Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

SS 120 Km 200, 95012 Castiglione di Sicilia, Italy

#11 of 18 hotels in Castiglione di Sicilia

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 255 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    10
    The staff was utterly friendly and above all flexible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I did not like. And we are frequent and demanding travellers. All expectations were met.

    The staff was utterly friendly and above all flexible. I arrived late with the children and still they were allowed a little swim. We ate well and staff made them the centre of attention. Rooms were clean and well prepared in advance. Kids loved the sight of the helicopter arriving. And the tour with a fantastic guide to the Etna was splendid. And even after check out kids could refresh again in the pool. Also thanks to golfpro Norman for some tips and tricks. We will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the money. Nicer places close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are stale and smell like smoke and old people. Modern art throughout featuring naked women which is inappropriate for children. Pool had a rope around it discouraging use and was very chilly. Spa use not included in room rate.

    Close to my etna. Good golf course with friendly golf staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.5
    In line with expectations, good for the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food options at the in house restaurant wasn't great unfortunately.

    The staff were lovely and accommodating. We had booked a junior suite, however, we didn't like the split level where the bathroom was on a different floor to the bed, so we had requested for a room change. The staff were great with dealing with this room change and did it with little hassle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2018

    9.2
    Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Posto bello e rilassante con buffet abbondante e buono a cena e colazione Lovely and relaxing place with a huge and delicious buffet for dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected much more for the price. The rooms are fairly basic, not very well lit, nothing special. The car park is gravel - terrible for roller suitcases. Meals were ok, but again nothing special at the price. Gym was tiny and poorly equipped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    9.6
    Nice resort hotel and golf course In a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was initially very cold due to a fault in the heating system. We informed the reception and they offered us a choice of 2 alternatives.

    The hotel rooms were comfortable and there was a great atmosphere in the public areas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    8.8
    The room was large and cousy with also Sky tv.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was large and cousy with also Sky tv. For breakfast there was a variety of food available including gluten free options. Fair prices and also a discount to play golf!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    6.7
    How could it possibly be a 4 star hotel ?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No glasses, no bathrobe, no shower cap ,no water boiler, only 2 cheap plastic cups & an old tv. It reminds me of a motel room with plenty of space with nothing in it. Don't know how they could get 4 stars !? It doesn't worth the price unless you really can't live without the golf. And don't expect a responsive wifi.

    Good Location, nice breakfast, easy parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2016

    8.8
    Difficult to find, no sign on a crossroad turning to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to find, no sign on a crossroad turning to Castiglione di Sicilia as per the address, apparently many tourists looking for the hotel make the same mistake.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    9.6
    The staff is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to wear a bathing cap to go in the pool:

    The staff is wonderful. Beautiful place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.5
    apart from spa center and golf little entertainment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    apart from spa center and golf little entertainment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2018

    4.6
    Spa is not included in the room (but not clearly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa is not included in the room (but not clearly communicated), staff is very rude.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    7.5
    Location and grounds were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location and grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    9.6
    Nice andclassic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast:-)

    Nice andclassic hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    great location, great beds, excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great breakfast, very confortable beds, spacious rooms. I probably got an upgrade.It was all really great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    5.0
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Attention to detail

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    10
    I will visit this hotel again for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very beautiful and quite place to relax

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    10
    Great 4 star hotel, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful location. Great dinner. We paid 85 euro for the room and 'm sure to go back at this rate. Is worth its 4 stars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2017

    6.7
    Very nice location, but disappointing service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Useless receptionist. Poor service quality. Very disappointing restaurant (both dinner and breakfast).

    Great location and stunning golf course

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2016

    6.7
    The staff were difficult at times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were difficult at times

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2016

    9.2
    Nice staff and good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner and breakfast a little poor

    Nice staff and good facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2016

    5.0
    Overpriced large conference hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No view. Ridiculous hair nets compulsory for the pool. Pool frequently closed while we were there.

    Rooms were large

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2016

    7.9
    The staff was very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked the place overall but was disappointed that the spa was closed at 6pm. Would have loved to have soaked in the tub after a full day of walking. The one day that we were able to take advantage of the spa we were told it would be an additional 15 euro each. Very disappointing. Breakfast eggs cold every day as well as the pasta the night we ate in.

    The staff was very helpful!!

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    8.3
    Coffee facility in the room would have been nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Coffee facility in the room would have been nice. Also a second dining option as we were limited to one restaurant which in my opinion is not sufficient for such a vast and beautiful resort.

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2016

    9.6
    Hi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hi This was my first stay within this hotel. The staff is very helpful, the food was excellent and also an excellent service. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2015

    6.7
    Its quiet and clean, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff had a big problem talking in english, dont expect this out of a 4* resort and spa. Dinner and bfast were very limited (same buffet every day)

    Its quiet and clean, nice location. Good suggestions by staff for car renting and wine tasting

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2015

    5.8
    The Etna Countryside is really wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There are so many hotel and B&B in this area that you really need a special reason to choose this hotel. The upkeep was lacking. Nothing was well working in the SPA! The emotional shower was not working and the swimming pool only partially the first day and closed the day after because the coat of the roof was falling to pieces. Hot water in the room was not working in several occasion. "Due to technical problems" they told us. You must avoid to eat in the hotel. The food is of medium quality, not well cooked and poorly presented. At dinner we arrived in tIme but the buffet was already finished! We paid 40 Euros for 2 just eating a small cutlet, and two glasses of wine. The breakfast is merely fair, nothing that you can expect in a 4 class hotel. You have always to wait to get a free and "clean" place. Good and cheap restaurants are not far! I suggest "Cave Ox" and "Terra Mia" at 3-4 km or "Linguagrossa" at Linguaglossa (7 km). Well is it possible that I was particularly unlucky! Good luck!! è necessaria una ragione particolare per scegliere questo albergo con quanto offre questa zona. Le camere sono confortevoli ed il personale gentile ed amichevole. Ma questi sono gli unici vantaggi! La manutenzione è del tutto assente. Nulla funziona bene nella SPA. Si pagano 15 euro a persona per un'ora ma si può fare ben poco. La doccia del percorso emozionale non funziona e la piscina solo parzialmente. Dopo un giorno è stata chiusa per intonaco caduto dal tetto. In camera, in più occasioni è venuta a mancare l'acqua calda (ci hanno riferito per problemi tecnici)! La cena è stata deludente (per altro cara, 40 Euro in due per un arrosto panato, un piatto di patate fritte da dividere e due calici di vino) con cibo di qualità mediocre, mal cucinato e mal presentato. Quando siamo arrivati, entro l'orario stabilito, il buffet era già esaurito! Grande confusione, anche a colazione (appena sufficiente)!

    The Etna Countryside is really wonderful! Sea, mountain, snow, Volcano, good typical wine and splendid landscapes! Thus, the location is, in my opinion, one of the best you can choose in Sicily. Nevertheless there are so many hotel and B&B in this area that you really need a special reason to choose this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and and the staff is friendly. This are the only advanteges I can find. La regione dell'Etna è meravigliosa! Mare, montagna, neve,M invano, vini tipici ottimi e paesaggi fantastici! Nulla da dire perciò sulla location, una delle più belle della Sicilia. Le camere sono confortevoli ed il personale gentile ed amichevole. Ma questi sono gli unici vantaggi!

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    6.7
    staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast is very poor for such a property and in comparison to other much cheaper properties

    staff friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    9.6
    Staff is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Staff is amazing

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2015

    9.6
    Peaceful and very spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful and very spacious rooms. Nice spa and lovely pool area

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2015

    7.1
    LOCATION AND GOLF COURSE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    STAFF WERE NOT USER FRIENDLY

    LOCATION AND GOLF COURSE VIEWS OF ETNA WERE FABULOUS

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2015

    10
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff location Food

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: