Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5 stars

10 Farquhar Street, Georgetown, 10200 George Town, Malaysia

#8 of 132 hotels in George Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2074 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Summed up in 'What did you like?' Would we go again ...... YES !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    On one occation, the butler came into our room without knocking. We complained. It never happened again. They gave us an apology along with a complementary bottle of white wine.

    Several places in the Hotel to eat. All exceeded our expectations. Complimentary afternoon cocktails at 5pm greatly appreciated, and you could sit outside next to the pool and relax taking in the scenery. Afternoon tea was a must. The colonial rooms (suites) were very spacious and, I believe, all had a sea view. Our view across to the mainland (Malaysia) was magnificent. It evoked John Masefield's poem 'Cargoes'.... not the 'Dirty British coaster' bit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful building, wonderful pool, great breakfast buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building, wonderful pool, great breakfast buffet and very generous happy hour, easy to get to all the historical sights in Georgetown, the rooms are absolutely incredible and the views are stunning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    The best stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The debth for swimming pool is 1.20m 😢 No Housekeeping Service room aren't good

    Really , with a few disadvantages but I think it is Deserve 5 stars

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    great place to stay if you want a different room setting , near the sea, walking distance from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Georgetown Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the gym was not well furnished with standard machine such as threadmill , elliptical machine. The room is facing the main road and not the sea .....was expecting facing the sea for the price paid

    the buffet breakfast is superb, great spread, .,,,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Great character and perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was freezing! But we just had to turn it off during the night.

    Amazing history - we stayed in the heritage wing which had so much character. We also had a quick look at the new rooms which were lovely but little too modern for the atmosphere we were expecting. All round wonderful place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, superb breakfast and definitely will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was one reception staff who "promised" to look into our concerns regarding the room and never got back to me. He also took credit of the room change. Service can definitely improve.

    We wanted a seaview room. Vicky from the reception helped us with the change! That certainly made our day and trip! Food is great, cocktail hour is awesome, loved the pool and the view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Straits Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at breakfast were unattentive. Anyone could have walked in and eaten in Sarkies from what I could see. We were not welcomed, no one checked our room number and we seated ourselves. Breakfast choice was good but service finished relatively early and a lot of stations were empty. Our room was in the old wing and felt slightly damp.

    The bath filled so quickly. The suite was very nice. Fresh fruit was provided in our room. The paper was left at our door each morning. The soft drinks in the mini bar were complimentary. The hotel is within walking distance of all street art and hotel can provide a detailed map.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    quality historic hotel in a good location for Georgetown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dinner options limited but plenty of places to eat out nearby

    breakfast was excellent, service very good, they will print boarding cards etc for you, nice rooftop pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Planters breakfast is not much varieties and the bread is not so nice .

    The room is spacious and clean. Lightings a bit dim but it’s ok for the ambient. Services staff are excellence. Ample carpark. Overall good and I would come back to stay. Breakfast is average .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    the breakfast serves really good char koay teow
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Georgetown Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is just huge...but not to my liking. no view. tv far too small. alot of wasted space with little character.

    the breakfast serves really good char koay teow

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful exeperience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't remember negative comments

    Almost every single detail is perfect. I stayed at hertiage wing and you can really feel heritage in this place. Staff are very friendly Location is amazing Breakfast is unique Room size is perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    loved everything about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Writers Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there could have been even more done with preservation of the old building

    loved everything about it! we had the Ruyard Kipling suite and it was a gem! super romantic pool and dining next to the pool with stunning views. very comfy bed. great shower ...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel but misleading booking confirmation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I booked online was not the same room that I was put in - I originally booked a room which showed pictures of the new wing of the hotel, but was put in the older wing when I arrived. While it was an absolutely beautiful room, it was above the ballroom where a wedding was taking place until after 2am on my 2nd night, and as the rooms are not soundproof and guests are permitted to use the outdoor courtyard below the windows, the noise from music and people made it difficult to sleep. I feel it is a simple courtesy to at least warn guests that this may be happening right under their rooms and/or house non-wedding guests in the other part of the hotel. At this price per night, it’s really not okay, not to be able to sleep until the music stops. I was also quite disappointed with the ‘eco-friendly’ ethos of the hotel after watching staff preparing for the wedding, throwing used aerosol cans from the garden straight into the sea, when there was a bin less than 100m away from where they were decorating.

    This hotel was beautiful - the grounds were amazing and while I ended up being put in a completely different suite to the one I booked online, the room was clean and spacious and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable. Great staff. Lovely pool. Amazing breakfasts. Relaxing. Good aircond. Easy to get grab and taxis. Lots Of places to walk to. Pubs and hawker food Centre close Walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding area and bit prixy overall

    Opulant colonial decadence and unobtrusive relaxing experience loaded in historical noatalgia massive colonial suite and bathroom loved it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful colonial style property in Penang
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful property overseeing the Penang straits. Great location, near to the Blue Mansion Heritage Building and Nasi Kandar Line Clear, still walking distance to Love Lane and Chulia Street Night Hawker Stalls. Less than RM8 away from Gurney Drive Hawker Centre if you are taking Grab. Friendly staff, very accommodating and proper service level. The room was really really comfortable. Nice selection of breakfast and love the afternoon tea complimentary.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tip: use (lots of) mosquito repellent if sitting on the outdoor terrace in the evening!

    True five star hotel with old-fashionned charm which has been extremely well preserved and updated. Excellent service. Stunning bathroom and suite. Outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    truly historic hotel in a perfect location with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard for my taste, but not bad. The problem was that they'd pushed too singles together to make a double but that didn't work too well as it meant the bedside table was only at one side and every time my husband moved he accidentally turned the light on! In the end we asked for the beds to be seperates again which was done immediately.

    Location perfect, amazing history (we stayed in the heritage part). Staff excellent, ones first impression is always from the front desk staff and these were possibly the best I've ever encountered. Concierge very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Absolutely beautiful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.... we didn’t like leaving !!!

    We loved the service; the spacious room; the wonderful room service; the variety of dining options; the amazing pool area. It was a beautiful experience, from the moment we arrived until we booked out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for a relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cocktail hour usually features only one vegetarian savoury item. I wish they had a few more. They also seem (slightly) understaffed. Requests would be fulfilled, but it would take some time for the staff to arrive.

    It's a beautiful hotel. We stayed in the new wing - the Victory Annexe. The rooms were compact, yet comfortable. The balcony opens out to an unobstructed view of water. The hotel is also quite centrally located. A lot of places can be explored by walking around. Breakfast was good. They have live stations for noodles, eggs, sushi, and soup. There's also a lot of selections for salad and fruit. The complimentary 5 PM cocktail hour is also well organized. The staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    The rooms were beautiful and exuded old-world luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast selection was poor and what they had wasn't the best. Similarly, the food in one of the restaurants was fine but nothing special.

    The rooms were beautiful and exuded old-world luxury. The view over the Straits was out of this world. The infinity pool in the newer wing was spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful building and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. On last day we were under some pressure waiting for a taxi and bar staff were inclined to send us to eat in one of the other dining facilities at some distance. Eventually relented as we needed to keep an eye on front door and our boys wanted to watch the sport on TV. Was the only slightly sour note of the stay. 2. This is a more general point: the ocean is quite commercial / industrial in this area, with a lot of land reclamation going on. In some other countries a more segregated land use has developed .... I suppose this is a choice the authorities have made: put the tourists on top of the industry.... in addition Georgetown is much vaunted as a place to visit but we found it disturbingly dirty with a very visible rat presence. Penang Hill is a pleasant ascent but quite expensive and there are too many traders at the top waiting to take additional money from tourists for access to other facilities. The café is vile: smelly and full of nasty souvenirs.

    Beautiful building and facilities. Gorgeous terrace dining and delicious food. Pools stunning and staff couldn't do enough for us. We had rooms in the Heritage wing and they were so lovely ... The hotel is very well located adjacent to Georgetown and on the coast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    E & O - a stylish place to stay in Georgetown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Georgetown Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The heritage wing has extremely spacious suites with comfortable beds. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Food is great and not too expensive in the cafe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.5
    Wonderful breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not quite enough drawer space for clothes.

    Wonderful breakfast. Enormous room and lovely comfortable sitting room area. Staff are always exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    This is a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was some confusion with payment at check-out. The front desk staff could have been a little friendlier and helpful.

    This is a beautiful hotel. Our room was in the new wing and my mum had a room in the old wing. Personally, i prefer the new building but both were lovely. The breakfast buffet had a great selection and the complimentary happy hour was a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    The staff was super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet was standard. I had to ask for a bunch of things for breakfast which normally should be there. Ie smoked salmon, cream cheese... They did however manage to provide it for me

    The staff was super helpful. I had a foot injury at the time when we checked in. I asked the staff if they knew a clinic close by. They arranged everything for me and was at the doctor in no time. Besides the staff, the corner studio room is amazing!! Spacious, clean, and comfy. Definitely coming back:)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    It was a good stay at E&O. I think it's one of the best hotels in Penang and in Georgetown area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were put into the old building. During our stay, there was a re-painting somewhere in the elevator hallway. So there were strong chemical odors near the elevator area.

    Excellent location. The facilities of the hotel are good. Friendly and helpful staffs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Best hotel in 6 months in Asia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not a single complaint

    Best hotel we stayed at in 5 months of traveling through Asia. The basic rooms were massive and luxurious and the breakfast was unreal! STAY HERE! Also, free happy hour with wine and cocktails. Great hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing Hotel, bars/ terrace at night need a little more soul..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere around the pool terrace at night. Maybe some music, candles, menus? Breakfast downstairs was noisy and we felt quite rushed. Soooo many light switches in the room!

    Fantastic firm bed. Lovely pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    We loved absolutely everything, staff were amazing and so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved absolutely everything, staff were amazing and so attentive...right down to organising a driver for us to visit landmarks in the city...our room was so beautiful with a view, food was world class...we cannot wait to return

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Classic old world charm with unexpected luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The acoustics in the dining room are bad with noise bouncing off all the hard surfaces. There are so many people and children that it is quite a noisy place. The noise of plates crashing and cutlery clanging when staff clear tables just adds to the din. I wonder if they could complete that task quietly just to help a little. We found the outside terrace to be a lovely solution to this problem so don't let it put you off.

    We loved the layout of our room with the hallway leading into the vestibule so that the bed was out of sight. we also loved the deep bath tub that was big enough for two. Great range of international foods to choose from at breakfast and a lovely outside terrace with ocean views away from the noise. Planters bar and the beautiful pool terrace were highlights for us and we look forward to staying again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    a superb unique hotel with old world charm & unbeatable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing....

    The whole stay was made more enjoyable by the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff at the hotel. They were a credit to you especially the chief chef who made some special one off breakfasts for me which brought back childhood memories of 52 years ago.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    E&O is one of the oldest hotel in Malaysia and it does impressed me in certain way.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow is too soft and the mattress is not comfortable , i could sleep well for the two nights ( maybe its only my problem )

    The bathroom tub was fantastic , one of the best so far for myself.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff in the Heritage Wing are generally more helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service provided by the breakfast restaurant is bad and needs to be improved.

    The staff in the Heritage Wing are generally more helpful and friendly than their colleagues in the new wing..The rooms are perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    A great switch-off hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer!

    Our third visit to the hotel and have always stayed in the original part of the hotel as opposed to the Victory Annex. Staff are impeccable and we love the old world ambience. Breakfast buffet up to it's usual brilliance and the hotel are more than happy to help arrange taxis, give local advice, shopping/eating ideas etc etc. Nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel, well situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Straits Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, at times, took a while to respond to simple requests, notably at breakfast

    E&O has old world charm, located in a modern setting in a wonderful city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in George Town with Colonial history and must stay or visit whilst in Penang
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Writers Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The concierge man winked at me which really annoyed me and all the male staff kept calling me Sir. They ignore women and only say good morning to men. Very draconian style mentality in that regard but good if you're a bloke I guess.

    Loved the colonial writers suite and history

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing, Restful and Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    I was there for just two days, would have loved to have stayed longer. Maybe visit again. If you like the colonial feeling this is the hotel for you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Everything is perfect except from the untrained staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff is lack of proper training. I didn't call for a room service and someone just opened the door without my permission. As i was half naked it was truly embarrassing.

    Great location and great sea view from the amazing infinity pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    My favorite hotel in Penang.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My favorite hotel in Penang. This is our second time here. The first time we stayed in the old wing and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly as well. This time we stayed in the new wing and we loved the higher height of the room we were at as there was a great view. We also loved the balcony. The staff are fantastic, very helpful and courteous. There was free drinks and fruits given out daily at the new wing. Location is great— short drive to Gurney Drive and the heritage part of Georgetown. However, it can be quite a walk to the heart of Georgetown if you have kids. Fantastic stay and we will be back again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    I stayed here twice in the past couple of weeks, the first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here twice in the past couple of weeks, the first time in the Victory Annex, and the second time in the Heritage Annex. Both were fantastic. The annexes are joined together by a (partially outside) walkway. Each annex has its own pool area, the former on the 6th floor with sweeping sea views, next to Planters Bar (where they have the excellent happy hour free drinks/snacks at 6pm each evening). and the latter on the grounds next to the sea. Both superb. The rooms in both annexes are huge and very well appointed in the colonial style with timber finish, fans, massive bathrooms, etc. The rooms in the Heritage annex are particularly nice with older style furnishings, a less modern a/c unit, etc. But both types of rooms are excellent. Food wise, Saarkies serves up an excellent buffet breakfast. I had room service a couple of times, and the food was also very good. Location wise, the seaside position really enhances the pool areas, and it's a short walk to the main part of the UNESCO designated old town. The staff (front desk, housekeeping, poolside, Saarkies, bar, everywhere) were unfailingly friendly and helpful. Loved this hotel, I can see why it has such a good reputation, and offers exceptional value for money when you consider what you get in terms of room size, surroundings, food, pools, happy hour drinks!, etc. If I had to choose between the Victory and Heritage annexes, I would opt for the Heritage, but it is marginal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    best hotel in Penang with stunning sunrise and the glow of sunsets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The airconditioning in the Planters Lounge. Insufficient electrical points for charging phones etc.

    Excellent hotel in location, upkeep,F&B particularly the breakfast and service. I have just two comments and that is the airconditioning in the Planters Lounge,6th floor has to be adjusted as it is too cold and draughty. The crows are a special feature of the E&O and I expect will remain there for decades to come. The staff near the pool may wish to be more attentive in shooing these birds away as they come rather close to the guests who are having food. A laser pointer or a mobile of a bigger bird may keep these crows in check.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stylish hotel for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at reception had poor knowledge of Penang's heritage precinct and its tourist attractions, despite the hotel being part of that precinct.

    Large room with sea view and small balcony (Studio Suite, Victory Annexe). Heritage style building and rooms, with modern comforts. Good choice of local and foreign at breakfast. Complimentary drinks and snacks in the lounge at 5pm. Swimming pool overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.1
    Not as good as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff attention was intermittent, some of them had the attitude like we were bothering them - not something you expect to get at a 5-star hotel

    The view was stunning as well as the room, the food was also really good except for the afternoon tea

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    nice property and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    first day when we went to breakfast the first floor are flooded with people and there is one person using loud speaker so we got a bit of shock

    nice property and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    having stayed previously I knew the hotel and it provided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Georgetown Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    having stayed previously I knew the hotel and it provided everything I wanted for my stay, clean, comfortable, good eating outlets and close to town. A touch of class

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    loved the hotel, E&O is definitely something else, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    loved the hotel, E&O is definitely something else, it gives good vibes, staff was really friendly and helpful, clean rooms, great location! will definitely stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    An excellent week spent in exellent hands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I could not find anything wrong here - as a keen chef I wanted to do the Cooking Class offered on Wednesday but there were not enough takers but this was not the fault of the hotel -

    We spent 7 nights in this wonderful hotel which I recommend with enthusiasm – from arrival to departure there was not a single reason to complain which is unusual for me! – our room in the Victoria Annex at 60 odd sq. meters was both elegant and comfortable – we did not use the Victorian bath standing on its legs in pride of place in the very large bathroom which had his and hers basins but we did wallow in the large and generous rain shower – plenty of complimentary water and soft drinks, a capsule coffee machine and fruit delivered daily – we were sea facing and looked out from a small balcony across the Straights and its busy sea lanes – breakfast was included with a full on buffet on the ground floor and a more reserved continental offering on the 6th floor – food in both was exceptional – there was parking for our hire car in the downstairs parking garage – staff in every area were both polite and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at front desk & F&B floor can be improved & better trained.

    Sublime architecture, comfort & luxurious. Helpful & very friendly culinary team at F&B outlet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    E & O is pure luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    E & O is pure luxury. Our room was comfortable and I loved that we had the option of a roof fan rather than air conditioning. We had a spectacular view from our room. The property has two swimming pools and a load of restaurants to choose from. Can not fault it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with the most helpful friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great

    Beautiful hotel with the most helpful friendly staff, gorgeous rooms, stunning views, lovely pool and free cocktail hour. Walking distance to tourist attractions and also bars and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.9
    great location, great hotel. would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 4 nights

    light bulb missing in the bathroom the entire stay and the toilet flush was faulty

    bed and bathroom extremely comfortable. Pool area on 6th floor fabulous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful n atmospheric resort in mid town with sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk to breakfast restaurant in New Wing, which was too crowded n busy.

    Lobby of Heritage Wing beat the lobby of New Wing in style and grandness. Spacious suite room. Very friendly reception. Also like the place serving continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    I'm already excited for my next visit, and will recommend this hotel to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Each morning we arrived for breakfast -- even though we were there half an hour before closing time -- we were warned in a rather school-matronly manner that it was about to close. The hotel employees were extremely helpful but occasionally seemed a little befuddled. I wasn't a fan of the house wine during cocktail hour, but complimentary alcohol never goes amiss and they serve a mean vodka and soda!

    We booked this hotel with the aim of indulging in a bit of luxury and were not disappointed. Our room was gorgeous and both the shower and the bath top-quality. The breakfast buffet had so much on offer. We enjoyed the cocktail hour each evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel, lovely location and stunning room let down by poor check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Suite - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check in was awful. Despite asking for an early check in, only about 1 hour, we didn't get our room until an hour after their guaranteed check in time which was very problematic with a toddler desperate for a nap. Bags weren't delivered to the room in a timely fashion and there was no cot waiting as previously ordered. Thankfully things did improve!

    The room and location of the hotel were excellent. The facilities were also very good. Staff were friendly and, in the main, very helpful. Food was good if not quite up to the excellence of the room, but by no means unpleasant. The hotel itself is pretty child friendly and the staff were attentive to our extra toddler related needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Eastern & Oriental (E&O) in Georgetown, Penang.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Toiletries (soap, etc) like those you would find in a 3-star hotel. Not classy and not suitable for a 7-star E&O Hotel.

    1. Location 2. Staff 3. Breakfast, lunch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great view by the seafront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big comfortable rooms with character! Beautiful location by the seafront. Comfortable bed. Friendly staff. Amazing international buffet spread! Awesome pool. Highly recommended and would definitely be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.5
    A great hotel but needs some minor adjustments, particularly in cleanliness and maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are signs of wear in the hotel and lack of attention to detail. Light bulbs needing replacement in common areas, common doors that were dirty and had not been cleaned. Detracts from the positive aspects of the hotel

    The room was very spacious, comfortable and the bed was excellent. Staff were very courteous and attentive. Breakfast was also excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    The colonial nature of the building, the long corridors, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast did not meet my expectations. I imagined more fresh local fruit and local flavours. Instead it was a rather uninspiring westernised breakfast.

    The colonial nature of the building, the long corridors, the marbles, the staff, the view of the bay outside the window...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    I would stay here again, especially when there is price promotion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * the room at the old wing is huge but not well maintained and furnishing is old and worn out. we moved to the new wing on our second night. It was so much better, newer. * bed is hard * beach is not accessible * breakfast buffet, western food is not that great, e.g the sausages, omelettes, bread, coffee. Should serve white coffee, Malaysia specialty.

    *The staff very helpful. *The room at the new wing is spacious and clean. I love the rooms in the new wing. * The bathtub and hot water is great. Love the little balcony too. * love that freshly squeezed/juiced fruit juices in the breakfast buffet. The Asian section is good, nasi lemak and char kway teow. * love able to park our car right in front of drop off

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    The receptionists were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists were very nice. Great room design with a lot of complimentary stuffs. Breakfast has wide variety of food. Infinity pool is a must try too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Wow! What a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow! What a great hotel. This was just the best hotel we have stayed in for a long time. It felt so luxurious and spacious - with a huge bedroom, bathroom, restaurant and lounge. Every space felt calm and comfortable and the staff were always helpful and pleasant. we especially loved breakfast overlooking the water and the delicious complementary tea. And the pool was wonderful, with plenty of space to swim lengths and a terrific view. Marvellous!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    A lob
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Georgetown Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff could not do enough for us, they were more than pleasant in booking a day trip and providing maps as well as instructions so we may walk around and explore. We would return in a heartbeat

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    just did not feel good about our stay mainly due to poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides Steven and Rita, We did not find anyone giving their best at work. It is certainly not pleasant being in a 5star hotel with staff members who appears like they were forced to work. During our breakfast in the lobby none offered baby utensils since we brought our 2yr old, we only noticed its all kept at the entrance during our last day.

    Food was fantastic. Breakfast varieties were simply superb. Free flow from 5 to 6pm daily was a bonus. Housekeeping did a fabulous cleaning services. Front service staff Rita and Steven represented true hotelier attitude, pleasant and good customer service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Would come back anytime! A lovely old colonial hotel with so much class and exquisite breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hidden costs were a bit tricky. Of course, it was mentioned in the booking.com email, that taxes etc. were not included but it was a slight shock at the reception when the bill was about 200RM higher than expected.

    The Breakfast, as well as the overall service, were the absolute highlight of our stay. We also enjoyed how well kept all details inside the room from colonial times were, it made the experience so much more special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Old world luxury and charm next to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dining options were limited and lacked a good atmosphere - this is a missed opportunity! The menu is also rather limited but the food we did try was delicious! We ordered room service once and it a took a long time to arrive and when it did it was almost cold.

    Beautiful atmospheric old hotel with a stunning location by the sea. The heritage part of the hotel requires some updated as it has the feel of 'faded grandeur' but this was more than made up for by the old world charm and atmosphere. We particularly enjoyed the gorgeous seaview from our bedroom and the breakfast area by the pool on the roof of the Victoria wing. I also liked the hotel shop which had a good range of merchandise and lovely friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    The bed was huge and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service could have generally been more attentive, warm and sincere, especially at the reception. Everything felt very functional and process driven.

    The bed was huge and very comfortable. Soft, fluffy bathrobes were a bonus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Just the most beautiful hotel I have ever been.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is some room for small improvements, but all in all an amazing place!

    Just the most beautiful hotel I have ever been. All in colonial style, which I adore!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Elegance in a colonial setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the croissants. And some crunchy granola and fresh natural yoghurt would have been nice.

    The hotel and rooms are absolutely beautiful. Breakfast a little disappointing but to be fair, we were expecting western croissants in Asia! We will definitely return. This hotel is special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    so good that we cannot wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We only ate outside one morning. Don't like smoking being allowed in areas where people are eating.

    Even though we were too early to check in we were given access to the pool and lounge on the 6th floor with complimentary tea and coffee. Other beverages could be ordered at a cost. So welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    if u are looking for hotel with character and splendid sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i assume thin wall?as we can hear people talking from hallaway

    if u are looking for hotel with character and splendid sea view..this is it. and i would say such a romantic getaway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.8
    Poor services and uncomfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed and staff are not really helpful. I was not comfortable with the bed. They combine single bed to become one (double bed). And couldn’t expect it comes from 5 stars hotel where on the description they said its a super king size bed. Due to my long stay( 5D4N) Ive request to change the room after first night. They gave me smaller room then previous annexe and im so disappointed with that kind of services. I personally didnt ask for an upgrade. I just need the same room as previous with bed as per description. And I want to enjoy the lounge to do my work there. I let them know but the staff keep on arguing with me on the room size so I give up to talk I just write to them through boooking.com . The guest service came and offer for an upgrade to heritage wing which is Suite Deluxe. We moved. During my stay at heritage, theres few times I will out and about, front staff are not really helpful and unwelcome. To the point that I feel as I am not welcome to this hotel and I just an upgrade guest. Well I paid for the stay and I didnt ask for an upgrade. It was not a quite hotel and unrelaxing as I wish it to be. Poor services.

    Breakfast spread

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Colonial feel, well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well preserved hotel, very historic. Spacious rooms with excellent sea view and lovely swimming pool amongst lush gardens on the sea shore. Breakfast was excellent and super friendly staff all around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Loved our stay! but there is still room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Victory Annexe
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location means its about 10 - 15 minutes walk to reach Love Lane/Chulia street and depending on the route you take it can involve waiting a while at pedestrian crossings, walking along some busy side-streets with thoughtless drivers or using a pedestrian overpass which at night didn't feel the safest. On the flip side though you are by the sea and away from everything else. Loungers by the pool are very close together so not much privacy - and if you don't get one at the front its not ideal to get into the pool. We sat at the back and that row had no sun canopies for when its super hot. I imagine on busy days it could be hard to get a lounger at all. That said, - plenty of comfy seats outdoors in the covered terrace area. Pool at heritage wing is a lot more practical but probably because of this it was often busy with noisy children which must be annoying for those who have paid extra for a heritage suite. Some minor feedback for the hotel: Some of the breakfast staff look really unhappy and service did lack consistency - the first morning we were asked straight away if we wanted tea or coffee, but then only brought a small cup rather than a pot. When I tried to pour myself another one at the machine I got the impression it was for staff only. Next two days we had to get someone's attention to order tea. No milk at our table and again had to ask. One day had to get the salt from a neighboring table. First day went down at 10 am and you can tell staff are desperate to start clearing tables. Getting bread/toast when its busy is a nightmare. They need at least one more toast machine and to have 2 separate areas to slice bread as the wait can be tedious and people push in. Some lightbulbs missing in Sarkies and also in nearby loos - maintenance around the hotel doesn't strike me as being 5*, particularly exterior at the heritage wing.

    Stayed in the new Victory wing. We loved it here. Room is spacious with lovely decor etc. Bathroom was gorgeous. Happy hour was fab, we were well looked after. Planters lounge is beautifully decorated and lovely to sit in with a cup of tea at night. Reception area is stunning. Breakfast was tasty - especially the roti chenai, staff at this station which also did the cook to order eggs and crepes were always friendly. Just a lovely place to stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Worth the visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great location with heritage building, you wouldn't expect it to be this new. Though, bear in mind it is 200-year-old building so things ain't modern and super comfortable like new one. Anyway, the stay was impressive. The breakfast was various and great. Great service staff. Try the fried noodle! The fitness was fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Eastern & Oriental Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: