Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stayokay Apeldoorn

Asselsestraat 330, 7312 TS Apeldoorn, Netherlands

#12 of 15 hotels in Apeldoorn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 198 hostel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over 100 euro to sleep in a closet. Did not sleep the whole night due to drunk people in the hallway banging on all the doors troughout the whole night and trying to break in our room. Worst night of my life, whole family did not sleep at all. Breakfast room table setting way too close to each other.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but I would’ve liked it if the shower had been a bit stronger...

    Wonderful (self service) breakfast. Fresh rolls, eggs and fruit (and anything else that you might like for breakfast). Free wifi and Christmas music ;)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The web data for this hostel gave us the impression that it was similar to other hostels, for instance, Danhostels in Denmark. So we arrived prepared to cook our own evening meal, only to find that there were no facilities for this. So nothing wrong with the hostel itself, just that the web data perhaps needs to somehow make this point clear.

    Very friendly and helpful staff - we arrived late, after the deadline for serving the evening meal. No problem, the man on duty cheerfully found something and served us a hearty meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room Pluto 5 had a foul smell around the bathroom area. The room window wouldn't open and so was quite stuffy when I got there. Had to use a sticky tape to keep the window open or else 3 people in that room would have be suffocating.

    This is a quiet location, easily accessible by public transport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the dormitory room (for 6) there was only one socket in the whole room to charge the phone etc. No closets with locks in the rooms to put your backpack in.

    The staff was really friendly and helpful! The Breakfast was a very pleasant surprise: containing bread, meat, cheese, eggs, joghurt, mysli, vegetables and fruits. Thumbs up!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was great.

    Liked everything and really close to the Monkey park. Big thank you to the staff who helped me print my online aeroplane booking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    coming there quite late, there wasn't anything we could order from the bar/restaurant

    very nice location in the middle of the forest. quiet and calm. very relaxing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceilings a bit low for taller top -bunkers & no lockable storage

    on site cycle hire - quiet woodland location - helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, clean, budget option for a stopover. Very friendly staff, excellent bar with local beer, beautiful lush green location within the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost nothing that i didnt like. Would have liked to stay more.

    Very polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptioner had an awfull attitude. Bleah! He was very unfriendly with our group. He didnt help at all.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value, clean, basic, friendly.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The receptionist that made our checking was super rude!! Never seen something like that. We were afraid to ask anything by the way he was treating us. We understand people can be tired to give same information everyday, but no excuse to be rude! It was so horrible that I was hoping to not see him in the next morning again! Ever!! We booked a double room (we are a couple) but when we got there he gave us a room with bunk bed, so when my boyfriend went to the reception to ask about it, he said: You came late, your room is gone, now that is your room. We understand we came late (althought we called them) but he could have informed us in a better way. The breakfast was very very poor, but nothing compares with that horrible receptionist! We are never ever coming back!!

    The hostel is surrounded by trees and there is green everywhere! Lots of nature!

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price not bad in compare, but basically is too expensive- this is normal hostel standard and they charge like **hotel.

    Really friendly staff, good breakfast and localisation.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No facilites. No soap, no towel. Too small dorm room for 4 people. Beds one near other. Only two wall sockets in whole room. Sink in the room, not in the bathroom, so you must to wash your teeths and disturb others while they are sleeping. Not working Wi-Fi in the morning.

    Nice location in the forest, Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Couple

    Didn't like that there was no kitchen for self catering. And although the staff were helpful doing an unexpected vegetarian option, we didn't think the dinner supplied was worth 15 euros.

    Easy to access from the motorway. Location was nice surrounded by trees.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would be helpful if the dinner availability could be more precise.

    I liked the location. It was very pretty and convenient for what I wanted to do.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Located in the national park, it was only a short walk from Apenhaul :) wifi was only available in common areas, but that was fine. Great value for money, lots of walks just at your doorstep

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poor breakfast. Besides, when there was no cheese left, one of the staff member came with some cheese on a plate and instead of using a fork (or putting a glove on her hand), she was taking it bare hands and putting it for the guests. I know it's no 5 star hotel but come on! It's hygiene! I found it disgusting and couldn't eat anymore.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beds aren't much comfortable and can be a bit far from the city center

    The sympathy of the employes

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were very clean and the breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There's no hair dryer, and only one socket in a six-people room!

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Evening Buffet food not hot at all, disappointed. Good variety breakfast

    Children play area and adult comfort zone

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is perfect, only the bed was a bit so-so... Bring your own towels as otherwise you need to rent one

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No kitchen faciiites

    Friendly staff, very scenic location (albeit a little foar out!)

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Loved the hospitality, wonderfull bike rent service.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No complaints

    Great setting, loads of space, Comfortable and clean with friendly, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rooms were very basic.

    Staff at reception were friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff, nice location and a lot of things to enjoy the hotel facilities.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Now it was in winter. I do not know how it is there in summertime when the place is much more crowded.

    The place as it is

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Stayokay Apeldoorn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: