Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Catalonia Excelsior This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Barcelonina, 5, Ciutat Vella, 46002 Valencia, Spain

#16 of 95 hotels in Valencia

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3039 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location. Can't fault the hotel. Very clean and very comfortable. Only criticism is the 5-plus-minute wait to book in while the receptionist finished her phone conversation.

    Location, comfort and cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel for the budget, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a bit dated and the rooms are SMALL even by Europe standards (though the bathrooms were quite large).

    I had one of the balcony rooms which was very nice. There were two chaise chairs and a table/chairs. Overall the room was very clean and the bathroom very large by European standards. There is a cafe/bar just across the street with amazing food. Close to the central market and cathedral square. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.2
    It was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was okay , but I expected richer breakfast for such a nice hotel.

    The room was very good. Bathroom was large and I love the fact that there was a bathtub in the bathroom. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at the front desk on check in was not that helpful. We arrived on Sunday and the Street in front of the hotel was closed. We called the hotel and the staff answered that no available parking near the hotel and no helpful information how to get to hotel. We had to park the car far from the hotel and took a Taxi . We were dropped closed to hotel but taxi driver information of hotel is incorrect. We were lost for a while and the help from nearby local people made the thing worse. We found later that ther was available parking very close to the hotel. Short to the point,if the staff was helpful how to get the hotel and gave us bett information, our stay would be more enjoyable. We were exhausted just to look for the hotel, carrying luggages.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in this gem of a hotel in the centre of Valencia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - I loved this hotel :)

    Excellent hotel in the centre of Valencia. Within walking distance of a lot of the main attractions - and if walking is not your thing - extremely well positioned for all local bus connections/taxi's etc. Beds extremely comfortable - and staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay in this hotel again if I was visiting Valencia.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced for what it is. Weird bathroom doors only good if you like over-sharing. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive for what it is. The first room we were given had ants and a poorly functioning AC unit that smelt of drains. We were moved. New room better but fairly small and had one of those glass doors on the bathroom that doesn't actually fit the door frame so: 1) you and your companion get to hear anything and everything from the bathroom; 2) if you get up in the night the bathroom light floods the rest of the room waking up your companion; and 3) the streetlights outside are so bright that you end up putting up with a yellowish glow in the room all night long which is tough if you prefer to sleep in darkness.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Good location near Ayuntamiento and its bus routes (you can easily reach the beach and ciudad de los artes y las ciencias) and not far from estacion de norte train station and metro - handy for airport. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    Excellent ubication in the very center of the old city, good attention, good (expensive) breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A reservation change produced an error in assignation of the staying days (not our fault) and prices were largely increased by that reason. This looked injust and by no means serious to us, but we don't know if this was a hotel or a Booking fault.

    Staff attention, location concerning the center of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.2
    The staff were so helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so helpful! Any questions we had they always went above and beyond to help in any way possible. The location of the hotel is also easily accessible and centre to many great cafes, shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    8.8
    Location in the old city very good, staff polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location in the old city very good, staff polite and helpful. Stay spoilt slightly by being locked out of our room for 40 mins on the last night due to a faulty door lock battery (!) but staff did get us back in eventually. Restaurant could have been bigger as very crowded at breakfast - on the last day we overflowed into the bar... overall a nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay. Reasonable value considering we were in an expensive city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    A brilliant stay in Valencia in a wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    The location, the Hotel deserves more star rating, the staff always happy to help and our room was excellent and so was the choices at breakfast. Welldone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to see the old town and very new modern museums. Beach 20mins by bus 1.5 euro each w
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Slight traffic noise from side street.

    Central location, friendly staff, good selection at breakfast, hotel very clean throughout. Close to bus terminals,12-15 min taxi ride to airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.7
    Valencia is a nice city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small and the bathroom was badly designed. The drains smelled badly, and affected our ability to sleep easily.

    The location was excellent and the bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and informative.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    8.3
    Great stay in a centrally located hotel with an abundance of cafes/restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    While breakfast was good ,the hot cooked selection could have been a little warmer,but this seems to be the case in many hotels that we have visited.

    Location was excellent.Breakfast was good with a varied choice on offer.We were in room 407 which was fine for two people and maid service kept room clean and towels were changed daily.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    7.1
    A short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar seemed to be run by the person setting the dining tables for breakfast and was only open from 8.30 in the evening

    Small friendly hotel. Room had a balcony breakfast was good. The cleaner was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    The Location is amazing, very nice breakfast and beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Location is amazing, very nice breakfast and beautiful rooms with balcony !! The reception staff are very pleasant and welcoming too ! Would definitely recommend to stay here !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    8.3
    A convenient place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasn’t included and as I said lower floor was noisey.

    Location was great. Room faced street so a bit noisey and we request to switch to a higher floor room. Staff were great !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    8.8
    Great location in Valencia center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thin walls, you will hear everything that is happening in the hall through the doors. Hotel does not have parking, but there are few parking places within 500 meters from the hotel.

    Amazing placement, right in the center of Valencia. Breakfast was okay, nice selection of pastries and good coffee. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    2.9
    Highly recommended all round. Spain is a country to be explored.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Spanish need to learn English, although we came across 2 very smart 9 year old girls with their parents and they were extremely glad to guide us in English. The staff in the restaurants could hardly say a word in English, but the food was very good.

    Bed very comfortable. The room floor was not cleaned thoroughly. I dropped a pill and found it after 4 days. I also found a pill on the floor which must have been there before we arrived The reception staff need to know about and promote the cultural heritage much more. We told reception we were visiting Alicante on Monday and no one told us that museums will be closed. The hop on hope off in Alicante did not stop at the stage for us and we had to wait for an extra hour after having been on the stage waiting for 30 mins.The ceramics museum/palace is hardly known by anyone and it is a gem and a priority to visit. The train was extremely efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    9.6
    Just Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent hotel, amazing location, fabulous staff! Would recommend paying for the terrace room, sat out there it felt like our own apartment rather than a hotel! Will be back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    10
    Valencia 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise of doors closing in the corridors and noise in the adjacent ally way in the very early hours of the morning .

    The close proximity to the city attractions and the transport systems.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    Superb Comfort and Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wanted a kettle for a cup of tea! But did not ask and I am sure they would have obliged.

    Super comfy room with everything you need. The reception staff cannot do enough for you. Fantastic location, very central with everything you need on your doorstep, multi cuisine,shops cafes,buses plus bikes for hire. Much more in Valencia City than expected. Needed more time. 3 days was not enough and I certainly did not want to leave my huge balcony terrace on the 7th floor . Room 701!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent position, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds a little hard.

    Great position, a short walk to the square by the cathedral, and hop on/off bus routes. Air conditioning was good, room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed too close to the terrace windows, Made it difficult going out to the terrace.

    Great location,good places to eat in the little plaza next to the hotel, lovely terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    8.8
    For a 3 night stay- perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom had patio doors which opened onto next doors balcony. A small barrier would solve this,

    Location perfect,centre of everything.For a three star hotel,would put many far behind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Operating the safe was a little difficult and we needed help from a member of staff.

    The Location was extremely good, in the middle of everything. Very close to the old town and transport. The room and shower room was a little small but adequate, but we had a lovely roof terrace. Bed extremely comfortable. We were in room 702.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It does not provide tea service in all rooms only in superior.

    Room was spacious and comfortable with double windows that could be opened (not recommended at night due to noise from street cleaning and emptying of skips close to hotel). A/c available too. Breakfast had good range of cereals, juices, bread, cheeses and meats, and teas. Excellent location close to shops and sights. Staff were all courteous and helpful. Wi-fi good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2018

    9.5
    Relaxing and fun including trip to Villarreal to watch them play Valencia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar didn’t open until after 8 o’clock ( but we realise that this is normal in Spain ) so not a major problem as city knee deep in bars.

    Housekeeping was very efficient, room sorted quickly. Reception staff very helpful with taxis and restaurant bookings etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay in a very good location, would thoroughly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning although quiet wasn't very effective despite it being set at the lowest temperature possible. Nothing else to complain about.

    Excellent location in a quiet side street but very central to the city centre, no traffic noise in the room whatsoever. Comfortable beds, dressing gown & slippers provided. Complimentary water in the room which was replenished daily. Very helpful & friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.5
    Well located hotel for a short stay in Valencia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff on reception were off hand and gave out little information. The breakfast was not worth the 10 euro charge as the hot food was tepid and had obviously been there for a while and there is not much fresh fruit. Be aware that some of the rooms with terraces do not get sun after about 3pm.

    The location is central and convenient for public transport. The room was spacious and comfortable and the housekeeping was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable comfortable & relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ironing facilities could be added & maybe a future idea is provide tea & coffee between breakfast & evening bar although they do provide cold drink facilities via a vending machine & you can leave hotel to multiple cafes but sometimes if in room nice just to have hot drink available

    Very good location hotel very comfortable & staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect hotel for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The doors on the 4th floor were very loud at closing!we could hear each neighbour returning to their room, and in the morning the cleaning lady:( No extractor fan or window in the bathroom. Mini refridgerator was not working.

    Perfect location! There is a bakery in the street, coffe and tapasbar at the square behind the hotel. Staff is very helpful Blackout curtains and good windows, you could hear nothing from the streets! Beds and pillows were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrace nice but no umbrella or blind to protect from the sun. Was 36 degrees one afternoon. Air conditioning ineffective. Room size for one not for two. Overcharge for cocktails. Gin & Tonic cost 13€ served in small glass. Could get large round glass 50m away for 5.50€. Feels to be a place not sure what market it should aim for.

    Very nice helpful staff Guiilermo especially. Very clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    10
    simply beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can’t fault this hotel one bit! Clean, lovely room, friendly and helpful staff! Everything was great and in a great area of Valencia with lots of restaurants very close and with in walking distance of pretty much everything! Main bus stops only a couple of minutes walk to take you to the city of arts and sciences and to the port me and my friend had a lovely week away. Would recommend this hotel 100%

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent we will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only down side was the bar only opening for short period in the evening after coming back from a walk around town on an afternoon it would have been nice to relax with a drink.

    Every aspect location, room, staff friendliness could not fault at all

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea and coffee making facility in room - was told only in superior rooms. Used to having this facility in every hotel.Disappointed with that.

    Location ideal and yet quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    7.1
    Location and pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom, there is was a main support pillar 40cm x 40cm against the counter and bathtub, making hazardous to access bathtub. Toilet in a corner, made is uncomfortable.

    Location and pleasant staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.2
    Very much enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The location was excellent and the staff friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was looking a little tired, and in need of renovation.

    The rooms were clean, with excellent blackout blinds to ensure a good quality sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, very comfortable and would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom wasn't very clean on arrival - there were hairs in the bath and it needed a good wipe

    The staff were excellent. I stayed with my partner over his 30th birthday and I asked if they could organise for a cake to be made locally and brought up to the room along with coffee in the morning - they were so helpful and accommodating, which made his birthday that bit more special. Also, the coffees were complimentary!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    Valencia is a good place to explore for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was chilly & room bit warm sometimes.

    Lovely roof terrace. Comfortable beds. Quiet room . Good breakfast. Great location for lots of lovely bars & restaurants & sightseeing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    Anniversary trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No negatives

    Great location in old town, very comfortable, good varied breakfast, very clean and friendly staff.Able to walk to all attractions and beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    7.5
    Ideal location, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really. Breakfast a bit expensive!

    Very central location. Very quiet hotel. Didn't take the breakfast option as we were leaving early the second day, but lots of cafes etc nearby one across the road!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    10
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to dislike

    Great location. Checkin was efficient friendly welcoming. All staff both day and evening helpful with directions. Large bottle of water gratis.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    9.2
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Safety desk it’s some kind of old mechanism

    We had premium room with terrace and I recomend it to everyone! Excellent position, big sunny terrace, double glazed balcony door so it’s silent, free bottle of water, coffee/tea facilities, so many toiletries, bathrobes and slippers... Also have free luggage storage near reception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    3.8
    We told the receptionnist during the check in that we are in...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We told the receptionnist during the check in that we are in a hurry as we have a meeting. He took his time about 10 minutes while singing in the same time. No hot water in the morning the Bed was very bed. the matress is old and Must be changed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    8.3
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast too expensive.. The tv was in right side of the bed.. so if you wanted to see tv you must sit only in right side...a little bit unconfortable ..

    Location was great!! Very comfortable bed! Cleaning was ok!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, good central location which I highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Let a lot of corridor light in under the door, and subsequent noise. Whenever someone comes or goes you do tend to hear it. Balcony on the next room adjoined mine so couldn't leave open all the time

    Room let in lots of light as I went for a balcony room. Great size. Nice decor. If you like a firm bed this will be perfect. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    9.2
    Best 3* I found in a while (by far)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast could be cheaper... 14€/person for a 3* hotel is too much, in my opinion.

    Probably the best 3* you can find. Everything is good about it: spacious room, great bathroom, comfortable bed and pillows, everything perfectly clean, nice and helpful staff... then a perfect location on top of everything! For just around ~50-60€/night, I just found a place to stay whenever I come back to Valencia...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    4.6
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our first room was a twin rather than a double and it smelt like smoke. We asked to move and the second room was better but we could hear other people's bathrooms really loudly so it wasn't very restful.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    9.2
    Location was excellent, a 10 minute walk into the old city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t pay the 14 Euros for breakfast. There are a multitude of cafes around the hotel where you can eat very cheaply.

    Location was excellent, a 10 minute walk into the old city & to the train station. Lovely room and terrace. Very quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    8.8
    What an incredible introduction to Valencia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet in our room broke on the second last day of our stay. The staff were very helpful though and gave us access to another room, which solved the problem.

    The location was ideal - it is in the centre of the old town, within walking distance of great restaurants, bars and amazing sights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No music channels on TV (Not even one) The double bed was two connected single ones that moved a bit, but thees are minor complaints.

    Excellent location, very central and safe. Not far from the two most central Metro-stations Xativa & Colon (25 min to\from Airport without changing lines). The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Comfortable bathroom. Complimentary 1,5 liter mineral water was a great idea. Wi-Fi - was absolutely great! Very nice receptionists. Three star hotel, that feels like four.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2018

    9.2
    The bed was firm and soft - I don’t know how, but my husband...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small. We paid a little extra to upgrade one step, and I have no idea what we got for our money.

    The bed was firm and soft - I don’t know how, but my husband and I both slept great! Clean and comfortable and all the essentials we needed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel in the center of Valencia's city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive breakfast for € 14,- pp Nearby the hotel there are so many nice breakfast facilities with the most fresh orange juice with delicious iberico toast and cofee for just 8 euro pp!

    Room was always very clean, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2018

    4.6
    Go elsewhere we've stayed in far better places for less but we're swayed by incorrect reviews
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar never open, staff grumpy, room minute and pricy for what you got. Drains stunk at night in bathroom too.

    Location good rest overpriced and not worthy of pricetag

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    6.3
    Close to the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was extremely hot. There was a problem with the radiator and therefore not possible to turn the heating down.

    Close to the railway station. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    9.6
    Ideal base for a Valencian tourist trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only minor negative was the fact that we were on the top floor and the hotel air con was above our room. This lead to a slightly annoying humming at all times of the day and , especially, the night.

    This was the perfect hotel for a tourist visit to Valencia. Ideally situated and simple to get to from the airport. Metro station relatively close by ready access to the sights , restaurants and bars of Valencia. The bedroom was clean , modern and comfortable with a large sun terrace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous affordable hotel in excellent location of Valencia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view as hotel is down a side street though you could upgrade which would have provided a better view.

    Excellent location in the old town and close to all amenities. The room was cheap at only €57,let. The staff were very helpful and polite. The room was nice and clean, comfortable beds and complimentary water bottle in mini fridge. The bath was lovely and hot

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    7.9
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room doors obviously fire doors slamming so loudly all night and from 5am meant no sleep whatsoever. Corridors noisy with wheelie cases. Bathroom tiling and grouting broken chopped peeling away

    location close to station metro and in centre of town close to stores and eateries

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel in an excellent location - just check facilities carefully
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked for a superior room but there was no facilities that made it superior. No tea and coffee facilities; an empty mini-bar; no bathrobes. Not exactly basic but less than we expected.

    The rooms were exceptionally clean and beds were comfortable. The minibar was useful for storing orange juice for breakfast and pre-dinner drinks. The location was very handy for restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    9.6
    We went to celebrate our 14th anniversary and we had fabulous 4 days!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't have breakfast at the hotel even once since the breakfast cost around 14 euro's a person. Starting 10m away from the hotel there are some excellent restaurants/bars/caffes for breakfast that cost less than half with breakfast that looked much better than at the hotel.

    Excellent location, in the heart of the town. The place was very clean and cosy. However, if you have noisy neighbors they will make a racket and this place there was little sound insulation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    7.9
    My stay was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I booked through booking.com there was a prompt saying with breakfast. As soon as I booked I got a confirmation from the hotel that it was without breakfast. I immediately wrote a note to booking.com to get a clarification and never got a reply. When I arrived at the hotel and told them the story, the receptionist contacted the booking.com office and. The person at this end saw my note but kept insisting that I must pressed the wrong button. I paid €91 a nght and whilst I was there I got a note from booking.com saying that the Rxcelsior was bein advertised for €72 a night. This was like adding insult to injury.

    I liked the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    10
    Could not fault in any way. Hope to return soon. Holiday spoiled by theft but not linked to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar/cafe could have been open earlier in the day. Coffee / tea facilities in room.

    Staff were extremely helpful. Very clean and lovely breakfast. One of our party had her handbag stolen at a local restaurant and staff went out of their way to support us and allowed us access to computer printer etc. Our room was ready when we arrived early. We were able to stay on in our room when extra night was required to allow visit to consulate in Alicante. Will definitely return to Valencia and would stay at Catalonia Excelsior without hesitation. Brilliant location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.6
    Nice and cosy stay for an unforgettable marathon weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is not a complaint/critics, but a suggestion for improvement: the difference between above average and excellence is always in the details. I was in Valencia for the marathon, as were many other hotel guests. Many of us left Valencia the same day due to flight schedules. Marathon supporting hotels in other destinations offer/do the extra mile by providing extra early breakfasts (e.g. from 6 am onwards), extended check-out time, shower service (if extended check-out is not possible)...

    Very nice and helping staff. Room itself and room service impecable. Superb location, in the centre, yer quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    8.3
    Overall very good stay as it served the purpose of value for money in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was so uncomfortable. I could feel the spring in the mattress. And the design of the bathroom is not good with the big pillar next to bath

    Location of hotel was excellent and staff were great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    Great Location to explore the city from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think for the price of the property breakfast should have been included. Apart from that there was nothing I didn't like.

    The location was excellent. Our room was a good size and very comfortable. The curtains gave total blackout which is great. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for a break in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kettle in the bedrooms for a morning cuppa, shops were not always open to go buy one .would be a great touch

    Very central.. immaculate and lovely staff . Taxi booked for us and arrived on time

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    6.7
    Overall pretty good but the breakfast wasn’ quite as good as other locations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room got very warm during the afternoon but the air conditioner did not work-fortunately we could open the doors to the terrace to cool down the room

    The room had a nice big terrace which made up for the small room-small but comfortable bed Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    8.3
    Exceptionally located, good comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pricey breakfast. Not enough light in the bathroom, you shower in the dark. As well, the shower curtain doesn't fit in an marble bath:)

    Super central position, 5 min walking to central market, city hall plaza, shopping street, cathedral etc. Comfortable room, well equipped, large screen TV, good speed Wi-Fi included. Bathroom in marble.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked everything about this hotel.

    The best location ever!!! Super central. Yet on the side of the Main Street allowing me to open my window, feel safe. But not too noisy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant for breakfast was far too small for the size of hotel , there was a queue every morning . The bar was never open during our stay

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    8.8
    Valencia is beautiful, lots to do and see and the food and wine were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    car parking was 23 euros for 1 night so a little bit expensive !

    The hotel was perfect for our needs, location really good for everything. Room was small but lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    9.6
    Most enjoyable and would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to ask for dishes for breakfast most mornings as not enough available at busy times. Always a que for coffee machine, would need a second one. Otherwise food was v good.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and very clean. Hotel location was excellent within walking distance of all places of interest. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Extra helpful staff who recommended a great paella restaurant (thanks, Israel). Handy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No locking bathroom door. Bathroom door is translucent glass, limiting privacy. In-room safe has odd locking mechanism, meaning you have to pay 40 Euros if you lose the key (which we didn't, thank goodness).

    Large enough room for the three of us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    7.9
    Had a great time , central for everything and let down by very little. Would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast Room rather dingy and bland. Lack of tourist type leaflets and brochures. Mini Bar empty. Confusing sign. You call it Catalina Hotel Excelsior and the sign out side is just Excelsior.

    The location was great. Very central. Room spotless. Cleaned daily. Reception and bar staff very competent. Room was more than adequate and the balcony added to the WOW.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    4.2
    Except the location there is very less to like about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are tiny and bed is also tiny for a family stay, they are noisy, one can hear neighbours, elevator sounds all night. The bathrooms are again very tiny it’s good enough for one person, the room we were offered didn’t have proper ventilation. The staff is not friendly. For the money we spent we would get a better deal anywhere in the city.

    Except the location there is very less to like about the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: