Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Moselstraße 40, Bahnhofsviertel, 60329 Frankfurt/Main, Germany

#100 of 221 hotels in Frankfurt/Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2969 hostel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    4.2
    Worst possible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were rude... the location is one of the worst areas in Frankfurt... all the people I spoke to were concerned about the area...short staffed too I guess as one person takes care of check in’s and also orders at the bar... had to wait for like 15 mins to get a drink... I am sure there are better more friendly places to stay in Frankfurt than this.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfortble
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly, they just seem like volunteers working just for a place to sleet without much concern in serving the guests well.

    Near subway and many nice restaurants and clubs. But remember it's at red light district so take care with the drugs addicted around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While convenient, the area is directly in the red light district (they are quite aware of that with lots of signs around) with a lot of drug attics outside in the surroundings smoking crack, I didn’t feel safe walking at night.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating, the rooms and bathrooms were very clean. Location convenient as it is close to the Hbf and the center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    Receptionists were really nice except one of them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One guy from the reception was rude. Flies in the room because of no net at the window.

    Receptionists were really nice except one of them. Also billiards table. Rock atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.2
    Awful, rude staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ABSOLUTELY RUDEST, MOST UNCARING STAFF I HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED IN A HOSTEL. Rude, inflexible staff that prefers to party instead of help check-in travelers, answer questions, or problem-solve!! I regret that this is one of the few affordable options in Frankfurt! It doesn't help that they're in a nasty drug dealing district. They could at least be helpful to make up for this!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Highly recommended for a short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - something to correct about "checkin book" and data protection

    + great localization, within walking distance of train station and old town + comfortable shared room + reading lamp and socket next to each bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.5
    Terrible experience for a tourist in a new city.
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room - Shower and WC in Hallway
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hostel is located close to Eros Centres, strip clubs, sex shops and chat-up bars. Beware of unscrupulous people hanging around this area, and be careful when entering the to the streets around this hostel.

    This hostel is located close to Eros Centres, strip clubs, sex shops and chat-up bars. Beware of unscrupulous people hanging around this area, and be careful when entering the to the streets around this hostel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant, compfortable stay in the red light district of Frankfurt.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For female solo travellers the area can be a bit frightening. We stayed one night and saw countless drugdeals, people using drugs, people on drugs, a fistfight including the police & ambulance and brothels from our bedroom window. Police presence seems to be high though.

    Nice and clean rooms, nice people and staff around. The hostel is located directly in the red light district of the city and it gets quite loud during the night. BUT they have super awesome windows so you can sleep like a baby. ;-)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    It could have been worse.
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Shower and WC in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too warm at night. Bathroom frequently wet and dirty. No breakfast before 7am. Long wait to check-in. Thin walls - able to hear music in room next door. No elevator to top floor - not good for heavy luggages VERY expensive.

    Not too loud at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Great value for what you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was a bit sketch, but we knew that going in. The bathroom was small and not much counter space.

    It's near the train station and very easy to locate. They had daily community events that were available to all the guests staying in the hostel. They were sure to invite us when we checked in. There was 2 community areas and a 'backyard'. One of the areas contained a pool table and television with DVD's to rent. The provided earplugs for the noise, because you are in the red light district and it becomes quite noisy outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    location (near the central station and restaurants) and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location too (it was along a busy red light district street) and our room was roasting because there was no airconditioning but they only provided two small fans.

    location (near the central station and restaurants) and staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice facility, perhaps the shower is one of the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was close to central station, where bunch of people take drugs on the street and series of strip clubs are located! I hated the atmosphere, it was so scary...

    Nice facility, perhaps the shower is one of the best

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    It is located almost in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy in the reception is rude. Thanks to him for check in , I waited almost 15 min without no reason. When I check out , I waited again 10 min. Good hostel, weird receptionist.

    It is located almost in the city centre. Spacious room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Clean sheets, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults) with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music in the lobby was so good that getting out to have a walk outside was a real hassle..

    Clean sheets, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, great bodybuilder breakfast with pork, eggs, yoghurt, cereals, bananas, kivis, various fruits, great smiley helpful staff, and great , high profile guest profile too, great music in the lobby

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Own bar, barbecue and 4-5 floors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place for a few nights. There is an own bar with happy hours, barbecue, and it's located in a building with 4-5 floors. There is an elevator. The hostel rather noisy in the bar at the evening. When everyone get back to the room at night. The location is good overall. It's near the train station and Main river.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    They provided free pasta one day and another one was beer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is really close to traim station, but inside the red light, be prepared to see ppl smoking crack on the streets The hostel room is really hot and a lot of noisy coming from the street on the night The staff do a lot to make you feel better on your days at hostel, but if you are looking for a place to rest, I would recommend a hostel in other part of the city, if you like party and its not in hot days, I would recommend this hostel

    They provided free pasta one day and another one was beer tasty, the staff do a lot of effort to reduce the discomfort for the hostel location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    The locations is 2 min away from the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of crack addicts outside the building (literally- a LOT). Mi room had the window facing the street. Third floor. Really noisy at night!

    The locations is 2 min away from the train station. Big PLUS if you are traveling with luggage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    WIth comfortable beds and super-friendly staff, this...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIth comfortable beds and super-friendly staff, this extremely well-equipped hostel is an amazing choice for both groups of friends as well as for single travelers. In addition, outstanding hygiene of both toilets and rooms is a point worth mentioning. Besides all this, really good location spot (just 2 min walk to/from the main railway station) just added to the positive experience of staying here. My sincerest recommendations!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    I was amazed by the service they gave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fulfillfed. Cant complain really

    I was amazed by the service they gave. Free dinner, breakfast, and very good service from personnel. The bed was slightly uncomfy haha but that is a very very small problem. And cleanliness WOW. Amazing as i said

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    This hostel provides many facilitates and events that favor...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This hostel provides many facilitates and events that favor guests esp. young travelers. For example, it offers free breakfirst and also occasionally some dinner or BBQ at night. The coffee and some bread are free to be served in the lobby. It has tv and projector for live sports events. Bar is open 24 hours, guests can play billiards at basement and reception are very casual and nice people. It has lockers in the room, luggage room and cage for luggage, offering multiple safe choices for guests to secure their belongings. Besides, the location is excellent, 5 min from the Frankfurt main train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience in Frankfurt!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was really awesome, with plenty of choices and served until 12pm. The overall experience has been wonderful. Despite located within red light district, I (as a female solo traveller at that point of time) felt very safe to walk and wander around even it is late at night. Definitely recommend for anyone who would need just a bed, and a good place to mingle around with travellers. The toilet and bathroom were constantly cleaned up, thumbs up!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Bed is nice and the lobby is great to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is nice and the lobby is great to relax. But the shower room is too small and not convenient and the location is kind of noisy outside, if you travel here in summer you might not sleep well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Awesome staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in the red light district, they clearly state it and “warn” you but it’s still not great since you’re hesitant to walk at night especially

    Being close to the train station was handy, the rooms and toilets were clean, the wifi was semi-decent and the staff were warm and welcoming

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my night, and I would stay there again, and I would recommend it to my friend.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was awoken a couple of times a night, by the noise outside. But, I went back to sleep easily enough each time.

    The bed was comfy - but it was hard to climb to the top bunk - I am 70, and it is not as easy to climb to the top bunk, as it used to be. But, I didn't request a lower bunk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a little bit unsafe being in the red light district

    The rooms are big and comfortable, the common area is awesome which becomes easy to make friends and interact with other guests

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Good deal for one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults) with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    As expected, very small room for 3 persons......not quite comfortable but ok for one night with the price..

    Price and location are good. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst hostel that I have ever stayed! First of all, the check-in took a long time because there was only one person in the “reception” which wasn’t exactly a reception and yes a type of bar and there were some people waiting for it! Second, there were no showers or toilets inside the bedroom and in the corridors there are no air entrance and it was very stuffy. I felt me suffocated like I never did before! Also, there are no air conditioning inside the rooms so if you’re going during hot days in Frankfurt, I don’t know if you’ll be able to sleep! Besides, the WiFi connection was really bad! The only thing that I liked a little bit was the location cause it was easy to connect with the other parts of the city! I think the prices are definitely not corresponding to what this hostel has to offer...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    Hot room, shaky bed bunks, long time to checkin, unsafe area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost 20 minutes to check in and when I finally get to the room, found an empty bed because they prepared some of the beds and left others undone. The room is an oven, they put some small fans to try to help but this fans only reach the bottom beds. The bunk beds are the weak iron shaky ones, and the pillow is an empty white bag you have to fill it with your own clothes. Staff is arrogant, and treat you like: you're booking a hostel, what do you expect? They have a bar and seem to be focused on selling alcohol, not in offering an efficient and polite service to the guests. I booked this place which is a bit more expensive than the other hostels wishing to have a good night sleep before flying out of the country. I would not recommend it at all, the worst hostel I've stayed in 25 days travelling in Germany.

    Location is close to train station and airport shuttle bus stop (but because theres a lot of junkies and prostitutes in the area it feels a bit unsafe at night).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Next to frankfurt main station, clean, good bathrooms, confortable beds, good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator too slow and used by the cleaning team make it difficult to use it, especially in the mornings. It was a little bit too hot in Frankfurt, I would suggest the use of little fans in each bed during summer months, the big fans in the floor are good, but not enough.

    Location, bathrooms and some of the staff were great. Free fruit, coffee. Playground room was ok too. Outside space great for evening conversations and promote the get together, thats always nice. Close to pretty much everything you might need. You can rent little pedal scooters from the hostel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice for solo travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is in the red zone, but is close to the train station and McDonald

    The staff did a family dinner for free for everyone! And even get me some free beers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Good social atmosphere; but room was extremely hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults) with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely hot. There was a small pedestal fan, but it didn't help those on a top bunk. Ceiling fans are needed in my view.

    Good social atmosphere; nightly events.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Close to the station but the surroundings a bit shady at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the hostel was a bit shady. It was loud at night and when my friend and I were just standing at the window people were waving and pointing at us. It was alright but I was apprehensive to go out by myself after dark.

    It was fairly close to the station and had a very cosmopolitan atmosphere in the common area. So was welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Convenient and very well organized
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It may get noisy sometimes but not too bad. Also be sure to bring a towel for showers with you as the rooms don't have one

    Felt safe and reliable although the hostel is on the red light district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.5
    I am your customer and until my last booking I was always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am your customer and until my last booking I was always happy with your service, however this time I am extremely disappointed and would like to complain about the Five Elements Hostel and its service. I’ve booked hostel for one night for two people (Aneta Sterkowiec, Ewa Dembska). I’ve booked 2 beds in the 3 room female apartment. When we arrived to the hostel we were given a key to the 4 bed mixed room (room 306). Me and my friend were in the room and at once 60 year old German guy get completely undressed and was standing in front of us not wearing anything. It was unacceptable for me. He came back from the shower, did not get dressed and started to climb the bed completely naked. The picture was absolutely disgusting. We went immediately to the reception and complained about this situation requesting a new room. At the reception we were said that all the rooms are booked and we cannot be given the room we have booked. The only option we have is to sleep in two separate rooms. We were given a key to room number 206 and were said that there is still one bed free and we have to find one guy from that room and tell him to come to the reception and then he will be shifted to room 306 and we can take his bed. The guy at the reception told us that we have to go and solve it, he did not offer any help. We decided to go there to the room 206 and speak to the person. As we entered the room there were 2 boys sleeping on their beds. We decided not to wake them up. Afterwards we went to the reception and started requesting the room which we booked (3 bed beds in female apartment). We were said again that the hostel is overbooked and there is no other option to be given a room which we booked and there is some internal failure in the system. However, we were offered at the reception free breakfast and one free drink. I was not happy with and insisted to be given a room we have paid for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    awesome stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing I could remember.

    i always like the location close to everything i need - central station, restaurants, grocery and pharmacy. the place is within the redlight district but I always feel safe. police visibility is 24/7 which makes it even better. the staff are friendly and I had free breakfast. surprisingly, most of my roommates were there for business, not leisure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Best hostel in Frankfurt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in the middle of the red light district but the hostel itself is very safe

    They have the best staff I have come across in any hostel ever....such a lovely bunch..will come and chat with you in smoke breaks...in a city like Frankfurt where there isn't much to do and hostel like this is just what I needed to meet some really interesting people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    The funnest and friendliest place you’ll stay in Europe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The crazy people on the streets, but the area has the most police in a two mile radius so there really isn’t much to worry about!

    Out of all the hostels I’ve stayed in, this has been the most comfortable, friendly, and fun environment! There’s a pool table, foosball (or however you spell it) and movies to rent with an ID. Everyday there is a drink special and very cheap too! Every night they have either noodle night, bbq or even a really fun beer tasting! It is in the middle of the red light district so it’s a little sketchy if you’re a female traveling solo. Just ignore the crazy people yelling at you, watch your stuff and you’ll be fine. I loved this hostel because of how safe it made you feel and it is perfect to hang out in at night. I wish all the hostels were like this! If I ever come back to Frankfurt, this is where I’ll be! It is also across and down the street from the train station which was pretty rad! Fabi and Edu, you guys were pretty awesome and very nice. Thank you for making my stay all the more worth it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice stuff, big lounge, big rooms, warm showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not the best. At least if you are a solo young woman travelling I would recommend you to go somewhere else. Is kind of scary to walk close to the hostel in the evening, and you can hear everything at night from the rooms.

    Nice stuff, big lounge, big rooms, warm showers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great staff, one friendly person in my room and good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults) with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were two other people in the room with me...one was a really nice man and another was a very grumpy young lady who was really obnoxious and snapped at me saying that she did not want to be spoken to during her stay as she was only staying one night! She left and then returned at around 2 or 3 am and proceeded to make her bed up, but she shook the bed so violently that she woke me up and it was really hard for me to get back to sleep until she had finished it...why didn't she just make her bed up before going out? That would have been the curtious thing to do!

    The breakfast was good and I really enjoyed the fact that I met someone who I had a lot of fun with! We went to a number of museums and then had some food before I left to catch my bus from the airport to go to Zagreb!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Had Good experience staff good always ready to help and big...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had Good experience staff good always ready to help and big smile on there faces comfort for ur pocket and location is excellent then security system very modern and good thaxs ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    It was really close to the train station and literally a 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedding has seen better days, but for the price totally ok.

    It was really close to the train station and literally a 10 minute walk to the s Bahn station which takes you straight the the airport. Super convenient and the staff was lovey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Great great great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is in mid of red district so if some people cares about it should not go. However, nothing dangerous here. Quite safe. Shower room - my floor have only one shower room but two showers inside in it. If someone using then nobody cannot use. There are about 5 rooms in one floor. Not sure how all can get shower, especially in the morning time...

    Great great great location! Just few min from Hbf. Can buy some food in the morning time if you dont want to pay for hostel's breakfast. mini kiosk is nearby. Nice staffs, good bed, clean bathroom. I like the room which has plenty of spaces with nice large window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located in the middle of the red light district so pay attention to your belongings and make sure you’re with people if you’re going out at night. The hostel is secure so the inside is very safe!

    Very friendly 24 hour staff. There were plugs by all of the beds. The rooms and bathrooms were clean! Towels were a €5 deposit that you get back when you check out. They have a lot of coupons with local restaurants so make sure to take advantage of the good deals! They also have nightly activities, we went to a pub crawl and it was a great way to meet other travelers, definitely recommend! The ambiance of the hostel overall was amazing, the lobby is always busy with other travelers to talk to, they have a free book library (take one leave one), free tea and coffee, a bar, and many informational pamphlets for activities in the area! Very easy to locate, take the train from the Frankfurt (FRA) airport to Frankfurt central station. It was €6,50 one way and the station is around two blocks from the property. Happy travels!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Very close to main train station. There bars restaurants and kiosks nearby. Rooms are big enough and getting natural light.Overall good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    - Close to central station and city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - There is a lot of noise (music, voices, cars...) coming from the street until around 6 A.M and bad sound-proofing. Even with the windows closed, I couldn't sleep the second night... - The showers are not really private (glass panel between two showers, blurred in the middle) - Met a cockroach in the lobby

    - Close to central station and city centre - 24/24 reception - Power outlet and locker for each bed - Good wifi - Nice ambiance at the lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice staff and good location from the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I stayed faces the street. It was hot day so we had to open the windows, but it gets smoke from the street.

    Nice staff and good location from the station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Recommended hostel for Frankfurt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night

    much higher level of quality bedding and sanitary installations than expected, great location (unless you're a prude ;-)). This isn't your cheap-cheap hostel, but a fun and comfortable place. Awesome staff, good crowd, attention to detail. Incredible price-performance. I shall be back soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Good location, close to Hauptbahnhof, very convenient to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, close to Hauptbahnhof, very convenient to go to other places..But a single girl had better not go around the streets nearby alone. The receptionists are very nice, the coffee is free all day around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Fun stay, would go back if I'm ever in Frankfurt again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good facilities, friendly atmosphere. Convenient for the station (though - as they are very honest about pointing out - in a slightly dodgy area) and a nice walk along the river to the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    The rest of the staff was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The women of the staff when early in the morning I requested if I could take the breakfast and she only answered “No” insteadvto tell me that it was too early....goo

    The facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.8
    Very good personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night. It’s located at the middle of the Red District. There is no air aconditioned on rooms, so you have to open the windows and the street’s noise is constant. Another complaint it’s about pillows, very unconfortable.

    Very good personnel. Good breakfast at 6,50 euros. Everything’s clean. Very close to the main railstation (about 300mts)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Staff is friendly, snacks in the vending machine are cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lighting in the room is not quite enough, the size of the blanket doesn't fit the bed

    Staff is friendly, snacks in the vending machine are cheap

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hostel/great price, just be prepared to be in the center of Frankfurt's red light district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use a better beer selection and check in time was a little unreasonable especially since the 4-person room was already occupied and had an available bed.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great amenities to occupy yourself with if staying in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Near city centre hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is exactly what you would want/expect from a hostel. Central position. Clean sheets. Lockers for your baggage. Staff is friendly. Tea and coffee is free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Frankfurt city
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Shower and WC in Hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is located in the city center. Rent a room for 2 ozib. in the room a large bed, a TV and a beautiful view from the window. The cost of the rent was breakfast. Furshet (fruit, muesli, eggs, cheese, sausage), everything for a delicious breakfast. Hostel staff is pleasant, always happy to help. I recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Recommened!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    location: in red light district, but doesn't really bothers Facility: have to put and remove the linen(bed cover, quilt cover and pillow case) by yourself. No AC, may be a problem in summer. Light a bit insufficient. NOTED: Shower gel can be purchased in vending machine in the ground floor.

    Location: close to Main train station, convenience store nearby Staff: Really patient to explain every detail to the guests, being helpful during my stay Facility: Cozy public area in the ground floor, free billiard and luggage storage service in the basement. Breakfast: 6.5 euro for all you can eat, worth it!!! NOTED: towel and hairdryer are provide in reception with 10 euro deposite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Good and clean place for a small budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows are entered to the lively street, opens were opened. Was not able to get a good sleep. There is a club right under the hostel, you can hear everyone and everything.

    The staff was very friendly, everything was super clean, nice atmosphere in the bar. Very friendly people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Good communal area, speak English and German, bed and room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hard to feel comfortable or safe in this Location, for the money it didn't quite deliver.

    Good communal area, speak English and German, bed and room were fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money in Frankfurt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults) with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area around and crazy people outside were bit disturbing, but it's not related to Hostel and they even warn about it before coming.

    Staff was just great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Shower and WC in Hallway
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area the hostel is in (red light district) is ok if when you walk out of the hostel and head one way. But should you walk the other way we were hassled by drunken (addicts by the look) and some dodgey looking people trying to get us to come into the clubs. There was the other situation where the road the hostel is on was closed off by police meaning we weren't able to get in for over an hour which doesn't put you at ease about staying in that area.

    We loved the easy going, sociable vibe through out the hostel. Little things like the wall full of messages from other travellers and recommendations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    pleasant,warm, and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room - Shower and WC in Hallway
    • Stayed 2 nights

    well the surrounding area wasnt the nicest. but that couldnt be helped

    everything was wonderful the staff was extra helpful and knew moe about the city than the tour information booth at the main train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    24 hours reception, storage room, free tea and coffee, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Red district area. It is quite safe neighborhood, police car patrolling around at night. But sometimes the drunk people around could be a little bit annoying. Not really the hostel faults btw.

    24 hours reception, storage room, free tea and coffee, and watching room downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    quite good!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should be light and monitor camera in the locker room for safety consideration.

    super close to the train station, not that loud on Wednesday night as I expected, many restaurants around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    I love the fact that they had fresh flowers every morning,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, if you are travelling alone and you are a girl it can be really dangerous, just make sure you dont go out at night, alone.

    I love the fact that they had fresh flowers every morning, and that they really care about the safety cosidering that it is located in a dangerous part.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.2
    Less than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathrooms, I had to put the sheets to the bed. And also after use it. I never did this in other hostels. The bathroom also was full of water everywhere.

    Only the reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Super hostel! I loved staying here. The breakfast is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the modern feel of the building and my room. The staff was great. I was very impressed by their tact when dealing with uncomfortable situations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Even though it’s in the red light district, it’s really safe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults) with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No.

    Even though it’s in the red light district, it’s really safe! You need to pass through 4 doors to enter your room, so you really don’t need to worry about the safety. And the staff there is very nice and helpful. I lived in a triple room with bathroom. That’s great, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being in the city centre and red light district meant it was rather noisy at night and street lamps were actually quite bright in the room. I was given a room on the first floor so it might be more affected than other rooms. They don't have a luggage hold room but they have cages to store your property in the common area so bring your own locks! (They do provide some for a small refundable deposit if you forget yours).

    The toilets and shower areas were really clean and private for communal toilets. The beds were really comfortable and firm enough that I felt really refreshed after a night's sleep. Free coffee and tea in the communal area and happy hour is ridiculously cheap.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Hella rad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you love a great atmosphere and getting amongst other travellers, this is the place for you. The staff are super helpful and friendly. They run daily events for you to get to know the city and other people better. Overall just a really great and wholesome experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    Excellent hostel, less sure about the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room ( 6 Adults )
    • Stayed 5 nights

    None of this can be controlled by the hostel, but it is something to consider when booking.It is locate in the red light district, lots of noise from the street outside all through the night and not the nicest area to walk through at night. Always seemed to be a lot of people hanging around outside building around the corner from hostel, not nice to pass.

    Very nice hostel, very clean public areas and shared showers and toilet spotless any time I used them. Light and plug socket next to each bunk in dorm(light could be unplugged to give access to second socket. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Great breakfast!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast! The hostel is safe and very good! The localization is near train station, subway and Traid Fair (Messe- you can reach by train or by foot). Pay attention that the hostel is located at Red Light District. I hope to return to 5elements hostel when I travel again to Frankfurt.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice but the cost and condition feels that's bit expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    but it's in "red light" area that I didn't know before I booked. Just bit uncomfortable when it's late but doesn't mean dangerous. And for the shower n toilets are outside of the room and bit busy for dorm room as its not enough.

    Very kind staff and location is just so center which is nice !!! And good to reach places!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice & loved the stay. All staff very cooperative.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room give for living on the road. to much noisy area. If had been not on the road had been much better.

    Nice & good breakfast. Rooms fine. Beds clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff for the most part were very cool and I made a lot...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obnoxious drunks hanging out in the common room spilling beer and peeing their self.

    The staff for the most part were very cool and I made a lot of friends in the comfortable common room. The happy hour was awsome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    Well.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s also right at the right light district, pretty dangerous for girls. The bad sheet wasn’t that clean, somehow I can see blood dirt on it

    It’s pretty close to the central station, the stuff were fine

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: