Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Novotel Wien City This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Aspernbrückengasse 1, 02. Leopoldstadt, 1020 Vienna, Austria

#226 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1991 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.9
    Novotel hotel & Nestroyplatz - easy to access all the touristic objectives in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant seems to be smaller for the number of guests and the personnel insufficient (during the breakfast time).

    The hotel is very close to the Nestroyplatz underground station (~2 min), 2 stations from Stephanplatz (~5 min by metro). The hotel rooms are very quite after closing the windows (nothing from outsitde is heard) and the rooms have air conditioner (useful in summer time). The breakfast are generous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was quite nice especially the fresh orange...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room faced an apartment gap instead of a street and that was opressive for a family of four. I think family rooms should face the street.

    The breakfast was quite nice especially the fresh orange juice. The breakfast staff was very helpful. The hotel was very clean. The beds and especially the pillows were very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel close to Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room for 2 adults and 2 children is a bit small. The carpet in the room looks very unclean - not sure if this is due to age or actually lack of deep carpet cleaning. On the other hand the bathroom was always cleaned properly and towels fresh.

    Very good breakfast. And Maria at the front desk is extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    3.8
    Not what we expected from a Novetel Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a dirty room. The pillows had stains on them from either drool or some type of fluid, the carpet was dirty. At first when we went in, they acted like there were no rooms available and that we had to go somewhere else. They finally gave us a room but it was not the best.

    Location is great, close to all main attractions that you would like to see.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. Free internet is terribly SLOW, and when you ask for a faster one they ask you to pay more. This is cheating, if they want more money they should mention it in advance. 2. Parking is charged

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    3.3
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We arrived late and there was no restaurant at the hotel and given how tired we were there was no food options even nearby so went to bed tired and hungry.Not a child friendly hotel and would discourage people staying with children to stay in this very mediocre hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad room. Unfriendly staff. Dirty carpets. Warm and air conditioning is poor. Not value for money.

    Location is convenient. But that is true for most of the hotels in Vienna, the city being small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    6.3
    Location is excellent ,room is clean cosy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I checked in on 20/5/18,one of the lady staff at the reception on 21/5/18 at around 8 am in the morning behaved very roughly which was not at all acceptable .i simply asked from where I can get the mineral water

    Location is excellent ,room is clean cosy and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.3
    The room was very nice and had an excellent bathroom with a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free WiFi was so slow it was useless. I had to rely on 4G to get any work done. The breakfast was disappointing. Most of the breads were dry and tough ...

    The room was very nice and had an excellent bathroom with a walk-in shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    7.5
    Good for short weekend breaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are very small and too soft that the sleeping was not relaxing. Another thing that was quite annoing was wc separated from the rest of the bathroom (you cannot even wash your hands).

    The breakfast is excellent and the room is clean and tidy. The location also pretty good. There is a possibiluty for parking very near the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    This hotel was amazing and we would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was set up so nice. We have an 11 month old and they had a pack n play set up for him before we arrived. They had great shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and soap. The breakfast was also amazing; they had a great selection of food and coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    5.0
    Very Mediocre kind of hotel with very little services, not like other Novotel Hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No porter Facility [ how do they serve their old guests], Hardly any attendant at the Breakfast Table for Hot Milk, Very Poor Breakfast.

    The Room was prepared when we reach, before the check in time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    6.3
    Choose for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Self Service concept for a four star is not acceptable where you are expected to carry/ move luggages, not many staff in room service so you are expected to collect everything down at reception. Not 4 star service

    Location Comfortable Beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    City centre location ideal for sightseeing break. Staff very helpful. Room was a good size on first floor which we had requested. Bed comfortable, shower excellent. Would have been nice to have at least one English speaking tv channel in addition to Sky news. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    3.8
    Walking distance from underground transportation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I personally didn’t like the smell of whatever room freshener they use. The room was very noisy even when windows are closed. It sits on a side but busy road where car accidents happen and frequent police cars pass by with siren on. I stayed at what they consider a “superior room” where there were spots on the carpet and the sofa has seen better days. And oh, don’t forget to bring your own body lotion , Q-tips, a shower cap as they provide non. I personally didn’t like the smell of whatever room freshener they use. The room was very noisy even when windows are closed. It sits on a side but busy road where car accidents happen and frequent police cars pass by with siren on. I stayed at what they consider a “superior room” where there were spots on the carpet and the sofa has seen better days. And oh, don’t forget to bring your own body lotion , Q-tips, a shower cap as they provide non.

    Walking distance from underground transportation. Walking distance to city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very hospitable and willing to help at all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    House keeping, specially the coffee, milk in the room. The room carpet was dirty.

    The staff was very hospitable and willing to help at all times. We enjoyed the stay very much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room not really suitable, small sofa couch with one blanket doesn't work for two children. Efficiency at reception desk could be better. But maybe there were only some computer problems.

    Good location. Fine breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, polite and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is a bit too small for the hotel capacity, but capable waiters compensate by arranging seating to avoid queues.

    Great location, polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    5.4
    Location of hotel is fair, everithing is pretty close
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid for a superior room, get a tiny room 1st floor w/ tiny window. Staff polite but scornful and bored.

    Location of hotel is fair, everithing is pretty close

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    7.1
    The location was excellent, friendly staff and the “play...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpeting in the room was very dirty which made the staying unpleasant.

    The location was excellent, friendly staff and the “play ground” for the kids was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    Breakfast was delicious-staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was delicious-staff was very helpful. Everyone was friendly. This was a great location for me with my 3 children (9,6,3). My kids also loved the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    7.1
    Family stay Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could of been cleaned better. The cushions from the sofa bed were disgusting full of stains. Plus the carpet had some filthy stains..

    Staff, location were the two main aspects. Breakfast wasn't included so I cannot comment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    5.0
    Not far from the city centre .
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast- We had to wait just to have seats for 20 minutes.It's not enough space for breakfast .The room was very small.The bathroom wasn't comfortable.

    Not far from the city centre .The sraff was pretty good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    5.4
    Reception stuff very nice, toys for children very nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was not as close to Wien central as it was promoted on website. Room was not clean. Parking is not in hotel but 300m away in another building. This was not mentioned while making reservation!

    Reception stuff very nice, toys for children very nice, breakfast tasty.Hotel was not as close to Wien central as it was promoted on website. Room was not clean. Parking is not in hotel but 300m away in another building. This was not mentioned while making reservation!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    8.3
    Good choice for a family hotel in Vienna center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Parking is a bit remote - Breakfast buffet could offer more options

    - Access to main attractions and public transport - Clean and "user friendly" rooms - Friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad cleaning the room! The cleaning lady came in the room sometimes without warning, opening the room key at 9-10 am. The Breakfast staff extremely slow cleaned the dirty dishes, artificially creating all of the guests who had to wait for a clean table for Breakfast. No one followed the purity between a buffet, a drop of sauce, no plates, spoons. 1 January Breakfast was less than usual!

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    6.7
    I liked the position and the staff hard working
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facility for breakfast is not big enough so we had to wait every morning between 10 to 20 minutes before having it. Despite the busy period of time and the hard working of all the staff it is not acceptable to pay 230 euro x day and have these kind of problem.

    I liked the position and the staff hard working

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    8.8
    Good and easy hotel for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff in the bar/restaurant some times took a while to notice you were there, but we found this was fairly common in Vienna, and service afterwards was good

    A good hotel and location with pleasant staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2017

    8.3
    We will most probably return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no place to hang your coat / jacket in the room and the wardrobe is really small. These are small details - the hotel overall is a good choice.

    The location is really good - a few steps away of the subway station. Breakfast is excellent and the staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    10
    Booked a double room for me and my 10years old daughter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi was not so free as advertised. Just a few MB per room, could though use the hotel's public MAC's. Would prefer unlimited WiFi connection in the room

    Booked a double room for me and my 10years old daughter. Clean, comfortable and cosy. Breakfast was good. Dined in the hotel once, they offered kids meal which was good enough for me as well. Close to city center, safe to walk home at night. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    7.1
    Location was great, the restaurant was good, but our room was poor for the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room. Excessively dirty. Not clean carpets, full with spots of spits. Too small for the price. We booked an executive room, and in fact the "executive" room was too small for such an offer.

    The breakfast and the staff in the bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    7.5
    I made a great choice. The room was comfortable, the price was affordable. The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    House-keeping kept leaving my window open to the not-so-nice 6 degree air outside. Restaurant menu options were a little boring.

    The restaurant staff were mostly friendly and professional. The food was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    8.3
    Nice location and excellent service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I did not like the bicycle road right in front of the hotel. Always exercise caution in getting off the car or taxi. The air conditioning inside the room quite not good especially early in the morning or late at night where it shutdown.

    The Hotel staff, especially the front desk and restaurant staff, are helpful, accommodating and approachable. In addition, the Hotel is accessible from the airport and it is approximately 15 minutes away by car. I also love the choices of foods during breakfast. It has excellent restaurant's ambiance. Food is also delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All Novotel hotels seem to have issues with the air conditioning. It was set a bit warmer and the controller did not make it any cooler. Ultimately we had to open the window to let the cooler air in.

    The staff were friendly. We took the Big Bus Tour for sightseeing and it was only a few minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    3.8
    Will not stay in this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we have paid tariff for extra bed, they should have given us a larger room

    Only the location, we paid extra tariff for additional bed. The room they gave us was too small and they just pushed in one extra rolling bed and there was hardly any space to keep our bags and to move around. The breakfast was very poor quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    7.1
    Gray
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast selection could be better.

    Free parking on weekends, no need to book parking in the hotel. Great location, good sound isolation from the street noice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    5.8
    Sanitation is of prime importance which you clearly are not offering.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rather unclean and non spacious. Towels and bed sheets were changed after three days till I had to tell the housekeeping.. also the carpet was always dirty. Minus marks for cleanliness, totally. Would not come back again.

    WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast is very varied and delicious, the check-in was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    At check out we had to give back the parking card and we received a coin to use at exit, but to get down to the parking lot the door opens only with the card, so we had to ask somebody to let us in. The coin worked well once we were driving out.

    Breakfast is very varied and delicious, the check-in was very smooth, the beds are comfortable. Kids received small gifts that they liked very much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel. The personnel was very helpful and very nice. The room was great and so was the location. Very easy to get around and the subway is right next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    6.3
    Overall comfortable hotel with easy access to shops restaurants, and to visit places of interests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was of ordinary standard, and the area for serving breakfast was too small for a hotel of that size and not in proportion with the no of people accommodated. The hand shower in the bathroom was not in working order.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    5.4
    1- The DIRT of the carpet : we are afraid of walking...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1- The DIRT of the carpet : we are afraid of walking barefoot! 2 - the curtain of the room was unhocked on one side 3 - the water flows very slowly from the sink , as if it was obstructed 4 - It is unconceivable for an establishment with 4 stars that, on the only sofa which is in the entrance hall (not very friendly!) of the hotel the plastic is TORN! 5 - The "organic" nescafé of the room is very bad 6 - the door of toilet is much too heavy to be opened 7 - The fact that the room gives onto the street implies that it is necessary to close the window to sleep 8 - we wanted to have dinner on Wednesday evening at about 6 pm and were in a hurry but the waitress did not take account of our request and was in no hurry to bring us a menu while there was nobody in the restaurant, she took her time and, thus, we left! 9 -Anyway the card / the menu is not highly varied there is not salad at all 10 - for breakfast you have to satnd in line quite long to have a table

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    6.7
    Warm room with not working air conditioner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm room with not working air conditioner. Very lazy personal in bar. We got one drink after long waiting and then no more service(29.9.2017 in the evening). No reaction and no apologize for our complains.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    4.6
    After leaving the hotel, I was charged with a credit card...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After leaving the hotel, I was charged with a credit card for unspecified food and drinks from the minibar. They did not even respond to my objection. We do not go to this hotel anymore.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    5.0
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No body help you with luggage.. dropping off luggage in the road no parking for hotel.. WC separated from the main bath room .. outdated furniture.. Un polit housekeeper they open the door any time without notice.. the tissue box was empty in the bathroom I called and asked for one they seemed to be fool and they didn't know what I meant by tissue!!!!!! The A C has a bad noise

    Location only

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel in a good location. Staff is polite and helpful, very child friendly, my kids absolutely loved small presents they received upon reception and children bathroom amenities. The WiFi was fast. Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely like to come back one day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    4.6
    Really disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was clean but way too small. The "second bed" was a pull out couch. It was very uncomfortable. The breakfast was not good at all. All we ate was croissant with Nutella spread.

    The shower was the only thing in the room that was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed Vienna - hotel well worth a return visit when visiting the city.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Restaurant limited in choice but otherwise OK - especially on the first night after travelling all day.

    Hotel very convenient for getting to the centre of Vienna and the VIC - nearby metro too. Staff always pleasant and helpful. Food OK but not exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay. Good location. Good Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could hv provided porters to carry luggage in rooms and vice versa being senior citizens.

    Friendly staff .Arranged travel plans with smile. Special thanks to Mr Raashid

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    7.1
    Location next to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think i booked for breakfast and when i arrived i was surprised that it did not jnclude breakfast. The booking details SHOULD clarify that it is either with breakfast or without breakfast. This should be clear in booking.com

    Location next to station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.0
    Nice location, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great and sumptuous breakfast, very friendly staff, parking is well organized in a nearby garage for a reasonable for Wien price. The room itself was a bit on the smallish side, at least compared to other Novotel rooms that I have stayed at.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    10
    Very Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ODD that guests had to use room key for Elevator...ODD but not a detraction from our satisfaction

    Vienna is HUGE - this hotel was walking distance to St Stephan's Cathedral...AND great access to U Bahn !!! Happy Happy - Nice Mini Bar too !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money to visit in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet were in a different door and the door was too heavy for children to open by themselves. The toilet seat was too high for children

    Great location, big rooms, good breakfast, nice staff, clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and helpful employees, great modern design, but really cousy.Close to centrum, but quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really clean, beautiful scent in the bathroom, only cleaner carpet could help to achieve 10 points from 10.

    Modern and "homefeeling" design. Loved "coffee" theme in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    5.8
    I'm dissapointed of stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was much! smaller than described. Only a space for double bed and sofa, so in my opinion not suitable for 2 adults and 2 childrens. The parking is not in the same building, the entrance and exit for cars, very narrow. External mirors in my Kia Sorento were too wide at exit gate. Ar arrival day the lady at reception was not German speaking. In Vienna it's strange.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    4.6
    No Security, watch your belongings by yourself. Worse experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First of all before I start my review, we had the worse experience ever in our trip when my wife's hand bag stolen in the hotel restaurant while having breakfast in a blink of a eye and obviously we involved the management to help & check the CCTV however to our surprise the cameras were down and they couldn't really help, all we got was breakfast waiver although it was part of our package as good gesture by the manager!! When we asked why the CCTVs not maintained she calmly replied it could have not help even if they were functional!! Main reason we all chose 4 or 5 star hotels are safety, if this can't be maintained and you come across irresponsible answer by the manager this is total disappointment. We basically had to forget what happened and move on however I seriously do not recommend anyone to chose this hotel. Besides, its not at all as it shows in the booking.com, we booked an executive room for 2 Adults and 2 kids and it was much smaller than what expected, we could not even fit our luggage in!!

    Nothing special about the hotel, can't really say much as we had the worst experience ever

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    10
    LOVED your property and the staff! We will stay at your place again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like but since you asked, please provide better choices for breakfast although breakfast was fine!

    We loved the room that we had. It was super comfortable and it met our needs in every way! We loved this hotel. Thank you Novatel!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    10
    Great place to stage a family trip to Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant kitchen closed early and we were left with no choice but go out for dinner with two young children since we wanted more than snacks.

    Very family friendly facilities and staff. Good breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    3.8
    Poor staff, not good for money - simply a budget B&B but with a higher price tag!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff at reception were unpleasant, unhelpful, poorly behaved and simply rude. There was one man in particular who was unprofessional and rude because the room card was not working to get access to the lift. In front of lots of other guests in he reception area he gave an attitude and with an intimidating tone said "the lift would work only if you know how to use the key". He knew very well that I went to reception repeatedly after attempting at least 4-5 times and had asked someone to check the card and needed help as I had a flight to catch. Rooms were tiny and toilet was separate from the bathroom with no washbasin. No proper wardrobe in the room - glad that I was only stayed 1 night. The buffet breakfast was awful and did not cater for those who were strict vegetarians or for religious reasons could not have pork. For example, the vegetarian foods were kept next to pork and so other guests were using the same servings spoon for pork and vegetarian dishes. The pork i.e. pork sausages were getting mixed with the veg dishes. Although it is not strictly the staffs fault but if the food were kept in separate areas then it would have prevented guests from mixing the spoons of spilling/dropping pork sausages on vegetarian food. In the end I ended up walking 0.5 miles early morning to have breakfast at Hilton. The hotel has no concierge or anyone to help with the luggage when checking in or out. This really is a "budget" hotel which I am not used to because apart from staying at Novotel Wien City in Vienna, I have always stayed at a 5 star hotel. So it was a real shock to what I am normally used to. I only stayed at the hotel because I wanted to be close to my friends who were also staying at the same hotel. If anyone is considering this hotel, be prepared to sleep in a tiny room with very little space around the bed and the awful staff at reception. It is not good value for money!

    The the wifi connection was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable but small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weird extra half door to the bathroom. Not very private when sharing.

    The location was close walking distance to the city, Prayer and public transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    3.3
    A place to avoid if you travel with children
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was filthy and not prepared for us. I have no idea why it was called executive as I could see no extra benefits. Restaurant staff very slow. If you pay for breakfast through booking this will not include coffee. We had to wait for it for ages and remind the waiter. The waiter when talking the dirty plates away removed the used fork and nife and put it back on the table!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We booked two rooms for two nights.The rooms were spacious and clean.the mattress and pillows were soft and comfortable.We had requested for early check in prior to coming to Vienna,which we got.The air con was fine.The bathroom was clean with a good sized shower. The hotel was 4 mins walk to the nearest train station.Lots of good restaurants near the hotel.Also there was a hotel nearby where you could do your own laundry,which we availed. The breakfast was included in the room charge and they had a very good variety of food. All in all avery good place to stay.Will recommend it to anyone who wants to visit Vienna

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    10
    Perfect location in a perfect city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were very uncomfortable and reception couldn't provide a different type. I don't remember this being a problem on previous visits.

    As above

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay and would recommend it for sure. Good value for money as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    The location was really good and easy to get to every part of the city that is all the sites, and the other parts of the city and also the metro station as well. Not too far from the airport too. Service was good and the stay was very good and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    6.7
    Standard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size could have been better, especially when traveling with kids.

    Pretty standard hotel, small rooms. Traveling with kids and felt very stuffed in the room extremely small size. Location is close to metro but quite a distance from all the landmarks. Breakfast and service were good and front desk for helpful with providing tourist information

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    6.7
    Reconfirmed the number of persons in the booking done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Behaviour of the front office other staffs. I did the booking for 2 Adult and a child, however the front-end staff said that the booking they have only for 2 adult. So they charged me extra for the child.

    Breakfast was good. One of the front office was very good and of helping nature.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    5.0
    Hotel located in a good position even though for the same...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    money were not worth the room we got

    Hotel located in a good position even though for the same money we could have booked in an hotel even closer to the city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    10
    Hotel position is very good, 10min walk to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel position is very good, 10min walk to city center. Very clean and tidy, good wifi. Very good breakfast with lot of different food. Stuff were friendly and polite

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    7.1
    Good, but they took my money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel charged me EUR 4.50 for something I didn't use! they charged me money for a bottle of a water which wasn't in the room! I hated the way they did it with me!! and I'll write me the complaint so they give me back my the EUR 4.50 cause I'm not going to make the hotel fool me!

    The hotel location is fine, just 5 minutes walk from the city center and main attractions. The staff are good and helpful (in the European standards).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    7.5
    The property was conveniently located just a short walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff offering cappuccino's at breakfast but not making it clear that it is an extra charge.

    The property was conveniently located just a short walk to the underground railway, main train station and the centre of the old town. Renovated room with modern bathroom and separate toilet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    6.3
    Ok (but too expensive)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are several small things to complain about. Taken together, this is not a 4 Star place.

    The Place was clean and the City Center was reachable within 10 min walking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2017

    5.8
    Very business like hotel. Just adequate features and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast menu is very compact, not many vegetarian options, bottled water in the room is charged (it's usually complimentary in most hotels),

    Clean place, very accessible, good neighbourhood, lots of restaurents, supermarkets nearby, metros, trams and buses just a few steps away from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2017

    9.2
    The hotel has an excellent location in between the city...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was rather slow, which hampered fluent online working. The front-desk personal sometimes lacked a smile but was generally polite.

    The hotel has an excellent location in between the city center and the Austria Center Vienna. It provides value for money and a very nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could have given us a map at check-in, we had to ask for basic Vienna information that we felt should have been shared on arrival.

    The staff was friendly and helpful for the most part. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    8.8
    The hotel, staff and room were all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is outside the city center and you dont really get the vienna vibe from here. Although it is near metro stations which you can take to get into the city or walk 20 minutes.

    The hotel, staff and room were all great. Good amenities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    6.3
    Location is good, close to a u-bahn station;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nonfunctional bathroom, small and crowded, cannot open the windows in the room

    Location is good, close to a u-bahn station; the hotel si very clean, the breakfast and restaurant area nice

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Wien City Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: