Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3 stars

3549 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104, USA

#62 of 79 hotels in Philadelphia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 536 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    7.9
    Great location to Penn but just a generic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fitness room could use a deep clean of the equipment. Parking was $35/day in the adjacent garage. For the money, it lacks personality and is just a basic above average hotel experience.

    Great location to U Penn. Standard US double bed room with expected amenities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.5
    Ran out of the everyday items you expect to find in a...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of the everyday items you expect to find in a upscale oriental restaurant. Their excuse was that the main courses were reserved for a “large party” and they only had a soup menu for everyone else.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.6
    There are better places to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service is abysmal. The front desk manager is condescending and generally unhelpful..

    The location is fine and the rooms are fine. Nothing special.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 1722 is extremely musty. I got sick from it and we had to switch room. In fact all my clothes and liggage smelled horrible after 1 night in that room and i had headaches, stomach aches and allergy symptoms.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    The room was lovely-clean and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby had obviously lost its air conditioning. It was temporarily cooled by portable units. Considering how sweaty it would have been the jury-rigged AC was pretty good. I hope they get it fixed soon.

    The room was lovely-clean and inviting. The beds were okay; they could use a little more cushioning. But on the whole a nice place. I saved money by parking elsewhere in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    I stayed here to take my USMLE step 2 CS exam, which is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow old elevators.

    I stayed here to take my USMLE step 2 CS exam, which is located 2 blocks from the hotel. Great location in the university city, surrounded by many good restaurants and cafés. Large windows with an amazing view. Extremely helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.4
    Barring the great location it’s disappointing.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody cleaned the room despite requests. You had to follow up on requests that were not met. The staff just said yes but never followed through despite reminders for anything . We had to keep getting the keys reset.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Super convenient we will stay there again.
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator service was slow and somewhat intermittent. The faucet in the tub was a bit wonky too.

    The location is ideal for the universities near by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Great time in University City, the hotel was so accommodating it made it hard to want to leave to g
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish breakfast could have lasted until 11.

    My family and I enjoyed the breakfast spread. Staff were very friendly, Octavia at the front desk was especially charming and helpful. She had a warm and wonderfully welcoming attitude.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Would definitely recommend this place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not included I price of room and a little expensive.

    Tammy at check in was exceptional. The whole experience was very easy. Beautiful place,room was very clean and comfortable. Places to eat within walking distance. Independence Hall close enough to walk,also other attractions easy to walk to. Parking not included in price and a little expensive but, convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is conveniently located. Room was clean and comfortable, although a bit noisy.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was near elevator which kept the noise level high when other hotel guests were exiting & entering.

    Nice clean & modern shower/tub. Comfortable beds with lots of pillows. Good Variety of workout equipment in hotel gym.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.6
    Cleaning service didn’t have room cleaned by 4pm both days,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning service didn’t have room cleaned by 4pm both days, had to cancel room service both days even though I was gone from 7-4. Says there is a continental breakfast but there isn’t

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    The stay was awesome... but wish we got hotel points for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We didn't receive hotel points for our stay cause we booked with bookings.com. Next time we will book directly with chains like starwood , marriott, hyatt as not getting hotel points is a real bummer.

    The club floor worked out great for us. Starbucks coffee round the clock and snacks made it worth the extra price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay to visit Drexel University or UPenn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very freindly staff :-). Location adjacent to Penn and Drexel is ideal, walking distance to everything. Sang Kee Noodle House located in the hotel is the best Asian in the area!! Starbucks is 1 block walk. Train station is a few blocks, available taxis in front of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Would return to this hotel again. Good location. I want clean and comfortable for a good price.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    A refrigerator in the room would be good. The restaurant has Thai food, which I heard was great. However, there is a full American menu right across the street and not expensive. My friend prefers American food. This is not a real negative; I thought I would mention it.

    The room was clean/comfortable. Staff was cheerful, very helpful. No refrigerator, but plenty of ice machines. Checked out at noon, but car was allowed to stay in garage until 6 pm. $35 total cost. Got good deal on line.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Good facility.. ... poor staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room sevice will not do your room unless you call them. Crowded elevators with long waiting lines. Dim room lights.

    Clean spacious rooms. Quiet and calm especially for someone preparing for usmle cs exam. Close to amenities and 5 min walk distance from exam center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Comfortable bed no refrigerator in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the rooms.

    We got in late. 12am. Called the property around 10pm to let them know we were on my way and the key were ready at the front desk no hassle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, Sheraton is really a great place to stay around universities, especially for temporary business affairs for traveling. It doesn’t look like a luxury hotel outside. But it has great decorate and facilities inside. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. It’s also a quiet place if u don’t wanna be disturbed by noise. And around here you can find everything u want, it’s quite convenient. I like the amiable staffs and service here is great. With the reasonable price I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    They were friendly in the reception.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think they should call themselves pet friendly with the pet policy they've got. Breakfast was not included either.

    They were friendly in the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Not worth what I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was placed on the 7th floor, i.e. with a view of the 6th floor parking lot - terrible. Young people on my floor partied and screamed all evening. I had to call the Reception and ask them to send security. Security did not do their job, I had to call again and threaten them with calling the police. The swimming pool is unattractive and, again, unusable given how many overexcited teenagers use it. The restaurant looks terrible.

    great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Only if no better place is available.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although very clean, the rest of room (#1212) was very worn down, damaged (I took photos), and not really suited to feel "home away from home". Pool (still) not open yet. No late check-out available for me.

    Comfy bed. That's it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    All was goid except noisy neighbours at the next rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though we asked for a quiet room since my wife was going to take an exam next day, we got the noisiest room ever. Extra noisy teenagers next room made lots of noises until 11 pm. This place is hosting lots of people for this exam, so please double check and at least cumulate all people who will take the exam at the same floor.

    All was goid except noisy neighbours at the next rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Super close to UPenn and Drexel and all very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks like it was probably last renovated 15-20 years ago in most places. I didn’t find it bothersome but some might not like the slightly older bath counters and fixtures.

    Staff at front desk was super friendly. Parking was very easy (though not cheap, but consistent with High hotel parking prices). Chinese restaurant in lobby was excellent! The gym had a surprisingly large number of very new machines, definitely better than the average hotel gym, and the outdoor pool looked like it would be very nice although only open Memorial Day to Labor Day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra charge for parking the car, and for a bottle of water in the room. With all the money they charge just for 1 night they shouldn't nickle and dime you.

    The staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy with the helicopters coming and going. Bed was just slightly uncomfortable.

    The room was very nice. Loved the weight of the bedding. Easy check in and check out. Staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.9
    Checking in at 3 PM and Checking out at 1PM next day for over $US 200 for a 3star hotel is expensive
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room carpets are old and dusty. The bathroom tub is not clean and its drain is almost plugged . The wash basin is not clean and its individual hot and cold water taps are difficult to adjust to get the right water temperature. The towels does not have a scent of proper washing. The soap bar quality is awful. The hair dryer is very old and filthy , sticky from the outside with dust glued to it.

    The location, the staff , the coffee and WIFI and the beds comfort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    MEMORABLE!!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Continental Breakfast. At 218$ should have had that available. When I made the reservation it said that breakfast was included but when I inquired at the front desk they said that my package did not apply. I really think that it was because of the EAGLES parade crowd.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.3
    Best location for UPenn medical center- otherwise mediocre hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby unacceptably cold- could not sit there without winter jacket. Staff says this is "normal" in winter (they have space heaters behind the counter and have to "layer-up". Wifi in lobby spotty. No onsite breakfast possibility. On site restaurant Asian cuisine only. Elevator system antiquated and slow.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.8
    The check in staff person was personable and engaging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in staff person was personable and engaging. Room was clean but somewhat cramped. Location was incredibly convenient and daily parking was a great value. Being able to come in and out for same flat rate was an added bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    4.6
    It was dirty and had bugs 🐜
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were bugs in the bathroom. Because I was staying two nights I upgraded to a suite. I expected it to be clean. Staff didn’t seemed to be too worried about it. I had sinus surgery the next morning and they finally decided to move us. We had to repack everything after surgery. It was disgusting and frustrating. They should have given me my money back. Will never stay there again.

    It was close to the hospital.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed the Philadelphia and the Hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big and pretty nice. I found everything in the room such as iron, slippers and washing facilities.

    I did not find the right place to take meal. Probably it is only one thing that I did not like

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and welcoming, but not memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood is in University area. Not so great for charm and seeing tourist sights. Pool is only seasonal--a winter heating/tenting would be nice. Hotel restaurant is Chinese.

    The best thing was the wonderful, friendly staff. All were helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    Convenient hotel for bussines in Penn area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast in club room, not real good selection of food

    Very kind and helpfull staff, good location, clean room, close to downtown bus station and University SEPTA station for an easy connection to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.1
    If you need to be close to Penn campus stay here otherwise go elsewhere.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon did not work properly, the deco of the room is terrible, it's outdated and the rooms quite small when you travel with suitcases. Considering this the price was quite high. For the same price you get a lot nicer in town. The only big plus is it's next to campus.

    That's it's very close to Penn campus. Staff is friendly and the parking is in the same building and cheap ( 28 dollars per 24hrs)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    The location is perfect but the hotel was anything but Sheraton that we know..
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no breakfast ? And the breakfast in the office floor was not good enough...Rooms are old and small ...Could not stop air conditioning unless unplugging it !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice location, near to bus station (mega bus, bolt bus, etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two of the towels weren’t that clean (they had stains on it), but we had enough other towels

    Nice location, near to bus station (mega bus, bolt bus, etc..) Modern facility, very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    Room was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not cleaned after my first night's stay. I let the front desk know at 4:30 pm when I headed out again but when I arrived back at 9:30 pm the room still had not been cleaned. When I told them the next day, I asked for new towels and bottles of water, which they readily supplied. However, I thought they should have done more than that. I imagine this was not a common occurrence but it certainly will make me think twice about staying there again. They did not seem particularly concerned about a pretty big mistake. Also would be great if lobby offered tea in addition to coffee. . .

    Room was very comfortable. Terrific comforters, a/c easy to regulate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Restful, well-supplied hotel next to two campuses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking structure was a bit tight and confusing. Attendant kept my ticket even though I still had privileges to park until 6:00 PM.

    Like the coffee and real half and half in lobby. Like the option of earning something for forgoing laundered towels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Would stay here again, convenient location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow elevator wait time. Carpet had what looked like dead skin all over between beds. Gross. Restaurant: Sat at bar near big table that had a big circular lazy suzan that was clear glass. It was ready for seating, but IT WAS FILTHY. Looked like it was attempted to be cleaned, but was just SMEARED GREASE. Grossed us out so much we decided to eat elsewhere. Room service food was cold, potatoes were like gravel. I can't imagine how hard it must be to try and get hot food to that many rooms, so we didn't complain, but wouldn't order again from room service for breakfast. Didn't complain about any of this because seriously, there are others in much worse situations, don't sweat the small stuff. But if it helps you provide better service and improve your business, have at it. :-)

    Friendly front desk. Friendly bartender and room service server. Location good for visiting hospital.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    The reception let us check-in before the official check in...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel fixtures are a bit old in particular the bathroom.

    The reception let us check-in before the official check in time. The hotel was right beside UPenn making it convenient for parents to help their children during move-in day of UPenn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice and comfortable and very convenient location, price okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entertainment in the room is not too sophisticated. We brought our own fire stick and tried to plug into the HDMI port which was available, but didn't work and was told that the port probably wasn't activated. We also had some trouble getting TV guide to come up first, but the engineered fixed it.

    Lobby was spacious and comfortable. I also like the restaurant at ground floor - lots of selections and pretty good quality. Location is super - Wawa across the street, value convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay in Philadelphia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was too notch. The bed was super comfortable. We didn't hear any other guests while we were in our room The parking garage was very convenient. Great location. We will stay there again 😊

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location. Expensive as hell, including parking.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive. Don't eat there - literally across the street there is WAWA ( a huge grocery store) , tons of restaurants etc. They seem to have limited knowledge of Upenn and Drexel which is shocking since they are right there.

    Clean, Well maintained

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Will return to this hotel because of the location , security and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of room. A little on the expensive side but hotel was conveniently located to campus. The hotel did not offer a free breakfast

    Cleanliness of rooms free bottled water in room accessibility to campus and free Starbucks coffee in the lobby! Hope in the future the hotel considers a free breakfast bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.6
    There is one night that the cleanser didn't clean my...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is one night that the cleanser didn't clean my room. I called the guest service twice and they promised to come and get me serviced. However, I waited for two hours, didn't get a shower and kept waiting just in case the cleanser will come, but no one ended up coming. Definitely not worth 200 usd a night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice to see west Philadelphia doing better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is getting a bit "long in the tooth" as the Brits say. They are doing renovations, however. When original room "failed" (sink stopped), we were upgraded to another room, given "Club" status, and received a rebate. Manager was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    no frig in room, parking fees high and added after we...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no frig in room, parking fees high and added after we arrived and not included in cost of room displayed when booked! No bathroom in lobby which was weird to me, no free continental breakfast, weird on site restaurant. Room poorly stocked... one of the coffee packets was opened and missing items, no garbage bags in the pails, rigged up charging ports by the bed with cords for all exposed. Just an overall eh experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    My family has a nice stay there over all.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had some issue with TV. At first we couldn't get the TV Guide to come up, engineer fixed it. We brought our own fire stick and tried it with HDMI plug console but that didn't work, so it was kind of disappointing we couldn't get our fire stick to work with console. I was working from the lobby, having to share the space with a couple of other folks also working and on the phone. It would be nice if the business section had a couple of some closed units with plugs.

    Like the location, the spacious lobby. Business section seems a bit limited. Very convenient to restaurants and convenience stores. We're there for medical treatment and the location is perfect, close to CHoP.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    The beds and pillows were comfortable and the parking garage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked tired. The popcorn ceiling was peeling off in several places and had evidently been patched many times. The wallpaper and rug looked like it could use a replacing. The shower curtain rod was dislodged so the curtain never hung right and got in the way of the toilet. The lighting in the bathroom was merely adequate. It was dusty. I expected more from a Sheraton.

    The beds and pillows were comfortable and the parking garage connected directly to the lobby of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    No breakfast was provided.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast was provided. Coffee did not arrive in time for my use (after 7 am), extra charge for parking and for photocopies and scanning of documents. These should have been part of the free services provided by an expensive hotel. I was very disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    GREAT STAY IN UNIVERSITY CITY
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower pressure was a bit low; elevator and doors to garage are dated, but functional.

    the bed was very comfortable! Parking onsite is very convenient. Walkable to Drexel, Penn and subway and train station. Restaurants and shopping also nearby. Safe area with UPenn and Drexel bike patrols.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location, pricey for the condition.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed to be refurbished. Ceiling had patched spots, tub did not drain well, and toilet needed work. I did ask for toilet repair and maintenance did come, but it didn't solve the problem.

    Location was ideal for our purpose. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Room was clean , bed comfortable parking cost to high for...
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean , bed comfortable parking cost to high for one day. I would think a place of this caliber would not have to charge a arm and a leg to park.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    From front desk to house keeping personnel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not having a fridge in the room was a BIG disappointment. Can't remember when I've stayed in a Hotel, from around the globe, and did not have a refrigerator. Close to negating the good.

    From front desk to house keeping personnel was excellent. Pleasant, informative, patient especially Bree who welcomed us in on arrival. The bed was great! Excellent firmness and quality bed linen. Room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.3
    most expensive run down place I've ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no onsite parking, the room was old, ragged floors, deteriorated walls and ceilings, the door lock almost falling off the door, not maintained at all. Not what you would expect for the price.

    the only good thing was the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    The best of the best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is large and comfortable and I really enjoyed the view. It's pretty close to the 30th Station, which is very convenient and the location is nearby UPenn and Drexel university so I enjoyed long walks there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    Clean as a whistle
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for 3 Business center non existent VIP suite closed Parking expensive for guests, charge locals more give room card holders less. Room a bit more expensive than I remember.

    Clean Brie Marie-Perez makes the place beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    A relaxing evening, a good night's sleep, and excellent coffee in the morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It rained, but not within your control.

    Breakfast was good. Bed very comfortable Good view from the 20th floor. 1st time visit to Philsdelphia. Beautiful city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Family Friendly Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great! There's shops and restaurants all in walking distance from the hotel. The staff was welcoming and the hotel was very clean. The parking costs about $25 per day but it was definitely convenient. I would stay at this hotel again!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    staff were friendly, and concierge was absolutely great-...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lobby was undergoing a major renovation- check-in desk was almost buried under tarps, etc. It didn't hugely impact our stay, but it would have been nice to have been aware- it was a little creepy to walk into a construction site late at night in a strange city, as I was not expecting to see a demolished lobby.

    staff were friendly, and concierge was absolutely great- contributed to the quality of our trip. Location is perfect if visiting Penn.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location and convenient but the bed was uncomfortable and old and room temperature was too stu
    • Family with young children
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room temperature was too stuffy. I lowered the air but it didn't work well.The bed was not comfortable at all the mattress seemed old and there was a large divot in the middle. I was disappointed with the bed.

    Loved the location and the room set up.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.9
    I have traveled to other parts of Philly and were not happy...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were in the midst of renovations, which is always a good thing, but walking around guys on scaffolding, and noise was a little loud. But overall, a renovation is always good, so small inconveniences are worth it for updated hotel.

    I have traveled to other parts of Philly and were not happy with area. The Sheraton is located in a very nice area, no worries about walking anywhere, anytime of the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.3
    My stay was not worth the money
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I video the condition of the sheets on the bed it was disgusting. I book for one day we got the room took a shower and went back out to eat and clubbing when we came back we were tired so we went to bed after getting up in the morning ordering breakfast I start noticing the sheets on the bed saw that they had dirty sheets on the bed I felt so disgust I call the front desk to make a complain I told them am checking out early because of the condition how could they give me a nasty sheet to sleep on how could they? One night was almost $212 plus parking $25 and the food was $30 and I didn't enjoy any of it, also the room was dusty and I have asthma my hold stay wasn't worth it the money. I deserve a refund I check out early food wasnt up to standard either .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    6.3
    My room was beautiful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facility was under construction. No restaurant. During rush hour times of the day it took some time to get from the hotel to the convention center area

    My room was beautiful. The bathrobe was a great touch. The staff was friendly and accommodating from the desk clerk to the cleaning services

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    5.4
    Poor to moderate, expected better for location and 3 star rating. I did allow for constrution.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stains on sheets Bug in room (moved to new room) Rm 1717 Shower scalded my friend in new room. Did not use shower and reported on checkout RM:1719

    Very friendly staff. Great location to VA Hospital and Uiversities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.2
    Great location for University, room fine but nothing else good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't know hotel was being refurbished. Issue with fire alarm evacuation on first day at 7.15am. Issues with lifts and was on 18th floor. Power cut and dropped a floor, staff not sympathetic. Club room and breakfast did not cater for gluten free, despite requesting when I booked and complaining every day. Staff didn't seem to be sympathetic to any of my issues raised, not good customer service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    6.7
    Room was very nice and hallways were clean and did not show...
    • Couple
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My brother was staying in a hotel a few blocks away and it offered free breakfast and a light dinner for nearly the same cost as my room. Your hotel didn't offer anything.

    Room was very nice and hallways were clean and did not show excessive wear. Hotel was easy to get to. Onsite parking was convenient but pricy considering the hospital was half as much per day

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    4.6
    Close to Penn campus
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very old and run down. Rusted bathroom fixtures, toilet was very noisy when refilling, one elevator out of service, lobby was disorganized from construction.

    Close to Penn campus

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Great staff, location, etc
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one time I stayed I think the heater was broken it either was an ice box or a sauna, maybe I couldn't figure it out but nonetheless. The view was okay, I saw Penn stadium which was nice but the first time I was right above a parking deck.

    The location is fantastic! I spend weekends in University City sometimes and the location is perfect when visiting friends from both Penn and Drexel! The rooms are very clean, always smelt clean, sheets were clean, and bathrooms were nice as well. The room service is amazing as well, food was great! It's very quiet in the hotel as well which I enjoyed as I had papers and such to complete. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. They directed me to some great locations for dinner and were very enthusiastic and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.1
    Clean and convenient but overpriced on a routine Thursday
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price too high for a Thursday night in University City. Not fair to jack up the price that early in the week, especially for people needing a place to stay during nearby hospital procedures, which was the purpose of our visit.We're not all in town for fun and games.

    Convenient location for visiting Penn Medicine, the purpose of our trip/

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    4.2
    Someone speak English slowly with the foreigners, and most...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of breakfast

    Someone speak English slowly with the foreigners, and most someone come and knock the door and tell you the options u have for your breakfast and what additional rate u will expose for ordering breakfast but it's better to be with the present rate as I travelled a lot and no one askme about additional fee for the breakfast . Thank you

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    The room was very nice and comfortable, and all staff was...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked that the window opened, but the latch was broken. The traffic noise was just loud enough to be a distraction (though not terrible).

    The room was very nice and comfortable, and all staff was friendly and professional. We really enjoyed our stay and even added an additional night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    There wasn't a business center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There wasn't a business center. The in-house restaurant was an Asian restaurant. Would have been great if the in-house Restaurant offered a variety and not just Asian food.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast was definitively good however it should...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room gets too hot during the night and the air too dry. Soit wake me up, plus I had to get a saline spray solution for hydrating my nose.

    The breakfast was definitively good however it should include more typologies and varieties of food. TTe bed was confy and clean,the sheet were a bit too small and madeof non natural fiber like for instance coton or line.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.3
    Room heater not working.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room heater not working. After 2 calls worker finally arrives and fixes it. When it ran it made loud noises.... I lived with it as Idid not want to pack up to move to another room.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: