Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Iceland hotel reviews
  3. North Iceland vacation rental reviews
  4. Akureyri vacation rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Viking Cottages & Apartments

Reviews of Viking Cottages & Apartments

Kotabyggð 15-16, 601 Akureyri, Iceland

#10 of 57 vacation rentals in Akureyri

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 302 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    7.9
    Great place to stay during the week days for a vacation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that guests in Unit 15 (next to us), which they also manage, were partying till after 3 am in the morning on the Saturday of our stay. For a place that doesn’t allow parties that was a real let down. Recommend not booking on the weekend. The shower in the unit leaks and needs attention.

    Host was easy to work with and very responsive. The place was very clean and instructions for everything were very clear.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    9.6
    Lovely, would definitely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only minor things but the BBQ was really dirty and the outdoor table was broken.

    Really beautiful cottage. Loved the design of it, both inside and out. Beds were great and a lot of nice touches everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    10
    Lovely place to unwind and relax mid-roadtrip around Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The tv screen did not manage to connect to the mini-computer (in Apt 15C) but we managed to connect it to our laptop anyway so wasn't really an issue.

    Wonderful apartment with great facilities, lovely view and very easy self-check in

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2019

    6.3
    View from the cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The amenities are not good. Toilet paper run out. No basic cooking ingredient given, like cooking oil, salt and pepper. No basic toletry given, like body soap. Half of the light blub in the house is not working.

    View from the cottage

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    8.3
    Geothermal hot tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t appreciate the note saying we would get a €50 fine if we didn’t wash up, especially when the dishwasher and tabs did not work very well.

    Geothermal hot tub Great views of Akureyri Comfy bed Good bathroom/shower Kitchen well equipped Peaceful

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Perfect location, amazing hot tub, beautiful and modern cottage, very warm, great view, good facilities. Highly recommending it. Self check in, so no pressure to get there early.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2019

    9.2
    The best accomodation we had in Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The best accomodation we had in Iceland. The whole accomodation felt luxurious and it was nice to have a proper well equipped kitcken. The rain shower was definitely a welcome addition after a long day of whale watching.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    9.2
    Amazing place to stay in North Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Since it’s a cottage there is no cleaning between the nights, not a big deal for us since we like to keep things clean anyway. 1 towel per person for 4 days, also not a big deal.

    We spend 4 nights at the Viking Cottages and what an amazing experience we had. The location is brilliant, easy to find close to the main road, but far enough to not hear the traffic. The view is gorgeous, you can see the bay and whole Akureyri on the opposite site of the bay. Bathroom: new and modern. Excellent shower in both temperature and water amount. Kitchen: great electric kitchen, with an oven , microwave and dishwasher. Bedroom: upstairs with a big window facing Akureyri equals amazing views from your bed of the city and even some Northern Light. We had Northern light 2 of the 4 nights. Hottub: it’s an empty hottub which you can fill and set the temperature from inside the cottage. It take approximately 30 minutes to fill the tub but then you got yourself a clean and very hot bath. After each use you empty the tub with a switch inside the cottage. WiFi: excellent in speed and signal. TV/PC: in the bedroom is a TV (35”) attached to some sort of PC. You are able to go to the internet or watch Netflix. The app is logged in to an account so even if you don’t have an own account you can watch Netflix. Would definitely recommend it anybody and come here myself again!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    10
    Perfect location for those who like to escape but still stay close to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place was extremely peaceful. Even though we had neighbors they were not in the same building and we could not see or hear them at all. The hot tub was brilliant the the whole flat was extremely cute and compact, perfectly fine for our romantic new years holiday. We could see the fireworks from our windows and there was a spectacular view over the lit up city.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    Wonderful location. Skiied on Christmas day. ☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny thing. I like more pillows for bed time. Super comfy beds. Great sleep.

    Loved our Christmas stay in Viking Cottages. Beautiful, elegant yet homely. Well designed accommodation suited us very well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    9.2
    Very great and cosy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very slippery on the icy path for and from the car to the house but it was a short way. Needed a little bit sand to not fall on the humpy wet ice. No battery in the smokedetectors but we fixed that ourselfes so it is ok for now :D

    Very great and cosy place. Nice big house (for 4 persons), nice beds, great shower and hot vaccousi, great view. We enjoyed it a lot. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    10
    We love everything at Viking Cottage. It's very specious, well equipped and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night

    The raven in the kitchen is a little scary for me.

    We love the Viking Cottages! This is our most favourite place to stay during the trip. Everything was great, especially its design. Very cool decor. Kitchen was well equipped. Love the book collections too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    6.3
    The place was nice enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We couldnt contact the host to let us into the apartment. We emailed and called. In the end we had to keep trying the key lock box until we guessed the code as we had troubles accessing the previous email with the key lock code. We almost slept in the cold. The host never returned our email and calls up to now.

    The place was nice enough.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a very cute little cottage with amazing views. The cottage had everything you needed and the beds were comfy. It has a hot tub outside behind the cottage, but we didnt end up using it. Was a lovely and relaxing stay here.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Exquisite house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exquisite house. The open kitchen is fully equipped with top furniture. The place is warm and modern. There is a living room with a PC + a TV. The rooms and the bathroom are very comfortable. It have a BBQ and a hot tub with regulable temperature.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    10
    Wonderful location, clean, great beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Got locked out first night with a door that auto locks. A neighbor called the owner who said someone would be there in 20 min. 1hr15min later, the neighbor again called. The owner had not confirmed that the housekeeper was coming. He then called her...she came 20 later. Total time locked out Including time spent with wonderful neighbor ...9pm until 11pm. ( all of our belongings, including our phones and credit cards were locked inside).

    The views!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to relax, private and quiet place with views to Akureyri and an amazing hot tub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some lights in the bathroom were not working so we looked everywhere and changed the lightbulbs. Also the cleaning wasn't great... there was a soap and a razor in the shower i guess from previous guests. We found some small trash in one of the rooms and some dead flies on the windows. Also the hot tub wasn't clean, there were a lot of hairs from previous use.

    This place is amazing! Very modern place up in a hill with views to Akureyri! One bigger room upstairs and a smaller one downstairs. Beds are big and comfortable. Very nice bathroom, amazing shower and even heated floor! There is a washing and a dryer machine. The house comes with a porch and a private hot tub with views to the city! You can even put some music on while you are in the hot tub, there is a very good speaker where you can connect your phone! Then hot tub is super easy to use and all instructions were given. Place is very quiet and private but only 10m away from the city center. They allowed us to check in early and we were so happy for that! Will consider coming back again next year!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.8
    Nice sized holiday chalet with lovely view over fjord.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not sure the notes threatening 50 euro fines for leaving a unwashed coffee cup adds to the holiday spirit. Battered dining table a bit tatty.

    Nice sized holiday chalet with lovely view over fjord. Very well equipped and cozy too. Can't comment on the staff as didn't meet them . Easy self check in and out. Great base for Northern Iceland, wish we could stay longer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    Everything , it was the best place in our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything , it was the best place in our trip. The feeling of been at home was truly amazing, the kitchen is superb ( everything is new and selected with very good taste). The view is amazing and the bed is very confortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful house
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This house was perfect for myself and two teenage sons. It had a good deal of space, was clean and had a washer/dryer that came in handy. Easy access to Aukueryi. Definitely book this!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    10
    180818
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi was not working but hey with that view you dont need wifi !

    It was very nice and compact, good bed, great view, good hot tub, short distance from Akureyri

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the photo in booking.com, we thought the apartment was right by the river. However, many trees obstructed the view. Extra bed were not covered. We had to find bed sheet, pillow case and duvet cover and do it ourselves. Bathroom in one of our rooms are too small.

    Spacious. Well equipped. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.2
    Modern and cozy place :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom was on the second floor. The ladder up is very steep. The bed mattress was almost on the floor ...not comfortable or good design :( Room Tips: The owner must raise the mattress up to a sitting position ;)

    We rented a small apartment for two guests. Very well equipped apartment. Quality equipment in the kitchen. Great and nice design bathroom with bathrobes for you. Modern and cozy place, ..we'll be back :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect, even better than we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect, even better than we expected. The appartment was very spacious and comfortable. Had all the needed utilities. Equipped in high quality devices. We regretted we didn’t book it for more days.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful view in modern house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment is fully equipped for 4 people only, so if you are indeed 4 you'd need to wash the dishes every single time...

    The property is beautiful, with a very special flair. It is nicely decorated and looks brand new ! The jacuzzi on the terrace with a beautiful view on the mountains and sea is the must ! The entrance in the location was easy, all informations were given a few days before arrival, would really recomand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Great value for the price. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the living couch could be more comfortable?

    Location is awesome!! The view was perfect, a lot of privacy, BBQ grill, jacuzzi... the house kept us very entertained!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    8.0
    Enjoyable stay and would return if we were ever in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One thing that caused us a problem was it was a high step up from ground to decking on entering this property for anyone with issues around mobility. It would benefit from an extra step outside to reduce the height. Also we couldn’t get the TV to work - we were invited to get in touch with the owner for any problems we had- but we decided to go without the TV instead (our choice)Maybe a guide of how to’s would have been advantageous. We didn’t use the hot-tub somehow it didn’t inviting or accessible to us.

    Location was perfect for us, good size living space for two all on ground floor level in our unit. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen was very well equipped. Having a washing machine was an excellent plus for our four night stay .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    8.8
    Great apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ladder to the bedroom was fine for us but it is steep to get down especially during the night. Another comfy chair in the bedroom would have been great

    Kitchen was the best equipped we had in Iceland- great to have an oven and a fridge with an ice box as well as all the usual things. The hot tub was fun. Great also to have a washing machine and dishwasher. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    Fabulous cottage with excellent views of Akureyri
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a lovely little cottage we arrived to. It was like a home away from home. So cosy, warm and comfortable. Lovely comfy bed. Very clean and had all the facilities you could want. Excellent view of Akureyri. Dont forget to visit The Christmas House at Hrafnagil, Akureyri. It's pretty incredible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    8.8
    Stunning views and beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Used the washing machine which stained our cloths messaged the owner but no apology was made which was very disappointing. Nothing could be have been done but an apology would have been nice. The hot tub was a little dirty when filled.

    The view was amazing, shower was lovely with shampoo and conditioner been a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything from the house design to the host hospitality. We read too quickly his email with very well detailed information and contacted him for a doubt. He answered inmediately, even if it was midnight! Thank you very much for everything. We look forward to return soon

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    8.3
    The cottage has a lovely view over Akureyri and its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Uncomfortable sofa. Having beer and wine available is a convenient amenity, but the markup seemed a bit excessive over the price in the wineshop. Many of the kitchen items had not been washed by the previous guest.

    The cottage has a lovely view over Akureyri and its surroundings and features a well-equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, and an excellent bathroom. Although checking in was convenient with the key in a lock box, it is also impersonal as we did not meet the owner. Hot tub was nice, as was the washing machine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in Akureyri
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Please drive very carefully on approach, especially if icey and dark, the road is not gritted and we almost had an accident! Come well stocked as there’s no nearby shops/restaurants - beers in the fridge are €7 and wine is €35. Walking to the hot tub (behind the cottage) in the dark and ice and Snow is quite the challenge (although dressing gowns are provided), perhaps this could be paved? Either way bring some slippers! It is confusing on booking.com which cottage you will receive from the selection available, but we were not dissapointed.

    We stayed in the ‘one bedroom cottage’ The hot tub was EXCELLENT and we enjoyed the challenge of filling it up ourselves! Really great to have a kitchen to cook your own food, there are hobs & microwave & toaster (saved us lots of money!). Views over Akureyri and the valley were amazing. Location is just outside Akureyri but easy to pop in, c.5min drive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    10
    Definitely stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only bad thing was the hob extractor fan was a bit damaged, still worked though!

    Everything! Great facilities, everything in kitchen you could need, good shower, free washing machine if wanted. GREAT view from house and hot tub. Great fun to fill up your own hot tub. Nice touch leaving bath robes. Best price online we found for a private house with hot tub at £80 per night (stayed in the 1 bedroom apartment)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.5
    Nice little one bedroom cottage comfortable and above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Top of the toilet was missing and lots of little fees (50€ for leaving dirty dishes) on a little washed out piece of paper we almost missed.

    Nice little one bedroom cottage comfortable and above Akureyri for good views. Little hot tub was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent unique apartment across from Akureyri with excellent facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t use the hot tub because upon lifting the cover it smelt really bad and put me off using it. It looked like it needed a good clean.

    This apartment was amazing. The design was really beautiful and unique. 2 minutes away from Akureyri. You could see the town lit up at night over the water it was really pretty. Shower was wonderful (although water ends up flooding the entire bathroom nearly). Bed very comfortable and the TV with Netflix and a mini computer running windows was a great touch. I really enjoyed my stay here

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    Simply the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything... location, views etc...It was simply the best... Super cute and very comfortable. We loved it. Attention to details, very well decorated. Ladder stairs leading to loft bedroom could be a problem if you have any mobility issues

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    I couldn’t think of anything I don’t like about this cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    I couldn’t think of anything I don’t like about this cottage. The location, the decoration, the cottage layout, everything was in perfection. I will definitely go back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    7.5
    Not what we had expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pictures were misleading. Our contract said we rented Kotabyggd 16, but 2 days before our trip, we were given the address Kotabyggd 15C which was smaller. It had a very steep staircase to bedroom.

    Wonderful bathroom. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    8.3
    Apart from the pillows we really enjoyed out 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were really flat and uncomfortable. One pillow case even had a large rip in it.

    Fantastic shower, large TV and other facilities were really good. We also liked how the accommodation was layed out and the details well thought through

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    8.3
    The accommodation is clean and comfortable, fake hot tub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fake hot tub, far from the house door (30 mt) in the middle of uncutted grass.

    The house is very nice and stylish. The view from the windows is wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.6
    One night in August
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unit was on the end and had nice hottub, beer and wine available in the apt, quiet area, nice view from upstairs bedroom, modern facilities, good shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    9.2
    The kitchenware (plates, forks, knives,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchenware (plates, forks, knives,...) was not for 100% clean. Not a major issue but necessary to mention, so that this can be improved in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    10
    Highly recommend! Awesome view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice property, a little bit hard to find as our gps pointed us to somewher else but apart from that, it was a perfect stay! would highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    10
    Modern, fully equipped detached cottage with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beautiful views were somewhat obscured by the 1.5 metre high weeds - this would be easy to rectify and would have a big impact

    The outdoor hot tub, high quality crockery and cutlery and the amazing views across to Akureyri

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    10
    Fantastic accomodation, one of the best in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Roads to the accomodation is not paved (but it's only for a short 5 minute drive)

    One of the best accomodations I've stayed in Iceland (if not the best). Very modern house, with plenty of space. There is a nice patio for BBQ and there is a hot tub. Rooms are very comfortable, and the kitchen/ dinning area is very spacious. Key collection was very flexible, the owner left it in the key box and told us the code to access it. He also dropped by later in the day to check if everything was alright. Akureyri is about 5min drive away, and there are petrol stations and supermarkets dotted all around the city. Viking Cottage is perfect for those who are doing the Ring Road.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2017

    10
    The best location during my 10 days-trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was so hot in the cottage by arrival, which is very nice. but because the bedroom is upstairs all the heat went upstair and only a small window opened. It stayed to warm all night.

    a perfect cottage, clever installed, hottub, BBQ and fully equiped kitchen, superb shower. Luxurious all the way. .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    9.2
    Great cottage in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was very cramped.

    The view across the fjord to Akureyri was incredible. We also appreciated the washing machine (not mentioned in the property details.) Good location for day trips in North Iceland.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    9.6
    Stunning, luxurious, apartment in a peaceful setting overlooking The Fjord, mountains & Akureyri
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This apartment was extraordinary. Absolutely gorgeous & luxurious. A lot of thought has gone into every aspect of this place - even down to different sized gowns. The B&O sound system - impressive. Beautiful quality furnishings, fittings, linen, etc. It is without doubt one of the nicest apartments I have ever stayed in whilst on a holiday. This place will linger on in our memory for a long time to come. And then there is the views....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2019

    8.8
    It was well designed, the B & O audio system with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a bit compact

    It was well designed, the B & O audio system with the hot tub was a sooper combine

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    9.2
    Fantastic position overlooking mountains, fjord and green...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No oven provided

    Fantastic position overlooking mountains, fjord and green valley

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    10
    Everything was just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect stay in Akureyri

    Everything was just perfect

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    10
    Perfect accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn’t stay longer!!

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    10
    Facilities excellent very private and lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Immediate response as we were outside when we booked!

    Facilities excellent very private and lovely view

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    8.3
    Interieur very stylish, nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot tub cover in very bad shape

    Interieur very stylish, nice view.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    10
    Everything was just great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was just great! We really enjoyed it!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    9.2
    Very nice apartment with a wonderful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice apartment with a wonderful view.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    5.0
    the hot tub did not work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the hot tub did not work

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2019

    10
    Real full luxury in the best area in Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night

    Real full luxury in the best area in Iceland.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.8
    Everything except the “jacuzzi”.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not a jacuzzi with it like it stand it is, it was just a old fish box that 2 people does not fit in.

    Everything except the “jacuzzi”.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything. If I could, I would move in.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    The check-in must be more earlier, because at 17:00 in the...
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in must be more earlier, because at 17:00 in the afternoon is too late.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    10
    Great view, best property
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing :)

    Great view, best property

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    cosy new house with a nice hot tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV didn't work!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    9.6
    Very good - would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a spider in the bathroom

    The architecture, location and the bed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    Very clean and super modern finishes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View A
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in was kind of late in the afternoon

    Very clean and super modern finishes...awesome speaker and hot tub!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.6
    comfortable rooms, nice view,great music sound system, hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    comfortable rooms, nice view,great music sound system, hot tube

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    10
    Nice design cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice design cottage. Wonderful views. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    10
    Nothing could be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just amazing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Size, cosy, modern, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Size, cosy, modern, comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.6
    Great to stay. Having good view while stay. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Cottage (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not clear for finding the property.

    Very good place to stay. More than expectation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.6
    The perfect place to relax, unwind and rejuvenate
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fantastic location, stunning views, luxury bedding robes and toiletries. A great base for exploring the North.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    10
    Excellent choice in Akureyri
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Two Bedroom Apartment with Sea View B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Everything! Location was spectacular, the apartment was clean, comfortable, and well-equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Viking Cottages & Apartments Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: