Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mom Tri's Villa Royale 4 stars

12 Kata Noi Rd., Kata Beach Phuket, 83100 Kata Beach, Thailand

#19 of 85 hotels in Kata Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 77 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Wing Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI was terrible in the room. Had to go to the reception/lobby to continuously connect. Its was a connecting room / so could hear the children next door. Why no connecting mattress between the doors to stop the sound ? The rug on the floor, the sticky tape not working , so always moving. Dangerous. The security guard made us park car in area without canopy. The management team had these parking spaces. Breakfast service: the young waiters always talking to themselves. Missed an opportunity to interact with guests.

    Being near the rocks/water/ greenery / design.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Wing Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Packed breakfast for the boat day trip was a little disappointing. We could have easily been briefed as to what it consisted of prior - and my partner was not allowed to eat breakfast in the restaurant 30mins prior to us leaving for the day trip, and was sternly told by one of the staff in the restaurant that we had a packed lunch so could not eat there that morning. An apple, croissant and a couple of other items in the packed lunch was not very good and substandard compared to what we had been used to - and we could have eaten in the restaurant. I am disappointed she was virtually 'told off' by the man in the restaurant and his attitude could have been 100% better. Please sort out the issue of certain people 'reserving' their pool side lounges v early in the morning and then not arriving until a few hours later - it is extremely selfish and irritating. People should get there and stay there. Not reserve them virtually the night before with their towels. There must be a system you can put in place to avoid this. Only other slight issue was the bed was extremely hard.

    All the food was absolutely delicious - breakfasts were the best i have experienced - and i have travelled a lot. We also ate twice in the hotel restaurant, and once in the hotel restaurant on the hill and the food was exquisite. Staff were helpful, friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very minor point... the cleaning staff did a great job, but may be unaware how the noise of chattering carries at 0730. Not enough for a complaint, as it was only on a couple of accasions.

    The accommodation was extremely well designed and spacious enough for our 10 day stay. The resort, traditionally designed, offered a wonderful restaurant that provided local Thai and international cuisine, together with a variety of wines and beverages at affordable prices. Additionally, there were a number of pools and a pool bar that overlooked the sea and beach. The Kata Noi Beach was below and could be reached by short, but somewhat steep at times, steps. Loved all the staff, who were so friendly. A special thanks to Mr Pong, who always greeted us with a big smile and was the epitome of customer care.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Wing Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For nearly $400 a night it represents poor value. Rooms are nice but need upgrading as they are getting tired. Staff are inattentive and the poor overlooking the sea was dirty.

    The view from the resort is amazing! It is a short walk from Kata Noi beach and overlooks the beach and sea. Most rooms will have a sea view room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travelled alone as a young female. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Room size was great and had a lot of privacy. It was the little touches that made it a truly amazing experience (roses given at dinner, orchids on the bed each day, a home made cake each day). Wish I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated, it's time for upgrading or better maintenance. In the room we stayed in, air-cond was leaking badly, the staff had to put towels on the floor and it's messy. The air-cond is making loud chugging noise and affecting sleep too.

    Great restaurant - good food and service, beautiful ambience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We first checked in to the Royal wing which had cooking odours coming from the kitchen whilst we were on the balcony. We complained and were promptly upgraded to the beach wing. We felt that the rooms were overpriced for Thailand.

    lovely location. Right on the beach at Kata Noi. We stayed in a beach wing suite which was very close to the water and with a great view. Breakfast was great with live cooking and plentiful. The staff were lovely and very obliging and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Wing Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What a surprise this little hotel was. I couldn't think of staying anywhere else when we travel to Thailand again. I loved our ocean room - out the door, down the stairs and we're on the sand. It's small, homely and just beautiful. I was so happy with our room location, it made our holiday. I loved how the whole resort had a sense of privacy throughout too. Really well designed. Beautiful gardens and gorgeous staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Salt water pool was dirty (but two very nice sweet water pools)

    Right by the nicest beach in the area, very friendly staff (especially Oan at the bar), great breakfast, good restaurant, awesome garden & sunsets, quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was wonderful, no need for improvements!

    Everything about the room was perfect! Wonderful bed. And amazing view from the balcony! The rest of the resort was beautiful as well!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was great but nearby beaches really are disgusting, so much rubbish polluting the environment. I its been 10 years since I was here last the change in rubbish pollution is tremendous I won't be coming back to Thailand.

    Great hotel, good breakfast selection, very relaxing setting by the ocean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite2
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food, pool, people, spa.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Wing Bourgogne
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is excellent. Very nice staff. Kata Noi beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets, pillow and towels were not clean every time. It with a lot of red stains.

    This hotel has good restaurant. Staff was very kind for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel situated on steep site so don't go hear if you don't like steps!

    Friendly staff. Great pool. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far off from the town, rent a scooter if you can!

    Clean, beautiful room and facility.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Wing Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best hotel experience of our lives after a free upgrade. Very clean with fantastic staff to which nothing was a problem.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Wing Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have stayed longer

    Beautiful views, very welcoming staff. Delicious meals wit great mix of Asian and Italian menu choices

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Wing Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of us is vegetarian and found the menu restrictive

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Wing Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym facilities not in good condition and lacking.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royale Wing Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location of the hotel is wonderful, if you like to relax in nature with a perfect service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nobody to assist with my luggage no concerned car park attendant. 100% dull.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Wing Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the ocean wing. Fabulous ocean view and spacious, comfortable room. Hope to be back soon!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I took my mum for holiday. We couldn't have picked a better hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Nothing was a trouble. Hotel was super clean and taken care of. Location amazing! It's quiet and the beach is lovely and never overcrowded. Comparing to Kata and Patong. Breakfast was great start of every day and always something different. To the shops and restaurants it is only 7 minutes walk. We had an excellent stay and if coming back to Phuket I'll pick this hotel again!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stuff was good, but could be more initiative and helpful. It was not hotel's fault at all, but there was a case when ATM of UOB Bank simply swallowed my credit card and guys replied to me that "it happens often-ka, please do not worry-ka". I must say that the manager, her name was Sao helped me trying to get in touch with the bank later and she helped to confirm other reservations. I appreciate that. Warning!!! - don't use ATMs of UOB Bank in Thailand.

    Nice location. The public beach is nearby and sometimes it is really great to swim there when the waves come. Hotel's restaurant is great - food, atmosphere...everything.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I'm going back with my wife for our third stay in June, one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Staff are always very friendly and accommodating, the restaurant is excellent. We stayed last time in the Ocean Wing more private and secluded.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Though my friends and I were there quite early in the morning, they kindly welcomed us with icy fruit juice and gave us the room we booked. The room was clean and fresh with air conditioner on and the bathroom was spacious enough and clean. The bed was large and the sheets were clean and crisp. We stayed at the beach wing and the view and all kinds of bird sining we enjoyed every morning was amazing. They also provide a little daily treat such as a fruit basket, coconut macarons and sticky rice with coconut and all of them was very good. Everytime we were in and out of the room, we could smell orchid from the wind, which my friends and I really like about the hotel. They have three swimming pools. The one in the 3rd floor is too small but rest of them are okay, especially the seawater pool. This hotel is not closed to where most restaurants are but it only takes about 10 mins by walking to that restaurant area. The breakfast was the only thing that I enjoyed less because there were small number of food and the bread and waffle was so-so. Smoked salmon was actually awful. They need to do something with the salmon or provide something else. The lady making scramble egg also seemed upset everytime I see her. ** This is not a fact but my friends and I kinda got the feelings that the staff were more friendlier to the guest from western countries. They didn't directly offend us or make us upset, but we kinda felt it. Anyway, if I ever have to go visit Phuket again in the future, I wish I could stay here again. I had a wonderful experiece during the stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Though the room was spacious and there was everything one would need the furniture is getting a bit worn out and some more effort needs to be done regarding cleanliness in the room. Also, at least putting more garbage cans on the beach would help cause tourists don't have much opportunities to get rid of any kind of their garbage but to leave it on the sand. Not very nice to swim among wrappings and cigarette butts.

    All staff was very helpful about everything and freindly. Breakfast was excellent for us plus amazing view. Location of the hotel is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For us the main let-down with the resort was the staff, who mainly seemed relatively indifferent to our presence as guests. Some of the staff were good, smiling and hospitable, but they seemed to be in a distinct minority. Given that this is an expensive 5 star resort we expected a much higher standard of service and hospitality from the staff. The resort was very quiet at what is the start of the peak season and one staff member was lamenting this blaming too many resorts nearby. We also suspect that given the average service we received that this might also be a factor in the lack of guests. The worst instance of staff service in fact occurred on arrival - we arrived when the reception was dealing with someone claiming to have left their phone in the restaurant. They seemed more preoccupied with dealing with this person than arriving guests and we felt very overlooked and unwelcome. To add further insult to this they forgot to deliver our bags, which were left in the driveway where anyone could have taken them, and we had to come searching for them in order to be able to settle in to the room.

    We stayed here for 7 nights and found the resort to be a lovely place set on a rocky headland, somewhat reminiscent of a Thai version of Portmeirion, mainly due to the quirky nature of the design with its many paths and steps and hidden places amidst the tropical gardens. For anyone with mobility issues the resort would be very difficult to navigate. We had a beach room with a wonderful view over the bay and Kata beach - this is a great sandy beach that is not spoilt by rows of umbrellas like others in Phuket. The room was spacious and done in a nice Thai style. The main problem was that despite the large size of the room and bathroom, the shower was a very small cubicle that made showering less than ideal. The bath was huge but unused as in the tropical heat showers are much more practical.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a fantastic trip. The hotel was lovely, clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was brilliant for the pristine l beach and for town. Finally, the food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The noise of the generator probably of the air con on the roof of room 104 is much too loud, should be repaired

    Villa Royale is still an Oasis in busy Phuket

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was deceiving. The photos made it appear that the beach was right in front of it when actually the property was on the rocks. Also the air conditioning in our room was not as cold as I would like it to have them. No air-conditioning in the lobby or any other part of the property.

    Room was nice.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tired place. Originally booked royal wing, changed to beach villa on checking in as royal wing was old and rooms dated. Lady lovely to help me move rooms but if it was peak season, expect there would be no chance to move. Expect you may get better value for money elsewhere if you don't want to overlook the beach

    Great location, 10 min walk to kata beach (is uphill to walk back so you have to be ok with that). Beach villa well done. There in bad weather but expect pools would be lovely in good weather

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing significant

    Staff efficiency - prompt action as and when required.Mom's Tri kitchen - excellent food and service. Little little treats which the villa provide you during your stay such as chocolates etc. It's not so much about the treats but the thoughts that touch my heart.Overall it's a good place for retreat.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were so lovely and helpful. The gardens are well kept and it has good access to the beach. As a tourist destination, it's located in a quiet place out of the main area.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff lacked the pleasant friendly approach to guests that can be found at places like Shores and Regent Cape Panwa.

    The views over Kata Noi beach from the rooms and Dining and pool areas are outstanding. The room was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smoking is allowed in all areas around the resort

    The location , view , pools , comfort , access to the beach :-)

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff. Quiet and private location. Good food.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mosquitos during the night.

    Great location and great facilities. Wonderful nature.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Salt water pool needs cleaning more often

    Location, restuarant, gardens

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location on the best beach in Phuket

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach and the view

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff couldn't do enough for you. Nothing to much trouble. Food excellent. Beautiful views and very private.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress on bed way too hard and external grounds and pool need some maintenance

    Loved the position

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service not at same level as similar hotels on island

    Location

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Mom Tri's Villa Royale traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: