1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Iceland hotel reviews
  3. North Iceland vacation rental reviews
  4. Akureyri vacation rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Viking Cottages & Apartments

Reviews of Viking Cottages & Apartments

Kotabyggð 15-16, 601 Akureyri, Iceland

#29 of 71 vacation rentals in Akureyri

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 122 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2022

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    amazing view with so many facilities

    Stayed in June 2022

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2022

    10
    Exceptional apartament! Super functional , great location , unbelievable view of the Fjord
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All exceeded my expectation ! It was perfect

    Exceptional apartament! Super functional , great location , unbelievable view of the Fjord and the city

    Stayed in August 2022

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2022

    9.0
    stylish rooms, great views, but issues with lighting that we had to fix ourselves
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    some lights were faulty and made the place dark. upon calling the owner, was advised to switch out the lightbulbs ourselves because it was faster. managed to exchange one light bulb, but that meant giving up one light elsewhere

    really stylish rooms with gorgeous views. excellent kitchen facilities and a hot tub

    Stayed in July 2022

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing to complain about

    Me and my husband enjoyed very much! Hot bath, facilities! Everything was perfect! Very modern house. Pity that the only one night.

    Stayed in July 2022

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2022

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Very stylish apartment, everything we needed to cook for ourselves. Hot tub with stupendous views. Very comfortable beds and great shower.

    Stayed in June 2022

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2022

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful view of the fjord from the hot tub with a bottle of wine that we've found in the property (after feeding the whale). Apartment is large enough for a couple or a family. Beautifully furnished and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2022

    8.0
    Comfortable stay near Akureyri
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upstairs bedroom really only suitable for children - no wardrobe and walls bare - not even a shelf to put personal things. More or less have to live out of your suitcase on the floor. Conditioner provided in shower, but was virtually empty and no shampoo or shower gel - we had out own but just seemed odd to leave an empty bottle of conditioner? Expresso maker only good for two cups - needs a filter coffee maker or a cafetiere.

    Good pre-arrival information. Very modern and warm cottage. Hot tub really great and lovely views of the valley - very cosy when it snowed. Really needed a second toilet upstairs esp if used by 4 adults - plenty of space to add one.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2022

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The extra bed wasn't very comfortable.

    Nice and cosy. There was everything you'd need : kitchen equipment, coffee, tea, bath robes etc. The jacuzzi was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2022

    10
    Great location with private hot tube and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Private hot tube and great equipped kitchen.

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Brilliant!

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    perfect place across the fjord from Akureyri, loved the hot tub 😍

    Stayed in January 2022

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2022

    10
    Perfect place for couples!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great stylish cottages just above Akureyri!

    Stayed in January 2022

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2022

    10
    The perfect place for a couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The knives should be sharpened more frequently.

    The cottage has the perfect size for a couple who want to spend a few days in the area. All comforts, including hot tub, grill and TV. Amazing view on the Akureyri fiord while sitting on the couch. Fully equipped kitchen. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2022

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 6 nights

    smallish kitchen

    fantastic location with a great view of Akureryi across the bay. very nice hot pot outside, with luck you can even see the northern light... :)

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place, well equipped kitchen, great interior design. Hot tub for guests. If there was a comfy sofa, all would be perfect.

    Stayed in October 2021

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2021

    8.0
    Nice stay with friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can give a bit more stuff in the kitchen like knives, spoons, plates etc. Then we don't need to clean literally every day..

    Really beautiful and spacious place. When we arrived the staff was installing the crib for the kids, really appreciated the help and support. Stable wifi and warm enough heating system. The location is up in the hill, so be aware if you are travelling by public transportation. But we have rental car so doesn't bother us at all.

    Stayed in October 2021

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very Nice Cabin! Had a grand time!!!

    Stayed in October 2021

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2021

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All fine. Hint: Door locking works when handle moved up ; - )

    Apartment 15A was very comfortable for 4 although only one bathroom. Enjoyed the view, the hot tub and the cosy interior.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2021

    10
    Amazing cottage. Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not able to make the speaker (they have a large really cool Bang & Olufsen speaker) work and had some issues with the orange juice maker (yes, they have that too). Plus remember to keep the windows closed, as it's surrounded by nature, so some bugs might get in (but this was our mistake).

    This is an amazing cottage. Would go back to Iceland just to stay there for a week. It's very nicely designed - cozy, in a modern-rustic (if that's a thing) way. It has all the required facilities and a really nice hot tub and grill - which we used both.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everybody who likes clean design and special places will love these wonderful houses… Every detail is choosen with love and everything fits in the concept. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the view and the silence…

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2021

    8.0
    Great stay after a bad first impression
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The immediate reaction was a little disappointing, very industrial style design which in the light was a little sterile and unwelcoming. Photos on the listing felt misleading.

    Once we got used to the decoration we enjoyed the stay. Bed very comfy, kitchen very well equipped and hot tub fantastic. Space was more welcoming at night with dimming lighting and good speaker system. Great view from bedroom window.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that needs improvement is the BBQ brush which was so used that it was nearly impossible to clean the BBQ with it.

    Great location and a perfect place to explore the surrounding area of Akureyri.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The house was very warm, so that we wanted to turn down the underfloor heating. We even switched it off, but it kept going. Not sure, if it is not possible to regulate it or if just we were not able to do so.

    We had a pleasant stay in this beautiful Viking Cottage. Pre arrival we were given excellent instructions and guidance. The photos of the cottage do great justice to the reality. The kitchen area is well designed and well equipped. The upstairs bedroom has a really comfortable bed and served with a tv. The bathroom and outdoor hot pot were great to relax.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2021

    9.0
    15A
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen could use a few extra essentials like paper towels, knifes for cutting bread or meat, aluminum foil, an easy to brew coffee maker and coffee (pods or instant coffee). Bring paper towels and instant coffee (unless you know how to use a pot with the coffee in the bottom that you heat on the stove). These are just a few recommendations to make cooking a bit easier.

    This cottage, 15A, was one of three. It has a beautiful view and nice hot tub and deck. There is one of the bedroom upstairs with a living area (great view from the upstairs windows). There is one bathroom on the first floor next to the first floor bedroom. Shampoo, conditioner and hand wash was provided (bring soap or body wash). The place was very clean and comfortable. There is an easy to use washer and dryer in the bathroom. The deck has an easy to fill hot tub, gas grill and table with four chairs. It was nice to grill out a couple of dinners with the beautiful surroundings and surprising 70 degree weather! We really enjoyed staying there for 3 nights.

    Stayed in July 2021

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: