Skip to main content
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Iceland hotel reviews
  3. North Iceland vacation rental reviews
  4. Akureyri vacation rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Viking Cottages & Apartments

Reviews of Viking Cottages & Apartments

Kotabyggð 15-16, 601 Akureyri, Iceland

#29 of 97 vacation rentals in Akureyri

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 152 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free Wifi

    9.0

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2024

    10
    A wonderful place to stay when visiting Akureyri!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Clean, , comfortable , beautiful views! Great location!!

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2024

    8.0
    Great stay nice location glad we got a deal as unsure if good value otherwise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some items in the house were broken chipped crockery

    Early check in allowed ,Nice location

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2024

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The apartment itself was well fitted out, but compact. If we stayed again we'd probably stay in one of the bigger properties so we had more space to relax.

    Fantastic location with beautiful views, especially from the bedroom. Had everything we needed for a couple of nights. Very fairly priced for Iceland. Warm, cosy, and a great place to come home to do after a long day exploring.

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2024

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dishwasher is a little loud so don't run it at night when going to bed.

    It was a great place. Welcoming and cozy feeling. We loved the speaker sound. Comfortable beds, the shower is great.

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2024

    9.0
    It was wonderful, and despite the steps we would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing we had an issue with was the stairs. They were a bit narrow and felt like it might be easy to fall since the whole foot didn't fit on the step.

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2024

    9.0
    Most amazing stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was fantastic. Need a car but we had one so absolutely fine. Akureyri is a hidden gem and so is the cottage. Felt like the perfect trip for me and my partner.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2024

    8.0
    Great property, car essential for visiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs more pillows available Check in could be earlier ideally

    Great property. Amazing value for money and great facilities. A nice quiet area in a well cleaned and maintained property.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2023

    10
    Northern Light Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I could tink of!

    Definitely the best accomodations we choose after travelling around 🇮🇸 ring road. My 2 teenage boys were elated when we checked in the cottage. Its really super cozy, warm floor with all the decor and lighting and plus point the speaker in the living room. Dryer & washing machine is a life saver as we need to wash our heat tech and inner wear. Hot tub is heaven despite the super cold weather, we enjoy every minute of it. Best shower we had as the water pressure and hot water is heaven compared to other accomodations. N1 petrol kiosk, shopping mall, supermarket and restaurant are within minutes drive to Akureyri Town. Forest Lagoon is abt 5mins drive from cottage. Thankful and bless that we get to see Northern Light for the second time when we are here. Definitely return when we want to travel to 🇮🇸 during the midnight sun in 2025.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2023

    10
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Everything. It’s really great location, facilities, view.

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2023

    9.0
    Warm, comfortable and great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much really, an extra pan and an electric kettle would help. No hanging or storage space for clothes

    Warm Clean Great views

    Stayed in October 2023

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2023

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of storage in the bedrooms especially upstairs where there is none.

    Excellent location with great views. Very clean with well equipped kitchen. Warm and cosy.

    Stayed in September 2023

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2023

    10
    It’s a breathtaking place for your family to stay in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing much really Maybe the crow but give unease but that should personal preference not related to the apartment If can have more carpets that would be nice touch

    I really liked the location of the apartment It is on the hills facing the river and Akueyri city Since it is on the lake you appreciate the quietness and enjoy the nature Regard the apartment it’s well designed and spacious and their item from kitchen and bathrooms is neat and modern with high end technology I really like it And outdoor garden or Terrance is big and only for you where you can enjoy the view and maybe even seeing northern lights in winter. The floor of apartment is kinda warm which is great in the winter to warm you during cold weather The place is great for family They have two bedrooms with twin beds and provided child bed with some dolls and upstairs small gathering place where there is couch , modern TV provide YouTube and Netflix etc and even Wii video game !! , seems the owner don’t want you to leave the apartment, in good way ! In the bathroom they have washing machine and store for everything you need from towels , paper towels scissors hair dryer etc . I will do my best to come in winter

    Stayed in August 2023

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2023

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner should not require that the guests empty the dishwasher before they leave. If you plan to leave early it is 1,5 hour delay. Also the check-in is very late - at 5 pm.

    Superb location, view, the apartment itself is perfect. I would have given 10 out of 10 but I decided to reduce it to 8 for the following reasons.

    Stayed in August 2023

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2023

    10
    A very nice and modern cabin in a quiet neighborhood near Akureyri
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs to get to bed are very steep so be careful if you cannot move easily. That was perfectly fine for us

    This is a very cosy and modern cabin, so nice and lovely, we loved our stay here. It’s only a few minutes away from Akureyri, in a quiet neighborhood

    Stayed in August 2023

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2023

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    spacey, location, design,

    everything - just prefect for a family

    Stayed in August 2023

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2023

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is amazing! Highly recommended 😊

    Stayed in July 2023

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2023

    8.0
    Overall, a positive-good experience. Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Road to the property requires maintenance. Coffee cups with handles would have been nice.

    Unique and interesting. Enjoyed the hot tub. The loft bedroom was interesting — bit of an inconvenience in the middle of the night when need to go to the bathroom, but OK. Really appreciated the laundry (washing machine).

    Stayed in July 2023

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2023

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing experience. Definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the city. Best shower after a long drive. Heated floors were just awesome.

    Stayed in July 2023

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2023

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit high “water sound” from the other apartment

    Stayed in June 2023

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2023

    10
    wonderful location worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the door lock is tricky

    it was amazing!!! love this property!!! it’s beautiful view and so spacious!! beautiful bathroom! great for cooking the kitchen

    Stayed in June 2023

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2023

    9.0
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ladder up to the loft means you really can’t bring your suitcases up to the room. The ladder could be an issue for some.

    Loved having a hot tub and the place is spotless with ice views. a great spot.

    Stayed in June 2023

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2023

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hot tub of the 2 Person Apartment does Nor have a View but this is a minor thing...

    Clean, modern and cozy apartment, absolutely great.

    Stayed in June 2023

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2023

    10
    stunning views from a secluded, local neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the pillows were terrible and should really be replaced. checkin is late -5pm- we arrived after 5 and the property was still be ing cleaned. the staff/owner was super friendly and tried to go as fast as she could but it made us late for our evening activity and we lost some of the value of that experience. given it’s a very late checkin, we were disappointed that we could not get in right at 5

    location and views! + amenities

    Stayed in May 2023

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2023

    10
    What a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic place! what a view! hot tub - perfect addition.

    Stayed in May 2023

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: