Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa – The Leading Hotels of the World This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Avenida da Liberdade, 185, Santo Antonio, 1269-050 Lisbon, Portugal

#141 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 958 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aircon didnt work. Too cold in the room. Phone didnt work. Our dryclean was not ready until the day after we left the hotel so hotel had to send it to our next hotel in Portugal.

    Friendly staff, good location, nice and spacious room. Wonderful view from rooftop bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    5.0
    Great spot but poor pool area and shocking skybar experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was ridiculously crowded - nowhere near enough space or beds for the size of the hotel. I realise it was August but the shortage of space was not worthy of a high end hotel. We were out sightseeing for most of the day but this made the afternoon return to the hotel to chill out not very 'chilled out' to say the least. The Skybar was a shocker - the bar staff were incredibly rude on the first night, basically 'instructing' my husband to leave the bar area if he wanted a bottle of wine (!) and then we waited for 20 minutes on the second night before anyone even acknowledged our presence. I work in the leisure industry and always give fellow staff a huge amount of respect but some of the bar staff here were really very rude. I certainly wouldn't go again.

    Room was okay - breakfast very good. Fab location if you like to shop and the Sunday market right outside the hotel was brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    9.2
    Honeymooners don’t go anywhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was our wedding night and we were upgraded to the presidential suite. Simply the most beautiful room i have ever experienced in my life! The staff were super helpful with all the details from arranging for hairdressers to our room for our wedding night to ensuring we have an amazing experience. We will be back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    10
    Stunning from start to finish!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything! The bed was so comfortable, the breakfast is outstanding & the pool is divine. The air con was always the perfect temperature. The staff were so helpful & polite. It was our honeymoon & they really looked after us. We can’t wait to come back to Lisbon & this Hotel, it’s stunning! Oh and don’t miss out on the rooftop bar. Stunning views and gorgeous cocktails

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    4.6
    Mildew
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I arrived staff was super friendly but......they gave me the keys to someone else’s room. That was awkward. To make up for the mistake they “upgraded” me to a room that smelled like mildew. Some of the furniture, a table and chair, was missing from this new room. The main problem was the mildew. I should add that I overheard two guests complaining to the staff about loud music throughout the night from a nearby club. With all that said, it would be unfair not to mention that the staff was very kind. This hotel did not meet the standards I have come to expect based on booking.com ratings, friendly people though.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    8.8
    Stayed at the hotel previously and the staff are helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    House-keeping needs to improve to ensure electrical equipment in the room works and towels are replaced. Also wifi in our room was poor. Still a great hotel though.

    Stayed at the hotel previously and the staff are helpful. Great breakfast, pool and gym.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    10
    Service at this hotel is unbelievable, staffs are very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a Heat Wave in Portugal with real feel 43C and I was very happy to finally arrive after 4 hours in a train from Lagos with no air conditioning. Sadly our room had no air conditioning either but they made sure that they find the best room with AC even in asking to visit some rooms with them to make sure that I'm happy. Very appreciated as a negative became a great experience!

    Service at this hotel is unbelievable, staffs are very well mannered, extremely polite and helpful. You feel like you're a VIP and see that they really care about your well being & satisfaction.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.3
    Have stayed 6 Times at this hotel with no complaints. It is under new management and lacks attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    City view turned out to be building site view. Room 606 needed attention, broken window handle, lack of information in room. Moved to another room at midnight

    Location and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    7.9
    A beautiful 5 star hotel, in a great location, with average service. Probably wouldn't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tried two different requests from Concierge, and did not get a reply or the information I required. The beautiful bar on the ground floor was a lovely place to meet for a drink, but staff were off-hand and at times rude.

    Great location, 5 star hotel, with beautiful facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.2
    Tivoli Avendia Liberdade Lisbia, an enjoyable stay in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the prices were expensive, but I expect that in such a hotel and in this location. You could leave the hotel easily and fine more reasonably priced food and beverages close by.

    The staff, rooms and amenities were great@ everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms were very big for European hotel rooms. The location was great! An easy walk to the city center, on in less than a block, the metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    The best location in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room had a courtyard view which wasn’t too great and was very noisy because of the rooftop bar that is open till late night

    Location is perfect, the rooftop bar has a great view, Breakfast is amazing and the gym is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    10
    The Tivoli is beautiful and well-located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We always had to ask for face cloths, shower gel and a bath mat. Staff quickly provided when asked, but might they be added to some kind of checklist so they would be available daily?

    Staff are exceptionally service-oriented and friendly. Location is beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    5.8
    The rooftopbar is an amazing experience and the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are noisy and need an update. Once the coffee or water is out, it will not be refilled. We only stay with 5 star hotels, but this hotel was the first one to not recommend

    The rooftopbar is an amazing experience and the hotel is central located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    very helpful and informed concierge service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Every other day, the hotel would receive a huge influx of guests from Viking Cruises. No overall problem with this, but the breakfast facilities were overwhelmed at certain times as they all ate together. Basically an early breakfast was to be avoided, if possible

    very helpful and informed concierge service. Good size rooms and great beds. Excellent range of choice for breakfast and the fine dining restaurant was a lovely bonus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location, very helpfull stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They had no hot wanter first day, we got money back and staff handled it well but clearly hotel like this should have a back up plan when such things happen.

    Perfect location, very helpfull stuff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    6.7
    Nice dinner at the 9th floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was way too crowded. Recommendation of Chinese restaurant was bad. Food was not good and located in unsafe part of town. I asked whether they can get us a taxi back to the hotel to which the hotel staff said the restaurant can call for us. The restaurant did not and just told us to go out on the street late at night and get a taxi ourselves. We felt very unsafe.

    Nice room. Safe hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    4.6
    Exellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    floor carpet in room very dirty, dirty bathroom with calc residues everywhere, bad smell around the bed, probably coming from the mattress, room was not cleaned properly

    Exellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    9.6
    we loved this hotel and Lisbon. it was our first time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Avenue View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing i didn't like was the price for breakfast, which was very expensive .

    Everything about this hotel was wonderful: the hotel, the room, the bed, the linens, even the slippers were special. The location was excellent. in the middle of the beautiful avenue.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel that deserves four rather than five stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had no internet connection during our stay which for a 5 star hotel in this day and age is unacceptable. Also the housekeeping was a bit haphazard, we only had extra toiletries given on day one and had no tissues and no kettle despite asking for one.

    Lovely old fashion hotel with a grand entrance and lobby. It has a decadent feel to it. We were upgraded on arrival as we were made to wait due to a confusion on our booking but the upgrade to a suite was worth the wait.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    7.9
    enjoyable stay but no 5star experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay did not fully live up to expectations. Indicated check in time was 2pm, we arrived at 2:45 but still had to wait 45 minutes for room to be ready. Our junior suite was located at first floor with no view, which must have been least attractive room in our range. Included request for spa reservation in comment with booking but nothing was reserved; when reserved a tivoli fushion massage for next day this was later cancelled. All in all, we enjoyed our stay but not quite the 5star experience we expected.

    Excellent location, excellent breakfast with great view of lisbon at ninth floor (comes with the junior suite)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    9.6
    Great Location and Excellent service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only thing is about the Free WiFi as it is slower than expected.

    The hotel overall is really nice. The room is super clean and tidy. I want to thank the housekeeping team for their impeccable attention to details. the location of the hotel is excellent for business and pleasure. lots of great restaurants around and within walking distance to all major attractions in the city center of Lisbon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    8.3
    Loved Lisbon and Avenida Liberdade but the Tivoli has to live up to its name and room price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like that people were smoking in the room next door we had to put a towel under the connecting door. Complaning to the front desk didn’t do much. Then they started to remodel rooms on the same floor the smell of paint was very strong. The concierge gave us the wrong address to the restaurant we had reservations and we couldn’t make it.

    The room was very clean, the bed very comfortable and bathroom was spacious with great shower. Also great location and sky bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Well recommanded, we must do this again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Honestly, there was nothing to complain about...

    Very friendly and helpful staff, they even surprised us with sparkling wine and cake at the birthday of my spouse. The hotel is just walking distance to the centre and the sight-seeing buses.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful stay at a beautiful hotel in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and had all the amenities you could want including a turndown service, which was a nice touch. The breakfast was great, offering a buffet and an omelette counter where you could pick your toppings and it would be prepared fresh in front of you. The location was fantastic as Avenida station was a 2 minute walk (if that) from the hotel, but there were many places within walking distance from the hotel. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    10
    A taste of Grand Hotels of the past: living the dream in today’s world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Avenue View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A longer stay!

    An outstanding service, an attention to details and an impeccable location! The very cherry on the pie: champagne and cake for my partner’s birthday! Outstanding! True live to the number of stars!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2017

    10
    Great trip & lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This didn't really bother us but the breakfast was a little pricey (we ate elsewhere)

    Gorgeous hotel in a fab location. We were upgraded at check in and they made a fuss for my partners birthday with Prosecco & birthday cake! Large, comfortable room & huge bed - and a giant bathroom and excellent power shower. Amazing roof top space & bar area too with great views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Other guests at the reception. Maybe the reception could be more specific in where to stand in line. People were standing 5cm away from me while checking in, that didn't feel nice and relaxed to me.

    Comfy beds, good english speaking receptionist

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyable comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough lifts in the building for the amount of rooms. I felt that for a 5 star hotel the toiletries should be replaced daily. I twice ran out of shampoo and once out of toilet paper. The soaps were never replaced in 5 days.

    Comfortable room with great linen and towels. We were moved to another room after a noisy night close to the roof bar, with no fuss at all. Good location for exploring the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    7.5
    luxury hotel - expect to pay - good location - nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a problem with the (lack) of elevators - people queued all the time - lucky we stayed on the 2nd floor and walked up the stairs!

    The room was very comfortable and inviting. The hotel itself is not new but pretty luxurious. Then again it's not cheap at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough staff Too busy with large tour groups Cramped breakfast room Roof top bar reserved for functions 2/3 evenings Stained room carpet

    Location Pool Bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    6.7
    Updated and convenient location, not family friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not family friendly, they were renovating or trying to hang something up close to our room at 9 am and it was not pleasant, we were not able to drink coffee before lunch in the terrace area because"you can't order coffee unless you are going to have lunch there", the managed to get us a baby sitter but they tried to change the price of the first quote that they gave me (fortunately I had save the email with the first quote).

    Comfortable, clean and walkable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    You will not be disappointed staying at this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was what one expect6s from a five star rating. Also particularly helpful in dealing with Sixt Car Rental which enabled me to drop off car rental rather than shlep to the airport using GPS and saving anxiety.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    9.2
    A great stay in luxurious surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Avenue View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the breakfast did not live up to my expectations for the price charged. Apart from that - all good.

    The staff were very friendly and the bed was really comfy. I celebrated my birthday whilst staying there and was very surprised to come back to a bottle of bubbly and chocolate treat - a very nice touch - Thank you. The Sky Bar is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    10
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The staff, the location and the hotel per se. Very helpful, cheerful and patient staff and made our stay very comfortable, hassle free and enjoyable as well as memorable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2017

    7.1
    Very modern and comfortable, not a 5 star service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though everything inside the room was very comfortable, they woke us up at 9 am, we heard loud banging for about 30 minutes from the staff only room, we had asked for a nanny recommendations the week before our arrival and they told us they would charge 22 euros, when we got there they wanted to charge us 25 euros until I reminded them about the email. We also didn't feel very welcome when we tried to get coffeee from the restaurant terrace around 1 pm, they said they could only do that if we had lunch there. What restaurant in Europe gives that excuse? One the things that drew us to choose Tivoli was their "family friendliness" and we didn't feel they were. The nanny they got us was awesome and spoke 3 languages but that was pretty much the highlight of the "family friendliness experience" of Tivoli we got.

    The room was very comfortable, the bathroom was very modern and with all the US comforts, they had a very well thought out variety of toiletries, bath robe, your own krup, very up to date.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant and friendly environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cost of the breakfast

    The services were excellent the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, with a fantastic roof terrace bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.5
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Double
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The "sky bars" loud thumping music could be heard in our 7th floor room until 3am (supposed to close at 1 am) on Friday and Saturday nights. It seems to me the hotel is obsessed with its sky bar, at the expense of guest comfort.

    Location was fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    10
    Great location, amazing rooftop bar/resto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything, but when I was checking out I glanced at the rates that hotel charges directly (if you just walk in) and was in a little shock. Huge difference (more $) with what I paid through booking.com.

    Great location, amazing rooftop bar/resto. Truly 5* with all attributes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    7.9
    Hotel in ideal location, great facilities and nearby Ribadouro restaurant is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A complementary Lisbon street map would have been great. Slightly lower prices are always appreciated.

    Comfortable,sizeable room, lovely staff and a great swimming pool. But it is expensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    8.3
    Luxurious setting but not 100% luxurious service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to wait a while for our bags to get to our room, and they wanted to charge 5 euros for a corkscrew (which I have never encountered before). Breakfast is pricey, so we opted out.

    Recent refurbishment has given reception spaces and rooms a modern luxe feel. Bathrooms are great, it was also great to have a pool in such hot weather - although the pool is small and gets crowded.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel for sightseeing in Lisbon with a touch of luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slow check in and room as very busy, lots of people waiting for rooms.

    Really great location in the beautiful city of Lisbon. Very happy with quality of hotel and rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    8.3
    Staff and friendliness generally.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a renovation of our next door room. Very poor arrangements by Hotel Management as they started their works at 08.30 and workers were hammering our wall. Terrible!!

    Staff and friendliness generally. I had a birthday during our stay and hotel sent me very nice present as a bottle of spumante and chocolate cake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    8.3
    Building works going on but the hotel location, staff and room itself were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had building works taking place right next to our room when we arrived on the Saturday (for one night stay only) afternoon and these didn't stop by the time we were ready to leave the room for the early evening. The works then commenced again at 8.30am on Sunday morning. However, I reported the noise on the Saturday and then called when the noise was going on (on Sunday morning), the receptionist could hear the loud banging whilst I was on the phone. The only bonus to this is they were extremely understanding and apologetic. They did not charge us for the room and gave us complimentary breakfast and asked the work men to stop (for half an hour). Although the noise ruined our overall experience the fact the staff were so understanding really did make a huge difference and would not put us off going again. We should never have been given the room in the first place which was recognised by all members of staff.

    The hotel was fantastic, very beautiful and great location. The rooms were great and beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2017

    9.2
    Luxury in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Peculiar smell from the pillows. I think it is the material that the pillow protectors are made of. Check bill before payment as we were charged double for a tea and coffee at the pool bar which were already over priced at €5 each.

    Pleasant staff. Beautifully presented reception/lounge area. Lovely shower room with rain shower. Bed was extremely comfortable. Large screen tv with English speaking channels. Sky bar has stunning views, cocktails are great but a tad expensive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    9.6
    A sophisticated hotel for all situations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to add.

    The best hotel in Lisbon (I also stayed in Sheraton). The breakfast is fantastic. I had dinner once in the restaurant and it was great. The room is big, very clean and comfortable. Tivoli, a hotel to be chosen again if I return to Portugal!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    8.8
    If you love to shop while in Lisbon at high end stores, this is for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are so many old, historic hotels and even castle stays in Lisbon. If you are looking for romantic, old style and historic, this is not the hotel for you. If you love new and want to be near shopping and you just don't care about the other stuff, it's perfect.

    If you love shopping, you are right by every famous department store. This is the champ elyeeses of lisboa and so high end and with a perfect little cafes lining the central promenade. You can also walk a bit to get into the central part of town. Maybe a 5-10 min walk

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very nice, and the room was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast buffet is so beautifully set up, but then under the tables there are cables showing everywhere, just put a white blanket over the table to hide what's under it and it's perfect!!

    The staff was very nice, and the room was beautiful. I like that it was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable, so that I didnt want to get up at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    6.3
    5 star queues at this hotel, only two lifts and two persons at reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel Checking was ok, our car was taken by the valet took our car keys and luggage. We booked a deluxe courtyard view room. Once checking was over, it took o about 10 minutes to check in and there was no queue. As we were about to leave the lady said we were upgraded to an avenue view room. We said thanks and left. There were a number of issues, as we walked in a light bulb fell off the lamp, there were No sockets and the ones used up by the lamps are half sticking out from the wall. We had to unplug a coffee machine to charge our phone. The shower tap could not be shut, it dripped ... We went to reception and ask them for our original room and that we didn't want the upgrade, they ask why, I listed all the items above plus the amazing roof tops music was rocking our room. It was room 822 and the sky bar is on floor 9. The front desk asked as if we would stay in the hotel as they needed some time to sort us out. The lift queue was really long about 40 people waiting for lifts to the roof top bar. This 5 star hotel has 2 lifts! We asked if there was a guests lift and he smiled and said no. Please see the photos attached of the queues to go to your room. Or walk 8 floors and down with luggage. Also these rooms are takie paint coming of lights etc. The hotel does not appear to be a 5 star, it's old and dated, as the photos will show you. However they do feel to lift up the lobby and sky bar but not the rooms. In the descriptions every room seems to be 20m and there are not photos of the avenue view compared to courtyard or any. 250ish rooms only two employees checking out people and only two lifts is not for a 5 star, there were queues for checking out and for lifts to the room, over 40 people, please see photos Check out - only two at reception massive queue at 12 mid day. Employees were lovely though I would blame management

    After complaining we were upgraded

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    8.3
    Nice but Extremely Noisy!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was extremely noisy! The rooms are not sound proof in any way. We could clearly hear conversations in guest rooms on either side of us and in the hallways. The maids closet was directly across from our room. Maids congragate there to bring dirty dishes from guest rooms, get supplies and chat, so our room was very noisy. We could also hear noise from the street below. Our first am we were awoken early am by a jackhammer/drilling noise coming from somewhere nearby us within the hotel. And a lot of loud talking coming from the hallway outside our room. We had a balcony over looking the beautiful Avenida, however there wasn't any furniture on it, so it wasn't possible to sit and relax and enjoy people watching and listen to the music drifting up from the cafe's below. Overall the lack of quiet, was extremely disappointing and we would not stay at this hotel again.

    The breakfast buffet included in the room was sufficient. The room/hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable. The outdoor pool is pretty and tranquil, although slightly removed and inconvenient to get to. The hotel is pretty and nicely kept. The Avenida Liberdade itself is a very pretty, tree lined, wide boulevard, with high end shopping and pretty little cafe's. Some of which have music.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.8
    Pool area
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construksjon and alarm and aircondisjon noice every day inn a 5 night stay. From 8 o clock in the morning. Not the hotel for Long sleep inn the morning.

    Pool area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    7.5
    Meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's just super generic. No charm really. I was hoping for a little luxury on my last night in Lisbon after a few days at the beach. And my room was fine, but the whole experience was generic, and the service was a little bland. People said the right things, but it never felt engaged. So nothing wrong exactly, but there are plenty of hotels with more charm out there.

    Lots of charging outlets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    10
    Great Place to Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I enjoyed my stay. The hotel was beautiful and the staff was wonderful. The skybar has a beautiful view of the city. The breakfast was excellent. A large choice of hot and cold items.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    5.8
    Hotel needs to work on the service basics and family accessibility to be an all-round choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Double
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym facility along with much of the hotel was under renovation. No mention of this at booking. Important as gym was a selling point for us. Only two elevators were in operation. Might not sound like a big deal, but given the roof top bar for external customer traffic (admittedly nice views), long lines to get to your room were not appropriate for a five star experience. Room booked was a Junior Suite which included executive lounge access. Arrival desk assured us of daily unlimited access. Upon trying to access, door was locked. Upon asking another front desk open, there seemed to be confusion each of the three days we tried to access about it being open or us having access. The pool was a nice option for a city hotel but was awkwardly located with no direct ramps for toddler strollers and lots of stairs. Nice in theory but execution was poor. Ultimately, the hotel did NOT make us feel like premium guests, despite the very premium prices.

    Room was newly renovated and location is a 5 minute walk to the main center of town. Metro stop a couple hundred meters out the front door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    9.6
    Yea for Lisbon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing in Lisbon is inexpensive!!!

    Everyone was very professional and helpful. The room was spacious and comprtable. It was a wonderful experience! Breakfast buffet was excellent also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    5.0
    Okay at Best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It seemed that because I booked through Booking.com and got a "deal" that I should be given the worst room in the hotel. My room was supposed to be 23 m² rooms featuring views of the emblematic city of Lisbon. The room was fine but the view was of a parking lot so I complained and was given an "upgraded room" with a view of Avenida Liberdade which was fine but the room was half the size. Staff could have cared less if I was happy or not. My partner and I were there for 6 nights so it was a bit cramped. For one or two nights it probably would have been okay. At the end of the stay I was asked how everything was. I said it was just okay and they thought that was great! Staff is rather robotic and unsympathetic. There really isn't anything special about the hotel and there is a lack of detail that is somewhat disappointing. If it wasn't for the pool, which is quite nice, I would have hated staying at this hotel. There are definitely better options out there that are more unique. If you want a big hotel that caters to conventions and tour groups from cruise ships, then you might be happy at the Tivoli.

    The pool area was nice despite constant construction noise coming from adjacent properties. The lobby is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    10
    Lisboa - Tivoli Avenida Liberdade it is !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The corridors can become noisy as the doors are not sound proof.

    It was a very good decision to stay in Tivoli Liberdade. The location is very central. The staff is very helpful. Sky bar is the best terrace bar with a view in Lisbon. Overall a great experience on our first trip to Lisbon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    5.8
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have rarely ever written a negative review but my friends and I who are regular travellers were not best pleased with our stay in this hotel. Positives: the Sky bar was fabulous if not a little overpriced. Spacious family room with fantastic shower. Negative: The staff and housekeeping team were not to the standard of a five star hotel. Needs were not met on a number of occasions, ironing board (took 45 minutes & 3 calls to housekeeping), ice bucket never arrived, turndown service poor, dirty robes .... I could go on. Breakfast (food & drinks) not replenished regularly, many plates empty by the time we arrived. Spa was closed and we were not informed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    3.3
    A big hotel which was a big dissappointment, dont go there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Avenue View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was small and had far too much unnecessary furniture in it which made it feel cramped. The wardrobe was difficult to use. The bathroom was terrible, it had a ridiculously complicated shower and was very badly planned with a poor use of space. The 'turn down service' was a nonsense, just a waste of linen and packaging and not even a chocolate. The location was a lot further from the sights than expected. 28 Euros pp for breakfast is very expensive. We found some very nice local coffee bars which had more atmosphere and offered better value and experience. A soulless hotel without any character.

    The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable The pool area was very nice. the Sky Bar was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    9.6
    One of the best Hotels I experienced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did apreciate the new lobby look: from dark and poorly lighted in the past to lighted and sunny now : Fantastic I didnt liked the change in the the restaurant : no more fixed convenient lunch menu ' less friendly and more expensive.

    Excellent breakfast - good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2017

    5.8
    Below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Avenue View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smaller then shown on the pictures. Breakfast was poor. The elevators were terrible. Didn't sound safe and waiting for an elevator everytime for more then 3 minutes is too much. May be it's a new renovated hotel that's why it was below my expectations and they are not ready yet.

    Only the location was good. They have a nice teras with a bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    6.3
    Roof top bar view was fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely disappointed there was no outdoor pool and we had not been informed before our visit. The main reason we booked that hotel.Wifi access was very very slow and poor.

    Roof top bar view was fab.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best thing about the property is the ease with which one can reach the old town attractions. The walk is almost entirely flat. Given the number of hills in Lisbon, it was an easy walk. In addition, the location is quiet despite being on a major thoroughfare.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2017

    8.3
    Beware, no fitness center and pool is under construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did a filter search for Lisbon hotels with a fitness center. This was one that came up in the search and included a picture of the fitness center. Much to my surprise, they do not have a fitness center but offered vouchers to a fitness center at another location. That is not what I wanted. Also, the swimming pool is under construction and not open. The lady who checked us in apologized but that was it. She said Booking.com was at fault for false advertising which was putting them in an awkward position. Hmmm? Interesting explanation. The only other thing that I didn't like was in the shower, there is no place to set soap, shampoo, razor, etc. You have to keep them on the floor or on the counter on the other side of the shower.

    Great bed and pillows. Wonderful housekeeping. All the staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. We loved the Sky Bar. Beautiful views and excellent service. Professional doormen. The concierge arranged a personal driver (Paulo Santos) for us to visit areas outside the city. He was charming and knowledgeable and catered to our wishes. Great trip!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    3.8
    Wait till massive construction is over, probably next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel should not have been open. Having massive construction. No lobby, no ladies room, Jack hammerING 10 hours a day, fire alarms going off thu night, bo instruction, no front of building, demolished

    Beautiful selection and quality

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel bothered by delayed renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Renovation announced to be finished by March 31st was still ongoing and caused trouble with dust and noise from drilling. Lifts were partly closed so we had to walk After complaining we received compensation

    Helpfull staff gave good advice and booked good restaurants We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner in the hotel and were very satisfied Due to renovation we were upgraded a room with balcony and view overlooking the city

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The new superior rooms are nice with beautiful bathrooms, but not very practical - no desk or table, so rather impossible to work or eat. Good for tourists, not so much for business travelers.

    Freshly renovated room, beautiful roof terrace bar. Extremely friendly staff. Great location. Lobby was still under renovation, but will look much better than before when finished.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    7.1
    Our stay in Hotel Tivoli
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was undergoing a major renovations since October and the hotel management didn't mention any thing about that until few days before a our arrival!!! We couldn't change the hotel because all other hotels were fully booked (Easter Holiday). The reception, roof and swimming pool were closed! We were disappointed.

    Friendly staff and excellent location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed - pool was not open and property going through renovations - noise & dust
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we booked the Hotel we were informed in the booking confirmation that "the property will be going through renovation works from Fri 11 Nov 2016 until Fri 31 Mar 2017" however since our check in date was April 8th we were comfortable with this. However the property was under full renovation with lots of noise and even dust in the main lobby which was horrible. Also we were told that the Pool and the roof top bar was closed because it only open in the summer and that it is clearly mentioned on their website. Well i disagree. When you book the place on booking.com there is no such clear disclaimer for people booking before the pool is open. it is unethical to lure people to book your hotel looking at the fancy pictures of the pool and bar on the website and only to find that reality is far from different. There should be clear mention in brackets next to hotel facilities mentioned "pool" that this is not available from so and so date so consumers can take an informed decision before they book. I felt we were baited and switched.

    The location was nice as it is a short walk from downtown

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing and poor value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower/bath fittings poor, old-fashioned and awkward to use. Not the standard I would expect for a superior room for an expensive hotel in Lisbon. We were not informed at the time of booking that hotel is undergoing extensive renovations. We received an email to this effect 4 days before travelling by which time we could not change our booking. Hotel advertises parking facility which is why we chose the hotel. However they failed to mention that you had to pay extra for parking.

    Bed and pillows very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything ñoise all night never stopped from work men drilling and banging .the hotel had no lounge or any other amenities specified,at the moment would struggle to be a 3 star hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't like the organization of the New Year Eve on the Teraco Reastaurant - the music was poor and value for money not so good.

    We like very much the staff!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    10
    The perfect stay on New Years Eve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    super breakfast with friendly staff and on top level with rooftop bar-wonderful view. Super-sized & very comfortable beds and bathroom with rainshower. Really friendly concierge staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2017

    4.6
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tivoli Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything else. Heavy and extremely noisy work within hotel all day, room without heating (9 degrees in the room in the morning, took them 2 days to change room, apologised with a small bottle of water...zéro respect for clients.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2016

    8.8
    Good stay but cheated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a reservation for a day before we had 2 days at the same hotel with Viking. I had asked well in advance to keep the same room. The day we arrived they said we'd have to pay more for the 2 nights in order not to move. It was too late to change the room for the first night, so we were trapped if we didn't want to move. We had to pay the extra. Note that the hotel could have notified us of this issue weeks beforehand. The girl also said our room was nicer since it had already been remodeled. No, not true.

    Comfy bed. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2016

    9.6
    A comfortable and elegant hotel in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quietness of the room and the comfort of the bed. The range of free channels on TV. The breakfast was excellent and set us up until the evening! Very near to a metro station. The staff were extremely courteous and eager to help.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: