Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Coldra Court Hotel by Celtic Manor This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Chepstow Road, Newport, NP18 2LX, United Kingdom

#17 of 27 hotels in Newport

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1960 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.. everything was fabulous!

    Staff were very attentive both in reception and in the on site restaurant (Rib and Grill). The room was lovely! Bed was super comfortable and a good size. Food in the evening and breakfast was exceptional and the service was great. The pool and gym facilities were amazing. My partner and I loved using the gym and then going for a swim. This place has all the facilities you may want, with the option of going over to the Celtic manor, with a bus provided for you! Can't fault this hotel. We both really enjoyed our stay and will be back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    A very special hotel, very friendly and definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The feel of the hotel was relaxing and classy. The room was great and bed very confortable. A big range for breakfast which tasted very special. Nothing was too much for the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    4.2
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very basic for the price. Not even a mini bar. Facilities and snack options very poor not to mention the lack of decent Gin and tonic Breakfast dreadful

    The concierge transport

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    4.6
    Cheap old fashion feel and attitude from staff that makes me think it is higher class than it is.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In Room - No air con - Heat damage on the wall above the radiator - Ripped wallpaper - No plug for the bath - Disfigured basin surround - No spare pillows - Missing clothes hangers - No plug sockets near bed - No clock/clock radio - No air dryer - Rusty shower rail - Old-fashioned straight shower rail - Shower curtain too long so covers the base of the bath - Cheap Formica sink surround - 2 shampoos rather than shampoo and body wash/shower gel - Dirty towel - Disfigured tile grout around the toilet - Nothing on taps to indicate which was hot or cold and cold appeared to pump out hot unless you ran it for a couple of mins - Hallway exterior bedroom doors and frames, as well as vestibule doorways, are based and chipped about with layers of paint not hiding the ramshackle feel. - Cheap Travelodge feel to the room in a 4-star hotel! - Convoluted wi-fi connection sequence Reception - No advice re facilities location or access I.e pool/Gym - Surprise £5 charge for parking and not clear how to get out beforehand without double charge - Invoice for parking shoved under door In the morning. - Never been charged for parking at a UK non-City Centre hotel. Breakfast - No mushrooms and bacon that didn't taste of bacon - No coffee dispensers and though asked no coffee appeared

    Hotel location is convenient for access to M4

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    10
    Upon arrival at the Celtic court hotel I received a phone...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon arrival at the Celtic court hotel I received a phone call to say a mistake was made and the hotel was fully booked. I then asked what now and they proceeded to tell me they could up grade me to the Celtic manor resort where we would avail of all the 5 star extras. Well we drove to the hotel and were in hysterics laughing at the thought of this. It was like Onslow and daisy with their banger . All was missing was the car to backfire. Champagne on arrival. Signature Room on sixth floor. Setting and view were amazing. Still in hysterics waiting for candid camera to pop out any minute. After 23 years of marriage this was the first time we got away together. So we'd like to thank the Celtic court hotel for their mistake and for giving us the opportunity to stay at the manor which was absolutely amazingly brilliant. All the best. Padraig and Mary.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    A lovely stay, next time i will stay longer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I did not dislike

    The quietness, the speed of being checked in with 6 golfers before me, also the friendliness of the staff, a million per cent use this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.1
    Served its purpose of providing a bed for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was very basic. The breakfast was absolutely awful. Any fresh meat and fruit platters were empty and very ‘scrappy’. Two members of our party when to breakfast at different times and had the same problem. A big difference from what you get at the Celtic Manor proper.

    Location was good and check in was easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    7.9
    Good business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in one of the rooms which has not been refurbished and the lack of air conditioner in the hot weather made the room uncomfortable. A fan had been placed into the room but it didn't really do the job.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.5
    Room was nice , beds v comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Services on the bar was slow- one till made everything slow down and not enough staff

    Room was nice , beds v comfortable Rib restaurant very nice food and service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    Really pleasant, would definitely recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was on the ground floor with windows straight on to the bar garden - but didn't have any net curtains so I had no privacy unless I shut the curtains and turn on the lights.

    The team was very welcoming & helpful, and the room very clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.1
    Nice property , we were on the first floor , disappointed no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had king size room , bed was not comfortable , bed was two put together could feel the join , and room was quite cold .

    Nice property , we were on the first floor , disappointed no lift , had heavy bags to carry .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Great location for us, spacious room & nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Those coffee pouches in the bedroom are absolutely disgusting! I went to ask for an alternative at the reception, told that I would have to buy my own at the bar.

    Great location for us, spacious room & nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    I would visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one minor niggle - we stayed in a superior king room and it was a little disappointing to see that the bed was two singles held together. We only realised because the mattress dipped in the middle, and it was then that we discovered it was two single mattresses. It didn't take away from the comfort of the bed but if advertising a king bed then I would expect a proper king bed.

    Bed aside, everything else was perfect. The room was spotlessly clean, extremely spacious, and the massive shower was a lovely surprise. Staff were attentive, professional and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant off the reception area in the evening and the meal (belly pork) was outstanding. They also catered for coeliacs by adapting meals, which was much appreciated. At breakfast there was a large choice of continental, cereal, or cooked food, all clearly labelled with allergen information.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.5
    convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    signage from the roundabout could be better. We arrived late at night in the rain and missed the turning. Long corridors in the hotel are all the same col;our scheme, making it less that obvious where you want to go,

    comfortable room, good breakfast. Nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.4
    mediocre hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was called around lunchtime to be told I was being upgraded to the main Celtic Manor Resort - well if this is an upgrade I'd certainly not want to pay what I believe are their normal rates - the shower screen didn't even have a means of stopping the floor from flooding other me placing a towel there - if this is a premium hotel then it falls well below expectations

    nothing out of the ordinary I'm afriad

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely environment and comfy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast buffet had several cons: tinned tomatoes instead of roasted ones, only one type of cheese and ham, limited bread options, asked for decaf coffee twice and never got it.

    Was perfect for an escape into an amazing natural landscape, combined with a luxurious and comfortable stay. Loved the pool and changing facilities, the bed and bedding, the front desk service!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - the bacon (ham) was very poor, and the sausage was not great

    A great hotel, a very comfy bed, and the room in general was very good, spacious and clean, with air con in my room. Breakfast was okay, but nothing great. I would definately stop here again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.2
    Apart from the restaurant experience, the rest was excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff in the restaurants didn’t have a good attitude and the service definitely one to remember. One specific example was, ordered a sandwich in the “Merlin” for lunch which took over 30 minutes to arrive whilst it was almost empty and a coffee ordered afterwards which never arrived so decided to go to the bar, make the payment where a service charge was applied within the bill, I suppose to signify the irony.

    “Grand” is how I’d like to describe it! Excellent experience with a fabulous view. I had booked this one but was given a complimentary upgrade to the flagship resort in its signature suite and it was brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    Everything was amazing the staff where polite and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was amazing the staff where polite and very welcoming, the room was fantastic and very clean. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will most definetly be returning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very helpful staff. Hotel and facilities were both very nice, shuttle to the celtic manor came in extremely useful, staff couldn't help us enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Amazing and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all we loved our stay.

    We loved the location, the serenity of the place. Reception staff were really helpful and friendly and also the bar man who swerved us both times really friendly did not catch his name. Breakfast was amazing and also the welcome from the restaurant manager was lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.6
    Location, price, Gym and size of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s really busy with golfers so a male environment indeed. Carpets a little threadbare in parts.

    Location, price, Gym and size of room. The facilities within, such as tea and coffee bags are a great touch.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    Family trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Why on earth isn't parking free?!!! The bathroom could be a lot better. Not enough towels and toiletries put out despite it being a family room. Liquid soap from a dispenser is far better than a bar of soap! Gym can get very crowded at peak times.

    Good size room and very comfy bed. Excellent swimming pool and facilities. Peaceful overall. Very indulgent breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    7.9
    It’s value for money, and I would love to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The door into my room kept sticking, the bottom part of the bedside lights not working, the armrest fell of the chair when you sat on it also the couple of rust stains on the wall of the bath, I don’t think that guests should have to pay for parking.

    The room was quite big and the breakfast bacon the nicest I have ever tasted. Flat screen tv, the bar area was amazingly large and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    10
    Very attentive and client-oriented staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very attentive and client-oriented staff. Due to mistake in corporate booking, I had to urgently book a number of non-refundable rooms for my colleagues and myself in parallel, with my credit card. Hotel reception resolved the issue and credited my charge back in a matter of days!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay in the hotel and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with net curtains for more privacy.. its either close the blackout curtain or let other guess see into the room as your walking around. We stayed there as we went to a concert in Cardiff, so booked a cab there and back.. that cost £85 return fare ... although that still a lot cheaper the silly prices Cardiff hotels were charging.

    Nice and clean large rooms and very comfortable bed, nice.. easy check in and check out.. helpful front desk and prompt room service.. nice buffet breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.6
    WILL PROBABLY RETURN AS ITS A GOOD LOCATION TO EXPLORE THE AREA WHICH LOOKED REALLY NICE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    LATE BAR RAN OUT OF SNACKS. MOST PEOPLE HAD RETURNED FROM THE CARDIFF CONCERT AND HAD NOT EATEN FOR A GOOD FEW HOURS SO WE WANTED A DRINK AND SOME SNACKS JUST CRISPS AND NUTS. BUT NONE LEFT.

    ONLY STAYED 1 NIGHT FOR A CONCERT IN CARDIFF WHERE THE HOTEL PRICES WERE £300+ FOR A NIGHT. SO EVEN TAKING IN THE £27 RETURN TAXI (£20) AND TRAIN (£7) TO CARDIFF IT WAS STILL VERY GOOD VALUE. WE PAID £75 B&B AND STAYED IN ONE OF THEIR UNREFURBISHED ROOMS WHICH WAS STILL IN REASONABLE CONDITION AND VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE. THE BATHROOM WAS IN NEED OF A LITTLE MODERNISATION BUT STILL CLEAN AND ACCEPTABLE. THE BREAKFAST WAS BUFFET STYLE WITH PLENTLY OF HOT AND COLD CHOICE AND NO SHORTAGE. WE WERE REALLY IMPRESSED BY THE STAFF, MOSTLY VERY YOUNG BUT VERY POLITE, FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO FRIENDS.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    The room was spotless, styled beautiful. The bed was better than my own (which is amazing). The pool was great as was the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. The breakfast exceeded my expectations. The bacon was very lean and soft but it was the croissants were fresh and the jam was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.3
    Not a good experience, or worth the money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying £5 to park car overnight. Rooms were noisy with awful view of brick wall and extractor fans. Had an embarrassing time in bar as the bar man tried to change us for stuff from some one else's account!! Would not go again 😣

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.1
    Been to better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was too hard and the room I was in felt dated. There was only full fat milk available in the room and after asking for semi-skimmed at reception I was directed to the bar who also only had full fat. The spa was good but far too much chlorine in the pool/jaccuzi.

    Good location, bar area was nice and the Meat Feast pizza would have fed a rugby team. Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very spacious rooms with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was probably one of the best we’ve had anywhere and the staff were very helpful, professional and polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.9
    To quote Joyce Grenfell (I'm over 50) a 'serviceable' hotel - with an opportunity to raise its game.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were are bit in the 'computer says no' brigade: unable to stop cleaning the lobby bar in order to resolve the 10 deep clients waiting for a drink nearby.

    A decent modern hotel with the same layout as the now defunct Stakis hotels around the country. All friendly and a good location, but nothing special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    6.5
    Convenient and adequate for the price we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't sleep that well - bedding and mattress protector/cover far too warm. The food in the restaurant was disappointing - very few healthy options in the evening. My 'roast' chicken was wet but edible. I did mention it to the waiter.

    Staff and breakfast were fine with lots of choice. Room was large and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay for our anniversary staff were amazing gave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Think the car park should of been free

    Excellent stay for our anniversary staff were amazing gave us a free glass of bubbly with our meal food was good would recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel & staff. Just need to sort th wi-fi issue.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi was a bit rubbish - really difficult to access, which is not good on a business trip. Bar tender on the night shift was very grumpy and refused to make a cup of tea....

    Staff were really friendly, accommodation, gardens and shuttle bus service wre excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    6.7
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was beside noisy wedding reception. Why would you put a couple not connected to the wedding in a room on the entrance to the reception party? We asked to be moved but were only moved 2 or 3 rooms away.

    Large reception area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    7.9
    Good quality hotel, complimentary shuttle to Celtic Manor. Ideal if you don’t want to pay 5* prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room keys didn’t work after being near mobile in my bag would have been helpful if I had been warned about this prior to walking all the way to my room at 12.30 am!!

    Clean and comfortable room very good breakfast. Nice pool and jacuzzi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, big rooms with huge comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have a better view

    Lovely, big rooms with huge comfortable beds. Great place to crash and get work done or just relax. Lovely restaurant downstairs also, but a bit expensive. Staff were extremely friendly and very helpful and as said rooms were on point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    5.4
    Large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room needs updating especially bathroom. Not enough staff to facilitate number of visitors. Queue's at bar...long wait for food.

    Large room Good pool Nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    The decor was good, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While admitting that the restaurant is very elegant and the staff are very polite and helpful, the dinner we had could be better , especially in freshness.

    The decor was good, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel had a wide range of facilities to keep us engaged and the link and shared facilities with the larger Celtic Manor Hotel nearby was an added bonus. The location makes it an ideal location to rejuvenate and recharge . Looking forward to the next opportunity

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent. Very relaxing...will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the bedroom window.

    The entrance foyer has a lovely ambience and is light and airy. The reception staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful. It was our silver wedding anniversary and the receptionist ensured that chocolates and treats were in our room and we were served complimentary Prosecco with our meal. The staff booked us a table at Rafters at short notice and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast was super and the seating ande bar area outside was very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.3
    Was good, and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room we were put in felt like we were in a dungeon. It was too basic, no colour to brighten up the room. Tiny bathroom and horrible decor. Was really dark and unwelcoming. Glad we asked to upgrade. For breakfast we were put on the smallest table and as we have a 16month old, this was really inconvenient. We needed a bigger table as we had so many plates, cups etc. The grounds could be looked after a bit better. No flowers around and greenary was abit neglected.

    The bed was very comfy and our second room was very nice and modern. Nice and bright and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    7.1
    Rooms very spacious, bed comfy, bathroom - modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast at The Rib - pastries were good but the cooked breakfast was disappointing. The fried eggs & hash browns were ok but the sausages were dry and overcooked and the scrambled eggs looked like plastic. Not what I would expect in a 4 star hotel. We ate at the Olive Tree in Celtic Manor too and this was also very disappointing. Limited choice and mediocre food.

    Rooms very spacious, bed comfy, bathroom - modern

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.8
    good location - good value - great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows too thick for my wife - didn't like only one shower head would like a hand held head, shower only no bath in modernised rooms - restaurant has everything with some kind of spice rub on every mains - need to have a choice of not having the rub, not everyone likes spice - rooms overlook each other from opposite side therefore need some nets up or you have to close curtains for privacy

    Comfy bed - modern room - upgraded - staff very good and friendly - toiletries good - towels good - tv good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    9.2
    will come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For small children, it would be better if we could use hot bath tub after using pool although pool water temperature is warm enough. It is highly recommended to book the table for dinner in advance.

    Amazing breakfast, kind and helpful staff, good pool. Gym has a lot of machine, free towel are available for pool user. Though we couldn't use restaurant for dinner, pub has also very good quality for food and drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was spotless and very welcoming. We stayed in a refurbished double room and it was stunning with a TV right in front of the bed and felt very cosy! Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    5.8
    Just okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air con in the room. The bar was very badly run and inefficient. We were placed on the ground floor next door to a suite where a wedding was taking place! Loud music! My husband had to fix our sink plug as it was jammed. WE HAD TO PAY TO PARK IN THE HOTEL CAR PARK!!

    Good breakfast. The room was clean and a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.6
    Smart choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in is quite late, 4pm

    Great room, clean, spacious, comfy bed. Good shower, excellent breakfast. Staff were very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Overall it was a lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My partner came to celebrate our anniversary and booked into the resturaunt in the hotel for a meal, however there was a large group of men who were clearly drunk and were very roudy. My parnter and i couldn't hear eachother talking and i noticed others in the resturaunt were looking over at the men. The waiter came to my table and asked if everything was ok and i told him the men were rather load and off putting but he didnt do anything about it, not even offer to move us to a different table further away from them. My partner and i didnt enjoy the atmosphere we ate our main course as soon as we could and left. This did put a dampner on our evening.

    The staff went out of their way to make you welcome and were very helpful. The room was very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    5.4
    Nice looking building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasn’t ready. Lights didn’t work therefore a new room was allocated however this one had no electric sockets next to bed. Bath was an old Jacuzzi bath which no longer worked and the paint was peeling off. Shower pressure poor. Parking costs £5 for 24hr for residents. Restaurant expensive. Reception could have been more helpful especially during check out, he literally said four words!

    Nice looking building. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    6.3
    It was OK, but I wouldn’t pay to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the decor needs touching up, it looks a little dated in areas (peeling paint). We had a rather unattractive stain on our headboard, a dirty TV remote and a broken lamp. I might be sounding picky but when you pay the price you expect the quality, and for us it just wasn’t there. I probably wouldn’t stay again for the price we paid.

    Lovely atmosphere in the lounging areas and a well equipped small gym.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    7.5
    Comfy well appointed. Stay slightly spoiled by difficulty getting dinner.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not normally a moaner but the restaurant manager was completely jobsworth. I went to go and have dinner in the Smoke House Grill at 7.15 pm. The restaurant wasn't even a third full. He'd just shepherded a reasonably large group of golfers to the bar for pre-dinner drinks and told me because they were going into the restaurant shortly he couldn't offer me a table until 8.30pm. He suggested I eat in the bar with it's limited menu. (Same kitchen???). I thought better of it and went out to Pizza Express. I was back, fed and watered by 8.40 pm by which time the restaurant was completely rammed with diners. Surely he could have fitted me in and I'd have been well into my main course before the golfers returned and ordered!

    Refurbished rooms are a good spec, nicely decorated and comfortable. Could do with a room safe. Nice health club and Gym.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    3.8
    Mould and cobwebs in the bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being charged extra for breakfast when the hotel was advertised with breakfast included

    Booking.com advertisers that the booking includes breakfast yet the hotel charges £15.95 for absolutely over cooked breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.8
    Very disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, bar overcharge and parking charge!!

    Very disappointing breakfast. The cheese in the continental breakfast was dry and turning up at the edges. very off-putting. The sausages were so dry and overcooked , that one could not cut into them. Tinned tomatoes , no scrambled eggs and no mushrooms, smacks of and average supermarket cafe breakfast. If the hotel brands itself as a premium product, then the food should reflect this. The hotel also messed-up our bar bill and we were charged for 2 lots of drinks instead of one round. The reception staff asked for our car reg on arrival. I told them that we hadn't needed parking facilities,but we were still charged for an overnight stay in the car park. More attention to detail needed!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    8.3
    The room was enormous and modern looking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wanted to purchase some things but no shop close by as on the outskirts of a suburb just off the motorway.

    The room was enormous and modern looking. Access to the gym and pool was a real plus. Very convenient for a conference I was attending nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.7
    The cleanliness exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well.. the reason for my booking was to have a luxury, quiet break after my fathers funeral on Friday. When I tried calling the hotel before arrival I had alot of trouble trying to get through to someone. I kept being returned to the options. When I then selected a different option the handset was being picked up then immediately being put back down without speaking. I never actually got to speak with anyone even though I called 7 times. I requested a ground floor room with a view away from the motorway, which was originally allocated before arrival. When I checked in I realised my room had been re-allocated and I was upstairs right next the motorway with no view.. Meaning ALL 3 things I requested were all removed from my allocation!! I returned to reception where the lady could only confirm I was re-allocation but had no reason why.. She then offered me a drinks voucher for my partner and I.. going to the bar I realised I could only purchase house wine, house lager or house cider. I drink Malibu. I returned to my room where I had a lie down only to find that the middle section of the bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable from top to bottom. I was told I had a king size bed not 2 singles pushed together! Nevertheless I said nothing and turned the telly on to listen to music, there were no radio channel's. Anyway, I was hoping to then have a nice hot soak in the bath, but there wasn't one, only a shower. Which was very slow and rather cold. During both nights all I could hear was children running along the corridors shouting, doors being slammed and banging. This went on til past midnight! This was totally not what I expected to experience during my stay.

    The cleanliness exceeded my expectations.. Everything was perfecly clean and in its place. Well done house keepers you're doing amazing!! The spa area was well equipped, had friendly staff and clean. The bar man who had started to lose

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    8.3
    Coldra Court Newport. Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely hotel. Great place to relax. Room was a good size. Pool and jaccuzzi was just lovely and the changing rooms were clean. Good to have the free use of the shuttle bus up to the Celtic Manor resort. The crazy golf was great fun for only a small charge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    6.7
    Satisfactory but wouldn't stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    paid for upgraded room due to renovation but there was no mini bar!! Carpet in the stair well smelt like wet dog, doors looked very grubby and battered! The towells were very rough! The shower gel and shampoo had already been opened and refilled with water!!

    Nice comfy bed, nice friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying for the car park was £5 per night which I feel should have been included in the room tariff

    Very nice clean hotel very friendly staff great breakfast . We also had food in the Rib restaurant food was of fantastic quality highly recommend .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Last night of a 3 night stay only one bath towel left out. Requested a second towel at reception who said it would be handed into room, never did get it.

    Breakfast was very good, room was spacious and very comfortable. Shower was nice and warm with good pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    Fitted the bill, excellent value and we would choose this over the resort again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception and drop off point was not clearly sign posted from the entrance so we found ourselves having to go in and out of the hotel to validate the parking ticket to go back around. Only other comment was that the restaurant menu was a limited to grill/bbq fayre - very good nevertheless.

    Large comfortable room and good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing to dislike

    Nothing to moan about enjoyed our stay spa facilities and lovely breakfast. Would of been nice if whirlpool bath worked but wasnt a request . definitly stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.3
    Very good. Would recommend but food and drink expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Drinks and food expensive for what we had. Very hard to get room temperature right

    Staff were excellent. Really helpful. Shuttle bus service to Celtic Manor which was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    Really disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food from room service slow and poor loads of mash potatoes pork belly small and very tough but too late areiving in room to complain. The wifi so insecure even my kindle would not allow use. The certificate too jnsecure. Visw from room looked out on to shabby containers over grown weedy quite terrible. Cannot return to this hotel and cannot recommend. Shame otherwise nice room.

    Room very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.5
    Coldra visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom was a bit tired in places and worse for wear. When booking was advised parking was included however the next morning found a £5 Bill shoved under my door which I had to pay the next morning.

    Room was spacious, surrounding common areas easily accessible, but no separation from the main reception area and breakfast area so felt was on display.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked out on a courtyard so there were windows opposite. For this reason, when getting changed, it was necessary to keep the curtains drawn which made the room very dark. Perhaps some net curtains could be fitted offering some privacy during the day without having to draw the curtains and keep the lights on. The room was offered as having a large, king-sized bed. Although the mattress was lovely and comfortable; it was disappointing to find that it was in fact two mattresses pushed together which left an awkward gap along the middle. A small fridge/mini bar would have been perfect- the room was easily big enough to accommodate one!

    The room was large and airy. The breakfast was very nice with a good selection of choices. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well lit with magnifying shaving mirror (very useful) and a spacious walk-in shower. Good selection of toiletries along with iron and board, kettle etc and hair-dryer. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.3
    Staff were very attentive but no urgency
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food in the restaurant was terrible, there were cigarette ends out side in the seating area. Our room wasn’t ready. We were told to sit in the bar & someone would come & get us when it was ready... nobody did they forgot.

    The beds were comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't agree with being charged £5.00 to park my car in the car park overnight as I would of thought being a guest of the Hotel it should of been free of charge.

    Staff extremely polite. Room very clean. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast very nice and good selection.Very nice restaurant and lots of areas to relax and the open fire was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dirty. Hair in the shower / bath burnt wall in the living room. No main light so the room was very dark. When getting a shuttle back from the Celtic manor the staff there were rude told me it will be 5 minutes and to wait outside half an hour later they said it’s only every 5 to the hour. Meaning I’d wasted 30 minutes stood out in the cold for nothing. The driver who took me back at midnight was a credit to you.

    Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See Above

    The Hotel was good could have done with a lick of paint here and there breakfast was not as good as my last stay at the Premier Inn that said with a little effort this could be an excellent hotel i would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    10
    Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    4.00 Check in is too late and £20 to have earlier check in is not acceptable.

    Nice hotel and efficient staff. Sauna, gym, steam room and pool was fantastic. We were offered an upgrade which I did not take.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    9.6
    Very good apart from the parking charge!!
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being charged £5.00 extra on top of the night rate for parking was a bit much especially as there are other hotels in the area where parking is free.

    The hotel was great & the staff very welcoming and helpful. The room was very good and comfortable, but there were a few small cleanliness issues in the bathrooom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing - clearly trading on the name of its five star sister
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool changing room absolutely stunk to high heaven! Only one bath towel in the room and when another was asked for only another bath mat arrived. Breakfast was a real disappointment I’ve had less stale bread, bigger sausages and less rubbery eggs in much lower rated establishments.

    Free shuttle to Celtic Manor where the drinks range in the bar was much better!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    5.4
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the cost it's pretty poor. Lighting in the room was poor. Only two tea bags, come on!! £5 per car for the car park, really??? Breakfast restaurant was very confined with of course only one toaster for the masses. Too many tables, waitresses apologising for having to pass your table. Hot buffet just warm, chef behind counter miserable as sin, and when asked to top up the brown sauce bowl I was scowled at. For a supposedly high end hotel its a pretty poor show.

    The pillows and bed were good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    6.5
    Wont go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Dirty cutlery at breakfast. 2. Smoke sensor in our room covered up with plastic bag! 3. Extremely uncomfortable beds. 4. Had to pay for car park.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: