Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Helnan Phønix Hotel 4 stars

Vesterbro 77, DK-9000 Aalborg, Denmark

#10 of 23 hotels in Aalborg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2066 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rear stairs and few internal steps made lugging suitcases difficult. Ramps would improve things. Limited parking.

    Excellent breakfast, great location, full of old world charm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cooling and there was noise from the interserction all night, beeping all the time from the road and the installation for the blind to cross the road. We could¨n't sleep due to the noise and it forced us to close the window and therefore try to sleep in a room that was way too hot.

    Beds good, service good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel however my room's location was right next to traffic signal and was disturbed by the constant signal noises with lights turning green. Acoustics could have been better.

    Overall quite good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Supplies for the bathroom appeared to be rationed for some reason - even the toilet paper wasn’t restocked for 4 days but Reception were very happy to supply missing items on request. Our room was a little tired and in need of updating but the public rooms are traditional and in a much better state of décor / repair.

    The hotel is in a very central position in Aalborg which is great and there is plenty of free parking space. You’ll need a token from reception to get out which they don’t tell you! It is also only a few KM from the airport which is very useful. The breakfast was a good continental style and kept pace with the large crowd at the weekend unlike many hotels so this was well done.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too hot in the room, too noisy, because of the light outside the window, there are so many insects, so you cant even open the window. the room is like a sauna room. really noisy.

    Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the Centrum and directly off the bicycle trail . Large room with clean bathroom and toiletries. Excellent breakfast. Close to some good restaurants . Staff very helpful and friendly. Good bike storage .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on 5th floor does not have lift access could be difficult for elderly people.

    Excellent location within city centre and old harbour. Excellent breakfast served early am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Very comfortable room and helpful staff. Alas I had to leave before breakfast! My first visit to Denmark and I was delighted by how friendly and eager to assist the staff were. Also I thought the bar was charming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was too soft for me but I still had a good sleep.

    The hotel is in a great location, the staff were very friendly. I loved the old fashioned decor and I had a peaceful night’s sleep. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so cold even when the heating was on! Staff where very rude for the price it is a disgrace I would never recommend this place to any one I would appreciate any compensation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating wasn't powerful enough for our room so the temperature was only 16C even on full power. Also, we had paid for three separate beds but the property only provided two.

    The sauna was great and the breakfast was pleasant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Comfy bed. Liked the separate duvets. Really good breakfast. Great location close to museums and shopping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is of low quality, fruit and vegetables wee not fresh, choices were limited. The room was without minibar, without reading light as if they expect that guests will just sleep there! The room was cold and to obtain extra blanket we had to negotiate it. At first the staff required payment for extra blanket but after negotiation we got them for free. Low quality shamboo in the bathroom. This is two stars hotel with price for 4 stars.

    Friendly staff. Good parkering. Good location of hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refused to serve early breakfast, prepared just coffee, but without sugar and milk, and didn't got them even later. :(

    Close to the city centre. Nice stuff. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Reception personel was very unhelpfull. I wanted to stay for a month,but i could not unpack my suitcase because there was nowhere to put my clothes. All they have,are coathangers. I waited 4 days for an answer if i could have a little cubboard. On day five i asked again and was told that i cant be helped. The bathroom is very old and dirty. Full ashtray on the balcony for 6 days. (I dont smoke) Will never go there again

    Close to town centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only fault about the hotel was the fact that the lift was not working on our arrival, which meant that we had to climb three flights of stairs to the 3rd floor, thank goodness we did not have a room on a higher level! The lift did not work for the duration of our stay but this is no fault of the hotel, a mechanical problem which could not be rectified.

    The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, speaking very good English and understood our needs. The bed was very comfortable, however there was only one pillow each and as my husband and I like two pillows each we asked for another one which arrived within 10 minutes of asking, what more could you ask for? Furthermore, the breakfast was excellent with a good choice of food, bread, cheese, ham, salami, cereals, toast, eggs, sausages, fresh fruit, Danish pastries and plenty of fresh coffee, a good selection of teas and fresh fruit juice. Another bonus was being able to leave our luggage in a safe place in the hotel until we left which was great for my husband and I as we had an evening flight back to England that day which saved us from having to carry our luggage with us on our last day in Aalborg. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone needing to be central as it is near the shopping precinct and bus routes. The purpose of our trip was to see the Runrig concert at the Skovdalen venue and this was very easy to access only 15 minutes walk away from the Phonix hotel which was perfect for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel furniture is modest and old. We could not sleep quietly at night, because of the noise which is coming from the street outside overnight. One room was not ready at the time of our arrival (1400 pm) or chick in, so we had to wait more than half an hour.

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit tired room, with old smell of cigarette smoke, difficult to close bathroom door and no soap or shower gel in dispenser.

    Very good selection for breakfast. Comfortable beds and very good location to see the centre of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room in the annex got very hot in sunny weather and the bed there was uncomfortable. Not enough parking spaces in the back yard.

    Located near the center as well as the main street through Aalborg. Very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is worn and needs refurbishing. The carpet in common areas dirty and in need of replacement.

    The reception staff was great! The location simply outstanding! Walked to bars and restaurants as well as the modern art museum, the zoo...and a MUST visit the park of the singing trees! The Provence restaurant outstanding!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big hotel. Standard room is rather small with small double beds.

    When I had a complaint in the middle of the night, the person on duty delt with it friendly and professionally and very helpful and sufficient. The next day we achieved a room upgrade.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They gave us a very small room at the backside, really run down , with a small bed and bathroom. There was a terrace below with big tables where guests brought their own bottles of beer and made lots of noise. Could not connect to internet from this room. In other areas it did work.

    The breakfast was very good , especially the fresh coffee. Free parking place for motorbikes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was called 11am from Reseption and told my late check-out request was not possible. Check-out at once. Nice to know when the party strip closed at 6am. I continued my sleep in the back of my car.

    Location Fair price Car parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good no complaints

    Bery well priced hotel.Comforatble,;some rooms come with a terrace. Central location. Friendly and helpfull staff. Very good breakfast. Free parking which is a luxury.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is getting a little old but is being well maintained

    The room was very large and the bed was very wide and very comfortable. The hotel was very quiet and there was secure parking although it is in the centre of town where parking is not easy or plentiful or safe

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was opposite the elevator, so we got the first real peace pm. 02 o'clock at night, when all guest were back in their rooms.

    Great breakfast, good rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Funnily enough Aalborg was going through a mini heatwave, and room was slightly hot even with window open.

    Great location, staff helpful, room was fine and loved the Danish breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Can't think of anything except that one Sunday the room was missed by staff and not made up. On this occasion we didn't follow this up as there were major festivities within the township so we thought that staff were busy preparing other rooms as the hotel was pretty full. This didn't particularly worry us.

    Big room on the 5th floor at rear of hotel, Good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Dining room provided and excellent evening meal. We were there for more than 10 days and would not hesitate in returning to this older style but well appointed hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was little bit too warm and the bed was too high.

    Very good location everything was near and car parking posibility. Excellent and delicious breakfast with many kind of breads and also sweet cookies... and of course polite staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm hotel room, no air conditioning. No coffee/tea making facilities. No iron/ironing board in the room (always useful when on business travel). Unfortunately this was the only hotel that was available for the requested dates at the time of booking.

    This hotel is comfortably situated in the city center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom washbasin extremely small, for teeth bruching one has to bow down very close to it, because it's not deeper than the small shelf directly above it. No wardrobe, little room for depositing clothes

    Breakfast offer really rich. Staff really friendly. Hotel's own parking area large, parking costs reasonable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The vent over the shower in room 102 was broken. A lot av uggy stuff comming down. Im not a big fan of shower curtains..

    Ok hotel with a great location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - WiFi was always functional but a bit slow. - The hotel was not flexible when I asked for a specific formulation of the invoice for my employer. - Restaurant is very-very simple, only available for dinner.

    - Clean and spacious room. - Central location in town. - Nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smoke free, but it was clear that it had been a smoke room before. The smell was in the carpet, curtains etc.

    Location good. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom, fridge and kitchen. Toilet smelled.

    Perfect location. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    problems that day with roomkeys

    Comfortable bed, good service, quiet room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    quite rustik hotel could need some modernisation of rooms e. g. airco.

    Central dead in center of town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great central location very clean also fantastic breakfast with loads of variety

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comforty dobbelbed but should hav been wider

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was not very good in english. You can hear very loud when people are talking in the hallway.

    Amazing location. Room very cozy and big

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast Super Super The staff in Reception was ??????????????

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff could smile more, makes the whole visit more positive.

    Staff was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was very small

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no shower gel in the bathroom was forgotten to be refilled..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is nice and peaceful place

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    Old fashion style

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of kettle in the room

    breakfast, localization

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are to dark

    Location, friendly staff, easy parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very comfortable and the staff, especially Charlotte at the reception desk, was wonderful. The breakfast exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The retro bar with old books. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic city hotel. Lift was not working, engine had broken so probably broken for some time.

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift not working! Un-renovated bathroom - small, with the shower in the bath.

    Cosy, old style hotel. Great location, staff friendly, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was small and too soft.

    Old Nice hotel close to the center. Private parking for the motorbike for free. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no English Breakfast Tea Bags only loose tea which I don't like.

    Central location and as much to eat at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    God morgenmad og god seng

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircondition, instead they offered a fan that helped a little. The wifi was very slow.

    Bed was good and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft, but that seems to be a standard in Denmark.

    Spacious and comfortable room in central location. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Mold on window.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    spacious room and comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Floors need an up grade

    The floors made noises. Like old building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for the hotel did not correspond with what Booking Com said at the booking site.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very very poor wifi verty crowded breakfast area, bring your own chair....and sparse breakfast

    central location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bacon at breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to leave - smiling

    friendly staff, clean hotel. Bice room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sink in bathroom to small

    all good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every item is of high value.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too noisy,creaking at each movement.

    Very good position,friendly staff,nice old style interiors

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was my second stay at Phonix Hotel and everything was very good. I really suggest this Hotel both for business and leasure

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    " The package "

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Helnan Phønix Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: