Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Malawi Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent Reviews for Hotels in Malawi

  • The Belgian Executive

    Lilongwe, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.4
    • Positive section of review

      Free transfer was great, room was good, staff would do everything they could to help and the breakfast was amazing!

    Reviewed: October 19, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Clare United Kingdom
  • Sunbird Lilongwe

    Lilongwe, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.1
    • Positive section of review

      Leafy gardens and great location in Old Town. The staff were friendly and helpful and the nightly rate was good value for Lilongwe.

    • Negative section of review

      The internet was quite unreliable.

    Reviewed: October 18, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Jenny United Kingdom
  • Viphya Lodges

    Chilumba, Malawi

    No reviews yet
    • Positive section of review

      Nothing at all. Can't recommend this place at all.

    • Negative section of review

      I wouldn't normally write a bad review but the whole experience at this place wasn't very good. We called ahead to advise our eta off the boat the Ilala. When we arrived we tried calling the manager to help with directions but his phone was turned off. A fellow in the street tried to lead us to the place with not very good results. When we did finally arrive the manager had been drinking but had someone show us to our room. The manager said there was only one breakfast incl next morning but our booking said there were two. Manager said the VERY loud music from the bar area would finish at 10pm but it went on until 1pm. Tiles on floor weren't attached to concrete, pillows weren't comfortable. Everything was broken.

    Reviewed: October 17, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Christine Australia
  • Monkey Bay Beach Lodge

    Monkey Bay, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      Frankie and all the staff were very helpful, friendly and we couldn't have asked for more. The accommodation is located right on Lake Malawi with the steamer "Ilala" in sight from the shore. We were booked on the "Ilala" the next morning and Frankie helped us and another lady get onboard. The room was lovely, bed was comfortable and the shower water strong, but not hot, but you don't need hot water showers at the moment with this lovely weather. They brought the breakfast chef in earlier given our department time on the "Ilala". Breakfast was really nice, so we were set for the day! Thanks everyone.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing

    Reviewed: October 16, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Christine Australia
  • Matundu Cottage

    Senga, Malawi

    No reviews yet
    • Positive section of review

      Nice environment and so cool

    • Negative section of review

      Food took so long to be ready

    Reviewed: October 17, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    CHIMWEMWE Malawi
  • Home Up Guest Apartments and Lodge

    Blantyre, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.9
    • Positive section of review

      The spacious rooms and kitchen

    • Negative section of review

      The location............to mark in the main road to find the property

    Reviewed: October 17, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Ritu India
  • The Funky Cichlid

    Cape Maclear, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      Very relaxed beach property, very close to the Lake. Very good food and cheap drinks. Room was comfortable enough and my friend who stayed in a dorm was happy with his stay.

    • Negative section of review

      There was nothing wrong with the property; was very much similar to any other Hostel experience.

    Reviewed: October 18, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Jonathan United Kingdom
  • Madidi Lodge

    Lilongwe, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 7.7
    • Positive section of review

      Very convenient location

    • Negative section of review

      Overpriced. Stuffy rooms. Poor food

    Reviewed: October 19, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Anonymous United Kingdom
  • Crystal Apartments

    Lilongwe, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      Care by the hosts. No power cuts. TV and wifi work well.

    Reviewed: October 18, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Anonymous United Kingdom
  • Kiboko Town Hotel

    Lilongwe, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8
    • Positive section of review

      Care by the hosts -giving far more than expected -flexibility and concern

    Reviewed: October 18, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Anonymous United Kingdom

Highly Rated Hotels in Malawi by English-speaking Reviewers

  • Sunbird Ku Chawe

    Zomba, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.1
    • Positive section of review

      Breakfasts were very good. Staff was very friendly and courteous. The views are incredible.

    • Negative section of review

      Phone did not work in room (common in Malawi) No hot water last two days Room service mixed up orders both times (only used them twice, so they were 2/2) Ridiculously overpriced, much too expensive for service provided.

    Reviewed: December 29, 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    Curtis Malawi
  • Cape Maclear EcoLodge & Scuba Shack

    Cape Maclear, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 7.4
    • Positive section of review

      The Service was Excellent. Fully Satisfied.

    • Negative section of review

      N/A

    Reviewed: January 23, 2017 Stayed in December 2016
    Ahmed Malawi
  • Blue Lagoon Lodge Blantyre

    Blantyre, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 7.6
    • Positive section of review

      everything was sprendid

    • Negative section of review

      The road to the place needs maintenance

    Reviewed: April 25, 2017 Stayed in March 2017
    George Malawi
  • Sunbird Lilongwe

    Lilongwe, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.1
    • Positive section of review

      Very comfortable room. Try to get a room in the back with a patio. Lovely grounds.

    • Negative section of review

      Was under refurbishment, so no pool. Bar a bit dingy.

    Reviewed: April 29, 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Business United States of America
  • Annie's Executive Lodge

    Lilongwe, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 7.7
    • Positive section of review

      Comfort and environment

    • Negative section of review

      Bathrooms need to be cleaner and without cockroaches

    Reviewed: October 26, 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Vinay Malawi
  • Sunbird Mount Soche

    Blantyre, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 7.8
    • Positive section of review

      Location is great, staff are friendly, staff in spa were particularly friendly, lunch and dinner choices were extensive and everything I tried was very good

    • Negative section of review

      wifi signal was weak in general and in some common areas it did not always work; some items on the breakfast buffet were not kept hot enough

    Reviewed: July 23, 2018 Stayed in July 2018
    Robert Canada
  • Sunbird Capital

    Lilongwe, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 7.9
    • Positive section of review

      Room was up to usual international business standards. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Usually our group likes to leave hotels and eat at local restaurants. But the Samosa Restaurant was so good we only ventured out once.

    • Negative section of review

      Wifi was not reliable. It worked great for half my stay but towards the end it was not working most of the time. Over a week the power went out at the hotel 3 times for about 2-3 minutes, which is not unusual

    Reviewed: September 14, 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    KK United States of America

Highly Rated Hotels in Malawi by All Reviewers

  • Sunbird Ku Chawe

    Zomba, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.1
    • Positive section of review

      Breakfasts were very good. Staff was very friendly and courteous. The views are incredible.

    • Negative section of review

      Phone did not work in room (common in Malawi) No hot water last two days Room service mixed up orders both times (only used them twice, so they were 2/2) Ridiculously overpriced, much too expensive for service provided.

    Reviewed: December 29, 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    Curtis Malawi
  • Sunbird Lilongwe

    Lilongwe, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.1
    • Positive section of review

      Very comfortable room. Try to get a room in the back with a patio. Lovely grounds.

    • Negative section of review

      Was under refurbishment, so no pool. Bar a bit dingy.

    Reviewed: April 29, 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Business United States of America
  • Dream Apartments

    Mbalamanja, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.2
    • Positive section of review

      Beautiful, beachfront, a/c in both bedrooms, tv had dstv. Car park area within walls with night watch on duty. Safe. Watching fishermen on the beach was fun and interesting. Very friendly staff. Even though neighbors knew muzungu was there, we had no issues and found all of them pleasant. Even the beach sellers knew the rules about letting us come to them. Great, great place. One review said car park was far. I disagree. Plus we always had offers to help carry anything in or out!

    • Negative section of review

      Leaky a/c in one room soaked floor and some possessions. They did say it will be fixed but it was our last day. After paying the balance part way thru our stay, the host had some phone issues and the generator was out of fuel. No A/C or electric. Situation with phone was due to no power she said. I believe it was true but the timing was poor. It made it look like bad business. Im giving this review score based on believing the hosts story, which was certainly plausible. Shower and all other water source was lake water.

    Reviewed: May 6, 2018 Stayed in May 2018
    Justin United States of America
  • Sunbird Capital

    Lilongwe, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 7.9
    • Positive section of review

      Room was up to usual international business standards. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Usually our group likes to leave hotels and eat at local restaurants. But the Samosa Restaurant was so good we only ventured out once.

    • Negative section of review

      Wifi was not reliable. It worked great for half my stay but towards the end it was not working most of the time. Over a week the power went out at the hotel 3 times for about 2-3 minutes, which is not unusual

    Reviewed: September 14, 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    KK United States of America
  • Mgoza Lodge

    Cape Maclear, Malawi

    Average Review Score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      Very friendly owner and staff, who were always helpful and welcoming. The location was great and the facilities were good. We were even upgraded free of charge! Travelers from all over the world, whereas most of the other lodges were empty.

    • Negative section of review

      Wifi had to be bought, and signal was terrible. Electricity was inconsistent and there was no generator. They need to sell Skytel cards, even if they don't install Skytel at the lodge.

    Reviewed: January 31, 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Anonymous South Africa