Skip to main content
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. Virginia hotel reviews
  4. Alexandria hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town

Reviews of Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314, United States of America

#12 of 53 hotels in Alexandria

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 826 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2024

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Congested parking

    Spacious rooms, good location

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2024

    7.0
    Overall, a decent experience, but I do feel that price outweighs the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The layout of the hotel was less than desirable in terms of all of the rooms facing the atrium, which was very loud, especially in the morning when young families and children were screaming at 6:45 AM and woke us up. Other guest commented their dissatisfaction regarding that situation as well. Check-in could’ve been better in terms of informing us how that elevator worked, happy hour, parking and the like. Parking seemed very expensive and the garage was extremely tight and difficult to navigate, especially with a larger vehicle. The food offerings were gone at happy hour with an hour yet to go.

    Breakfast was fine, the happy hour was a nice idea. Housekeeping did an excellent job. The bartender was very good.

    Stayed in July 2024

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2024

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location clean and happy hour for guest

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2024

    7.0
    It was a decent to good stay, but the AC never cooled the room below 71 degrees and it was super hot and humid out. Als
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    AC didn’t ever seem cool

    Location

    Stayed in July 2024

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2024

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suites need a little updating, although the beds were very comfortable.

    The staff during our stay was exceptional and the atrium was updated and clean. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I’ve had at the various Embassy Suites I’ve been to. There was plenty of room, comfortable seating and lots of staff to replenish food and assist you. Spacious suite and love the room set up.

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2024

    9.0
    Great location and great staff
    • Solo traveler
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are very tired looking and dated

    Location, room size and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2024

    8.0
    It was good and I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Navigating to park the car was challenging. The pool was overcrowded... kids in and out of the hot tub...

    Check-in was smooth and quick.

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2024

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Solo traveler
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room too hot, bad thermostat. Had to change rooms and then the new room had similar problem with thermostat. Had to get maintenance to work on air conditioning unit/thermostat.

    Breakfast included. Happy hour.

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2024

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cable was off on Tuesday morning.

    The omelette breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2024

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel offered pet friendly rooms for an affordable rate of $75 for 1-4 nights for up to 2 pets and $125 for 5+ nights. We came baring our two puppies that are were 6 and 7 months old, one a German Shepherd and the other a Yellow Lab. We got them into their new environment even bringing a collapsible crate for the room to ensure safety of property. When my husband was taking the German Shepherd out to go potty, upon his return the desk staff asked him to, "come see us when you put him away" so he did, with the Lab in tow going back down. The desk staff stated to him, to try to "limit" his time in public spaces because he is "scaring" other guests when he barks. Now, I understand that a dogs bark can be a bit alarming, however our PUPPY who is still learning and is just as anxious in a new place with all the people is just and scared too. He at no time lunched at any other patron or was out of control in the public spaces, additionally, we were never just "hanging out" with him being vocal. We were a bit upset by this simply because, he is a dog and dogs do bark, there was not clause that "dogs who bark are not permitted", secondly, we were doing our due diligence by taking him out to do his business rather than urinate or defecate within the room. We were given an alternative route of back stairs to go down, however we could not get back up the same way so we were forced to go through the lobby. I want to make it clear that my husband made every effort prior to this conversation to minimize contact due to the new environment for the dog and the premise that some have on German Shepherd's, however, there is/was no notification of breed restrictions or requirement that dogs must be of a certain age or have vocal chords removed so that barking does not occur. Additionally, when we pulled the door to the bedroom closed the door handle fell off in our hand...

    We loved that this location was so close to the metro station to easily get into the city! Additionally, they offered a nightly "reception" with light snacks, sodas, juice as well as 2 house cocktails per adult. Breakfast was also included in the stay which was an added bonus before a long day of sight seeing our nations capitol. Our kids really enjoyed the pool, this is always a highlight of any hotel stay. Parking was super easy and very affordable for our Friday (late afternoon arrival) to Monday (early morning departure) we paid $66, the hotel states you can come and go however we opted for public transit instead. Our wait staff was bar none, catering to the needs of children's minds who are ever changing and offering patience at all times, additionally the bartenders were impeccable, long lines of guests wanting drinks and they were fast, efficient and friendly at all times! Lastly, we loved that it was a pet friendly hotel...however my reviews here will be below.

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2024

    8.0
    Worked out great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Two-Room King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Understandable it was a holiday but there was long lines for breakfast and evening reception

    Location was great

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2024

    9.0
    Overall very nice. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fire alarm Wednesday night. Chairs in breakfast/reception area could use a change. They are all pretty low seating compared to the table which makes it awkward to eat. The fake wicker chairs were more at the correct height

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2024

    9.0
    Just wish there was a place to take your dog when they’re having to take care of business.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    👍👍the staff cleaning up after those who didn’t were doing a good job!

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2024

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great staff, and amazing location.

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2024

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, views, beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2024

    8.0
    satisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    old building and dirty carpets

    the extras like breakfast and free drinks

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2024

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was so dated and dark.

    The location was superb, the staff was nice.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2024

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking could be improved. The spots were extremely small, there was hardly any space to get out once parked because the cars were so close. Suggestion expand the parking are which would allow to have wider spots even for a car. It would be impossible to park a truck there.

    Check in was fast and smeemless. The staff was professional as well.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2023

    8.0
    Great comfortable rooms ambience loved my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No onsite restaurant open

    Love the atrium complimentary drinks and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2023

    9.0
    Overall I was very happy with my stay. I look forward to staying here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The complimentary drinks could have been better

    Unfortunately I wasn’t able to get the breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2023

    8.0
    Unsatisfied overnight customer 2023
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon our team arrival 12/7/23 @11pm as we were checking into the hotel we were inform that the water would be off (no running water, no toilet flushing) til 5:00 am. Outdated electrical outlets, sheets on the bed had spots on them. I will not be staying at the Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria Old Town in the future.

    The breakfast food was good & hot but while sitting in the eating area lobby two mice ran across the floor.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2023

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't,t like the extra $40.00 we were charged in addition to the 180.00 already paid before we arrived. We still do not understand the extra charge.

    WE liked the suite and the location. We did not eat breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2023

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More choices for tv…YouTube…Netflix…etc c…

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2023

    7.0
    Not likely to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit run down and not very clean

    Location

    Stayed in November 2023

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: