Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Limmathof 2 stars

Limmatquai 142, City Centre, 8001 Zürich, Switzerland

#94 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3374 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was Limited.

    The location was excellent. All three receptionists were helpful and courteous. The room was clean and it had a wonderful large bathtub!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Everything you need in a Hotel for a comfotable stay in Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The top floor was quite warm in September with only a fan to cool the room. No face cloths so bring your own.. The WI Fii kept disconnecting but when we told the staff they corrected the problem.

    The room was large for European standards. and clean. The staff was very helpful and they had a locked storage room where we could leave our bags for a few hours after we checked out so we could roam the city. Very close to HB train station, city center grocery store and shopping. The trams were just outside the hotel. . Older hotel but cute and quaint. The top floor was quiet and the beds comfortable. The room was sparse but we came to see the city not stay in our room. If we come to Zurich again we will stay here. HB 9 minutes to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a low maintenance trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brown colour of the sink and bath would not have been my preference but where clean and useable.

    Absolutely fantastic location and the view from the room was incredible. Very comfy bed clean room. All I needed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    Very central opposite train station and close to restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen exhausts of restaurant right outside 1st floor window meant constant food smell and noise

    Very central opposite train station and close to restaurants and bars

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Vibrant waterfront location with easy access to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning meant opening windows for cooling ventilation, with adjacent traffic making it quite noisy. The portable fan was a good inclusion !

    Vibrant waterfront location with easy access to the main train station, city centre and lakeside walking. Eating, shopping and recreation options abound nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Location and transport connection
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small. A bit noisy. Building in front of my windows did not allow light to get in and noise, suppose from some conditioners or something.

    Location and transport connection

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Awesome location and although very close to Central station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little dated but fair value for the price of hotel rooms in Switzerland.

    Awesome location and although very close to Central station it was nice and quiet in the evenings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Well-balanced budget hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will definitely need an adapter to the rosette. It’s ok with gadgets but I couldn’t use my hairdryer. No hairdryer.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet, as hotel located in city center it’s obvious that the streets are noisy. Closing the window help to deal with the problem. The cleaning makes everyday. Room with double bed is comfortable. The location is great. There are several supermarkets (coop, migros) around. Very close to the train station. The tram stop is opposite to the hotel (from airport about 40 minutes). To summarize, best for short staying (light trips), if you need to stay in the center and to familiarize with the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Zurich stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very very hot. NO air conditioning. Made worse because our room faced the afternoon sun. Also no tea/coffee making facilities. The reception made a thermos available for us though, which we brought up daily

    The reception desk was very accomodating with any requests that we had. He also carried our very heavy bags up the front steps.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Next to Central Station and most places of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast very basic, even extremely modest Very noisy room: Polybahn funicular is right opposite the window let alone trolley-bus and tram stop right under the window

    Next to Central Station and most places of interest. Helpful personnel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Decent hotel if you're staying for a day or two, otherwise seek better place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real issues it did the job, rooms could be more modern but that might just be the style - cant complain about the place, staff friendly - just overall id say a bang average hotel.

    Location was good, next to the main station and also next to the lake and bridges, Zurich isn't so big so this was possible in many hotels as well. The main benefit for me though was the proximity to the main train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely little hotel close to the amenities - decor is a bit outdated though.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was a little old fashioned. You had to hand your key in when you went out and on returning the gentleman on reception, who hadn't met me before, just handed over my key when I gave my room number, didn't ask for or check my name or ID. That didn't leave me with a very safe feeling

    The location was perfect, close to the station but far enough away as to not get the station noise. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. It was also peaceful and quiet and I had a good night's sleep. The lady who checked us in was very polite, friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Plan to stay for 3 or four days lots to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very modest mainly bread and cheese. Not very costly with pleasant staff. Very pricy retaurants but excellent other options in Migros, Denner and COOP stores.

    The room was fairly roomy and at the rear of the building so not too noisy. Two doors away is an excellent beerhall with reasonably priced meals and beer with quick and friendly service. The city is very well served with free transit for visitors. Great car-free street for shopping.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Okay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really small. Also I am not sure why on Booking.com I am unable to reserve the cheaper double room (it says it is suitable only for one adult), but the one with a higher price is not larger at all.

    I could access the elevator from the back door with only two stair steps (as opposed to the front door which had many stairs to the reception), so I didn't have to carry my heavy luggage or the baby stroller.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location: Zurich attractions within walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few facilities. Little bit noisy if open the window.

    Great location: Zurich attractions within walk. Reasonable price + comfortable room: especially for solo traveler.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Cosy old guesthouse.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cosy old guesthouse. Centrally located - no matter if you come for business or tourism. Steps from railway station, trams, historical walking zones, and lake too. And yes coffeeshops steps away. Simple decor and facilities, but if you are ok with simplicity - this is your address.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff are ftiendly and helpful, very clean, perfect location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's expensive but considering the location in the heart of the center and like 4 mins walk from the Zurich central station and it's Switzerland everything is more expensive. Wi-Fi goes on and off.

    Staff are ftiendly and helpful, very clean, perfect location in center and 4 mins away from Zurich central station. I had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good value and we were able to check in early at 9.30 !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early and were able to check in a bit later at 9.30 which was fabulous as had come a long way. And was very good price compared to others around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a cool and rainy day but inside the rooms it was too hot. It's like they have some heating they can't put off. The fan didn't help, I couldn't sleep at night. Breakfast is ridiculous for its price.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    The experience is average but main advantage is location of the hotel is good. Staff are very inform
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much facility in the room. Bed was not up to the mark. Practically no WiFi accessible in the room at 4th floor. No hot water facility for tea and coffee in the room.

    Location is fantastic and walking distance from Zurich main station and just besides of central tram station. All the point of interest are walking distance. Two indian hotel for food is 300 mtr away from the hotel But WiFI is very poor and not accessable above second floor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.8
    horrific experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    horrible hotel. no facilities in the room, i can count them on my fingers. a bed, fan, tv, pot and shower. THATS IT. you can pay equal or less and stay in much better hotels in zurich.

    nothing except the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and convenient in the city center
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wireless connection was sometimes interrupted.

    Convenient location, negligible noise for the room facing a narrow but bright space between 5 (or 6?) storey buildings. In the space, some people were playing ping pong and eating. It gave me a relaxed and peaceful impression. The restaurant in the hotel was also nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Hotel was centrally located and convenient to take day trips...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and stuffy as there was no air con. The fan didn’t help much. The wifi was also very unreliable - kept dropping out and would not reconnect for a long time.

    Hotel was centrally located and convenient to take day trips from.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is okay. Location is perfect! Few min from main station, restaurants, convenience stores.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no air-condition in the room, only a small fan. No slippers as well. We were put at room 33, with a window facing another building which is just very close, so we did not really have anything to see.

    The location is a 5-min walk from the station. Near restaurants, convenience stores, and supermarkets. there is also a starbucks beside the hotel which we liked in particular.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Location is best and they give us room 5 hours befor check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room just have too bed and one tv .you cant find any other things.every things is so old.

    Location is best and they give us room 5 hours befor check in time and change our room when my wife said i want room with river view.room was big .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    Very dissapointed. No aircon and small/ cramped rooom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - ALERT: NO AIRCON. In Aug Zurich 30 degrees plus...just imagine the sweltring experience. Couldnt sleep for two nights - Very old and cramped rooms

    Location is the only thing good abt this place. But please note- come out of the main station to reach here faster- other station exits are far off to this hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    A clean fan would of been nice. Overall okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged for the room and then said that they pay booking.com. Hope that is true!! Room was noisy. Asked for quiet room 😜 Turned on fan to cool room and stuff started flying from the fan !! The fan hadn’t been cleaned in years!!!!

    Staff was very friendly and helpful 👍 Slept ok even with hot room Restaurant gave us ice every time we asked. A clean fan would of been nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Super nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite old facilities, booked room for 2 persons, felt quite small.

    Super nice location. Close to train station, and all sightseeing places are in walking distance

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed, worst stay I’ve had on any trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-con, internet failed (or was swutched off) each night and staff dismissive about it, rooms in separate wings overlooked other rooms & bathrooms, so no privacy when everyone had windows open for ventilation.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location but beds need updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress and the pillows were old and need to be changed. No AC in the room and it was very hot. They only provide a small fan. We asked for another one but they did not have.

    Excellent location and wonderful view from the room. Staff were very kind and helpful. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Cleanliness superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps better cooling system ... it was hot even during the nights in the room

    Cleanliness superb. Location is just perfect. Excellent for nice holidays in Zurich.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    No AC and the street outside was extremely noisy all night...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC and the street outside was extremely noisy all night (including funicular in early morning). With windows closed the noise would be passable, but without AC this was impossible in the summer. A sleepless night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very dated , could do with some attention and repairs. Very stuffy rooms with no air conditioning- not great for 30 deg c. Otherwise great value for money.

    Great location and very friendly staff. Breakfast was basic but ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location, poor internet, good breakfast, not recommended for family with kids and long stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The poorest part was wifi as it was not stable. The network was getting dropped for few times and had to call the reception to restart the modem. Room size was bit small hence not recommended for long stay and travel with kids.

    Best location. Tram/Bus stop is Central. Central station is just 5 mins walk away. Even you can see the station from the balcony/breakfast area. Polybahn entrance is just at the next door which will take you to the university area. All other public transports are at the door steps. Zurich Main sightseeing places are all within 15/20 mins walk. Lots of restaurant options across the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value - would easily stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was spotty and not reliable.

    Excellent location! Close to the train station, easy walking distance to everything and right on the Quay with a Starbucks downstairs. We arrived at 11am assuming we would drop our bags until check-in, but since there was a room available he let us check in immediately which was an unexpected surprise that we really appreciated! Spacious bathroom was a nice bonus too, especially since our next hotel bathroom was teeny tiny.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.0
    A slightly tired hotel - though in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whole decor dated and in need of a refub. No access to English TV channels. No blackout curtains.

    Excellent location. Right in the centre. Bed was comfortable. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    The Hotel is in the central area which makes everything easy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is in the central area which makes everything easy to reach, staff are very friendly and helpful, its price is good comparing with other hotels near it and there are many restaurants near it and shops, it is close to Main Train Station and not far from the famous brand shopping str.

    The Hotel is in the central area which makes everything easy to reach, staff are very friendly and helpful, its price is good comparing with other hotels near it and there are many restaurants near it and shops, it is close to Main Train Station and not far from the famous brand shopping street" bahnhofstrasse", also Zurich Museum is close too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Surprisingly nice, cheap and central for Zürich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Surprisingly nice, cheap and central for Zürich. Rooms a bit dated and shows some patina which i like if materials are good and well care for which is the case here. Good bed linned which is important when traveling durrimng a heatwave. Highly recomended.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Below my expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The atmosphere within the room. Few basic amenities like air conditioner (during summer), tea and coffee should be provided and included in the charges.

    It is at a walking distance from the Railway Station. However, do not expect too much from the premises.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.6
    The location is excellent, just a 2 min walk from the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and got really hot during the daytime. The fan provided didn’t help at all. There were no basic amenities: no water bottle in the room. Not worth it!

    The location is excellent, just a 2 min walk from the main train station Zürich HB.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Good Hotel at Center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In summer, No Air condition was the bad part. FAN provided is not sufficient to beat the heat,they should provide the Big Fan.

    Location of the hotel in the centre,accesible to train station, bus station.Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    It is only 5 minutes walk from Zurich central station .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t provide tea coffee stuff and kettle etc

    It is only 5 minutes walk from Zurich central station . Hotel is clean and airy .staff is polite and cooperating and cheaper for a short stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Best location for travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC - only small fan in the room, which makes no difference in really hot days. Short materace what can be a problem for the people above 1,80 m.

    Great location, nice staff, quiet hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Cheap Stay With a in Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the nicest or newest rooms but exactly what you would expect for the price.

    We were looking for a cheap stay close to the train station and this place was perfect. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Basic hotel, good for spending one night after/before a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is historical, however the rooms are totally old and outdated. There isn’t an elevator from the entrance to the reception, very uncomfortable if one is carrying heavy suitcases. Toiletries are essential, only one small sample of shampoo and one of body shower. There is no air conditioning, just a fan. Cleanliness could be improved.

    Basic hotel, good for spending one night after/before a long trip. Very well located, next to the Central tram stop. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby, it is quiet during the night. Beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location. Comfortable but basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed not having a fridge or kettle as is the norm in most places we have stayed, however this was not a major inconvenience.

    I chose this hotel based on location (distance from main train station, and Old Town) and (relative) value for money, and on both criteria it didn't disappoint. Overall I would describe it as 'adequate ' which is exactly what I wanted. The staff at the front desk were polite and friendly. I was a bit concerned about possible noise based on my reading of reviews on this site, but that wasn't a problem - guess it had something to do with coming AFTER the World Cup.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Hot hot hot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very hot. Even with the windows and curtains open, there was no breeze due to being so close to another building. As you were looking onto another building, you couldn't leave the curtains open as people could see in to the room and bathroom.

    The hotel is easy to find, 1 minute walk from the main train station, next to a main tram stop servicing multiple areas of the city and next to the main walk into the old town. I had a quiet room, which was at the back of the property, which was quiet but looked out onto other people's windows. Although the room was dated, it was clean and spacious. Very friendly staff. I would stay here again if it wasn't so hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    Don't compromise your comfort with Hotel Limmathof's POOR INTERNET (Wi-Fi) SERVICE & very warm room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be very honest - Internet is poor, intermittent and irregular. Hotel Limmathof's Wi-Fi is sustainably unstable! Yet it calls itself a hotel. I trust that a good HOTEL offers its guests comfort. At Limmathof, I never felt comfortable. I was sweaty, the interior's air felt stuffy and Wi-Fi was very awful. I had to open windows and the street noise was horrible. It's not the only hotel NEAR Zurich train station. Go somewhere else, especially if you need Internet (for work) when you're at the hotel.

    The reception staff were very kind and they used English very well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location. Good value for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, the view from the room was not good. Not recommended to stay in a hot summer night.

    Very convenient location, close to the main station. Walking distance to the lake.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location to the Bahnhof
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could do with a refurbishment -telephone in room - unable to make a call and had to go to Reception to phone. No safe in room, no a/c -only a fan

    Good location to the Bahnhof

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Just a basic hotel, but it was clean, nothing wrong with it and you can’t beat the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was sometimes a bit weak or interrupted but otherwise nothing was wrong.

    Amazing location - only 200m or so from Zurich’s main train station and right on top of good lake views and the old town. Great for a short stay if you want to spend as much time as possible in the city, or if you’ve just come off a long flight and want to get to your hotel easily. Expensive for what you get but still well priced for Zurich. Front desk staff friendly and professional. Just a basic hotel but nothing bad to say.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location! Great staff!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Body hair on shower floor, toilet seat not cleaned after previous occupant. Shower head bad, with holes for water exit clogged, so water came out in very thin, painful jets. No air conditioning. Room very hot and uncomfortable, even with the fan at full speed. Probably great for wintertime, but I don't recommend it for the summer months, unless you can sleep in a hot room.

    Location is great, close to the main train station and everything else. Room size very good. Room very clean, floor spotless, bed linen and towels impeccable. Bathroom floor, walls, mirror, glasses, basin, and toilet bowl were very clean. The gentleman at the front desk is very nice, attentive and responsible (sorry I don't remember your name). He promised to give me a wake-up call (early flight) and he did.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Ideal location for central Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath filled very slowly, but hey - there's a bath!

    Ideal location for central Zurich. Although surrounded by busy shopping streets and directly oppsite a tram stop, the room was still very quiet. The entire hotel seemed to be very clean. Staff friendly but unintrusive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money to crash a night close to trainstation and city center.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking @ hotel. Public parking nearby but expensive.

    Good value for money to crash a night. Close to city center Central train station across the street. Breakfast basic and ok. Bathroom is a bit outdated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    I would return to this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wi-fi connection was terrible. Given that my trip was a business trip, a stable internet connection was crucial for me in order to receive emails and work remotely. The connection was constantly being lost, probably due to an excessive amount of users, having to repeatedly call the reception to reset the router (obviously not very comfortable). Furthermore, the breakfast was quite inadequate for its price. Overall, I believe that the value for money did not live up to my expectations. I would rather opt for a hotel located farther from the centre that would provide me with better services at lower cost.

    The hotel is located right in the center of Zurich, very close to the main train station as well as to several tram stops, which in my opinion is its main advantage. The room was clean and the bathroom was spacious. The staff was in general helpful and kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Rates appear higher for the facilities provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room has an old feel

    Best location, but not a feel of hotel as room size is small, no air conditioning only a table fan. Bed linen though changed daily did not appear so. Anyway value for money as location is central

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Ok for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If traveling in sommer, you need to know that there is no air conditioning in the rooms, but only a small fan, which cannot cool down the temperature. Sleeping with open windows is also not possible as there is too much noise from the traffic around the hotel. Pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable.

    Located 200m from the main trains station, it offers a quick connection to the airport, but as well to many tram lines. Matrasses seem to be new, they were comfortable to sleep on. Rooms were very clean, and the staff was very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.2
    Awful internet; manager doesn't care. No a/c so noisy with windows necessarily open. Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to ask reception to reboot internet every approx. 20 minutes because it kept crashing - useless! Staff said manager was informed long since and many times but no fix implemented! No a/c!

    Loction.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Very convenient to the train station in a high priced city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A big flight of steps to get up to Reception was very hard for me with a mid size case, but a kind man did help me down with it at checkout.

    Good location.Easy walking distance to the station and the ferry terminal was only a 15 minute walk away. Adequate room, just a bit tired feeling about it, or else it was the apricot coloured walls that didn't enhance the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is dated. Bed is not too comfy. Elevator too cramped.

    Location is great. It is within walking distance from the train station. It is fronting the Limmat River. All important sites (Grossmunster Cathedral, the old town, Limmat River etc) are within walking distance. There are restaurants, eateries, souvenir shops nearby. There is an elevator.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay for a reasonable price near the main station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No refrigerator. 8 or 10 steps up to reception. So you have to drag your suitcase up those stairs. But fortunately there is an elevator to reach the rooms. No airconditioning. But that's common in European hotels at this price range. There was a fan.

    I was very happy with my room. Single room, 4th floor, Room 14. It had a large double bed so perhaps it is also used as a double room. The room was quite spacious. There was a bathtub (not shower) in the bathroom. The room had a nice wood parquet floor, as opposed to the vinyl flooring or carpet I usually find in a hotel at this price. The carpet in the entryway and on the stairs and hallways looks nice, new and clean. It is an attractive pattern in navy. The room has an entryway, which is useful for sound-proofing and for giving some sense of space. If you are staying more than one night, there is a closet and shelves. The bathroom could use some updating, but it's perfectly OK. The decor of the room is, intentionally or unintentionally, 1950s (or 1970s?) retro. I was fine with the bed and the bedside tables. I was happy to have an actual desk, but the desk itself was a pretty junky piece of furniture. I enjoyed the view from my window, rooftops and steeples in the distance. The room was quiet. Breakfast is optional. I had coffee at the Starbucks right next door. Attractive Starbucks. And a large supermarket is nearby. I tried to upload a photo of the room -- but could not succeed! Anyway, the room is clean and quite large.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in city centet, right next to a starbucks and many restaurants and bars. Also close to zurich bus station.The staff were very friendly, especially the girl that checked us in. Amazing view from our room and good wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    Cheap and close to the center, but don't expect too much
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the structure and furniture are very old. I had to sleep with the window open due to the temperature but the bedroom was facing a very noisy street. The breakfast is very basic.

    The hotel is close to the centre and, compared to other hotels in the same area, is a cheap alternative.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel to stay in for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't realize there were stairs to walk up in order to get to the reception, and more stairs to get up before the elevator bringing us to our room. This made it a bit inconvenient with a baby stroller and luggage. Not suitable for the mobility impaired.

    Very good location. Was able to walk to Old Town and train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was very central - there are tram & bus stops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very central - there are tram & bus stops right outside the hotel, and it is close to the main train station in Zurich too (Zurich HB). Also the room was spacious and yet still cosy for people travelling on their own.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    I guess it's OK overall considering the price. Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on that.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room was very small, and it had no sofas or armchairs - just a chair and the bed as the options to rest on. There was no iron in the room. The laundry service was very expensive (priced per item), and wasn't open on weekends. The keys to the room had to be given to the reception before going outside, and then taken from there when coming back (the reception was open 24/7 though). Still that was an inconvenience, I wonder why they don't have card-shaped smart keys like many hotels in the US do. There were no slippers in the bathroom, which would have been nice if the hotel provided by default. It was very noisy outside, but it wouldn't be fair to blame the hotel for that, and closing the window did eliminate the noise almost completely.

    The location is great, a short walking distance from Zurich HB. The reception staff were very nice and their English was very good. The room was being cleaned to perfection every day. The payment process was smooth and the price was very affordable by Switzerland standards.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.0
    Perfectly satisfactory for overnight stop
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some traffic noise but this was inevitable due to location.

    Close to railway station (necessary as overnight stop only). Steps to reception but lift to rooms. Most comfortable beds we had on a 3 week break. Very clean. Opportunity for early breakfast at SF10 pp.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain :(

    Great location and friendly staff. Zurich is super expensive, so it's a good value for the place. Got room 222 and the thick windows blocked all the noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    Location is very convenient only across the road to Coop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No warning prior arriva thatl room has no aircon, very noisy when opened windows. The road work was until around 3am. Room is very tiny.

    Location is very convenient only across the road to Coop supermarket, central station and tram stops to go around the city. Airport is 30min away by tram.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Middle aged first time travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly small and basic which I was expecting and no air conditioning but they do supply an electric fan.

    The location is fantastic. Easy to reach from the main train station and right on the river, so walking to all of the main tourist places is quite easy. It is also right on the cafe strip so food and drink everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Just staying overnight, otherwise I may look for other options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and somewhat run down.

    Extremely convenient location next to the railway station and tram line terminus. Interior is efficient, functional but someewhat in need of a renovation. Good value for money all things considered.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Clean and perfectly located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice clean hotel with a great location, within walking distance to pretty much anything you want to do in this city. Especially convenient for people reaching it by train, you can leave your luggage at the hotel and wonder about till your train arrives then quickly grab your belongings and reach the train station in minutes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Near to the tram stop beside there starbucks and beside convenient store which is denner ... Coop store just nearby across the bridge... Lovely front desk ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location. Clean and comfortable. Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No obvious faults, but we only stayed one night and left very early for flight home so can't rate breakfast.

    Perfect city location on the edge of the bar and restaurant area of the old town. 5 min walk to Train Station. Trams on doorstep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location to station, basic and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steps leading up to the reception and no sign above entrance door to the hotel.

    We did not have breakfast. We therefore cannot comment on that. The room was clean and Henry the receptionist was super helpful. Only downside was that there was no fridge or hairdryer in the room, which we had in our previous hotel just up the road!

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Limmathof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: