Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Troya 4 stars

Avenida Rafael Puig Lluvina, 2, 38670 Playa de las Americas, Spain

#95 of 209 hotels in Playa de las Americas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 101 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated old room. Horrible construction noise throughout our stay. Loud music noise from nearby although we specifically asked for a quiet room.

    Food was great. We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Large buffets with many delicious choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.6
    All in all, I would really recommend hotel Troya. Great location and great people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The breakfast buffet was the same every morning and there was not many options.

    The location was perfect. Also hotel was very nice and clean and staff was super helpful at all times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice location, rather expensive for what the experience was like. A nice enough place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was definately dated and could do with an upgrade. I was in room 133, very close to the elevator, so after every meal, a lot of people would gather noisily around this area. Also, all during the day there was very noisy concrete hammering/ workers in a room nearby, unable to sleep at all with this noise and work going on.

    The closeness to all the beaches and restaurants was really good. Clean room with a comfortable bed and a nice view out to the ocean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    3.5
    Very happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    As jI said above, breakfast room could be laid out better

    food waas nice, bacon for brekfast not so good. We thought restaurant was badly organised for breakfast. Milk should be available beside cereals. Large plates should not be at far end of room We felt too many people crossing back and forth carrying plates. otherwise I loved it all. thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.8
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was mostly not good. The entertainment was terrible. Would'nt recomend it to any family with children because there is hardly anything for them to do there

    The rooms and the pool area were good but that's about it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Great family time on Tenerife
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast is pretty much the same every day, sausages and bacon are bad, but the rest is OK. Rooms are small, child's bed was with ours (same room). Also, they could have change bed linen more often.

    Location is absolutely fantastic - very close to the best beach around, restaurants and shops. Overall look of the hotel is very good and amenities are well maintained.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.2
    Hotel and discotheque?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Having discotheque operating across the street, from midnight to 05:00 in the morning with noise up to 95 Dba in the room is not acceptable. We dit solve that problem with sleaping pills and earpluggs. But this is not what you expect on 4 star hotel and we will not stay in this hotel again because of this. This hotel could have been more attractive some years ago but are getting very very tired. The management know what I am talking about. But, thank you we did enjoy our stay in genaral, and most of the staff was freandly and helpful.

    The breakfest was very good, and in some way locatation good. The terrace sunbad facilities on the roof of the restraurant are very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    5.0
    Mainly Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    WE paid 2000 euro for acc. then had to pay extra for all other needs ie. 2.5 euro daily for the safe extra for pool towels We did not like having bar tabs for every thing ie.drinks snacks cosmetics xcetra. Prefered to pay cash

    The sun lounger area was first clss

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Great family hotel. Well placed for a great holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the evening entertainment dance shows were terrible and very boring after 5mins. Children's disco on far too late in main bar/ dance area at 9 - 30 pm.

    Had all we needed. Food was excellent. Plenty of activities throughout the day if one wanted to be involved . Evening entertainment magic shows were very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    5.0
    :/
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    food, I regret we had all inclusive, everyday english breakfast, lunch was always cold, fish had bones... tastless; noise till late in the hotel, small ants on the table in the room

    great location, very close to the beach, nice staff, comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.3
    Not a bad stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was ok with plenty of items, however it was a bit bland for me. Also, bath tub was very old in my room and needs updating. The music in bar area was a bit loud too!

    I was given a family room at first floor which was very good size, requested for double bed and they gave me king size bedroom. The breakfast was very good and plenty of items. Also, they took photos of us during Christmas celebration and gave those photo prints to us for free! That was really nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    3.3
    position of hotel to sea front only good thing to say,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    daytime entertainment none,evening very poor,no English tv channels,slow bar staff/system,expensive branded drinks even for all inclusive guests,no outdoor music in pool area,no free bottled water for all inclusive guests,this is more a 2* than a 4*,holes in bathroom towel linen, restaurant food,just average,well over priced accommodation,,star rating needs regrading.

    position of hotel to sea front only good thing to say,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    4.6
    Good location, but the hotel is very dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old and dated. There is a charge for everything. We had to pay 6 Euro for ice!! There very little courtesy items, breakfast was cold and the spa (in which we paid extra for) didn't have an receptionist for towels (when I went on twice).

    The location is ideal

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.3
    Very enjoyable apart from noise of music at night which was of no fault of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not Hotel's fault but between 12 midnight and 1 am there was continuous music until 6 am coming from an establishment near the hotel

    Too many dishes. If not as many dishes quality of produce could be of better quality

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    5.8
    Initial room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a junior suite and asked for a high room, we were allocated a room on the 3rd floor of 7. The room was not 4* dark cramped and views of Veronica's night clubs. There was rust in the bath and some mould in the shower grouting see photos. The free wifi did not work for 2 days. The safe also did not work. There was also queuing arrangements sectioned to get served at the bars, often with large numbers waiting to get served.

    The staff listened to our disappointment and reallocated us to a better room on our 2nd day, see photos. The staff were all very helpful in all areas we used from restaurant, reception and cleaners. The room was cleaned each day.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    A very pleasant week, well staffed and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy during the daytime as some work was being done at the hotel.

    Especially good position near the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Very clean, well decorated hotel with great food, pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, well decorated hotel with great food, pool and staff. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    The perfect holiday! 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything. The hotel is just across the beach, it is clean, the pool is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Location,sunset,friendly staff,great for kids!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nearby beach club with its music which pounded us till 2-3am every night

    Friendly staff,great location! Top spot for families !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    6.7
    Good location, but Very slow WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow Wi-Fi, toop slow if you use social media like Pinterest.

    Good bed, close to the beach.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    5.8
    Paid for junior suite, complained but didn't get refund...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for junior suite, complained but didn't get refund on room allocated. Got late check out as compensation

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    10
    Great location for beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directly accross the street from the beach

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.3
    Location, location, location !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Free car park facilities.

    Good half board. Good, polite and helpful employees.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    Excellent customer service throughout the hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent customer service throughout the hotel!!

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    Food was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service at the pool bar could for sure be better. Always a long wait for service and the snack between meals could be better and more options.

    Food was great! Always something new.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    10
    Everyhing is perfect, the pool is wonderful large long ,food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everyhing is perfect, the pool is wonderful large long ,food very good, location is phantastic, friendly staff , very clean, what coud i ask more? sorry to leave , will be back soon.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinning room was wross than a cattle market utter chaos food was cold awful very little choice Bath was broken facilities No fridge everything was extra cost Juice was off Coffee was watered down Would never stay there again

    Location

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    8.8
    Pretty much everything was spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unable to use cash to buy bar foods / drinks Food a little repetitive No kettle

    Pretty much everything was spot on. Handy for beach (overlooking sea) Big pool area Clean bedding daily Great shower!

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    6.7
    Located at the very center of las Americas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's a 3 star hotel. Rooms are quite used, but clean.

    Located at the very center of las Americas. Breakfast and lunch is very good and in a way compensates for other imperfections.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    6.7
    Great location, nice and spacious for what we needed and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food wasn't the best quality, most of it was cheap and mass-produced (especially desserts and breakfast pastries), a nut warning was on a lot of dishes which were not made with nuts, unnecessarily limiting the selection of what someone with a nut allergy can eat. Also I'm sure some people love mojo sauce with their chips, but some ketchup and bbq sauce wouldn't go amiss. The wifi coverage was bad to the point where we couldn't work and an email would take up to 10 minutes to send. No excuse for a connection this slow and unreliable in a 4 star hotel with business facilities especially since the free wifi on the coach from the airport had parallel speeds of 20Mbps. Bathrooms could do with a refurb but were acceptable (hair and toothpaste from previous guests were left which wasn't particularly nice).

    Great location, nice and spacious for what we needed and with a calm atmosphere (group gathering of staff working together) Buffet selection is a good size. The lamb stew was particularly good.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.9
    Location, parking and staff (especially staff) are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's rather old hotel with old rooms. Plumbing is in not very good state. Poor door soundproof.

    Location, parking and staff (especially staff) are advantages of this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.5
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no working internet at the hotel. Only in the lobby, and it is VERY slow. They share one connection of 1MB per user with 800 guests per day. If you want to enjoy a holiday without Internet, then this hotel is fantastic, next to the main beach.

    Great breakfast! Next to the main beach. If you want to enjoy Internet free holidays, then this is your hotel. Great customers service at the front desk. Thank you for the honest answers.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    5.4
    Well the breakfast was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi only worked in the lobby and occationally in the pool garden and it was very slow. The bed was made everyday but we had to ask for fresh sheets and for them to clean the floor. Black hair was EVERYWHERE.. In the sheets, towels, floor, balcony. Everything at the hotel was very expensive. Wild cats were on the hotel property. I do not reccomend this hotel definetly not worth the money. I travelled with my sister and we are 21 and 25.

    Well the breakfast was really nice. The staff in the reception was great.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    5.0
    It's ok if you want to stay by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was a deposit for everything. Even for the security box you need to rental the key.

    It's ok if you want to stay by the beach Esta bien si quieren estar cerca de la playa.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    6.3
    Close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you like cheap, this is the place to be.... rated as 4 star, but value 3 star... a kind of basic Hospital look a like. We booked and paid all inclusive, but at the bar the waiter threw the card back as not all inclusive as we are cheaters... happened 4 times. Very poor wifi.

    Close to the beach...

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    5.8
    Location and our own large terrace witch sun loungers and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra charges (not mentioned in the description of the hotel) safety deposit box (2.50 Euros), fridge (6 Euros), spa facilities (15 Euros), free if you upgrade your room. Extremely poor WI-FI in the room. Filthy bathroom – stains on the bath and bath curtains. During our 11 night stay it has never been cleaned with anything else but water. Worn out old towels. THIS IS DEFINITLY NOT A 4 STARS HOTEL!

    Location and our own large terrace witch sun loungers and partial sea view.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Safebox costs EUR2.5 per day!! Fridge costs EUR6 per day!! WiFi rearly works. We reserved a room with a double bed and got two single beds.

    Good location. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    8.8
    great location, excellent food (breakfast, dinner sooo huge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor and slow wifi.

    great location, excellent food (breakfast, dinner sooo huge!), comfortable room with balcony, hotel gym and spa. the beach just across the promenade.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    Friendliness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food was ample but not to my liking

    Friendliness of the staff. I have a great massage. From Dana

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.6
    Great location,clean,helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy every night -performance

    Great location,clean,helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    Convenient location, good food and choice and a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Convenient location, good food and choice and a lovely spacious room with a great view

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    7.9
    Sea view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Slightly noisy on 2nd night very late. Shame pool is not heated in March

    Sea view room Big pool Very good location

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    7.5
    Close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Close to the beach

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Hotel close the beach and clubs and near to the Siam Park...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel close the beach and clubs and near to the Siam Park and everything we need for a excelent vacation

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    3.8
    Location was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms not ready for check in Family Rooms not connected and were given separate room far away with smoke smell Staff not friendly

    Location was fine

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.8
    No wifi on 7th Floor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi on 7th Floor room

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: