Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cantar Do Grilo - Turismo Rural

Vale de Milhanos - Correia da Mó, Apt. 668, Serpa, 7830-000 Vales Mortos, Portugal

#1 of 1 hotels in Vales Mortos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 49 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Tenho um novo sítio favorito. Voltarei, sem dúvida.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have a new favourite place. If you know Alentejo, you know how good this gets: middle of nowhere, a swimming pool, a small place with 4 double rooms (so it never gets too crowded). Excellent. What makes it perfect are Felix and Sonja, their reception, their caring of the place (everything is impeccable) and of the guests. I absolutely loved it. I'll definitely come back. What some guests could not like: the place is ~20 minutes drive from Serpa, and similar to Minas de São Domingos. But, there is a fridge you can use and a small kitchen available to the guests, where you can cook some meals so you won't even need to leave the place - which I found great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative aspects.

    We enjoyed everything about it. It is perfect to rest and get away from the world. The pool was amazing, rooms were clean and breakfast is also great. It is the perfect place to find yourself.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Great holiday retreat in quiet and relaxing Alentejo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great holiday retreat in quiet and relaxing Alentejo. The owners really know the area and suggested great places to eat and visit. They really go the extra mile to make you feel welcome, treating us almost as old friends!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Paradise found!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome to paradise! What a great place with a great pool! The owners Felix and Sonia are super friendly and make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. Excellent breakfast on the terrace with views towards the Alentejo countryside. The ideal stay If you look for peace and tranquility.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Good sunny location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath. Too many steps. Wi-fi didn’t work on my iPad....it did everywhere else in Portugal and Spain.

    Location. Breakfast. Comfy bed. Kitchen facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    A tranquil rural visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Peaceful rural location. Generously designed separate guest accommodation with everything you could need. Excellent breakfast with home made bread and jams. Clean good sized pool with lovely countryside views. Many well signposted hikes in the area. Sonja was very helpful and kindly gave us her mobile number in case we needed it when we were out. A relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    The perfect place to unwind and relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything!

    We loved Cantar do Grilo. It was tranquil and a perfect place to relax. The hosts could not have done more to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. Thoroughly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Tranquil relaxation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing disliked; all of our needs - and more - were catered for.

    The accommodation is set in rural tranquillity, but, at the same time, the nearest town, Serpa, is only 15 minutes drive away - Serpa is a quiet town which offers many fine restaurants, sites of antiquity to visit, and. of course, several varied shops for the 'essentials'; as such, Cantar Do Grilo is perfectly situates for a holiday of total relaxation, or is equally ideal when used as a base for exploring the region. Cantar Do Grilo is a modernised building whilst retaining the charm of Alentejo rural houses. Our room had a large double bed, ample hanging and storage space, desk area, armchair and table, and a well equipped en suite bathroom. Out hosts had also thoughtfully provided a fan for those "hotter" times. The main access to our room was via the internal corridor, but a door also led directly to the outside for access to the front of the property (terrace, garden, etc). All of our room facilities made our stay very comfortable. Our hosts, Felix and Sonja, were very friendly, welcoming, and informative. Felix greeted us initially with a welcome drink and introduced to our room and the additional facilities offered. A well equipped kitchen (oven, grill, hob, refrigerator, cutlery, etc) was available for food storage and meal/snack presentation, which could be taken either inside or at the outside dining area (where we enjoyed our breakfasts). A separate large lounge was available, which was always cooler, and could be used to sit and relax, read, or watch TV. Outside was a splendid pool surrounded by a large relaxation area shaded by ancient olive trees. The property is surrounded by vast views of the Alentejo rural plains, and is an ideal site for nature lovers and bird watchers. After a very relaxing night's sleep and morning shower, we were served a most delicious breakfast on the outside terrace to the rear (West facing) side of the property as it provided welcome morning shade.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Perfect place to enjoy the peaceful countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Very clean establishment with amazing views over the countryside

    Stayed in September 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Everything was amazing, the house, the view, the pool, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing. Only shops and restaurants/bars are at min 20 min, so if you want to spend the day at the pool, it's best to buy lunch the day before. But that's also the charm, the isolation and quitness...

    Everything was amazing, the house, the view, the pool, the room, the beds, the breakfast, the area, the hosts and last but not least...Cider, the sweet sweet dog !

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    the house, the room, the pool and the view were wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the house, the room, the pool and the view were wonderful we loved to see the sunrise through the open window/curtain of our bedroom breakfast was very nice!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    10
    Natural surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all!

    Natural surrounding. You can see all the stars at night. Beautifull architecture of the guesthouse. Swimming pool is gorgious area. Owner is really fantastic. It's a pity we couldn't stay longer.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: