Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Schwarzwaldgasthaus Goldener Engel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Friedhofweg 2, 79286 Glottertal, Germany

#5 of 11 hotels in Glottertal

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 342 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    Good base for foodies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs air conditioning. No tourist information in English. No English translation of the menu. This would make things so much easier.

    Excellent food. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    10
    Relaxing stay in a lovely area of Germany
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, the hotel met my expectations and those of my friends travelling with me.

    The hotel was just as pictured, very traditional in style. The rooms where of a good size and the bathroom of an adequate size. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, we used the restaurant and this was excellent. The location is ideal as it is close enough to some major city's but at the base of the Black Forest hills so the best of both worlds.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel, lovely location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I was given a beautifully refurbished room with two large windows and a balcony with a café table and two chairs. Light and airy, spotlessly clean and excellent quality bedding. Sadly I arrived on Wednesday and that’s the day the (reputedly excellent) restaurant is closed. Next time. Parking is easy and the hotel is in the village centre for a short stroll. Reception and breakfast staff are a delight - very friendly, very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    10
    Sweet stay commutable to Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a great stay in a sweet town outside of Freiburg. The family run place is charming and comfortable. The staff were great. The weather was perfect for us to enjoy the balcony porch looking over the town and church.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    10
    Fantastic B&B housing a superb restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we had a double bed, the bed itself had 2 single mattresses on it making it very uncomfortable.

    A fantastic B&B in a lovely little town. The restaurant at the B&B is exceptional!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed my stay tremendously
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi very poor

    Wonderful atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    9.6
    Stunning area & hotel was beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    travelled on a holiday & most things were closed

    Stunning area & hotel was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2017

    7.9
    Restaurant and food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Lounge for residents to sit in away from restaurant.

    Restaurant and food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2016

    10
    Nice and friendly one night stand
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The friendly and family atmosphere and the location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2016

    10
    beautiful village - away from the touristy locations with...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful village - away from the touristy locations with all the cheap trinkets

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    10
    Awesome place, super friendly staff and Top Notch Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awesome place .Super nice, clean, quiet and classy ... Very friendly staff ..Added bonus being the restaurant of the hotel offering amazing food. ..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2016

    10
    Simply brilliant, only wish we could have stayed longer.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything, it was quirky, comfy and peaceful. Very accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2016

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Surprisingly busy traffic through the small village

    Nice location and atmosphere, very friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    10
    Great traditional German breakfast on white table cloths
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great traditional German breakfast on white table cloths

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    9.6
    Wonderfull accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent staff, can't do enough for you. Very spacious rooms and extra comfortable beds. Delicious breakfast Highly recomended

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    7.9
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy. No A/C in room.

    Very clean. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    10
    It is a very clean property with very nice peoples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is a very clean property with very nice peoples. The location is perfect included in nature. And the breakfast is one of the most generouse that we foud in Europe.

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2015

    10
    The moment we walked in the door we where made very welcome,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The moment we walked in the door we where made very welcome, the room was ready & it was a very nice surprise to have such a nice room with a balcony. The location is in the centre so very easy to get around.

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is in a nice small village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the mosquito's

    The hotel is in a nice small village. There is not much to do but we didn't need that. It has a good bed and plenty of choices for breakfast. You can get free tickets to travel in the area with bus/train. I recommend to take the bus and train to the nice city of Freiburg am Breisgau.

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2015

    9.6
    Location and stuff are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Church bell is very close and sleeping for late morning is hard unless if you travel around so it can be like a wake-up call. No English speakers.

    Location and stuff are friendly. Clean and beautiful rooms.

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2015

    10
    This is family run and you feel like your family when you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing at all!!

    This is family run and you feel like your family when you arrive. The staff were super sweet, although we didn't speak much German it was easy to figure out everything. It was an amazing place to stay with tons around to visit. Beautiful area of Germany.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast rich and dinner tasty, cozy atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to declare

    Breakfast rich and dinner tasty, cozy atmosphere

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2016

    10
    Excellent hospitality and fabulous food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent hospitality and fabulous food!

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff and good restaurant downstairs for dinner and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff and good restaurant downstairs for dinner and breakfast. It was our third visit, we always enjoy our time there.

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2015

    9.2
    Very clean and well decorated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean and well decorated room. Excellent adjoining restaurant. Friendly staff. Hearty, delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    7.1
    causy atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the WC was extremely dirty

    causy atmosphere

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2015

    10
    Everything especially the restaurant food was just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything especially the restaurant food was just great

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2015

    10
    Amazing family friendly hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Amazing family friendly hotel!! The staff was so lovely and friendly, the rooms very cosy and comfortable and the location was perfect!!!

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    8.8
    Atmosphere of the old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor wifi No air conditioning. Very warm weather made the rooms oppressively hot

    Atmosphere of the old building Friendly staff Lovely food

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2015

    10
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    everything

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2015

    8.3
    This was our second stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This was our second stay here. Very friendly staff at the front desk, amazing breakfast, lovely balcony, beautiful surroundings. We love this place!

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2015

    8.8
    The hotel staff is warm and friendly, the atmosphere is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel staff is warm and friendly, the atmosphere is lovely and breakfast is very good. Free parking

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: