Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chic & Basic Born Boutique Hotel 3 stars

Princesa, 50, Ciutat Vella, 08003 Barcelona, Spain

#132 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 941 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really, nothing.

    Quite cute — plastic beads divided the shower area from the bedroom (along with mini lights with a control changing the lights, should you wish)— sounds tacky but really wasn’t! Separate room for toilet. Had a small balcony with two story doors that opened, overlooking the street. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was cold in the shower and we woke up to bites on us, not sure if they were mosquitoes or bed bugs.

    Location and staff were great. Amazing food and bars in the area and all a very short walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a step down from the bed area to the wet area which is unusual and not expected in a hotel room. This presents a safety hazard especially at night. The step needs a strip light for the evening

    The location was close to Franca rail station and Juame metro station and close the la rambla and all sights in between The beds were confortable and the water was hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dated (very scuffed paintwork, marks on the walls, curtains were turning black due to dust build up etc) and the room hadn’t been cleaned properly (lots of dust in the corners, hair in the shower, bedskirt was marked).

    Location is great, staff are friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not something that could be changed now but possibly a slight movement of the shower cubicle from the middle of the room to the side would have freed up room space as would a rethink of the bead curtains dividing the room. To be fair though, everything was as we expected from the descriptions.

    Fantastic location next to the gothic quarter and the old market hall. The hotel was clean and stylish with the bar and reception area situated on the ground floor and the room we stayed in on the floor above. Some of the design features were a little quirky but the idea of a lounge with tea, coffee and water in constant supply is one that a few UK hotels could emulate. Staff were exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable about the area and transport links. Our balcony had a super view over the quiet street and towards the zoo area and associated park. Lots of things to see within a very short walk. We will probably return when we revisit Barcelona to explore all the interesting bits we passed when heading to other museums.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful plastic curtains everywhere. Lack of storage and hanging space in rooms. Stupid colour lighting. Badly planned rooms with dreadful bathroom facilities. Rooms living in past and in need of make over.

    Lovely building. Nice leisure spaces. Wonderful friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The small room is very small and expensive for what it is. Also, the walls and floors are very very thin and you can hear whenever someone walks past even if they are not talking.

    Room was very nice funky, great use of space! Bed was super comfy!!!! Loved the be yourself and help yourself room with very comfy couch and free biscuits, coffee and tea ! Great location and lovely staff. Very clean too! I also really liked how the hotel wasnt huge it only has 2 floors, felt private.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress could do with an upgrade.

    Location was amazing for El Born and Gotico. Super cool hotel. Much quieter than I expected and I'm a light sleeper. I could sleep as long as I wanted and still the cleaning staff came in after. Awesome little lounge area that is super convenient for real herb teas, Nespresso, and hot water whenever you want it. Felt very private but reception staff were so lovely and helpful with everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Interior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service. We had a leak in our room that we didn’t even know about. They found it during housekeeping and asked to move us to another room. It was a better room, and they gave us a bottle of Cava for the inconvenience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty terrible - strange, dirty looking, dangly unnecessary curtains everywhere. Tattered and tired decor. Awful bathroom facilities - glass shower in the middle of the room with no ability for privacy and an uneven floor. Small cramped toilet. Double bed actually two single mattresses pushed together.

    Great location, lovely staff (especially at reception)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hall ways were a little dark, made me a little uncomfortable but a very minor thing.

    The property was so quirky and fun. It's not like another hotel which is great because you go away to have a bit of difference. The whole location was great and it was surrounded by so many restaurants and the staff were so lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the temperature in the room on the first night was incredibly cold, I was frozen to death as it took a long time to heat the room, - the WiFi connection is terrible, - the breakfast is not outstanding,

    - the overall design of the hotel is fantastic, - the staff at the reception is lovely and helpful, - the bedding is really comfortable, - the room is spacious and enjoyable, - the free coffee / tea / water bottles at first floor is a huge advantage,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel is situated just a few steps from the gothic quarter, yet the neighbourhood isn’t noisy (may be different in the spring/summer). fabulous tapas bar next door and great pastry bakery called demasié on the same street. clean room, comfy bed, good shower, lovely common room with free coffee/tea/water. wifi worked well. (bathroom wasn’t designed to be very intimate but that’s all shown on the pictures so no surprise and no problem for us). staff very friendly and helpful. we had a great stay, will come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I booked, had mould on the shower head, after speaking with front office, I was given the option of taking shower in another or move for one night while the shower head would be clean, since they were fully booked, the I have chosen to take shower on another room, when I returned to the hotel I had a note from the General Manager offering me the opportunity to move to another room and a 1/2 bottle of white wine, I moved room and it was a very nice upgrade for bigger room with balcony, the only problem was the door on this room did not close/ lock, I reported at the front desk and for two evenings I was told it was fixed and it was not until my departure, I got given on my last evening a card that gives me 15% discount on my next visit.

    The bed was very comfortable, breakfast good value for money, the staff was very nice, complementary coffee, tea and water on the common area sort of lounge/business center with a mini bar it worked very well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room took some time to get used to, but it was fine.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, interesting layout of the room. Also, I asked for a quiet room and I had no problem with street noise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Interior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty, we had a cockroach in the room and we had to fight with the staff to change our room. The manager wasn't even here for the 5 days of our stay.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We’ve stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions before. It never fails to delight us. We were upgraded to a huge room which was a lovely surprise. The bed was HUGE and incredibly comfortable. We had a massive balcony which snaked around the corner of the hotel and the facilities in the area (complimentary tea, coffee, water and snacks) are excellent. I know we’ll be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Egg smell from sink, no ventilation in toilet, broken balcony door

    Friendly bar staff, clean and modern rooms, comfy bed, good water pressure, brilliant position

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing. Would stay here over and over again

    Unbelievably decadent, quirky, funky hotel, super staff, great location. You gotta stay here!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Interior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is not worth the money. You get much less from wat you expect. Many details of the room add up to making you feel like something's not right here. For example, the mirror is glued to the glass of the shower. In the corner of the room we left empty bottels of wine and water but the room service did not bother to throw them out 3 DAYS IN A ROW!! They also didn't bother to change the dirty bed sheet, they just made the bed with the same one. The shower gel provided was also not changed for the whole duration of our stay. And in general many details will show that the rooms were made just to look good on the photos but you definetely don't get what you pay for.

    The reception is incredible. Very helpful, always positive, really making you feel welcome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Interior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room stank of damp, everytime we enter the room we had to open window for a while. We stay for 3 days, and on the first day I drop a coffee on the sheet and this wasn’t changed - so everyday I was sleeping on the sheet with a massive stain. They could make a bit more effort for breakfast

    Very good location, nice decor, nice friendly people working there. I love proper coffee machine in the lounge area! And they also made an effort to have dairy free milk 👌🏼 Next to the hotel on the left as you walk out they have amazing tapas place 👌🏼

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cool place with excelent location in the vivid neighborhood of El born. Stuff was very nice and helpfull. Free coffe, tea and water bottles. Clean and designed rooms. Had a great time!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a fantastically quirky and stylish hotel. Chic but definitely not Basic. Entering the rooms up a large marble stairwell, long ropes circle the doors reflecting the designated light for your room. Inside a white canvas lets you continue the colour party on the inside too if you want, or just enjoy the calm whiteness. I think we had a smaller room at the back but that was fine. Just down the hall is a help yourself tea/coffee, water and snack station which is great. Introduced to the 'fill your own teabag' concept which I love and I'm now a convert! Born is a great area to base yourself in Barcelona, cool side streets, with good restaurants and shops and an easy walk to the sights but without being too touristy. Would definitely stay here again, highly recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too little room for breakfast to serve everyone, people had to wait. Too little manpower to take care of breakfast resulting in rather poor service despite best efforts of the one staff; room has an inconvenient design with the shower in the middle visible from outside through windows and balcony door and blocking proper ventilation of the room; appliances were broken and not fixed....

    Staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a fantastic hotel. In a central, but not crazy area of Barcelona. El Born is a trendy and fun neighbourhood. Many terrific cafes, restaurants and bars just around the corner. Easy to walk to La Rambla (15-20 minutes slow walk). 25 minute walk to the beach. Both are also accesible by bus if you don't feel like walking. And right next to the beautiful parc de ciutadella. If you have a room with a balcony, there is a little noise from the street, but I think it's worth it for the lovely city view you get. If you have one of the rooms facing an internal courtyard, it's nice and quiet, but obviously no view. The room itself is terrific. Modern and clean, but also very comfortable. The rooms are also quirky. Thought has been put into their design. The bathrooms have been nicely renovated. But there are also still touches of the old building, beautiful old tiles and the high ceilings for example. Very comfortable bed. Very helpful staff. Cafe and bar in the reception area. The hotel rooms have a separate entrance from the lobby so you have a nice feeling of independence. Would highly recommend staying here, and I would stay here again when I next visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plastic tassel curtains in the hallway were a bit much.

    Conveniently located to many interesting sites and attractions. Safe. Free water and coffee was a great bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A triumph of form over function - not enough places to put clothes. Ended up having to pile them all up - looked messy and wasn't very convenient.

    Cool design - liked the glass shower. Staff friendly. Lounge area great. Coffee was ok - maybe use better beans.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this little romantic place. They had a gym a lounge area and a cafe/bar all in one building! It was close to most Majer sites and if they weren’t close public transportation was readily available!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor complaint, but the view from the balcony was underwhelming.

    Nice hotel with modern decorations, comfortable beds, decently sized rooms, and a nice little complimentary coffee / sitting area. Love the neighborhood, and would visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unique atmosphere made this a magical place to return to after a busy day sightseeing. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and hotel was in a wonderful spot, close to great small shops and amazing eating places.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit small and while it was fine gor a 2 night trip, it will be uncomfortable for a longer stay.

    Great hotel. Fantastic location. Friendly staff. Loved it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great to have a room safe

    Great location. Quirky & fun decor throughout. Spotlessly clean & comfortable room. Lovely balcony to sit and watch the local life whilst enjoying a complimentary coffee! Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a tad too small

    The staff are friendly The place is nice They have an area where you could just rest and have free access to high quality tea and good coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the soundproofing on the room could be a little better since its in such a main tourist area, but with that said, it was still decent.

    I was only at the property for 1 night but the staff was very helpful and friendly. The bed was a little soft for my taste, but clean and very spacious. The room itself was really good and I loved how they used the space. Terrific design aesthetic. Location is perfect for barcelona and close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for enjoying Barcelona, very friendly stuff. Small but extremely comfortable rooms (I was staying in double small one). There is also "help yourself" area, where you can find coffee, tee, water, cookies, magazines etc. Highly recommend, especially for 2-3-4 nights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so helpful and kind! They gave us a bunch of suggestions and not to touristy places. Great room, comfy bed and in a fun part of town. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly over a bar ( not the hotels) which was a bit noisy when people were leaving. However on a city break what do you expect.

    Staff were fantastic, asked us if it was our first visit which it was , they then provided a map with all the metro stations, pointed out the nearest ones, asked us if we had any planned visits again which we had, they then helped with the best metro stations to use to get from the hotel to them and also which routes to take to travel between the various locations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really fun, interesting place to stay. Would definitely come back. Great location andeveryone was very nice. The rooms are very fun, could use more mirrors ;)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the Small Double Room and the only con is, it feels pretty small due to the layout. The room itself is fairly big but the shower is right at the foot of the bed, and you have to squeeze around it every time you want to go to the bathroom and sink area. It was fine for us as two slim and young people but I imagine it would be a little uncomfortable for someone older or less used to small-space living.

    This hotel has a fun and cool vibe in a great neighborhood that is walking distance to bars, restaurants, the Born and the beach. Nice amenities like help yourself bottled waters and esperesso machine and the AC was also nice for those hot summer days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's an old building and interior design is like a maze.. the guidance should be better for the guests

    location is wonderful.. the hotel is in the center of Born and just 5 minutes to metro station by walk.. our room was clean and its balcony was fantastic.. you feel like in a 30 sqm place because of the mirrors which has used for the decoration of room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Interior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was pretty stiff and we wished that the AC did not rely on our key access card so that we could've returned to a comfortable room after a long day of exploring the city.

    The location of this hotel is pretty walkable to many attractions. Less than 5 minutes to the Picasso museum and Park. 10-15 minutes to La Rambla and Marina. We also appreciated the dining recommendations from the front desk staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi Internet quality was poor Rooms were extremely tight and poorly laid out So called 'work' areas were more like lounges with only one desk available. Curtains in hallways and bedrooms were very annoying and impractical

    Friendly staff - Great location - clean but not comfy/cozy and layout that was not very well thought out in room 20.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stylish hotel; loved the unusual corridors, high ceilings, balcony, shower, etc. The hotel had a common area with coffee/tea and biscuits and a nice little bar downstairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets need more privacy. We visited as a couple but it was weird sometimes.

    Location is awesome, you can nearly walk to every attraction. Markets, banks, bars and restaurants are plenty around the hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are basic, open shower is nice. Helpyourself area is a good touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shape of the room was a little unusual and a bit awkward. The bathroom was down two steps and was very narrow with not much room and also there was no bedside storage for keeping underwear etc. Otherwise no complaints at all and I would definitely stay here again.

    The overall design of the hotel was really unusual and the bar area was friendly and reasonably priced. The beds in the room were super comfortable and the breakfast was good, served by great staff. The best thing about the hotel was the location, perfectly placed in the centre of El Born district, close to all the bars, restaurants and shops. We liked the common area which was great for cool bottles of free water to take to your room or out for the day and lots of magazines and free tea and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought the breakfast was a little pricey for what was on offer.

    Hotel was great and I had a nice big, light, airy room. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It's in an ideal location and I would definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    interesting design, either you like or you hate it. I enjoyed it for a short stay. The room was small, but space was enough for 2 nights. the location is great! I love El Born as area and it's walking distance to Gotic hood, shopping area etc. Nice restaurants and bars around. The bar at the hotel it's pretty funky, and they serve lovely cocktails

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Worth noting that the shower is in the bedroom and semi-obscured with a thin curtain and beads, so best suited for couples or close friends.

    Literally the BEST location in Barcelona - el born is the coolest neighbourhood and everything within the city is a walkable distance away. Really cool vibes and super friendly staff who will happily give you advice on where to eat and go out in the evenings. Would absolutely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Interior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an interior room. Next time I would book a room facing the exterior (with a window and/or terrace).

    the property was in a very convenient location, the room and hotel was modern and interesting, the staff were all very friendly, good breakfast available.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is not the best, but acceptable.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great location, clean room with an interesting interior design. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Searching for something to put in the 'unlike' field, the only thing that could have been slightly improved upon, although I am aware these are available, is the room was a little on the small side, the bathroom area is certainly designed for one person to be using it at a time rather than 2.

    The property and rooms are really quirky and excellent overall. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the location was simply unbeatable within the Gothic quarter.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smelt a bit damp because the shower is in the room- problem solved by opening balcony doors but wouldn't want to smell a room with no windows!

    The balcony and location were brilliant. We loved sitting outside on the balcony with a glass of wine each!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-conditioning didn't work (unclear if it was broken or just doesn't turn on). Shower lay out is odd... A bit exhibitionist. Bed wasn't the most comfortable. Otherwise it was cool.

    Very unique with a hip vibe. Awesome location right next to the Arc d Triomph park and near a bunch of great restaurants. Staff were great and lobby bar is open late and is a great place to hang out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street is someone's noisy at night. It took us a while to work out the air conditioning.

    Funky design but also very comfortable. Lovely bed and shower. Ideal location right in the heart of trendy Born district. Balcony is just a view on to the street but nice to have a bit of outside space.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a treadmill in the gym

    The free tea and coffee facitilies Helpful staff- giving us lots of advice Central location Clean rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner cooling was not effective, requiring balcony doors to be left open during the night and subsequent worry about theft.

    Cool vibe. Location. Knowledgeable staff. Comfort. Sitting room with access to tea, coffee, vino, snacks. Comfortable bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Interior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bare minimum provided in terms of toiletries etc. One of the walls had some red drops that had not been cleaned - I don't even want to think about what they may have been :/

    Very comfy bed, nice facilities. Great location, very quiet yet super central. No frills but perfectly fine for a short stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Interior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, near amazing restaurants. Staff very welcoming and helpful, booking bus sightseeing tour for us and telling us the best things to do as well as the best places to eat.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Street could be noisy at times but nothing that is isn't expected from City centre hotel. we found that closing the outside shutters, as well as the sliding balcony door shut out pretty much all the noise

    The staff were lovely and helpful right from the start. First by letting us drop our bags off early so we could roam before time for check in and Giving us tips and info on good places to eat, shops etc. The hotel was in the lovely El Born district right near the Arc de Triomph -and is accessible for exploring Barcelona. Beds were really really comfy and massive!!! The common area was great and you can help yourself to hot drinks or bottled water when ever you liked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    walls thin, could be noisy.

    Staff & location excellent. Hotel feel/vibe cool. Shared facilities clean and well stocked - everything about this place is great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the layout of the room but could understand some people would need to be cautious as there isn't much privacy when in the shower or toilet! There is no proper door to separate the bathroom but we didn't mind!

    The bed was super comfy and the pillows are a dream! We loved our room! It's such a quirky hotel that made our stay in Barcelona even better! The location is excellent, right in the middle of everything! The staff are lovely and very helpful with pointing out local places and the quickest route to places! We would definitely return here

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are small but have wonderfully high corniced ceilings. Mine had two floor to ceiling windows overlooking a courtyard. The facilities are basic but the bed is huge and comfy. Everything works perfectly and was just what I wanted for a short stay. The location is great and we walked everywhere from the hotel. The staff are super-friendly. I'll definitely go again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Interior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent stay at this hotel, staff were so friendly and helpful. Rooms were a good size, very clean and tidy and beds were super comfy. Perfect location for all the beautiful sites and shops of the el born and gothic quarter, couldn't fault anything! Definitely recommend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a bit too tough for me but that is just personal preferences

    Fantastic location within El Born which was ideally placed outside of the tourist hotspots but close enough for a walk to get to. El Born was a great hub of finer restaurants and bars. The hotel itself was really nice, the staff were super helpful, the little things like the "Help Yourself" area was a bonus that you do not see at other "higher" classed hotels.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really - had a great stay!

    The girl we dealt with at reception was exceptionally helpful and was able to give great advice on where to eat and drink etc. Rooms are amazing and location is very central.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    chic but the rooms could use better lighting. the bathroom is part of the room and there are steps right by the shower door making it awkward to move in and out of the bathroom area. very little storage space and no closet. the Wifi was not very fast.

    nice bed, clean, great soap. friendly staff and helpful front desk. the free coffee and tea was delicious and greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Interior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail was amazing! Stephan and his Team made it extra special with an upgrade and balcony suite. The prosecco and personalised letter made it a birthday/anniversary weekend to be remembered! Love the free coffee and bottles of water.....also the lounge area was very relaxing. The area was fantastic and close to everything! Bars and restaurants spoilt for choice!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beads although part of hotels chic arty look are more trouble than they are worth didnt mind them in hallway where the light effects really funky but lose then in bedrooms

    We loved the location we loved free coffee and common room we loved the staff rooms great clean comfortable thoughtfully designed the whole hotel artistically decorated .The hotellived up to half it's name chic but definitely not basic

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very slippery with no mat and badly positioned in front of the window.

    Locations was excellent, free coffee, tea and bottles of water. Great places to chill out throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little hard!

    Very friendly staff and very cool decor. Liked the tea/coffee making facilities and books and magazines available. It was quiet despite it's great central location. Loved it!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Each room has a dangling curtain of rope outside of it. It makes getting in and out of the room a bit of an obstacle course.

    I liked the effort that had been put into making the rooms look quirky and fun. The staff were friendly and efficient, and my stay was comfy and relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An occasional chair in the room would be great, rather than propping on an ottoman or the bed.

    Location brilliant. Quiet at night. Interesting decor.` Happy, helpful staff. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not quite sure about the door and shower curtains/screens. Don't really know what its about. Certainly different!

    The staff were amazingly friendly and so helpful. Such great English makes you feel embarrassed that your Spanish is so poor!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am not a fan of the beads hanging in front of the door and next to the bath nor the lighting. Our balcony door had no lock and there was no room safe.

    Location in El Born with quaint narrow streets and cafes. Charming neighborhood and fun at night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was annoying because the water kept going everywhere in the room. On the first day there was no hot water and no one in the hotel informed us until I and to go downstairs as no one picked the phone in reception

    I liked the room as it was different.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chic & Basic Born Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: