like a nice, clean hotel with friendly staff and like staying close to the locals so you don't feel like a complete tourist, West side inn is the hotel for you! Under 3 miles to city centre so a local 24hr, 2 or 3day travel card (bus, tram and metro all covered) is the best affordable way to get in and out. Highly recommended...

    If you like a nice, clean hotel with friendly staff and like staying close to the locals so you don't feel like a complete tourist, West side inn is the hotel for you! Under 3 miles to city centre so a local 24hr, 2 or 3day travel card (bus, tram and metro all covered) is the best affordable way to get in and out. Highly recommended...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    5.8
    Rather average. Shame it was being renovated during my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property being renovated. I wasn't aware when I booked it. Corridors and elevators bare of carpets etc. I was hoping for a double bed but got a room with 4 singles. The builders started work (banging nails) much too early, at 0700L, disturbing my rest.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    5.8
    Strong smell of canabis in the hotel and very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel under construction. Builders starts early and are very very noisy. The corridor to our room under contruction no label. Next to the room was a massive contruction storage for beds, bricks and other materials. Our corridor and hotel lobby smells of canabis all the time.

    Spacious room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could of done with a kettle in the room for coffee in the mornings and it did get a little to hot but atleast there was a fan, they are the only faults

    Loved our stay, exceeded our expectations in all areas, lovely staff and a great place to stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    8.0
    They was having work done on the building and put us we’re...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They was having work done on the building and put us we’re the work was done woken up 7 am to work men banging on windows . But the manager did give us another room .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    4.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is only half finished! Stains on the sheets. The hotel is actually a building site that was not pleasing to walk through (there are wires and dust sheets in the lobby) (we had to walk through plasterboard temporary doors to get into our room) Wouldn’t stop here again at least until the building works finished. That won’t be for a while there’s a lot! See pictures (wish I had taken more)

    Great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic stay, would go there again if we visited Amsterdam.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a random hole in our bedroom. But for a group a group of lads we didn't really care. I could see how somebdoy else would though. The only thing we didn't really like was the food served at the hotel.

    Staff were fantastic and helpful. Pool table and bar downstairs were a nice touch. You can even borrow an umbrella at the front desk if you need one or rent a bike. It's in close a 15 minute walk to the train station (Leyliland I think) which will take you to the city and back for about €5, which is a lot cheaper than those overpriced robbing taxis. It is also close to Albert and Lidl stores for any extra food or snacks you might need

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.1
    Decent hotel little far from city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wanted to change one of the double bed rooms booked to triple bed as we had an extra person at the last moment, I called up the hotel multiple times. No one picked up. While checking in I requested again but to no avail. I had to book an extra room. Booking.com also does not allow to add people to a booked room. Locality was also 30 mins from city centre. My room didnt have phone...no packaged water..requested for common microwave to heat some food..was denied.

    Neat and clean. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    8.8
    Mostly positive due to helpful staff and standard of room 169
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The building work was annoying in the morning. There were definitley mice behind the wall beside my bed. This didnt help my sleep patterns.

    Room was large and clean mostly. Staff were very helpful.Location was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay clean rooms a little out of the main dam square but this is reflected in the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view from the room and building work going on (which I know can’t help) but did disturb the sleep a little on the Monday

    Quick friendly checkin Staff really helpful showing our group where to get the trans! Also ordered us a taxi for the airport coming home

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant rooms,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact the construction was waking us up at half 7 every morning was not nice, also one morning there was banging on our window and One morning I discovered that some piece of adhesive cladder had been stuck on to our window, the builders seemed very lackadaisical

    Brilliant rooms,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    4.2
    - Doesn't have a mini fridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Doesn't have a mini fridge. For 115€/night it should. - The bathroom needs a shower cabin,it's not nice the way it is directly on the floor/tiles.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    5.8
    Work in progress
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The outside was a construction site . If it wasn't for the construction work stopping work over the weekend, the noise would have been unbearable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    8.8
    The desk staff was very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was TOO SOFT and was not a good platform for sleeping. The location of the hotel I did not like since it was too far from Central Station and too far from the RAI Convention Center. It was almost 8 km to the RAI. Yes, it was 15 minutes by tram to Central Station but it was a 10-minute walk to the tramstop plus the waiting so roundtrip was almost an hour in travel. I'd stay closer to the center even if it were an inferior hotel to the WESTSIDE INN.

    The desk staff was very helpful. The room was very clean, the linen and towels had a FRESH smell as did the room. The toilet was VERY CLEAN (important for Americans). The cleaning staff actually did CLEAN my room properly!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    3.8
    The most horrible experience in my life
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst hospitality ever I had. I made a complaiment about room (which was super dirty) and they say they will let me move the other room next day. However the next morning, the other reception said "No room available for the request", without even checking the available room status.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    Easy access & comfortable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was super comfortable, I loved it. I could rest properly after a long flight. Neighborhood is really calm and has supermarket nearby; the tram stop is also walk distance and is very easy to get to city center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    8.3
    My second time here and it was brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff didn’t really show great service, especially the housekeeping they would just knock and enter into your room? This is not normal. Night staff and day staff should also be organised too as I paid for my room to be checked out late and the clear up team came and told us to wake up. I was extremely angry as I only had a few hours sleep and they should not be walking in just like that and turning the lights on telling us to get out.

    The property has changed a lot and has become a lot cleaner. There is still ongoing works but it looks really nice, a lot better than before.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit away from the city centre and around 10 mins walk away from the nearest tram stop. Unless you are using the bus which is about 3 mins away. We used the tram more often as there is less switches.

    The place was under renovations while we are there, the interior was new and the place was kept very clean. The amenities provided were all in good working order.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    3.8
    Hotel is in reconstrucion, our room was in the worst part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is in reconstrucion, our room was in the worst part of the hotel. And that bathroom with fungus on the wall, it was like in the poorest place in the world. Bathroom hygiene was horrible. Some tourist had to change their towels. The noise during the night at 2.30 was horrible, we couldnt have opened window because workers started on reconstrucion.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    4.2
    There are better hotels at the same prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was so dirty! When we first entered the room it was smelling weed and humidity, all that because there was nothing that could get fresh air at the room, no window no nothing! There was no fridge at the room also.

    Reception and the waiting area around it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    8.3
    Clean, quiet, attractive facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower temperatures fluctuated greatly between hot and cold. Construction on roof started too early, made a lot of noise

    Clean, quiet, attractive facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    7.5
    Area is delapidated and run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We would never have found the hotel without a taxi! The hotel is being renovated which is a bit of a mess.

    Supermarket close by, but area a bit dicey. Trams very accessible once located.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.1
    It's a 3 star hotel, a fair way from the centre but it worked with our budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee available apart from a machine in the lobby unless you were having breakfast. There was a coffee machine behind the bar but I couldn't buy one apparently. I would have settled for an instant coffee in my room and do think it is hardly a big deal to have tea and coffee options freely available, even if it's an urn on a table with sachets and milk. This may seem like a small thing but it really irked.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Clean towels every day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    4.2
    Unprofessional staff, careless attitude. Good hotel if you get it for cheap.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The care I received from staff was so poor, and I'm not picky at all, actually it's my first time writing a negative review. But customer service was beyond bad. Basically I had to go to the reception for normal inquiries during the day, as I didn't have a phone in the room, and every time I would approach I had the feeling these people don't like their job. I mean, I asked little things like an adapter or change, but every enquiry seemed to bother them. The overall attitude is careless, the attentions to details equals zero, room was clean at least though.

    Only good thing is the location, quite close to centre and airport, and the barman, very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.2
    Great because.......
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construction Work going on outside so it was a bit dusty and unkempt. Twenty minutes taxi ride to center would have been serious negative if I was staying for days. But with a international conference going on I guess I got lucky.

    Room and interior of hotel looked to be freshly renovated and parking lot was gated so I had peace of mind.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    5.4
    Apart from being a very 'basic' hotel - the room I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in September 2018 and the property is under heavy renovation - though they restrict the works to during the day (so don't expect to arrive in the afternoon and catch up on sleep if you came from the airport), the interior of the hotel in the shared areas is often under construction. I'm sure once it's finished it will not have this issue. Some of the photos of the property are prior to the renovation - some of them seem to show how it 'will be' once completed.

    Apart from being a very 'basic' hotel - the room I stayed in was clean and tidy with contemporary furniture. The bed was very comfortable. It seemed the hotel was frequented by back-packers when I stayed, and there was a general 'youth' feeling to the surroundings and services (lots of vending machines in the reception area). I only stayed one night so I didn't explore the services.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    3.8
    bed bugs destroyed our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a bed bugs on my wife bed, which was horrable. then my wife get some alergic because of it, but they did not directly give us new room, we have to wait like 5 hours. At the night, we finally got the new room, which was very dirty and not so comfortable, as the personal said it was the only room left they had for us. We found dust everywhere and broken Air Conditioner. The hotel was still on renovation, but they already rent it. so alot of noises and the worst of all is the bed bugs.

    The hotel is still new, but unfortunately it still in renovation and the personals are okay..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was a bit far from the city centre, but <30 mins on the tram and located close to the tram lines.

    Very comfortable room with en-suite. One of the better prices you'll find in Amsterdam, with shuttle service from the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    6.3
    Medium
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The last day one person on the reception was very rood in communication with people, I would like to extend my booking one more day, but his answer was we are fully booked without checking the system at least, within 2 min I sign in my account on booking.com and I found availability of rooms in the same hotel, I did not book back, I choose other hotel, the opposite of other Gentelman his name Jos on the reception he was very intelligent communicating with clients and extremely helping guests he is a very good person,Thanks

    The hotel was newly renovated it is good, but far from the centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    5.8
    Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is being re-built. After 8AM it was impossible to sleep because of drilling etc. Not possible to open windows, poor air-con resulting high humidity in room Torn towels

    Price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.8
    Amsterdam is a beautiful city and the hotel is very easy to reach from the city! See you soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kettle in room, no complementary items.

    The bed was very big and extremely comfortable for a double bed. Room and shower room was fairly big and nice and clean!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.6
    One of the best hotel I visited it was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bedbugs

    The rooms were awesome and very comfortable to stay in. The location is quite good and very easy to get to the central but however to get to the airport was a little confusing and had to pay another ticket.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    4.2
    BED BUGS!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed bugs! My friend and I were bitten everywhere! Will not be staying there again and neither would I recommend it! Its absolutely disgraceful!

    It looked cleaner than it actually was

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasantly surprised!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel had no air conditioning in the room so it was a bit warm when we first arrived but we left the window open all day and used the fan provided when we were there so it was fine. Minor disturbance in the morning from building works but again, this did not affect us greatly.

    The double bed myself and my partner stayed in was very comfortable. Tram stop is minutes from the hotel and will take you directly to city centre in 15-20 minutes. Our room was clean and spacious. We had very little disturbance from the building works going on despite other reviews. Staff were friendly. I would recommend this hotel for people on a budget who don’t mind a small commute to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was amazing really accommodating, very spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I paid for the hotel using my debit card paying the full amount on my card. I didn't use my card at all while in Amsterdam other than for the hotel. However when coming home I needed to pay for my rail fairs home. To my surprise finding that the hotel had try to take an additional £170 which I hadn't agreed to as I'm a student and have to wait to pay day for ends to meet that was the last of my money meaning I couldn't pay for my rail fairs home so had to beg strangers to lend me enough money to get me home

    The hotel was amazing really accommodating, very spacious and a nice location. It's not really central that it's always really busy but it's far enough away to commute in easily by tram or walk

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    7.1
    Would use again hopefully when building work completed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the area the hotel was in

    The hotel was clean Rooms good the staff friendly except one (barstaff) Beds were very comfy Location was a bit far out but easy acess by tram. Value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    9.6
    Definitely recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no air conditioning in our room but a fan was provided. It was raining 3 out of the 4 days we were there though so AC was only really needed for one night.

    Large bed and was very comfy. Good size of ensuite. A fridge was provided also which was convenient

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    5.0
    The bar lady looked like Margot Robbie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I totally understand that this hotel is under construction so the price I can accept. What I struggled to except was being woken up at 8am with a drill coming through the wall. Why allocate a room that’s going to have drills coming through it ALL morning

    The bar lady looked like Margot Robbie.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, a little far out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The directions to the property weren’t very clear. The quickest way to get there is train from the Airport straight into Amsterdam Central and then change ( go outside the station ) and get the number 2 tram to Westlandgracht then it’s a 5 minute walk down the canal to the hotel.

    Property was clean, rooms were lovely ( recently refurbished ) staff were lovely and really helpful with any requests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    7.1
    Nice place, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was renovations going on and we were put to stay in the older side of the building where every morning we were woke up by the builders

    Staff were friendly and always helped with whatever we needed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    3.3
    A sad way to end the European trip of a lifetime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was under MAJOR construction and the hotel did not disclose this to booking.com or to us as the customer at anytime before our stay. The construction outside of our room began at 06:30am each morning of our stay. The front desk did not disclose this information to us at check in so we awoke to loud noises on our first morning in Amsterdam and each morning of our stay after that. They put us in the old, not yet remodeled, section of the hotel, in a room with no air conditioning. There was mold in the tile walls in the bathroom. The lamps did not work because of broken bulbs which were not fixed during our 4 day stay. Breakfast was not included and the cost was twelve euros. We did not partake of this offer. The hotel transportation to the airport did not except credit cards, so be prepared with euros if you need a ride.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay. Quick tram ride to the Centre. Bikes available on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping came in right after we left. One of our guests were passed out so informed us later. They then came back after 20 minutes although they were told it wasn’t needed. Just seemed a little odd.

    Employees were all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    5.4
    Only the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The washroom was the weirdest of all. A person using the shower could be seen from the room. The shower temperature control was not working, ended up burning myself with hot water. The rooms and facility stink of Marujana. (Cant help, this is Amsterdam)

    Only the staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful interior design, two shops nearby (2 minutes from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was renovated during our stay and there was a lot of dust around the place.

    Beautiful interior design, two shops nearby (2 minutes from the hotel), train and tram stops nearby, friendly surrounding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a building site, more than I expected from the pre booking warning. Far from disruption being kept to a minimum , the workers were noisy from about 06.30. Guests had to walk through part of the construction site to reach their parked cars, with pallets being manouvered by crane a few feet away. Plenty of food for breakfast, but no decaf coffee. Shan't be staying again.

    Amsterdam and it's very efficient transport system. Not a lot about the hotel, except the staff who were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was good but resources could have been better placed by the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Washroom wasn't clean, room was situated in an under construction area hence a lot of noise was there due to machines etc. Hotel should avoid giving the room to guests if it is in the under construction zone.

    Room was clean and with sufficient bedding and blankets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    8.8
    great stay and also held our bags till the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hard to find.that is about it.

    great service will be great when buiding work is finished but this did not interfere with our stay.The staff were really helpful and the beds were lovely also there is a little shopping centre just round the corner

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse West Side Inn Amsterdam Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: