Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Swiss Star Marc Aurel

Badenerstrasse 362, Aussersihl, 8004 Zürich, Switzerland

#60 of 76 Holiday rentals in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2014 apartment reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Just so so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably I live on the ground floor, the room is humid and smelly. The plug socket is not very convenient. The facilities are not completed, there is even no kettle in the room. No shower package.

    The position is very good, there are lots of restaurants and supermarkets near around. The place is very quiet and close to a community. The room is clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    I don't know why, but I slept really bad that night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the whole process of checking-in, staying and leaving the room there was no interaction with a human being. It was a bit confusing at the beginning on how to pick up the keys, since the box is not at the main entrance. I guess this is the way one can achieve cheap prices in an expensive city like Zurich.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    It's pretty good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's pretty good value. Our problem was that we were on the ground floor outside a very busy road. The traffic was very loud and disturbed our sleep. If you aren't on the ground floor, or on the other side of the building, it may be fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    It could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it could be better as this hotel no coffee facility .

    close to tram, big room ,the off site hotel management very responsive and prompt reply to your email.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quitr hard for me to find the room key since they put in on the back of the buildung and no english.

    The location is great, near bus station and train station, the staff was super nice. Close with some restaurant that open untul midnight and also super market. Also the place is clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Check in procedure: getting key is tough. No body told us where is the check in box. Its on the back side of the building. 2. Two identical check in box; did'nt know which one have the key 3.In our stay lift didn't work for most of the time and problamatic 4. We checked out early and mailed them but didn't get any response untill I get feedback form from booking .com knowing I checked out succesfully 4. No ac or any ventilation in the room

    I want to mention by point to point what I liked: 1. I knew about the location of the place from map beforehand. So I cannot complain. The location is like 10 - 15 mins by tram from Zurich central station. A bit far from the tourist attractions. But in Zurich transport is excellent, so it will be fine although you have to add a extra time alwayys. 2. The room, toilet were very clean. Sufficient towels were given.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Quite a nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are two check-in boxes behind the hotel. At my arrival there are two guests around these boxes, wondering why they can not obtain the keys. It will be better to directly mention in the check-in instruction that there are two key-boxes and the key is in one of them only. And the arriving should guest try second box in case the first one did not give the key.

    Clear and calm room. There is refrigerator in the room. There is a tram stop near the hotel, so it is easy to go to city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.0
    Its Okay. If you like privacy and comfortable bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't have a key code and there was no WiFi, so it was quite difficult to find free WiFi to access code for keys.

    Bed was amazing, I slept like baby. Bathroom also good. Nice privacy and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.2
    Never again!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First no hot water but fixed later in the day, then lots of people, maybe even 6-8, in a room extremely loud chatting, music and partying for all day and night, man next door beating women and screams and cries all night until morning, busy and loud street and passersby, neverending corridor chats!!! But for a bed to crash in, maybe ok! If you can sleep of course!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    The hotel location is closest to the trams station, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We stay there six days, but not staff to clean up the house.

    The hotel location is closest to the trams station, very easy to main train station only 15 minutes. Check-in is very easy, it is very quick to take key with only entering pin number.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    The room and private toilet is clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The automated machine to self-collect the keys had issue. Tried calling the hotline but no one pick up. Lucky there was a cleaning staff who managed to assist us. The toilet lights were flickering. Slightly noisy as it's facing the main road at night. The lift broke down on our check out date.

    The room and private toilet is clean and spacious. The accommodation is a couple of bus stop away from Zurich station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.6
    Stay way unless you are really tight on budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BEWARE of this accommodation | After booking we received an email with instruction to pick up the key from an automated system, upon visiting the property at the said address it was the entrance to the property but there was no system or pad present to enter the given code, after spending 2 hours at night we finally managed to find the automated system at the back of the apartment complex which has to be reached via an Ally way. - There was an number to contact stating its operating 24/7 however when we attempted to contact the hotel at 7:30 PM on a Sunday the an recording said it only works during business hours from Monday to Friday !!!! - There were no wifi details provided in the room, after searching for any type of clue we decided to call the hotel the next morning. When we called number on Monday during the day, - The first thing the phone operator said was that its not possible that you do not have wifi credentials as it is always there, after arguing over the phone they finally provided us the credentials over the phone - When mentioned that the key access box was not at the said location he said " You should have looked harder ! " - I am not sure if the attitude of the hotel is bad or the operator but I would not recommend this hotel to an traveler - additional negative point - We were given a room at ground level, given its summer time the rooms are very warm and there is no A/C or Fan provided in the rooms, we did not have much sleep - Given the proximity towards the road it gets loud at night which disrupts sleep

    Close to a major Tram stop Nearby super market and restaurant Affordable for Zurich

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    the woman house keeper
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the cheking is no the last 5 digits now you need to do something more the internet when you arrive now you can't conect that mind you can't get the code that you need for the key if a room open and give u the password to get online before everything was easy now it is complicated

    the woman house keeper

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    It was clean and comfortable, with everything I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff on site. Another resident of the building helped me get the key, or I would still be standing outside. Fan in bathroom sounds like a helicopter taking off.

    It was clean and comfortable, with everything I needed. I appreciated having a refrigerator. I quickly learned how to use the trams.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The fridge did not work, the smell of the room was bad. There where no kitchen in the hotel, that means there are no glasses, plates, spoons, no coffee, no tee etc.

    The location is great. The room was clean, the bed was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The room was very cleanly and it was very nice for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You don’t need a key to enter the actual building, only the rooms. It would make us feel more secure if you needed a key to get into the room.

    The room was very cleanly and it was very nice for the price. After a long train ride, we were very happy with the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no body at the property to help you with any question you have or for safety reasons. The contact phone never answers. Entry door was always open and people come into the hallways to pee on these. We stayed for 5 nights and I couldnt sleep any single one, because its very noisy. You could even listen people walking on the sidewalk, talking, the tram, the cars and of course every person that walks into the hallway. Terrible experience.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Fridge didn´t work, no hot water, balcony door was broken,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fridge didn´t work, no hot water, balcony door was broken, ventilation in bathroom broken, super noisy bevause of the street in front, elevator broken, washing machine filled with wet paper and the cable of the iron was cut.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    The bed, wardrobe and bathroom are nice.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath water was so cold, never felt it been warm ever. Ants running by the window side and one has been spotted in the bed

    The bed, wardrobe and bathroom are nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.2
    Bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next to the street, very noisy. Even with the windows closed, one can hear the noise on the street, and the room is way too warm if one keeps the windows closed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.5
    NEVER AGAIN in this app
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The information on Booking is misleiding. This is NOT an apartment. It is a super small hotel room without any cooking facilities. You even cannot boil water to make your own tea/coffee or instant food. I very often stay in city apartments and I do know very well how they should be equipped. The misleiding information on Booking is a serious issue and it should be corrected.

    the proximity of other hotel to have my morning coffee

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no reception but the key is easy to find. Its located on the backdoor, to the right. The TV in my room didn't function well that made me call the customer service hotline. The operator said they will send someone to fix but no one came to do so. There was no available fan, its quite hot in the room at night.

    The apartment smells good and clean. Its a 2 minutes walk from Albisriederplatz station. It has shops around where you can buy food especially for those travelers in budget. Its just few stations away from the Hauptbanhof. The Wifi is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    There is no reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no reception. Just a key box but no Information in the Hall on the location of this one. After you get your keys but you don’t know where is your room, on which floor. It miss some Information. The rooms on the road side are really noisy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location wasn't great.

    The room is clean and well-maintained. There is no reception (self check-in) or kitchen, but that also means you don't pay for these things, ending up with one of the cheapest rooms in Zürich.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    2.9
    most disappointing place ever .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was deff the worst place we have ever stayed , Hot water was only available in the morning , this apartment is based on the attic no window view and no curtains to block the light coming in the bedroom. Everything was so old and not well kept. There was no hand soap in the bathroom , just one small bottle of body and hair liquid wash. There’s iron board but no iron, one single hanger for the clothes . No one ever cleaned our apt or replaced the two towels we were given for the 4 nights . We felt ripped off for money, and there’s no one to complain about these things as there is no reception at all.

    The keys were easy to get from the collection box they send u details about ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Really good connectivity for the centre of Zyrich and nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For some reason, there was not much hot water in the shower. Luckily it was really warm when i visited, otherwise it would have been really uncomfortable.

    Really good connectivity for the centre of Zyrich and nice area. My room overlooked at a really beautiful square. The rooms were refurbished with soundproof windows and really clean. There is no reception, so the keys are picked up from a box using a code sent to your phone. Then are returned in the same box. This may confuse some visitors, but it is a quite fast and convenient system.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    My room was on the ground floor, which was a bit unusual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Constant cigarette smoke every evening and almost every morning. During 7 days of my stay I could not define where it comes from. WiFi was terrible, just 1-2 min. and then gone. It was only possible to use it more or less normally sitting on stairs within 3 m distance from the router.

    My room was on the ground floor, which was a bit unusual. This forced me to keep the window closed when I was out. Location is perfect and the whole system of self check-in works fine. Took me few minutes to understand where the keybox is, it was actually in the courtyard where the dust bins and the side entrance are. There were two shampoos in a single room but no soap. Quite unusual.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    No very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No glasses provided to drink water , no soap . Requested for extra bed , not reception and no response provided . chicken time is very precise exactly at 2 no chance before that , usually there should be some flexibility to keep luggage at locker at least.

    Room is very tidy. Location is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean, great location and cheap
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the futuristic check-in with code on machine. ;) Only one suggestion - Inform guest properly where is located your machine. It is in the back of the building and best way to get there is to go around the building instead of taking your luggage via main entrance and then go downstairs and back again. Will it be easier to have the check-in machine inside the main hall?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    No luxury and some imperfections, but good location and excellent price!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I had a room on the ground floor, it was very noisy at times in the late evening, people arguing and talking outside very loudly for long periods! There was some garbage at the entrance one day and some other stuff was blocking the staircase on the day I left! The room is showing some wear and tear and needs some attention!

    Location, location, location is the major plus of this place, as well as the very competitive rate for Zurich, I think, no other place can match that! Fast free internet and a small fridge for the beer, plus a comfy bed and my own bathroom, not much more to ask for this price!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    2.5
    Choose another hotel if you don't want to be stranded at night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key access code didn't work. Instructions are not straightforward- once I got it - the system didn't work - no keys available at 23:30 - no reception - no available hotline . Had to take a room at the opposite hotel . Neighbour and second hotel said it happens all the time ! When contacting the hotel the next day to ask for refund I hit a wall : they contradict everything I say. It's obvious they are used to it - they tell you that you didn't follow instructions ( I must have been to over 100 hotels in my life .. ) and that you received emails you haven't. They have no respect for customers no sense of service . Big money making machine with zero customer relation available when you need it. Don't be stranded at night - choose another hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    A little confusing with the key code but there was one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little confusing with the key code but there was one of the men who seemed in charge of the apartment that was close by to help us. Didn't even need to phone the helpline as he arrived before even got through to them on the phone. Very comfortable bed and very good space. Very clean and tidy and excellent location. Even had toiletries in the bathroom which we didn't need to use but was nice that they were available. There was even a parking space right outside which one of us used which was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    4.2
    Cheap for Zurich but very very basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Very basic room, not even a kettle. Too hot, street noisy. Confusing access on arrival. Ironing room found after searching but nothing worked but this was fixed

    Location was very convenient. WiFi good speeds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Basically like staying in a hotel except extravagant stuff cut out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much. It was expensive by my usual standard, but compared to all other places in Zurich, it was actually well-priced. There was one time a cleaning lady came in without knocking after the check-in time.

    The room and the bathroom were clean and well equipped. I was pleasantly surprised to find a fridge in the room. Normally most places at this price range (in Swiss standard) do not include that. Was able to drink cold beer at night :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.0
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place was much better than I expected. Very bright and airy. Comfortable beds and bedding. Clean bathroom. Kitchen had everything we needed. Keys were very easy to collect and needed no interaction with hosts at all. Wifi was good too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Particular Swiss star , wasent very clean overall , some Green/ black Mould in the fridge , and some other things , but overall great value for money, only downfall overall is hygiene

    I always choose to stay in different Swiss star apartments they are very convenient and affordable , probs my fav weekend rental apartments in Zurich, most Of the time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.5
    It was a good considering quality-price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge smelt super bad and the bed was small for 2 persons. Considering that there is no reception, there should be clear indications about the check-in boxes.

    It was a good price considering the average and the public transports were 2 minutes away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic value for basic needs, unbeatable for Zurich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower doors were not working properly and the last morning I had no electricity in the room!

    The price I paid was incredible for Zurich, non beatable! Location is great with public transportation, grocery stores and restaurants just footsteps away! The room is clean and equipped with TV, fridge and free internet!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.0
    Not great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 27 nights

    A bedside lamp that is impossible to plug-in, as it is 3 yards from a power-point. All of two coat-hangers in the room. Power-point hidden by a small fridge, and underneath a television table, so extremely difficult to get at - have to move everything. No glass in the bathroom for use after brushing teeth.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.3
    Price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the room was a non-smoking room (which was clearly stated on the door), the room smelled strongly of cigarettes. The window had been left open - to try and clear the smell up, I presume.

    Price. Barring the smoke issue, the rooms were good for the price, and the location was perfectly fine (right next to a tram that takes you downtown). Again barring the smoking stench, the room was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable and warm room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although we were in a non-smoking room, beddings and towels smelt very strongly of cigarette smoke. We did not manage to speak to the host and found our keys and check in place only with the help of other guests.

    Our room was nice and warm. The place was very quiet and the bed and pillows very comfortable. We had a little fridge in our room, which was handy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.3
    It’s a shame the absence of assistence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not collect The key with the Code they provide because who was responsable for that put them with another (WRONG) code. There is no reception. I tried to call to the emergency number and there was any authomatic voice. No idea when i would be able to talk to someone, as the line felt of. If some random guy hadn’t helped us, we would probably died there under the rain. I sent many emails and i received an answer only the day AFTER. It’s a SHAME!

    Usefull and clean room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    confortable, warm and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I could not find the key box at first!!! You should actually enter in the building and then should open the door in the end. I would like to ask the hotel to put some notice where is the key box..... I was really worried since there is no reception.

    The room is warm and clean, with all necessary facilities. It takes only 15 min. from Zuerich Hbf by tram no. 3 and only 10 min. from Opera Haus by tram no. 2. You can easily arrive to the hotel from tram stop in only 1 min. of walk. There are some restaurants nearby. This area is quiet and safe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.7
    Cheap price - low level
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable due to a mattress too much light; Smell of Marijuana in the bathroom, which was coming from the air-cooling or fan system; Door and walls too light, it was possible to hear everything from the aisle or the room next to us. I have written twice to the hotel but none answered, at the end I had to call and I get the code for the keys.

    Price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Easy check in and check out process.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too soft. There are not many places where to go for dinned or drinks in the evening.

    Easy check in and check out process. Very nice room and bathroom. All clean. Near COOP supermarket.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    An excellent-value for money-super clean accomodataion
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no batteries on the TV remote and thus did not work. I would also appreciate some more plugs so I can charge more devices at the same time.

    The property has an automated system for collecting your key- there is no reception- but it is really easy. The room was super clean and the bathroom was brand new. The space was more than enough for a person. Also, its location is excellent-if you do not mind taking a cheap tram and roll about 20 minutes from downtown. I like it because it was about 30 m. from tram station, 20 m from one supermarket and 60 from another one. So you will have all the markets ( there is a mini-fridge!) on your feet since Zurich is really expensive in terms of eating out. However, if you want you have several restaurants to choose from which are around the tram station. Felt really safe and the price was unbeatable- the prices downtown were triple. Also, it had a European two pin plug so you do not need any convertors- or else you need to buy one specifically for Switzerland. I would definitely suggest it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.3
    Facility is clean but wifi had weak signal and disconnected several times
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before check out time the cleaning lady tried to open the door of the room early in the morning. I said still occupied and after 45 min. Same thing happened. The cleaning should be done after check out time. 11 am

    Easy to reach from Zurich Haupt Bahnhof. Facility was clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.3
    A nice, no-frills option with a working internet connection.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was extremely hot in the room and adjusting the thermostat did not help in the short term. Sleeping with the window open was not possible, as there is a busy street with very noisy trams right in front of the building. Regrettably my only mandatory requirement - being able to sleep in the room - was not met.

    A nice, no-frills option with a working internet connection. Located near good connections and services.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Like the previous 2 stays at this place, the room was clean...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    This time my room was never cleaned, only at my second last day somebody wanted to clean it! But for the price I got the room I cannot complain!

    Like the previous 2 stays at this place, the room was clean and comfy, loved the fridge and in general was quiet! The location is superb! Best value in Zurich downtown! Perfect place to stay, if you need a room to sleep without luxury!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No personnel to consult if any facing any issue

    Comfortable beds, easily accessible grocery stores, tram is less than 100m walking. Nice restaurant nearby. Check In strictly at allocated time using automated keycode

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    simple concept of low cost accommodation in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the keybox was at the back of the building. no mention was made at all in email receipt when booking was made. when i called to ask where the keybox was, operator kept insisting that it was at the front of the building when it was at the back. After a few minutes, operator suggested to go at back of building and lo and behold, keybox was there. All was fine thereafter.

    simple concept of low cost accommodation in an otherwise very expensive city to stay in, especially for the longer stays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    The location is near both bus and tran station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s pretty loud at night when the cars are passing by even with the double shades.

    The location is near both bus and tran station. The place was really clean and nice, I’d recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    everything was good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. lights in the room 2. cleanness was not perfect 3. there was not convertor for plugs wall

    1. kitchen facilities 2. near to metro 3. air conditions

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Easy stay in Zurich
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance for the parking was not very clear, when entering by the main door from the street it toke us some time to find out where where the box to check in.

    Very easy to check in and out. We stayed only for one night, if you need a place to stay not too expensive in Zurich it is perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money in Zürich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sockets in rooms are of a typical Swiss three-jack system unfitting for plugs used for example in Germany, so don't forget to buy an adaptor! (Unexpectedly, you can buy it even in kiosks.) Maybe sound insulation could be better: I heard both the street and the corridor quite well (but not that it disturbed me much). The conversation with the operator has robbed my mobile phone balance (roaming), so... just ask for a quiet room (not near the lift well) at the time of booking. It would be great if the room were cleaned at least once somewhere in the middle of my 7-nights stay: towards the end it got a little dusty.

    I had good experience with Swiss Star Marc Aurel. It started not so well: the room where I spent the first night was directly attached to the well and when the lift was braking at my floor it made horrible and very loud noice. The room was filled with it, I could hardly sleep, and in the morning I called the administration and asked to change the room. The operator was very nice and understanding and the issue was resolved instantly: in a couple of minutes a charlady stood at my door saying that my new room was ready; I moved in quickly. The room was clean, it was neither too warm nor cool in the night, the water pressure in the shower was more than satisfactory, and I absolutely didn't expect warm floors in the bathoom for such money in Zürich. Self-sheck-in system worked perfectly, as well as Internet. Tram 3 heading to the main railway station stopped almost next to the house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.6
    Good location, close to tram station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cleaning service, I booked double bed but they just put two beds together - it doesnt mean double bed, too high price for this quality

    Good location, close to tram station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    2.9
    They have no receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need receptionist & good management.

    They have no receptionist. I booked for 2 days but after 1 day they changed my room without notice me. once i return to hotel there are another guys in my room & i didn't found my baggage & he doesn't know about my baggage then i call to hotel owner after that a cleaner comes & i found my baggage in down stair & he give me another key for different room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.0
    Good budget place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit small but well renovated

    Clean, good for a few nights as a budget hotel. Self check in and check out (box behind the building) Floor heating is nice in winter

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.8
    Try able
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room is in first floor. When tram is going somewhere, it passes near me and cause to non-sleeping. In photos rooms are more spacios and Bright, In Real they aren’t. Informative knowledge is in room just for wi-if. There is no information for air condition system. Moreover, Wi-fi is not ok. Generally, WiFi is in snatching.

    Their bed is even comfortable bed in my life.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    great location great staff great internet great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the mattress was a bit soft - some people where inconsiderate enough to have conversations in the stairway which of course carries throughout the building- clearly thats not the companies fault...

    Love the location 15min by train if that much at all the shower was top television internet I can not fault it other than the matress was a little soft but then some people like that - strongly recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Clean, tidy, and cheap.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Just bear in mind there is no reception.

    Best value-for-money for a single room I could find close to Zurich city centre. It is not in the centre, but there is a tram stop in front of the hotel. Trams are frequent, and it takes only 15 min to get to the centre. The room was clean and tidy, with a nice private bathroom. Wi-fi worked well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent quality/location/price for a short stay in Zurich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The collection of the key, even though it is a really smart system, it totally misses the interaction with the host, which was 0. To get the code for collecting the key you have to fill in an online form with your personal data, which makes me a little uncomfortable.

    Really nice, comfortable, clean room. The floor heating was working divine, so it was really comforting to arrive from the cold weather outside. The room was facing a really busy street, but with the windows closed no noise was bothering us. I found the way of collecting the keys, through a machine outside and introducing a code that was sent to us, a really smart an efficient way to do so, specially for super early/late travellers. Overal I highly recommend this accommodation. Quality/price for such a location in Zurich is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    A treasure I earn in my Swiss holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please provide an electronic kettle.

    Location, services, cleaness, comfortable, silence & peacefulness convenience to supermarket & tram/bus stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Clean room located very close to transport links in the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy location - it's very hard to sleep with the windows open. Luckily we visited when the weather was very cold out, I think the room would be too stuffy and hot for the summer time. The light in the toilet took 30s to turn on, so we initially thought it was broken. On the last day, someone was smoking in the building and the smell of smoke got into our room.

    Room was very clean and wifi connection was excellent in my room. The heating was very good. Short walk to tram station and very easy to get in and out of the city centre. We were able to retrieve our keys fine - there are two boxes located at the back of the building and all you need to do is enter the last 5 digits of the booking confirmation (not the PIN code). We tried both boxes and the second one had our key.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Best Value for booking a Private Room in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were two metal boxes outside to collect the key upon arrival. However the left box is broken and doesn't work. So it took me good 10 minutes of stress to figure out everything. So, a small paper note on the broken box would be helpful. Then I would not spend time and would proceed straight to the right box which was actually working and gave me the key immediately. - another small thing in th room was some strange never stopping noise all the time , as if loud electricity lamp working, but what was that? - I could not figure out, and that noise in the night was slightly an obstacle for falling asleep. - mattresse was too soft that next day my back was a bit aching. I had to do some stretching in the morning. But of course for this price probably I could not ask for more, the value for Zurich was awesome.

    The property is really convenient to get to from railway station. Just jump on a tram number 3 and after 5 or 6 stops you are there. I also walked and it took me somewhat like 20-25 minutes from railway station. There are 2 or 3 supermarkets within 2-5 minutes walking distance. Also some kebab shop just next corner which works till midnight and you can get drinks and very yummy food there for quite reasonable price. I liked football stadium nearby too. The hotel itself was very quiet and comfy. I felt there also very safe. Noone ever disturbed my time there. Location is wonderful, price is one of the best in the city. Check in and check out doesn't depend on the personnel, you just pick up and drop your key in the box outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.6
    A dissapointing stay, although we got through the week, it is not somewhere I would be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was awful, the pillows were just like sheets, I didn’t have one good night sleep whilst I was there. The heating was broke in one of our rooms and when reported and told it would be fixed it still didn’t work. The fridges were unplugged and when we plugged them in they never got cold. The pictures on booking.com are not the same as the rooms themselves. I thought I was booking a twin room self service apartment where there was a kitchen to cook in like on the pictures but instead we had 2 rooms on separate ends of the corridors to each other with no cooking facilities between us, basically just a bed and a shower. The cost of eating out was a lot as to be expected in Switzerland so 4 days without being able to make some food ourselves cost us a lot of money!

    The shower was very powerful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.3
    Dirty, Not Worth It
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I rented, a single room, got Room BA21 on the second floor. - Very Small room only 10m2. (All single rooms seems to have the same size). - Room not clean. - Cleaner only cleaned basically, (Bathroom, and Changed Bed Sheets, And Towels). - All the rest not cleaned at all, Anything you touch had fingerprints and other glued items on it. - Door Handed Stained. - Drawers in the room and in the bathroom dirty. - Bath Room Closet With Stains. - Fridge Door Dirty. - Dust all around bed. (I guess also under the bed). - Lighting not working. - No a single chair or table. - Doors Stained. - Walls Stained. - Only half window with Venetians Store, unable to get a dark room, plus you are visible to the outsiders. - You hear everyone using the lift. (my room was just next to the lift). - I guess for all those giving reasons all their rooms are no refundable, once their got your money, and you are inside, There’s no way out unless you rent (And Pay) a room somewhere else. - Please see enclosed pics from BA21 my single room, on the second floor.

    Clean Bed Zurich Public Transportation very close by. Migros, Coop, and other Supermarkets, Restaurants and Coffee Shops just around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice simple small room for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Key collection was fine, but could see many people confused by process and lack of information in advance.

    Good location, simple accommodation for an easy short stay in the city. Close to tram to centre and night shop. Clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.4
    Cheap and easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no cooking facilities in the building, communal or private. The biggest bug bear for me was that there was no air conditioning. This is a big issue usually as the window opens. However, as it was on a main road it was very very noisy. This made it hot inside when the window was closed and if you wanted to let some fresh air in, it was way too noisy. The picture of the room on bookings.com was nothing like what the room was actually like. This was great due to location and price, other than that, terrible room. I only had 1 towel for my 5 night stay. There was no reception to get new towels. The only way I could get new towels was wait until the cleaners come in the morning to clean vacated rooms and take some more towels. They did say there was a fridge. It was in a cupboard under the tv. I left my water in there overnight and it did not get cold at all.

    It was cheap and in a great location for public transport. That was really all the good stuff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect stay on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The trams are going just outside the building, it didn't bother me at all but maybe someone will find it disturbing. The only recommendation I have is maybe to put a bin to the room too, because the only one was the tiny one in the bathroom. Otherwise, everything was great!

    Absolute value for money. The room was nice and tidy, the bathroom as well. Getting the keys from the box was fairly easy, if you have the code beforehand it shouldn't be a problem. The bed was extra comfortable. Hair and body was and soap is provided, and a hairdryer too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    Not bad for a short stay at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm - opening the window means noise from the busy street below. There's a sign on the door indicating to collect the key behind the building but no indication how to access the back (although in fairness this is relatively simple to figure out after a short walk).

    Good value, if all you are looking for is a clean place to sleep for a few hours before public transport starts up the following day. Facilities are old but spotlessly clean. Self check-in was easy. Paid undercover parking garage is right next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    If you book the same day, you don't have the correct...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you book the same day, you don't have the correct door code. The administrator expects you to guess that and call them to get the code. Ridiculous!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.0
    No recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed is not clean, bathroom and towel is still wet. Wasn't stay a night, move to another hotel an hour after check in.

    Location is good, easy to get the tram

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Short and very sweet. Zero problems...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow....far, far too soft...a minor quibble though...

    I was hardly there but the iron and ironing board in the basement washroom came in handy...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Was a great place to stay, apart from being very hot in the room. I would stay there again though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was boiling hot, had to have the windows open every night. Traffic is very loud, but that’s what happens when you need the window open every night. Would be good if there was a little bar fridge in the room to put own food and drinks in.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Swiss Star Marc Aurel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: