Skip to main content
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. North West hotel reviews
  4. Pilanesberg hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Black Rhino Game Lodge

Reviews of Black Rhino Game Lodge

s/n Pilanesberg National Park, North West Province, 0001 Pilanesberg, South Africa

#9 of 11 hotels in Pilanesberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1006 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.0

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2024

    10
    Amazing and memorable stay in nature with all confort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    X

    Open shower was soooo enjoyable ✨ Amazing confortable room/hut in nature 🌳🛖 Friendly staff 🥰 Great drives with knowledgeable ranger, Thanks Rassi for helping us spot so many animals 🛻📷🥰🐘🦏🐃🦓🦁🦒🇿🇦

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2024

    9.0
    Enjoyed our stay and the game drives and the new friends that we met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was good but not amazing

    Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2024

    10
    Everything is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2024

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ranger was at times a little non-communicative which was a bit odd and then at other times he was okay.... Just a little disappointing as we've experienced some fantastic passionate rangers in the past. The trip in general was good though and we would recommend this location.

    Amazing room, beautiful area and good quality food. Lovely and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2024

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay in room 6. The room was very old. Sheets and towels were dirty. There were yellow marks on the pillows sheets. My friends rooms newest and more clean but I can’t say the same thing our room.

    Safari experience was good. Our ranger was very friendly and knowledgeable. She was expert on her job. The safari was only thing we love about stay in black rhino. The breakfast and dinner were not too bad.

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2024

    9.0
    Excellent really enjoyed ourselves.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Meal in the Boma on the 24th December not up to scratch to other meals.

    Staff as previously really friendly and helpful, we got to see the big 5 again.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2024

    8.0
    Great value, gorgeous rooms and excellent food. Arrive early to ensure place on game drive though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were told we could not go on the safari as we had arrived late. The vehicles left whilst we were filling in check in paperwork. The manager finally arranged a vehicle for us and 2 other guest parties after a distressing start. The start of the game drive was awkward as the driver said nothing to anyone. A word from a friend in Afrikaans seemed to change the demeanour completely. We then discovered a dangerous elephant was frequenting the road outside the lodge and had attacked our driver days before. We saw him not long after and on both game drives- perhaps an unsafe situation to be in.

    The room was phenomenal. Beautifully laid out, clean and comfortable. The food was equally good. The mussels and squash a particular favourite.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2024

    8.0
    Very good sightings in a very confortable lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools very small and the pool area could be better arranged (no chairs, loungers etc available)

    Huge rooms - communicating together. Very nice common spaces (sofa, chill places, terrace)

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2024

    8.0
    It was a nice mini getaway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During dinner summer time, perhaps make a boma fire to attract the bugs in that direction or get repellent fire burning lamps or some sort

    Breakfast was ok., it was normal things, we've had better. Location was good

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2024

    10
    A trip to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got engaged, and the staff arrived a private drive with bubbles for us. Nothing was too much trouble. All meals from the trip were fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2024

    10
    My home away from home. Soul food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is amazing, staff are friendly and accommodating. They always exceed my expectations. I will be back again soon.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2023

    8.0
    Nice stay, perhaps a bit overpriced for current quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Sofas and lounge chairs in public spaces were dirty, not regularly cleaned. Always had to wipe surface clean ourselves before sitting. -warm towels they give you after the game drive smell slightly moldy and this smell lingers on your face after using them. This was the case after both game drives. -very long 1,5 hour drive on dirt roads just to get to the main part of Pilanesberg, so location does not seem optimal. -Cold beverage is not complimentary on game drive. -Chef could improve quality of side dishes in restaurant.

    -friendly staff -great guide -saw lots of animals in short time -nice spatious rooms - nice areas to relax

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2023

    9.0
    Guide Dolfie is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had the best time at black rhino with some amazing game drives to see the big 5, all due to our guide Dolfie! He showed us the beauty of the park and animals, was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Even birding is a new hobby now (Dolfie knows over 600 birds and their calls!). The accommodation is nice, staff is great, as is the food. We enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2023

    10
    Beautiful Place to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    FROGS- there were tons of them everywhere. If you don't get along with them, winter will be the best time to visit. I tried to ignore them but I just couldn't as they were allover.

    Everything!!!! ALL Associates were so wonderful mostly! Mmapula the server and Steven the guide. Very clean food- amazing plate presentation. Steven took really good care of us during game drives. Bit shy from the beginning but once he gets out of his own shell, we couldn't stop laughing!!!! Check-in procedure was super simple and less time consuming!!!

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2023

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they took us through the processes while staying there, especially on the game drives a little more.

    I was obsessed with the game drives. We went on all of them. Freedom did a great job. The food was also so amazing. I would 1000% go back for the kudu potjie.

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2023

    10
    This lodge is a diamond in the rough. From check in to tea to accommodating my food restrictions to celebrating my husba
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property was well maintained.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2023

    8.0
    Great Game sightings in a good lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both the room and the grounds were a little tired, they felt like a small refurb was needed to keep them to a high standard. The food was OK, but were were hoping for better quality. This is a mid-range lodge. You pay for the drinks on your evening drives (although in European prices they are very cheap), there is a lot of food included, but the quality varies a lot - the creamy squash was fantastic, afternoon tea options were poor.

    When reviewing a stay like this is has to primary be about the game drive and guide. We stayed for 2 nights so had 4 dives all of which were fantastic, we saw 4 of the big 5 and lots of other fantastic sightings. The lodge itself was very nice the staff were all so helpful and we had a luxury room which was huge with a massive bath and huge shower both of which were great after the cold morning drives! We were staying during the rugby world cup final and really enjoyed watching it on the big screen in the main lodge with other guests and the staff!

    Stayed in October 2023

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2023

    10
    Gorgeous location, amazing team members but be cautious if you have dietary needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have complex dietary needs and provided these via booking.com before arrival and to reception again when we checked in. Unfortunately, I still wasn't catered for. When I asked about the ingredients of the food one evening, the chef - who hadn't seen my list of allergies - said "I think you can probably have it", which isn't really good enough, as I didn't want to be unwell. It transpired that the dish in question contained butter and I cannot have dairy, so I would have ended up very ill. I've marked down my rating on value for money as I paid as much as the other guests staying but wasn't able to eat.

    The room was beautiful, the waiting staff and reception staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to make us feel at home. Our guide was incredible and really went above and beyond to give us some epic game drives, including an extended drive which meant 9 hours out in the bush. We've visited Black Rhino before and had no hesitation about coming back, and we'd love to visit again in the future.

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2023

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality, food, relaxation

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2023

    10
    Very nice place to enjoy the bush without traveling as far to Kruger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of water supply included in stay. Water should be supplied on safari and in the room daily without have to request or pay additional. It’s a basic need.

    Nice facilities. Great staff and food.

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2023

    7.0
    Good
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities was a bit of a let down Food was okay Very expensive for what was included

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2023

    10
    We would go back in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was too cool to swim so I didn’t see the pools but I think they are more for splashing than swimming.

    The staff are lovely. Very helpful and so friendly! They wanted us to have a wonderful visit. The food is very good with great selections. The fame drives were fantastic! We only didn’t see cheeta. (But I have visited 6 other parks over the years and never saw one!). Our ranger was also great. He gave us a lot of information about both wildlife and plants.

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2023

    8.0
    I had a great stay at the lodge and enjoyed the game drives a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool area was somewhat small and not at the same quality level as the rest of the lodge.

    I am very happy that I linked a businesstrip to Johannesburg with a weekend stay at the game lodge. Very nice and comfortable acommodation. Good facilities and great safaris. Going out before 5 in the morning seeing the wildlife was just amazing. The afternoon drives was also very nice. Very good meals at the lodge with a view to a waterhole.

    Stayed in October 2023

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2023

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with 2 Game Drives
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bush drives sparse animals. Guides not experienced. Morning trips into Pilanesberg rushed with guides staying on own tracks and following animals or listening to other guides

    Quite and comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. plenty of food cooked well

    Stayed in October 2023

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: