Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Da Gelsomina

Via Migliara 72, 80073 Anacapri, Italy

Review score

Based on 134 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    We loved the location away from the crowds of Capri.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the location away from the crowds of Capri. Without the shuttle service it would have been more difficult but the staff were very prompt with this service.The restaurant is excellent and the staff very obliging. The nearby walks have stunning views and are very peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Pasquale and his family made us feel comfortable and at home...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great 👍🏼

    Pasquale and his family made us feel comfortable and at home as soon as we arrived. The service was amazing and the views absolutely spectacular. It is the only place I’ve ever been that’s made me go WOW when I arrived. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the view was fabulous. The food was the best we have had all holiday. Everything was so fresh and yummy. The homemade wine was incredible. We had 3 bottles and woke up headache free! The views from the hills will make you go WOW. We would like to thank De Gelsomina again for making our trip so amazing. Anacapri is so beautiful and so authentic. I would 100 percent recommend staying here. We will be back ❤️

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic stay at a truly wonderful restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could be made to feel slightly more special, but otherwise this place is superb!!

    The restaurant is the star of this hotel. The rooms are nice, but quite basic, however the view from the terrace and the quality of food and service in the restaurant really set this place apart. You also get a complimentary taxi back to the port at the end of the stay, I will definitely be going back!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool large and lovely view but became very busy and noisy as it was open to the public not solely for guests . This was not clear when I booked.

    Wonderful restaurant on site .Food was fresh and good selection of Italian specialities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Our favourite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we could not stay longer.

    From start to finish the staff at Da Gelsomina were beyond fantastic, nothing was too much for them. Our room was wonderful with a view of the sea and a fabulous sun set. The restaurant is a must, the food is top notch, be sure to have the wine from the family vineyard!! The family are extremely nice and welcoming, we will most certainly be returning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant place to stay -authentic Capri with great restaurant and pool complex plus beautiful walks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Based on a family run restaurant (four generations) with a great reputation for traditional Italian cooking plus one of the best views on the island together with a pool where the locals spend the weekend but much quieter during the week - this really is a very clever place to stay if you want to find the real Capri away from the crowds . The regular free shuttle service to Anacapri is an experience in its own right and ensures that you never feel too far away from the main attractions. Rooms are simple but each have a private balcony with fantastic views. All the staff are very friendly and the accommodation cost is below some of the silly prices elsewhere on the island. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Perfect place with only 5 rooms in a quiet part of Anacapri,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect place with only 5 rooms in a quiet part of Anacapri, only a few steps away from wonderful vistas. We really liked it! And the great restaurant is an added bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.8
    Good and delicious breakfast, view was ok, but the weather...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t know where to begin. Problems with them started even before we came. We looked for a place with parking and they have parking place...so we booked it...few days before our stay, we heard that you cannot get to Capri with car...ok so this was our problem because we didnt check. But then I contacted them to help us what to do, because we were already in Amalfi...and they didn’t respond (I am very curios if they will reply to this review). Five days later there still wasnt any response from them! So communication on their side is terrible. I called them when we departure from Positano with ferry (needs 25min to Capri) that we need shuttle service)...and the woman on the other side sad that I should call her when we come to marina. When we were at marina I called her and then we needed to wait another 25min for shuttle to arrive (driver was good and nice). When we got there, we got keys for the aprtment on parking space. She didnt said anything where is what and so on...disaster! She also said and I quote: “If you need to go anywhere just call for our shuttle”. When we wanted to go to Capri center they said that shuttle is driving only on Anacapri...seriously?? One evening we also found 2 ants in the bad...I don’t recommend this place for staying...for food yes, but not for staying. Ou...and hairdryer is dissaster. I added a picture of hairdryer. My wife use this hairdryer for TWENTY minutes and she stil had wet hair...normaly she dries her hair in 5min max.

    Good and delicious breakfast, view was ok, but the weather wasn’t, shuttle was also ok. Food is also great for lunch and dinner, and lemon pie is just amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing place: remote, quiet, offers majestic views. Couldn't be better! Perfect for a romantic vacation with a loved one. Will definitely return here. Recommend renting a scooter as is a bit far from main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Amazing view room for romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from center, to reach the hotel you have to walk uphill for 20 min.

    THE VIEW! The sunset view room was amazing, it is worth staying there because of the view! Room was spacious, clean, everything was great! Would love to come back! Host was really helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabolous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi speed could be better, hovewer if you need only to check emails and for basic web searching - is enough!

    It wasn't our first time on Capri. After stay at Da Gelsomina we are sure it was also not the last one! This place with it's character and location gives additional value for this beautiful island! Fantastic view from each room, delicious meals, famillar atmosphere (thanks to Pasquale and Massimo!)... If you need to feel Capri - don't seek anymore. Take Da Gelsomina - no doubt, you will be happy of this!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    The location was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was lovely...far away from the noise and excessive tourism of Capri town. It was a beautiful property with immediate access to hiking trails. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Altogether a great experience and I would certainly return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    We will definitely be going back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff and the food were both exceptional! We ate at the restaurant 4 nights in a row because it was that good! Tried something different each time. Buenissimo!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location, outside the hectic towns and fantastic views especially at sunset. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and very accommodating with lifts into town and advice when needed. Food & wine were fabulous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    A quiet slice of heaven out of the hubbub of Capri
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was non existent in the room but we expected this, and it was available at the pool and restaurant.

    We felt like we had the opportunity to experience more of the real island life at Da Gelsomina, away from the crowds of Capri, a pleasant easy walk or shuttle ride to and from Anacapri, good food & sensational views from the lookout 2 minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    The staff is super nice, free shuttle to Anacapri.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is super nice, free shuttle to Anacapri. The hotel itself is well maintained. Unforgettable view over the sea. Good escape from the crowds. The swimming pool is top!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Incredible setting and food in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV was quite small and far from the bed - but can't complain about the (Italian) channel selection

    Incredible setting and food in the restaurant. Amazing views throughout the property - great staff and lovely comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    avoid it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. wifi wasn't working in the room. 2. remote location so if you are in capri for 1-2 days and you want to explore the island, you'd be better off staying at another property with a more central location. 3. they had a wedding while I was staying there so pool was shut since 4pm and there was loud music until 12.30am.

    spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic views from the restaurant, room and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic views from the restaurant, room and pool. This is the real Capri ! Thumbs up for the excellent restaurant ! There is a shuttle service available at any time to go to Anacapri.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    9.6
    almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    missing internet signal long, long way to the bus station ( 1,5 -2 km )

    staff , garden , restaurant , room , all view , property , cleaning , air, sun and smell

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.9
    The staff was extremely nice and helpful and the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is far from the town and you depend on them to take you and pick you up, as a taxi cannot go on those narrow streets.

    The staff was extremely nice and helpful and the restaurant is the best.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    5.4
    The man serving breakfast and looking after the restaurant...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of vinegar used as a cleaning liquid was horrible throughout the rooms, hallways and restaurant. Staff driving hotel guests to and from the center As a service providef( and without this you are stuck at the hotel) were most of the time not very happy to do so and they showed it with their behavior. It was a chore for them and they weren't friendly. Rooms were very basic and tired.

    The man serving breakfast and looking after the restaurant was very nice and friendly. Pool was beautiful with a great view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Incredible place in terms of setting and facilities, best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good for Italy- they even do eggs. Still not amazing tho when compared to lunch or dinner! It is a little removed from the lively parts of Capri if that's what you're after.

    Incredible place in terms of setting and facilities, best food we had on the Amalfi coast. Super helpful staff, not overly fawning, natural people.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    A little piece of heaven in Capri/Anacapri
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The quiet and peaceful area - The view from the pool & the sunset - The outstanding restaurant (offering local products from the garden) - The hosts are very kind - The room is clean with a sea view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Everything Location Food Wine Staff Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing pool was a bit busy tho

    Everything Location Food Wine Staff Room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pasquale was amazing to us ! He came to pick us at the port and was very nice and helpful. I recommand his place and restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff, delicious food, beautiful groundd

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Lovely location ,very clean and staff excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location ,very clean and staff excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing place with a great staff and a stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely amazing place with a great staff and a stunning view. Strongly recommend the restaurant and the whole place at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic luxury hotel, right next to the main monuments in Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little small for price.

    Great service, perfect location, amazing decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    We had an excellent stay. The staff is unbelievably friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms. We didn't have any hot water at 7:30pm in the evening.

    Stunning location. Friendly staff. Brilliant Shuttel-lots of fun!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Everything, the place is well kept and the owners makes you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lil high on price but worth an experience

    Everything, the place is well kept and the owners makes you feel like family

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi connection in the room

    Great view, quiet, relaxing place, nice staff, free ride to the Anacafri

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    Beautiful setting, views to die for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving

    Beautiful setting, views to die for. Food and wine fantastic. Staff lovely very helpful, nothing was any trouble. Staff spoke good English. They could not do enough. We will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.6
    In the calmest corner of the island but just 15-20 min walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi at restaurant, no wifi in room.

    In the calmest corner of the island but just 15-20 min walk from Anacapri. And the nice staff really takes you from/brings you to Anacapri, every time, at your request!) Excellent area for hike and walk: Monte Solaro near the cliffs, Faro and viewpoints... Excellent restaurant, great quality, products and service. Wine produced at the property. Great views from the room and restaurant, idyllic.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.6
    Definitely plan to have dinner at Da Gelsomina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Definitely plan to have dinner at Da Gelsomina. Our dinner there was the highlight of our trip to Capri. We loved that it was out of the tourist bustle of Capri, and on a beautiful part of the island.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with a wonderful restaurant, the location in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful hotel with a wonderful restaurant, the location in the quiet part of the island was wonderful and close to a beautiful coastal walk down to the lighthouse for swimming. The view form the room was exquisite and the swimming pool is excellent, very peaceful hotel in beautiful surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    8.3
    Amazing view from the room, nice pool, good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a little dated, and I think the pool is open to local people who are not staying in the hotel as it was picked during the day.

    Amazing view from the room, nice pool, good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    I like that it's a family hotel and everyone did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None at all!

    I like that it's a family hotel and everyone did different kinds of jobs with a very happy attitude and friendly to hotel guests. Even Maria, the Ukrainian hotel room cleaner was very friendly. They sing while doing their job and have a sense of humor, esp Pasquale.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.3
    The views from the terrace and pool are outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could do with an update and the wifi was terrible. For some people wifi is not a big deal, but for others that have to work while on vacation it is important.

    The views from the terrace and pool are outstanding! Also, the food at the restaurant was probably the best we had in a 3 week trip to Italy The shuttle to pick you up at the port and take you into Anacapri is a nice touch!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful service from the staff, fantastic food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful service from the staff, fantastic food. Loved our terrace looking out on a stunning sunset. The pool area has an authentic Italian family feel (other villas/hotels use the pool) - so buzzy during the day.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.2
    We love our room with the awesome view of the ocean, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    We love our room with the awesome view of the ocean, great swimming pool and bar area and nice and quiet at night. Easy walk into the the Anicarpi town centre.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.9
    Helpful and friendly stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from the centers of the island but there is a special shuttle when ever you want, where ever you want...

    Helpful and friendly stuff. Delicious dinner. Perfect sunset view.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    5.8
    Amazing breakfast and breathtaking views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was unexpectedly far and required a shuttlrto pick us up from anacapri centre where we got to by taxi. We didn't know that an additional shuttle would be required or alternatively it can pick you up from the marina but you have to call. Also no wifi

    Amazing breakfast and breathtaking views. Good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    8.3
    We loved the manager, very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is disputable: a bit far from Anacapri center, even farther from Capri. But you can cover it by bus (1.80 Euro per person for 1 trip). Cell phone connection in the room was unstable, using free wi-fi was also unsucessful. We didn't like the fact that hotel's swimming pool was out of use, it's been filling, it wasn't reflecting on the hotel's site.

    We loved the manager, very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and beautifully furnished, we had a terrace with gorgeous view, the hotel has a transfer from the Major port of Capri (once a day) and from Anacapri city center.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    10
    The staff and location really make this hotel wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There wasn't much I didn't like but you should make sure you know how to get here and call for the hotel shuttle in advance. Other than that everything was great.

    The staff and location really make this hotel wonderful. The food was also amazing, everything is homemade. I loved the tranquility and peacefulness of this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    It was an amazing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was an amazing experience!!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.8
    A spectacularly beautiful place away from the tread-out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A spectacularly beautiful place away from the tread-out paths. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    Excellant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could not stay longer ......

    Excellant staff Excellant Vino della Casa Excellant Shuttle driver Excelant grounds Excellant Figs

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    great location in Anacapri, great pool, easy 15
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location in Anacapri, great pool, easy 15 walk into Anacapri. The restaurant is the best on Capri

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi coverage was intermiitent

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. Shuttle to town very welcome

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    8.3
    Mamas cooking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Was quite a bit further out than we had realised but that has its plusses

    Mamas cooking!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    The staff was so kind, helpful, and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was so kind, helpful, and friendly. The location was absolutely beautiful. Definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff and Mamas cooking a real treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi only works up by offices

    Friendly staff and Mamas cooking a real treat

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    10
    Excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent food And ultimate sunset

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: