Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palacio de los Velada 4 stars

Plaza de la Catedral, 10, 05001 Avila, Spain

#4 of 24 hotels in Avila

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3529 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger room overlooking the cathedral. Very comfortable and very good breakfast. Lunch in the central courtyard was very good with attentive and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was advertised as a king bed, it was two twin beds made up separately and pushed together - VERY uncomfortable. Had to pay for parking.

    Excellent breakfast included! Great location! Small fridge in the room that was a mini bar but we could put our own bottle of water in there. Reasonable price all things considered.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a charming hotel in the heart of the walled city. It has been sympathetically restored & has all the facilities you need. The rooms are smart & comfortable with good en-suite bathrooms. The main dining room is beautiful. 16 of us had the Especial Menu, typical Avila fayre, plus wine included. A live Jazz band added to the atmosphere. The staff here are also wonderful. You cannot fault Palacio de los Velada!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We drove to Avila and this hotel had a locked parking lot so we could leave the car, take a walking tour on our own, then pick up the car and leave- so easy!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They might change the interior decoration, a little old

    Very good value for money, nice staff, good breakfast in a room full of light, nice bedroom fully equiped, and located in front of the cathedral

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should have skipped staying in Avila and spent more time in Salamanca and/or Segovia during our roadtrip.

    Liked the prime location inside the walls and that there was not a business convention or huge wedding during our stay which is apparently this hotel's primary business.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is ok for a Spanish Hotel but it is € 9,90 extra. Parking is in garage below Hotel, but its € 16,- extra per night.

    Beautiful Hotel, close by the Cathedral. Very clean and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car parking is an expensive addition and you really have no option but to use it.

    Beautiful hotel in terrific location right beside the cathedral. Everything was in close proximity. Hotel staff were very helpful and professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its difficult to find things you don't like here but sometimes a bad apple spoils the basket. At the reception one of the attendants could be a little more friendly or helpful. But over all the other staff members ware great.

    Everything was good. Great renovation, great location, great meal. Comfortable, five steps away an astonishing cathedral door. No problem with garage parking but a little expensive. Perhaps one of the best breakfasts I ever had in hotels the last times.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in room.

    Setting of this hotel which was originally a palace was amazing. What a way to see this incredible attraction. Sitting in the court yard cafe was a great experience. Avila was a fantastic place to visit, historical interest and lots to do and see.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once checked into our room the hotel guide had a warning about watching your possessions, and looking out for strangers. None of this seemed obvious, we felt perfectly safe.

    The room, staff, and parking were great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hairdryer in the room would have taken 20 minutes to dry a damp gerbil. Also, not a fan of a double bed which is in reality two (albeit very roomy and comfortable) single beds pushed together

    Stunning hotel, brilliant location and beautifully kept. We had an unforgettable dinner in the restaurant and the waiting staff in both the restaurant and the Gastrobar were fabulous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern comforts in historic C16th palace opposite the cathedral in the old walled town. Vast lounge in the inner courtyard which is covered. Large comfy double bed. Large bath with lots of how water

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin and you hear all that is happening at the adjacent rooms. We had two dreadful nights with noisy, rude, and loud next door neighbors. With a very early start the next day we truly regretted having stayed there.

    Room was nicely decorated and very clean. Bathroom was spacious. Option of breakfast was wonderful. Building is beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults+ 1 child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff could have been friendlier for a 4 star hotel. They were helpful enough, but it always felt like they were doing you a favour by being there. A quick smile goes a long way.

    Hotel is beautiful and the location is excellent. Very Close to the cathedral.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is little space to stop the car at the gate until they open the door of the garage.

    Everything was excelent. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The attention was great and the building is beautiful. It is right in front of the cathedral. Perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is another atrium which may previously have been cloisters that is beautiful, dramatic and sadly under utilized.

    A beautifully restored old building in the old walled city of Avila. Rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished. Breakfast was very good and eaten in a dramatic atrium over what one can only assume was an old square. Parking is surprisingly good considering the location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the covered courtyard but it did become very noisy regardless of whether there was the restaurant, wedding reception or lounge area open. I ended up with a ‘single room’, which only had a sky light, and I would not recommend for tall people because of the sloping ceiling. The room was very warm and the only option to cool it was to open a window, but it was raining so could not open the sky light.

    Wonderful location by the catedral. The building was interesting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred mixer taps with the shower but as the bathroom was so nice will forgive them!

    The hotel is in a perfect location a stones throw from the cathedral. Beautiful interior which does not diminish as you go away from the public rooms. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were only there for 3 days but there was nothing to spoil the trip.

    First impression was excellent.Reception staff,and we met different members each day, were friendly,helpful and volunteered assistance for anything. The hotel itself is very impressive,being a converted palace,and the location was great,just inside the old wall.Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom sewer is very slow. And the indication was not very clear, it took me a while to find the room.

    The location is great, it´s very center in the old town. The reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the fact that were we to pay attention to negative points on the hotel when booking we wouldn't go. Fortunately I didn't come across any bad points of what I had read in this area. I would like to think the hotel appreciates the quality of the staff it has as sometimes they don't and this leads to unhappy staff which reflects in their attitudes.

    I liked the staff from the reception to the waiters, they were, in my opinion very professional and both the senior waiters and the young waiters were exceptionally friendly, something important to be mentioned when we are talking about quite a big group of people. The organization of the restaurant was 10. I don't have breakfast as a rule therefore cannot comment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit small and dark. Overlooked the Breakfast room which has a 'false dome'.

    It's the bar/snack/chill area that makes this hotel. We loved relaxing and having a goblet of gin before dinner... Good wifi throughout the hotel. Parked behind reception on the street for 3euros from 14:30 - 12:30 the next day. Hotel offers parking at E16 + Vat. Found the hotel really easily by just taking the first left after we came in through the city gates. Loved Avila: make sure you go to the quirky Delicatesan Bar (with the mini) and see the city walls at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a Gastrobar below our room which was quite noisy Friday to Sunday evenings til the early hours. I don't have a problem with sleeping through noise but my husband does, but he managed with ear plugs. Also, the walls dividing the rooms were thin so you could hear next doors telly, conversations and bathroom use!

    Fab location just next to the cathedral within the walls of Avila. The hotel has a cafe and restaurant if you don't want to venture out. Our room was huge with a big bathroom and looked over the square to the cathedral, which was great. The room was cleaned well every day as was the whole hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful and though many of them knew only a little English we got by okay. Breakfast was good, with a good selection of meats, cheese, breads, fruits, yogurts, cakes etc and local breakfast items plus tea and coffee etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 143 which we occupied was immediately above the Reception into which, from the street, was a sliding glass door the noise from which which was audible from within our room - every few minutes day & night the 'rumble' from this door operating was disturbing and disruptive to rest and sleep. Not good - needs attention. With some encouragement the management adjusted our bill!

    The restored building was atmospheric with the exception of the hideous huge plastic water feature in the centre of a superb old covered courtyard - totally out of keeping. Our room was comfortable but see 'didn't like' comment below. Breakfast was good. Meal in El Tostada restaurant was good but relatively expensive. The location,opposite the Catedral, was superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not quite so good. The coffee machine ran out of coffee on the second morning. It was easy to use the nearby underground parking but it was expensive.

    It's a beautiful building in a great location.We had a great evening meal in the courtyard/ patio- the set menu including a bottle of wine , for 25 euros each was not only a bargain, but very tasty too! All in all, it was a very good stay and I would go again very happily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were unhelpful and unfriendly. The room was poor in terms of location, cleanliness, and we had to shower in the morning with close to cold water. The electronic system on the bedroom door was unreliable. Breakfast was chaotic as there was a large group staying at the hotel. Staffing was inadequate, and tables remained full of plates and cutlery for long periods of time. Breakfast items were depleted and it took more than reasonable time to replenish. The bed was very uncomfortable, like sleeping on a board, and the single pillows were like resting your head on the side of a chair.

    Nothing other than the location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasnt sparkly clean. The staff were not friendly at front desk and not very welcoming.

    Great location and easily accesible by car with parking facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the beds to be a little hard and uncomfortable, and the king-size bed was actually two single beds pushed together, which was also uncomfortable.

    Nice room, silent, clean, and a beautiful hotel. Parking is available for 17€/night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub had a half glass which meant that you had to stand closely against one side of the tub to shower. It was not comfortable to do that and you had to be careful not to splash water out of the tub. It would have been better if the tub was fully enclosed by glass doors.

    The location was amazing, right next to the cathedral.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location inside the walls of the old town. We were lucky to find street parking within 100m of the hotel. The hotel's location allowed us to walk to all of the main tourist sites within a few minutes. We were able to get a great nights sleep as the hotel is located within a quiet area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very large hotel and there was a large conference going on at the time which put pressure on facilities. breakfast was poor and one of the coffee machines didn't work

    Beautiful internal and capacious courtyard which also acted as a restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults+ 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lady at the reception was not sympatetic at all, and quite rude. We had booked a room for 3 beds as they were bigger (although i was there only with my wife.) We have received first a room (nr 329) which was like a black hole. completely dark with a small window that goes from the ground on till 1 meter high. this is not what they describe on the website, and it is a shame to rent this place at any price. then we complained and received a room with view on the street (and the oppostite house at 4 meters, but at least, we had light; only this room was much smaller, and they refused to change the price. the furniture in the room is old and dusty and needs urgent replacement. there was some hair on the ground of the bathroom which is not very nice to see ,and raises questions about the cleanliness.

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff are unwelcoming and this has been commented on in previous reviews but has not improved

    Underwhelmed in general as it promises a lot but then disappoints as it has tired rooms and aloof reception staff who are not welcoming.The restaurant staff where the highlight of our stay and the food was good but the restaurant lacked atmosphere.It might have the amenities to warrant it star rating but it does not feel a quality hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was lovely. The staff were always helpful and polite. The hotel is so beautiful and relaxing. We celebrated my daughter's wedding and everything was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been a little more enthusiastic on reception!

    We had a large corner room which was very comfortable. The public area was stunning set in the enclosed courtyard with corridors overlooking courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was huge with lovely tiles and very clean; however, the water temperature was not very hot and they did not have Kleenex.

    Perfect location. Since it was our anniversary, we chose the deluxe room and it was Wonderful with a fabulous view of the Cathedral.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a full hotel breakfast space was tight and more staff would have helped with throughput. Outside bins get emptied at 3am and can be noisy in rooms facing the bins.

    Great location.An old building with character but sensitively modernised.Most staff were very friendly and reception staff were helpful and patient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From our point of view there was nothing to dislike

    One of the best locations for central Avila. Charming period property opposite the cathedral. We had a very clean room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast awful. Poor selection of cereals and hot food. Coffee was not drinkable. Only juice available was orange. Breakfast not 4 star quality. Bedroom extremely hot and stuffy. Individually controlled air con did not work. Reception advised it was not switched on until peak of summer! Room 229 like a sauna. Could not wait to get out into public areas and corridors where air con was on. Reported to reception and asked for a fan. One never arrived. Management never even acknowledged my complaint re air con and breakfast. These 2 aspects really let hotel down.

    Location. Lunch and evening meal in open large bar/restaurant excellent food quality and service was superb. Spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival the male receptionists were professional but cold lacked the warm welcome which l have experienced in other hotels

    On departure the females in the reception were very warm helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very unfortunate that a tea/coffee station and a kettle was not given at a hotel of this calibre, It was unacceptable that a kettle was not available at the hotel as we required one to make milk for the baby! This should be available (and often is) even at the most basic hotels. The staff at the reception are not as warm or as friendly as the staff at the restaurant. Perhaps a communication issue also aggravates the matter further.

    The location is fantastic. Just across the street from the historic Avila Cathedral which forms part of the medieval Walls of Avila. Breakfast is lovely and the staff at the restaurant are warm and friendly. Loved the fact that it was an old palace refitted to be a modern but historic hotel, you could feel this in the charm of the place, specially in the restaurant area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only thing that could have been better was the comfort of the bed and the pillows though i think you could have ordered and presumably paid for extra pillows

    the location was superb - the staff was delightful- the decor was so good that my friend did not want to leave the hotel - we could just sit in cloister having splits of cava! you could eat small plates also - the room was delightfully furnished - good toiletries, etc. - free wi-fi - large room with beautiful decor

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. hotel car park was full on arrival 2. breakfast was cleared up while we were still eating 3. walls very thin so heard guests next door which kept us awake 4. wifi was slow

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults+ 1 child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the w/end lots of outsiders had booked up tables for dinner and it was almost impossible to dine as hotel guests. After making a fuss they gave us a table.

    Location and the friendly staffs.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow service in the central dining area...had to go and ask after waiting 15/20 mins. After that, the waiting staff were not very friendly.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was too hot. Wifi was a bit flakey for my son's iPhone. Noise traveled between rooms too easily.

    Great location, good value, clean, has a garage for parking. You are only steps from the Avila Wall Visitor's Center.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent ubication. Classic hotel in an old buiding right in the center of Avila. Enjoy a drink in the patio listening to live piano music. Absolutely recomendable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy. You can hear the guests on the next room.

    There are no words that can express the beauty of this hotel. You have to get inside the patio and watch it with your own eyes. The service is amazing and the rooms very comfortable. We stayed for two nights. They also have free parking to park your car. Is conveniently located just in front of the Cathedral.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff were not particularly helpful or friendly - the exception being the reception staff who were very courteous and polite

    Location excellent and enjoyed the covered internal courtyard in the evenings

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit tired-looking, there are no sockets that can be used to plug in laptops by the desk (one must unplugged the lamps) or the bed. Pricey parking, which one must leave by 12 on date of check-out.

    Wonderful location and excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being asked to leave the main guest lounge because it was to be reserved for a function. A full explanation was not given.

    The historical and architectural aspects of the hotel as it is renovated convent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of the age of the hotel building, soundproofing was not optimal between rooms. However, this would not prevent us from booking this hotel again

    Besides the location being ideal and the staff superior, we found the restaurant to have particularly high quality and delicious food. We never eat at hotels because we don't expect much from them, but most restaurants were closed when we decided to have lunch, so we gave it a try. Next time we'll go here first. The buildings themselves were charming and nicely furnished.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room that required us to walk down 5 stairs within our room. As well, once we exited the elevator, there were two stairs to navigate. We are fit seniors, so this was not a problem, but it could be problematic. There is no elevator from the parkade into the hotel.

    Had a great meal in the restaurant with wonderful service. We were given a menu in English which was a bonus. The menu of the day was terrific value with a full bottle of wine and water included. My husband had this and I had steak in pistachio sauce which was amazing. I was able to share the water and wine at no additional cost. The building is gorgeous and is in a very central location. The room was large and comfortable. The parking was within the hotel. The hotel is within the ancient walls and we did the walk on top of the walls.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle and tea/coffee in the rooms would be welcome.

    Beautiful building with a marvellous interior courtyard to meet friends in for a light meal etc.... Wonderful location and a fantastically converted historic building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately it was festival and the hotel was full so underground car park was full - advance booking not allowed. Had we known we would have chosen another town.

    We are regular customers because of location, quality and convenience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The leg fell off our bed during the night, my husband reported this when we checked out, the response was "that's a shame" and please pay the full bill - not very impressive

    Fantastic location and wonderful patio

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like shower over bath. Needs some type of non stick mat. These showers can be a problem for older travellers.

    Loved sitting in the atrium for coffee or a drink. Not expected to dine. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find Reception curt and unfriendly Cannot reserve parking Menu del Dia was double the price in the evening and expensive as one paid for a lot that wasn’t eaten

    Nice hotel Good parking

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were a little serious. A cheery welcome and a smile always gives a good first impression.

    The bedrooms were spacious,clean and very comfortable and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the setting terrific.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TIP: press elevator button twice for it to work

    Large bathroom, clean, large room, french doors for fresh air, excellent location, beautiful courtyard, friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally, the staff were not as friendly as elsewhere - everything seemed a chore and was not done with willingness and the staff were not generally welcoming. Only a single pillow provided and no extra pillows in the room.

    Reception staff were very good and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The food in the restaurant was also exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were a little dated.

    Fantastic location opposite the cathedral. Good breakfast. We were moved rooms very quickly after requesting to be moved away from a room with someone loudly snoring.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly impersonal service from some personnel. Showering arrangement a bit awkward and needs improvement.

    Extremely well run hotel in magnificent historic palacio. Superb location. We enjoyed restaurant and cafeteria setting and food. Very pleased with the comfort and quietness of our room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. Rooms larger than expected and comfortable. Breakfast typical Spanish, not what I normally eat but when in Spain..... Staff friendly although limited English Would stay again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom, whilst spotlessly clean, smelt badly of drains. The window in the room was little more than a sky light.

    The location right next to the Cathedral, the open seating area in the middle of the building, the period decor.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was surprisingly bad. Carton orange juice and very weak coffee from a machine. For such a lovely hotel, with a good restaurant, it was a pity. If I stayed again I would not take breakfast.

    A very beautiful 17th Century palace that has been restored and made into a hotel. The courtyard is lovely and dinner can be taken there. We had a very reasonably priced dinner with wine for 25.50 and the food was excellent. The room was comfortable, although the bathroom needed refurbishing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra for the garage. Little difficult to find the garage entrance. A little tight getting out of the garage.

    Great location with view of the church. Easy to get to restaurants in the area. Extra to park your car in the underground garage. A little difficult to find the garage. The garage entrance is right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If breakfast would have been included without an extra charge, that would have made our stay perfect!

    The hotel is in a great location, with friendly, helpful staff and beautiful clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitresses at breakfast were downright mean to us. They seemed so unhappy and almost kicked us out of the breakfast room. Reception area folks were great - but the wait staff really turned us off.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Car park a little pricey, though it was great to be able to leave our car there safely during our stay; breakfast was ok, but we always had the basic one for 5 Euros, consisting of toasted croissant, orange juice (not freshly squeezed), and a hot drink of choice, as the variety available for the more expensive buffet breakfast was not huge or very exciting.

    Excellent location just within the city walls; old converted palace with lots of character; comfortable bed; big bathroom; nice large downstairs lunch area which becomes a spacious sitting area to have a hot chocolate or bar service until midnight.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff were removing good as we put items on our plate, as we arrived toward the end of service. They clearly wanted us out of there.

    Rooms comfortable, reception staff lovely.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked on the floor and caused us stress. We used our towels to soak it up. The bathroom however was lovely.

    The location is fabulous! The parking extremely convenient even for 17€/night. Our room was very clean. It was quiet. We enjoyed ourselves.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin, so it's best to sleep with ear plugs!

    The hotel a stone building with an old fashioned theme, so it had lots of character. It has a wonderful inner coutyard that was opened in the olden days but it now covered and is like a giant sky light. It was a great place to eat and relaxed while it rained outside. It is located just across from the cathedral so it's in the heart of the medieval city. The staff is very professional.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More 'corporate' than I had imagined, once inside the room you could have been anywhere

    Great location inside the city walls, outside lovely old building

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palacio de los Velada traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: