Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marshall Slocum Inn 4 stars

29 Kay Street, Newport, RI 02840, USA

#4 of 37 B&Bs and Inns in Newport

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 351 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing the air conditioner malfunction, however, it turned out we didn’t even need it.

    The breakfast was excellent and the staff was very friendly yet professional ☺️ We will definitely be back! Thanks for the home away from home.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    We were all pleased and happy with our choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV remotes didn't work, and we think the batteries were dead.

    The breakfasts were delicious and cooked to order. The coffee was hot and good. Even the cups were warmed ahead of time. Fresh fruit was also served. The unexpected touches that just make things extra nice. All staff were helpful and so warmly welcoming!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    We absolutely adored this historic inn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We absolutely adored this historic inn. It provided every modern amenity without losing its historic charm. The breakfast exceeded our expectations, with made to order breakfast in the most serene environment. The Marshall Slocum Inn is now top on our list when we visit Newport again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    we stayed in the apartment next door. No one had advised us of the many stairs to climb and we had heavy valuable luggage and we are 65 and 70 years old

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.5
    wonderfully unagitated historic home away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hmmm I would have to think very hard...

    we had the cottage which is a nicely restored former garage with a nice separate section with toilet, sink and a large shower. It had a small fridge, a tv, radio / clock a little side table and comfortable chairs, water cooker and coffee machine with a glass of ground coffee (not packeaged). So everthing you need and more. The decor is consistent with the historic main house, which also is nicely furnished. The owners made the atmosphere wonderfully unagitated and calm. It felt like everything was already waiting for you. And everything means a lot of little things/details. like the warmed cups for tea/coffee, the chilled water and not least owner/ Chef Mark waiting with his choice of freshly made omelettes or pancakes garnished with sides of fresh fruit. The coffee from a local roaster was fresh good and tasty not bitter and burnt (instead of 'roasted') as some chains would sell it to you. We had a great time and took the time to enjoy this. so in short: room was good, bath was good, bed was good; breakfast was excellent as was the service, something that you want to go back to right away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    We will go back to the Marshall Slocum Inn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proprietor was a wonderful concierge! Provided excellent recommendations and tickets to events. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast exceeded expectations .. there was a wide choice of delectable breakfast items, much more varied than a typical B&B.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall, an excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would’ve liked a little more space in the room to sit and to store clothes.

    The front porch was great to hang out on. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and spacious, the breakfast was excellent. Very relaxed atmosphere and easy to feel at home. Overall, an excellent stay and we were happy with it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My parents celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary in Newport this past weekend and they told me the meals, service and room were top notch! Thank you for making their time in Newport extra special.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    A beautiful experience at the Marshall Slocum Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the owners and staff to be eager to assure that our stay was a good experience. They were helpful with directions, tourists offerings as well as dining options.

    I absolutely loved our physical location. The neighborhood was beautiful and from the inn, it was just a ten minute walk into the center of town. It was easy to interact with the staff as well as the other guest at the inn. Sitting on the front porch and deck made you feel very much at home as it gave you an opportunity to talk with the other guest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Greeted by a very professional young lady who showed us to our room which was beautifully appointed, great shower and comfy bed. Breakfast the next morning was lovely with lots of choice and the chef was a gentleman. I would highly recommend this b&b to any traveller and being in the hospitality industry we appreciate them all the more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Cute little Inn with lots of extras!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great!

    Arriving at the Marshall Slocum Inn we were greeted by one of the lovely staff, shown where to park our car, shown around our room, given a map with all the main attractions of Newport and recommended places to eat which was very helpful. Our room was on the top floor which we loved with a view of the backyard. The room was super clean and the bed was very comfortable, shower had great pressure. Loved the option to make tea and coffee throughout the day and we loved sitting on the front porch. Breakfast was amazing, lots of options to choose from and cooked to order by Mark, who was lovely. It set us up for a great day exploring Newport, if we were to come back we’d 100% stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    The overall atmosphere of the Inn was comfortable and homey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall atmosphere of the Inn was comfortable and homey. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable and the rooms provided all that you needed for your stay (even an iPad for personal use)! The complimentary breakfast was delicious and you had various menu options that you would not be offered at a typical hotel. The staff was very friendly and willing to provide any recommendations needed. Location was also great. Only a 3 minute walk to restaurants and bars and a 10-15 minute walk to downtown Newport (Thames street and the Warfs). I will be recommending this Inn to friends and family and will definitely be returning for another stay if I ever find myself back in Newport!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Best kept secret in Newport, RI
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    the common area was tastefully decorated. The room is comfortable and simple in styling. Well maintained and very clean. Coffee available around the clock.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.5
    Relaxing and most enjoyable place to stay. We would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gratuity option on the final bill we found unusual - in many years of world travel this is something we've not previously encountered.

    Beautiful old house, tastefully renovated on a very pretty street. We really enjoyed our stay at Marshall Slocum - the owner Mark and his staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent - if you stay try the stuffed French toast or any of the other items on the menu. It was very nice to have the option of tea or coffee at all times of the day - most appreciated after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Quiet, perfect and relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was an excellent stay. We slept like a dream in the super comfy beds and loved waking up every day to a freshly made breakfast. Mark and his team did everything and beyond to make our stay a special and very personal one (it was a big birthday) and was seriously one of the best weekends we have ever had. Location is perfect and almost everything you could want is within walking distance. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and price. They served a great breakfast out on the back patio was terrific! French toast and pancakes were very good. Friends liked their omelettes. Very nice staff. I would definitely recommend to others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Delightfully quaint , charming and relaxing in fantastic location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a lovely, charming inn in a fantastic location. Unfortunately our plans changed and we couldn't enjoy the breakfast as we had to be away early in the morning. The furnishings were very tasteful and antique to fit with the period of the building. Loved the swing seat on the verandah

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.6
    I guess our biggest disappointment was the fact that it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess our biggest disappointment was the fact that it was quite expensive and unfortunately we had to leave suddenly due to the illness of my father. We got the phone call right after breakfast and left. They told us that they would rebate us if they could rent the room for our second night. I know it was a very busy weekend and people all over we’re looking for rooms. Obviously I’ll never know if they took advantage and rented the room and just decided not to rebate us. At no time did they even express any condolences or offers to give us partial money back. When I called to follow up on whether or not the room was rented the second night I was told no it was not. I was also told that no I would not get any type a rebate because that was business and that is the contract we signed. All of the above is true and the owed us absolutely nothing legally . The room was nice and it was clean and breakfast was good. Just not too friendly or sympathetic to our emergency

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time from the UK to Newport and first time staying in an Inn. Was amazing experience, great room, great location and I liked the onsite parking. Was very lucky with the weather and had breakfast on the patio which was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    wish I could stay longer, and gave the adress to firends already!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    King size bed, Netflix available, great choice of breakfast. The house is located near the Mansions and the center, so it is easy to go around visiting. It is very calm and cosy, with larg king size beds and beautifulll bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apt’s furnishings could be updated and the walk from the inn could be paved—maybe with stones or slate as it was a little messy

    Breakfast was very nice with a little variety. Apt was well-equipped and spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to visit and stay over for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ZERO!!

    very friendly owners and staff. breakfast and suggestions were super!! perfect location for all the mansions and whatever we wanted to do. the young lady who welcomed us was very well trained and friendly. loved it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Warm and Inviting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Yes, the bed was made like a 'cloud' and comfy, as was the room. We had the apt. and it was very spacious and well done in a simple way. There were always warm sweets and coffee ready in their beautiful dining area that is gorgeously done. Would highly recommend. Warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice B&B in the heart of Newport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was a bit run down. With a bit of renovation it would be great. Bed was soft for our taste.

    Easy going staff, Nice old style room design, good location and fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Especially with the winter rates, this was well worth the money. Hope to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hmmm...can't think of a thing.

    Great, cozy bed! Delicious breakfast (with an optional shot of Bailey's Irish Cream)! Very helpful innkeeper...easy parking in back...lovely 1850 home....quiet location, yet close to downtown.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    My wife and I have been home now for a day,and we both wish we could be back at the Marshal Slocum ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one complaint I guess I had ,was no TV,although they did provide a iPad with Netflix,it's just not the same as a TV.It wouldn't stop me from going back to stay,I watch TV to help me sleep,so that's my hang up

    Mark makes a perfect omelette.we could not believe the amount of choices on the menu.The bed was super soft, it was almost like you just sunk into it,very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Great little find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No television in the room which I loved, but my husband was disappointed, but there was an iPad available to watch local programmes and films.

    Good location. The bed was so comfortable and the breakfast was very nice especially the chefs omelette I also loved the freshly baked cookies and hot coffee available when we returned from our days out.Mark was very helpful and gave us some great advice on things to do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    The owner/innkeeper Mark was exceptionally informative...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner/innkeeper Mark was exceptionally informative and very interested in meeting the needs of his guests. My wife and I enjoyed our stay immensely. And the breakfasts were delicious!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Would highly recommend the Marshall Slocum Inn for first time or repeat visitors to Newport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, though really clean, needed a non-slip mat in the bathtub/shower.

    Loved the Inn.....location, comfort (great bed and pressed sheets) welcoming Innkeepers, tasteful decor, cleanliness...and a real breakfast (off a menu!). Not a big fan of B & B's usually, but will be more open minded after this experience...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    A very relaxing and enjoyable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shower was a bit intense, but that was very minor.

    Service was great, breakfasts were fantastic. Inn was clean and well kept and full of character. Definitely will stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our first bed and breakfast and it was a great experience. It was cosy, the staff was very nice. It really felt like home. We'll be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Outstanding blueberry pancakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect

    We stayed in a lodge just outside the main house, very comfortable with everything we needed. Coffee and cookies were available in the main house on our arrival. Breakfast was prepared and cooked by our host, and our choices were first class, the blueberry pancakes and the French toast were both superb

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    We were very pleased & loved Newport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room was in need of repair/replacement & the shades were ripped & broken.

    The bed was very comfortable & the breakfast was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.0
    Will go more central and modern in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not sure if the owners feel that old and dated decor and furniture are a feature for this property, in our opinion we believe you can have traditional combined with luxury to help make a more pleasant experience.Also distance from front line City amenities I.e. Restaurants, shops and bars a good fifteen minutes walk and all down hill to start so a harder walk back uphill.

    Breakfast nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed this quaint inn located in a prime area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the mattress far too firm. The vanity in our bathroom was very small.

    Innkeepers were very friendly. Location was great- you could walk everywhere. On-site, off Street parking. Delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable, historic inn with good vibes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much really. My rating is probably based on value for money in the UK compared to US The Inn can't help that

    Location, prettiness of property and attention to detail on furnishings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable accommodation, would be very happy to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Beautifully presented accommodation, in a building of character, within easy walking distance of Newport centre. Very friendly and helpful hosts, and excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Delightful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very comfortable. The location was good with walking distance to area stores and restaurants, but on a quiet street. The breakfast was delicious. I would recommend it to friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Great inn, great hospitality in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really helpful and friendly greeting from Chelsea. The inn and our room were lovely, clean, cute and comfortable. Faultless. Great location, only 10mins walk to the harbourside. Breakfast was amazing, cooked to order.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved staying at Marshall Slocum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but we would have enjoyed cereal before the breakfast main course.

    Delightful place to stay. Lovely room with exceptionally comfortable bed. Tasty breakfasts.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    An Inn with a difference in Newport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Welcoming staff. The proprietors arranged tickets for our visit to the Newport mansions. Breakfast around a large table with fellow guests was very sociable. We stayed in the cottage which was convenient for loading and unloading the car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay in Newport with delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't find the parking entrance at night when we arrived.

    Beautiful house in Newport. Very comfortable, clean and beautifully arranged. Delicious breakfast and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Felt like love and care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No more time to spend there

    We were made to feel welcomed from the minute we arrived. Loved our sweet hostess and wish her the best in her beautiful life. Also love meeting the owner and our perfect breakfast on th porch. Our room was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    100% perfect in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, relaxed and a home from home, truly one of the best places I have stayed. We had 3 rooms, one in the main house, the cottage, and 1 apartment. All the little small things had been thought off and the property was immuclaute. We will be back, we especially enjoyed the the breakfast and how much choice was on offer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we enjoyed everything ! was perfect

    Spent 3 days at the end of a 3 weeks tour across New England. Clean, well maintained rooms, charming, great breakfast, human sized, walking distance from almost everything ! Very friendly owners and employees , good recommendation for restaurant around and visits

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Would come back again gladly :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cute accomodation, good breakfast, nice garden at the back of the property. Overall had a great experience. A big plus that you can rent bikes directly from the Inn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Visit to Newport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no fixed TV. The iPad for viewing TV was small and awkward but acceptable.

    Would like to proximity to the downtown area. Dr. Wendy the outside patio for breakfast was very delightful and the front porch also. The breakfast was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were excellent. We really enjoyed the relaxed breakfast served on the outdoor deck. I was impressed with the breakfast menu options and the quality of the food and presentation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Lovely B+B close to downtown and mansions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great!

    Walking distance to downtown restaurants and shopping, but very quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed having a nice breakfast on the back deck prepared by the chef, Mark. Our third floor room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.6
    Way overrated. Certainly not a its current rating.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not tell you if your room was on the third floor you had to carry your luggage up actually six flights of stairs. Terrible if you are older and they assigned to the third floor. No ice. Little further than you think to walk to the harbor for dinner.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Lovely, Relaxing, and Peaceful Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were 3 friends just catching up for a 1 night getaway. We had the "apartment" with a double bed and a single bed, which was just perfect for the 3 of us. The room came with a living room area with a couch and chairs, and also a kitchen/bar area, which we didn't expect and was a nice little bonus. The beds were so comfortable and the decor was lovely. The bathroom was also nice and big and clean, with all the towels/robes/toiletries we would need. We loved the beautiful property, which was quiet and peaceful. The inn itself is within walking distance to the main street area, wharf, or restaurants. Staff was also really welcoming and friendly. Overall we loved our short stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    The Perfect B & B!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over all, everything was Excellent!! However, what impressed me most was that we were given a menu to choose on our breakfast!! It was prepared perfectly!! Kudos to Mark!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful Inn - didn't want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish we could have stayed longer

    Beautiful, beautiful Inn! We stayed in the guest house which was so nice and comfortable. The location is a short walk to Thames street, parking was easy in the lot and everyone was so friendly. In general, Newport is expensive but it was worth the extra dollars to stay in this great place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    An excellent experience that made us not want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect! :)

    I was nervous about staying at a B&B because we have always stayed at chains before, but this was an awesome experience. The owner, Mark, knows all of his visitors, is willing to answer any questions, and the whole place has a great personal touch. We stayed in the apartment which is detached from the rest of the inn, so I don't know how it is to stay in the inn, but we loved having our own little suite. It was clean, charming, and the location is PERFECT. The breakfast was delicious (and a good portion size too), and there is always coffee/tea available. The place itself has the charm and character of a b&b, but is also renovated and modern so you don't feel like you're staying in a run down hotel or anything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    summer retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thumps were all that could be heard occasionally from neighboring room. We are familiar with old homes not having totally soundproof walls, so this did not bother us at all. It is part and parcel to enjoying historical buildings.

    Room was airey. If one does not like fresh air, central air/ heat available. Hulo and free wifi with Ipad available in room. Wonderful double porch swing. 15 minute walk or less to area restaurants and shops. Bike rentals and pre-purchase mansion tour tickets available on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Great Newport Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was wonderful and the ambience of the house was true to its period. The king size bed was very comfortable and all the amenities were present. We would definitely stay there again! Mark was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Great location and charming inn. We loved the breakfasts and the lovely garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed in the windowsill could have been more comfortable.

    We had 3 of us in the apartment which worked out beautifully for us. We loved having our own living room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been great to have a stand for the iPad - as there is no TV in the room

    Wonderfully friendly and helpful team, great breakfasts and picturesque

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about this property. It is a good 10 minute walk to the Main Street but it's a really nice walk with lots of beautiful homes along the way. Definitely not a problem.

    This is a beautiful Inn. Rooms decorated to a high standard. Comfortable bed. Great bathroom. Delicious breakfast and attentive staff. Tea/coffee available all day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Inviting and Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great spot located away from the touristy areas yet close enough to walk or bike. Beautiful neighborhood and the house and accommodations are great. Our hosts were wonderful, engaging, and very helpful. Breakfast is cooked to order from many selections. Nice outside porch. We stayed in the cottage which was very private. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Newport is a lovely town made nicer by the Marshall Slocum Inn.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Little wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm welcome and very nice of her to upgrade us to a better bedroom since they have some available. Great tips and recommendations on what to do in Newport. The room was great, very good size and comfortable bed. WiFi and tablet included. The breakfast was freshly cooked by the chef and absolutely delicious and filling. Fresh coffee, tea and snacks available at all times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    A room, a quiet street and a welcome each evening
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people might not want an inn type atmosphere. If you want a hotel this isn't itt. But if you want an Inn, this is an excellent one

    Character and friendliness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is overrated in the reviews. For nearly $300 a night we got a very small room with a very small bathroom and the pleasure of hearing every noise from the room next door. Room decor and amenities were below standard. Probably the plainest B&B I have stayed at. Breakfast was ok, but really just ok, nothing to write home about.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    The meals were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much !!!

    The meals were fantastic. alot of local flavor such as the Portugese sausage omlete. the staff was very friendly but not in the way. overall vintage style all the way.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Good for off-season price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - We're not that comfortable with 'strangers', so having a community table at breakfast was a bit uncomfortable. Especially when there were people who wanted to talk. - The apartment was in a different building. We knew that, but we didn't know you would have to walk through someone's backyard. Unfortunately it was raining during our trip and the grass we had to cross was soaked and muddy. I also found the moss covered wooden stairs up the apartment slightly dangerous. - It says kitchenette in the description, but has no stove at all. It comes with a sink, coffeemaker, electric hot water kettle and microwave. - It looks more modern on the photos than it is. I found the interior of the apartment slightly worn out.

    - The breakfast à la carte! The portion size was just right and it tasted great! (You could even get more, if you were still hungry.) - We had the one-bedroom apartment, which was pretty big, nice and clean. - The area is quiet (it was off-season though) and most things were more or less in walking distance – the mansions, cliffwalk, restaurants and shops. I say more or less, because it is a little far to walk to the mansions and cliffwalk. We walked it, but for (small) children, elderly people or someone who can't walk too much, it might be too far.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Charming, great location, amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room temperature was a little hard to control, but ended up being fine.

    Charming inn with quaint rooms and an AMAZING breakfast. Owner Mark was very nice and helpful as was Chelsea. Parking behind the inn was ample. They provided iPads with Netflix and Hulu! Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    TOO SHORT A STAY...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't turn off the "fireplace." We just put the air conditioner on

    Everyone was very friendly. The inn is so clean & quaint. My daughter & I loved it. We had gone on a college tour of Salve Regina University (5 minutes away) & stayed overnight. The Newport shops & restaurants are within walking distance. Breakfast in the morning was excellent! I wish we could've stayed longer. I would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Mark and Chelsea could not do enough for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't change a thing! My family and I are going back in 4 months

    Mark and Chelsea could not do enough for us Fully knowledgeable of the area attractions provided maps and pointed out incredible site s

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Quaint B&B in Newport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was raining and we had to walk through mud to get over to our apartment off the main property. We did not know that we were not in the main house, however, the owner was nice enough to offer my elderly mother a bedroom in the main house which we thought was above and beyond what he needed to do.

    We stayed in the apartment next to the main house and it worked out perfect the three of us. It was like a small apartment. with a kitchenette. We walked over for breakfast in the morning and were greeted by the owner/chef. The breakfast was delicious and we really felt like we were just as important as everyone else in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather was too cold so we decided to stay in, but the only entertainment was an iPad??? So we huddled around it and struggled to hear it. This was to celebrate our 41st anniversary and it was my choice. I kept apologizing for the accommodations. It just never occurred to me a B&B could be this lame. I should have done my homework better.

    Breakfast was great1

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    Charming B&B close to the Newport mansions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was terrific with a lot of choices that were expertly prepared. Great staff that was always friendly. Great room with a great shower. Good wifi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    10
    Just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire experience - from the moment we checked in until we checked out - was so lovely! Couldn't have asked for anything better, it was exactly what we were looking for. Bit of an escape to a gorgeous inn in a gorgeous city - thank you Marshall Slocum!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.3
    Good location, clean, comfortable, breakfast was fancy but scant, no TV in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good, ordered items from a menu, cooked to order. Not big portions and seconds were not offered. No pastries or anything extra on table. Left still hungry. NO TV in room- just an I-Pad! Couldn't get CNN and hard for two to watch anything.

    Room was immaculate and bed was amazing. Staff was friendly and helpful. Coffee available round the clock.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    10
    An ideal oasis for a weekend or longer stay in one of America's most unique cities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well-appointed, comfortable and clean rooms. Friendly, knowledgeable staff serving excellent breakfast and p.m. tea. Convenient location with off street parking and pleasant walk to shopping and attractions.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check out, I was prompted to leave a tip. I've never been prompted to leave a tip at checkout. Not very professional.

    Breakfast was excellent. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Marshall Slocum Inn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: