Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The County Hotel Bath 4 stars

18-19 Pulteney Road, Bath, BA2 4EZ, United Kingdom

Review score

Based on 748 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was very friendly and warm. The young lady who greeted us (so sorry I can't remember her name :( ) was very friendly and informed us of all the things we needed to know for our visit. Her hospitality made us feel very relaxed and comfortable😊. Our room was clean in all aspects and although the hotel was being refurbished it did not spoil the enjoyment of our stay. Thank you for a lovely stay. 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, described as a 'superior double room' and costing more than standard double, was pokey, right at the top of the house, struggle to reach, very hot, and looked straight into next door building! What was 'superior' about that?

    Parking was no problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well maintained property lots of refurbishment has been going on to a very high standard. When complete will look amazing. Beautiful outlook from bedroom windows across the local park which enables you to see across to Bath Abbey.

    Property was well maintained. A lot of time effort and thought has gone into the Hotel to produce such a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust on the stool & in the wardrobe.

    View of the abbey & rec from the bedroom was superb! We could've watched the bath festival finale from the comfort of our own room!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite being a superior double the room was very small with no bath. It was accessed by climbing 3 very steep flights of stairs. There was one window, overlooking the building next door, which was difficult to open and close as it was located behind a chest of drawers. The hotel was in the middle of being refurbished so the public rooms were sparsely furnished and there was a smell of paint everywhere.

    Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are small and the furniture is a bit dated and we found the bed mattress a bit too hard.

    Great location, friendly staff and tasty breakfast. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not told under renovation. Hallway smelt of paint. Could not go to the garden. Had to sit out the front to have a glass of wine on a busy road. Not disclosed on booking .com

    the staff were very friendly and very hepful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi it had not been working that week we stayed

    Lots of choice for breakfast very good good price drinks at bar have a drink before you go to town nice view over the bowling green

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The choice of drinks at the bar was very poor, only 1 type of wine on offer. The hotel was being renovated so a strong smell of paint, and the room was quite tired.

    The hotel was only a 10 minute walk to the city centre with free parking which was a huge bonus , the food and service at breakfast was excellent, good choice and cooked fresh. The bed was really comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    cleaners did not do their job well. Towels,shampoo and toilet paper were not changed /supplied regularly, not something you expect from a 4 stars hotel.

    Staff, breakfast, location, bed, view, quiet and spacious room with a lovely view on the Abbey. The shower is great along with a bath tub. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is going through a refurb so all a bit chaotic. We had to change rooms because our door didn't lock. The bar had very little stock not even any lemon! Breakfast was ok but the coffee was vile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level from road. Had to keep windows open as it was warm. There was no A:C. Also no lift. Difficult to move suitcases up 3 flights of stairs.

    Location in relation to sites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a Duluxe King Room with views over the Abbey. The room was very small and the bed was a double (I didn't read the small print as presumed King Room meant King bed!) Paint work in the room around the window was flaky. Our overall opinion of the room was it was drab. Needs a freshen up. We didn't think the room was worth the money we paid.

    The staff were very friendly and efficient. The main reason we booked this hotel was for the free onsite parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception wasn't clearly identifiable upon arrival. The room was rather small, especially the bathroom. The WiFi is free but wouldn't work?! Upon entering the password we were greeted with a "no connection" error message. A lot of this hotel is currently a "work in progress" and there are decorators sheets and step ladders in the front window. I appreciate this work has to be done but should be reflected by offering a lower priced room and be stated as such where possible.

    The staff were all polite and friendly. There is free guest parking on site which is fantastic! It's a very short walk into the centre of Bath. Bed was comfortable (although quite small) and there were ironing facilities available in the room. Lots of fantastic places to eat and drink nearby. The location really was the winning factor here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible. We had to sit at a used table, people who came in after us were served before us and the coffee was so weak I had to send it back. The organic sausages were missing. Breakfast time caused us a bit of stress and I was ready to walk out and go elsewhere.

    Good location and nice views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small and plainly furnished. Quite pricey for the basic level of accommodation.

    Location excellent: 5 min walk to city centre, 10 min walk from train station. Nice city skyline views from rear rooms. Very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some renovations taking place so reception was at end of bar. No lift and stairs to 3 rd floor very steep and winding not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. No atmosphere in bar area. Room was very small. Expecting a much better standard for 4*... more like a B & B.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the morning we were checking out there was a queue at reception but staff were busy with guests in the breakfast area so we had to wait quite some time before a member of staff came.

    Breakfast was lovely room was clean had a lovely view over the rugby field.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is an hotel that is in serious need of upgrade to meet todays higher standards required by regular travellers computer down on arrival. No Wi Fi available three flights of stairs with bags and no assistance offered. room very basic.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi at the hotel caused a bit of a problem, rooms are very small. Ones at the front of the hotel noisy from the traffic when the windows were open.

    The position of the hotel is excellent, you can walk everywhere. The breakfast is cooked fresh and very good, plenty of choices and fresh fruit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A very nice place, good beds and clean room. The staff is very friendly and it‘s only about 10 to 15 minutes walk into the center. Also it is quiet at night!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was fab and the building is lovely. Rachel, one of the reception/bar staff was very accommodating and professional throughout our stay. Would recommend a stay definetly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drain smell through the building. We thought the hotel was a little pricey for what it was.

    The location was perfect with just a 15 minute walk to main attractions. Staff were friendly. Room was nice with lots of space. The room window view was lovely. The breakfast was very nice with lots of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the temperature of the room too high and the windows did not open fully. Also the bed was far to hard for me - so I found it difficult to sleep

    Friendly staff, easy parking and within walking distance of the main attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lift we were on the top floor so you would not want to go up and down stairs to often and tea &coffee making facilities could be better some biscuits would be nice and more milk.

    good breakfast convenient location comfortable room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard as were pillows, management accepted feedback and promised to improve

    Breakfast was excellent, location excellent, staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't find anything that we were unhappy with. Everything suited us perfectly & we would happily stay there again.

    Bed extremely comfortable & room was very quiet at the back of hotel with a view of the Abbey. The room always smelt lovely & fresh each time you came in. Excellent choice for breakfast; fresh fruit,cereals,cold meat, cheeses,yogurt,pastries & rolls.3 different choices for cooked breakfast plus porridge. All very good quality & served in a nice, bright dining room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs to the top floor was the only downside.

    Staff was professional and friendly. We had a very nice view of Bath from our room. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel close to centre of Bath so easy to walk. Great parking provided. Friendly and helpful staff in reception. Nice breakfast in large bright dining room. Great bed and lovely towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was tiny, typical booking.com allocation, stuck in a garret room. Apart from the small room with the smallest shower cubicle ( I have bruised elbows from washing my hair), there was just a lack of attention to detail. There was a faulty kettle which needs the on button to be held down to boil; no sugar with the tea and coffee. A bedside lamp did not work, and the electric clock was not plugged in because the plug cannot access the socket. Finally there really was nowhere to hang up the bath towels.

    It's location was ok for the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem with the room but were moved to another straight away

    Perfect staff always on hand if you need anything. Perfect location only 10 min walk to everything Bath has to offer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIFI was not working until the night before we left. Very dusty in the room and needs a good hoover under the bed and in the radiators. No iro or ironing board or water in the room. No safe to put belonging in. Lots of stairs to the top and not offered help to take our bags to our room.

    Staff very polite and view from the room very nice. Breakfast was very nice too.even got me vegan sausages for the next day breakfast when not an option on the menu

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front bedroom noisy with main road traffic- exacerbated by needing the windows open as very hot (even with the radiators off); breakfast let down daily by cold toast (using v thin, low quality bread); small, awkward shower space- although shower itself was great

    Location to visit sites in Bath and surrounding areas; friendly staff; parking; clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit small and there is no lift.

    Clean, comfortable hotel. The staff were lovely, very helpful. The rooms are on the small side but spotlessly clean with everything you need. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the small size for the price per night and there wasnt any complimentry water. Really just nit picking, as it was perfect for us!

    Friendly staff, clean room and location. Breakfast was plentiful and nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in room 18 and even though the view from my room was amazing there wasn't enough room to swing a cat, also the shower could do with a little TLC in terms of the discoloration/mould on the grout. Again, small things but you did ask :-)

    - I was greeted by 2 very happy employees when i arrived - Breakfast was AMAZING and the view was even better - Guest supplies in the bedroom, ie shampoo etc were really nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It needed some up dating and there were water stains on the walls and ceilings

    It was centrally located, the staff was very helpful. It wasn't a cookie cutter, chain hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were fabulous and the hotel was in a great location, very elegant and in keeping with Bath's style. Very enjoyable weekend stay withing a few minutes of the city centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed Tiny shower cubicle with temperamental thermostat Lots of stairs to the top floor - I’d ask for a room on the lower floors next time!

    Delicious breakfast Friendly and helpful staff Nice atmosphere & pleasant reception rooms Free car parking Excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 1 issue, we had a water leak in the bathroom from the ext fan in the ceiling after very heavy rain. Just one of those things,

    Hotel was clean tidy and looked the part on arrival. Staff were very freindly & helpful. Would recomend.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bad points at all!

    The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff couldn’t do enough for us and were polite and friendly. Also the breakfast was outstanding with everything you could have wanted. The hotel was close to the town with free parking and free WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish we could have had outlets by each bedside.

    The staff was incredibly friendly. The breakfast was delicious. The location is perfect. You can walk the whole town within 20 minutes. The site is quite charming.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little tired but we were informed it was due to refurbished very soon

    Great location, friendly staff clean and tidy Car parking available which is a huge deal in Bath

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room Decor was a bit Retro for me .. but it was a lovely hotel 😊

    Lovely Hotel with Character & easy parking , The Staff were so welcoming , nothing was too much trouble. We had a map & recommended restaurants .. The restaurant table was then phoned & booked for us , service & cleanliness were impeccable .lovely bedroom, with a view of the Abbey ,We Will definitely return 😁

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The minute we arrived the staff made us very welcome . We were able to leave our luggage so we could go into the city to do some Christmas shopping ! The location was in good walking distance . The train station was also not far away which was ideal. If you arrived by car there was a bonus of a car park.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There weren't many lounge/sitting areas which didn't really matter to us as we only stayed one night but might have mattered if we were staying longer

    Lovely room, staff very helpful and beds and room comfy. Good choices at breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable Standard room is snug, would recommend you stay in deluxe Thin walls could hear other people's conversations

    Location Showers powerful Good views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was not very comfy, it was hard, don't think it is pocket sprung and I didn't sleep well. Woke up with a stiff neck and aches in back. Had to wait a long time for cooked breakfast Nice bar but no cocktails!

    Lovely view of cathedral and Bath from room at night, great location The room was lovely and quiet, no noise at night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! the hotel and staff were fantastic.

    I loved everything, the hotel was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The staff were all amazing. The breakfast was yummy, and it was really close to the centre of Bath. I would highly recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park spaces at back a little narrow for large cars

    Very friendly staff , able to park once booked out for rest of day. Good proximity to Xmas market. Good breakfast and easy to log in Internet access. Good views across to cathedral . Very chrissmasy !,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Number of stairs to bedrooms. However the booking was heavily discounted so what should i have expected. Room was cramped with little room to open wardrobe door and little room on service tables and bedside table, small phone and radio almost filled it up. Otherwise all aspects of my stay was satisfactory. Breakfast was, as has been said many times above average.

    Location from town centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One major problem was the noise from the main road. The breakfast could have been hotter, I did mention this, the problem was it was served on cold plates.

    The staff were very friendly. Room was compact but comfortable and clean. Shower was very powerful, a bonus point from me. The hotel is just a short walk to the centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff. Location was great with all attractions within easy walking distance. Room was nice and clean with comfortable bed and great shower facility.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The busy main road and the old rattling windows which were covered in condensation. Perhaps a room at the back of the hotel would have made for a better nights sleep.

    Easy walk to the town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room clean and comfortable - shower very hot and powerful. Staff were so friendly and informative a real breath of fresh air. We had a lovely welcome and the staff at breakfast were extremely attentive and so friendly. Breakfast was top quality with a good selection of continental and tasty 'made to order' selection of cooked items. Location perfect, short walk to town and on site parking made the stay perfect as parking is limited in Bath. We will definitely re book for next year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of cooked breakfast poor. Plate swimming in grease, sausage overcooked (as in kept warm too long), tasteless poached egg. Toast arrived a good 5 mins before cooked breakfast so was cold. Staff overstretched during breakfast serving, long delay for hot drinks, plate clearing, etc.

    Comfy bed. Good parking facilities. Wide breakfast choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could use an uplift- our room had paint chipped off the walls and stained carpet. Abbey view double did have a great view but was a tiny room with very little space to put luggage. Fine for overnight but might be difficult staying any longer. Lots of steep stairs to climb to rooms which for some may be a struggle. I was disappointed with our room considering the money we paid.

    Brilliant location to explore central Bath. Lots of free parking and they let us leave our car for a few extra hours after checkout.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the standard double room we had was the smallest room that we have ever stayed in at £160 it was poor value for money.

    The staff were very good and in general the communal areas were well maintained. Apart from the stair carpet the hotel was clean and tidy. The location is handy for the town and the parking was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We choose the cooked breakfast on 2 out of 3 breakfast, but on both occasions the fried / poached eggs were rubbery and luke warm. The hotel has a nice big bar, but doesn't serve draft beer. We paid £125 per night for a basic double room. the beds were made and the bins emptied daily, bout the shower of sink was not wiped.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. the location was good. We had the Scrambled Eggs & Smoked Salmon on the middle day which the egg was hot and the salmon plentiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The location is excellent and the hotel is great value for money. Would recommend to anyone staying in Bath.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This year there was an awful smell in the bathroom really bad drain smell

    We go to the hotel every year it’s a shame no one uses the bar. The breakfasts are very good rooms are comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that was slightly disappointing was that the hot water was inconsistent in temperature, getting hotter then cooler. It wasn’t terrible but a bit of a shame.

    The staff were so friendly,y and helpful. Could not be faulted. Nothing was too much trouble. A fantastic team! The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the top floor with no lift so some people might find the last flight of stairs hard work.

    Comfortable bed. Good shower. Excellent breakfast. Only a short walk to Bath centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very small, shower didn't work and bed very small and uncomfortable.

    Location is excellent 5 minutes from centre of Bath, good parking and excellent friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no negative comments

    great staff who were very helpful. Clean well appointed rooms. Quality breakfast. Great location with on site parking. Easy walk into the city centre. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Location was excellent for the city with own parking. The staff were very helpful and cheerful. The bed was very comfortable. It made our stay a pleasure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    Warm welcome from friendly helpful staff. Quiet comfortable room with great view of the Abbey. Delicious gluten free breakfast. Great location for visiting the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Superior King room at the back of the hotel lovely and specious with a great view of the Abbey.

    Good car park. Very close to the city centre- easy 10 mins walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV stopped working in the room we had so we were moved to another room. The mattress in that room was awful. We sat on it and hit the bottom, it was extremely uncomfortable. The hotel claims to have church views, which you do, but it is in the far distance and past the athletic fields and other buildings. All other restaurants are a good 10 - 15 minutes walking. No where to park in the city so you have to walk. No elevators, which was fine for us. The room we had was extremely small and we had to step over our luggage on the ground to get around.

    The main city is only a 10 minute walk. Lots of restaurants in the city and things to see and do. The hotel was very quite and the staff were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite compact but we were only there for 2 nights so it didn't affect us too much.

    Really great location, just a few minutes walk into th heart of bath. They also had a car park which other hotels in the area didn't. Nice friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic noise in the morning. Maybe put a fan in the room, so the window doesn't have to be open.

    The bath was extra bubbly, and the staff we're extra friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like, a larger room maybe, but ours was quite adequate for a couple of nights.

    We very much liked being able to park on arrival and not have to use the car again until we left Bath. Although our room was fairly small, it was very clean, modern and comfortable - also quiet in the evenings even though we were close to the city. We had two lovely large windows with a view across to the Abbey. The breakfast was excellent, nice fresh fruit, plentiful piping hot cooked breakfasts. Very nice welcoming staff. Would recommend and be happy to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was so small that you could not even open bathroom door without hitting the bed. The bedside cabinets with glass tops overlapped the bed and were very dangerous if you were to hit it when you turned over in the night. It was like sleeping on the hard shoulder of a motorway with heavy lorries passing all night. Breakfast not bad but not the most healthily cooked. We had paid and booked 3 nights left after breakfast next day.

    Selection at breakfast was quite good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOT fabulous. I was very unhappy with the general condition of the hotel. Yes, it was clean but really unappealing. I can't remember ever being in such a hurry to leave a hotel. Very small room, tiny bathroom, road noise, but most especially just a dinghy sort of place.

    The staff was nice and breakfast good but generally just a horrible ambience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Abbey View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major drawback was no lift - information not clear on website or booking.com. My mother and I were on the top floor and this was a major hindrance - should have been told of this in advance - tried to relocate over stay but hotel fully booked and was unable to so.

    Staff were very friendly and location excellent for all of Bath's amenities

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: