Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Casas Novas Countryside Hotel Spa & Events This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rua Visconde do Rosário, 1, 5400-727 Chaves, Portugal

#13 of 26 hotels in Chaves

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 315 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    A delightful stay in a wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast tea was extremely weak but it’s the only thing that could be improved upon in our opinion.

    A truly magnificent building with great facilities. All the staff were very helpful and cheerful. The room was lovely and quiet and the water was hot! Fernando could do no more for you; nothing was too much trouble. The food was exceptional and the breakfast was a sight for sore eyes! We would have no hesitation in recommending anyone stay at this glorious establishment for as long as they can.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    10
    Very lucky to have found such a gem ...would love a longer stay next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi is only available in hotspot locations. The TV although satellite only has Spanish or Portuguese channels. The dinner menu is limited.

    The staff are all so helpful and friendly. The hotel, grounds and spa facilities were lovely and we were lucky that the hotel was quiet for us as they get very full with weddings throughout the summer . Close enough to the national parque so you can use it as your base.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Couldn't have found a better hotel in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike.

    Great welcome. Super room. Dinner and breakfast excellent. Great location, just off the motorway but in a tiny village (population 60). Ideal stop between Santander and Portugal. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Everything was on point!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not really any relevant negative points. Perhaps something to improve would be the gym conditions, the equipment works but is a bit old

    Everything was on point! The staff super caring, gave us everything de needed with a smile! the room super confortable, the spa amazing and working until after 8pm. The restaurant with a very good price/quality. Without a doubt, a place to visit again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    8.8
    Short holidays with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you don't know the hotel and arrive at night, it's not easy to identify the check-in. Sauna and Turkish bath was not always turned-on (you had to ask members of the staff to do it). Treadmill at Gym is not working. Breakfast is good but could have more variety.

    Staff is really nice. The surrounding area is extremely quiet, calm and good for relaxing. There's an indoor swimming pool with warm water and the view from there is nice. There's a tennis court and a kids park for people with kids. At evening it is nice to walk around the village houses when the sky is clear and the night is warm. The rooms are super clean and with great conditions. The restaurant food is wonderful although a bit pricy. There a library if you want to pick-up a book and read. It's a great place to relax and you have easy access to Pedras Salgadas, Boticas, Vidago, Montalegre and Chaves.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    7.5
    Facilities very nice, staff not so much..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To start off with, the property does not have a back up power supply for when there is a power cut. We were unfortunate enough to catch thunder, which shut off all power and heating, leaving us with no hot water or power. When we addressed members of staff, after spending the morning in the swimming pool (needing a shower), the staff said there is nothing they could do until the power came back. Although the power returned shortly after, we were left 3 hours without hot water. When it was time for dinner, no one explained that the restraunt was a short walk away from the hotel and we were left 45min waiting. Until, other customers staying at the hotel, gave a helping hand and directed us (staff no where to be seen). At the restraunt, we waiting 20 mins to be seated and another 20 for our order, bearing in mind that it was almost 10pm. At check out we were charged for the rental of USED swimming caps €2 per person, when we were NOT informed of the price. We stayed in a delux suite of €150 with a mini bar included HOWEVER, you pay for everything you drink.. so for those thinking of staying in a delux suite.. its not worth the money.

    We loved the property's facilities, very modern and well decorated. Very clean. Only ONE member of staff a man who seemed to be a manager, was very attentive and willing to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced and average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was average. No kettle in room. had to ask for a bath plug. Internet code given was wrong. The hotel was understaffed. Extremely overpriced. Television package was poor. Sauna opened too late. (Before breakfast would be better). Pictures showed old buildings, but actual rooms were in a new-build.

    Staff were friendly. The hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    8.3
    Very comfortable bed, and I was such in need of a rest when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't remember anything I didn't like while staying there.

    Very comfortable bed, and I was such in need of a rest when I got there!!! Great pool area and views. Very calm and relaxing, perfect if you are looking for some peaceful time with nature around you. Good breakfast, not easy to find good bacon in Portugal, they know how to do it :) Sr Fernando is very nice and is always available for anything you need.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    8.8
    Good hotel in north of Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning in bedroom was not working. Normally we do not like ac, however with all the forest fires in the air there was a strong smell of smoke.

    Nice room and bed. Easy parking. Nice food. Liked pool and Jacuzzi.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2016

    8.0
    Helpful staff and good location, glad we booked the car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Balcony furniture would have been nice and somewhere to put cosmetics, toiletries. etc in the bathroom, ended up putting everything on the floor, not ideal.

    Helpful staff and good location, glad we booked the car parking! Really good shower!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2016

    9.6
    Luxury countryside retreat at a bargain price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have done with either a bell for the bar or a member of staff manning it on an evening as we had to seek someone out for a drink - but that is literally the only negative thing I could think to put about this lovely hotel!

    The location is superb if you want to get away from it all and enjoy a tranquil but luxurious break. The hotel was a converted winery with a modern extension that complimented the original building beautifully. The facilities were fantastic and everything was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The restaurant was a short walk from the main hotel and the food, while fairly limited, tasted exquisite and was extremely well priced! Breakfast was beautifully presented and everything was hot a fresh. An absolute bargain and we will almost certainly return. Must praise the hotels general manager too...he was incredible - he seemed to be doing everything and could not have been more welcoming! Very well run, great countryside hotel which I would highly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    7.5
    What staff?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What staff? Nobody on reception. Nobody at the bar. 30 mins somebody was at the pool bar to serve in two nights stay. The night time restaurant on the other hand is very attentive. This place could be amazing but feel the hotel guests are just left while they deal with the weddings/events. The TVs hotel inspector series should go in and explain about staff wearing to many hats!!! If you had stayed here you would understand.

    Amazing building sympathetically redone to turn a 18th century Manor House bed winery into a functioning hotel. Pool fab room good. The restaurant does the most amazing food we have had here and everything is keenly priced

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.9
    Recomendo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nada a declarar

    Restaurante fenomenal

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    10
    I loved the whole experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved the whole experience! And the staff were super-helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.5
    I'll come back with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Croissants

    Bed, facilities and personal simpathy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great breakfast, very friendly manager, staff and dog! Relaxing swimming pool and whirlpool.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    10
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great place. Tranquility and cozyness. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    10
    A little bit of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant was excellent value and lovely one of our best meals in 3 weeks

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    10
    Very nice place if you want some quiet days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cosy, quiet and lovely placed hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2016

    10
    Breakfast was great and location wonderful with walks out...
    • Group

    Breakfast was great and location wonderful with walks out onto hills from door. Casa itself is beautiful and modern rooms very comfortable with great view.

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2016

    6.3
    In general, the hotel was very nice, and clean, rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was cold inside the hotel. The staff was not helpful. I know it was a low season (we visited in March), but we could never find anyone at the reception; and there was no staff in the restaurant either when we came for breakfast. We chose the hotel because of the spa, but when we arrived the spa was not functioning. The jacuzzi didnt have water and sauna and turkish bath were turned off. We complained about this and were advised to use spa on the following day. This was not too convetient for us, since we came early to the hotel to be able to use the spa. In any case, the day after we woke up early to find only the sauna and jacuzzi functioning ok. Overall, the service was not worth the money we paid, although the hotel from inside is very nice.

    In general, the hotel was very nice, and clean, rooms were spacious and the bed was large and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2016

    6.3
    Clean spacious rooms, hot sauna, lovely countryside,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very grumpy/impatient/unwelcoming/exploited and bitter receptionist, and unreasonable/impatient owner, cold jacuzzi, had to walk in the rain to get to swimming pool, no bathrobes provided, charged for old, second-hand swimming caps.

    Clean spacious rooms, hot sauna, lovely countryside, beautifully restored building, architecture, gardens, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2016

    7.1
    The building is attractive and when the weather's good,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I got a shock when I pulled back the covers to get into bed. The rustling, crinkly sound and feel of a plastic mattress protector was not something I expected to find and I had to strip the bed and remake it. I can understand the desire to keep mattresses free from stains but plastic?! Also, although the hotel has 4 stars, it seems to be skimping on the details and I had hoped for a slightly more luxurious experience based on my experience of other hotels with this rating.

    The building is attractive and when the weather's good, I'm sure the surrounding countryside is lovely. It's close to the A24 so easy to get to other places in the area. Breakfast was fine, as was the small health centre.

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2015

    10
    We are still in "awe" of this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We are still in "awe" of this place. It was a quick find on the internet as we were driving up north and it was a great surprise. Much more than I expected. Place is a pre 1800's manor that was restored a few years ago and tucked in the middle of mountains and beautiful landscapes. Very rustic and clean. Food & hospitality also excellent.

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    7.9
    It was a calm place, with very little noise around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was given the impression to us that the staff was not ready to receive guests, and with lack of experience in the job. The same staff did multiple work (reception, bar, restaurante and pool), so if someone was on the reception no one was on the bar or at the pool (or "health club"). Also the "health club" was in need of some maintenance and a little more attention (the 2 jacuzzis were empty when we were there).

    It was a calm place, with very little noise around the property.

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2015

    10
    The (old) architecture of the hotel and the modern comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The (old) architecture of the hotel and the modern comfort. Close to the highway exit, and with a wonderful view of the surroundings. A nice base for visiting Montalegre, Boticas, Chaves, Vila Pouca de Aguiar, Pedras Salgadas and Vidago.

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2016

    10
    The room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The room. The surroundings. The setting. The food. The beverage. The hospitality.

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2016

    10
    The gentleman who looked after us went above and beyond to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The gentleman who looked after us went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2015

    9.6
    Good friendly staff happy to help and excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Complaints

    Good friendly staff happy to help and excellent food

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2015

    7.5
    tranquality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    tranquality

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2015

    3.3
    Breakfast: rotten food (photo available)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast: rotten food (photo available) Staff: not speaking english or french or spanish Spa: jacuzzi/hammam/sauna not working

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: