Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lachea This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Cardinale Dusmet 4, 95021 Aci Castello, Italy

#13 of 36 hotels in Aci Castello

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 317 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    10
    Comfy at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not too like

    Good location for our needs - close to Catania, yet out of the city. The hotel is close to a busy road, but very quiet. This is a very comfortable, unpretentious hotel. Will certainly book here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was fine, nothing to complain about.

    We really enjoyed our stay, the room was beautiful, the view was exceptional (ask for room nr 400), beds comfortable. The staff is wonderful,- open, helpful, smiling. Lachea has a nice swimming pool and good restaurant, the prices are fair- hoping to visit again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we had was separate from the main building and very noisy. You could hear people coming and going and doors banging.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned every day.It was a 10 minute walk down to the front which was quite steep but worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    8.8
    Realxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You could hear real easy through the walls and door when someone was outside or in their rooms. The breakfast wasn't that good, I missed some fresh fruit, juices and bread and not so mutch sweetes. And the reception staff didn't know so mutch about the buss to Catania where to jump of and so.

    The staff was very friendly and helpfull and showed us where the buss stop was and booked a taxi to airport. The pool and everything was really nice and clean and you could relax in the sun with a good view of the sea 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    9.6
    Great location,worth to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had only 1 glass for 2person.

    Beautiful view to the sea, good location: close enough to Catania, but roads are less busy then there. March is off-season, but we had gorgeous time there. Tasty breakfast,mainly sweets. Staff is very friendly and supportive. Clean rooms, we can heat with airco as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    8.8
    Staff very helpful and dinner at the hotel was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at the extension and would have preferred to stay in the hotel itself for the lift. Some better soundproofing of the rooms.

    Staff very helpful and dinner at the hotel was excellent. Parking was very good and rooms had a wonderful view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    8.3
    It is a great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I guess we stayed in the smoking room, we were not aware when we booked, we could smell a scent of cigarettes.

    The staff is supernice and helpful, very good breakfast, nice location, nice seaview

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    7.9
    Will return for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good but can be better with perhaps some fried eggs, bacon or sausages.

    Very nice view from the sea-view rooms with a large terrace facing Ciclopi islands. Walking distance to sea were you can find some good restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    9.2
    - breakfast was nice althought only cold dishes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - it is just near the road and can be a hard to get to the sea and to anywhere - there is no beach near the Hotel - one should drive to get a decent entrance in the water - there is almost no public Transport available - might be difficult for People without a car

    - breakfast was nice althought only cold dishes - the bed was very big and comfy - the staff was very friendly and very trying to help - lunch and dinner in the reastaurant were very good with big portions - Swimming pool is not big, but with a nice depth

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    8.8
    lovely view from balcony and pool side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel claims to be in Aci Castelo but is in Aci Trezza - not a problem but misleading.

    lovely view from balcony and pool side. Large bedrooms and very clean. Great snorkelling around faraglioni from kayaks and pedalos

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close proximity of some of the rooms to a busy road. The breakfast is monotonous, same in every day. After a few days you feel the need for variation.

    Quite close to the Port of the Aci Trezza, a walking distance (approx 5-7 min on foot). Decent rooms, the swimming pool it's ok, a great view to the sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    9.6
    Loved the Lachea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well, perhaps it was lost in translation, but when I booked, I thought I was getting an extra bedroom; instead I got an extra bed. ( problem when the word "bedroom" is written on the booking.com website when in reality the word should have been "bed." Some people may believe the decor of the room is outdated; I found it to be antiquated as the city of Aci Terezza.

    Friendliness of staff; location of the property - incredible view from ocean front balcony. Easy walking distance to the piazza and town. During the day, adventurous people could experience diving off the lava rocks into the sea, or simply relax on one of the lidos. At night you have your choice of shopping in boutiques or having dinner in a small cafe to an expensive. Another bonus: Superb sunsets from our balcony! Area was very clean- saw workers cleaning the pool area, tile stairs always smelled as though just washed, etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2017

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great 3 star hotel in a nice area close to the sea. Our room had a good sized balcony with sea views. Food at the restaurant was very good. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    10
    Good quality and very reasonably priced restaurant - also,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com has the hotel as Aci Castello - as the hotel own letterhead says it actually in Aci Trezza, which is fine but makes you doubt where the satnav is taking you.

    Good quality and very reasonably priced restaurant - also, it was my wifes birthday at the time of our visit and after I asked for a surprise cake they laid on great do and presentation!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    6.3
    A bit disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the fourth time we stayed in this hotel. We are usually given a lovely room but we were disappointed this time because instead of facing the sea the room faced a pile of rubbish outside. I did complain and they offered me a better room the next day but we were only staying two nights so it was not worth moving. I had also asked for two rooms in the extension of the hotel upon booking, but they told me that this was not possible. What a pity because I don't think we will be returning now.

    I like Aci castello and this is one of the reasons that we choose this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    9.6
    Had a super time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Coach parties taking over the pool at weekends and booking sunbeds with their towels long before they were using the sunbeds.

    Staff extremely helpful, clean towels every day.Superb dinner menu for 13 euros per person. Thoroughly enjoyed out stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    8.3
    Fine hotel close to the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was poorly lit. The room was clean, but it smelled a little of chemical cleaning products.

    The room had a beautiful view on the coast. The pool was a very nice addition (even if the water was cold). It is pretty close to the central square of Aci Trezza, a few minutes on foot. Very friendly at the reception. Very good price/quality ratio for this region.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    9.6
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The hotel is situated on a hill and it is a steep climb especially after hours when the car park is closed.

    Warm welcoming staff the excellent view and garden, the pool. Complimentary toiletries and change of towels daily. Bar available 24 hours. Great location to the main square. We had a wonderful time and were thoroughly relaxed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2016

    8.8
    Location & Private Parking are a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is our second time staying at Lachea Hotel. It is within walking distance from the lungomare; where one can find several restaurants offering a vast selection of fresh fish. Private & secure parking space is available. Most rooms are overlooking the beautiful scenery of I Faraglioni Di Acitrezza.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2016

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really helpful staff. Pool is great and has lovely views. The restaurant offers a 4 course meal for €13 each - amazing value and good food too. Room was exactly as pictures show, and had a gorgeous terrace with it (pictured)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    8.8
    Good quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite good breakfast for Italian standards. Pool is clean and rooms are quite spacious. Bar prices are very good. 4 course Dinner excluding beverages is only Eur13!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel with great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful hotel with great service. Delicious breakfast (amazing cakes 😍).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel not very far from the sea and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is old and needs refurbishment

    Comfortable big double bed and large terrace with sea view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay in Aci Castello
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom can be cleaner

    Location, parking & breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    7.5
    Nothing to complain apart from the following complaint
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The gamberoni from the restaurant was bad and made one of us very sick

    Nothing to complain apart from the following complaint

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    9.6
    Noise level of people in hallway shutting doors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise level of people in hallway shutting doors.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    10
    A very good hotel. Will go again for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked the balcony with a wonderful view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    8.8
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    location was good

    comfortable rooms and a lovely pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    9.6
    Good location, very clean, breakfast good and staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location, very clean, breakfast good and staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money paid for it, compare with another...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is not so reach, but enough.

    Great value for money paid for it, compare with another places in area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2016

    8.3
    Hotel has private parking, good breakfast, friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing

    Hotel has private parking, good breakfast, friendly staff and beautiful views.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff war excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    8.3
    on the whole it was worth staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast when ham finished they didn't bring more out

    Yes they were tasty

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2016

    10
    friendly staff and very helpful ,nice view,15min to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    good breakfast but could be better

    friendly staff and very helpful ,nice view,15min to waterfront,restaurants and bars...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2016

    7.5
    Room with seaview on small island and rocks.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Building is like echochamber, no soundproofing anywhere, floors in stone, doors not soundproofed. Chairs moved in dining room elsewhere on groundfloor are heard in room on 1st (from ca 5.30 am on when preps for breakfast begin). Doors clapping in corridors. Groups of guests talking loudly in corridors late at night. I don't understand why an effort isn't made to remedy this and make it a super cozy small hotel with a beautiful view and location.

    Room with seaview on small island and rocks. Nice balcony with ample sitting space. Fine, good beds. Free parking on premises, walking distance to very atmospheric Italinian fishermans village. Nice pool.

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2016

    7.9
    This hotel offers a nice getaway from the busy &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We travel regularly to Sicily, therefore we are used to the tasteful and appetizing Sicilian cuisine that most restaurants offer. We decided to have dinner at Hotel Lachea Restaurant, as we have had read some good reviews. But to our surprise the food was nothing special, it was very basic and not tasteful at all.

    This hotel offers a nice getaway from the busy & polluted city of Catania. It is easy to find with GPS & offers a secure parking area. We were given a very clean room, with a balcony offering us open views of the sea. Hotel is located less than 10 mins away from the lovely coast of Aci Castello. Breakfast had a wide variety of pastry, bread & fruit, everything was fresh.

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2016

    6.7
    Great distant view of sea, spacious balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed very uncomfortable, king size made of 2 twin mattresses put together. Old facilities, barely appointed. Receptionist not helpful.

    Great distant view of sea, spacious balcony

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    8.3
    Very nice location with free parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old furniture with bathtube and no shower. The building might need a renovation.

    Very nice location with free parking. Polite staff. Very good quality/price ratio. Warmly recommended room n. 310 with a beautiful sea view.

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    10
    Nice location close to harbour and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice location close to harbour and restaurants. Excellent variety at breakfast including fresh scrambled egg. Good pool with plenty of sun. Lots of parking .

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2015

    7.1
    Good location, pool available, free parking possibility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at reception only gives information when you directly ask "When is the breakfast?" "Where is the breakfast room?" "Can you tell me the WLAN code?" Otherwise you would not get any info.

    Good location, pool available, free parking possibility.Free WLAN.

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2015

    9.6
    staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    staff excellent. nothing to mucu trouble. Restaurant, well a 4 course meal for 13 euros! where in the world can you get that deal. All foodfreshly cooked and cold buffet a pleasure to look at never mind to eat. Would highly recommened this Hotel. No problems with any services and on top of that a huge swimming pool to cool off in and get your excise.

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2015

    7.9
    Great staff, always willing to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have been cleaner. Needs some maintenance to be done.

    Great staff, always willing to help. Perfect place to spend a few days and see the surroundings.

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2015

    8.8
    The Hotel is small and inviting, hotel staff are helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    it is a little tired in places but extremely well maintained, and of course to achieve such a great view over the bay you are situated on a hill which if you are walking may not be suitable for everyone. good exercise for others. We were with teenage girls whose life depends on Wi-Fi, it was excellent in lobby area and restaurant, but is temperamental on the 2nd floor bedrooms where we were but everyone tried their best to help, the girls managed to still communicate with the rest of the world 24/7.

    The Hotel is small and inviting, hotel staff are helpful and friendly, pool was clean and had a fantastic view of the sea. Hotel provides an ample continental breakfast which always was well stocked and staff could not do enough to meet your needs. Restaurant was good and very well priced with the same good service throughout the hotel. Would love to go back again, no problem and would compliment them on their service. :)

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2015

    10
    I was really happy to see how well placed the hotel is, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was dark at night :)

    I was really happy to see how well placed the hotel is, the view was just amazing, the breakfast was nice if you come early and our room was nice and clean, every day clean towels and fresh bed linens. The pool was quite big and with a nice overview of the city.

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2015

    3.8
    We had hot water at least!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Requested double bed no smoking, got two singes pushed together and a room smelling of cigarettes with a broken bathroom mirror. Noisy location. Poor breakfast selection. We couldnt wait to leave!

    We had hot water at least!

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2015

    7.5
    The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was a bit difficult at the front of the hotel as some spaces were blocked off awaiting the arrival of a coach party. We went down for breakfast within good time but found many of the producrs had gone.

    The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a lovely view with the sea and rocky islands. It was only a short drive from the restaurants in the harbour.

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2015

    10
    We booked last minute due to escape from a terrible place we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only downside was our room was near a road and the traffic was noisy but everything else more than made up for that.

    We booked last minute due to escape from a terrible place we found ourselves originally in. This hotel saved our holiday. The staff, location and facilities were lovely.

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2015

    9.6
    The staff is very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom was run down, but still acceptable.

    The staff is very helpful. They printed out our boarding pass for the flight. The rooms are good. WiFi available. Breakfast is good. Parking no problem.

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2016

    10
    Clean, nice, perfect breakfast, pool, wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, nice, perfect breakfast, pool, wifi. Big room.

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2016

    9.6
    Great stuff and perfect parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great stuff and perfect parking. Rooms very clean.

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2016

    10
    The staff are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are great

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2015

    10
    Wonderfull seaview, kindness, nice staff, divine food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderfull seaview, kindness, nice staff, divine food. Everything was perfect!!!

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2015

    9.2
    Great staff and lovely pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience!

    Great staff and lovely pool. We had a great room with a little terrace with a fantastic view.

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    8.8
    good location, excellent value for money, free wifi, big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    free wifi was a bit slow

    good location, excellent value for money, free wifi, big rooms, good breakfast and helpful recptionists

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    9.6
    The staff is very nice and the hotel is very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff is very nice and the hotel is very clean. Value for money

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2015

    9.6
    The position of the hotel, swimming pool and a very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    The position of the hotel, swimming pool and a very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2015

    10
    Their fixed meal plan is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Their fixed meal plan is excellent. The cost is low and the food is abundant and deliciously home-made.

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2015

    9.2
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    tiny point: WiFi is not always working from the room

    everything

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was great

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2015

    10
    Everyone was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was cleaned every day. The breakfast was more than adequate and the pool was amazing.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2015

    5.8
    Dranage smell and tv had no sound
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dranage smell and tv had no sound

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Hotel Lachea Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: