Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Handlery Union Square Hotel 3 stars

351 Geary Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#102 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2214 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking rates were high. Since it’s Handlery’s garage, it would be nicer if a little less.

    Located in a great location for Union Square. Very comfortable & pleasantly surprising. Centrally located for shopping, dining etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free drinking water is provided in room and the room is a bit noisy.

    The location is close to the bart station and just next to union square. The room is clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room air con could have been stronger for us on site Grill room a bit pricey but plenty of outside options nearby

    fair sized room & bathroom, good supply of quality towels, obliging staff. free ice machine on every floor Location is good for tourists

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was well placed, just off Union Square, near to Macy's etc, and a few steps from the historic Powell-Mason Cable Car (i.e. a tram in the UK) line. If you want "the streets of San Francisco" you'll get that experience here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice location in the middle of the luxury district, you can have some bus tour at the plaza near the hotel, you have a lot of very good rooftops around it ! Really nice staff !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in, I felt that the man at the front desk was trying to move me on as fast as possible. I did not feel very welcome.

    Great bed and a perfectly clean bathroom that was roomy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wasn't very powerful. Otherwise everything else was great.

    Fantastic location and great service from everyone. The concierge was particularly helpful and really made sure that we had an excellent stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place near hotel is full of bums, too many people smoke weed; no parking; no heating, only conditioner, we have never been so cold inside the room; no breakfast for such a price; strange smell inside hotel, something like a thyme.

    Hotel is really close to most of the main entertainment of SF

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice but small, would've been nice to have a chair/seating situation other than desk. Bathroom door was hard to close and offered little privacy.

    Very convenient location, nicely updated rooms. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Pool and sauna were both very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price without breakfast

    Returning after 41 years to a hotel we liked that has been earthquake free. Friendly staff. Pineapple mule for happy hour Room layout

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was too much noise at our first room because its near air conditioner outside. Staff helped us to change our room. There is a smell of old at some floors.

    Location was great, staff was helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like that there was no comfortable chair to relax in. The desk chair had no arms - very utilitarian (kids room) so it prevented me from spending any time in my room other than to sleep. The room was also very dark, since the window was out to a court yard that was closed in on 4 sides by the building. Finally, the thermostat was very difficult. I could not lower the temperature in the room so it was very stuffy. When I called the front desk, they indicated that the buttons were difficult and you had to press very hard. That did not work very well.

    Bed was comfortable. Bedside lighting was good. Concierge was very helpful. Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a bit tired and rough around the edges. Getting to the premier end of the building where our room was is a real trek involving having to take suitcases in a service elevator, through the swimming pool area and then in another elevator.

    Room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woman at reception went out of her way to make us welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent experience. Can highly recommend Handlery Union Square no matter what the purpose for stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like how small our room was. We had a double room. The bathroom was also very small.

    I loved the location. It was very convenient to Union Square, the cable car and China Town. The staff were also very helpful. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    poor internet connection, no elevator to get to certain rooms making it difficult to carry luggage

    Good location, clean, amiable staff, good amenities, value for money, safe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the swimming pool area is NOT like the picture, it is actually a not very nice place to spend time at and very noisy. I could not even open the windows because of the ventilation's loud noise around.

    the rooms were really nice, very new and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What started out as a $289 a nite ended up at $401 after parking charges and several different “ taxes”. Actual cost should be more upfront.

    Location is great for theater, shopping, dining. However, the homeless, panhandling and filth in San Francisco is becoming unbearable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    STAYED AT THIS HOTEL AT LEAST 10 YEARS AGO,MUCH HAS CHANGED FOR THE BETTER,CLEANER,ROOMS UPDATED AND SERVICES VERY GOOD. JIM AND TERRY DONNELLY FROM NY.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that we were concerned about was the wifi connectivity. Being from overseas made it a little hard to keep in contact with family

    Great hotel, great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would say everything went well, however I was disappointed that I was not aware that gratuity was added onto the room service, and I added a tip not reviewing or aware that it was pre calculated. I would suggest that in the future your servers make people aware that a tip was added.

    the bed was most comfortable and the decor was beautiful and modern elegant. In addition, room service was quick and the chicken pot pie was awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made me sad as the building is old and space a problem ie in the lobby / people get annoyed waiting their turn and your EE are working in a crisis mode at busy times

    Convient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The housekeeping lady did not clean our room well and just dumped our towels in the floor of the bathroom. And when we checked out and were waiting in the lobby for our ride, the bell hop made a snide remark about us just availing of free drinking water ( he was speaking in English - probably assumed we can't understand cause we're Asians).

    The location is very good for sightseeing in the city.There was free fruit infused water in the lobby that refreshed after a long day of walking. The restaurant Daily Grill served good breakfast. Check in and checking out was a breeze.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pressure of water in the shower is very low, it took me 30 min to wash my long hair instead of 5. Amount of homeless people ( I haven’t seen anywhere), and smell is awful. You guys personally maybe can’t do anything, but if a lot off people will say about this, maybe city will do something. Price for middle week , in April is too high.

    Location . Your stuff is very friendly 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff were not as friendly as I would expect in a hotel like this one. It was a little noisy but that is to be expected in a major city.

    The rooms were nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable and clean. The location was fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could have let us have late checkout until 3:00 pm. Instead, late check out means noon instead of regular check out at 11:00 am

    The bed was super nice with extra padding. Not too soft not too hard. The vanity area is very big and roomy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Handlery does not follow "industry standard" practices for late checkout. Normally, hotels will allow you to stay until 1 or 2pm, depending on the occupancy for the next night. The Handlery will only give you 30 extra minutes without forcing you to pay for an extra half day rate for just an hour or two. Next time I will choose a different hotel over this issue.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s an old hotel and then the premier section. If you’re in the old part... Get a room at the front. The back rooms are like dark dungeons but the front is bright. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tipping it's a problem especially when you come from a country that pays the right pay rate tipping becomes expensive

    Perfect position in the city, the restaurant and bar are first class with great service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horrendous shower pressure, caused a massive leak in my bathroom, so changed to a different room. Water pressure there wasn't any better, just no leak.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking for public was $60 at hotel and $56 for guests next option was to walk a block with all your belongings but it was only $35 if you are good to walk a hike everything else was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the parking structure became a little bit of a hassle as the line to just get into the structure sometimes backed up into the busy street.

    Friendly staff, good location, and easy to find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar staff during daytime shift were unfriendly.

    Bed was comfortable and the lobby staff exceptional. Night staff in the bar area were friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not really anthing to complain about

    The stay at the Hotel was nice, the staff friendly and helpful, from the location it is easy to get around. I can recommend this hotel, rate/quality is balanced. It has been receommended by a friend who stayed there with his wife some years back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was fabulous, a great location and great room with friendly staff. We plan to visit again when we have more time to explore the places around this location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was wonderful! Shopping, food, bus tours, and the reason for our visit the Museum of Ice Cream were all in the same area. It made getting around—by foot or car—so easy. Our room had a balcony with the city view, which we don’t get where we’re from. The staff was so helpful that when I needed extra items for our room they quickly brought it up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was huge and the beds were exceptionally comfortable! The people at the front desk were friendly and so welcoming to the hotel and San Francisco! We got loads of local knowledge! This hotel is in an amazing location a stones throw from some amazing restaurants and shopping and easy access to public transport everywhere!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and old ,WiFi was poor and it was almost impossible to get on line. No water pressure in the room

    Stuff was friendly and location is perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was confusing. We had to go back to the front desk twice because our room key didn’t work. The restaurant food was exoensive and our food was terrible.

    The room was upgraded and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    $60 a night for parking when you spend the money you spend there is a little discouraging but it is SF.

    The staff and hotel were wonderful. This was the first time visiting SF and we would stay here everytime. Room was big and convenient to lots of great stores.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the city is expensive but that's not really fault of hotel. Decent price comparison wise to those around them too.

    Breakfast was great. Staff was INCREDIBLY helpful, friendly and great when problems came up with original booking reservations :},

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The staff were very accomodating i can not fault this hotel have stayed with a number of hotels in union square but your hotel will be my to go to hotel in the future thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small/tight as well as bathroom. Needed a couple of chairs in the room to relax, especially if staying a few days. Otherwise good.

    Daily Grill was very good as to food - trout was especially good, breakfast wait staff excellent, dinner staff dull, not interested in you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in bedroom was pretty noisy - had to turn it off to dleep. Outside vent on rooftop also quite noisy.

    Clean, good facilities, polite and friendly staff, hotel in great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures are deceiving, the pool is old, small and not clean, the sauna wasn't prepped so cold and was tiny. For the money paid was expecting alot more, the staff are lovely but this is a tired hotel and I was extremely disappointed

    The bed was clean and comfy and it was a good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff don't smile ever

    Lovely little room. Beautifully decorated and it was quiet. The view was towards courtyard, which was pretty ugly but somehow i liked it. The heated pool is very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is terribly serious, even rude. Only one lady was kind and smiled back

    The location is excellent, the atmosphere in the room is calming, the pool is lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything met or exceeded my expectations.

    My thoughts are that this is a very friendly hotel in an ideal location. It has a nice “family-owned and operated “ feel and the food offerings, although limited in range (and I can understand why) are very tasty, freshly prepared and of great flavour. I really enjoyed my stay in this older, but well maintained hotel and my room cleanliness and comfort and the staff service exceeded my expectations. My Australian friends who have stayed here have always been very pleased with the overall experience and the hotel’s location. I had planned to visit SF about 15 years ago but the “shoe-bomber” episode at that time caused me to cancel the USA part of my trip. My brother came anyway and stayed at your hotel and thoroughly recommended it. I will certainly be a repeat customer when I return to SF.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't know - internet service in one room was not working, so they moved me very quickly no problems

    responsive staff, clean and comfortable room, great location, good facilities - decor is dated but nice, clean and well kept. highly recommend hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only charged for 1 nights stay when I wanted them to charge for the entire stay. Placed a hold for the entire amount and caused a lot of confusion. Not booking with them again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, the hotel was perfect for me. Only one issue, the alarm went off in the next room at midnight. Most annoying as was up at 0500 to catch flight. A minor issue in the context of my stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor storage for a week long stay - first room had not a single drawer!! Lack of closet space most filled by an over large safe

    Staff very helpful esp bellmen

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The HVAC system generated a fair amount of background noise. No real issue for me since I only fall asleep when I’m really tired and I’m used to some background noises.

    Great location if traveling from/to SFO via BART. Firm bed. Free wifi. Big room in the “Premier” section.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant, the Daily Grill is one of my favorites in SF. Another favorite is right across the street at Johnny Folleys and since we had two teenage shoppers with us the location couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very disappointed with the service . They don't provide drinking water and if they do they charge $10 for 0.5 litre water . This is outrageous. Food is not good here either.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I should have asked for a room on a higher floor. I think it was the 6th floor I stayed on last time. I don't think the hotel was full by any means so a higher floor would have been nice. Maybe it's because I didn't book direct with the hotel.

    We were given an inside room with a view of the pool and I called down to Jason I believe his name was and he gave us a room across the hall with a view of the city. Very nice of him and a view of the city was much nicer from the balcony. I have a pool in my back yard so I was grateful for the change.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    great room (pool area), good bed, fantastic on-site restaurant and most of all: perfect city location! super friendly staff. Yes, older facility but well-kept. especially for the city!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't figure out the shower, but my husband did, so I guess it was just me!

    Location. It's walking distance to Union Square in SF. Parking and driving in is as easy as it gets in SF.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff were rude and condescending, even failing to accept a perfectly good Wells Fargo Visa card and forcing me to walk to the bank and get CASH to pay for my room ($1,600 including an extra deposit because "that's our policy when paying cash which we normally don't accept"... Excuse me, but MY CARD WORKS. YOU MADE ME PAY CASH!! I had to leave my bags and walk up the hill to Wells Fargo just to check in. Booking.com took my pre-deposit on your behalf with the same card, so maybe you should stop embarrassing yourself and get a card reader that can accept all visa cards - especially the ones issued by the bank ONE block away! I particularly hate having to write this review because the housekeeping staff were INCREDIBLY NICE and effective. I tipped them well and wish them all the best. But that front desk, Christ....

    Location <1 block from Union Square

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were incredibely rude, hotel was ridiculously over-priced, room was small and felt dirty (nothing like the images on booking.com), and parking was a nightmare.

    It was a good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was huge; the bathroom was teeny-tiny. Next time I stay, I'll ask for a room with a larger bathroom (with tub), and a smaller living area.

    The location was superb and the room was huge, especially for a property in San Francisco.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is just a little tired and the air conditioning unit was extremely noisy. You had to have it on but it made it difficult to sleep.

    The rooms were big and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front rooms can be noisy and are a bit small for 4 people. We were offered a different room but chose the front rooms for the character (the fire escape balconies and the view).

    The location is stellar-everything is within walking distance. The rooms at the front of the hotel are smaller and noisy so ask for a room within the hotel - they are much larger and more comfortable. Overall, while the hotel is older (1920's I believe), this is a great hotel and we were very pleased with it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked to change room for a window that did not look into a courtyard and they were very accommodating and found the perfect switch for us. It was New Year's Eve. A bottle of bubbly and snacks awaited us! Very affordable and in a splendid location near union square.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During the check in process, we were greeted so poorly by Alexander that we considered checking out right after checking in.

    Fantastic location, good room service, heater in the premier building bathroom, consistently good dining at the Daily Grill.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was a total rip off. After being charged $161.87 for the room, they charged us $75 to park in their garage. With no other options for parking. Totally taking advantage of their guest and the no parking situation around the hotel. Room was the smallest and the most expensive we had over a 12 day cross country road trip. Yes the hotel is pet friendly but they are unable to tell you where to take your pets to use the bathroom. We checked with a security officer at union square and he sent us to a park about a 10 minute walk from hotel and come to find out pets weren't suppose to use it. We did because nobody could tell you where to take your pet and others was using the same park for their pets and were kind enough to give us bags to pick up after our dog.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is not included in the price. It was a bit expensive for what it is.

    The location is excellent, right next to Union square and walking distance to most places you want to visit. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our window opened to an ally which made it so we couldn't open the curtains.

    Large updated room, comfortable beds, nice amenities, clean, friendly/helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside, it can be noisy. When the people next door would leave the door slammed & it was loud. Also, my kids were laughing and neighbor complained to the hotel. Next time I’ll probably get two rooms.

    Great location. Was able to bring my small dog.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    better parking rates for guest

    bed was HARD food was DELICIOUS, room small but adequate, staff was very helpful & courteous. lots of fees/taxes,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't tell me you can book a dinner reservations and then when I come back down from the room within seconds, Gina tells me to walk in the restaurant and do it myself. Why tell me you can do it when I ended up doing it on my own, conversation should have never happen😐

    Love how close it was to everything. Union Square literally steps away. We were greeted in the lobby by carolers it was absolutely beautiful!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Building a little old, but nonetheless clean and well looked after (and love the still-functioning Cutler mail chute!)

    + Clean and comfortable rooms + Excellent, central location + Private sauna (though must book in advance) + generally great amenities + Fantastic and comfortable stay for the price – would definitely come back!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    The bed and pillows were wonderful. The staff were wonderful...I have decided I will always stay at the Handerly everytime I go to San Francisco. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy if window open. Pillows fair.

    Food choices varied nearby. Bathroom clean and up to date. Room quiet if window closed. Lots of fun shopping within walking distance. Well marked hallways. Elevator ran well and came quickly Bellman helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view

    Booked last minute when hotel booking nearby was somehow lost! It was fast and easy to book, a comparable rate to the conference rate I had thought I booked. Very happy surprise at check in and check out!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Handlery Union Square Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: