Skip to main content
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Morocco hotel reviews
  3. Fes-Meknes hotel reviews
  4. Fez hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Le Grand Alcazar - Riad

Reviews of Le Grand Alcazar - Riad

15 Derb El Guebbas, Batha, Fes, Fes El Bali, 30110 Fez, Morocco

#48 of 256 hotels in Fez

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.0

  • Free Wifi

    9.5

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2024

    10
    Perfect!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe King Suite Turquoise
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was absolutely perfect. The place was amazing, the breakfast was very complete, and the staff was super friendly, especially Youssef that helped us with everything; from the restaurants, to the great guided tour around Fez. If you want a genuine experience go there! They are the best.

    Stayed in June 2024

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2024

    10
    Look no further! You found the one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambre Grenadine
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This riad is unbelievably beautiful - literally the prime minister used to live here. Certainly the most stunningly designed riad we stayed in on the trip (and there were some gorgeous ones!) But above all, Yousef (the night manager) made the experience exceptional. He gives the best recommendations and made sure that we made the most out of our time in fez.

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2024

    8.0
    Nice Riad with character, Good People, bad stairs, no free water
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Dahlia
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms on the ground floor have a distinct sewage smell. Purchased Glade autofreshner to help with room smell. Charges for everything - water,mint tea, anything outside first night. Other riads provide at least water. Rooms above ground floor require steep stairs No room to reception calling option If u r in top room, and need service, you are screwed to walk down. Very tiring steps.

    Very nice host and service staff. Location is walkable to Medina Accommodate families Ok breakfast Provided milk for babies Moved us down to ground floor because stairs were dangerous for kids and high impact on my weak knee

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2024

    9.0
    Beautiful Riad and GREAT staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Rubis
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom - the bathtub had a glass door that wouldn't stay in place (had to wedge a tube under it) and the shower head/handle had such high pressure that the water would shot out the back of the tub and onto the bathroom floor, wetting it all. Being able to adjust the shower head so that it pointed more down would solve the problem. The light in the bathroom could also use a warmer tone - it seems very "clinical" in there.

    The staff was AMAZING. Very helpful and informative. Helped us coordinate tours and gave great restaurant recommendations. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was great overlooking all of the medina (even though we felt bad the staff had to go up and down the stairs to serve us!). We weren't able to have breakfast the last morning and they packed us to go bags. They arranged porters for us early in the morning as well and helped us when we got there (it can be chaotic with all the locals trying to "help" you; we had rented a car and drove into Fes). The room itself was big and spacious and opened onto one of the inner courtyards. The extra heater in the bathroom was also super nice!

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2024

    10
    We had a truly wonderful stay and will come back here if we ever visit Fes again. TY to the team!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Grenat
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None, everything was great. This is not a negative, but to make people understand the trade-offs of a riad structure. Please keep in mind, that being on high floors, means that numerous narrow stairs have to be navigated, so if you have mobility issues, keep that in mind when booking- this is true for most riads; rooms are either inward-facing with no outside view on lower floors but if you want a terrace view, be prepared to climb up; we loved it and knew that so we were not surprised; also not all rooms have attached balcony, please read the fine details; the staff helped bring our luggage to our room.

    Le Grand Alcazar is truly grand in all respects from its architecture to its staff. A gem in the heart of Fes, the tone is set from the very top and ever since we booked the riad, Omar, one of the owners was very friendly, answering numerous details of not just Fes, but looked into providing us recommendations of our entire desert trip. When we arrived, Dua, treated us to Moroccan mint tea and refreshments and showed us the room; Youssef and his wife welcomed us in the evenings and when we felt uncomfortable returning from the medina on our first night, Youssef walked about 15 minutes each way to get us back from the restaurant. Breakfast begins at 8 am, however, on Omar's insistence the staff made it available to us at 7:30 am, to help us get started early for our long drive to the desert on the day of the checkout. Truly outstanding!! Our days in Fes were cut short due to a massive downpour; however, the riad provided us with umbrellas, and the appointed guide, Abdul- we booked through the riad was wonderful. He made sure that we covered our must-dos within a truncated day (reduced hours due to Ramadan and rain) and went over and beyond what was expected of him to ensure that we covered the ramparts later in the day when the rain stopped. The Grenat suite, our room was very ornate and traditionally decorated with a balcony attached to the room and easy access to the terrace; has a beautiful view of the medina and the ramparts. We chose it because of that and it didn't disappoint. Breakfast was excellent and served fresh to your table and not a buffet. One point, I want to mention is that drop-off in Morocco is not always in front of hotels; in the old city, they are often in alleys where it is not accessible by cars; in such a case, porterage from hotel to pick-up point becomes important; in Le Grand Alcazar, assistance was provided without any question; that was not our experience in some other riads; this is important and made a huge difference.

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2024

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Saphir
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great Riad, fantastic Staff. Loved it

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2024

    9.0
    Thank you for excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Ambre
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing / it’s stunning Only issue is the shower which is impossible to use plastic and the soaps are needing up grade

    Excellent service ! Yussuf at the front desk was unbelievable just so kind and knowledgeable and helpful !!!! Thank you you epitomise excellent service

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2024

    10
    Lovely Riad in the Mefina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Saphir
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Beautiful Riad in the Medina. Close to everything. Lovely and spacious room with a great staff. We will recommend for anyone staying in Fes. Thanks

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2024

    10
    Highly suggested!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Rubis
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The structure is wide and well decorated. The room is spacious and cozy. The breakfast is tasty, authentic, and abundant. The staff is kind and always at your disposal.

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2024

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Ambre
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the Riad. It is very beautiful. Rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is friendly and did come all the way out to square to get our luggage. Breakfast by pool was fantastic but our dinner was not value for money. Overall beautiful place to stay. I recommend highly.

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2024

    10
    Magical Experience in Saphir Suite of Le Grand Alcazar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Saphir
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much. The property location was very convenient, the staff were very helpful. The room was great and we enjoyed our stay at Le Grand Alcazar.

    Excellent decor, beautifully curved doors and walls. Outstanding staff, great breakfast. The room was very ornate and large. We stayed in Saphir suite and the ceiling was curved wood.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2024

    8.0
    Ideal for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambre Grenadine
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Proper shower cubicle in the bathroom. A small floor trap doesn’t help. Water from having a shower spreads all over the bathroom floor leaving it wet and unpleasant. More shelves/ hanging space would be a bonus. Breakfast. No water at breakfast.

    Quiet location. Riad design and architecture well taken care of.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2023

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Junior Violette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from upstairs at 2am we couldn't sleep , someone is running or cleaning we don't know but it was very annoying , also the breakfast the service very slow , we could not wait too much , we went out to have our breakfast in the first night and finally it was very cold 1c , they should open the heaters outside but unfortunately we should inform them to open it every time

    The food was soooo tasty specially the one which we ordered for dinner , the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2023

    10
    It was an amazing stay for few days with my family in alcazar and loved the high ceilings and very traditional Moroccan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Suite Rubis
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be generous with your breakfast please if the customer asks for something don’t say No.

    It was very royal Moroccan style rooms and the setup was great.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2023

    10
    I highly recommend Le Grand Alcazar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderful hotel with kind staff. Could not recommend higher.

    Stayed in October 2023

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2023

    10
    Friendly, Accommodating, and Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Suite Emeraude
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Riad was in a great location. The staff was extremely accommodating and helped us reserve delicious dinners and fun activities!

    Stayed in October 2023

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2023

    9.0
    Wonderful place to explore Fes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Suite Emeraude
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was difficult to use.

    Beautiful room, close to Medina, close to parking, great staff

    Stayed in October 2023

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2023

    10
    Excellent stay at a beautiful and comfortable riad with fabulous staff in the heart of Fes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chambre Grenadine
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing- this riad exceeded all expectations and I highly recommend. Would stay here again.

    Loved the location, the warm welcome upon arrival and the tea and cookies, the beautiful, clean, and well kept property, the upgrade to a beautiful suite, the rooftop and view of beautiful Fes, the delicious breakfast with eggs cooked to order and amazing breads and pastries and fresh juice and coffee. When we asked for a dinner restaurant suggestion the manager of the riad not only suggested an amazing restaurant but also had a guide escort us so we could find our way there easier. Service here is exceptional. The beds are so comfortable and the rooms have luxurious amenities. The staff are amazing and friendly and made every effort to ensure our comfort and safety (accommodated a food allergy).

    Stayed in September 2023

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2023

    10
    Fantastic Historical Riad, friendly staff and a great experience. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chambre Grenadine
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and kind, the Riad was amazing (like going back in time) and everything was very clean. They gave us an upgrade for free :)

    Stayed in September 2023

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2023

    10
    Amazing stay! You won’t regret it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Suite Junior Violette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I loved everything just be careful with the shower, the pressure was so amazing that I didn’t realize I was getting water all through the bathroom! Just don’t turn the water all the way up.

    You will not be disappointed if you stay here! It is a really nice, kept up riad. Every room is beautiful! The bed was comfy, the AC worked great, they make sure you get escorted to dinner if needed, so you don’t get lost. My luggage was delayed by the airline and the riad made sure to get my laundry done before I left the next morning since I didn’t have extra clothes yet. Breakfast was sooo good, eggs included. Every staff member was so nice and polite. Stop scrolling you should stay here!

    Stayed in September 2023

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2023

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Junior Violette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some confussion with the payment in dirhams (It was higher than the one accorded in euros). Another disgusting issue was with the car parking. The hotel indicated that they had personal working for them and the price was included with the room payment, although they didnt have a parking. Finally you are forced to pay to a person in the street which is supposed to be a vigilant. All this things should be more clear and transparent!

    The Riad is very nice and well located. The breakfast has good quality.

    Stayed in September 2023

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2023

    8.0
    Very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Suite Dahlia
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Dahlia suite is more of a large room for 3 people, rather than a suite for 4. It is advertised as having a living room and a separate bedroom, while there is no separation at all. Bathroom is also quite small and the shower is ill-designed (impossible not to wet the floor when you take it).

    Nice location and beautiful riad

    Stayed in August 2023

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2023

    10
    All was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Junior Violette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2023

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2023

    10
    1000 and 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Dahlia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    Superb array of regional breakfast pancakes a multitude of other delicacies. Delicious.more like brunch. As well superb addition to original Palace, which I called the Blue Wing, with a lovely basin (not a pool), the Rose Salon cum dining area. Cool, refreshing and as authentic as Moroccan/Andalusian architecture is. Kudos to the Twins for accomplishments during the awful calamity COVID that befell the entire world. My utmost admiration, respect, and LOVE. K Boyd, USA

    Stayed in July 2023

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!