1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Morocco hotel reviews
  3. Fes-Meknes hotel reviews
  4. Fez hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Le Grand Alcazar - Riad

Reviews of Le Grand Alcazar - Riad

15 Derb El Guebbas, Batha, Fes, Fes El Bali, 30110 Fez, Morocco

#3 of 145 hotels in Fez

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2021

    10
    Le grand Alcazar is much more than a place to stay, we enjoyed the full experience. Awesome staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Ambre
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NA

    The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2021

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2021

    10
    Incredible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Turquoise
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything fine

    Independently of how many nights you stay, the team makes you feel the dearest friend. Top-quality service, excellent home-made cuisine, suits designed with much taste

    Stayed in January 2021

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2020

    10
    Incredible stay!! Very authentic, warm and generous hospitality. Hats off!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Suite Ambre
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I honestly can’t think of anything.

    Where to start?? I had an Amazing stay! The riad is sumptuous, the decor and art is at another level of finesse and detail, the staff is so warm and hospitable. I was welcomed by the owners, stayed in the beautiful ruby suite, got to learn about the history of the place. The breakfast and dinner options are delicious (I got to try out all the traditional fassi entrées, tajines and pastries), the service impeccable. The location is by the old Medina so there is a lot to explore, if you are looking into explore the authentic and cultural city of Fes.

    Stayed in November 2020

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2020

    10
    Beautiful riad with outstanding service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Turquoise
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect, no matter how hard we try, we cannot come up with anything negative.

    The location right at the entrance of the medina, easy to find and navigate around! Outstanding service ready to help at any moment, with any questions or requests. Beautiful view from the rooftop terrace. Stunning room, spacious, adequately decorated; everything worked perfectly fine! The food on-site was amazing, we especially loved the eggplant caviar!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2020

    10
    Exquisite riad with top-notch service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Turquoise
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at Le Grand Alcazar are exceptionally welcoming and thoughtful. Breakfasts in the exquisite courtyard were a highlight of our stay. The food was delicious, fresh, and beautifully presented. The riad is located conveniently just outside the medina, a preferable position given how confusing the medina layout is!--and the surrounding area is safe and interesting, with several restaurants and the beautiful Jnan Sbil garden a short walk away. The staff arranged for a driver for us to visit Volubilis and Meknes--highly recommend this excursion for a view of the beautiful countryside and the stunning Roman ruins. An unbeatable value at a wonderful riad!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2020

    10
    Exceptional experience in the heart of Fes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom Violette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My girlfriend and me had an amazing time at the Grand Alcazar which exceeded our expectations. The hosts are extremely welcoming and took much time / effort to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Further the place was very clean, included an amazing breakfast on the rooftop terrace (try the home made cookies with mint tea!!) and was located in the very center of Fes. It belongs to one of the best booking hotels we have ever stayed!

    Stayed in March 2020

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2020

    10
    Beautiful building. Warm, welcoming reception. Nice location for the old medina. Great managers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Emeraude
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More sound separation between the bedroom and common dining area.

    Staff managers are truly exceptional. Ghizlane was engaging, bright, helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2020

    10
    Beautiful riad-
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Turquoise
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a thing!

    I liked everything about this riad; it’s beautiful, in a great location, and hosted by wonderful people. On the high end of our budget spectrum, it was a birthday splurge. Well worth it, especially in a big city like Fez. Try it, you’ll like it!

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2020

    10
    Fabulous riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Emeraude
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Spectacular riad. Beautiful; the photos do not do it justice. Very nice terrace with great view of the hills overlooking Fes. Gracious, helpful service --lovely staff. The owner, Omar, is charming. Location is easy to find and perfect for tourists. And enjoyed meeting the other guests! Thank you Omar & staff for a great stay in Fes. Also, Omar, the driver you arranged for our trip to Volubis and Casablanca was fabulous

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2020

    9.0
    Stayed one night, but this is a place where you will really want to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Turquoise
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have had a bit more instead in add-one that had to be paid for, but if you are used to a light breakfast of coffee, assorted breads and spreads, then this would be good enough for you.

    The riad was more beautiful than I had expectedand it was situated strategically, close to the souk and yet quite accessible by car. The rooms were fresh and clean. The entire place is properly designed.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2020

    9.0
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Emeraude
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff was excellent and very helpful at providing advice, making reservations. They were wonderful with my toddler. Great location.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2020

    10
    A very grand Riad, well located and with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Rubis
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a beautiful Riad which is well located to explore the fantastic Medina. Breakfast was excellent and all around the standards were very high. The hotel had excellent recommendations on where to eat and visit. They also arranged parking for us. The staff were incredibly fantastic and very caring. It was out daughters 4th birthday and on hearing this they arranged a surprise party for her in the evening, with cake, music and sparklers. We were quite taken back and as it was such a genuinely kind thing to do.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2020

    10
    Fantastic in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Emeraude
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thank-you to the exceptional hosts and the female staff including Rizlan who went out if her way to make us happy.

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom Violette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The nicest riad I’ve stayed! Welcoming tea and cookies were really thoughtful, and Omar picked us up at the station. Breakfast was wonderful with Moroccan donut, Moroccan pancake, honey, cheese, jam, juice, coffee tea and warm milk. It was a blast!

    Stayed in January 2020

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Suite Emeraude
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic in every way!

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2019

    9.0
    A beautiful Riad, perfect for Fes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Turquoise
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing hospitality, great location and very nice rooms

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2019

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Emeraude
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, everything was very good

    The rías is beautiful and the staff is very friendly, they make you feel at home, the breakfast is ve good with traditional Moroccan food. Thanks Othmane and everyone for making us feel at home.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2019

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Rubis
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything about it.

    In the three weeks we traveled in Morocco, the Riad Le Grand Alcazar, was the best Riad we stayed in. It is a jewel box that delights the senses! It opened a little more than a year ago created as a labor of love by twin brothers. You can see and feel their desire to delight and please their guests in every detail of the design and decoration of their historic structure. The rooms and the central courtyard are tastefully decorated with beautiful furnishings which are accented by lovely pieces of art and stunning floral arrangements. The bedrooms are warm and welcoming; created with comfort in mind, including beautiful linens, pillows and plush towels. Their chef has over 30 years of experience and created appealing, lovely breakfasts every morning. She also makes dinner on request. We decided to order dinner in the Riad after two guests told us that it was the best dinner they had had in Morocco. We were glad we heeded their advice, as we dined with candlelight that evening on food was exquisite and beautiful presented. We stayed three nights with these genial hosts, who reminded us often that “this was our home”. Highly recommend, Connie and Paul PS: all of the staff were welcoming and accommodating. They treated us like guests in their home

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2019

    10
    Most amazing Riad with perfect location and most wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Suite Ambre
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing really we didn't like.

    I don't even know where to begin...The Riad has the most perfect location. Everyone that works here is super nice and most accommodating. The breakfast is beautiful. The room we had was super spacious with beautiful furniture and a comfortable bed with amazing pillows. The Riad itself is so beautiful and magical. We left at 6am on day of departure and they made us breakfast to go which was wonderful. They truly are all about customer service and making sure everyone is happy. I would absolutely stay here again when I visit Fez.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2019

    10
    Your home in the medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Turquoise
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We’ve stayed at a lot remarkable places over the years but this one was a clear stand out. The riad itself is beautiful with its courtyard, tile, and wood work. The rooms all open onto the courtyard in some way with high ceilings and grand windows. Exploring the old medina from here is a breeze. But what made this one special was the staff. They REALLY make you feel at home and go the extra mile to make sure you’re happy and prepared with logistics on getting around, tours, restaurant recommendations, and more. They were very sweet to our young daughter and helped us out of the medina to a taxi transfer in the middle of the night which was so helpful with a sleepy child. Don’t hesitate. Book these folks. Also, try a dinner there one of the nights... delicious tajines and pastilla.

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2019

    10
    A gem of a Riad with the most friendly and accommodating hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Emeraude
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was great

    We had the most magical stay at Le Grand Alcazar. Everything from the very warm welcome and kind words throughout our stay, the best homemade food we had during our stay, the beautiful interior and the perfect location to explore the Medina was so special. We truly were able to relax and have a wonderful little time out.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Turquoise
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was very kind and they were trying to satisfy us hardly, they were very helpful. They helped us to travel good places and also they gave us advices. Hotel's foods were delicious.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe King Suite Saphir
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I couldn’t recommend this riad enough. Perfect location near the old medina and beautiful decor and rooms. Not once did we run out of hot water, shower pressure was great. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. They helped us order food to the riad, helped us set up our shisha for the first time and organised a taxi to the airport. One night we came home late from our day trip to chefchaoun and Ghizlane messaged us to check we are okay. She also ran after us in the street when it was raining to give us an umbrella. Omar and Ghizlane and all their staff went above and beyond! Overall excellent riad!

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2019

    9.0
    wondeful hosts and beautiful riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom Violette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is excellent. The first night the neighborhood lost power at about 2:30 am, they were so apologetic, it wasn't their fault. When we came back in the afternoon the power was on and they wanted to upgraded us to a suite. We told them they did not have to but they wanted to. They felt bad about something totally out of their control. The roof top area is worth the trip. The location is GREAT. About 5 minute walk to the medina near the blue gate.

    Stayed in November 2019

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!