Skip to main content
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. KwaZulu-Natal hotel reviews
  4. Van Reenen hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Riverview Country Inn

Reviews of Riverview Country Inn

1 Main street, Swinburne, Freestate, 9880 Van Reenen, South Africa

#7 of 7 hotels in Van Reenen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 646 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2024

    7.0
    This was a good place for a convenient overnight stop half along our journey, facilities basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a trickle with no hot water.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2024

    9.0
    Perfect overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could do with a new mattress 😴

    This was a perfect overnight stop for us. Great value, convenient, pretty setting and with a great little pub/restaurant. Would definitely stop here again.

    Stayed in May 2024

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2024

    8.0
    Awesome food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Location food and staff

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2024

    7.0
    It was a good halfway stop over. We arrived late and left early and we left well rested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly, I think they can do a bit more efford with the food. It was not completely to our liking, but that is just personal preference.

    The room was clean and perfect for a halfway stop over. We could keep our perishables fresh in the supplied fridge.

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2024

    8.0
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar the staff and the food

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2024

    8.0
    Just what we needed for an overnight stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was good, atmosphere too!

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2024

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from other visitors at night

    Very friendly

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2024

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2024

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2024

    8.0
    Quick stop over after holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No stove in cottage

    Comfortable beds, lovely food and atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2024

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay! Will use this facility again.

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2024

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Comfortable and clean room. Great food at restaurant and Max loved his livers and rice from the pet menu.

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2024

    8.0
    Very good
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and felt at home

    Stayed in March 2024

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2024

    9.0
    Staff very plesant and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Rural location

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2024

    9.0
    Wonderful overnight stop.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed is very small

    Pet friendly. The staff were very accommodating and the menu has a meal for pets.

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2024

    9.0
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Sunday roast and quaint atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2024

    9.0
    Comfortable overnight stop from KZN to Gauteng.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the pub. Good food and great cosy atmosphere. The overnight stay was perfect for us. Clean and everything you need.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2024

    7.0
    Halfway stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly drain.

    Close to hiway which makes it easy for a halfway stop. Lady at reception made us feel at home. Very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2024

    8.0
    Comfortable and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fridges in two of the rooms were not working. At least it was disclosed when we booked in. No carports available.

    We did not have breakfast because we were in a hurry. The location is perfect for an overstay on your way to the East Coast. Bedrooms are very neat and safe.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2023

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress I slept on has seen better days.

    Room is basic but clean, location is beautiful, the food in the restaurant was delicious with very generous portions, and wifi was good enough to stream a movie in the evening after dinner (it was raining and room didn't have a television).

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2023

    7.0
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable in the room we stayed in, but my mom was happy with her bed. Possibly because we were 2 people and she was alone.

    Not far off the road. Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2023

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff. Owner and feel of place

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2023

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was bad, I only used it for the 1st day of my stay and it wasn't even for long

    The swimming pool was clean and always available for the kids

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2023

    7.0
    Staff very friendly, meals great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some tidying up

    Conveniently close to highway

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2023

    8.0
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in resuarant

    Great half way stop to Durban - food in restaurant not great

    Stayed in December 2023

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: