Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Bilbao Nervión 4 stars

Paseo Campo Volantin, 11, 48007 Bilbao, Spain

#22 of 49 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4198 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel in best location for walking all areas of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect hotel in best location for walking all areas of interest, hotel accomodates all you would expect of a 4* hotel with friendly staff and outstanding breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    A Good Quality Hotel with Modern Interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A good quality hotel with modern style lounge, bar and restaurant. Friendly and helpful Reception and staff, Ideal location with short walks to tourist attractions and restaurants. Good sized clean, fresh and Modern Bedroom incorporating open style wash facility. Very good breakfast choices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, good breakfast and good sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The window in our suite #249 had a very very dirty window!

    The location is just perfect, 5 min away from Guggenheim museum and from the Old Town. Quiet suit room # 249 with a big window and a beautiful view of the river and a promenade. Comfortable beds. Very clean. Good and quiet AC. Tasty breakfast with a huge variety of differen food that can satisfy most of tastes. There is also a choice of health food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Modern rooms.Perfect loaction.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast not included and expensive.

    Very convenient and safe location on river side. Walking distance to all the sights .Tourist bus stop very close. Large room and comfortable bed. Very clean.Huge bathroom. Quite pricey but Bilbao hotels are expensive generally. Top rated family run restaurant within 50 yards but will need pre booking .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    good spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the suite was quite expensive and the view of the river was obscured by trees. the food was mediocre but inexpensive. Its quite tricky to see from the car and the car park is very easy to miss

    we had a suite which was lovely. it is well positioned between the old town and the guggenheim. the restaurant was quite busy which was good as it could have been soulless. lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Quiet clean and storage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was worn in middle, no support. Would have liked a nespresso machine in the room. Hate paying €17 for breakfast each when all we like is a light breakfast.

    Quiet clean and storage. Great shower.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable accommodation in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are not always private Bar often so busy staff can’t manage

    Room was quiet Location excellent Great bar area with friendly staff Large comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Most of the staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking garage was a little tight especially if cars do not park well and the price per day was on the higher side but it was expected as the location was close to the city center.

    Most of the staff was very helpful. One particular gave us great recommendations to go out and eat and even made a reservation for us.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, lovely city. We would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food in Bilbao quite meat oriented, and breakfast has a lot of cake based food from our experience. We would have liiked more fruit and variety in breakfast offerings, so will do more research before we go next time.

    location was very good, and no noise from outside. Slept well and room clean and modern. Great shower and big bed. Hotel restaurant excellent with dinner being well cooked, tasty and well priced. Bilbao is a great city to visit and not touristy or too busy. Easy to get to San Sebation for a day trip or to Guernica. We used the bus, train, tram, and taxi. All excellent and bang on time

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    The location of the hotel is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a serious blockage problem for the bath. We needed to keep a watchful eye on the running water to avoid any overflow. We can't find any housekeeping number to call for a bottle opener. We called the front desk for assistance and were replied that delivery of a bottle opener to room would be charged or else we could go to the bar on ground floor for assistance.

    The location of the hotel is perfect. The Guggenheim Museum and the Casco Viejo are in close proximity. They are only 8 to 10 min-walk. The room is of chic design and comfortable. Check-in and check-out process is smooth. There are just 60+ parking spaces in the hotel. It is always full. The nearby Parking Arenal Ayuntamiento Casco Viejo Bilbao PARKIA (just 5-min walk) is a good choice. One can get 10% discount by getting a stamp on the ticket from the front desk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of parking at tge hotel was too high. Shower stall was a bit small.

    Location was good. Room met expectations and was equipped with a shower stall as requested. Bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    I would stay there again, and I would recommend it to others. That's the best recommendation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wastebasket in the bathroom had not been emptied from our previous day. Nor were new amenities added to the bathroom the second day.

    The shower was hot and had lots of water. In the restaurant the waitress was very helpful in getting me a substitution for the walnuts, which I'm allergic to, that were served with the dessert. It was so good, I ordered it the next night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Absolutely beautiful room, with super-comfortable bed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At check in during payment process either i requested to send payment thru payment terminal "without conversion" (in original currency EUR) lady on desk confirm conversion payment what in end means that they charged me 32 EUR more then it should be. I complain directly because bank app showed me directly how much i was charged, lady try to find some "smart" explanation but it doesn't work for me. Transaction was canceled and i was charged correct amount. I would expect that personal on front desk is train enough to know that PAYMENT THRU TERMINAL WITH CONVERSION IS NEVER GOOD FOR CLIENT - its a new trend how to rip off unacknowledged travelers. People and hotels who do this have provisions from this transactions - so it was a big disappointment that hotel of this quality need to be part of this.

    Absolutely beautiful room, with super-comfortable bed and all necessary amenities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room wasn’t great. Reception staff faultless, bar staff not so much

    Amazing location. Checkout at 12 which was really great. Modern, clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Good but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really negative. Reception was often busy so it was a wait to get attention but when one did, staff were excellent. Breakfast expensive.

    Location central. Clean comfortable beds, decent sized room; good but not exceptional facilities for the price. Set dinner good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Location and size of suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and check out takes far too long for some reason. Room could have been better cleaned particularly the bathroom. The room service menu was extremely limited and needs to be extended for families that have to been in the room from early evening.

    Location and size of suite

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Good selection in the buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very small room for the price. Front desk was not very flexible and somewhat disjointed, making many small mistakes. Shower would not drain the first day.

    Good selection in the buffet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Great stay taking in the fiesta
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not particularly comfortable. Very surprised that lft to carpark was being cleaned at a time when many people were leaving. A real nuisance for a wheelchair user

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Beds were extremely comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were extremely comfortable. Staff very helpful. Location good - easy walking to main parts of city. Overall hotel was very modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    An excellent choice for a short stay in Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room for the 3 nights was very compact. Had to have the room safe replaced and shower flooded when on full power. The room for the one night at the end was much better.

    Staff very efficient and friendly. Excellent breakfast and cheap bar!. Great location between the Guggenheim and Old Town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Great Hotel - but struggling with Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only thing we did not like was around the Breakfast. While the breakfast itself was plenty and lots of it, the hotel has constant issues with its total of 5 (!) coffee machines. Either they were running out of water or milk or they simply broke down. Additionally, there were long queues every morning, since breakfast opens at 7:30h on weekends and 7:00h during the week. Absolutely non-acceptable, imagine the multiple tours who headed out at 8h in the morning which caused a huge crowd.

    Friendly staff, clean rooms - overall hotel was great. Location is 5 min by foot from old town and 15 min by foot to Guggenheim.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a day or two but no more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms have no bathroom to speak of. Sink and shower integrated into room with no dividing wall. Could be awkward if sharing with a friend!

    Very comfy bed. Very nice breakfast. Great location. Easy to find car park right under the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The set menu food was disappointing. Price was cheap and so was the food! Had one receptionist who was not particularly friendly. They also said their system showed we'd had two items from the mini bar when we'd had nothing.

    Only 5 mins from Guggenheim in one direction and old town in the other.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a la carte menu choice in dining room at breakfast. Only breakfast buffet which was expensive if you did not want a large meal.

    Great location. Great shower!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Modern hotel in good location, staff not the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff weren't the best; did their job but not the most personal. The bar was disappointing; bar staff didn't seem to know what they were doing with most drinks. Please be aware these are merely the observations I made during my stay at said property. I understand staff are trained in customer service, however on this occasion I didn't feel as though I received the best experience possible. If I receive a response to this review disputing the above account, as appears to be the case with a number of reviews on this site, I will be making an official complaint. Had I read more responses prior to booking this property, I probably would have chosen to stay elsewhere. At the vest least, the use of the word 'lament' is rude at best, unacceptable at worst.

    Good location, within walking distance of main attractions. Rooms modern and well appointed, albeit a touch on the small side. Impressed by the quality of the bedding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    It made sightseeing in Bilboa so easy. The car was safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beside lights did not have separate controls. The washbasin in the bedroom.

    It was so central, parking was so easy and the Guggenheim was a short walk away. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Staff were super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weirdest thing I've ever complained about... We were given a disabled toilet- no issues there. But it was so high I had to almost climb onto it! It was kind of funny though. €17 per person for breakfast was ridiculous. We had a great breakfast for €10 all together down the street.

    Staff were super helpful. They even helped me with my terrible Spanish! Sorted a taxi to the airport for us znd gave us some good eating out options. Location was perfect, beds super comfy. Lovely fresh water/juice and mini cakes for free in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice clean hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pity that the building had no pool and the bathroom layout was a bit odd.

    Good air conditioning, nice central location, free fruit infused water in reception.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable accommodation but irritated beyond belief at the parking and baggage management
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I specifically reserved it as the hotel had parking. The car park was full for the entire period and there were no spaces available for a reserved guest. Not was there anyone to take bags at the door while redirected to a public parking facility. Choice was to block entrance, queue at reception to put bag in locker room and then find a parking location, or find a parking location and drag luggage to and from.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Proximity to the Guggenheim museum and the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took almost 30min to check in and staff was not friendly. 27€ per day for car parking is a bit excessive

    Proximity to the Guggenheim museum and the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.4
    Not good - stay at Hotel Miro instead!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Always a huge queue for reception and staff generally quite unhelpful. Air conditioning in rooms very weak. Was told that this was so it was quiet enough to sleep, but no option to turn up. Raised issue with staff via call to reception and receptionist (male) hung up on me when I called first time and the second time he transferred me to the 'customer experience team' without saying anything or asking me to hold - he was exceptionally rude. No moisturiser in room and when I asked for some was told I would have to wait until the next day, then had to wait in 10 minute queue to ask for it again the next day. Surely, good customer service would be to get it to the guest, rather than expect them to come back and queue? There was blood on the mattress protector on my bed, so I drew the covers back to expose this hoping the cleaners would change the protector, which they didn't. When getting suitcase out from storage on last day had to queue again for another 15 minutes due to huge queue in reception. Generally speaking, there was a real lack of customer service at the hotel, it was understaffed, and the staff seemed unhappy dealing with people in English - they were notably friendlier to all the Spanish guests. I would not recommend this hotel or stay here again. Go to Hotel Miro - much nicer, friendlier, cleaner and no huge queues!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Great short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms setup is a little awkward, with shower opening directly in the room.

    Location is amazing, rooms are big, comfortable, and clean, there's a small gym (where they provide towels, water, and even apples), staff was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Useful place to stay to access all of Bilbao's great things to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not self contained. This was awkward for using the shower. Bar closed at 12. Too early compared to the way nightlife in Bilbao works.

    Very comfortable bed. The hotel is in the perfect position for the Casco Viejo, the new town, Guggenheim and transport from Bilbao.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    great position and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasnt very easy to "use": the kettle was far from an electric outlet, there wasn t any spoon, there was no place to hang towels outside of the shower...

    great position and very clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing king size bed, cleanliness and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a little problem finding the bus stop that the receptionist indicated, otherwise all good.

    Amazing king size bed, cleanliness and perfect location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    The location of this hotel is outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, bathroom, and elevators are miniature.

    The location of this hotel is outstanding. A great launching point for exploring Bilbao. The staff is super-friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom are modern and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, clean room, quiet hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room, staff seemed overwhelmed ... took 30 mins to Check in and there was no line, parking full ... but was easy (and free) to find on the street.

    Great location, clean room, quiet hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Too small for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were much smaller than pics and they don't have a double bed. They only have two singles side by side. For the price, I would think they can have a double bed.

    Location was great. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The length of time at check in was the only negative with this property.

    Such a fantastic position, clean and freash rooms and the most comfortable bed we have slept in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    The location of this hotel was ideal for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t comment on the food / facilities as we didn’t dine in or use any facilities.

    The location of this hotel was ideal for us. Very close to El Casco Viejo and lots of bakeries / cafes / food around and very close to the main shopping strip & taxi stand. The staff were extremely helpful when we needed some direction & help with parking. The room isn’t big and we didn’t really use any facilities but it’s great for a clean & convenient place to stay. Would definitely book again when I return to Bilbao next.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Very close to old town, about 5 minuets walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little smaller than I expected.

    Very close to old town, about 5 minuets walk. Breakfast was fantastic! Lots of choice and they all tasted good. Room was clean and staffs are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location to visit the sights of Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We sort of expected the hotel bar to stay open longer as we fancied a night cap once back from the town.

    The hotel was in an excellent location though not that easy to see driving along the road in front of it. Otherwise the room was clean comfortable and we could have easily stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.6
    Way too pricey! Small room w/o view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small & window against a staircase- for 160€! Breakfast for 3 is 48€! Parking troublesome & 27€/night - not to be recommended

    Lobby area nicely designed, location good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfortable beds, wonderful shower. Walking distance to Guggenheim. We were able to leave our luggage in storage after we’d checked out which was very helpful as we had a late flight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    Rip off hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A dirty old sock hanging in bathroom. No toiletries. Paid 330 Euros for one double room and one triple room for one night and I had a bed settee to sleep on

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    BUT I had to pay 27 Euros per day ofr the parking - without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BUT I had to pay 27 Euros per day ofr the parking - without being informed on that (the price) prior to check out - I was expecting something between 10 and 15 Euros max

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    4.6
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel parking was fully booked - we ended up circling around the city for 30 minutes. Something that we should definitely be notified of. Worst of all - at 8 AM someone started chipping wood in the property next door. We could not sleep because of the noise and due to late arrival (23.45 with 30 minutes spent looking for a parking spot) we had a horrific experience. When we complained about it to the front desk, we received nothing but a shrug. The rooms (Superior Double) were not like the ones advertised. Much smaller, weary and cobwebs all round. The front desk was understaffed with multiple clients lodging complaints.

    Clean room, nice lobby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small with shower and basin in the room. It was basically a business hotel with no atmosphere and I wouldn't stay there again.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Cool modern hotel close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The open bathroom (with the shower and the sink in the same room and the bed - only separated with a glass) is super cool but spreads a bit of humidity everywhere after the shower. Not a big issue anyway!

    The bed wan simply amazing, huge, super comfortable, I would have loved to sleep there for so many hours more. The air conditioning is perfect, there was the perfect temperature. And the room was super cute, with lot of space and a cool bathroom. Breakfast is good, with a lot of choice. Position is very good, less then 10 minutes from the city center and the Guggenheim museum.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Bilbao was brilliant and the hotel good once we had managed to check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was deadfall. My group had 14 rooms with all of the guest details (names, passports etc), this worked very well at all the other hotels but here it seemed like we were the first guests that they had ever checked in!

    Location, room and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location,very clean and good staff but Che k out location of rooms first.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room as a 'luxury' room...at the back, poor air conditioning and a overlooking a brick wall! Not great.

    Great location...near to the Guggenheim.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location with comfortable spacious modern public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took 30 minutes yet 3 desk clerks on duty

    Great location with comfortable spacious modern public arears. Bar prices seemed çheap and dinner was an excellent 3 course menu del dia for €15

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    I would definitely return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin room was a little small and I would prefer if bathroom was completely separate to bedroom.

    Location is excellent and staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.3
    Total disappointment
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking - it is constantly full, however if you go down to the parking lot, you will see (like in our case) that there are available spaces, which the hotel is "reserving for their guests". While on booking.com it clearly says - no reservation is possible. Also, apparently we didnt qualify for "hotel guests" as we only paid for 2 nights, so basically no parking for us. Also front staff attitude towards any question/problem was extremely unfriendly - no thank you, hello, goodbye, simply : "well, you know that happens". Our room keys have been deactivated 3 times during the stay. Showers were made for very skinny people, you most probably wont have enough space to dry yourself. Bathrooms are basically next to your bed, very limited amount of space even for a couple. Toilets are made for girls, if you know what I mean........ Right elevator button on 6th floor doesnt work. Guests leaving all their in-room dining trash in the hallways, which is not picked up before the next morning. Housekeeping really doesnt know what they are doing. Not once has our bed been tended properly. And dont even get me started on the breakfast. Variety - probably 10 of of 10, but food quality was not even 3 out of 10. I promise, I have stayed in 2* hotels in the middle of the desert with better food quality than this wannabe 4* hotel in the "capital of culinary industry" as Bilbao is presented in the Airport. Coffee is undrinkable. Also, the whole ground floor is basically one massive open space, so there is SO MUCH noise from breakfast area spreading all over the property. Impossible to talk on the phone anywhere except outside - on the street. Considering the price we paid - this has been a HUGE disappointment for us. Barcelo Bilbao Nervion never again. FYI - there is NH hotel to the left of Barcelo - stay there.

    Location was decent, however considering the only reason we chose this hotel was parking on site, which was FULL during the 3 days we stayed there, this parameter can be disregarded.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The best place to stay in Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing

    Everything, the staff is very pleasant and polite. The room, bed, badroom, towels...is perfect and comfortable. Everything is brilliant!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Probably will not return for the indifferent and inefficient service - and the electricity fiasco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the inefficient check-in, took 20-25 minutes' wait. totally unacceptable in this day and age. indifferent staff - I was going to stay at the bar on blues Thursday...but waited 15, 20 minutes without any service staff coming to ask me for my order. I walked to bar myself, and was totally ignored. Another customer was also waiting at the bar. But two staff members huddled, ignoring any customer who may want to be served! I left in the end. I don't need this. And the electricity fuse shorted while I ironed - waited half an hour before someone came to fix it - and looked as if I was the one to be blamed. If ironing means using too much electricity, this hotel should not be in business. This is not Manila in the 1970s !!!

    the facilities are modern and functional, great towels, ironing board... the location is not bad, walkable to the Guggenheim, and to the main restaurants area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Superb breakfast at a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only bad thing i can think of is the fact that the room was a bit noisy. Luckily it did not bother us to much.

    Superb breakfast, one of the best we ever had. The bed and pillows offer high quality sleep. Great location all around, a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Kind and helpfull staff. Because the hotel is next to the river it is the perfect starting point for a nice walk or a bike ride. I can easely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Bueno!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our record was not updated to include an extra night, had to spend 30 mins sorting this out. Person who was trying to scam people was seen repeatedly in the lobby, staff oblivious to this. Made us feel unsafe.

    Beautiful rooms. Delicious, albeit pricey, breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Location and space
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were untrained and not equipped to deal with customers They could not understand our booking and took 90 minutes to check us in

    Location and space

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Loved the decor, facilities great, staff really friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues at all 😄

    Loved the decor, facilities great, staff really friendly & helpful, great location, parking, breakfast ...... a really superb hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Short stay in Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed for 2 nights but the hotel is in a good location especially for the Guggenheim and Casco Viejo. The room was clean and spacious enough for two with luggage. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s quite large hotel with long corridors of bedrooms. It felt a little corporate in places. The bar area was a little lacking in character. There’s not a lot of natural light in most of the hotel including our room, which was at the back of the hotel on a lower floor so we were looking into a small courtyard cut into the hillside that the hotel is built against so we were basically looking out onto a rock wall.

    The hotel is located by the river, and is just a 10 min walk to most places of interest to a tourist: the Old Town, the Guggenheim, the shopping area and the river cruises. The football stadium is about 20 mins. There is a funicular to a hilltop with great views over Bilbao which is five minutes from the hotel. Bus routes, tramlines and metro (which you probably won’t need) are all within walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and modern.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable and convenient. Great for vacation stay with a good breakfast to start the day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In-room WiFi failed repeatedly. Lobby and bar area great for meeting and socialising but not the most comfortable to finishing the working day with a laptop. Queueing for reception, it took longer than expected for checking-in and out.

    location is ideal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Incompetent staff who could not even inform correctly about...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incompetent staff who could not even inform correctly about the time it takes to the airport (at 5 am in the morning where no traffic jam is to be expected).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The bed was comfortable, great choice of pillows for good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be great to have nespresso type coffee machine in rooms rather than instant coffee.

    The bed was comfortable, great choice of pillows for good sleep. Close to Guggenheim, river and Old Town. Parking underneath is convenient if you are driving. Spotlessly clean and a great restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Modern design hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of my company left a thing in her room and I emailed to the customer service a couple of times, but never received their reply.

    Very modern hotel. I loved the design.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    Not worth what they charge. Dreadful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very minimal. Staff not that helpful. Not worth it for the money they charged. Stayed second night at another hotel NH Ria de Bilbao just up the block, 400 meters, for about the same and was 100% better, higher quality room, bathroom, amenities, coffee maker, etc. When I showered the shower pan could not hold the water and it overflowed after 5 minutes. Really dreadful. Shower was size of a 1950's closet. I told the front desk when I checked out about shower and they said okay, that is nice. Did not offer to reduce the charge, etc. No tissues in the room. No wash clothes. Hair dryer cord was plugged in below sink and I had to sit on floor to dry my hair. Maybe because close to museum (across river) they can charge so much. Restaurant and restaurant staff very nice. Food was pretty good.

    Restaurant for dinner was decent, had a good menu and the wait staff was very competent and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant and convenient hotel for a short stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had dinner in the hotel one evening and the standard of food was poor.

    The location of the hotel is excellent.Easy access to main places of interest and dining out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    They switched us from a room that had two full beds to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk was severely understaffed--a long wait to check in and check out.

    They switched us from a room that had two full beds to a room with a king without a problem. (unsure why we were given a room with separate beds in the first place--we were on our honeymoon...)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely big suite with a nice view of the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Always seemed to be a queue at reception desk...no concierge...so had to queue with guests who were registering to ask a question. There were two single beds pushed together instead of a double bed.

    Lovely big suite with a nice view of the river Bright bathroom Very good location Very friendly staff Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Quality of bedding, dental kit provide by the hotel, hair...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception desk lacked of information for guided tours and tourist attractions. The restaurant, great wine choice unfortunately the food did not match our expectations.

    Quality of bedding, dental kit provide by the hotel, hair dryer, room was small but well equipped. Hotel bar, location and the wifi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    Don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is considered a 4 star hotel, yet there were no tissues in the bathroom, if that's what you wish to call it. If your partner was up, so were you. The view was of an alley. It was the only hotel on this trip to northern Spain that was horrible. We took a deluxe room and it wasn't. Please, unless you're a single traveler, don't stay here.

    Breakfast & location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a beautiful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We all enjoyed our stay at the hotel at this beautiful city. The staff were helpful and accomodating. It is right next to the river and walking distance to Guggenheim and the nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location and very comfort rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great, near the old town, the light rail station from Sans Sebastian and a short walk to the Guggenheim museum. The hotel was very modern, clean and very comfortable rooms. The hotel has a bar and restaurant on the ground floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very strong smell of cleaning detergents (chlorine) when i entered the room for the first time after the check-in, needed a few hours of open window to get rid of

    Excellent location Spacious room, very confortable bed Abundant breakfast choice

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: