Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lake Tahoe Ambassador Lodge 2 stars

4130 Manzanita Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150, USA

#45 of 56 hotels in South Lake Tahoe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 97 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was plenty of hot water for a proper bath! Despite looking a bit dated from the outside, we had a good sized room and one of only 2 we have stayed in that had a sofa. Clean. Close to the State Line so we were able to pop into a casino in the evening to play on the 1c machines! Beach was close but we didn't use it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were hairs othe beds sheets and splatters on the walls that should not have been there. At the bottom of the stairwell were several discarded mattresses, boxes, and random garbage. There is old and dated and then there is just yuck.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window was broken and late night in the middle of winter was breathing. I wound up sleeping in my truck with the heater on. When bringing the issue up nothing was done to remedy the situation. 20 degrees and the wondow wouldnt close.

    the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like I don't have to drive in and I can walk to the casinos and play with my kids and thotel was a really nice nice and clean

    What's really good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    beds were hard as rock. carpets were burned and stained. when office closes u cant get any help. heaters would nt turn off. hasnt been updated in 10 yrs

    locatuon

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blankets but I bring my own. She said something not me. I'm always prepared especially in the snow.

    The staff was very nice people. Very accomadating and nice to talk with.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility was extremely dirty. Looked as though someone had thrown up between bed and nightstand, carpets were dirty and sticky....would not walk on them barefoot. Shower door had a large break in it and was afraid to take a show for fear the glass would shatter, there was also mold around the tub. Room was very warm (no air conditioner) so I turned on the ceiling fan and it shook so bad I was concerned it would fall apart. Bedspread and blanket smelled of 'body odor'. Manager stated, "they don't care how it looks, people stay because it is close to the casinos....."

    Location close to Casinos

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shower, stinky rooms, with cockroaches! No a/c, hot in rooms. Will never stay here again. Complimentary breakfast was oatmeal and bagels. Then, we go to check out, pay our bill, and the office was locked, no one around to help us. We dropped our keys in the drop box and left. We won't be back.

    Staff was nice when you saw them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the room. No air conditioning had to have room door open pass midnight as room was super hot. So many things room with the room. I would never stay their again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no a. c., ceiling fan didn't work- room was sweltering. front desk lady said she'd try to move us to another room but that never happened. broken screen so big bugs flew into room. asked 4 different staff members for new towels-never got any. room smelled and there were empty bottles and food wrappers under the bed. only 5 tv channels

    good location, comfortable bed, nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very pleasant when answering questions.

    A great location for state line activities. We were there for a dance competition so liked being close.staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience Dust dust dust everywhere does anyone clean the place ????? I want a refund to be honest

    Office smelled like cigarettes lady who ran office had no personality and was rude never again will I go there place was super out dated and old lights don't work shower head sounded like it was going to explode no parking lady

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I 1/2 hours to check in. Disorganized staff. Noisy, run down and way over priced for the condition of the property.

    the only bright spot was the location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Continental breakfast was only available on weekends starting 9 am, so not useful for those of us wanting an early start. Fortunately, McD was close by.

    Fridge and microwave in room.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen has a sign that says housekeeping is not responsible for cleaning the kitchen and to wash our dishes, which I don't mind but there was no dish soap or towel and there was what looked like cooking splatter on the back splash behind the stove. Otherwise seemed pretty clean. The room as a whole could use updating and some repair. Also the pool was not open while we were there, they were working on it, although we had a lake pass.

    The lady at the front desk was super accommodating and nice. Upgraded us to full size kitchen because they don't serve breakfast on weekdays even though booking.com says they do. When I was checking out I told her there was no dish soap to wash our dishes, she said not to worry about the dishes.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy neighbors, parking lot needs repaving. Room had walls which needed painting over patches. Toilet ran until fiddled with inside valve.

    Price was cheap for Tahoe. Had stayed here many years before and was hoping it would continue to have the grounds well kept.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not much ice In the ice machine.

    It had what we needed for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Office staff was extremely friendly! Would definitely stay again based on the experience with the manager!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the facilities are poor.

    location is close to the beach and can get a free pass to a private beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee maker didn't work

    Quite and comfortable great setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is only one person running this place-to save money she is both a housekeeper and front office clerk

    convenient location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was fine

    good stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not clean my room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone to front desk, hardly any cutlery for the kitchenette.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were extremely hot.

    very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv only had 16 channels of the most stupid things

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the second floor it was a little creaky. Didn’t bother me but maybe the people below.

    Great price! Great location! Nice staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great price. Super short walk to the back entrance of Harvey’s casino.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress is too old and in poor condition.

    Location, price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like or care for the place. Uncomfortable beds, internet to slow, no air conditioner, not happy with the place at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More time there

    Theresa the manager was a gem

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been cleaner. The bathroom could have been updated a bit more

    The staff was great.it was close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI is really bad.

    Location and room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is super clean, bed sheets smell like summertime. It has great shower, coffee maker machine and all features you would need.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old - outdated - noisy and smelled bad.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heat! It was freezing!!! Wifi didn't work. Hard bed.

    That we didn't have to sleep in the car.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    i love everything about that hotel

    THE customer serves was amazing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old establishment. Needs updating. Bathrooms,TV, drapes, lamps and coffee pot.

    Great location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't Clean every day

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the shower. I was unable to get in the shower. Everything was really out dated.

    I liked that it was close to the border.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing i am waiting for my breakfast reimbursment money which i paid because there was no breakfast provided by hotel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only on weekends. Pool was empty

    BBQ area

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old. Loud hum 24/7. Beds soft. Coffee etc. but no coffee pot. TV reception poor. Pool only available in summer. Breakfast only Saturday and Sundays.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast ok - bagels, toast, cereal etc.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing negative about this experience...Everything was perfect...

    Room was very spacious...Microwave and fridge were very nice...Bed was very comfortable...Shower was AWSOME :-) !!! Staff was very welcoming and helpful...Pet friendly :-)...My cat loved the room and there was plenty of room to walk her outside as well, without having to worry about traffic...Property was very quiet and the other customers very friendly...This hotel has an area rustic feel with all the modern necessities...I searched all the properties in the area before I came, I picked the Ambassador Lodge and am so glad I did...Everything was perfect and I will always try to stay here every time I come to South Tahoe...

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities are old,breakfast is awful, and make sure get up early if you want breakfast,not worth to stay with weekend price

    Clean room with everything ready, you need ask for hair dryer from the reception desk before wash your hair

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48