Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Spain hotel reviews
  3. Basque Country hotel reviews
  4. Portugalete hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of GHPC Portugalete-Bilbao

Reviews of GHPC Portugalete-Bilbao This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Maria Diaz de Haro, 2, 48920 Portugalete, Spain

#6 of 8 hotels in Portugalete

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 942 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2019

    9.2
    A comfortable stay in a well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hard to locate (even with GPS) and get into carpark. View was affected by scaffolding as the hotel is being renovated; but the hotel gave us free breakfast for that minor inconvenience.

    Well located hotel, on edge of the old town and overlooking the river. Our corner room was huge.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2019

    7.1
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovation work was going on - very noisy. This resulted in the restaurant being closed which we only discovered when we went to have dinner. Should have been advised of this at check-in. My husband is disabled and is unable to walk far therefore I had to go out and buy food from a nearby shop to eat in our room. Very unsatisfactory.

    Fantastic location.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    8.3
    Good location for a stopover before catching Bilbao Ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow check in procedure due to only one member of staff available. problems getting doors to car park to open. Work is currently ongoing in this hotel so restaurant was not available. This was not a problem but it would have been good to be informed

    Great location and historical exterior of building with newly refurbished bedrooms. Underground parking available Comfortable rooms with views of river and transporter bridge Reasonable value for money

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2019

    7.5
    lovely airy room with wonderful views over the river and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    we wanted to relax and enjoy the views on arrival but were forced out by the noise of the builders renovating the hotel. the receptionist offered us a free breakfast but that didn't help the noise and must be very hard for the staff to work in. the bathroom was a bit of a disaster area- when I wanted a bath I had to go to reception and ask for a plug and wait for it to be delivered to the room, the shower was over the bath and only a handheld one not wall mounted and the overflow from the sink wasn't connected to anything and the water just ran on to the floor!

    lovely airy room with wonderful views over the river and bridge friendly staff freshly cooked omelette/ scrambled eggs at breakfast

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    6.3
    Staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One floor under renovation and restaurant closed. No tea/coffee facilities. Extremely expensive breakfast. Water for tea heated in cup in mocrowave. Shower attachment broken

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2019

    8.3
    Would I stay here again, yes, absolutely? Hence 4/5 recommendation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is one of the hardest reviews I’ve decided to do, Why? Well, put simply, almost everything about the hotel was wrong or not up to standard but I still rate it 4/5. I’ll explain. Let’s start with the access, road parking virtually none existent at the hotel, entry to the hotel was on the opposite side of the building furthest from the road. No comment on the quality of the food, as I mentioned earlier, due to the restaurant being closed. Rooms very, very tired, bathrooms with ceilings stained and different patterned tiles, paint work on the walls scratched and damaged and I have slept on more comfortable mattresses.

    In fairness, interior does appear to be under refurbishment, reception staff are excellent, and the rooms, bedding etc, very clean and for a city location the view from the room balcony was wonderful. Underground parking is available at an extra charge, but because of lack of parking outside the hotel would do well to consider reducing this cost Would I stay here again, yes, absolutely? Hence 4/5 recommendation. Location was excellent, great view from the room, architecture of and around the hotel interesting, (ignore modern apartment blocks) and proximity to Bilbao port, twenty minutes.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    7.9
    Average stay due to hotels facilities being severely affected fur to ongoing renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See previous comments

    Excellent breakfast and accomanying service. Great location on the river just a big pity that we were not informed that the restaurant and bar would be closed due to renovations during our stay. This had a profound impact on the quality of our stay despite the hotel management's appeal to the contrary. Reception staff were pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    9.6
    Bathroom great, except no bidet, and beds firm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More expensive than usual but it was Easter weekend. No bidet

    Bathroom great, except no bidet, and beds firm and comfortable. Dog allowed and secure parking. WiFi was good and easy to access. Plenty of space in room and fantastic view and balcony overlooking the harbour/ river. Great breakfast including fried eggs and other cooked items if requested.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    5.0
    Very disappointed with both the Hotel & bookings.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being told that the restaurant, bar & rooms were been refurbished therefore closed. The room smelt of varnish & needed refurbishment which won’t be completed till end of year.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    8.3
    Ok but more attention to guest needs e.g. a cafe and English television would help a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It needed a restaurant...or at least a cafe. There were no tea or coffee making facilities..no mini bar. While I realise that the hotel was in the process of being refurbished, some attention should be paid to the basic needs of the guests e.g. beverages provision

    The staff at the front counter were courteous and helpful. The hotel uis very well positioned. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    8.8
    Great view over the bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    its a bit far from the historical old town of Bilbao

    Its located at the Puente Colgante right below. Great view of the water and the bridge. They have parking as well.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2019

    7.1
    Would not stay again, no warning of works but after a long drive and being badly let down at previ
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bar or restaurant, entire hotel being refurbished, very noisy, only breakfast served, very expensive, badly cooked and served on cold plates.

    The view of the. River and transporter bridge. The car park. The receptionist was very helpful, top marks to him!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2019

    6.3
    Location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The premises were under construction. Restaurant was closed on day 1. Bar was not open at all. Was in a lovely room but toxic fumes required a to move to another room at midnight on the 2nd night.

    Location was awesome. Beautiful building. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast on day 2 was good and more than continental. In lieu of changing rooms there was no further charge for breakfast. Satisfied with results of that negotiation.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2019

    7.1
    Good for location and pet.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bar or restaurant so we had to go out, we were tired after a long journey so would of been nice to have had a drink and meal at hotel.

    Great location and pet friendly, nice big room , plenty of space for dog bed.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2019

    7.9
    Staff helpful, room clean but no other facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is being refurbished so no bar or kitchen facilities. We stayed on a Monday when most restaurants are closed.

    Helpful staff, excellent position, clean room and only 15 mins from ferry port

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2019

    7.9
    Riverside hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All fine

    Great Riverside location with view to iconic transporter bridge. Hotel being decorated for season so not all facilities available hence lower score. Would return

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    5.5
    Great location for ferry port but not cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Guggenheim Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a large hotel the restaurant was disappointing. English menu which was very limited if you didn't want sandwiches or burgers.

    Very close to ferry port and lovely views over the river. Nice cafe bar. Secure parking with a charge. Excellent location but couldn't explore due to really heavy rain on the night of the stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    4.6
    Dinner was appalling, breakfast good but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The starter & main meal was raw, I sent them back told them to keep it and I wasn't paying for it, I went round to reception , told them the above tale, he went mad and went into have a chat with the so called chef. 2 other tables had complained also. Never ever staying there again.

    Ok

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    8.8
    Overall the hotel and staff made guests very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointed with evening meal, meat very undercooked despite giving a preference for how it should be cooked. Not the only table who complained on this matter.

    Excellent location and view from the room.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Menu could have been a little more extensive

    Brilliant location . Overnight stay before catching the ferry at Bilbao could not have been better. I'm just

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower did not work it was broken. Restaurant was poor only burgers for main meal not use to such poor food the Basque cuisine is better than this.

    Spacious room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    7.1
    Great position and convenient for the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Car park was full when we arrived at 5-00pm and had to use a nearby car park which charged 24 euros overnight

    Great position and convenient for the ferry

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    8.8
    Overall good, 6.5/10.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No iron. Breakfast too expensive. No vending machines (hard to find a shop after 9.30pm). No tea/coffee in the room.

    Great location. Very friendly staff. Big room, great views.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    7.5
    Location for the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a good makeover. - Décor getting tired, threadbare carpet, corridors roasting hot, bed not comfortable.

    Location for the ferry. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    We needed somewhere overnight as we were catching an early ferry back to the UK. This fits the bill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. All good.

    Hotel was right on the river and overlooking the air bridge. It had a secure car park under the hotel which was slightly difficult to get into.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.6
    Great pet friendly,y hotel close to the ferry terminal in Bilbao
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Garage access is restricted to 2m which is not helpful for an SUV with roof box. The alternative is local on street parking which is advised to be safe and lots of people did it. We took the roof box off just in case.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurant with outside terrace and very dog friendly. Within 15mins drive of the Brittany Feries terminal which is important for early starts.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    5.4
    The hotel really needs a facelift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel really needs a facelift. The carpet in our room was totally threadbare, the door was delaminating because of the water spray from the shower and there were paint nicks all over the wall. Not worth the money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.9
    An OK hotel in a lovely town
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room opens on the street and terrible construction noises came in almost continually. The restaurant did not open for dinner, and the food served instead was terrible. People smoked all over the terrace.

    Great location. Close to the Old Section with its attractions (the church and the tower), on the one hand, and to the famous bridge and air-borne shuttle over the river, on the other. The town boasts one of the most citizens-helpful device I have seen: A very long moving sidewalk to help the residents go up the very long and steep street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    7.1
    The location is awesome, , the bar and the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite plain, it looks more like a cheap hotel room, plus it is the first time I see carpet in a hotel room in Spain... I feel carpet is disgusting always, specially in a humid and warm country. I would invest a bit on removing the carpet from those rooms...

    The location is awesome, , the bar and the restaurant downstairs are also good, and the staff was lovely, we asked for an extra bed in the room and we had no problem.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    8.8
    Friendly male receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening meal did not have enough variety/vegetables. Disability access not obvious/explained at entrance.

    Friendly male receptionist. Clean. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    10
    I usually don't sleep well in hotels but this was one of...
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I usually don't sleep well in hotels but this was one of the two best experiences I've ever had! The location is just awesome - especially the view from the balcony at the river. I wished I could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    10
    Perfect night's stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. Literally ten mins from the port so perfect to stay over before an early sailing back to the UK. For anybody with a motorbike they have an underground garage so you can sleep with peace of mind your bikes safe. Beds are really comfortable and we had a room with a balcony overlooking the river. Really lovely to sit and relax. We will definately be returning. 😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.1
    Great location and close to Bilbao ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room had unserviceable fridge, moved to second room had unserviceable TV remote. Only one small shower gel and shampoo for two people.

    Great location, great staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was lovely, food was disappointing however
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to find even with the sat nav, restaurant was poor with very little choice in the evening. The breakfast was poor, not a lot of choice, staff disappeared without explain how to to use the coffee machine

    Room was very nice, clean with plenty of space, bathroom was roomy too We had a great view of the bridge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.6
    Great position with nice terrace and pleasant restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dark underground car park with VERY tight parking spaces 16euros per night and very easy to scratch your car

    Great position with nice terrace and pleasant restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    7.5
    unesco heritage site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms had smelly wall to wall carpets and the some of the items were not fresh.

    The location was great as the hotel was next to the Unesco heritage site Viscaya Bridge. The hotel had underground parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    6.7
    Better on the outside than inside.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room decor was dark and tired. Minibar door had been left open and drinks weren't cold. Excessive charge for 2 small dogs and also parking was extra. No food served between 4 - 8 then restaurant was open, although food wasn't memorable but adequate. Most expensive hotel bill we've had for far less than we normally receive. Chose this hotel for the location, but will stick to Bilbao centre next year.

    Secure parking. Room had a balcony. Good wifi signal. Close to ferry port.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cheaper breakfast, a bit of rip off at £14.00. The bar shut at 21:00 on Sunday night. Not much use as there was nowhere else decent nearby. Finding the hotel and how to get into garage was not easy. Needs better signage and allow street level entry. Accessibility was poor as steps had to be negotiated. Overall the hotel had pretensions of grandeur but really was rather second rate.

    The waterfront situation was good. that's about it. the hotel is fairly average.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    Travelling back to UK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Decoration in bedroom and bathroom dated and worn

    Location location location! Great view across the river from bedroom balcony Lovely comfy bed Friendly helpful staff Dog friendly Near to Bilbao port for morning ferry

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    8.8
    But had a nice stay overall, would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattress was probably covered in plastic underneath the sheets, so everytime you moved it sqeaked a bit and it wasn’t breathable.

    The location and the view was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    5.8
    The soft towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The thin walls... you heard every word from next room. Stressed breakfast staff.. when we waited for to be served at the bar, the staff "didnt see us", served person that come after us, so we went to other cafe for to eat.

    The soft towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.6
    Bilboa is great but Portugalete is worth a stay on its own - getting both is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walk to the metro is about 10-15 minutes uphill but it is a hilly city.

    The view from the room of the river and the transporter bridge was spectacular. Onsite parking costs a bit but is secure and in the hotel, rare in this area. Location was great both for the local area and for getting into Bilbao by metro. Breakfast was great the first morning with fresh made omelets but the small staff was overwhelmed by a large group the second day. We ate dinners in the local area and had great food for very reasonable prices. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.5
    Good choice for 1-2 days but no longer
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible food at the restaurant (recycled potato chips, extremely salty burgers, low quality beef cuts), poor and overpriced breakfast, apart from the reception no one else speaks English. I tried to eat at a couple of restaurants nearby the hotel but no English speaking staff and no English menus which was impossible to order and had to leave.

    Comfortable bed, good-size and clean room, friendly staff, good location with river view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    Will book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing we didn't like.

    Excellent room overlooking river. 3 course meal in evening plus wine for 18 euros each, less 5% discount. excellent. All staff very friendly and helpful and all spoke good English. 10 mins from ferry terminal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding area didn't have a lot to offer in terms of attractions - but, to be fair, the bad weather might have influenced that impression.

    The room was clean and comfortable with a good view of the transporter bridge. There was private parking under the hotel but that was quite difficult to get to without prior direction.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    5.0
    Very difficult to find even with a Sat Nav
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grand it ain't except for the front façade. Think IBI and you won't be disappointed. If you are travelling by car, you really have to use their garage which is secure and perfectly adequate, but it costs 16 eu per night. The breakfast is very poor at about 14 eu, avoid. I had an inexpensive ok evening meal on first night, my wife's meal was very poor.The room was sparse, 1 chair and 1 pillow per person. Bathroom was ok.

    The man on reception was excellent, explained how to get to the sites via metro, fairly easy once you've been told how. Saved what might have been a terrible stay into a reasonable one. On our second we went to an excellent restaurant called Garbatella, 2 minutes walk from hotel, not cheap but an excellent meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    4.6
    the distance from the ferry was a major factor in choosing this hotel ans on that score our choice w
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant choices were very poor and not to our liking. The tapas bar food was acceptable but had been prepared many hours ago and the staff refused to replace any of the dishes when they were finished. I did enjoy egg and mayonnaise tapas but there was only one left

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    9.6
    a very memorable stay.. would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the matters protector was a little too noisy and uncomfortable (so it was removed) but other than that it was worth the money!

    the view was outstanding, the staff was incredibly helpful. the bathroom was exceptionally clean and up to our standards.. and the safety was comforting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    7.9
    We had a good-sized room with a bathroom with bathtub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Previously we've stayed at the front of the hotel looking at the river: those rooms apparently cost a little more now. We would have liked at least two chairs in the room, but there was only a single uncomfortable one!

    We had a good-sized room with a bathroom with bathtub. We had a view of the market place. We ate one night in the dining room and that was pretty good value. Portugalete has loads and loads of bars and we had a brilliant time checking many of them out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    When we arrived the intercom that allows access to the car park was faulty. The receptionist came all the way down to tell us where to park. He was probably the most helpful receptionist we have met. He even drew a map to show us where the cheapest filling station was. The hotel us ideally situated for the transporter bridge. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Have been many times before and will be back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food could be better.

    Great staff at this hotel that is excellently situated for the Port. Great for accepting dogs and good area for walking. Love this hotel and Bilbao.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    8.3
    Convenient to port and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Disappointing for a superior room compared to Teruel. No wardrobe doors and when mentioned at the reception they had no reason as to why.

    Room view across the river. Central position for ferry back home. Room a bit basic on facilities but adequate for 2 nights. Excellent reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    7.5
    Overall comfortable hotel in an excellent location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was expensive and difficult to access and exit. clear instruction with the booking confirmation would have helped considerably.

    The hotel was in an ideal location with views of the swinging bridge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    7.9
    Well located hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattresses are uncomfortable and you can feel the springs, and the bathroom is a little worn. In addition, it is not possible to have a light breakfast in the cafe until after 8am which is too late for the sailing to Portsmouth.

    This is my second visit to the hotel and it gets better with familiarity. The rooms are of a good size and the hotel is clean, spacious and well located for promenading, shopping and local bars. It is also pet friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    9.6
    Overnight only on way to ferry Bill to Portsmouth. Very convenient. Comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Underground car parking tight.

    View of the suspension bridge from bedroom window. Location. Friendly staff. We have stayed here several times as convenient for ferry. Always our first choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    9.6
    Great location, on site parking and beautiful views over the UNESCO bridge!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dark colours in bedrooms.

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, pariticularly front reception who helped to plan our trip into Bilbao and evening restaurant recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    7.5
    Really enjoyable, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You should be able to reserve car park, when you are traveling you have a car full of luggage and I would not have slept if it was just parked out on the street! The hotel desperately needs some lights in the garage! There are no facilities to get a coffee if you are leaving early morning!

    Ideal for ferry

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    7.9
    Very good value as we found a special offer.....would go again, just wished we had more time there..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After dinner we wanted to sit outside on the patio where other people where but this created a problem for some reason...I think it was because of an outside bar.....but we went anyway, it was cooler outside and pleasant to finish our drinks there...

    Position of hotel, staff very friendly and helpful.......

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit hard to find entrance.

    The staff was very friendly and checking in and out was done quickly. The restaurant staff was very helpful and the food was very nice. Location is amazing, there is a very interesting bridge with ferry next to accomodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    7.1
    Good location- nice terrace bar and staff were good
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were a bit jaded and noisy corridors internally- carpets worn and stained

    Waiter in restaurant was seriously under pressure but despite this was very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    6.3
    Good location for ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant menu had limited choices went to a local one instead. Music from outside bar loud in room until 11pm.

    Size of room was exceptionally high with a good view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    10
    So wonderful place, highly recommend you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Slow Wi-fi connection

    Portugalete is a perfect place to stay for romantic couples. The view from the balcony is magnificent. We were looking at Puente Colgante and Ria de Bilbao every morning, were running by the embankment, breathing sea air and in the evening were drinking excellent wine txakoli with selfmade pintxos on the balcony. The room, bathroom and bed were big and comfortable. The staff was very nice and frendly! The cleaning was every day. There are many small shops and bars near the hotel, the nearest beach is 15 min walk across the bridge, but we prefered wilder beaches, which could be reached by metro (about 40 min). We really liked our stay there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient for the ferry. Our stay was pleasant and we will book again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was difficult to find the hotel. I was disappointed that there weren't any tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    The location was very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in charming Portugalete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old, beautiful hotel - perfectly located right beside the river and the old transporter bridge, which has been renovated and is working continually. You can take a car or bike over to the other side of the river, and for pedestrians its just 40 cents each way! The rooms are comfortable, the reception area is lovely. There are outside terraces for drinks and food and an interior restaurant, plus a bar with a selection of pintxxo on display. Super underground parking is available which was ideal for our motorbike. Its the perfect location for a ferry crossing from Bilbao to England as it is only about 7 miles to the ferry port. The actual town of Portugalete has lots of bars and restaurants serving local food, or you can make the crossing and dine on the other side of the river. We love it here and will return next time we use the ferry back to England. Its just lovely and the Basque people are very welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurants near by unless you catch the bridge ferry across the river.

    Great place to stay especially if catching the ferry. Staff very helpful. Ask for a too with a view!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    6.7
    Decent hotel in a decent area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When arriving by car it is not clear where the lobby is and the back of the hotel looks grim.

    Proximity to the bridge and access to the Getxo area. Location beside the river very convenient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    10
    Beautiful building, full of character, good location for the Brittany ferry Excellent value for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no negative feed back

    Beautiful old building, full of character , good location for the Brittany ferry departing early next morning, very friendly and help staff, arrived late but upgraded to a lovely suit, dinner and breakfast great. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    7.5
    Great stopover spoilt by one miserable staff member.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Waitress in the restaurant gave the impression that she would rather have been anywhere, other than waiting on us. A great pity as all the other bar/restaurant staff were happy and helpful.

    Helpful, staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    9.2
    Another Visit to this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was closed on the night of our stay.

    Second visit and the hotel is very well staffed and reception staff speak very good English. Breakfast self-service and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    6.7
    In an excellent waterfront position and handy for the ferry port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did think that this hotel was expensive for the quality of the room. There was evidence of water damage in the room; the bathroom door was damaged and the carpet was stained. The bathroom was tired and needed a re-vamp and the door to the room was damaged. At the end of a 18 day road trip this was the most expensive hotel....with the smallest room.

    Conveniently close to the ferry port - only five minutes. Interesting place; the gondola bridge was interesting. The walk along the waterfront was pleasant. We ate in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed a very good set-menu meal for a very reasonable price. The hotel is in an excellent position on the waterfront.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is right along the river front and the room we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms need to be updated but they were clean and presentable.

    The hotel is right along the river front and the room we were in had an amazing view and a little deck. The rooms were quiet. We were above the restaurant patio and heard nothing. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2017

    5.8
    Stay spoilt by food and other charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited choice on dinner menu - no vegetarian option for my wife. Breakfast very limited and very expensive at 14 euros per person. Two nights' garage pus one dinner and one breakfast (for two persons) amounted to 99 euros!

    Location very good next to Viscaya bridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    7.5
    The restaurant and bar area were closed for renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant and bar area were closed for renovation. There was no prior notice given.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2019

    10
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    location quality of room value for money

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    10
    Excellent experience overall.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Location was fantastic. View of the Viscaya Bridge was a spectacular bonus.

    Stayed in May 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse GHPC Portugalete-Bilbao Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: