Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hostel Köln This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Marsilstein 29, Altstadt-Sued, 50676 Cologne, Germany

#55 of 223 hotels in Cologne

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1568 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and staff, but not a good choice on warm summer days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not sleep at all, the rooms didnt have airconditioning which ment the windows needed to be open. (The room was a sauna if we didnt) The parties in the street went on until 6 in the morning which was ok if we didnt have to open the windows due to the heat. Were two very bad nights for our family, so i wouldnt reccommend to stay during warm days, if not warm then i would highly reccomend this hostel.

    Lovely staff, great rooms, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    8.8
    I wasn't expecting this luxury in a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air-conditioning. The windows could open, but there was a lot of street noise from partying people. Hostel can't help that, but with air-conditioning we could've slept with windows closed.

    I wasn't expecting this luxury in a hostel. Towels were available and they changed them when I requested it. The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    Very good and comfort stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough places for car parking and at the reception the sofa was damaged

    Location of the Hostel was excellent.The space, cleanness and comfort of the room. The inclusion of breakfast in the price the very good buffet for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and affordable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud (and possibly drunk) gentlemen were loitering in the hallway late at night for about 10 minutes and woke me up. No air conditioning.

    Breakfast was delicious and offered many options. The room was clean. Check-in was easy and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend this place anyway, It is a very good quality hostel, in the very center of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I arrived in the afternoon, Wi-fi did not work. When i informed the reception, they said smthing was wrong with my phone, kinda it was impossible smthing might be wrong with their wifi. In the evening the situation wasn't any different, but at least they admitted it didn't work and it only started working the next day at about 12 pm, which partly ruined my day, i really relied on good wifi there. Tv is useless for travellers who don't speak german, only bbc channel available in english. No fridge in the room. No safe.

    I stayed in a private room with a private bathroom. The bed was comfortable and neat, bathroom new, clean and big. Good hairdryer, shower gel. Breakfast was not stunning, but not bad either: yogurts, rice pudding, eggs, veggies, good coffee. The hostel is in the very center, close to cologne train station, metro and liddle store.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    5.8
    Its a nice part of town and the staff were friendly
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very very noisy, loud party noises from inside and outside the hotel made this absolutely unsutable for a family. I also expected more comfort for the price.

    Its a nice part of town and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    7.9
    A short active break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bunk beds we had were a little uncomfortable for me as a tall adult Quite noisy during the night

    Efficient staff Excellent bathroom facilities and very good breakfast service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    8.3
    We were pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in took a while

    The place was immaculate. We got a private room and felt like we were in a nice hotel. They thought of small touched like putting light switches by the bed. Breakfast was definitely above average.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.2
    The noise outside of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise outside of the hotel. Unsure location or just constants traffic. Nearby night clubs didn't help but hey. Depends on the person I may or may not recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    5.0
    It was noisy : we were hearing a disco until 3 in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was noisy : we were hearing a disco until 3 in the morning and we could hear people walking in the corridor late at night. The room was not clean and the bathroom smelled!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, nice hotel, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were too big and firm. Breakfast was fine but not very exciting.

    The staff were super-friendly and helpful. The location is great as you can walk everywhere and it is a happening area with interesting bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly cramped. Bunk bed stairs was close to the wall and hence harder to climb up.

    Walking distance to city centre. Each bed has its own individual plug and a wooden frame to put our phone/spectacles etc. Breakfast was nice and simple.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.1
    Very good value for money choice, excellent location and delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Five-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only 2 out of 5 beds were already made and the room could be cleaner.

    Nice breakfast and friendy staff. They also keep the luggage for free after checkout which is pretty awesome!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay for a group of 6 guys
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the little wooden shelves above the beds is not ideal. One of our friends cut himself quite badly from one of them. The rest of us all banged our heads on them - you should consider removing them!

    Great product for a Hostel, it was more like a 2-star hotel. Fantastic breakfast that doesn't finish until 12 on a weekend which was incredible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast is unbelievable, really fantastic, a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I bit far from the metro station ( walk around 8 min )

    The breakfast is unbelievable, really fantastic, a lot of options, breads, yogurts , typical German food as well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    9.6
    The room was spacious, with a comfortable bed and a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was spacious, with a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. There's a cool terrace on the 5th floor where you can chill and have your breakfast (which is until 11.00, so you don't need to wake up too early in the morning!). The staff is really friendly and kind. Last but not least, the hostel is located in an area full of bars and restaurants!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    Awesome place to stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although neither of these were a deal breaker for us, there were a couple of negatives. The beds were pretty hard, but you get used to it. The bunk bed is uncomfortable for whomever sleeps on the top because you feel every move the person on the bottom makes.

    We stayed in a family room, and it looks just like the pictures on the website. We were using the room to stage out of as we explored the city, and it was a perfect size for our family of 4. Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. There is an above ground and below ground train station within about a five minute walk. There is limited parking on site (6 spots below the building) that you should reserve prior to getting there. If there isn’t space there, there is a parking garage just a few minutes down the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    6.7
    Clean, nice bathroom, good breakfast buffet, friendly staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having booked a single room I was a bit surprised to have a room with two bunk beds, but ok, not often that you have so much choice ;) Walls a bit thin- could hear the neighbors tv show til quite late.

    Clean, nice bathroom, good breakfast buffet, friendly staff, well located

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2017

    6.3
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited parking (on late check-in realised no parking available at hotel), rooms not very clean for family and kids (dirty wallls, curtains, Floor and corridors), charged for breakfast for baby of 2 months (??) and staff could not help.

    Breakfast, city location, good beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location. You can walk to everywhere from the Hostel. Clean room. Everyday our room was cleaned up. Breakfast was pretty good. The receptionists so friendly and helpful. We were arrived early and they gave us a room to rest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    9.6
    It is a great place, the breakfast is extremely good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sometimes it was a bit noisy when the guests on the upper floor were moving their luggage or walking on high heels

    It is a great place, the breakfast is extremely good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    7.9
    The location near to the city center, the bathroom and how...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is not very varied , the "curtains" of the room ...not able to hide the daylight. They did not clean my room one day. Many international tv channels did not work and the tv set should be renovated.....

    The location near to the city center, the bathroom and how big the room was and the great views. The receptionist were very friendly and kind...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    9.6
    Location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On our last night there a group of young schulers arrived, they were playing and running around, it was noisy but since it is a hostel this is something you should expect.

    Location is great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    10
    The hostel is close to the city centre, about a 20 minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hostel is close to the city centre, about a 20 minute walk from Cologne central train station. The staff were friendly and helpful and there were maps and information leaflets in the reception/lobby area. Breakfast was very filling and delicious including cornflakes, bread, ham, cheese, olives, egg and a range of hot and cold drinks. The room was very clean and tidy. We were in the quadruple room and there was a charger socket next to each bed which was very helpful. Free wifi. There's a lift in the hotel to access the different floors. I would be happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    8.3
    Clean and tidy, quite new and well maintained by the...
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    thin walls, can easily hear noise from neighbor's rooms. uncomfortable and "huge" pillow.

    Clean and tidy, quite new and well maintained by the management who cares for details. good price for value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    9.6
    nice hostel, very happy about our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My boyfriend and I are quite tall and the beds are not... which means are feet were a bit cold at night :-)

    Good breakfast, friendly people, clean, good location near city center and metro station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    9.2
    Satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Central heating did not worked and it was VERY cold. Wifi dropped all the time and was very frustrating.

    Spacious room with lots of windows. Staff very friendly. Very clean. Location is excellent and prices very good. Close to all important landmarks and main station. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    9.6
    Comradery
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just one suggestion - please change the pillows to smaller and softer ones, my neck still hurts from sleeping :)

    Everything is good, the value for money is through the roof. Staff is very helpful, the location is the best.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    5.0
    youth hostel style place catering to student group
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the internet did not work during my stay, when complaining at reception i was told there are too many guests using the internet, the reception staff said they reboot the system but still i could not connect afterwards; this was very annoying since i had work to finish until the next day which required wifi connection the hostel was over-populated with student groups that were obviously on school trips, communal areas and corridors were very noisy and busy all night there were spare mattresses and furniture stored on the corridors, not a nice appearance for guests the window in the room did not have any curtain, the mini blinds did not keep away the glare from the street lamp in front of the window shining into the room all night, it was difficult to sleep in such bright light in the room

    room was relatively well maintained and renovated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, clean and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was really hard to find a single room in any hostel in Berlin during the time period I was interested in. This was not my first choice, but it turned out to be great. Check in was easy. The desk staff were professional and helpful. There was a varied supply of maps and tourist info on the desk and attached to walls. My room was clean with my own sink and shower. The shared toilet was clean at all times. There were unlimited clean towels!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    7.5
    City fantastic . Next visit we will likely try another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows and blankets were not comfortable. Difficult to adjust room temperature. Breakfast was not very good - we ended up going out for breakfast at another location our way home. Pricy for being a hostel.

    Like the spacious room and outstanding front desk customer service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    7.5
    Good place,
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single room is small but enough. The bed can be more comfortable. The housekeeping is very noisy between the rooms.

    Location is great. The room is clean .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely affordable stay in a xl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast wasn't really to my liking but generally had a good variety of options, although these were mainly cold options and cereals.

    Room was great value for money and in a great location near to the Neumarkt and within walking distance of some really great restaurants, bars and lovely areas of the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    7.9
    Overall - Almost perfect for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was slightly dirty when we arrived. Whilst it was clean on the surface, looking around there was evidence that areas hadn't been cleaned. For example there were pieces of chewing gum underneath my bed that were there when we arrived.

    Staff were friendly and available 24/7. Room was comfortable and just the right size for the four of us. Breakfast was great with a decent variety of options so we all managed to eat something. Location was good with easy access to the tram lines which can take you all over Cologne.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    7.5
    Sleepless!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For some reason the intersection where the Hostel is based becomes VERY noisy at night, we had two nights of very little sleep until well after 3am and we were on the 6th floor. I'm not sure if it is the design of the buildings but the sound carries straight upwards and if it is hot as it was when we stayed you need to have the windows open as there is no aircon. Really a shame because other than that the Hostel is great value and a good location for transport etc. into Cologne.

    Great room and great breakfast, very friendly staff and very clean in all areas ( the hostel, not the staff, although I'm sure they were too!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    8.8
    Great hostel to stay at for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1- We didn't have an air conditioner in our room, can be hot at sometimes 2- There is no living room you can stay in, if you don't want to sit in your room, your only option is the reception and the rooftop is only accessible during breakfast.

    1- Good breakfast 2- Has elevator 3- Friendly staff 4- Very close to a metro station with many connections 5- Family friendly 6- Great rooftop

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    5.0
    great location, others could be better for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the price was super expensive for what is offered but that's probably because of games con. room has no air con so it gets super hot if you close windows, where we was placed was right outside a restaurant and it was very noisy every night.

    the showers were nice and the location is perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room floor is not so clean.

    The room is new and big. A lot of windows which make the room bright. Bath room is equipped with brand new facilities. Breakfast is good, a lot of choices to choose. The location is also good not far from the subway and tram.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.9
    I'll back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have to make the bed, the bed linen was in the room but its quite uncomfortable to make the bed, Breakfast: they dont have hot milk, we must request it every day. I've missed a croissant or another sweet thing.

    Bathroom very clean. Nice location Quiet, no noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    6.7
    just OK nothing special would stay again if it wasn't for the noise issue, it's a budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast items were not replenished quick enough, as in orange juice, tea bags bread etc. There didn't seem to be enough staff available. Very noisy 2nd floor room. Outside noise an issue until early hours 2.30am and beyond, both nights of our stay, even with the windows closed. Had to keep blinds closed in the bathroom to maintain privacy from buildings opposite.

    location handy for underground links. At the top end of the shopping area so not as crowded as being near to the Dom. Friendly staff, was able to store luggage as room wasn't ready.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    4.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Five-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No AC in a hot summer night. Could not open the windows otherwise bugs would come in. Bad design of bathroom as shower water came out into the room all over the place.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air conditioning. The windows open wide but it can get very hot in the room.

    It was clean and quiet. The staff spoke very good English. Walking distance of plenty of restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    7.5
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of air conditioning and the noise of the street & terraces of restaurants during the night when you are staying on a lower floor and you need to open the window

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    9.6
    Very good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The windows are old and not well isolating against the noise in the street.

    Great location to stay with your kids. The kids enoyed the bunk bed in the family room. Clean, friendly and good breakefast. As we travelled by train and public transport we enjoyed the location near the Neumarkt (public transport hub with Underground and Trams).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2017

    5.8
    Clean rooms with nice breakfast, facilities like the beds and the bathroom need an upgrade...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds felt like Stone. Never slept so bad. :( The room and bathroom were really tiny, had to squeeze in the corner of the bathroom to close the door so I could access the shower. The shower had no shower door which made it impossible not to soak the whole bathroom. The price is kind of high for the facilities at this moment...

    Breakfast was delicious and there was a lot to choose from. The rooms were clean and the bathroom looked really modern.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    5.8
    Could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too noisy! Noise from upstairs, from the corridor, from outside. The room is not darken enough by the shades. Breakfast a little poor in regards of what other hostels in the same range of price offer. Finally, I think I paid too much for the level of service.

    Good location, close to pedestrian streets and public transportation. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2017

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was really hard only because we had a van and all the car parks are for low cars. If we had a small car if would of been easy. All the road parking is pay abd display and its a busy area so you may have to drive aroundabit before you find somewhere.

    Really clean, friendly staff, nice rooms

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    9.2
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi didnt work at all on the first day, and only started working when we went for breakfast when we had to check out, bit of a sad story really.

    Location was good. A lot to do around the area, nice and friendly. Would go again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    10
    KÖSTLICH
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    From boiled to scrambled eggs to rye bread to bread rolls, the breakfast was a very welcome sight that gave life and catered to 6 hungover souls the morning after. KÖSTLICH

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds and pillows were a little hard in my opinion.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Big rooms (I booked a single room which actually had a double bed + a bunk bed). Probably the best Hostel breakfast I've ever had.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    7.1
    Satisfying, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet wasn't clean when we arrived. I try not to be too graphic, but someone seemed to have used the bathroom after its cleaning. This issue spoiled the impression in such a way that I couldn't but to grant it a lower score than it otherwise had been the case.

    The location was great, breakfast was generous, staff was professional

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    9.0
    Great location and superb family stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grout on shower needed a little cleaning - otherwise very good.

    Great "postal" with excellent location, decent parking and good vibe for our family. We are a family of six, two adults and four children and this was the first ever room we have found to accommodate us well with a kingsize bed and two bunks - fantastic!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2017

    4.6
    Poor hygienic conditions.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon entering the room, I immediately noticed that it smelled rather poopy. A quick look in the bathroom revealed a pool of yellow waste maturing in the toilet. Further tempering my initial excitement over the four beds that I was graciously provided with, was the lack of slippers to protect my soles from the sticky floor and its layers of historic gunk.

    Staff were friendly. Location was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2017

    6.7
    Very friendly staff but value for money wasn't right for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was also very busy! We arrived a few hours before planned in check-in time with two snall children! I had already written them several days beforehand asking if there was any way we could check in a little earlier, that we were even willing to pay the extra charge! Their email reply was that they would try their best! Once there we asked again and they told us that they were extremly busy today and that right now, our room was free but not yet cleaned and that we should go out and call them in another hour to see if t was done! We called twice after that and each time the reply was that they didn't know how to get hold of housekeeping! Of course we came early abd it wasn't their fault that the room wasn't ready but I didn't feel like any extra effort was made for us! Also, we foubd some hair on our bed, our mirror hadn't been cleaned! I could tell that housekeeping was in a hurry! All in all, I feel like the price we paid was certainly not cheap, even coming from Switzerland, and I frankly expected a little more! But it is still a lovely place and like I said, staff was so nice to us!

    The staff was very friendly!! Location is ace!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    9.2
    Reall enjoyed the stay. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe extra TV channels? Even a music channel.

    Breakfast was very good, nice variety, very clean and bright spacious area. Terrace was good. Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2017

    8.8
    Overall well satisfied!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from outdoor (cocktail bar) (we had a room at the street side). Hard corridor floors also gave some noise issues from other visitors' suitcases.

    Breakfast was amazing. Friendly personnel. Large room. Comfortable and nice bathroom, great shower. Correct price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2016

    10
    Great hostel for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved this hostel. Nicely decorated, welcoming & warm common areas. Great for families. Was not expecting them to clean up the room or get new towels as we were only there 2 nights. When we can back from being out all day they had made our beds,gave us new towels and even folded up my daughter's t-shirt, matched her socks up and placed them on her bed. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2016

    8.3
    Cool hotel very close to the center of Cologne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was too much noise in our room from other tenants above and next to our room.

    Stuff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice and room was clean and spacious. Plenty to do and see close to the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2016

    10
    Good City Stay Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind

    Very friendly welcome. Only 15 minutes from the Xmas markets. Basic room but spotless and all facilities working perfectly. Breakfast very good. Good enough choice and constantly refreshed. Ideal hotel for short break city stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    5.4
    Location for exploring the city is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the street is terrible (at least in the weekend). The windows were all closed, but it felt like they were open. People screaming, lauching, being loud until 5 am at least. Also the matrasses are very hard and the pillows super high and uncomfortable.

    Location for exploring the city is good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2016

    4.2
    It is a youth hostel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They charge hotel prices, but it's still a hostel. You can't sleep until after 3 in the morning because of partying teenies on the floor. I don't think I will go again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    9.6
    First time in Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Five-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can not open a window in the room, only tilted - damaged window (6 people in the room), no air conditioning.

    Close to downtown - 10 min walking Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2016

    6.7
    Good, calm location, walking distance (up to 15 minutes) to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The "basement" apartment wasn't quite worth it's price, it was a dense place. On the opposite the apartment on the 3rd floor was quite charming, with a nice balcony and a view. Not that much of a gap in price between those, that's what my problem is about.

    Good, calm location, walking distance (up to 15 minutes) to Cathedral area and even less to many place where the nightlife is.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    8.3
    Good value for money for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Five-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know it is a hostel but I didn't realise I had to make 3 out of the 5 beds myself. It was unusually hot that day/night and our room was baking. We couldn't open the windows due to the noise levels on the road which carried on throughout the night. The weather is, however, not the hostel's fault.

    We wanted somewhere in the centre of the city to enable us to go sightseeing. The location is perfect for that. The rooms are very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. Parking was off the road so very secure.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    7.5
    Fresh and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there's no air conditioning in the room and we couldn't open the windows especially at night as our room faced onto the noisy bar area.

    Fresh and good breakfast Polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    5.0
    Location of this hotel is adjacent to a Bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location of this hotel is adjacent to a Bar. Lot of noise and people talking, shouting and playing on the road through out the night..Windows are not sound proof.. Myself and my family Could not sleep at all in the night due to heavy disturbance..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was nice and reception was really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Six-Bed Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For what we paid, we expected it to look like the pictures at least, however we got stuck in a cramp hot room. We also asked the cleaning lady for more soap, and she said the one we had was enough for a three day stay...

    Breakfast was nice and reception was really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2016

    8.3
    8.5 is a fair grade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom didn't have a door caused serious problems of water that flooded the floor ground. Surrounding environment of hotel was so noisy and we couldn't sleep easily as we had to keep the windows open due to hot weather and lack of air conditioner

    everything else was really good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.6
    From check in to check out aside from minor things my stay at Quality Inn was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Five-Bed Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None of my special request where met.

    Staff and breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.9
    Excelent breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows

    Excelent breakfasts!(

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    6.7
    Having a refregerator in the room would be a good idea for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having a refregerator in the room would be a good idea for family with children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.9
    The mattresses are very hard and the windows can not be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattresses are very hard and the windows can not be covered very well, so the room is very light in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent choice of breakfast foods, something for everyone Super friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    9.2
    The staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.5
    clean, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Five-Bed Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was expensive for such kind of facilities.

    clean, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostel Köln Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: